Roadside Attractions | Release Date: June 11, 2010
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 452 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
347
Mixed:
57
Negative:
48
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JamesSJun 11, 2010
Saw in LA, the best movie i've seen this year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StephenM.Jun 23, 2010
The best movie I've seen this year.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MarilynN.Jun 28, 2010
This brilliant movie has l: an amazing success in setting, like you have lived there your whole life, 2: brilliant acting with my vote for best supporting actor in her uncle, 3: unlike so many movies, there is a logical, relentless, moving This brilliant movie has l: an amazing success in setting, like you have lived there your whole life, 2: brilliant acting with my vote for best supporting actor in her uncle, 3: unlike so many movies, there is a logical, relentless, moving plot that makes complete sense and 4: each scene stands on its own merit. I must see it again. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful
10
ZephyrMontegoAug 22, 2010
Saw it today. This a great movie. The seamless and elegant portrayal of modern American rural decay through an apocalyptic Greek Mythic narrative is stunning. Hard people making hard choices while dealing with ancient codes of blood loyaltySaw it today. This a great movie. The seamless and elegant portrayal of modern American rural decay through an apocalyptic Greek Mythic narrative is stunning. Hard people making hard choices while dealing with ancient codes of blood loyalty or blood betrayal. First rate, and a wonderful performance from Jennifer Lawrence. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sonaranetOct 26, 2010
If the film lacks a certain pinch of mesmerizing drama, it makes up the difference with an exquisite lived-in quality. A frightening, yet crookedly poetic realism. http://www.sonara.net.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
natnutDec 30, 2010
Jennifer Lawrence is a star-there's no getting around that.She's attractive yes-but it will be her great instinctive acting that will keep audiences coming back for more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wxwaxNov 24, 2010
The modern hillbilly doesn't make moonshine. He lives in poverty-stricken places like the Ozarks and cooks meth for his money. He lives in a paranoid, violent world where everyone's related and all live by a social code that excludes the lawThe modern hillbilly doesn't make moonshine. He lives in poverty-stricken places like the Ozarks and cooks meth for his money. He lives in a paranoid, violent world where everyone's related and all live by a social code that excludes the law and outsiders. Director Debra Granik creates a viscerally real setting as she tells the story of a girl who has to challenge this social order to save her family. Jennifer Lawrence, outstanding in the lead role, is supported by uniformly strong performances and writing. Winter's Bone isn't a lot of laughs but it's one of the best movies of the year. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
doglegdugNov 28, 2010
One of the greatest movies of all time. Debra Granik and the entire cast are first rate. In spite of it being made for only two million I hope it gets consideration at the Oscars for Best Director (Granik), Best Actress (Lawrence), BestOne of the greatest movies of all time. Debra Granik and the entire cast are first rate. In spite of it being made for only two million I hope it gets consideration at the Oscars for Best Director (Granik), Best Actress (Lawrence), Best Supporting Actor (Hawkes), and in fact the whole cast. DougN. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LeadBoxOct 1, 2012
When the cause itself slips off of the context from the real problem, it starts to fall away, since its only matter is the subjectivity for grieve. So, distancing pain from the objective matter is what really counted on the resolution overWhen the cause itself slips off of the context from the real problem, it starts to fall away, since its only matter is the subjectivity for grieve. So, distancing pain from the objective matter is what really counted on the resolution over the problem... It's extremely terrifying to deal with the fact that hands are held back every-time she seeks for them, and the only person she's got to fill the empty hole inside of her is no one other than herself, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jimrgray86Jan 6, 2012
Fantastic movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheSportSpinJun 17, 2011
Beautiful, an absolutely beautiful movie. It illustrates the care-free nature of childhood and the larger than life problems we adults get into to, all the while giving us a herione that's somewhere in between the two, thrust into a situationBeautiful, an absolutely beautiful movie. It illustrates the care-free nature of childhood and the larger than life problems we adults get into to, all the while giving us a herione that's somewhere in between the two, thrust into a situation that she has no control of. Jennifer Lawrence gives an Oscar worthy performance as Ree, and Debra Granik directs it perfectly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyApr 18, 2012
This movie is really amazing, the story in Winter's Bone is interesting, and the better is the performance of Jennifer Lawrence is fantastic. This indie movie is fantastic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Winter's Bone is a human drama that look at the lives of a troubled family during a unique time of need. You'll walk out truly caring about these characters and the devastation from the screen. Jennifer Lawrence proves she is already one ofWinter's Bone is a human drama that look at the lives of a troubled family during a unique time of need. You'll walk out truly caring about these characters and the devastation from the screen. Jennifer Lawrence proves she is already one of the greatest actresses of her time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
One of the best thrilling films out there on the market. The films possesed such authenticity of haunting experience and encourages the viewers faith towards the "right" action and not to be blended by any external powers beside fromOne of the best thrilling films out there on the market. The films possesed such authenticity of haunting experience and encourages the viewers faith towards the "right" action and not to be blended by any external powers beside from ourselves. It's a riveting social-realist drama that will grip you throughout the whole journey of this young girl. A Powerfully Heroic Film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
equillaJan 9, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story felt so real that I almost forgot it was a movie. The journey of a girl who has to prove her own father's death for her family's living felt so chilly and realistic. Jennifer doesn't show her own emotion easily but deliver her urgency 120 percent. We should recommend this movie to our friends who thinks she can meet a handsome vampire if she move to the state like Phoenix. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WymasterAug 2, 2013
What takes this movie to the next level is the fact that there are actual people who live like this. This is someone's reality. You are thrust into a horror story that many of us could only imagine, and yet real people out there live throughWhat takes this movie to the next level is the fact that there are actual people who live like this. This is someone's reality. You are thrust into a horror story that many of us could only imagine, and yet real people out there live through this horror everyday. A terrific script, and phenomenal performances from Jennifer Lawrence and John Hawkes. This is one of the best indie films of our generation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleJun 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In a world of male dominance in the film industry, Winter's Bone provided a breath of fresh air with its strong female lead and female director. We start out getting to know Ree as almost a parent and watch as she looks on at those dreams that she was never able to fulfill because of her family responsibilities. We learn that she's more responsible than her own mother and has to provide for the entire family. The most striking to me in this movie were the intensely vivid and realistic scenes. The scenery and props and costumes looked just like I would imagine them to be in this situation. They were dirty, used, and enhanced everything tenfold. It was almost magical because it was so realistic that you couldn't ignore it. I actually really relate a lot to the area she grew up on. I'm not from Missouri but I've spent my fair share of time there as a fellow Midwesterner and I honestly saw a lot of my maternal family with hers. The kind of grungy, real backwoods kind of people. It's a lifestyle. One that I know. And these Midwestern settings and characters are so relatable to me because even if it's not me, it's certainly someone I know. Ree is someone that I would know, someone that would be related to me. I'm far enough away that this isn't ~my family~, but it's in my blood.

"That **** poison–it rips the skin off your bones." Ree's father, Jessup, is a drug dealer and he's missing, most likely (and as we find out later actually is) dead. It's a dangerous business and he got wrapped up in it, yet we don't know the reasons behind his disappearance, whether it was to avoid his court date or because he has gotten in trouble with the wrong people, but either way, his family's house is in jeopardy. There are a couple moments in the movie where I become confused as to the relationships Ree has with these people and why they care so much about her father, but you kind of come to this realization that it doesn't matter. We're not supposed to know everything about her life–we're not her! We really see the complexity of these relationships that she has with people and how, at 17, she is seen as the adult in her family. "What are we gonna do with you, baby girl?" "Kill me, I guess." "That idea's been said already, got any others?" They have no mercy.

Uncertainty is a major theme throughout because we're really as unsure about the future as Ree is. She's trying to save her family and also figure out what happened to her father at the same time, and we're just along for the ride. Ultimately, she does get to keep her house but her father is also dead by forces unknown to her. She must make it seem as if nobody knows who is responsible so she can keep the house, although foul play was certainly involved. He's dead but the family is ok and that's all that's really important to 17 year-old Ree who is just a child trying to keep her family afloat and I think that's all she can really process. We're looking through her eyes and she's coping the best she can. "Even if you find out, you can't ever let me know who killed him."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thomas94Apr 30, 2016
Outstanding! This movie feels so real and raw, with its visuals and performances, that it almost tricks the audience into thinking it is a documentary. Very intimate, suspenseful, a very meticulously researched, in depth study about life inOutstanding! This movie feels so real and raw, with its visuals and performances, that it almost tricks the audience into thinking it is a documentary. Very intimate, suspenseful, a very meticulously researched, in depth study about life in the Ozarks. Debra Granik's direction, every actor's performance, even from the local non-actors, works together perfectly to recreate this realty. But of course, the highlight of the movie is its young heroine Ree Dolly, portrayed with such unusual intensity and maturity by one of the best actresses working today, Jennifer Lawrence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EmmaNJun 20, 2010
Just saw this at the Edinburgh International Film Festival where it was warmly received by all. A compelling and fresh story that is carried along by the strong female character of Ree Dolley who was expertly portrayed by Jennifer Lawrence. Just saw this at the Edinburgh International Film Festival where it was warmly received by all. A compelling and fresh story that is carried along by the strong female character of Ree Dolley who was expertly portrayed by Jennifer Lawrence. The film is not a happy one, but it feels more truthful than its hollywood counterparts and there is something about the film that rings authentic and makes this film stand out from others. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
jeffhJun 18, 2010
A wonderfully moving story of life in the ozarks.It is well written and superbly acted.There are many young women living in this culture with the outstanding resolve of Ree and the burning desire to protect and provide for their loved A wonderfully moving story of life in the ozarks.It is well written and superbly acted.There are many young women living in this culture with the outstanding resolve of Ree and the burning desire to protect and provide for their loved ones.Not surprised that the 2 negetive reviews can from New YOrk Critics as they have no grip on reality. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PeterS.Jun 19, 2010
Great film, definitely see it! A rare look into the dingy corners of America. Young Ree Dolly faces adversity and heartbreak and stubbornly refuses to give in to it. The characters ring true. Interesting study of how poor times cause people Great film, definitely see it! A rare look into the dingy corners of America. Young Ree Dolly faces adversity and heartbreak and stubbornly refuses to give in to it. The characters ring true. Interesting study of how poor times cause people to restrain their emotions in their relations--they simply can't afford to let them loose. A low budget gem. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LynFeb 20, 2011
A masterpiece of elegiac bleakness, yet somehow not entirely hopeless. It's well-acted, though the faces have a sort of blankness when compared with the goofy mugging overacting we're used to in a lot of movies and on TV. (You'll recognizeA masterpiece of elegiac bleakness, yet somehow not entirely hopeless. It's well-acted, though the faces have a sort of blankness when compared with the goofy mugging overacting we're used to in a lot of movies and on TV. (You'll recognize the numb expression if you've been around people who've just about hit rock bottom.) It's all filmed on location in Missouri and might remind you of the TV show "Justified," which has a gritty Kentucky setting. As with many well-done books and movies, you wonder whatever happened to these people -- even though you know the story is fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SecretAgentGalSep 19, 2010
A glacial chunk in the midst of this summer's movie choices, Winter's Bone is an unsettling bad dream, a grim tale that becomes mythic. It features the must see performance of Kentucky-born Jennifer Lawrence (The Burning Plain). In ReeA glacial chunk in the midst of this summer's movie choices, Winter's Bone is an unsettling bad dream, a grim tale that becomes mythic. It features the must see performance of Kentucky-born Jennifer Lawrence (The Burning Plain). In Ree Dolly, Lawrence reveals a scrappy 17-year-old who shepherds her family on the brink of losing their home.

Winter's Bone, which won Sundance's Grand Jury Award, reveals "another America": a land of poverty and ignorance, an Ozark mountain hell. The young adults of Ree's world can escape this ghetto only by joining the Army or setting up a meth lab.

Drug-dealing Jessup jumps bail one day, leaving the family home as collateral. The sheriff arrives. Unless Jessup can be found, the law wants to repossess the home where Ree lives with her catatonic mother and younger siblings Sonny and Ashlee (Isaiah Stone and Ashlee Thompson).

Ree decides to fight impending disaster. "Iâ
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DogmeatOct 22, 2010
Bleak and at times very intense Drama that moves at its own pace through the cold and desolate Ozarks. Outstanding performance by Jennifer Lawrence as Ree Dolly. She carries the movie like few could.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GeniasisAug 18, 2011
I loved the bleak-yet-hopeful atmosphere, and Jennifer Lawrence plays her part wonderfully. Pretty heavy though, so don't watch it if you're looking for light fare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
If someone could take a simple idea, it would probably explode into a never ending story that would snowball out of control. Well, Director Debra Granik definitely keeps a simple idea simple. With a plot that is simple as "Where's my father?"If someone could take a simple idea, it would probably explode into a never ending story that would snowball out of control. Well, Director Debra Granik definitely keeps a simple idea simple. With a plot that is simple as "Where's my father?" And strangely, the entire movie is about that. Might seem boring for someone who is used to major confusing plots, but what drives the film is the pure dramatic aspects which aren't sugar coated in any way. It's as if you were walking around with the 17 year old daughter, which her mother has a drinking problem, and will never talk to her. And her father is nowhere, in which we find out he has had some trouble with the law, which makes the entire family being put in jeopardy of losing their house if he doesn't return. Not only that, but she also has to take care of her two siblings. Times are tough for her, and by the end rolls around, you can get a sense that hope and greatness for her is a long time away. So it's depressing, but a masterpiece! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ZachjwDec 4, 2010
This was by far the best movie of the summer. To elaborate in this film you have the setting of simplicity innoccence a place away from urban polution. Then You have the plot of problems of Americas lower class scraping the bottom of theThis was by far the best movie of the summer. To elaborate in this film you have the setting of simplicity innoccence a place away from urban polution. Then You have the plot of problems of Americas lower class scraping the bottom of the trash for a meal so that even the courages have to regurgitate and again swallow their dignity. Finally the characters are a what happens when you pit a child in a box for 2 years let him out into the ghetto then make his biggest role model a snitch do a corrupt cop. Yes these people in the mountains all survive through ignorance and some perverse excuse to live. And that foundation is what makes this a good movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
D-SliceJan 13, 2011
Winter's Bone has managed to create a hero who is 100% grit. Ree Dolly is potentially one of the greatest movie heroes ever; completely solemn and brave as hell, only thinking of her family and has no hesitations as to do so or not. JenniferWinter's Bone has managed to create a hero who is 100% grit. Ree Dolly is potentially one of the greatest movie heroes ever; completely solemn and brave as hell, only thinking of her family and has no hesitations as to do so or not. Jennifer Lawrence deserves an Oscar and John Hawkes, at least a nomination. The setting was perfect and the cinematography was very well done. This movie wasn't that tense, to me, but the overall performance of the cast and the great writing proved this film to be greatness. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
2GUI2Feb 25, 2011
The realism of the movie is what makes it so interesting. Jennifer Lawrence did an amazing job and she deserves the Oscar nomination that she had, I wonder if she is going to win... Great writing, great actors, great story, clearly a mustThe realism of the movie is what makes it so interesting. Jennifer Lawrence did an amazing job and she deserves the Oscar nomination that she had, I wonder if she is going to win... Great writing, great actors, great story, clearly a must see. Visit CriticSpot - http://critispot.blogspot.com - blog for more of these reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aryanruleFeb 13, 2011
Great drama with smooth and fine acting. Intriguing story about life and customs in part of America that we dont see very often. Maybe an Oscar potential...?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews