Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: June 28, 2006
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 67 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
2
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CarlT.Jul 15, 2006
Finally a film showing how capitalism reduces consumers choices and keeps us in the dark. [Ed: uh?] I didn't even know about these cars!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougK.Aug 1, 2006
Excellent statement of what happened. Without Chris Paine and Dean Devlin this story would never have been told. Now what ever they do to us, at least the truth is out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]May 5, 2007
A totally convincing and lively documentary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffM.Jun 20, 2007
Not sure if Jeff S. even watched the movie; the shortcomings of electric and hybrid cars are spelled out repeatedly. Also, the celebrities in question aren't even C-list. Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go make sweet, sweet love Not sure if Jeff S. even watched the movie; the shortcomings of electric and hybrid cars are spelled out repeatedly. Also, the celebrities in question aren't even C-list. Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go make sweet, sweet love to a tree. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PerlaN.Nov 10, 2006
Did you know that a 0 emissions car was on the market in California 5 years ago and widely lauded as affordable, dependable and fast by its drivers? And then, under pressure from GM, federal government (Mr. Bush, Condi and others who have Did you know that a 0 emissions car was on the market in California 5 years ago and widely lauded as affordable, dependable and fast by its drivers? And then, under pressure from GM, federal government (Mr. Bush, Condi and others who have strong ties to car manufacturers/oil companies), and oil companies. This is an eye-opening movie on the tactics of GM - how they crushed an excellent technology and created a red herring to confuse and distract legislators and consumers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CorV.Jun 29, 2006
Magnificent plot, finally I understood why the car companies were making such conflicting statements and actions. Great footage and involvement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobM.Jun 29, 2006
This is a balanced film that makes one think, cry, angry and motivated to share and act. A fabulous film for viewers of all points of view.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimG.Jul 19, 2006
A competent engaging documentary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigASSep 17, 2006
Yay! Electric cars can (and should) be the future!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JeffS.Jun 10, 2007
A pile of left-wing propaganda combined with B-list celebrity interviews and narration by the "real" president, Martin Sheen. Hybrid and electric car technologies are held up to be glorious and infallible while other technologies are mocked A pile of left-wing propaganda combined with B-list celebrity interviews and narration by the "real" president, Martin Sheen. Hybrid and electric car technologies are held up to be glorious and infallible while other technologies are mocked and impugned. The filmmakers did a good job of pointing out the shortcomings of other "new" technologies but they never discussed the limitations of hybrids or electric cars. Also, in order to fully appreciate this film you need to have no understanding of basic economics or consumer behavior. If that's you, then you too will "probably want to give this film "20 out of 10 stars" like the sycophantic tree-huggers who got here before me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuartSOct 21, 2006
Go see this film and you will gain a lot of insight into why we have an energy crises and perhaps why America is having so many problems. Go see it and tell everyone you know to do so also. It is too bad this film did not get more exposure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DianeB.Jun 27, 2006
Now I know why General Motors was so eager to cease production and recall all of the EV 1's. Viewers get caught up in the mystery and also feel saddened at the destruction of such a beautiful car.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MamieS.Jun 29, 2006
I cant believe someone finally told the truth about GM! Good movie! Nice to see real protestors, without all the PC mess!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamelaB.Jul 3, 2006
I drive an electric car Solectria and love it. Built the same year as the EV1 my range is not what the EV1 is so I am very jealous. We charge the car off our solar panels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichP.Jul 5, 2006
Good message and entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeH.Feb 4, 2007
I would have given it a 20 out of 10. It was a very well-done film with a great message. Everyone should see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricG.Jun 29, 2006
Someday when GM is bankrupt and Toyota and the independents like Wrightspeed and Tesla Motors own the American Road, people will look back and discover this film again. It's an incredibly well made movie that should make Sean Hanity Someday when GM is bankrupt and Toyota and the independents like Wrightspeed and Tesla Motors own the American Road, people will look back and discover this film again. It's an incredibly well made movie that should make Sean Hanity cringe. Put this in your Hummer's tank and drive America! Do Not miss this film! A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickeyG.Jun 29, 2006
Best movie and truthful, unless you're too RIGHT! Take the kids, this one was made for their future.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
kingshahidDec 17, 2011
This movie could have been made more exciting ... It was interesting to watch.. and exposed interested information regarding the electric cars. I'd like to see how TESLA does in this game in the coming years - will it knock out the majorThis movie could have been made more exciting ... It was interesting to watch.. and exposed interested information regarding the electric cars. I'd like to see how TESLA does in this game in the coming years - will it knock out the major competitors that initiated and killed its own electric cars that could have been great for everyone except those with a vested financial interest over all things else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews