PolyGram Filmed Entertainment | Release Date: October 2, 1998
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
15
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
MichelleD.Jan 15, 2005
Love love LOVE this movie. I think it is original and just totally interesting and beautiful. It is a little dark at times- but death and hell are that way. Who knows - it could all be true!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 14, 2005
This is a phenomenal movie. This movie shows how friends and family survive past death and find each other again. Also this is a wonderful movie of a man who loves his wife and tries everything to make her happy. No one was better for the This is a phenomenal movie. This movie shows how friends and family survive past death and find each other again. Also this is a wonderful movie of a man who loves his wife and tries everything to make her happy. No one was better for the lead role except for Robin Williams. It's a must see in my book! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshT.Feb 24, 2006
i think this movie is amazing in every way. it is a beautiful love story that endures all obstacles. superb acting. amazing effects. a story that you couldnt find anywhere else.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CassandraTSep 28, 2007
This movie had some mistakes, much like all movies, but the overall meaning and purpose behind the film is absolutely fabulous. The way the purple flowers fall from the tree to represent the beauty of death, yet the sincere loss of a loved This movie had some mistakes, much like all movies, but the overall meaning and purpose behind the film is absolutely fabulous. The way the purple flowers fall from the tree to represent the beauty of death, yet the sincere loss of a loved one, the way water plays an extremely important role with the cleansing of both mental and spiritual aspects of "the self." It shows pain, and power through love and free will. Never give up, is the motto throughout the movie. Family is the most valuable thing on earth and it does not just stop there, it follows into the after life. With heaven represented as Annie's paintings it shows that heaven is whatever you want it to be. It is not laced with big pearly gates and cloud walking with angel wings. Heaven is your own manifestation. However it incorporated sin, so that it is not all rainbows and butterflies. Hell is not represented by fire and dragon's breath but is depicted by Dante's "Inferno." Each level representing a different sin. "I'd rather die trying, then never try at all," is a saying common in today's language and through this movie, it gives hope and strength, with lots of symbolic meaning to the questions what is life after death and what is the meaning of life as it is now? Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ColinD.Sep 11, 2008
I'm utterly confused as to how critics could review this so poorly. What Dreams May Come is a vivid and captivating movie that will both mystify and spiritually gratify nearly anyone that views it. Though it distances itself somewhat I'm utterly confused as to how critics could review this so poorly. What Dreams May Come is a vivid and captivating movie that will both mystify and spiritually gratify nearly anyone that views it. Though it distances itself somewhat from the actual Matheson novel, this film won't disappoint. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
suze649Sep 10, 2011
I could not follow this mixed up movie. The depictions of heaven and hell showed heaven to be as depressing as hell, some place no one would want to be. I finally just turned the movie off since I got absolutely no enjoyment out of it, gladI could not follow this mixed up movie. The depictions of heaven and hell showed heaven to be as depressing as hell, some place no one would want to be. I finally just turned the movie off since I got absolutely no enjoyment out of it, glad it was free. The only thing I really enjoyed about this movie was the beautiful home this couple lived in. That was all. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
CassicoutureSep 8, 2013
BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Any critic that have it less than 9 is a heartless cold soul.
So much beauty/pain/love all together in one!!
I cry every time. Only downfall is you need tissues for this movie, it's a sad film for the most part.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FarsheedJun 6, 2016
It tells the story of a love that is so strong which lasts even in the other universe. The story, actor's performances, directing and everything else were excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews