White Irish Drinkers

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 4 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 8, 2013
    10
    Wow. Wasn't expecting to be knocked off my couch when I watched this on Netflix, but it moved me so deeply, I couldn't stop thinking about it. Rented it again when an old friend came to town and we were both laughing hysterically and weeping like babies toward the end. Peter Riegert was great, Stephen Lang was scary and Karen Allen is still beautiful. And the new kid, Nick ThurstonWow. Wasn't expecting to be knocked off my couch when I watched this on Netflix, but it moved me so deeply, I couldn't stop thinking about it. Rented it again when an old friend came to town and we were both laughing hysterically and weeping like babies toward the end. Peter Riegert was great, Stephen Lang was scary and Karen Allen is still beautiful. And the new kid, Nick Thurston another Wow. If you want the kind of experience that only heartfelt little movies can offer, this is your film. Highest recommendation. (Oh and the music is great, too!) Collapse
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    White Irish Drinkers is a coming of age story, centered around a boy who doesn't quite fit in with the rest of his dysfunctional family. It's a common theme in many similar films and to be honest, I didn't see anything here, that made this movie stand out from the rest of them. This is just another coming of age film without many surprises. The story wasn't bad, but it wasn't anythingWhite Irish Drinkers is a coming of age story, centered around a boy who doesn't quite fit in with the rest of his dysfunctional family. It's a common theme in many similar films and to be honest, I didn't see anything here, that made this movie stand out from the rest of them. This is just another coming of age film without many surprises. The story wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything special. The acting was OK, as was the pace of the film. I'm finding it really difficult to say anything positive or negative about White Irish Drinkers, because the truth is, it's just a simple, ordinary story that I've seen a hundred times before. The names and places always change, and there was a familiar face or two, but nothing about this film stands out positively or negatively in any way. It's just a very common type of story with a very ordinary cast. Everyone does their job and the story gets told, I don't know what you'll think, but my reaction to this film was simple neutrality. A decent movie, but easily forgotten, as nothing made any kind of impact on me at all. Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This was a FANTASTIC movie and I hope it gets more theatre exposure!! Such a compelling story of how so often fear affects our choices and actions... and how the choices we make regarding the people we choose to care about and manner in which we choose to care is whats it all about. We don't get to choose plenty in our live's (like our parents, our gender, etc....) - but we do get to makeThis was a FANTASTIC movie and I hope it gets more theatre exposure!! Such a compelling story of how so often fear affects our choices and actions... and how the choices we make regarding the people we choose to care about and manner in which we choose to care is whats it all about. We don't get to choose plenty in our live's (like our parents, our gender, etc....) - but we do get to make choices about who and what matters! Great movie and great acting / direction! Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    This is a great film. Inspiring, funny, moving, romantic, and intense. Stephen Lang's performance is jaw-dropping. The movie strikes a great balance between tension and laughter and the final scene is a shocking resolution to all that tension. Great movie, great writing, great acting, great music...highly recommend!
  5. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this movie!!! The music, the humor, the actors, and it was great to see Peter Riegert and Karen Allen again. This is what Brooklyn was like in the 70's. The director nailed it! Go see it!!
  6. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Can't believe I hadn't heard anything about this film before; just saw it at Laemmle Sunset 5 in LA on recommendation of a friend. I am still thinking about it. The family reminds me of my own (Framingham MA in the '80's, not Brooklyn New York in the '70s, but it doesn't matter, it's universal)..realistically shows the residual harm an alcoholic family can cause, but also shows howCan't believe I hadn't heard anything about this film before; just saw it at Laemmle Sunset 5 in LA on recommendation of a friend. I am still thinking about it. The family reminds me of my own (Framingham MA in the '80's, not Brooklyn New York in the '70s, but it doesn't matter, it's universal)..realistically shows the residual harm an alcoholic family can cause, but also shows how love can survive and conquer, even among those unable to express it. Nick Thurston is a star in the making. Stephen Lang and Karen Allen should win Oscars. So much to think about. May see it again. No exaggeration. GO!!! Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Nick Thurston was dynamite!! This movie is one of those movies that makes you want do something different in your life and in away is very inspirational. Through the compelling story you realize your in contol of what you want to do. White Irish Drinkers delivers and delivers hard! its one of those movies that hits every aspect a movie should, drama, romance, action, humor, some crime. ItsNick Thurston was dynamite!! This movie is one of those movies that makes you want do something different in your life and in away is very inspirational. Through the compelling story you realize your in contol of what you want to do. White Irish Drinkers delivers and delivers hard! its one of those movies that hits every aspect a movie should, drama, romance, action, humor, some crime. Its soo good, that i would definitely go see it again..... Its a must see... oh and ignore the critics... they are clueless. Expand
  8. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    GREAT movie. The acting and the story were incredible. Nick Thurston did a fantastic job with his role. I was not expecting much with this film, but i left the theater wanting more. The family drama and crime are very captivating. I would definitely recommend this movie.
  9. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    Such a realistic approach to any dysfunctional family situation. John Gray does an amazing job of utilizing the acting styles of NIck Thurston and Stephen Lang. Together, the entire cast and crew make you feel like you are part of the family, and it is so easy to relate to the struggles of leaving your home. Over all a beautifully made film that ought to be seen by everyone.
  10. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and everything that it brought to the table. I felt the story was extremely well written and the film was brilliantly cast. Newcomer Nick Thurston delivered a brilliant performance and really put himself on the map I feel. I also really enjoyed watching Karen Allen's performance for I thought she did an amazing job at bring the character to life and reallyI thoroughly enjoyed this movie and everything that it brought to the table. I felt the story was extremely well written and the film was brilliantly cast. Newcomer Nick Thurston delivered a brilliant performance and really put himself on the map I feel. I also really enjoyed watching Karen Allen's performance for I thought she did an amazing job at bring the character to life and really showing her struggle. The film also had an amazing soundtrack that really added extreme emotion to all the scenes. I truly could feel the emotional tension in each scene. Aside from it being emotionally gripping, it also had a light hearted feel to it as well. The exchanges between Nick Thurston and his love interest really have a romantic touch to them and gives the film its romantic appeal. I really feel people will love this movie for it really is able to connect with people and reach them on a personal level. I high recommend seeing it. Well worth it. Expand
  11. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    Amazing film and top-notch performances. Stephen Lang, Karen Allen, and Geoff Wigdor all did an amazing job, but it was newcomer Nick Thurston who I was most impressed with. You can really feel the directorâ
  12. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    White Irish Drinkers opened this weekend at the Sunshine Cinema in New York, and I have to admit â
  13. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    The passion of the filmmakers really shines through in White Irish Drinkers. Dir. John Gray took a chance with his own funding to make sure it got made, and now after seeing it I understand why. The emotional depth of the film is so incredibly compelling. It's a film people relate to. Everyone has experienced those family moments, the joys and the fears. Uplifting and spirited, theThe passion of the filmmakers really shines through in White Irish Drinkers. Dir. John Gray took a chance with his own funding to make sure it got made, and now after seeing it I understand why. The emotional depth of the film is so incredibly compelling. It's a film people relate to. Everyone has experienced those family moments, the joys and the fears. Uplifting and spirited, the film packs a punch. Expand
  14. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This film makes you feel like a twenty-something stuck in Brooklyn, trying to make it out of an abusive home without succumbing to the world of crime that surrounds you. Nick Thurston is that good that he makes you feel like your in the movie. The story is completely relatable, yet unpredictable. The surpise ending was really a kicker. All of the characters are loveable and the 1970sThis film makes you feel like a twenty-something stuck in Brooklyn, trying to make it out of an abusive home without succumbing to the world of crime that surrounds you. Nick Thurston is that good that he makes you feel like your in the movie. The story is completely relatable, yet unpredictable. The surpise ending was really a kicker. All of the characters are loveable and the 1970s Brooklyn scenery is on point! I would love to see this movie again. I would definitely recommend it for your next movie date! Expand
  15. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    I was going into the film expecting nothing and walked away with an entirely new perspective of life. White Irish Drinkers separates films from good to memorable. I had an alcoholic father growing up and it really hit close to home- not just with the similar substance abusive father figure but the feeling of inadequacy that any coming-of-age person can relate to. With implicit familyI was going into the film expecting nothing and walked away with an entirely new perspective of life. White Irish Drinkers separates films from good to memorable. I had an alcoholic father growing up and it really hit close to home- not just with the similar substance abusive father figure but the feeling of inadequacy that any coming-of-age person can relate to. With implicit family values being questioned and the power of loyalty being tested- the film goes beyond the standard expectations of a drama and exposes the heart of family issues. Expand
  16. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Real knockout movie. I didn't expect much from it because I hadn't seen much of it outside of the trailer. but BOY was I blown away. Nick Thurston delivered an astounding breakout performance and the Brooklyn! I strongly recommend this film for its surprisingly in-depth commentary on family and the main force driving the protagonist, Brian.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 3, 2011
    50
    A movie that offers exactly the kind of bittersweet drama you'd expect from something called White Irish Drinkers.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    The result is a movie that one watches with the sense of pushing it up a hill.
  3. Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    Mar 27, 2011
    42
    The casting of both Riegert and Allen may sound like an "Animal House" reunion, but the two have no scenes together.