We Need to Talk About Kevin Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: We Need to Talk About Kevin explores the factious relationship between a mother and her evil son. Tilda Swinton plays the mother, Eva, as she contends for 15 years with the increasing malevolence of her first-born child, Kevin. Based on the best-selling novel of the same name, We Need toWe Need to Talk About Kevin explores the factious relationship between a mother and her evil son. Tilda Swinton plays the mother, Eva, as she contends for 15 years with the increasing malevolence of her first-born child, Kevin. Based on the best-selling novel of the same name, We Need to Talk About Kevin explores nature vs. nurture on a whole new level as Eva's own culpability is measured against Kevin's innate evilness. (Oscilloscope Laboratories) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 25, 2012
    100
    As a portrait of a deteriorating state of mind, We Need to Talk About Kevin is a masterful film.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 8, 2011
    90
    Ramsey's film has its own strengths. We Need To Talk About Kevin doesn't just bring you to the outskirts of a parent's worst nightmare; this fever dream of guilt and loss takes you straight inside.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 13, 2012
    88
    Acting doesn't get much better than the subtly brilliant display put on by Tilda Swinton in We Need to Talk About Kevin.
  4. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jan 28, 2012
    70
    Ramsay seems to be seriously intent on probing the outer limits of a mother's love and forgiveness, but the boy (played by a trio of child actors) is so unremittingly evil that the movie begins to feel like a grotesque remake of that old John Ritter comedy "Problem Child" (1990).
  5. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Dec 7, 2011
    67
    The movie is creepy, but it has no texture or depth. It's like "The Omen" directed by Miranda July.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Dec 12, 2011
    60
    Even in the film's weaker stretches, the fierce presence of Tilda Swinton made it impossible to tear my eyes away.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Nov 30, 2011
    0
    This is the most unwatchable horror movie masquerading as social comment I have seen this year.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 6 out of 40
  1. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Less a "Bad Seed" rehash than an indictment of contemporary parenting skills, "Kevin" made my skin crawl on many levels. The outer need forLess a "Bad Seed" rehash than an indictment of contemporary parenting skills, "Kevin" made my skin crawl on many levels. The outer need for perfection while the interior is crumbling, the idea that because a couple CAN have a child, they should, the unwillingness to actually TALK about Kevin... all of this leads to the creation of monster--but that creation is inevitable. Far smarter than most will give this film for, see it and watch it carefully. Until the final, horrific moments, is Kevin the monster, or are his parents? Who created whom? This is a chilling film guaranteed to haunt, and Swinton's performance is perfection. Understated and genuine, she is genius. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Tilda Swinton is breathlessly astounding. Contrary to what happens to other movies (like Drive), the silences and the artistic pieces suitsTilda Swinton is breathlessly astounding. Contrary to what happens to other movies (like Drive), the silences and the artistic pieces suits the story pretty well. Unsettling and disturbing, I had a nightmare that my son had killed me poisoning my lunch. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    I can say with certainty that it is one of the best movies I've seen in my life, intrigue, that emotion, that torment movie that grabs you inI can say with certainty that it is one of the best movies I've seen in my life, intrigue, that emotion, that torment movie that grabs you in finding out the paranoia of a Tilda Swinton gives an enviable and majestic interpretation. the only thing uncomfortable for me was the music, so else was perfect. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    An almost full room audience in the Febiofest for Lynne Ramsayâ
  5. Jun 16, 2012
    7
    The movie had a lot of the color red in it. I wonder if there is a message there... No, seriously, the film is just what I like: great actors,The movie had a lot of the color red in it. I wonder if there is a message there... No, seriously, the film is just what I like: great actors, great characters--especially great villains--and an absorbing story. It's tough and unflinching. One message is important: despite conventional wisdom, parents don't have that much control over how kids turn out. Having a child is rolling the dice--she could be a poet, she could be a fool. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    I found this film kind of a mess. Arty in its silences and temporal jumps, artless in its sledgehammer symbolism (an alternate title could beI found this film kind of a mess. Arty in its silences and temporal jumps, artless in its sledgehammer symbolism (an alternate title could be "We Need to Talk About Kevin's Intake of Food That Looks Like Blood and Body Parts"), the film asks much of viewers but doesn't reward our patience. Anyone who can't predict exactly what will happen--including the weapon and a rough body count--is in the next theater viewing a different movie; I kept watching because some of these "oops, wrong theater" folk wrote reviews in major papers, reviews promising a big surprise. Oh well. But yes, the acting is wonderful, and the nature/nurture question genuinely fascinating. With a stronger script and fewer pretensions, this film could have been truly compelling. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    This film starts out on the premise that it will build into an exciting vehicle but in reality it is just attempting to spin it's wheels,This film starts out on the premise that it will build into an exciting vehicle but in reality it is just attempting to spin it's wheels, while in reality the clutch is blown and momentum never gained. After 40 minutes of watching I was sorely tempted to gouge my eyes out with the back end of a spoon! A pretentious, meandering failure that maybe only wine drinking arty emo's might enjoy. Woefully tedious performances that bear absolutely zero resemblance to reality make this film seriously B grade even though the budget was strong enough to lure 'professional' names. Avoid this film or I guarantee you will be disgustedly disappointed in yourself for not heeding this warning. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.
  2. DVD Release Calendar: May 2012

    DVD Release Calendar: May 2012 Image
    Published: April 28, 2012
    Get a full rundown of movies and TV shows scheduled for release on DVD and Blu-ray in the coming month, including "Haywire," "Tim & Eric's Billion Dollar Movie," "We Need to Talk About Kevin," "Chronicle," and more.
  3. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.