User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    After hearing about this movie on Twitter for about a year, it finally opened in NY and I got my chance to see it. I can safely say there is not an once of Bella Swan in Kristen Stuwert's performance. Her character Mollary is dirty, broken and gritty. Stewert brings us along for the ride fearlessly. James Gandolfini brings new life to himself with a midwestern dialect and a very kind butAfter hearing about this movie on Twitter for about a year, it finally opened in NY and I got my chance to see it. I can safely say there is not an once of Bella Swan in Kristen Stuwert's performance. Her character Mollary is dirty, broken and gritty. Stewert brings us along for the ride fearlessly. James Gandolfini brings new life to himself with a midwestern dialect and a very kind but damaged soul and makes you forget all about Tony Saprano from the door. However, the standout performance was Michelle Leo. Her evolution with this character is Oscar worthy and leaves nothing but the need to root for her.
    Director Jake Scott seems to take special pains not to exploit the Mollary character by using shodowing and artistic camera angles in which the audience gets the idea without the gratuitous cheap shots lesser directors must've used to cheapen the story.
    All in all, if you love really good strong movies with heart and soul this movie is a must see . If your looking for Twilight...wait till next year.
    Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2010
    2
    The two points are standing for Melissa and James because they're the only good things about the movie. The script wasn't authentic or natural like other people said. It was more a gimmick wrote by a screenwriter who thinks that the world works that way.
    And the other worse thing was Kristen Stewart. I couldn't take her seriously as a stripper. The way she was trying to be like crude like
    The two points are standing for Melissa and James because they're the only good things about the movie. The script wasn't authentic or natural like other people said. It was more a gimmick wrote by a screenwriter who thinks that the world works that way.
    And the other worse thing was Kristen Stewart. I couldn't take her seriously as a stripper. The way she was trying to be like crude like a real stripper was VERY laughable and then those annoying pauses or jumps she does between sentences in every movie and also in real life were horrible. Her general tics which she has in every movie also show constantly.

    Normally I would be perplexed why the User Score is so high but I have already read some tweets of her fans who said that they're all gonna give 10 points to get more viewers into the cinema because they're scared that Kristen will have another flop in her movie career. (2.0)
    Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2011
    3
    I've been a long time metacritic user but never felt compelled to sign up for an account to review a movie until now. The reason is simple, I first came to metacritic as an IMDB refugee. I was fed up with the abuse of the rating system and found solace in metacritic's even keel and good mix of user and critical reviews. I never felt compelled to add my own review or ratings because theyI've been a long time metacritic user but never felt compelled to sign up for an account to review a movie until now. The reason is simple, I first came to metacritic as an IMDB refugee. I was fed up with the abuse of the rating system and found solace in metacritic's even keel and good mix of user and critical reviews. I never felt compelled to add my own review or ratings because they were fairly close to what other users and critics had rated them. That was until I came across this movie. I'm usually leery about any movie that had such poor critical reception as a 50, but the 8.9 in user reviews swayed me into watching it. It's now clear to me that astroturfers and teenage fans have infected metacritic as well. The infestation is unsettling to me because this was one of the last few corners of the internet where I felt I could receive a fairly unbiased and objective viewpoint on a movie before watching it. Needless to say, that does not appear to be true any longer. If you'll scan the user reviews, you'll notice that all of them came in a 3-day span and all seem to say the same thing. I'm sure that a couple of them are genuine but the rest are duplicates and some haven't even seen the movie, but just wanted to artificially inflate the rating. As for the movie itself? Dreadful. Very slowly paced, horribly acted, poorly written. Everything from the direction to the cinematography was very stiff and wooden. Absolutely no originality and definitely no emotion. The 3 points are given for a valiant effort on Gandolfini's and Leo's behalf but even they should have realized a poor script when they saw this. Utterly disappointing on so many levels. This is my vain attempt to restore credibility to metacritic's User Score. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    please bring welcome to the rileys to minneapolis. i need to see this movie before i die of impatience. please please please. please please please please come to minneapolis. please please please please. i cant wait please please please. come on come to minneapolis. please please please. please.
  5. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Welcome to the Rileys is a great drama about broken people fixing themselves by helping others. Kristen Stewart is daring, raunchy and incredible as Mallory. Her chemistry with the other actors is wonderful.
