Paramount Pictures | Release Date: August 9, 2006
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 151 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
71
Mixed:
26
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JohnF.Oct 24, 2008
Very emotional movie. THe acting was excellent and you never know how it will end until it is over. Great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BethesdaNov 10, 2014
My Dad was on that plane when it hit, it was a very sad and traumatic experience for me. I remember the time when he called me right before the plane hit, his last words still comfort me today, right before he died this is what he spoke toMy Dad was on that plane when it hit, it was a very sad and traumatic experience for me. I remember the time when he called me right before the plane hit, his last words still comfort me today, right before he died this is what he spoke to me: ALLAHU AKBAR Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
ShaneK.Aug 9, 2006
I won't say I was impressed, nor disappointed. The movie is worth seeing, but comparing it to United 93 is unjust. This is a completely different story, and much darker. There are great acting performances but the acting as a whole is I won't say I was impressed, nor disappointed. The movie is worth seeing, but comparing it to United 93 is unjust. This is a completely different story, and much darker. There are great acting performances but the acting as a whole is below average. Worth seeing, but don' t expect too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RostoforianH.Aug 4, 2006
Sure Its Slow and Of course Predictable, but its still very powerful and very moving. The acting is great and the score is wonderful. A great movie all-around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KurtAug 9, 2006
This was gutwrenching to watch but truly well done and healing. I thought Maggie Gyllenhaal in particuler was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcMJun 9, 2008
While i'll admit the move was a little slow at times. It makes up for it with the supererb plotwriting and acting. Great Movie would highly recommend it to people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaKOct 23, 2006
It showed the actual feeling of the captured people inside of the twin towers. Highly Recomended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeG.Aug 10, 2006
The film is not as good as Flight 93, but these are two totally different films. Both films focus on the heroism of that day, but Stone took a different and no less admirable route here. The film was not supposed to be about the crackpot The film is not as good as Flight 93, but these are two totally different films. Both films focus on the heroism of that day, but Stone took a different and no less admirable route here. The film was not supposed to be about the crackpot conspiracies that many of you were probably expecting and wanting it to be. The film is ultimately about the patriotism and unity that took place during that time, and then quickly vanished. I honestly believe that there are many individuals that have either forgotten about 9/11 or don't even believe it happened to the extent that it did. At the showing of Trade Center that I was at, and one that my friend was at the following day, there were teenaged members in the audience laughing throughout the movie, cheering for the terrorists. To me, the major tragedy that came from 9/11 is that all of these lives that were taken have been forgotten by so many people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HectorM.Aug 12, 2006
This Movie Deserves a 10 out of 10. have some common scense. R.I.P. WTC
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethF.Aug 13, 2006
Oliver Stone did a great job depicting the tragedy from the eyes of two Port Authority Police Officers on the ground as if we were there. This movie is definitely a cathartic experience that will make you cry. This movie shows the strength Oliver Stone did a great job depicting the tragedy from the eyes of two Port Authority Police Officers on the ground as if we were there. This movie is definitely a cathartic experience that will make you cry. This movie shows the strength of America and how we pull together in times of crisis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JBAug 17, 2006
I'm a little disappointed in some of the reviews that I've been reading from people. Yes... WTC will never live up to the horror of the actual event, yes, it might seem a little sappy, yes we already know the ending, yes it's I'm a little disappointed in some of the reviews that I've been reading from people. Yes... WTC will never live up to the horror of the actual event, yes, it might seem a little sappy, yes we already know the ending, yes it's impossible to get the full emotional effect of the tragedy. What these people fail to realize is that in no way is it about any of those things. It's about the tremendous and tireless efforts of the people who spent so much time searching for the thousands of people stranded in the wreckage of WTC, about 2 heroes who were willing to give their lives to save the others. Condescending? Not at all! It was quite the opposite, the raw emotional impact of the film, made the event far more personal for me. As a person far from NYC who knew no one injured in the tragedy, on 9/11 all I had was the news and media for what was happening, and as we are all Pavlovian, the tragedies faded from me as time would have it. Watching this film, showed/reminded me of the horror 2 men went through, and in times of tragedy, the goodness of people. Being reminded of this even for 2 hours made it well worth the 7$ to get in, and showcasing the heroes of our country in their bravery made the movie completely worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexF.Aug 4, 2006
WORLD TRADE CENTER is a film which dramatically needs a touch of the Oliver Stone some love and others hate. No, not some absurd "conspiracy theory" about "placed charges" or deplaning a whole plane-load of passengers at Cleveland-Hopkins, WORLD TRADE CENTER is a film which dramatically needs a touch of the Oliver Stone some love and others hate. No, not some absurd "conspiracy theory" about "placed charges" or deplaning a whole plane-load of passengers at Cleveland-Hopkins, but just a few questions. Who was responsible for selling the police and firemen two separate, incompatible phone systems? Why was there officials at every level but that of the first responders so slow and incompetent in their reaction to the swiftly growing tragedy? Those questions at least might have come up in the purview of the film. As it is, WORLD TRADE CENTER is a simple story of individual heroism and growing brotherhood among the first responders, the rescuers, and the families who had to wait. It is well worth anyone's time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KieshaC.Aug 4, 2006
great artwork and cinimatic achivement...a instant hollywood classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Michellec.Aug 9, 2006
How anyone could hate this movie is so far beyond me. This movie is an amazingly beautiful tribute to the heroics that were seen 9/11. This movie is so well done it is almost impossible to believe that it isn't five years earlier and we How anyone could hate this movie is so far beyond me. This movie is an amazingly beautiful tribute to the heroics that were seen 9/11. This movie is so well done it is almost impossible to believe that it isn't five years earlier and we aren't watching this unfold again. It is hauntingly realistic. Michael Pena is at his finest as Will Jimeno. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 26, 2007
I absolutely loved this movie! At first, I was a little unsure of this movie, given the fact that these events are still fresh in the minds of many americans. I loved the fact that, instead of focusing on the horror America faced that day, I absolutely loved this movie! At first, I was a little unsure of this movie, given the fact that these events are still fresh in the minds of many americans. I loved the fact that, instead of focusing on the horror America faced that day, Oliver Stone chose to focus on the courage and brotherhood shared by the two cops at the center of this movie. An excellent movie with great performances, especially by Nicholas Cage and Michael Pena. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkusG.Oct 10, 2006
A deeply touching, slowly evolving must-see for everyone who ever thought of giving up hope. People who weren't touched by this film have a rock where others have a heart. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Nov 7, 2006
This may not be the most tasteful analogy in the world, but just as 1965 saw a cultural division between "Beatles people" and "Rolling Stones people", and 1994 featured a similar rift between "Pulp Fiction people" and "Forrest Gump people", This may not be the most tasteful analogy in the world, but just as 1965 saw a cultural division between "Beatles people" and "Rolling Stones people", and 1994 featured a similar rift between "Pulp Fiction people" and "Forrest Gump people", so will 2006 come to be known as the year in which the "United 93 people" and the "World Trade Center" people squared off. For the record, count me in the former camp: Paul Greengrass's semidocumentary, semi-fly-on-the-wall reenactment of one aspect of 9/11 was a brilliantly executed (if necessarily harrowing and somewhat depressing) one-of-a-kind masterpiece, while Oliver Stone's interpretation of another is a really, really good made-for-TV movie. Not that there's anything wrong with that, and the universe is certainly big enough to hold both approaches, but you've got to either credit or criticize Stone for pulling off the daunting task of transforming a national, history-changing tragedy into a film that's second only to Akeelah and the Bee as THE feel-good film of 2006! Stone accomplishes this by focusing on two New York cops, John McLoughlin (Nicolas Cage) and Will Jimeno (Michael Pena) who were pinned under tons of brick, stone and metal awaiting either death or rescue; since falling asleep could very conceivably doom them, each had to keep the other awake, and surprisingly, their very different personalities and temperaments helped considerably: the extremely talkative Jimeno wouldn't LET McLoughlin drift off, while McLoughlin was so taciturn that Jimeno had to take special care on frequent occasions that he was still conscious. Cage is solid, Pena remarkably good, and Maggie Gyllenhaal (Secretary, Sherrybaby) and Maria Bello (Flicka, A History of Violence) are such strong actresses that they make the standard Wives Who Wait roles that you've seen hundreds of times before seem remarkably new. Much has been said about Oliver Stone's body of work, and while this is certainly atypical in many ways, it also lines up with a common thread to most of his films that isn't often discussed: from Platoon and Wall Street (with their warring good and bad father figures) to the underrated epic Alexander, they're often such effective studies in the qualities of leadership that they could be excerpted and shown in management seminars. (Even Snoop Dogg has commented that you can watch the Stone-scripted Scarface to learn what Tony Montana did both right and wrong...and who are we to argue with Snoop?) Because of Stone's (partially self-created) reputation as a controversial leftist provocateur, his announced (and almost completely successful) intention to make World Trade Center a totally apolitical film has truly earned him some strange bedfellows: left-of-center website film critic MaryAnn Johansen ("The Flick Filosopher") quite unjustly lists this as second to the latest Texas Chainsaw Massacre movie as the worst of 2006 thus far, while right-wing columnists Cal Thomas and Michael Medved have sung the film's praises to the heavens. Break out the galoshes and heavy-weather gear, folks: hell has frozen over at last! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MitchellF.Aug 11, 2006
Not being american, i cant say much about this film. But what i can say is that you have to realise that this movie isnt supposed to be just about the crash, it was ment to be about these two people and how they survived. I'll admit Not being american, i cant say much about this film. But what i can say is that you have to realise that this movie isnt supposed to be just about the crash, it was ment to be about these two people and how they survived. I'll admit that its structure is sub par at best, but overall i enjoyed myself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StuQ.Aug 11, 2006
