Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Oct 29, 2010
    50
    Described in the film's production notes as a "classic French comedy" – although I've never heard of it – and perhaps this is the core problem. French farce doesn't mix well with English gooniness.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Oct 24, 2010
    40
    A talented cast keep some low-key action and tired gags from derailing this disappointing farce.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Oct 27, 2010
    50
    The cast, though, includes a great bunch of Brit faves who have all done better work elsewhere.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Oct 28, 2010
    50
    Nighy is usually a treat to watch navigating life's bad turns, so it's especially frustrating that the filmmaker so often leaves him at loose ends.
  5. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Oct 28, 2010
    60
    It's hard to tell what Wild Target is offering, besides the pleasure of its company.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Oct 29, 2010
    60
    The script does boast a fair share of zingers, delivered with arch wit by a crack team of professionals.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Oct 29, 2010
    63
    An eccentric little comic thriller filled with enough laughs that I was mostly willing to overlook the fact that it makes virtually no sense as a thriller.
  8. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Nov 18, 2010
    63
    Wild Target is the sort of farce where nothing, essentially, is at stake, even as cars crash (including an original Mini Cooper), bullets rip, and knives get hurled with deadly velocity.
  9. Reviewed by: Ray Bennett
    Oct 24, 2010
    30
    Jonathan Lynn's lamentable black comedy Wild Target again shows that attractive and charismatic actors can do nothing to save a movie that's charmless, pointless and witless.
  10. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Oct 28, 2010
    50
    The considerable wit, style, and skill that Mr. Nighy and Ms. Blunt bring to the project are squandered.
  11. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Oct 26, 2010
    40
    It's entertainment designed to resemble a good time without aspiring to provide one.
  12. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Oct 24, 2010
    20
    Nearly every element here is wildly off-target, from Jonathan Lynn's ("The Whole Nine Yards") lazy helming and Lucinda Coxon's shambolic script to the embarrassed-looking perfs from usually excellent lead thesps Bill Nighy and Emily Blunt.
  13. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    Oct 26, 2010
    20
    The whole time I was watching Wild Target, I was trying to figure out just how to explain its weirdly old-fashioned comedic tone. I could talk about its absurd plot...
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    One of the best comedy films I've ever seen. This is exactly the reason why I do not trust the CRITICS anymore. What they can be RUBBISH as in this case. I'd recommend this to friends in a heartbeat. Full Review »
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    After seeing Wild Target, I checked the reviews to see who had similar takes on it and ... found that they were, at best, mildly positive about this movie, and way downhill from there. I saw this on Netflix, now a marginal source of decent content. Wild Target is not just "good enough" or even just good. It's a great mildly noir farce. Nighy is fabulous as a repressed hit man. Through his hilarious little facial expressions, we see him trying to bust out. The gorgeous Blunt, with her bedroom eyes, keeps us laughing while she enchants us, even if her character is occasionally overly silly (think gas station mini-mart scene). And Nighy's Mum's mordant delivery will have you howling. The plot is plenty good enough and we gladly give it some license. Even the score is just right and contributes seamlessly to the mood. This movie is grossly underrated. Don't hesitate. It delivers. Full Review »
  3. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    Yet another case of the critics being completely out of touch with reality. Like the modern art aficionados who think 'a fork in a lemon' is profound and worth shilling out a million pounds for, most movie critics have completely lost the plot. This is a charming and hilariously entertaining film, the cast are excellent and it makes enough sense to not bug me. Full Review »