  6. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    I've had the opportunity to see this movie more than once and have found something new to love every time I've seen it. This is a slow film, driven by the characters that populate it. I was never a fan of The Sopranos, so I wasn't sure what to expect from James Gandolfini as Doug Riley, but he convinced me as the picture of a desperate, grieving father. Melissa Leo's agoraphobic wife,I've had the opportunity to see this movie more than once and have found something new to love every time I've seen it. This is a slow film, driven by the characters that populate it. I was never a fan of The Sopranos, so I wasn't sure what to expect from James Gandolfini as Doug Riley, but he convinced me as the picture of a desperate, grieving father. Melissa Leo's agoraphobic wife, Lois, is equally compelling, frozen in grief. If you're expecting the hooker/stripper with a heart of gold, you'll be disappointed with Kristen Stewart here. Her Mallory is pitiable, uncouth, ignorant, dirty (in more ways than one), self-loathing and just as equally desperate as Doug and Lois. A foulmouthed teenager that respects only what her body can get her, Mallory is an unexpected catalyst that brings the couple back from abyss of their separate grief. It's a quiet, slow moving film accentuated by a wonderful score. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    This is a beautiful and heartbreaking film and love and loss and discovery. The performance given by Stewart, Gandolfini and Leo are so true and honest. This is one of those films that stays with you, lives with you. After almost a year, it's still with me and I have a feeling always will.
  8. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    Just saw this today, and what a pleasant surprise it is. James Gandolfini and Melissa Leo are magic onscreen together, I could watch them take turns reading a phone book directory. They both took a very unlikely storyline and made it realistic due to their performances. In lesser hands, this honestly could have been a disaster. As for Kristen Stewart? She was a revelation here, raw andJust saw this today, and what a pleasant surprise it is. James Gandolfini and Melissa Leo are magic onscreen together, I could watch them take turns reading a phone book directory. They both took a very unlikely storyline and made it realistic due to their performances. In lesser hands, this honestly could have been a disaster. As for Kristen Stewart? She was a revelation here, raw and feral, unpredictable. I can't imagine another young actress, any of her peers, pulling this off with so much ferocity. There are weaknesses, sometimes with the pacing, sometimes with failing to juggle the three character's storylines with a balanced touch. But overall, a quietly powerful piece of work here. Expand
  9. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Welcome to the Rileys is a must see! It is such a beautiful character driven performance by all. Some media outlets this movie is being described as Kristen Stewart's striper movie, but that is not the case at all, yes she plays one but this movie is so much more then that, it is about broken people, who cross paths and help heal each other, and help each other grow. Kristen performanceWelcome to the Rileys is a must see! It is such a beautiful character driven performance by all. Some media outlets this movie is being described as Kristen Stewart's striper movie, but that is not the case at all, yes she plays one but this movie is so much more then that, it is about broken people, who cross paths and help heal each other, and help each other grow. Kristen performance truly blew me away, I one hundred precent believed that she was this character whole heartedly. She really went all out for this role, it was truly amazing to watch. I felt the whole cast really shinned. I laughed I cried i even cringed at how raw & real the scenes were. I honestly can't get this film out of my head I strongly urge everyone to see this movie! Expand
  10. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Its a must see little Indie movie with amazing performances from James, Melissa and Kristen who at times steals the screen with her raw no holds barred acting, old school actors even though Kristen is young in age her performance is extremely mature. Hollywood needs to embrace this great trio. Solid movie with standout performance for me by Kristen.
  11. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Welcome to the Rileys is an elegantly shot, character-driven drama that won't soon leave you. The film is fraught with subtleties, and in Scott's able hands each frame reads like a painting. The film's greatest strength, however, is the actors. Stewart's portrayal of a vulgar and crass Mallory doesn't disappoint; she is raw, honest, and often endearing -- truly multidimensional. GandolfiniWelcome to the Rileys is an elegantly shot, character-driven drama that won't soon leave you. The film is fraught with subtleties, and in Scott's able hands each frame reads like a painting. The film's greatest strength, however, is the actors. Stewart's portrayal of a vulgar and crass Mallory doesn't disappoint; she is raw, honest, and often endearing -- truly multidimensional. Gandolfini and Leo's performances are equally impressive; their chemistry is quiet and electric. This film will bring you to tears, but don't be surprised if you find yourself giggling, too.

    A must see!
    Expand
  12. Oct 29, 2010
    7
    After MUCH anticipation, I got the chance to see #WTTR at the San Diego Film Festival last night. Iâ
  13. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    I get dressed, drive in my car and pay to see movies that affect me. Movies that make me think or see some point or aspect of life differently. That's what happened when i watched Welcome to the Riley's. I went in not even thinking of what might happen to parents who loose their children horrifically. Or a young girl who has been used and abused so much by adults that she can't even loveI get dressed, drive in my car and pay to see movies that affect me. Movies that make me think or see some point or aspect of life differently. That's what happened when i watched Welcome to the Riley's. I went in not even thinking of what might happen to parents who loose their children horrifically. Or a young girl who has been used and abused so much by adults that she can't even love or respect herself. I learned that we all have our own coping mechanisms when dealing with trauma. Sometimes its hidden within the four walls of our home, and sometimes we wear our pain for everyone to see. Most importantly, i learned from this film that which ever type i may turn out to be, there is hope! Expand
  14. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    I loved this movie. It reinforced that Leo is one of the most undervalued actresses working today. She's truly gifted. Gandolfini and Leo shared a warm chemistry as they did with Stewart who brought out my maternal feelings tenfold. Iwanted to throw her in a bath and tuck her in bed with hot cocoa and never let her leave the house. All 3 actors took a story that could have been ridiculousI loved this movie. It reinforced that Leo is one of the most undervalued actresses working today. She's truly gifted. Gandolfini and Leo shared a warm chemistry as they did with Stewart who brought out my maternal feelings tenfold. Iwanted to throw her in a bath and tuck her in bed with hot cocoa and never let her leave the house. All 3 actors took a story that could have been ridiculous and unrealistic and made it seem authentic. I have never watched a Twilight movie but i dare say that its a complete departure for Stewart. V impressive acting and a touching story. Expand
  15. Ls2
    Oct 30, 2010
    10
    I've been hearing about this movie for over a year and so I was really excited to come see it opening day. I ended up seeing it twice opening day and I am going back to see it again tonight. The underrated stage presence of James Gandolfini combined with the brilliant performance by Kristen Stewart was simply captivating. Any critics of Kristen Stewart only being "Bella Swan" should beI've been hearing about this movie for over a year and so I was really excited to come see it opening day. I ended up seeing it twice opening day and I am going back to see it again tonight. The underrated stage presence of James Gandolfini combined with the brilliant performance by Kristen Stewart was simply captivating. Any critics of Kristen Stewart only being "Bella Swan" should be silenced by this performance. She completely nailed the role of an emotionally wounded yet tough on the surface, broken teenager. Heartfelt and moving performance. Gandolfini and Melissa Leo were the perfect pair for their characters. It's a shame if people don't see this film. Amazing performances by all actors. Expand
  16. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    I trekked up to the Woodstock Film Festival from NJ a few weeks ago to see Kristen transformed as Mallory/Allison, and I was not disappointed. The theater was packed. While I didn't LOVE the film as a whole, it was just ok for me, I loved the characters and performances. Kristen poured her heart and soul into this role, and I completely forgot about her upcoming last hurrah in BreakingI trekked up to the Woodstock Film Festival from NJ a few weeks ago to see Kristen transformed as Mallory/Allison, and I was not disappointed. The theater was packed. While I didn't LOVE the film as a whole, it was just ok for me, I loved the characters and performances. Kristen poured her heart and soul into this role, and I completely forgot about her upcoming last hurrah in Breaking Dawn as Bella Swan. It is a quiet film until Kristen is in the frame, then it explodes with her energy and vulnerability. Manohla Dargis of The New York Times said she is an extremely appealing screen presence, and she's right. She is mesmerizing. Despite the ratty, dirty hair and pimple-covered face Kristen shines. Whatever twitches there may be it suits this character and does not detract from her believability at all. Gandolfini (Doug) was impressive and believable as well, Tony who? His scenes with Kristen were my favorite, and I did not have a problem at all with how quickly he takes her under his wing, unlike some critics. The impulsiveness of that act, to move in and to try to become a father figure for Mallory is indicative of someone struggling with grief and coping with the death of his own daughter the best way that he can. Leo (Lois) I adore, and she, along with all of three lead actors, was perfectly cast. Again, I disagree with critics who say the unintended comedy surrounding Lois's attempts to leave the house and conquer her agoraphobia to join Doug in New Orleans was awkward or inappropriate. It was a welcome relief to the melancholy and drama that permeates the film. Lois's vulnerability and fragility is offset with her quiet strength which she displays later with Mallory as she accepts her husband's need to rescue Mallory, or at least influence her in a positive way for the first time in her life. These characters are real, and the actors portraying them, especially Kristen, should be recognized come awards seasons if there's any justice in this world. Expand
  17. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    I have seen this movie various times and, in all honesty, I fell in more love with it with each viewing. I felt the storyline was very captivating and heartfelt as was the performances. It definitely takes you on a ride. James Gandolfini and Kristen Stewart had a great dynamic onscreen as Doug and Mallory. Loved the relationship between Doug and Mallory and I enjoyed watching theirI have seen this movie various times and, in all honesty, I fell in more love with it with each viewing. I felt the storyline was very captivating and heartfelt as was the performances. It definitely takes you on a ride. James Gandolfini and Kristen Stewart had a great dynamic onscreen as Doug and Mallory. Loved the relationship between Doug and Mallory and I enjoyed watching their highs and their lows. Melissa Leo was amazing as Lois and her performance was honest and compelling. I would absolutely recommend this movie to others. If it's playing in your city, don't pass up on this! Expand
  18. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    WTTR hasn't been released in theatres in Australia as yet. The local distributor has mentioned it will be released nationally in 2011, but no clear dates. However, it screened in July at the Melbourne International Film Festival (MIFF). As soon as I heard of this I bought my tickets to a session and my flight from Sydney (where I live). First and foremost, I loved WTTR.

    The relationships
    WTTR hasn't been released in theatres in Australia as yet. The local distributor has mentioned it will be released nationally in 2011, but no clear dates. However, it screened in July at the Melbourne International Film Festival (MIFF). As soon as I heard of this I bought my tickets to a session and my flight from Sydney (where I live). First and foremost, I loved WTTR.

    The relationships that enfold between all the characters in the story are surprising, funny, heart wrenching and real. The cast and their performances also give the story something very unique. James and Melissaâ
    Expand
  19. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    WTTR was the best Kristen Stewart movie I have seen yet. She was brilliant, you wouldn't even know her past, you'd think she was just a pro. Her ability to become this character in all sense of the word really confirmed the adoration I had for her and her skills in acting. I pray for her to just grow and become even better as a actress, person and woman. She has so much to offer and sinceWTTR was the best Kristen Stewart movie I have seen yet. She was brilliant, you wouldn't even know her past, you'd think she was just a pro. Her ability to become this character in all sense of the word really confirmed the adoration I had for her and her skills in acting. I pray for her to just grow and become even better as a actress, person and woman. She has so much to offer and since she was able to be versatile and transcend her BELLA stereotype people place her in, its amazing to see how brilliant she is. James Gandolfini and Melissa Leo did such a phenomenal job in this movie. I really forgot all the other movies I've seen them in and saw them embody their characters just like Kristen. It was so believable that I forgot they were actresses and actors.
    They have inspired me tremendously. They show you that you should never give up but keep pressing on from the simple fact that this movie has defined their excellence. THEY ARE EXCELLENT. And not to mention, or ever forget, the producing staff. I have to give special praise for Giovanni Agnelli and his ability to pull this off. He has been promoting this movie every single day on twitter. He has such a huge following for his work ethic, personality, and pure talent alone from interacting with his fans. Majority of us are Kristen Stewart fans but we loved every minute of this film. It made us cry, snort, laugh, giggle, cry, gasp and just weep from within. This movie touched all of our lives. It is the truth for some people out there, stripping is a way of living for some woman. It is a sad realization and I appreciate that this movie doesn't dummy down the reality to Mallory's situation. James Gandolfini's part just lifted my heart to a whole new level. It was almost like he was the hero that came and tried to save Mallory. He wanted to love her and be there in any way he could. His ethics of showing her how to be better and reach for greater things was beautiful. It reminds me of Gods love. The entire movie was just raw, real, inspirational and contagious. I just wanted to share this movie with everyone I knew. Even though it rendered me speechless for a few minutes.
    The detail and eloquence to the scenes was another thing. You felt like you were in every scene of this movie. You sat forward when things got serious and you stayed quiet when the climax was getting very serious. I found myself getting worried for each and every character. They connected with me and on some level I feel like a piece of me was left in that theater, to forever be changed by this movie.
    To every person, moment, dollar and thought put into this movie, it really did come to like and I am thankful. There isnt any other movie like this, done the same unique way and that will touch as many hearts as this one. We want this movie worldwide. We even have Facebook groups for almost every country in the world to get this movie there so fans, majority of Kristen Stewart, get to see it (not limiting to her amazing talent) It wouldnt be fare not to say, how much Kristen makes me secure in my own skin, empowers me and inspires me. I pray for her wellbeing because I honestly want to see every single movie, interview and photo shoot she is going to be apart of. She is wholesome and so real. She doesnt try to be bubbly or Hollywood. She is comfortable being herself and I love that about her. I admire her honesty, she doesnt hide her flaws or her perfections. I cant get enough of her talent and I really hope people can see past what the tabloids try to exploit her as. She is a human being and a very talented young woman. I havent seen anyone as talented as her at her age and in this era. She is our modern Meryl strep. It doesnt get any better than her. And she is still in the beginning of her craft, she is going to drop jaws and really show the world who she is. Just be open to her and find your own opinion of her, not what others say.
    So please everyone go out and see this movie because you will not see another movie like it. I am changed from it, I am blessed by it, and I am so grateful that I can see a character as lost and disturbed as Mallory overcome the obstacles. The movie proved there is more out there for us, a higher meaning because someone as troubled as Mallory can still have great people come into her life. The same goes for us so keep hope and use movies like this to build up your self esteem and be grateful for what you truly have in life. Things can always be worse, remember that.
    LOVE THIS MOVIE & I would recommend it to every single person I know. This independent film has set the tone for all the rest, they need to live up to this standard now. This is the absolute best independent film I have ever seen and I hope that others get to see it and make their own conclusion, but I am positive that if they just SEE it, they will fall in love with the characters and be moved for years to come. See it, embrace it, learn from it and then go out and share it with others
    Expand
  20. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    This movie was very well done and I was thoroughly pleased. When I first heard of it, I wasn't sure what it was really about, however, the previews for this movie drew me and I was drawn from the get-go. I saw the movie this weekend after hearing about it for a number of months and I was emotionally drawn in from the beginning and through the end. The cast's performances were incredibleThis movie was very well done and I was thoroughly pleased. When I first heard of it, I wasn't sure what it was really about, however, the previews for this movie drew me and I was drawn from the get-go. I saw the movie this weekend after hearing about it for a number of months and I was emotionally drawn in from the beginning and through the end. The cast's performances were incredible and James Gandolfini as well as Melissa Leo create an experience of compassion. Kristen Stewart's performance was outstanding and powerful. I'm always intrigued by her work as she truly is a talented actress. I look forward to seeing more of her work. This movie is a must see and I hope more people will get to experience its depth, power and real-life humor. Truly fantastic! Expand
  21. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    WOW. Critics are so quick to under rate this movie. I was genuinely moved by all three characters, due to the acting, it was extremely well done, especially for an indie, James really plays his character well, I was surprised with his phenomenal performance, and Kristen was very good, stepping out off her stereotypical role as Bella, I'm sick off people saying she cannot act, how can youWOW. Critics are so quick to under rate this movie. I was genuinely moved by all three characters, due to the acting, it was extremely well done, especially for an indie, James really plays his character well, I was surprised with his phenomenal performance, and Kristen was very good, stepping out off her stereotypical role as Bella, I'm sick off people saying she cannot act, how can you judge an actress if you've only seen the twilight movies, she really stepped up to the mark. Melissa, James and Kristen had perfect chemistry on screen. The only thing I disliked was the lack of closure at the end, but it was enough to keep me happy, I just wanted a bit more, even five minutes would've made more sense, but overall, the film was amazing, a must see...Soo under rated. Expand
  22. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I completely fell in love with this. And, even though it is generally well received, I am truly astonished that it has gotten even a noticeable amount of lackluster reviews. I do not see what is not to like. All three of the main actors/actresses are real all the way down to the marrow, the story unfolds very smoothly with all of the passion, humor and soulfulness that one may find in realI completely fell in love with this. And, even though it is generally well received, I am truly astonished that it has gotten even a noticeable amount of lackluster reviews. I do not see what is not to like. All three of the main actors/actresses are real all the way down to the marrow, the story unfolds very smoothly with all of the passion, humor and soulfulness that one may find in real life, and what I really adore about Welcome to the Riley's is that at no point did I feel as though I was being told a tale. It wasn't like watching a movie. It was more like watching a documentary. Because everything from the smallest facial expressions, to the most insignificant gestures is just saturated with texture and emotion. It's the quick and thoughtless remarks that the characters make, and the angles of certain glimpses of camera work that allow us, the audience, to understand what is really going on underneath all of the outward doings and occurrences. I was invested, I was interested, I was engaged and I cared about everything that was happening in this fictional world that died in two hours. Aspiring filmmakers, take notes. This is how you make something memorable and evocative. Truly touching. Moving in more ways than one. And even though nothing really sad happens during the course of the film...I almost found my self crying from the sheer humanity. Brilliant. Wonderful. Special. Expand
  23. Jul 14, 2014
    9
    I really didn't expect to enjoy this film as much as I did. Performances were incredible from the three main actors (apart from a slightly uneven accent).
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Kinnear
    Jan 18, 2015
    40
    Handicapped by its paper-thin premise, even a strong cast can’t lift Jake ‘son of Ridley’ Scott’s film out of indie-by-numbers mediocrity.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 11, 2010
    50
    Leo, in particular, seems poleaxed with good intentions. Her Lois wins the Most Understanding Wife award.
  3. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Dec 11, 2010
    50
    Sets out to be a study of grief and how to overcome it, but it rings too false to offer much hope - or entertainment.