Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 315 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 38
  2. Negative: 10 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Aug 7, 2013
    75
    Needless to say, the shapely Aniston pulls it off without a hitch — even if she never actually appears without a stitch. If this gutsy performance leads to better opportunities—a remake of Demi Moore's ill-conceived "Striptease," perhaps — I might sleep better at night.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Aug 7, 2013
    67
    With the exception of Roberts, who blends into the background in every scene in which she appears, the cast comprising the Millers keeps this sweetly crude comedy afloat.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Aug 24, 2013
    60
    Hang on for the outtake bloopers over the credits and you'll see Aniston momentarily unsure how to take a joke at her expense.
  4. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Aug 6, 2013
    50
    While the setups are often laughably forced—two words: “weed baby”—the script navigates its way out of them relatively gracefully, and sometimes hilariously.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 7, 2013
    40
    The result is a loose conglomeration of jokes that never really holds together: Funny in parts, but overwhelmed by the bland emptiness where its protagonist should be.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 6, 2013
    40
    We're the Millers is full of moments that feel as forced as the marriage of convenience — and contrivance — in the movie.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    Even a premise this stupidly contrived stands a fair chance of working if there are a few decent yuks to be had, but absent any such inspiration, We’re the Millers falls back on the sort of lazy but desperate, sexually fixated non sequiturs that have become de rigueur in studio comedies, jabbing repeatedly at the human groin in hopes of eventually hitting something funny.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 97
  2. Negative: 15 out of 97
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    I love Jen Aniston anyway, but this movie was very, very funny! The entire theater laughed throughout the whole movie. Yes, jokes wereI love Jen Aniston anyway, but this movie was very, very funny! The entire theater laughed throughout the whole movie. Yes, jokes were raunchy, a lot of f-bombs, crude jokes and hand gestures, but, lighten up...it's a comedy, and I did not really guess the twist at the end. In all, a fun, feel good movie. Puritans, be warned. I rate this a ten...but my computer is acting up so it might register as zero on the scale...but it is a ten. Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    There are a Lot of funny parts to this movie. Went to it spur of the moment with some friends, not expecting much and it exceeded myThere are a Lot of funny parts to this movie. Went to it spur of the moment with some friends, not expecting much and it exceeded my expectations. Don't expect the best plot but it will hopefully provide you with some good laughs like it did for me. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    8
    It is by no conceivable measure original or perfect, but Millers is honestly a hilarious movie. Sudeikis proves he will have a great post-SNLIt is by no conceivable measure original or perfect, but Millers is honestly a hilarious movie. Sudeikis proves he will have a great post-SNL career and there are some one liners here that are just great. It does try a little too hard to up the ante by adding guns, because Identity Thief and Hangover 3 proved that always makes things hilarious, right? (That was rhetorical by the way) But it never tries to be anything it's not. It's just an entertaining and very funny film. I usually agree with critics but in this case, screw em. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    Well, I could have done without seeing the ginger kids uncircumcised penis, aside from that this was a pretty fun movie. Jason Sudeikis is oneWell, I could have done without seeing the ginger kids uncircumcised penis, aside from that this was a pretty fun movie. Jason Sudeikis is one of these guys who just gets better and better with every film he does. I used to be a hater, but now I'll see anything that he's in, and We're The Millers is his best movie to date. This story is about a local drug dealer who gets in trouble with his supplier, and the only way out is to become a trafficker. Dave Clark (Sudeikis) decides the best way to do this is to recruit a fake family to make it look like they're just on vacation. Clark recruits his neighbor, a stripper, and a local homeless teen to be his fake family complete and the Millers are born. This film is non-stop laughs, as I said earlier Sudeikis was hilarious, but surprisingly so was Jennifer Aniston. There are a lot of knocks against her, especially when it comes to comedy, but whenever Rachel plays a fowl mouthed, raunchy character, I see her in a whole new light, and she was terrific in this film. Will Poulter is another stand out from the film, he's been acting since a very young age, but to my knowledge has never been in a comedy before. Here he plays a loveable geek that would easily fit in with the cast of the Big Bang Theory. Out of all the funny scenes and outrageous moments, it's Poulter's that made me laugh the hardest. Is this the best movie I've ever seen? Not even close, but it's one of those comedies that just keeps coming at you and never stops. While the story is a bit ridiculous, I promise you will still laugh until you're sides hurt, because We're The Millers is the best new comedy I've seen all year. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    6
    Not the best of movies but worth watching. The acting was pretty good and the plot was also pretty good. I did find myself laughing moderatelyNot the best of movies but worth watching. The acting was pretty good and the plot was also pretty good. I did find myself laughing moderately throughout the movie. Just a fun movie to watch. The twist at the end of the movie was cool. Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2014
    5
    There are too many scenes that just dont quite do anything for me, and the ok scenes are still not that great. Overall, a way over ratedThere are too many scenes that just dont quite do anything for me, and the ok scenes are still not that great. Overall, a way over rated comedy in my opinion, that really worth one, two at the most views. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    What has entertainment come to? The movie had the potential to be entertaining, but was ruined with a barrage of profanity. The majority ofWhat has entertainment come to? The movie had the potential to be entertaining, but was ruined with a barrage of profanity. The majority of the script is cursing and lacks the ability to deliver comedy without frequent cursing. Expand

See all 97 User Reviews

Trailers