Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    The movie is hauntingly romantic at heart, in the best spirit of a Gothic fairytale, but without the harsh shadows or hard edges.
  2. Reviewed by: Curtis Woloschuk
    Nov 3, 2013
    80
    Enchanting.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Michael
    Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Telling the story through the eyes of the harried, bereaved but indomitable mother gives this calm, funny, only occasionally schmaltzy family film a maturity Twilight never reached.
  4. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 26, 2013
    70
    Wolf Children is rather an odd story, told in a one-of-a-kind style that feels equal parts sentimental, somber and strange.
  5. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    Oct 22, 2013
    40
    This anime feature takes an intriguing premise and does little with it. The detailed Ghibli-esque visuals are decent enough, but this is disappointingly bland.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    All I can say about this movie is that it is simply beautiful! The art, animation, voice acting in both the original Japanese version and in the English dub, the story, everything. I actually found myself feeling many emotions while watching it. If you were to ask me for my recommendation, well you got it! Full Review »
  2. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    (german)
    Was für eine Überraschung! Hab mir den Film blind gekauft und zähle ihn zu den besten Animé bzw. Zeichentrickfilmen. Rein objektiv
    gesehen würde ich ihn sogar als den besten überhaupt bezeichnen. Ame & Yuki ist ein Tribut an alle warmherzigen Mütter dieser Welt, der Parallellen zum Erwachsenwerden aufweist. Besonders gefallen hat mir die Tatsache, dass er nicht nur die für Mütter schönen Momente zeigt, sondern auch die Momente, in denen sie lernen müssen loszulassen. Hier stimmt von vorne bis hinten einfach alles. Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    Mamoru Hosoda has been called the next Miyazaki, though after this movie I think he might be even better, though I haven't watched Summer Wars so I'll have to do that before I decide. Though until then this movie is amazing, I mean this is probably my favorite movie I've watched thus far. Why is it? because it feels unbelievably well done in absolutely every way. In the animation the movie looks unbelievable, I mean it (like most Japanese animation) pays very little attention to detail but it makes up for this in making the world look beautiful in it's simplicity and it's scale. In terms of the music, it's the emotional kind, fitting into the scenarios perfectly while even by itself making you feel the emotions it gives of. But I should probably get into what movies are about the story, I don't want to give to much away so basically I'll say this: it's about a student called Hana who meets a man who she falls in love with who turns out to be a wolf, eventually they get married and have children but the father dies, and now Hana has to bring up the Wolf Children (see what I did there). So it's a coming of age story but done unbelievably well, and by far the best part about it is that the characters grow in ways that change them overtime in a realistic way. Now you still may be wondering why I favor this over Miyazaki, and yes I actually have many reasons. First of all I feel that with Miyazaki he doesn't like to explain many things, I mean he creates these worlds or beings and then just leaves them, while that sometimes helps in My Neighbor Totoro or Nausicaa, it usually feels jarring (even in those movies). With Hosoda it feels like he explains things well and leaves me without many questions, lingering in my head about the movie (in other words it works much better as an individual story as opposed to movies which feel like they were designed with sequels in mind). And that's about it, I mean there are a few very small problems, like there's a female nipple for like 3 seconds and the cars are CGI (why does all anime do that). But other then that it's perfect and you should watch it... like right now... seriously. Full Review »