Red Flag Releasing (RFR) | Release Date: September 9, 2011
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 30 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
4
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
crimsondoorMar 28, 2017
I didn't know anything about the epidemic until I read about it on Reddit since it wasn't that big of a thing in Asia, and I was born after the 80s. I have been doing research on this epidemic since then. This documentary moves you in a wayI didn't know anything about the epidemic until I read about it on Reddit since it wasn't that big of a thing in Asia, and I was born after the 80s. I have been doing research on this epidemic since then. This documentary moves you in a way that other HIV/AIDS documentaries don't. As the subjects talk about their personal, firsthand experience of deaths in the gay community, you can basically see the whole epidemic unfolding as it happened. Ultimately however, the major theme is not about death but how the epidemic brought out the best in people. This is a very heartbreaking and beautiful documentary and I am very glad that it exists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 29, 2016
We Were Here shows how emotional these times have come and I've felt a scratch about these things. This documentary, as a normal person that's running out of things to say would say, rocks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
t is already hard to find a good documentary and it's even miraculously harder for me to find such cheerful, heartbreaking and such accomplished documentary such as this piece of work. The story was uniquely shocking..yet lying so near to us.t is already hard to find a good documentary and it's even miraculously harder for me to find such cheerful, heartbreaking and such accomplished documentary such as this piece of work. The story was uniquely shocking..yet lying so near to us. The film told both from the individual to a bigger picture as the community in their fight aginst HIV in such emotional ugly-passionate expression.
Too Great to be missed.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
EC82Nov 20, 2011
What it lacks in revelation it makes up for in sheer gut-punching emotion, proving that just because a movie is a documentary doesn't mean it can't be as involving and as utterly compelling as the best fiction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Edward4432Nov 20, 2011
Absolutely spellbinding -- as a narrative, completely absorbing; as a document of the times, illuminating; as a film, impeccably made. This and "Senna" are easily the best documentaries I've seen this year, or in the past several years. MostAbsolutely spellbinding -- as a narrative, completely absorbing; as a document of the times, illuminating; as a film, impeccably made. This and "Senna" are easily the best documentaries I've seen this year, or in the past several years. Most highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
elotroladoNov 7, 2011
If you lived through this holocaust as someone significantly affected by it, watching this film could provide a powerful catharsis of the emotions that so many of us had to repress in order to survive the relentless onslaught of illness andIf you lived through this holocaust as someone significantly affected by it, watching this film could provide a powerful catharsis of the emotions that so many of us had to repress in order to survive the relentless onslaught of illness and death of our chosen families in the late 80's and early 90's. But don't do it alone--go with a close friend you can share with afterwards. Ultimately, this film left me with a wide open heart full of gratitude, inspiration, a renewed faith in humanity, and something like pride in how we came together as a community to care for each other. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
pdxdennisOct 1, 2011
Astonishingly powerful film about Aids in San Francisco in the 80s and the Gay community's response.
I strongly urge everyone to cast trepidation aside and go see this film. Your heart will thank you.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews