Winnie the Pooh Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Walt Disney Animation Studios returns to the Hundred Acre Wood with Winnie the Pooh, the first big-screen Pooh adventure from Disney animation in more than 35 years. With the charm, wit and whimsy of the original featurettes, this all-new movie reunites audiences with the philosophical "bearWalt Disney Animation Studios returns to the Hundred Acre Wood with Winnie the Pooh, the first big-screen Pooh adventure from Disney animation in more than 35 years. With the charm, wit and whimsy of the original featurettes, this all-new movie reunites audiences with the philosophical "bear of very little brain" and friends Tigger, Rabbit, Piglet, Kanga, Roo—and last, but certainly not least, Eeyore, who has lost his tail. "Well a tail is either there or it isn't there," said Pooh. "And yours isn't... there." Owl sends the whole gang on a wild quest to save Christopher Robin from an imaginary culprit. It turns out to be a very busy day for a bear who simply set out to find some hunny. Inspired by five stories from A.A. Milne's books in Disney's classic, hand-drawn art style, Winnie the Pooh hits theaters July 15, 2011. (Walt Disney Pictures)

    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jul 14, 2011
    91
    Winnie The Pooh is a storybook brought to life with intelligence, wit, and palpable affection; where so many kids' films try desperately to come off as hip and timely that they often feel tacky and instantly dated, Winnie The Pooh is bravely quiet, old-fashioned, and wry.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 14, 2011
    80
    Sweet, gentle and defiantly retro (the 2-D hand-drawn animation is superb), the movie is irresistibly charming.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 15, 2011
    80
    There's no bells and whistles here, no 3-D or useless grey fluff, just Pooh as he's always been, silly and true.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 14, 2011
    75
    The whole program could make a nice introduction to moviegoing for a small child.
  5. Reviewed by: Sandie Angulo Chen
    Jul 14, 2011
    75
    A memorable return to the Hundred Acre Wood and a lively, interactive adventure that should delight everyone from wide-eyed preschoolers to nostalgic grandparents.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jul 2, 2011
    70
    Little kids will enjoy it all, while parents, when not checking their cell phones, will be thankful for the thoughtfully brief running time.
  7. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jul 14, 2011
    50
    The narrative, cobbled together from various Pooh stories by an army of writers, is held together reasonably well by John Cleese's soothing narration.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Charming, heartwarming, just gorgeous and an animated film most wish they had the talent to make it is just beautiful and s good break fromCharming, heartwarming, just gorgeous and an animated film most wish they had the talent to make it is just beautiful and s good break from 3D. I give this movie 97%. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Everything that you loved about your childhood is finally back on the silver screen. From beginning to end (and hey, even before the film withEverything that you loved about your childhood is finally back on the silver screen. From beginning to end (and hey, even before the film with The Ballad of Loch Ness), a smile was on my face and I found myself bouncing in my chair from the sheer fun of seeing my beloved favorite childhood characters again after so long.

    The animation is stupendous. For the first time in too long, a film with a theatrical release has been animated on cells, and boy is it refreshing. Colors are crisp and animation is smooth and everything looks just as I remember it from The Blustery Day.

    The voice acting is terrific. Featuring all new voice talents and some big names such as Craig Ferguson as Owl and Tom Kenny as Rabbit, all the actors fit their roles perfectly and not once did any voice feel out of place.

    The music was just as good as it's always been; songs are one after another and will likely remain in your head for days to come. Zooey Deschanel did a terrific job covering the opening theme, and the musical sequences provide non-stop grins.

    In short, it's just great, and anyone who has ever loved Winnie the Pooh at any point in their life will feel right at home. This is the kind of movie that I'd really love to see more of, and after seeing it, I'm certain you'll agree too.
    Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    It was a very cute movie. My sister, brother-in-law and I took our kids to see this. It was a very cute movie and i loved the plot. I lovedIt was a very cute movie. My sister, brother-in-law and I took our kids to see this. It was a very cute movie and i loved the plot. I loved Winnie the Pooh as a child and this movie brought back all that wonderful Nostalgia. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This film is genius in nearly every aspect. This kind of animation is so beautiful and it brings me back to the old days when I would put myThis film is genius in nearly every aspect. This kind of animation is so beautiful and it brings me back to the old days when I would put my old Winnie the Pooh VHS tapes into the machine! Everything that made the Pooh films so special and unique is present here. However, they missed one key and hilarious character......Gopher! Regardless, I was thoroughly entertained with this film and it was such a pleasure to feel that cuddly warmth of my childhood drifting back into my life for an hour or so. Now I must go because "I am rumbly in my tumbly!" Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Aside from the fact that Christopher Robin sounds like he just got learned to speak (Seriously, in the 1980s TV series, he seemed to be aroundAside from the fact that Christopher Robin sounds like he just got learned to speak (Seriously, in the 1980s TV series, he seemed to be around 11; here he sounds 5) the movie is a wonderful treat. All those critic that say this film is perfect nostalgia are correct. The film is perfect length, accompanied by Oscar worthy short animated films. The traditional animation works well, I think I may have cried if it had been in the same CGI as Pixar and Dreamworks films. That just isn't the Pooh I remember. If Harry Potter's sold out, go see this movie! Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Disney Has Done It Again! Amazing!
  7. TTT
    Aug 20, 2011
    5
    This film is not suitable for all ages, mainly for small children. Here in Cinema is not suitable for this type of movie.

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  2. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  6. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.

Awards & Rankings