Werckmeister Harmonies

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 75
  2. Negative: 13 out of 75

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BruceH.
    Aug 24, 2007
    3
    I really wanted to love this movie. I yearned to discover more than artistic photography and moody lighting, but that was all there was. I am very educated and I always seem to understand symbolism in film. Here, if there was symbolism--and dear god I hope that's what that was-- I didn't get it. I kept waiting for the moment of profundity, of closure, of understanding. It never I really wanted to love this movie. I yearned to discover more than artistic photography and moody lighting, but that was all there was. I am very educated and I always seem to understand symbolism in film. Here, if there was symbolism--and dear god I hope that's what that was-- I didn't get it. I kept waiting for the moment of profundity, of closure, of understanding. It never came. If you like surreal, cryptic, bizarre films, then this is for you. Otherwise, ignore the high rating and save your time. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    3
    This movie is aggressively pretentious and tedious. If you want to watch a contemplative film, watch Stalker by Tarkovsky instead. "I despise stories, as they mislead people into believing that something has happened." -Bela Tarr

    Rest assured, Mr. Tarr, no one will be mislead into believe anything has happened in Werckmeister Harmonies.
  3. DanB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    2
    A huge disappointment. I'm all for very long takes and little plot--the films of Tsai Ming-Liang, for example, are mesmerizing to me--but I found this movie a chore to sit through.
  4. Ed
    Nov 20, 2003
    0
    This movie looks intelligent, but it's really the most overblown, pretentious, trite, hyperbolic nonsense I've ever seen. I can only assume that those among you who gave this film good reviews are either deeply ironic or too deeply enmeshed in the bourgeois myth of the unassailability of the "avant garde" to be able to judge anything more complicated than a tighty-whitey contest.
  5. MichaelL.
    Mar 14, 2006
    3
    A well deserved 3. I do admit it was courageous to shoot the extremely long takes, and minimalize the dialogue as to make the movie seem more "intelligent". Still, this movie made me sleep and did not raise the slightest bit of compassion for the townspeople from me. I think the first few minutes of the movie are very important to whether you buy the entire movie. It relies on the A well deserved 3. I do admit it was courageous to shoot the extremely long takes, and minimalize the dialogue as to make the movie seem more "intelligent". Still, this movie made me sleep and did not raise the slightest bit of compassion for the townspeople from me. I think the first few minutes of the movie are very important to whether you buy the entire movie. It relies on the audience's ability to imagine all the possible emotions being felt by the unemotional actors. Expand
  6. DillardS.
    Jan 4, 2007
    3
    Great photography, but not much else. Vacuous wannabee profundity.
  7. BradC.
    Aug 1, 2007
    1
    This movie was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Poorly acted, poorly filmed, and horribly paced. The movie is pointless and unentertaining. You will feel the pain of you brain cells dying throughout the the film should you make the mistake of watching it.
  8. RussD.
    Dec 28, 2001
    0
    What would happen in a small town that did not have TV. Could have been written by a first year Social Science student.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. This is as challenging as movies come, alluding to everything from philosopher Thomas Hobbes to the history of Western music.
  2. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    90
    A stunning feature -- another hypnotic meditation on popular demagogy and mental manipulation.
  3. 80
    A work of bravura filmmaking.