Oscilloscope Pictures | Release Date: December 10, 2008
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 60 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
8
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
KivaJul 13, 2013
Wow! That was a waste of time. Firstly, Wendy and Lucy it is such a boring and lame and stupid film that it will make you want to kill yourself. One hour and twenty minutes wasted in my life that I would rather had been knocking my head onWow! That was a waste of time. Firstly, Wendy and Lucy it is such a boring and lame and stupid film that it will make you want to kill yourself. One hour and twenty minutes wasted in my life that I would rather had been knocking my head on the ground. Nothing happens in that film and when she find Lucy she just leaves her-AGAIN!!! I watched the first 30 minutes and then the ending. Don't watch it unless you are depressed and you prefer to watch that film rather than cutting your self. Maybe Wendy and Lucy it's worse. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
A film that revels in its mediocrity - though it tries, it is neither fun, insightful nor observant. It's only saving grace is Michelle Williams' heartbreaking performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JeremyKJul 1, 2009
Must have played better in the theatre - or not. Nice recap by Andrew. I was emphatically impressed by "Old Joy" and its deft touch of melancholia and wonder. This is in contrast a very silly film whose mundane contrivances and all too Must have played better in the theatre - or not. Nice recap by Andrew. I was emphatically impressed by "Old Joy" and its deft touch of melancholia and wonder. This is in contrast a very silly film whose mundane contrivances and all too overstated sombre simplicity make it feel an empty, patronizing waste of time. Michelle Williams is fine I suppose, I however, found myself more curious about the secret life of the senior, seemngly gentle, journeyman of a security guard. Needless - there's nothing here and let's be generous in calling it a 'noble failure'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
jacksonoMay 10, 2009
Incredulously slow and predictable. Watch me read my lines. Now watch me use the toilet in the bathroom of a gas station, this is me washing my face afterward. Now see how I feed my dog, watch dog eat its food. Almost a parody on Incredulously slow and predictable. Watch me read my lines. Now watch me use the toilet in the bathroom of a gas station, this is me washing my face afterward. Now see how I feed my dog, watch dog eat its food. Almost a parody on independent, but it wasn't meant that way. Who cares? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GregRJun 30, 2009
Pro: (1)This movie did an effective job of portraying those who don't care about others predicaments. As well as the few who lend a hand to those in need of help: i.e. security guard. (2) I felt Wendy's pain and was compelled to Pro: (1)This movie did an effective job of portraying those who don't care about others predicaments. As well as the few who lend a hand to those in need of help: i.e. security guard. (2) I felt Wendy's pain and was compelled to help her. Con: (1)Terrible sound. I would have enjoyed no music compared to the continuous annoyance of somebody humming as well as the droning musical score. (2) Camera work was horrid. Examples: camera man would aim camera at car. Umm, Wendy is over here now, you may wish to pan camera to Wendy. I'm convinced the camera man was distracted by something else during the filming. Another example, the scene in the woods where Wendy was trying to sleep. Some deranged man appears out of nowhere and starts babbling. Ok fine, yes it's scary. Problem is: I couldn't see a darn thing, let alone make out 1 coherent sentence from babbling man. I've never been a fan of completely dark scenes; I find them very annoying. (3) Wendy is destitute, we get it. Let's learn more about her background. Yes, it's actually important for the viewer to understand how/why she is got in this situation. Very weak character development. (4)The movie just ended suddenly, with her giving up her dog, Lucy and hopping on a train. The End. Critics will rave about artistic intentions of the filming techniques and musical score etc.,etc. The fact is, it is popular these days for critics to hump any movie that isn't a hollywood special, regardless of how weak the film actually is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobS.Jun 9, 2009
The acting is good, but the story is pointless. It might has well ended mid-sentence. Did they run out of money and had to just end it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
tintinJan 30, 2009
I love movies. I see at least 1 art house film per week. This movie was a waste of my time and money. The only bright side is that I only wasted 80 minutes of my life. The entire movie is Michelle Williams looking for her dog. Why is she I love movies. I see at least 1 art house film per week. This movie was a waste of my time and money. The only bright side is that I only wasted 80 minutes of my life. The entire movie is Michelle Williams looking for her dog. Why is she going to Alaska? Is she going towards something or running away from something? At least the popcorn was fresh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
filmloverDec 18, 2008
I love art films, euro, asian etc... but this film is just plain boring. Williams is terrific and i liked old joy by the same filmmaker, but this is pointless and often doesn't make sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TommyLFeb 19, 2009
We know absolutely nothing of Wendy. Why is she in her current situation? Why does her family not care about her? Her relationship with Lucy is very shallow and needed to be fleshed out more. The more interesting one is between her and the We know absolutely nothing of Wendy. Why is she in her current situation? Why does her family not care about her? Her relationship with Lucy is very shallow and needed to be fleshed out more. The more interesting one is between her and the security guard but we get to know very little about him. This film went literally nowhere, literally and figuratively. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnB.Jun 13, 2009
This is just the kind of film that gives movie critics a bad name. Widely reviewed by the "experts" as an exceptional film, this thing is a boring mess from start to finish. No story, lifeless acting and a completely nothing of an ending. This is just the kind of film that gives movie critics a bad name. Widely reviewed by the "experts" as an exceptional film, this thing is a boring mess from start to finish. No story, lifeless acting and a completely nothing of an ending. Absolutely pathetic, and a complete waste of time and money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JL.Jun 9, 2009
Boring movie. Girl is not very bright.
0 of 0 users found this helpful