The movie tells the story. and does a great job telling it. the effects and set design is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Tony\/.Aug 12, 2006
Aside from the length and the few scenes that pushed the borders of sappiness, I really enjoyed this movie. What Lewis P. and probably many others fail to notice is that Stone isn't trying to capture every aspect of 911, he's just Aside from the length and the few scenes that pushed the borders of sappiness, I really enjoyed this movie. What Lewis P. and probably many others fail to notice is that Stone isn't trying to capture every aspect of 911, he's just trying to hone in on a very small piece of the event, the true story of these two cops getting rescued. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Aug 15, 2006
A good film with great pacing. Keeps you interested the whole two hours. Truth is stranger than fiction and this film proves it. The whole thing is handled very tastefully through the eyes of the men who were there. Must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MannyF.Aug 16, 2006
Drew... you're an idiot. if this movie was indeed a satire while being based on one of the most tragic events in U.S. history, anyone in their right mind would be disguisted. you, however, say that it would make your top ten list....Drew... you're an idiot. if this movie was indeed a satire while being based on one of the most tragic events in U.S. history, anyone in their right mind would be disguisted. you, however, say that it would make your top ten list.... what a moron. sometimes, it's ok to get something positive and uplifting out of something so horrible. that's how we as normal human beings deal with tragedy from time to time. duh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ryanjAug 22, 2006
I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ryanjonesAug 22, 2006
I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Aug 9, 2006
9/11 will always be remembered as the single most frightening and horrific day in American history, but no one will remember that it was perhaps, for a brief moment, the only time in the history of civilization that the whole world came 9/11 will always be remembered as the single most frightening and horrific day in American history, but no one will remember that it was perhaps, for a brief moment, the only time in the history of civilization that the whole world came together without boundaries or borders in sympathy and support and hope and faith in the American ideal. Flight 93 dealt with the former, World Trade Center focuses on the latter. Oliver Stone has made a movie without an agenda, no theories or allegations, just a simple movie about two ordinary cops on a day that changed the world that reminds us of the good in all humankind. World Trade Center is the best movie yet from Mr. Stone, it's a devastatingly emotional masterwork that i'm proud to say, I cried all the way through it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RhondaL.Aug 9, 2006
An excellent, honest film. Too much fuss is being made that this was directed by "controversial" Oliver Stone. See the movie for what it is, and check your baggage at the door.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdLSep 11, 2006
Very hard to watch thinking back to that day. But I also think very important to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RadioS.Oct 1, 2008
This film is so absolutely stunning due to the strong bond it creates between protagonists and viewers. I have never seen a movie that is so intensive in the way it shows us some of the great heroes of our days, people that really saved lifes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
F.NanceAug 11, 2006
Stirrs up all the emotions we all experienced that day, adding a first person view unique for so many of us watching it all at a great and safe distance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeremyB.Aug 17, 2006
It was a moving film, but more because of it's subject than any work on the part of the filmmaker. Overall it wasn't bad, but wasn't great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BeatHourJul 13, 2016
This is a very long 'trapped' scenario movie, and only very lightly touches on the actual events of the day. This is actually about Will Jimeno and John McLoughlin rather than the World Trade Center per se.

It's a very sweet and inspiring
This is a very long 'trapped' scenario movie, and only very lightly touches on the actual events of the day. This is actually about Will Jimeno and John McLoughlin rather than the World Trade Center per se.

It's a very sweet and inspiring movie, though. It doesn't overdo it with the propaganda, and you know that's why they made this.. right in the hottest point of anti-war sentiment.

I was coming in expecting a cheesey, dreadful, summer blockbuster type tasteless act. But there's not much special effects here, it's produced well, and doesn't do anything cheese or taboo. I was very surprised by this, and especially Nicholas Cage's performance. He really brought the A-game nobody knew he had.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jmbelan45Mar 11, 2013
Stone's best movie in years and Nicholas Cage best role. By keeping the perspective on that of the first responders, the film provide an heartbreaking story of courage. Yes, this is the story of two very lucky men but they were as brave asStone's best movie in years and Nicholas Cage best role. By keeping the perspective on that of the first responders, the film provide an heartbreaking story of courage. Yes, this is the story of two very lucky men but they were as brave as any who died and by learning their story we get a little glimpse of the sacrifice so many made that day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 12, 2016
Very good movie. The actors and directors did a very good job of portraying these events. Sad, sad, sad.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-719-World-Trade-Center-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews