Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After meeting one lonely Friday night at a bar, Russell and Glen find themselves caught up in an lost weekend full of sex, drugs, and intimate conversation. Although they have conflicting ideas of what it is they want from life and certainly how to get it, they form a startling emotional connection that will resonate throughout their lives. (Sundance Selects) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Oct 13, 2011
    100
    One of the truest, most beautiful movies ever made about two strangers.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Sep 21, 2011
    91
    British filmmaker Andrew Haigh's background in editing (from Gladiator to Mister Lonely) is evident in the casual beauty of moments that only appear "found," giving Weekend an engrossing documentary feel.
  3. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Sep 22, 2011
    90
    There is also a need for stories that address the complex entanglements of love and sex honestly, without sentiment or cynicism and with the appropriate mixture of humor, sympathy and erotic heat. Weekend, Andrew Haigh's astonishingly self-assured, unassumingly profound second feature, is just such a film.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Sep 20, 2011
    80
    Naturalistic without being ineloquent, heartfelt yet unsentimental, Weekend is the rarest of birds: a movie romance that rings true.
  5. Reviewed by: James Renovitch
    Oct 13, 2011
    78
    Like the analogous "Before Sunrise," Weekend manages to ride the line between character study, comedy, drama, and a host of other genres without feeling cramped.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 6, 2011
    75
    In just a short period of time, a weekend hookup tests the boundaries each man has set for himself.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Sep 17, 2011
    60
    Earnest and understated, Weekend has the intimate look and feel of a two-character stage play that has been opened up -- but only slightly, with minimal addition of supporting players -- for a mostly faithful filmization.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    What a splendid surprise! One can only wonder why this terrific, engrossing and beautifully crafted film is not bringing in at least a few million in the box office (perhaps it will win over fans abroad). The characters are so wonderfully real, and certainly ring true. Leads Tom Cullen (only 26!) and Chris New (the latter was very impressive when we saw him in an off-Broadway play earlier this year) are pitch perfect. My only regret is that we do not get to spend another 30-45 minutes with Glen and Russell, but I'm thankful for the time spent with them. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    "Weekend" is such a delicate, modest little love story that even writing about it seems like it'll ruin the movie's spell. It's a slight film and hardly groundbreaking, but it's so lovely that you almost feel protective of it. Just like you want its main couple to find love with each other, you don't want anyone's snark ripping this sweet film to shreds. And I hope at some point in the future the most "interesting" thing about "Weekend" isn't that it's a gay love story. Maybe eventually people will just like it because it's a good love story, period. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    A truly amazing movie. Never have I encountered a more realistic and genuine depiction of romance. The characters are both enchanting, as are their conversations and interactions. New and Cullen are both perfect in their roles, hitting all the right notes. This movie sticks with you, forcing you to come back to it long after the credits have rolled. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    A beautiful movie that captures what it is like to be a gay man, looking for a connection (or not). It is a rare opportunity to see our lives on film that doesn't resort to the use of the sassy best fiend, mincing drag queen, or homophobic father to flesh out our lives. It just shows how we might spend one weekend making a connection with another human being. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Stunningly realistic and perfectly acted, WEEKEND surprised me in that I had no idea how hooked I had become until I found myself utterly moved by the end. Expand
  6. May 16, 2012
    9
    Weekend is a wonderful movie. The protagonists are complex and diverse, as well as highly suggestive and secretive. The chemistry between them on scene is fascinating and intriguing. I'm very happy that there's another gay movie out that does not present the gay man as someone complementing the heterosexual everyday life; someone cute, witty and free with great experience in cutlery, sex, skin care, weddings and home deco. The men in the movie are to some extent alone and alienated, something much more relatable than an entourage of **** hags. The picture of something about to escape and the themes of, for example, loss translate into something real and relatable. This movie thrusts a fist down deep and stays there, even after the credits have finished rolling. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    6
    I would have rated this much higher had the production values been even modestly better than they were. In the audibility of the characters was annoying. The camera angles and the constant need to show both characters in some type of profiled conversation was even more annoying. There were a few interesting shots that were artiscially inspired. Overall the film had a basic grunge feel about it which suited the characters and the manner in which they found each other. The one thing that really stood out was the dialogue between the two men. While watching it was easy to relate to the conversations they had because they were simply realistic. Someone equated this too Brief Encounter and although the involvement might remind one of Brief Encounter I personally thought this fell far short of that classic. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers