Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 25, 2011
    75
    Writer-director John Gray, who created "Ghost Whisperer" on TV, is a son of Brooklyn whose love for the borough is as thick as a pint of Guinness, and he keeps finding fresh ways to present familiar plot points.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 25, 2011
    75
    The performances are uniformly terrific, finding the specific details that create a universal truth.
  3. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Mar 22, 2011
    75
    A thoughtful coming-of-age story with bracing performances, solid writing and direction by John Gray and inescapable take-home values that give you a feel-good lift.
  4. Reviewed by: Ray Bennett
    Mar 21, 2011
    70
    Could easily be filled with cliches but in the hands of filmmaker John Gray, it's a sparkling piece of entertainment that deserves a wide audience.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Mar 21, 2011
    70
    A modestly engaging domestic drama that earns few points for originality but rewards aud attention with persuasive performances, outbursts of robust humor and a vivid yet understated evocation of time and place.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 25, 2011
    60
    There's an unexpected appeal to John Gray's modest drama, emanating from its center.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 3, 2011
    50
    A movie that offers exactly the kind of bittersweet drama you'd expect from something called White Irish Drinkers.
  8. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    The result is a movie that one watches with the sense of pushing it up a hill.
  9. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 24, 2011
    50
    From that title on down, White Irish Drinkers is a compendium of clichés struggling to upgrade its status and become a respectable archetype.
  10. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Mar 24, 2011
    50
    Because Mr. Thurston and Mr. Wigdor lack the hard shells necessary to make their characters credible, White Irish Drinkers feels synthetic. Mr. Lang and the older cast members fare better, but they can't save a movie that runs on clichés.
  11. Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    Mar 22, 2011
    50
    Even though Gray is no raw-boned rookie-he has made TV movies for decades, plus, back in the day, a single Steven Seagal floater-his movie is rather inexcusably obvious, going for "troot," but recycling dese-dose-dem clichés already pressed into plastic lumber 25 years ago.
  12. Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    Mar 27, 2011
    42
    The casting of both Riegert and Allen may sound like an "Animal House" reunion, but the two have no scenes together.
  13. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Mar 24, 2011
    40
    The clichés are what make White Irish Drinkers a drearily predictable bout, so much so that the decent last-round plot twist that momentarily dazes is immediately undercut by the sappy, life-changing-fuh-EV-uh jab telegraphed from the beginning.
  14. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Mar 22, 2011
    40
    Atmosphere and acting can't save a script filled with easy-target irony ("Who ever heard of gettin' rich from workin' with computers?") and a plot that telegraphs every left turn miles in advance.
  15. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 24, 2011
    38
    All the good intentions in the world can't save White Irish Drinkers from playing like the baldest of retreads.
  16. Reviewed by: Elvis Mitchell
    Mar 24, 2011
    30
    As you might have guessed from its title, Drinkers is as full of cheap sentimentality and predictable behavior as a Hell's Kitchen bar would have been in the 1970s.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This was a FANTASTIC movie and I hope it gets more theatre exposure!! Such a compelling story of how so often fear affects our choices andThis was a FANTASTIC movie and I hope it gets more theatre exposure!! Such a compelling story of how so often fear affects our choices and actions... and how the choices we make regarding the people we choose to care about and manner in which we choose to care is whats it all about. We don't get to choose plenty in our live's (like our parents, our gender, etc....) - but we do get to make choices about who and what matters! Great movie and great acting / direction! Full Review »
  2. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this movie!!! The music, the humor, the actors, and it was great to see Peter Riegert and Karen Allen again. This is what BrooklynI LOVED this movie!!! The music, the humor, the actors, and it was great to see Peter Riegert and Karen Allen again. This is what Brooklyn was like in the 70's. The director nailed it! Go see it!! Full Review »
  3. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Can't believe I hadn't heard anything about this film before; just saw it at Laemmle Sunset 5 in LA on recommendation of a friend. I amCan't believe I hadn't heard anything about this film before; just saw it at Laemmle Sunset 5 in LA on recommendation of a friend. I am still thinking about it. The family reminds me of my own (Framingham MA in the '80's, not Brooklyn New York in the '70s, but it doesn't matter, it's universal)..realistically shows the residual harm an alcoholic family can cause, but also shows how love can survive and conquer, even among those unable to express it. Nick Thurston is a star in the making. Stephen Lang and Karen Allen should win Oscars. So much to think about. May see it again. No exaggeration. GO!!! Full Review »