Screen Gems | Release Date: February 3, 2006
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 116 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
22
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
KyleL.Feb 10, 2006
OK, ill admit, it was entertaining....but the idea sucked...and so did all the liitle girls in theater screaming every other minute...
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ShaneApr 8, 2006
I absolutely adored this movie(on opposite day). It took way to long until the girl finally sees the guy. It also doesn't help that the movie was only 85 minutes long. This movie was a waste of paper for making the ticket. I hated this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DaveG.Feb 4, 2006
Wow, this movie is terrible. If you want something really scary, go find "Black Christmas (1974)." Also, a comment to one of the other reviewers for this film, Britney S.: a movie cannot be both predictable and "keeps you guessing." Sorry. Wow, this movie is terrible. If you want something really scary, go find "Black Christmas (1974)." Also, a comment to one of the other reviewers for this film, Britney S.: a movie cannot be both predictable and "keeps you guessing." Sorry. Please don't string together contradictory thoughts, and please stop writing anything down. Just keep it all in your head and learn a trade or something. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoekoolKFeb 5, 2006
Tremendously horrible. Everything about it was just plain stupidity. The acting, suspense were nonexistent. It will end up being one of the worst movies of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TylerD.Feb 11, 2006
This movie had nothing going for it the moment I saw the commercial. It's entirely predictable, and the commercial literally gave away the "plot twist". Half of the movie is spent with the girl freaking out and calling the cops, and the This movie had nothing going for it the moment I saw the commercial. It's entirely predictable, and the commercial literally gave away the "plot twist". Half of the movie is spent with the girl freaking out and calling the cops, and the ending was the worst I've seen and pointless. Why did she wake up in a mental institution? Who was the man in the car? You have many questions running through your head during the movie and you expect them to be answered, but they're not. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GrantN.Feb 4, 2006
When a Stranger Calls is a rehash of the best 30 minutes of the original movie of the same name. If it had been able to keep that suspense throughout the entire movie then maybe it would be able to succeed. But alas it gives out the largest When a Stranger Calls is a rehash of the best 30 minutes of the original movie of the same name. If it had been able to keep that suspense throughout the entire movie then maybe it would be able to succeed. But alas it gives out the largest plot twist in the trailer. Also Brittney S. clearly does not have a good grasp on the English language judging by her comment "While being PREDICTABLE it keeps you GUESSING." Which makes no sense. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JakeFeb 4, 2006
Come now Dave, just because someone likes something that you thought sucked doesn't make them an incompentent ignoramus. Her statement was not as contradictory as you would like to believe.....I absolutely HATE it we overconfident Come now Dave, just because someone likes something that you thought sucked doesn't make them an incompentent ignoramus. Her statement was not as contradictory as you would like to believe.....I absolutely HATE it we overconfident a$$holes pick on people in a condescending manner, hiding behind the veil of anonymity the internet provides...if you have so much rage pent up inside you go listen to some Eminem and play GTA. Yes, the movie was bad some people's standards (including mine), but just because you are pissed off for spending $8 dollars doesn't give you the right to insult someone's intelligence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BrettS.Feb 8, 2006
Someone tell me who's dumb enough to give a movie like this a green-light. Horrible, horrible, horrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
jackJul 15, 2006
Wow. I can't believe I attempted to watch this. Thank goodness for fast forward; I reviewed this dreck in less than 20 minutes. There is no a single gripping moment, semblance of brilliance, plot relevance, nor character empathy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
I jumped once, and that's it. Boring and not suspenseful at all. One of the worst movies of the year, and by far the worst horror movie of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
kayMay 18, 2006
thsi girl is the worst actor i've ever seen might be a lot of suspense but damn think of it, obviusly no other celebrity would take it so she did ha.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MikeK.Jun 26, 2006
[***SPOILERS***]This is the worst scary/horror/suspense movie I've ever seen. It attempts to copy a whole bunch of good movies and does a horrible job at it. I knew everything that was going to happen before it happened in the movie. [***SPOILERS***]This is the worst scary/horror/suspense movie I've ever seen. It attempts to copy a whole bunch of good movies and does a horrible job at it. I knew everything that was going to happen before it happened in the movie. Then there's no development for the actual killer guy. You just assume he's just some crazy dude. they put a black cat in the movie (they thought that would be scary) and they have this stupid creepy lookin statue that these people are supposed to own (just there to be scary, which it isn't). The worst part of the movie is when the laundry door starts squeeking closed by itself and behind the door was these clothes that were like a mask and a black jacket with the wall white people colored, all perfectly spaced so it would look like a person. Why would that be there? who even would own stuff like that, and if they did why would they hang it up behind the door and in such a fashion. Every part of the movie is cliche from the killler's voice and his nonchalant walking to kill the victim. Another part that's stupid is how the girl can manage to slip through this dude's fingers a bunch of times when he looked to have a firm grip and leverage. very bad ending also. SOOO HORRIBLE! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PaulD.Jun 14, 2007
One of the lamest horror movies I've ever seen. Many red herrings that don't lead anywhere and seems completely derivative. Don't waste your time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BrianL.Feb 2, 2006
Spawns a new generation of film: Surivival-Boredom. Chocked full of red-herrings. In fact, for most of the movie the lead female has nothing to be frightened of; save for portentous horns and strings. Disparate camera work. A director in Spawns a new generation of film: Surivival-Boredom. Chocked full of red-herrings. In fact, for most of the movie the lead female has nothing to be frightened of; save for portentous horns and strings. Disparate camera work. A director in search of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MickJ.Feb 3, 2006
"..................." This is what I predict will be running repeatedly through your mind whilst watching this piece. Well, at least it gives aspiring film-makers plenty of hope. What garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanS.Feb 3, 2006
This movie was so pointless. No suspense at all. Everything that happens in the movie, happened in the preview. So just go watch the trailer online. Don't spend money on this cliche piece of crap. Maybe if its a huge bomb they'll This movie was so pointless. No suspense at all. Everything that happens in the movie, happened in the preview. So just go watch the trailer online. Don't spend money on this cliche piece of crap. Maybe if its a huge bomb they'll quit making horrible remakes like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattFeb 5, 2006
Ugh. I haven't seen the original, but I have heard much about it. As for this, the remake? Awful. The actual "chase" portion of the film is only about 10 minutes long and after it was over (about 80 minutes into the movie) I wasn't Ugh. I haven't seen the original, but I have heard much about it. As for this, the remake? Awful. The actual "chase" portion of the film is only about 10 minutes long and after it was over (about 80 minutes into the movie) I wasn't even sure if the movie was over. Then, they try to give you this ending "twist" that makes no sense and is basically a rehash of Halloween II. meh, my money, she is gone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianA.Feb 5, 2006
This movie would be great if it was supposed to be a COMEDY. Terrible writing, bad acting, and the main character is so stupid she deserves to be knived. Complete rubbish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
spadenxDec 26, 2011
Its not scary, Its not suspensful. Its just a lot of pointless trash that makes you feel that you wasted 10 dollars to watch it. Its hands down one of the worst horror films out there, And imo the worst remake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Aug 3, 2013
When a stranger Calls is an abysmal film that offers absolutely nothing but repeated, unnecessary phone calls that try so hard to build some kind of suspense but instead offers terrible writing, bad acting, and something that should neverWhen a stranger Calls is an abysmal film that offers absolutely nothing but repeated, unnecessary phone calls that try so hard to build some kind of suspense but instead offers terrible writing, bad acting, and something that should never have been made in the first place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews