Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 9, 2011
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 75 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
10
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
tintin_tintineAug 30, 2017
Apart from terribly miscast Oscar Isaak this movie is great. Good Russian Guatemala-looking specialist. Really? He looks like a guy from Chechnya, our troubled all-muslim province that all Russia was happy to get rid of. In 90s, of course.Apart from terribly miscast Oscar Isaak this movie is great. Good Russian Guatemala-looking specialist. Really? He looks like a guy from Chechnya, our troubled all-muslim province that all Russia was happy to get rid of. In 90s, of course. Boston marathon bombing, remember? This is not well thought. Ukrainian? They're stubborn - he could never let Wally travel to Paris. And money... Ukrainians are proud to call Jews "kids" compared to their sence of keeping money. My grandfather was from Kharkov, Ukraine. My grandmother and he could never agree on anything. But maybe he's Armenian who was orphaned and adopted in Ukraine. But as it's not on the screen it's not the case. Sad. I see Madonna is extremely talented but sometimes she just doesn't understand what screenwriting is all about. You can't just write Eugene Hutz as a guardian and then cast Oscar Isaac just because you love Latin guys. It's about creating the universe that's believable.

Special thanks for "Dance For Me Wallis" from figure skating fans of World Champion Eugenia Medvedeva. Her dress was everything.

IMHO, people don't understand the simple fact - Edward's father was Georg V, cousin of Nicholas II, the last Russian emperor. They were almost lookalikes - just check their photos. Nikolai was married to Aleksandra, Queen Viktoria's granddaughter. And Edward VII didn't give his cousin and his family of 7 children asylum in the UK in 1918, just after Russian Revolution. Nice gesture, isn't it? And Edward was awarder personally by Nicholas II with St. George award in 1916. Maybe he was shocked by his father's gesture. That alone makes Edward VIII and angel compared to his evil father, who chose against heart for political reasons. I'm not implying that Madonna's dated "Reds" director Warren Beatty to have a broader view on the subject. But let's face it: Edward's brother is respected in Britain for the same reasons Stalin is respected in Russia. They might've been terrible, but they won the WWII. Stalin was Georgian and was Ok with genocide on Russians not because he was Georgian, but because he was a tyrant. And Georg VI was all about making peace with Hitler and hated Churchill at first.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MadgeSep 23, 2014
What? How dare anyone rank this below a 9. Let me rate a 0 to show you all how angry I am. If Oprah can make a network, I can make a damn film. I even managed to keep my gollum-like fingers clung behind the lens to save on having to provideWhat? How dare anyone rank this below a 9. Let me rate a 0 to show you all how angry I am. If Oprah can make a network, I can make a damn film. I even managed to keep my gollum-like fingers clung behind the lens to save on having to provide sick bags in movie theaters - you should all grovel. Let me be clear - I will get Nicki Minaj and someone else relevant to find each and every reviewer and smack them to the point where they speak like Cher. Oh well, at least this movie only cost me $30 million - I've paid more for black kids to stay relevant! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawApr 7, 2014
Madonna’s second film as a director, after the little seen FILTH AND WISDOM (2008). W.E. is her much more ambitious venture commingles Wally (Cornish), a modern woman’s self-liberation from a dead water marriage and the scandalous love affairMadonna’s second film as a director, after the little seen FILTH AND WISDOM (2008). W.E. is her much more ambitious venture commingles Wally (Cornish), a modern woman’s self-liberation from a dead water marriage and the scandalous love affair between American divorcée Wallis Simpson (Riseborough) and King Edward VIII (D’Arcy) which causes a constitutional crisis in the history.

read the rest of the review in my blog: google "cinema omnivore", thanks
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Um das piores películas que já nos ultimos tempos, ruim mal feito, a trama simplesmente horrível os personagens são mal desenvolvido e mal acabados.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AnalyDewaNov 14, 2013
Madonna must return to the stage, because she understands pop music, but definitely not film, so many attempts and almost no hit, not worth wasting time with this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
VisserNov 11, 2013
This is really sad that this really great movie get so much hate only because it's Madonna movie.
I'm 100% sure that if she would decide to use fake name as a director she would get much better scores.
Well shame on you, if you judge it
This is really sad that this really great movie get so much hate only because it's Madonna movie.
I'm 100% sure that if she would decide to use fake name as a director she would get much better scores.
Well shame on you, if you judge it only because you can stand Queen of Pop being perfect in everything she does
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
poetreviewerJun 13, 2013
A sweeping, beautiful movie with a gorgeous musical score, The twirling dance scene alone is worth watching the movie. Madonna is unfairly ripped by male critics who like dub-ass crap with half-ass comedians. Look at critic scores forA sweeping, beautiful movie with a gorgeous musical score, The twirling dance scene alone is worth watching the movie. Madonna is unfairly ripped by male critics who like dub-ass crap with half-ass comedians. Look at critic scores for male-oriented movies, vs more feminine types. The feminine types get ripped. Madonna is an artist. What she produces may not be perfect but it's beautiful. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Julie1948Mar 31, 2013
This film was an ambitious project for its director who as per usual the critics attacked sadly had another person directed this film it would have faired far better, even if it was left untouched, some people appear to be unable to separateThis film was an ambitious project for its director who as per usual the critics attacked sadly had another person directed this film it would have faired far better, even if it was left untouched, some people appear to be unable to separate a singer from a director an thus wait to attack, this film is not worthy of such an attach,interestingly some critics are now saying that the film will become more of a classic in its time,It is a very enjoyable film, blending two stories into one, in the same way James Cameron did with Titanic, enjoy this film for what it is, an untold love story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JohnODec 22, 2012
Like a Moving Tapestry W. E. is a delightful movie that blends two love stories, a biography and history.

There were many moments when the camera work is stunning. The actors deftly bring to life a gripping story line. The beautiful
Like a Moving Tapestry W. E. is a delightful movie that blends two love stories, a biography and history.

There were many moments when the camera work is stunning.

The actors deftly bring to life a gripping story line.

The beautiful costumes and lovely sets give this show a rich texture.

Madonna directed this and I look forward to more works of art she directs.
Wikipedia informs me she also co-wrote this so I am even more amazed. I would highly recommend this for Date night whether married or single
Romantics
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
foxgroveDec 12, 2012
What we have is two films here. The one following Edward and Mrs simpson is actually really good, but the other in the modern time following Abbie Cornish is rather more ponderous and unnecessary. Andrea Riseborough is a revelation asWhat we have is two films here. The one following Edward and Mrs simpson is actually really good, but the other in the modern time following Abbie Cornish is rather more ponderous and unnecessary. Andrea Riseborough is a revelation as Wallis Simpson and the film's costumes and design are lovely. Director Madonna also gives us some interesting camera set ups, which set to the stunning score are very effective. Without doubt the underrated film of 2012. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BritArmy93Dec 7, 2012
This movie is awesome, that's all I have to say! The music, the costumes the scenery it's all amazingly well done and well chosen! Madonna proved that she's more than an amazing entertainer she's also an awesome director! This movie wouldThis movie is awesome, that's all I have to say! The music, the costumes the scenery it's all amazingly well done and well chosen! Madonna proved that she's more than an amazing entertainer she's also an awesome director! This movie would have gained a dozen Academy Awards if the people wouldn't be as hateful as they are when they see the name Madonna on it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
GagaForGhibliMay 30, 2012
Conceived and directed by Madonna, W.E. is a gorgeous mess.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
AloudSoundMay 3, 2012
Now director Madonna could easily be, what you say a horrid movie. And, sure it doesn't satisfy people like teenagers and young adults, but it does have a really appropriate story. The camera shot of the film is a genuine and perfect, theNow director Madonna could easily be, what you say a horrid movie. And, sure it doesn't satisfy people like teenagers and young adults, but it does have a really appropriate story. The camera shot of the film is a genuine and perfect, the film itself is a bit longer as it should be, but with its proceeding films "The King's Speech", "The Iron Lady" and so-and-so, the film is still a good mix of a classic beauty and sometimes.... A complete horror. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
madmandonnaApr 27, 2012
W.E. is one of three biopics I have seen this year, after The Iron Lady and J Edgar. Of the three I think W.E. is probably the best, but all three tread the path of the mediocre. What W.E. gets right is Wallis Simpson, Riseborough isW.E. is one of three biopics I have seen this year, after The Iron Lady and J Edgar. Of the three I think W.E. is probably the best, but all three tread the path of the mediocre. What W.E. gets right is Wallis Simpson, Riseborough is fantastic in the lead role and has great chemistry with James D'Arcy. The biggest problem with the film is the the second tier of the romance with Abbie Cornish's Wally Winthrop, though the romance picks up momentum around the one hour mark, it slows down the pace of the Wallis Simpson segments.

The script has high and low notes, the romance at times is reduced sappiness, but these are forgivable even when they are at there worst. What is probably the biggest weakness in W.E. is the often close up hand held camera shots. The occasional one works nicely, but these shots are put in far too often and take you out of the story. In most cases the camera work could have been more simplistic, it too often feels erratic which isn't good in the more tender moments of the film.

The music in W.E. is beautiful and the addition of "Masterpiece" in the credits is a lovely song to go side by side with the film. However sometimes the music is a little over powering, once again just a case of less is more. The much discussed and derided scene with Wallis dancing the Charleston with a tribesman to The Sex Pistols "pretty Vacant", I really liked. I felt the scene was a good way to show how frivolous the character could be, using the modern day Wally's imagination to keep the scene from feeling alien.

Undoubtedly the best part of W.E. is the costume and lighting. The attention to detail in this department is incredible. Every costume looks stunning and is meticulously put together down to the nearest diamond, and the lighting makes the landscapes almost feel like paintings it really is stunning.

All in all W.E. is a great attempt from Madonna to craft a stunning looking film, though the storytelling can be muddled and the film takes around 40 minutes to really get going, its doesn't completely take away from the overall film. Historical inaccuracies put aside would have made this film a 7, but not exploring the Nazi element could have made this so much more interesting. The negative reviews of this film aren't looking at it from fair perspective and anyone with half a brain can see though not amazing, W.E. is at least half decent and for a directors second film pretty damn good.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
jonnydingoJan 24, 2012
I guess my score is high simply because it's nowhere near as bad as all the reviews prepared me for. It's a very feminine film, from a very feminine point of view, and a very specific point of view at that. And considering the state of theI guess my score is high simply because it's nowhere near as bad as all the reviews prepared me for. It's a very feminine film, from a very feminine point of view, and a very specific point of view at that. And considering the state of the economy right now, you will either feel offended by the opulence on screen or, like me, simply get lost in how beautiful and luxurious it all looks. Visually it's a great escape from the boarded up shops and austerity going on in the country right now. As far as the story goes--well--I was too busy being lost in how gorgeous it all looked. But honestly, it's not anywhere as bad as some of the reviews have said. It's just a mediocre story with some of the most exceptional costumes and visuals for a period piece I've ever seen. And the musical score is superb too. But yeah, the story is mediocre. Hopefully M will direct a script someone else writes next time. That could be something to behold. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews