Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jun 3, 2014
    90
    The horror's a long time coming, but Goldthwait and company make the waiting worth it.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 3, 2014
    83
    While it eventually devolves into exploring the terrifying prospects of something hairy lurking about in the shadows, Goldthwait uses that thrill factor to validate the commitment of Bigfoot believers. Willow Creek never feels like an attempt to proselytize, but it's a smart recognition of the dangers involved in doubt.
  3. Reviewed by: Jamie Graham
    May 30, 2014
    80
    Willow Creek is a movie to believe in.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jun 6, 2014
    75
    What is scarier than an unexplainable, unidentifiable sound in the pitch-black woods, miles from civilization? Willow Creek makes the case that the answer is nothing.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jun 3, 2014
    70
    Willow Creek does everything a little bit better than others of its kind. It’s a little wittier, a little more insightful, a little more imaginative, a little scarier.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Zhuravsky
    Jun 9, 2014
    67
    It's a canny horror film and a derivative one.
  7. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jun 5, 2014
    67
    Goldthwait is just having too much fun with his bantering couple and the eccentric, guitar-playing Bigfoot fanatics they encounter; the climax feels like an afterthought, the obligatory mayhem he had to provide as justification for making a shaggy romantic comedy about the cult of Sasquatch.
  8. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Jun 1, 2014
    63
    Bobcat Goldthwait exposes the characteristic male pursuit of power to which females are often made subservient.
  9. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Jun 5, 2014
    60
    Mr. Goldthwait exercises so much caution that you want to get behind his characters and push.
  10. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 5, 2014
    60
    The parts are greater than the whole, but there’s a lot to like here, including the easy interplay between the leads.
  11. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    May 30, 2014
    60
    An unlikely but effective found-footage horror from Goldthwait.
  12. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    May 30, 2014
    60
    As a horror film using that now-tired device, "found footage" supposedly shot by the characters themselves, it's quite passable.
  13. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Apr 29, 2014
    60
    Willow Creek doesn’t take us anywhere new – the climax is abrupt and unsatisfying – but it’s a whole lot of jarring, juddering fun while it lasts.
  14. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    This disappointingly conventional effort pales in comparison to the filmmaker's wildly audacious comedies.
  15. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Aug 25, 2013
    50
    In angling for suspense, this low-budget stunt relies a bit too heavily on our suspension of disbelief.
  16. Reviewed by: John Bleasdale
    May 3, 2014
    40
    It soon becomes difficult to dismiss the suspicion that Goldthwait had set out to make a comic horror but forgot to insert any laughs.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    An excellent, near perfect little winner. I wasn't looking forward to Willow Creek, because the day I found about the movie is the same day I watched, also a found footage movie, called SX_Tape, which wasn't fresh.
    However, Willow Creek is one of those few movies (Blair Witch Project, Paranormal Activity 1, VHS series) that prove found footage is in good hands. While Willow Creek succeeds in not dooming the found footage genre, it manages to terrify you, leave you goosey and nauseated. Bravo!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    7
    Summary: Willow Creek is a very short but quite entertaining horror film, directed with precision and realism. 75/100 [B]

    Jim and his
    girlfriend Kelly are visiting the infamous Willow Creek, the alleged home of the original Bigfoot legend - the tale of huge ape like creatures that roam the forests of North America. It was there that in 1967, the legendary beast was captured on film and has terrified and mystified generations since. Keen to explore more than 50 years of truth, folklore, misidentifications and hoaxes, Kelly goes along for the ride to keep Jim happy, whilst he is determined to prove the story is real by capturing the beast on camera. Deep in the dark and silent woods, isolated and hours from human contact, neither Kelly or Jim are prepared for what is hidden between the trees.

    I saw Willow Creek alone, in my room with the lights off and it was quite scary and effective. I don't know this director, but i've read his biography and i noticed that he's an acclaimed director, also very famous, So i had high expectations for this film and i have to say that Willow Creek is a perfect found footage film with lots of atmosphere. This little horror film is probably one of the best found footage films of the year, not gory at all, just dreadful and well acted. The two main characters are pretty likable and you care about them because they're cute together and they have chemistry between each other. The scares (very few) are effective and they're made with precision, as i said in the summary.

    The director Bobcat Goldthwait clearly knows how to make a found footage film. At times is very similar to The Blair Witch Project, but Willow Creek has enough originality to stand by its own. The first act is entertaining, we know this characters, their worries, their plans, etc. At this first act we can see some interesting places about "Big Foot" (like restaurants and stuff like that), i found it very refreshing to the found footage genre. These two main characters as i said they're so damn likeable and funny, they kept me entertaining all the time, no problem with the acting at all, the acting is just as good as it should be.

    The second act has some weird but enjoyable interviews and the found footage element adds veracity. What i like about this second act is the warm up, this little film is slow, but never dull, straight to the point, until the fast-paced devastating final act. Willow Creek is a found-footage film in all the sense of the word, the ending is quite similar to The Last Exorcism's ending, i mean yeah it's confusing but they give you enough information to think up your own conclusions. Willow Creek is precise, entertaining and short, a terrifying footage that looks extremely real. [B] Check out my blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Full Review »