Samuel Goldwyn Company, The | Release Date: August 12, 1990
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 66 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
13
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
GnarlesFeb 16, 2006
A classic, but only if you have the guts to take it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
wranghamDec 22, 2011
Wild At Heart is as David Lynch describes it, a road romance movie that takes you on a journey along a twisted highway in the modern world.
If I had to describe wild at heart in three words I would say powerful, wild and romantic.
It is
Wild At Heart is as David Lynch describes it, a road romance movie that takes you on a journey along a twisted highway in the modern world.
If I had to describe wild at heart in three words I would say powerful, wild and romantic.
It is very different to any other lynch films as it largely makes sense and has a lighter feeling to it as well as a few very disturbing scenes.
The cast is star studded and excellent. Nicolas Cage, Laura Dern and Willem Dafoe are captivating. Diane Laddâ
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MikeS.Jan 24, 2005
Nothing special, just an average movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
LanceE.Dec 12, 2004
I'm a big fan of Lynch's non-Twin Peaks era work (pre-WAH, post-Lost Highway). WAH is very much a part of the Twin Peaks era. I tend to feel that this film is only for Lynch completists. It never feels sincere, and because of that, I'm a big fan of Lynch's non-Twin Peaks era work (pre-WAH, post-Lost Highway). WAH is very much a part of the Twin Peaks era. I tend to feel that this film is only for Lynch completists. It never feels sincere, and because of that, it fails to draw me into it's world. Lynch regular Jack Nance's role is particularly forced. Still, I did race out last tuesday to nab a copy. WAH contains some golden Lynch elements: Jingle Dell, the pigeon man, Bobby Peru, the weird accident-guy in the wheelchair, and the little old "me too?" man in the hotel come to mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GarrisonT.Dec 7, 2004
Not nearly bad as it's reputation. Funnier after repeated viewings. One of Lynch's best and most emotional scenes is present here, found in a quiet and heartbreaking desert car crash set piece. No Blue Velvet or Mulholland Drive, Not nearly bad as it's reputation. Funnier after repeated viewings. One of Lynch's best and most emotional scenes is present here, found in a quiet and heartbreaking desert car crash set piece. No Blue Velvet or Mulholland Drive, but far superior to most of Lost Highway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FredB.Dec 9, 2007
Wacky in spots but I liked it. Of course then I'm partial to road pictures and I like Nic Cage in almost anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonathanE.Dec 6, 2004
Feels like an imitation of a David Lynch movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Andys_ReviewsSep 23, 2013
Filled with some crazy characters, this one certainly catches your attention and refuses to let go. Nicolas Cage is at his best playing the larger than life Sailor Ripley and Laura Dern does a great job as Lula. I thought Diane Ladd asFilled with some crazy characters, this one certainly catches your attention and refuses to let go. Nicolas Cage is at his best playing the larger than life Sailor Ripley and Laura Dern does a great job as Lula. I thought Diane Ladd as Marietta was truly excellent and Willem Defoe was also great as the sleazy Bobby Peru. You cannot fail to notice the many references to ‘The Wizard of Oz’; a theme that runs throughout. Unfortunately I found the film ran too long, there’s only so long you can put up with all the craziness. It reaches a point where we lose one of the main threads that have been running through the first two thirds of the film and I found that quite distracting. Still, it’s worth a look for a decent Cage performance and the, almost comic-book, like characterisations from Lynch (well at least for the first two thirds).

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 6.9/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SpangleMar 3, 2014
Hilariously bad. The film starts off with an interesting premise but it eventually gets drowned out as David Lynch just tries to do as much weird crap as he can. The end result is a grotesque, unpleasingly disturbing film that wishes it wasHilariously bad. The film starts off with an interesting premise but it eventually gets drowned out as David Lynch just tries to do as much weird crap as he can. The end result is a grotesque, unpleasingly disturbing film that wishes it was something that it was not. Lynch likes to believe this is a remake of "The Wizard of Oz", but he has to have taken to much acid to believe that. Multiple random references that vary in how much sense they make (on a scale from no sense at all to a little sense if you really think about it) does not make it a remake of "The Wizard of Oz". On top of that, with some exceptions, the acting was just bad. Nicolas Cage was good in this, however, so there is that positive. At the end of the day, "Wild at Heart" is a collection of disturbing images with very little effort done to connect them. I love a good weird movie with a random assortment images, but there has to be some connecting factor but the leap from the much more realistic scenes to the weird as all hell surrealistic scenes is a leap I do not know how to make, nor do I think I want to. I wanted to like this one, but at the end of the day, I simply cannot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
John935Apr 16, 2016
I agree w/ another User (love that term!) this is not as great as Blue Velvet or Mulholland but practically nothing is. WAH vacillates --wildly, ok?-- between easy and difficult, sometimes both at the same time. In the 2004 Making Of, LynchI agree w/ another User (love that term!) this is not as great as Blue Velvet or Mulholland but practically nothing is. WAH vacillates --wildly, ok?-- between easy and difficult, sometimes both at the same time. In the 2004 Making Of, Lynch says Laura Dern is the best actress he's worked with, and she is marvelous here. Casting her real-life mother Diane Ladd makes it not just a Sailor & Lula love story but also a mother-daughter picture. Above all, WAH feels restless and sometimes its restlessness is very disturbing. The love story may be feel-good but there's plenty here that isn't. Countless references to the Wizard of Oz create dissonant notes. To quote Rosemary, "This is no dream, it's really happening!" And we viewers have to make up our own mind: About what to make of it all. Suerte w/ that! Did we get enough parental guidance? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews