User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 147

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    I found this film kind of a mess. Arty in its silences and temporal jumps, artless in its sledgehammer symbolism (an alternate title could be "We Need to Talk About Kevin's Intake of Food That Looks Like Blood and Body Parts"), the film asks much of viewers but doesn't reward our patience. Anyone who can't predict exactly what will happen--including the weapon and a rough body count--isI found this film kind of a mess. Arty in its silences and temporal jumps, artless in its sledgehammer symbolism (an alternate title could be "We Need to Talk About Kevin's Intake of Food That Looks Like Blood and Body Parts"), the film asks much of viewers but doesn't reward our patience. Anyone who can't predict exactly what will happen--including the weapon and a rough body count--is in the next theater viewing a different movie; I kept watching because some of these "oops, wrong theater" folk wrote reviews in major papers, reviews promising a big surprise. Oh well. But yes, the acting is wonderful, and the nature/nurture question genuinely fascinating. With a stronger script and fewer pretensions, this film could have been truly compelling. Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2012
    4
    I just couldn't quite pull it off. "Kevin" was a film that did many things very right, but did enough things completely wrong to ruin it for me. Its hard to describe the disappointing aspects of the film, because so many of them are tied up with the expectations created by the really well done parts. The visual storytelling starts out strong, enabling viewers to get to know characters andI just couldn't quite pull it off. "Kevin" was a film that did many things very right, but did enough things completely wrong to ruin it for me. Its hard to describe the disappointing aspects of the film, because so many of them are tied up with the expectations created by the really well done parts. The visual storytelling starts out strong, enabling viewers to get to know characters and plot elements on an emotional level with out everything being spelled out to the letter. The problem is the film begins to deal with absolutes, and the visual storytelling begins to fail. There are beautifully shot, almost abstract segments in the film which instead of hinting at larger elements of characters and plot, are often used to brush over key elements of relationships (the mother and father in particular) and diluting character development in the process. Kevin's character is portrayed as an absolute evil, and overall a very one dimensional, similarly with the father, who is completely clueless throughout the film. There is a subtlety that is wants so badly to be the core of the film but is consistently failing throughout through the hands of barefaced writing/directing. Tilda Swinton fights hard to keep her character interesting, but the other actors, especially those that played Kevin didn't stand a chance.

    Honestly, I can only Imagine that there were people working on this film who all had vastly different ideas of how it should turn out, and in the end it feels like the directing is what sunk the ship.
    Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    Tilda Swinton stars as a mother who's tortured by the pained relationship with her son, who's downright evil. From infancy until he commits a horrible crime as a teenager, she tries to break through, only to meet with cruelty and rejection. The film jumps freely from the aftermath of the attack to the growing pains (literally) of raising him. Of course, it's pretty apparent what's inTilda Swinton stars as a mother who's tortured by the pained relationship with her son, who's downright evil. From infancy until he commits a horrible crime as a teenager, she tries to break through, only to meet with cruelty and rejection. The film jumps freely from the aftermath of the attack to the growing pains (literally) of raising him. Of course, it's pretty apparent what's in store, so watching the effects of his malevolence and how she copes forms the fulcrum of the film. While Swinton and Ezra Miller (as the son) give compelling performances, the film's ominous overcast and convoluted structure give it a heavy coating that's just excessive. Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2012
    6
    Why do people do what they do? What makes people what they are? This film doesn't give an answer (nor does any other film) but it does give you a glimpse which makes this bleak film rather intriguing. The problem is that the Kevin character is one annoying sh*t (intentionaly so) which also makes watching this film a bit annoying but it ads to the creepy and uneasy feel this film has. ItWhy do people do what they do? What makes people what they are? This film doesn't give an answer (nor does any other film) but it does give you a glimpse which makes this bleak film rather intriguing. The problem is that the Kevin character is one annoying sh*t (intentionaly so) which also makes watching this film a bit annoying but it ads to the creepy and uneasy feel this film has. It gives the impression it's building up to something (it does in a way) but at the end it still feels like there has to be something more, like something's missing that would make this good movie an instant classic... Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    4
    I bought this movie, which i wouldn't recommend to anyone, though it has it's bright point. It is very well made; it gets under your skin at times, in good and bad ways; tilda swinton was excellent, as usual, and kevin was a good actor; but this was not an overall realized enough movie to make it worth watching and I highly doubt my dvd will have a good resell value either. I am uncertainI bought this movie, which i wouldn't recommend to anyone, though it has it's bright point. It is very well made; it gets under your skin at times, in good and bad ways; tilda swinton was excellent, as usual, and kevin was a good actor; but this was not an overall realized enough movie to make it worth watching and I highly doubt my dvd will have a good resell value either. I am uncertain while this got such high marks. And I usually agree with the marks on this wonderful site. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2016
    4
    You'll respect it a little and hate it a lot. It's provocation after provocation. We Need to Talk About Kevin is a well-acted, artful nightmare that I wouldn't wish on anyone.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 24, 2012
    67
    Next to Swinton's excellent portrayal of a woman on the edge of a nervous breakdown, the movie belongs to the two Kevins, young actors with matching arched eyebrows and sullen expressions.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 22, 2012
    91
    Watching it isn't easy, but it is definitely worth having waited for.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 22, 2012
    50
    Critics starved for thoughtful movies will often mistake the will for the deed. A serious film about an important subject seems like an important film, even if the effort falls far short of the target. So it is with We Need to Talk About Kevin.