Dimension Films | Release Date: December 25, 2005
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 119 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
64
Mixed:
21
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GrantZAug 24, 2009
Ignore the reviews that don't give this 8 and above. These people are idiots. They complain that the movie is sick and depraved. It's meant to be, did you walk into the cinema expecting bloody THE HAPPIEST LITTLE ELF. The film is Ignore the reviews that don't give this 8 and above. These people are idiots. They complain that the movie is sick and depraved. It's meant to be, did you walk into the cinema expecting bloody THE HAPPIEST LITTLE ELF. The film is epic, and real creepy, and because of it, it's inspired me and my friends to go their after our GCSE's to film a documentary on it. It really is that good. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
KeenanS.Jun 25, 2009
This is one of the best horror films I've ever seen, and one of the twenty best films I've ever seen. For a budget film, it was very effective, frightening, and it felt real. This film is actually terrifying and rather This is one of the best horror films I've ever seen, and one of the twenty best films I've ever seen. For a budget film, it was very effective, frightening, and it felt real. This film is actually terrifying and rather unpredictable at times. This film does start off slow, but once it picks up the pace, it's quite an amazing film. It's brilliant in every way and is destined to be one of the best horror films of the decade. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IRPJun 14, 2009
There is a feeling of great solitude and tense . It's not plainly torture, there is more realism, more sense-- something you may relate to than any horror-suspense movie out there. The movie has great picture, good acting and good There is a feeling of great solitude and tense . It's not plainly torture, there is more realism, more sense-- something you may relate to than any horror-suspense movie out there. The movie has great picture, good acting and good direction. Certainly one of the better of it's kind if not the best. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AnthonySep 16, 2006
Finally a film that makes you wanna jump out of your seat and shout "Run! What you doing? Don't go back!". Ok it's basic, but it has classic moments and that feeling of total alienation works brilliantly.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TedT.Dec 29, 2005
I just cannot understand the negative review of this movie by Ebert and others. How, I mean really, HOW is this movie misogynistic? This is a movie about two young women and a guy taking a road trip across Australia, and the whole time their I just cannot understand the negative review of this movie by Ebert and others. How, I mean really, HOW is this movie misogynistic? This is a movie about two young women and a guy taking a road trip across Australia, and the whole time their friendship is believable and non sexual. Any other stupid horror film would have treated the two women as sex objects but in this movie they are real characters, and the pain that is put upon the three is never glorified in the slightest. Whereas in House of Wax there was joy in seeing the stupid, one dimensionsal characters killed in creative and goofy ways, and in The Devil's Rejects there was joy in seeing the human side of the serial killers, in Wolf Creek the joy is in seeing the real happiness of these three friends while on a road trip, and once it is replaced with their torture and pain the movie becomes truly terrifying. Perhaps I saw a different edit of the film, but I did not see this film as crossing the line at all; in fact, all the gorey scenes were very short and filmed frankly and without lingering on them (except, perhaps, one scene near the very end). I would consider myself a gorehound in some sense when it comes to some B horror movies, where the violence is obviously fake and all in fun, but Wolf Creek is a movie where the violence is taken seriously and realistically and, unlike Ebert insinuates, not once did I feel like laughing at these scenes. This is a truly powerful film. Unpleasant, yes, but not for the sake of being malicious. It is unpleasant because it lends a humanizing eye to its unfortunate protagonists, which is rare indeed in horror movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SimonB.Jan 18, 2006
Do you like horror movies? Then you'll love this. Its a masterpiece, plain and simple. Let the critics savage it (they mauled the very strong Haute Tension too) and allow its rep to slowly explode amongst genre fans. A future classic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MIkeyGJan 5, 2006
Living in Australia this film had a great deal of hype with the crimes the movie is based on virtually just down the street so I guess I look at the film a little differently but what I can't understand is the nothing happens. I saw Living in Australia this film had a great deal of hype with the crimes the movie is based on virtually just down the street so I guess I look at the film a little differently but what I can't understand is the nothing happens. I saw this film two months ago and the thing will not leave my head, everytime someone is mentioned missing the scene in the shed pops into my mind. Yes it doesn't have anybody being skewered on a hook or cut in two with a chainsaw but wake up people the worst thing that could happen to someone you know is they vanish and you never know what happens and that is an area this film does very well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeA.Aug 2, 2006
excellent thriller!! on the edge of your seat for most of the film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BarryMFeb 5, 2008
Brutal and sadistic, Wolf Creek makes you feel the pain. Obviously not for everyone it well offend the squeamish but its well written acted and directed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RickyM.Oct 18, 2009
Wolf Creek is a visceral as it is terrifying an instant horror classic and modern day cautionary tale for tourists.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RichardHOct 14, 2006
This is the best horror movies I've seen in a long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HardeepsMar 19, 2008
It is one of the best gut wrenching, nail biting to the bone, atmospheric and claustrophobic rollercoaster of a ride horror movie i have seen in years. A must-see treat. I'm not easily scared but this movie scared the hell out of me!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimL.Dec 27, 2005
Horror Masterpiece. Disturbing and terrifying in equal measure. Not to be confused with your cheesy (and in many ways more disgusting) kill-for-a-laugh flicks, this looks at the darker side of human nature in an uncompromising fashion.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mj22May 11, 2012
an outstanding thriller/horror film, one of the best i've ever seen. tense and totally unpredictable, and jarringly nasty in parts, but it's far from just a mindless portrayal of torture and suffering. i think this movie is pretty unique.an outstanding thriller/horror film, one of the best i've ever seen. tense and totally unpredictable, and jarringly nasty in parts, but it's far from just a mindless portrayal of torture and suffering. i think this movie is pretty unique. close to a masterpiece, if not one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
On the surface, Wolf Creek appears to be just another slasher film, that is until you learn the scary truth. The truth is this film and the majority of the horrible gore and torture actually happened. The story is about one of the worstOn the surface, Wolf Creek appears to be just another slasher film, that is until you learn the scary truth. The truth is this film and the majority of the horrible gore and torture actually happened. The story is about one of the worst serial killers in Australian history. A man, who would frequent a remote tourist attraction, disable a vehicle, show up to assist the people, and then drug and torture them for days or even weeks. The film shows one fictional groups encounter with this man and shows just how twisted some people can be. If this were a fictional slasher film, I'd call it nothing special. The fact that it's based on real events and knowing that a lot of this stuff actually happened, make the movie especially creepy. As far as I'm concerned, the creepier the better! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
J.JohnsonDec 29, 2005
Is there a line, and does this movie cross it? I don't believe there is a set line, but this movie is pretty twisted, but not as nasty as the Texas Chainsaw remake. But it totally reminds me of the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Is there a line, and does this movie cross it? I don't believe there is a set line, but this movie is pretty twisted, but not as nasty as the Texas Chainsaw remake. But it totally reminds me of the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre, which was pretty sick and demented in its own right. That was the movie that sparked all the ones that followed it. So I guess the question is, if there is a line -- where does it lie? Well I look at it this way: if "Chainsaw" set the standard (long ago), than that line is pretty low. There's no doubt that this movie is very well made. It's feels very real (I've seen some complain it's TOO real), and that's what makes it scary. So your liking of this movie I guess is determined by how well you can take in the violence and the horror. I can totally understand how this stuff can turn you off; I could barely watch one or two of the violent scenes. But this is a horror movie and- as far as I know, their suppost to scare you and make you feel uneasy -- this movie, at the very least, made me feel very uneasy, and that's why I consider it probably the best horror film to come out since the Blair Witch Project. It's brilliant, but it's not for everyone. It won't make you feel good, and it'll be stuck to you hours after you've seen it. But that's the point isn't it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanC.Jan 8, 2006
Extremely disturbing, well-made and well-acted low budget outback thriller - inexplicably ignored by the squeemish Australian film industry awards. The "horror" genre rarely receives much adulation from critics (as does comedy or sci-fi), Extremely disturbing, well-made and well-acted low budget outback thriller - inexplicably ignored by the squeemish Australian film industry awards. The "horror" genre rarely receives much adulation from critics (as does comedy or sci-fi), regardless of the film's craft. But Wolf Creek is not your average genre flick - if you've ever backpacked around Australia this should chill you to the bone. One of the best films of 2005. Anyone for bushcamping? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SaraZ.Apr 29, 2006
I watched this movie at night and home alone - not smart. As soon as the suspense started, it never stopped. Each new scene was highly unpredictable and kept your heart racing. However, I felt the ending was a little weak. I was hoping for a I watched this movie at night and home alone - not smart. As soon as the suspense started, it never stopped. Each new scene was highly unpredictable and kept your heart racing. However, I felt the ending was a little weak. I was hoping for a big finish, but then I guess, that would be predictable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KamilS.May 3, 2006
The plot is spine-tingling, let alone action was loosely based on the true murders that took place in the outbacks of Australia. On the other hand, the acting of victims seems to be a bit artificial (in a moments of extreme menace they watch The plot is spine-tingling, let alone action was loosely based on the true murders that took place in the outbacks of Australia. On the other hand, the acting of victims seems to be a bit artificial (in a moments of extreme menace they watch belongings of another already dead victims instead of simply ruuning away - but to be honest, whatever they did they would be killed anyway). I reckon it is worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimmyB.Aug 3, 2006
Liked the cast a lot, good story too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickA.Sep 16, 2006
It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulFeb 17, 2007
If you're over the age of 20, enjoy horror movies, and male, you'll like this movie. It's not perfect, but pretty good. Yes, it does take a little while to build up to the climax, but it's worth it. The people who say its If you're over the age of 20, enjoy horror movies, and male, you'll like this movie. It's not perfect, but pretty good. Yes, it does take a little while to build up to the climax, but it's worth it. The people who say its the worst movie ever are probably 13 years old who thinks 40 Year Old Virgin is the best movie ever. This movie's not strickly horror, but also a drama in a way, since there is a bit of dialogue in the first half. If you liked The Descent, Devil's Rejects, or any other current horror flicks, you'll probably at least enjoy this one (for a rental). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillD.Jan 1, 2006
This was a good flick, for sure. What set it apart from the typical slasher, young people get slaughtered movies was that it actually took the time to develop characters. Nice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanC.Jan 17, 2006
This is horror at its best. Not the jump out of the shadows, sudden noises, splattered with blood kind of horror movie, which plays for laughs to a teen audience. This is a film which shows the real and almost supernatural lonliness of the This is horror at its best. Not the jump out of the shadows, sudden noises, splattered with blood kind of horror movie, which plays for laughs to a teen audience. This is a film which shows the real and almost supernatural lonliness of the Australian outback, and what it would really be like to be kidnapped by a malevolent local. Not fast-paced, not action-packed, but slow, methodical and very very unpleasant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
G.HendersonApr 19, 2006
Could have and should have been better. It took a little too long to get going and then when it does it has one of the most horrible "I can't believe they did that" scenes ever. I really hate it when the victims have the perfect Could have and should have been better. It took a little too long to get going and then when it does it has one of the most horrible "I can't believe they did that" scenes ever. I really hate it when the victims have the perfect opportunity to get themselves out of the situation they are in and totally let it go, be it by either killing the bad guy or having a perfect escape right in front of them. You will know exactly what I mean after you watch this. For the most part it is pretty good and does have some very unsettling moments which make up for the long beginning and the lack of intelligence of the victims. Plus, had they killed the guy when they had the chance the movie would have been much shorter. Compared to "Hostel" this movie is a 10, but up against other better horror movies it fails a little bit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TysonApr 7, 2006
This movie was not enjoyable and & left me with some pretty twisted images to shake off after leaving the cinema. However that is precisely the movie's strength. It is baffling to me why when at last a movie is released that is This movie was not enjoyable and & left me with some pretty twisted images to shake off after leaving the cinema. However that is precisely the movie's strength. It is baffling to me why when at last a movie is released that is *actually* scary, critics cry murder. The main criticisms of "Wolf Creek" are it's lack of pace, a sense of misogyny, it's explicitness blah blah blah. However these criticisms are born of matching it with the tired American horror precedents and Hollywood formula in general. Most mainstream audiences are obviously not used to generous character development and are spoonfed movies with constantly oscilating peaks and troughs. The criticism that 2 of the 3 protagonists were women is ridiculous: one out of three, two out of three - it's not worth discussing. Criticism here ignores the fact that the movie is based on a real killer Ivan Milat who murdered 7 people, 5 of which were women. If this were an American horror flick, all 7 would have featured and a whole heap of other appealing youths who managed to get away. "Wolf Creek" is brutal and caution should be applied. This being said if you want to be truely scared by a movie that is fresh and un-cliched - jump right in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesGDec 31, 2006
A realistic and gory movie that doesn't hold back and delivers fear and shock very well. Amazing movie, must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlJul 29, 2006
I found this movie deeply affecting, but then I live in Australia and I remember the murders that this movie was based on. [***SPOILERS***] John Jarrett's giggling psycho may seem to some like a caricature, but if you've ever seen I found this movie deeply affecting, but then I live in Australia and I remember the murders that this movie was based on. [***SPOILERS***] John Jarrett's giggling psycho may seem to some like a caricature, but if you've ever seen the newsreel footage of Ivan Milat, the killer upon whom the character of 'Mick' is based, it's frighteningly real (to this day, whenever Milat is on camera, he grins at his audience like a lupine lottery winner). I also remember some of the gruesome details of his work. Two of his victims were kidnapped at the same time, and one was made to watch the rape, torture and murder of her friend, all the time knowing that she was next. I've never forgotten that, and it made the events of this movie seem much more to me than a 'brutal celebration' or a 'boring waste of time'. It's not terribly original, and the protagonists are such idiots that they're as much to blame for their ordeal as the killer. But the ghosts of the real victims still haunt me, and it made this film real. I wouldn't call it entertaining, but I haven't been as moved by a film in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
choomtabi31May 30, 2016
This has got to be one of the scariest and among the most disturbing, realistic films I've ever seen.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-3245-Wolf-Creek
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews