Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 12, 2007
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 70 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
20
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
MattOct 26, 2007
The script in this movie is awful. It's just stupid. Why would the bad guys invite an outsider to their cocaine factory? How would the bad guy escape jail the day he is being brought to trial? Why would the NYPD make a civilian bar The script in this movie is awful. It's just stupid. Why would the bad guys invite an outsider to their cocaine factory? How would the bad guy escape jail the day he is being brought to trial? Why would the NYPD make a civilian bar manager a cop overnight. It was just a dumb nonsense script. The only thing that makes this movie bearable is Eva Mendes.. she is gorgeous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoyceC.Oct 30, 2007
We Own the Night is a movie about how Martin Scorseses still does, don't expect a crime/drama, this is more of an action/adventure, wow was I sure wrong. Mark Walhberg is the most failing actor recorded in by book, his character is We Own the Night is a movie about how Martin Scorseses still does, don't expect a crime/drama, this is more of an action/adventure, wow was I sure wrong. Mark Walhberg is the most failing actor recorded in by book, his character is boring, and Joaquin Phoenix, did he ever copy leo in the departed. A total waste, the dumbest film of the year, James Gray wrote a story about the war upon night, and many clubs and characters. Sound like prohibition, but guess what, we don't have prohibition any more, it hasn't happened. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Johnny2centsFeb 24, 2008
Surely there must be more than 8 planets in this galaxy ( Pluto has been declassified for all you geniuses who thought this was a great movie) because I was definitely in another galaxy. Implausibility after implausibility, even the Farrely Surely there must be more than 8 planets in this galaxy ( Pluto has been declassified for all you geniuses who thought this was a great movie) because I was definitely in another galaxy. Implausibility after implausibility, even the Farrely brothers don Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SulH.Oct 17, 2007
This movie was beyond boring! The really good cast tried really hard to make it work, but the movie just didn't present them with any gripping scenes. Joaquin Phoenix never makes the audience really feel like he's progressed, only This movie was beyond boring! The really good cast tried really hard to make it work, but the movie just didn't present them with any gripping scenes. Joaquin Phoenix never makes the audience really feel like he's progressed, only that he's possibly going through the motions of being coked-up. And Avoid this one at all costs.. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BillC.Feb 13, 2008
I would have been much more pleased if it weren't so aggressive with the effects, it is so unhip and pleased with itself that James Gray just simply gives up and offers only a weak attitude for things. I was left disappointed, no wonder I would have been much more pleased if it weren't so aggressive with the effects, it is so unhip and pleased with itself that James Gray just simply gives up and offers only a weak attitude for things. I was left disappointed, no wonder there is very little reviews for this film, because it looks like a Departed sequel. With a stolen actor playing an extremely similar character. It is truly predictable, and the story is obvious in terms of violence, conflicts, and reactions. It went the weak way of things and turned great and powerful gangster fun into a craphole of darkness where bitterness, and nothing can be seen. The thought of nothing and discomforting positions, where you become guilty of watching this film, it doesn't just have straight sex, it is obsessed with it. And the script felt like it was written by a 12-year-old, who makes things clearly simple enough for a seven-year old to understand. But with the addition of drugs, sex, violence, and -beepin- language, we get a restricted acomplyse. For me, this is Octobers worst big-hit since never. This is unique, but no one is pleased due to the terrible acting from Mark Walhberg, and his showing of age in his career during his previous productions Shooter film, which let most users down. From that, no one is willing to see this film because he is just not doing well. Anyways, if you have seen Shooter, DON'T, and if you do, DON'T see this either. Because their both the same, both sharing easily constructed plots, predictable ends, dull traits, and boringly pretty much the same thing as the trailer. Which shows only the best parts, and you don't realize that those really amazing parts are TOTALLY WASTED from poor direction. Wow was I sure mislead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GilbertA.Feb 13, 2008
Nothing Special whatsoever, I was letdown by its chunky execution. It is a lifeless, mechanical, easily let-out bore with no effect of engagement at all. Its cool look is not enough. It felt way too quick, it was fast-paced, and didn't Nothing Special whatsoever, I was letdown by its chunky execution. It is a lifeless, mechanical, easily let-out bore with no effect of engagement at all. Its cool look is not enough. It felt way too quick, it was fast-paced, and didn't explain much, or in better terms enough. It went so fast, it felt like an easy 80 minutes. The back did say 2 hours, but no way, it must have been way shorter than that. It wasn't just really rushed and fast, it was super-short as well, the plot went by like there is something missing. Most might disagree, but don't expect a departed sequel, it is pretty much like what people have been saying for Eragon 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickD.Feb 19, 2008
Startlingly boring. Oh, was that car chase awesome? I wouldn't know, I was asleep by then. Sure the movie's opening was promising with Blondie's "Heart of Glass" playing in the background as Eva Mendes's exposed breast Startlingly boring. Oh, was that car chase awesome? I wouldn't know, I was asleep by then. Sure the movie's opening was promising with Blondie's "Heart of Glass" playing in the background as Eva Mendes's exposed breast was being fondled, but after that the only thing that kept me riveted was the promise of an inevitable love scene between Scarface and Marky Mark which was sadly scrapped on the cutting room floor to make room for more pointless conversations about tables and table accessories. I give this movie two coughs, a yawn, and a pack of mules. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful