User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1025 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    1
    For those who DIDN'T read the book: Go ahead, watch it, give money to a genre that I enjoy.
    For those who DID read the book: Go read the book again, you'll only be sitting in your own anger at the theater. WWZ The Movie is nothing like the book. The movie and the book have exactly 2 things in common: the title and the patient zero hypothesis.
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    4
    So far removed from the original story by Max Brooks that it shouldn't even share the same name, so far from it in fact that i had to try and dissociate it from the book and appreciate it as the movie itself. Standing on its own this movie is a mediocre zombie film with some reasonable acting and effects, but with virtually no story and many stupid and massive plot holes. How could they of possibly spent £130 million on this movie? its ridiculous.

    Overall im very disappointed by this film, being looking forwards to it for ages as im a big fan of the book. I would definitely suggest staying away from this film if you are fan of max brooks or just a zombie movie fan in general.
    Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is driven by a poorly defined, convoluted plot, mixed in with some semi cool action scenes and scenery. The zombies are cool for a while but become laughably goofy upon closer examination near the end of the film. I never read the books however I consider myself a zombie movie fanatic and this movie simply cannot be related with given the absolutely rediculous amount of luck brad pitt survives on(plane crash and aimless trek afterwards.... wtf.) Most of the characters that seem important are in the movie for 5 minutes tops, and the ones that are in no way important are there most of the movie. All said, don't go to this movie expecting a scary tale of a family surviving a zombie apocalypse, expect a weird, often humorous tale of a seemingly invincible man running around a zombie filled earth with no real defined goal. Expect a shallow plot and even shallower back stories, giving you no reason to care for any of the people in the story except for one handless girl who has no reason to even be in the film. Wait until it hits dollar theaters and prepare to laugh. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    It's absolutely awful. It takes nothing from the incredible source material authored by Max Brooks, discarding it as if it's irreverent. I've been waiting for this film for the last seven years, but i've got to say, I am incredibly disappointed. That said, Brad Pitt puts in a decent performance as the main protagonist ('Gerry Lane, a UN worker), and some of the scenes work well. Where was Yonkers?
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    World War Z is missing some zzzzzzzzzzz's it its title. Bland plot, Bland characters, Bland performances, even bland zombies. There is no back story on how the disease spread, no back story on our main protagonist, it's just scenes smashed together to resemble something of a action flick. All the characters say and do stupid things..and the scenes come and go as quickly as you realize this movie was a waste of money. No emotional attachment to anything I saw on screen. 3/10. Wasn't one of the worst movies of the summer, but just ZERO to offer. World War ZERO. World War ZZZZZZ you name it. Be very cautious of the people giving it scores like 9's and 10's. This ain't no "Thrill Ride" "Best zombie movie I've ever seen". Go get the AMC series Walking Dead and you will find more character depth, action, and suspense in one 40 minute episode. Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    Some decent suspense scenes but a real lazy script. Tons of holes throughout the film with characters so bland you wonder if Brad Pitt could have just been talking to cardboard cutouts the entire film. The main reasoning behind the cure is stupid it made just about half the theature laugh. Oh and the zombies teeth chomping got so stupid after seeing it over and over again.
  7. Jun 23, 2013
    1
    This movie is an excellent example of how hollywood ruins everything. The book was a New York Times Best Seller for a reason, but this movie is just awful. Even if one ignored how much the movie deviates from what made the book great, the movie alone is pretty bad. The zombies are a joke terrible computer graphics, and they transform way too quickly. There's a reason this movie isn't doing well and had to have the third act re-written and re-shot. Save yourself from disappointment and read the book instead. It'll be much more exciting, tense, rewarding and ultimately fulfilling. Expand
  8. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    I was extremely disappointed. I read the book and this film had barely a passing resemblance to the plot. I couldn't help but mutter how stupid the last third of the movie was. Frankly the book lent itself to being the basis of a TV show, and not a movie adaptation.
  9. Jun 22, 2013
    3
    I'm not sure what I was thinking. Zombie movies are not typically my type of film, but Brad Pitt has chosen (largely) good movies over the past few years, so I thought I'd give it a go. I enjoyed the set-up, but as the film progressed, I just got more and more bored. World War Z was World War Zzzzzz.
  10. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brad Pitt muddles through this messy nonsense with a supporting family you just want to strangle. A clinging wife sniffling and sickly children do more to distract their father placing them all in more danger than the zombies. The young scientist who was the world's best hope to find a solution to the zombie problem is unfortunately put In a situation that required a different skill set.

    A wall protecting a whole country letting everyone in failed to plan to keep the zombies out! Planes land with their off ramp left open. Come on in zombies Oh what about using the ventilation system in the WHO lab to zap the zombies with a sleeping agent or to navigate through the building without running into the zombies.

    Ok it's a good trick to drop the audience into the middle of the story. We don't have a clue what created the zombies or how they will be cured. But we do know that Lane is the hero and a good man who loves his family.

    But Lane gave Lane enough insight the find a solution to survival.
    Expand
  11. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    This movie was World War Z just in name. I lived the last years dreaming to see the Battle of Yonkers, and it never came up. The CGI was pretty amazing, but apart from that, everything else was just a plain old boring overused theme of zombie survival/apocalypse. The characters, even the main ones, did not click, did not reel you in with their charisma and atop of all... the zombies, the zombies felt just like an unstoppable giant rolling ball running towards every little sound. No human factor no nothing. It might as well been a giant ocean wave coming for Brad Pitt. Oh scratch that, they had already done giant waves, and it also was a fluke. In conclusion I would like to stress that the movie is a further testimony to Hollywood's destruction of great literature with slashes to the original story, flashy CGI and overpaid actors. Not a single link to the books and it brought nothing new and unprecedented features to the zombie genre. It was plain old boring.
    I am giving 3 points because of the effects and sincerely it is the first time i feel like wanting my cash back.
    Expand
  12. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    I went into this movie expecting to be disappointed, with no expectations or hope. And yes here I am disappointed. This movie is drivel at best. Giant plot holes, cheap scares undeveloped characters and any reason for a $25,000 explosion. It was non-sense. I'm mainly disappointed in the execution compared to the novel this movie is apparently attached to. Threw the entire book into the air. It's as though not a single person who worked on the film read even the synopsis of the book. I suppose if I could get past that, I may have been able to see some entertaining value here. However all I could think was that I was watching a hero out to save the world, teleporting through meaningless shallow dialog and action sequences to inevitably give us a safe generic movie that is not worth your time. I'm sorry. Expand
  13. Jun 22, 2013
    0
    TERRIBLE! Just terrible! This movie is an insult to fans of the book and author Max Brooks alike. Aside from the title and that it's a zombie movie there is nothing left of the original book/script in common. Brad Pitt and his studio can seriously go themselves. The story would be laughable if I wasn't already so pissed off at this abomination. Even if you've never read the books I doubt you'll find anything to enjoy even as just a dumb popcorn flick. Honestly I'm pissed off as a fan of the book and cannot imagine how the author must feel to have his work just raped by Hollywood Avoid at all costs! Expand
  14. Jun 25, 2013
    4
    Very disappointing. I love zombie movies, I love action movies, and Brad Pitt doesn't usually let me down, so I was surprised at how bored I was during this movie. The script is pretty bad, and there are some really illogical parts that stood out to everyone in my group. Not illogical like "zombies don't exist" but illogical like "if they thought of this, why didn't they think of that." You will see what I mean, but I would wait for this to show up on cable to find out. Expand
  15. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    If you loved the book, this will not be a good movie. If you didn't, maybe you can see some redeeming factor in it, because as a fan of the book, i did not.
  16. Jun 21, 2013
    2
    Brad Pitt can bring up ratings and I enjoy watching him in the movies but he was not enough for this movie. I do not think this was a good movie. I think the movie was done good. I just think a zombie movie is not the best choice to spend $200,000 million on.
    This movie is not a movie I would watch again so that tells you everything...
    Do you want the truth or a lie???
  17. Jun 24, 2013
    3
    If you read the book....Oh man, this was a horrible let down. You can read it in other reviews, the plot holes and clichés are numerous. Being a zombie fanatic, I guess, you really get few aspects of the post apocalyptic humans v. zombies scenario that I expect. I mean sure there are zombies and the world as we know it ends, but when the whole movie theatre laughs when a zombie gets a close up, it kills the essence of the theme. The movie attempts to be character driven but the acting and plot are just plain weak. On top of that, the story literally gets no where. Every new scene seems to be completely disconnected from the previous. I honestly cant think of a moment in the movie that awed me in any way. The positives to this movie are so minuscule. There really are no similar movies to compare this to, but if you have seen the show, The Walking Dead, the quality of screen play and emotions provoked from a zombie apocalypse do not even come close. 3 seems like it may be a rough score but as a fan boy, this movie was a true let down. Expand
  18. Jun 23, 2013
    0
    let me save you some money, don't bother. poor writing, implausible in every way, especially with Pitt having a spear through him and three days later he is fighting the zombies again. lame, cookie cutter script makes you sleepy.
  19. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    Do not waste your hard earned money on this mess of a movie. Shame on you Brad Pitt. No horror, no plot, no connection between Pitt and his family and not thrilling at all. si-fi is all you will get, and bad at that also.
  20. Jun 22, 2013
    2
    My problem with this movie might have been my expectations because I love a good zombie movie but to be honest I still think this movie would fall flat again even with a 2nd viewing (which will wait until dvd release). I give a lot of leeay because it's a zombie flick but the staples of a good zombie flick where forgotten in this movie. Couple that with amazing plot holes and that =1 bummed out zombie fan. Expand
  21. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    What a bland un characterised piece of that was.No thought or detail was put into the making of this film and instead it was a distorted mess of ideas glued together just because they looked cool.Seemingly the scenes have no connections but the dull and boring characters reveal more plot points than bullets fired in the movie.While it does look impressive and is well acted that does not change the fact that this movie has no character or any emotional connection going for it.Nothing is detailed and the whole thing is rushed,save yourself 10 dollars and don't see it Expand
  22. Jun 25, 2013
    3
    Give me a break, pitt survives a plane crash. The family in this movie made it tedious. Putting another star in a cage and giving him jibberish to talk at supposedly a south Korean base was complete waste. Why did the guy in the plane take off from Jerusalem? Who created the virus?, still don't know. Why put scenes of mass zombies at the end of the movie whats the point they would have been better at the start. a pointless waste of talent. Expand
  23. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    BORING !!!

    ......NO SCRIPT......annoying characters out of aTommy Hilfiger ad.......and enough already with the hyper caffeinated zombies who can merge into "wooshes of energy" and CLIMB WALLS .......that hurt !.....come on guys- I`m not THAT stupid !.............I only wish that whoever wrote the half-baked script for this turkey had had a fraction of the energy and ability to focus as
    those zombies !.....and finally to all the people who gave this film 9s and 10s and found it A-M-A-Z-I-N-G I say "Please get A Life Expand
  24. Jun 29, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is something about zombies and the the death of humanity and then there's this guy and he's Brad Pitt and some computer zombies and a Israeli army lady and some zombies and something about disease and then it ends but it doesn't end and hugs all around. Eff-U World War Z. I'm 116 minutes older. Expand
  25. Jun 28, 2013
    3
    This movie was terrible. It was a Syfy movie with better graphics. About half-way through, I decided to continue watching simply because I wanted to see how stupid things got, and I wasn't disappointed. The "solution" is one of the most absurd things seen in a zombie movie yet, and as others have stated, I simply did not care about anyone in this movie. It really felt like they kinda filmed the first 2/3 of the script and then got stuck, and then kinda threw together something for the end.

    As others have also said, this has nothing to do with the book. I'm fine with that as long as it could at least be in the same universe as the thing it got its name from, which it can't. This definitely goes on the list of the last zombie movies to watch during the zombie apocalypse.
    Expand
  26. Jun 24, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worst adaptation of a book EVER. There was no reason for them to even claim this was based on the book. If you're expecting the book, don't bother with this movie.

    If you've never read or heard of the book, don't bother either. It's so poorly written, and poorly acted. People make unrealistically stupid decisions because the screenwriting couldn't think of a more clever way to move the story along. The zombies are inconsistent with their strength and speed, with these characteristics changing from scene to scene. They go from superhuman speed and strength to clumsy dolts that you can easily outrun.

    Honestly, if I hadn't have gone with my wife, I would have just walked out.
    Expand
  27. Jun 28, 2013
    4
    This movie is just a mess. It's not... awful. The effects are nice, and some of the action scenes are actually quite well directed. A scene set in Jerusalem where hordes of zombies form a human ladder stands out as particularly memorable. Brad Pitt does a decent, if not particularly memorable job as Jerry. All of the other characters whinge dramatically at the camera in hushed tones about the horrors they've witnessed in a manner that has become par for the course in zombie fiction, but the problems with this film lie not with the actors, the effects, or the direction. The good things about the film are bogged down by the fact that the plot is absolutely abysmal. Almost every single action that drives the "story" forward is predicated entirely on human stupidity. SPOILER ALERT: The crowning achievement actually comes rather early on when the man who is supposed to be the last, best hope for humanity; the most brilliant scientist on the planet, trips and accidentally shoots himself in the brain. That is absurd. END SPOILERS It's just a bad story poorly told, so much so that, for me, by the end of the movie, it felt as though it were interminable (even though it's only about 100 minutes long). That said, it does have some cool set-piece moments. If you can catch it on TV in a few months, you'll have paid the perfect price for it. Expand
  28. Jun 30, 2013
    1
    Unmitigated swill. We have come to expect much better when Brad Pitt is aboard, since he's a talented draw who can pick and choose his projects. This film, however, demonstrates only that these days, the bigger the budget, the stupider the film. There is almost no plot here, just a zillion cartoonish, CGI zombies with rabies getting shot, hacked, burned, stabbed and punched as they just keep comin'. The moment of suspense, such as it is, is near the end, when Brad Pitt must retrieve the save-the-world serum from a lab where zombies dwell. The stupidest plot point of the year involved Pitt's wife and kids getting 86'd from their safe haven by the Guvamint. You have to see it to laugh at it. I'm sure a dozen absolutely talentless hacks worked on the alleged script. Expand
  29. Jun 29, 2013
    3
    A hopeless mess of a movie, with the occasional interesting visuals. If you're going to have absolutely nothing to do with the source material, why bother using the name?
  30. Jun 24, 2013
    1
    If Walt Disney made a terrible zombie movie, this is what it would be. I think if you're a teenager, don't understand basic biology or the military, you'll probably connect well with this movie. Otherwise you're going to count both the time you had to work to pay for it and the time you then wasted watching it as a loss.

    Parallels to the book:
    Infected people attack non infected

    Israel builds a wall
    And nothing else.

    There was one really great scene in the beginning that was novel. The other one hour and fifty nine minutes is uninspired garbage. If you haven't read the books and don't care, it was a mediocre zombie movie. If you have read the books please do not go watch this.
    Expand
  31. Jun 30, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'World War Z' is a fast-paced, exciting thriller, which blends the horror, action, and science-fiction genres generally well. Brad Pitt gives a decent performance as Gerry Lane, but the film fails to create a real connection between the viewer and Pitt's family. 'WWZ' ends up being an above average film, which provides a nice new look at an oft-visited idea. Expand
  32. Jul 9, 2013
    0
    "World War Z" is a perfect example of how to turn a very good book into a total nonsense, spending in the process a few hundred million dollars.

    The score of 1 is just for the reference to the book. Otherwise it should be ZERO. Or less.
  33. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    Absolute balls, although spot on if you were to add zz to the title. Brad 'the' Pitts once more shows us his Jesus hairdo, especially in a ridiculous halo lit scene that proves he's not the second coming, 'just a very naughty boy'. Oh, and any film that doesn't properly utilize Peter Capaldi and his prolific use of the word c**t when it's more than apt, should be put to sleep, preferably not to come back from the dead for a sequel. Expand
  34. Jul 31, 2013
    0
    Absolutely nothing like the book. and I mean nothing. Did I mention it is an entirely different franchise? It's like they suckered in people by buying rights to the name. It is garbage what they did to the story. Skip this in theaters, go read the book instead.
  35. Sep 27, 2013
    2
    I sat down to watch this movie with no expectations whatsoever, but it was hard to ignore the fact that this is not a zombie movie at all, because, you know there are some indications in the title that led me to believe that this in fact will be a zombie movie, so I'll stick with that from now on.
    I did not red the book, I merely saw this sorry excuse for a zombie apocalypse movie a
    genre that I love and cherish as it is. I grew up on George A. Romero's zombie movies, the ones with sluggish undead people craving for human "braaainz!". I realize of course that that type of monsters are too slow for our modern movie munching society but consider this, if the British were managed to make a fast paced zombie movie with great action scenes and compelling story from a marginally smaller budget (28 Days Later), then why could not the Americans achieve the same?
    The protagonist the average male figure who is just looking out for his loved ones is common enough in these movies (and video games of the genre), but this movie failed to utilize him the way it meant to be. We got Brad Pitt loosened on a wild goose chase across continents and countries achieving virtually nothing, and without skills relying on sheer luck to survive and magically save the whole world at the end.
    The story was not engaging and the climax came too late to stimulate my attention, although it would have been great for a family drama, but clearly not for a thriller/horror show.
    My verdict is that this movie is a one time popcorn movie which did not deserve the £13 fee I had to spend on it.
    Expand
  36. Oct 20, 2013
    0
    I'll start by saying as an adaptation it is a failure. That said not comparing this to the book and looking at it as it's own movie with nothing else, I have to say this movie is boring and on more than one occasion I was actively hoping Brad Pitt would die and we could follow some other more interesting character that is around him.

    The story follows a complete Mary Sue or Gary Stu
    who is incapable of failing at literally anything he does. Even in his failures he succeeds! He robs a pharmacy and find the exact looter who is not only willing to help him but then encourages him while complete chaos break out around him and did I mention he gets the exact last bit of medicine that he need? After being led on to believe it is all out the looter shows up to ask him what he is looking for and give it to him and wish him luck. Oh but it was just humanity helping each other out. It would be if it happened again or maybe if while he wasn't looking for it his wife wasn't about to get raped. He and his children survive a car crash, not just a fender bender but a full of T-bone collision while his asthmatic daughter isn't buckled up and the only problem she has is that she is hyperventilating but she is still capable of running since at that exact moment they are swarmed by "zombies". We are introduced to much more interesting characters all through the movie only to watch them die or just leave. Brad Pitt tells people he need to get back to his family, only to have a random no named soldier try to reprimand him by questioning why he thinks he is so special since they all have families that want to get back to and he never gives a reason why he is so important. In fact his character has no importance there is nothing that makes him so special. They say he was a reporter at one time and that he was good but he does nothing that no one else can't do. Everything about this movie is boring or bad. I'm a fan of the original book but I knew going into this it had nothing to do with it in anyway other than title and I still came out disappointed and upset that it cost me after matinee. Expand
  37. Oct 27, 2013
    2
    Why does this movie have a PG-13 rating is this Hollywood's answer to making more money?
    I really liked 28 weeks later best zombie movie ever, alright plot great suspense great gore.
    This is not that movie, this is boring actors, dumb story and eventual who cares.
    Why do we need PG-13 zombie movies? I would not take my thirteen year old to this movie unless it was having sleeping
    difficulties.
    If you like zombie movies this probably isn't for you.
    Expand
  38. Jul 13, 2013
    3
    HORRIBLE! I am a Sci-Fi lover and couldn't wait for this to come out. However, the story is so stupid it reminds me of the my other pick for Worst Ever Sci-Fi, "The Day After Tomorrow". From Brad's idiotic expressions and shallow sentiments ("No, Government Guy, I just CAN'T bring myself to help save the world because I need to be here to tuck my kids into bed at night when they are safe on this big military ship") to the absurd ridiculousness of many of the plot points (like are they REALLY going to waste a military helicopter in an extreme EMERGENCY to remove his family from the ship just because he went MIA? Did they really eat that much food? WTF!). This movie was an EPIC failure. Nothing wrong with the action scenes, but if you like your mind engaged while you watch a movie, you will be sorely disappointed. Collapse
  39. Jun 30, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Might as well been called "I am legend meets 28 days later". Brainless action flick that employs jump scares to startle the audience. Has a barely existent plot and logic, and barely has anything to do with either the novelization of World War Z or The Zombie Survival Guide. Is functionally inept when it comes to camera work (shaky cam all over the place), to the point where you can't tell what the hell is going on. Utilizes stock footage in the beginning and then CGI where there doesn't need to be CGI. Did you really have to use CGI actors in the goddamn Harrier scenes? Things happen because the script demands they happen, the dialogue is goofy and sometimes hard to understand, characterization is non-existent, and the way the zombies work in this movie is frankly stupid. No tactics are used by the military to combat the zombies (something that was prevalent in the novelization) and people act functionally retarded in survival situations. The logic behind the infection is parasitic in nature, despite the nature of the infection being viral. No hive intelligence can be born out of a viral infection, no matter how hard the writers to try to convince us or how hard they crap all over the source material. Apparently, all it takes is a serious infection via a deadly but treatable disease to become "invisible" to the zombies... because they don't want to infect hosts who are seriously sick. Yes really. First off, they say a virus wouldn't kill a zombie. Okay... so why would a zombie care if the victim is infected with H1N1? Why would it care? Flesh is flesh. There supposed to be ZOMBIES, NOT rabid humans. 28 days later already did something similar to that guys.

    If you want brainless action and can bear with the constant shaky cam and inability to tell what the hell is going on as a result, then go see this movie. If you don't mind that most of the budget was likely spent on Brad Pitt and the CGI, and want to see a poorly executed film, go see this movie. If you want a competently made movie, give this stinker a pass. 4/10: what the hell was Max Brooks thinking when he okayed this?
    Expand
  40. May 9, 2014
    2
    One of the most boring movies I've ever seen. I was literally yawning while watching a plain crash from inside the plane. Total snooze fest. The whole time I wasn't invested with bland characters and absurd plotlines. At least the disaster movie 2012 knew it was being absurd, but this movie seems to take it's absurd unpolished ideas seriously.

    I owe this movie this, it inspired me to
    read the book, and the book really is a superb reflections of the times we live in. It's such a shame they took the idea and skewered it so bad. Expand
  41. Jul 6, 2013
    2
    Boring. Really just epically boring. Once you've wrapped your head around that, you've the additional problem with the fact that whoever called the shots on this film didn't once bother to listen to their military advisors. I was gonna give this movie the benefit of the doubt, until I watched a C-whateverthatwas launch off an aircraft carrier (or was it a helicopter carrier?)... that's when I kew, this movie was gonna suck.

    Wherever Brad Pitt goes (Camp Humpheys, S.Korea; Tel Aviv, Israel; Cardiff, Wales), whatever was working for the survivors up that point just suddenly fails, and the zombie onslaught ensues. No one in the movie really matters, and so you don't care about any of them either, which is fine, since there's like an 80% chance they'll be dead in the next 5~10 minutes.

    What was the point of this movie anyway? I mean, it's not really a zombie movie, or at least not a very convincing one. It's not really a disaster movie either. It's not a moving drama, on any level, despite the annihilation of human civilization, which, if you remember, we don't care about anyway! It's not even a good action movie. It is however a disaster OF a movie.

    The pacing is awful, since it's in a big damn rush to get somewhere, and ignores anything that's interesting along the way, to arrive at, well, what feels an awful lot like a sneaking around video game (think MGS, or Splinter cell, only stupid, boring, and not really that tense). The solution, once finally arrived at, is haltingly stupid. War of the planets stupid. "Oh, it was all just a dream" kind of stupid.

    And then, right when we've done all the heavy lifting, suspended all disbelief, given the last of the benefit of the doubt we can afford, right when our ultra-megaviolence should kick in, we get a montage ending that looks suspiciously like a middle finger. Not a proper middle finger either. A metaphorical one.

    And rumor has it they wanna make another one of these.
    Expand
  42. Jul 8, 2013
    4
    There were so many eye rolling moments that the movie became ridiculous. In the theater I was in people were laughing at the teeth chattering zombies. This was not a scary film at all, but how can you possibly be scared when the camera is moving so erratically that you can't see anything that is happening? The trendy "constantly moving camera" that is so in favor with directors these days must end! I shouldn't have to take a motion sick pill to watch a movie, and it is simply a trick that Hollywood uses so they don't have to properly choreograph scenes. The Brad Pitt character is obviously a super genius. He figures out how to stop the zombies with only one or two VERY minor clues. This is not the worst film I've seen this year, but I was sorry I wasted my money on it. Expand
  43. Aug 8, 2013
    1
    This film has the honor of being one of the worst movies that I remember ever seeing. It´s like a throwback to a 50´s horror B-movie. It often is more funny than horrific. It has no pretensions of philosophical nor ecological undertones. It is just zombies being nasty zombies biting people and getting hacked off. I am very surprised that Brad Piitt would accept to participate in such a production disaster. I am giving it 1 point for special effects in mass zombie attack scenes. But terrible makeup. Expand
  44. Mar 1, 2014
    3
    I think the Z stands for Zzz. A banal, wishy-washy showcase of faceless people running away from faceless zombies. World War Zzzz quacks and farts around like a gutted 28 Days Later for the stupid, but what's really weird is that it shows little to no real gore, the result is an bloodless chase by rasping extras in bad make-up.
  45. Jul 3, 2013
    2
    Weak plot, wooden dialogue and at times breathtakingly stupid.

    The zombie effects were somewhat interesting (which is why I didn't give it a plain zero) but aside from that the movie was an utter waste of time and money.
  46. Jul 12, 2013
    1
    If you enjoy zombie movies or read the book do not go see this movie. There are no zombies in the movie just a bunch of things that run 4 times faster than a humans, so I guess it's a superhero movie with brad pitt as the star.

    If you like zombies, read the book, its amazing. This film is an insult to it and writing in general. There were so many straight up stupid moments I almost left
    the movie. The whole reason zombie movies are scary is because there is this huge hoard of unfeeling creatures which will never stop coming after you, just like Jason or Freddy or plenty of others they don't need to hurry...because they always catch you. Unlike a human they never tire out, that's creepy. So why make them run at ludicrous speed?!

    Uber-stupid writing moments from the movie:

    Example 1: You are a highly trained group of soldiers, a plane needs refueling, and there are creatures running around that are attracted to sound. Do you: Go out in the night when its raining and completely dark or hmmm wait a few hours for some sunlight...

    Example 2: Singing on loudspeakers causes zombies to get smarter, adapt and climb a 100 ft wall....

    Example 3: We are safe on an airplane and after a very long flight the zombie (who normally runs at ludicrous speed) decided to come out of hiding as the plane makes its final descent! OMG ...(I'm picturing the zombie sitting on some luggage drinking a fruit juice as we waits for his perfect moment....)

    Dramatic moments don't have to be stupid and not follow logic. The book is full of creepy moments and it all feels real. THE BOOK ALL FEELS REAL and that is truly scary to convince you of what the a world war against zombies would really look like. You arent questioning it, but just immersed which is quite an achievement, which this movie missed altogether.

    This movie is a brad pitt film. The book was not about a hero it was about surviving. Brad Pitt does his normal character and he is the hero, the story is random stuff to send him jetsetting across the world so he can save it. Oh brad...the world does not revolve around you buddy. He should not be producing. He had the perfect script and ignored every bit of it to create an insulting film made merely to take your money.
    Expand
  47. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    Pitt and Enos are very satisfying leads, The acting overall is rather solid and I have no complaints. While the film may look impressive, It's really just...nothing. The plot is ok but I'd have liked to see more depth to it, A little more story you know instead of just the straight forward story that it is. The biggest problem with World War Z is that it tries so hard not to be another zombie movie but it ends up being just that. There is nothing that really separates it from any other zombie film I have seen and that was the real killer in my opinion. Expand
  48. Jul 6, 2013
    4
    Ok so this was mildly entertaining.
    The first act was by far the best section of the movie...very tense, fast paced action and great presentation.
    From this point on the movie went downhill on a grand scale. I mean, the Israel sequence was bordering on insanity...what the hell was going on there? It seemed as soon as Pitt showed up all hell broke loose wherever he went. Better for him to
    have just stayed at home.
    The 3rd act just drove home how poor this film was and perhaps how great it could have been.
    The lab sequence relegated this in to Hollywood tosh with the generic hero saves the day nonsense. Tired formula...
    If the film had followed the book more closely (Yonkers could have been epic) and not have been a vehicle for brad pitt to once again show us how he cant act, we would have ended up with a film that wasn't just a bunch of chase sequences mashed together with a ridiculous plot line.
    Expand
  49. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    Disappointing, frustrating, when you expect the movie to begin, it ends in a boring and predictable way. Doesn't worth the money of the ticket. Don't waste your time, and money, watching this bad written mess.
  50. Sep 6, 2013
    4
    Dont understand what the fuss is about this movie. its more of an extended episode of Walking Dead. Everybody in this movie is stupid with the exception of Pitt which I find annoying! This is a Zombie flick for women plain and simple! When i watched the movie at the local cinema girls where wearing minis and hot pants and there was an unusually large number gay men in the movie house! Ok its a chick flick, starring Pitt! grrrrrr Expand
  51. Jul 6, 2013
    3
    This is going to be a short review. I make it no secret that I hate zombies. Not the zombies themselves, but how they are shown in different medias. Why? Because the all feel the same if you have seen one zombie movie you've seen them all. You know what? World War Z is no different. It's your standard zombie movie that we already have too much of. This movie is based off of the 2006 book of the same name. I haven't read the book because, well, I can't care. Not that it matters seeing as this movie has nothing to do with the book it is based on. But whatever. I would talk about the story, but again standard zombie flick. What I will say is plot holes a plenty. The biggest problem I have is how pointless all of the characters really are. They are nothing but a bunch of read shirts whose only purpose is to appear give out exposition and die. Even characters who seem important will die quickly and be forgotten even quicker. The only character who survive the zombies beside Pitt and his family is an Israeli soldier whose name you won't remember so you will just call her Israeli soldier. The only thing quicker than the red shirts' deaths is the poor pacing of the movie. the character will spend only seconds in a scene before it ends. There are important scenes where you think something will happen or be explained, but instead it is over within seconds. I find this really lazy as it takes up the films entire running time almost two hours, leaving an unsatisfied feeling from the watcher. Also there is a lot of things that just happen to happen, like when Pitt gets to Israel and the zombies get through the wall. Why? Because the peoples chanting, because as we know Israel is known for how quiet it is. The actors bring nothing to the table. Alonso Duralde of The Wrap put it best when he said, "For all its effectiveness at portraying the horror of possible human extinction, the film's actual humans are so soulless that this could just as well be the movie version of the video game Plants vs. Zombies." If you see the actions of the zombies you will find it just as funny. Finally the ending, I will say I am one of those who was surprised and impressed with how they defeated the zombies as it made total sense. However, Brad states, that despite this, that it isn't over yet. Which makes no sense as literally the next scene has some guys setting a mountain of zombies on fire. All Paramount is trying to do is give a reason to make a sequel. No. Really. They have confirmed that World War Z will be a trilogy. I look forward to nothing changing in the future. As for this movie, it has to be a 3/10. This was a lazy movie even by zombie standards and to think that a movie like this warrants a sequel just increases my annoyance with the capitalism in the movie. Disagree comment below. Expand
  52. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    Are you looking for a thrilling zombie film with a masterfully crafted plot and interesting characters? Well, keep looking. The experience you get from this film is on par with that of the latest resident evil movies. The spoon-fed story is predictable and full of lame excuses for light-'em-up zombie action sequences, which are only mildly entertaining. A more suitable title for this film could have been "Generic Zombie Movie Blockbuster #3462." Expand
  53. Jul 6, 2013
    3
    Unbelievable. This summer the most-anticipated movies turn out to be mere shells of entertainment. After an infantile Iron Man 3, a superficial Superman, we are not treated to the dumbest movie of them all. At least I hope so. Because for some reason enough critics and customers seem to enjoy this picture. So the studios might be tempted to create more of this lowest-common-denominator stuff.

    Brad Pit does his thing, the fx are decent enough. but the story is an insult for any adult thanks to a plethora of plot holes and obvious inconsistencies. The purpose of the story seems limited to being a vehicle for all-American family values. There is not even enough content to appreciate the picture as a fun and relaxing joke.

    Read the book or watch a decent movie like 'Oblivion', or even a superb one like 'Shaun of the Dead'.
    Expand
  54. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A fine example of how our the culture of fear has penetrated our society. WWZ gives it's audience an excuse for committing mass genocide. When a set of people can be identified as not human they are more easily killed. Yes, zombies are nasty, but they are a fictional construct to represent the "other." By the end of the film the surviving normals find a way to camouflage themselves. Zombies are now able to be tolerated in society, at least until a cure can be found and developed. A very American played UN agent then states that various less civilized countries have found different ways of dealing with the infected. What follows is nothing more than a montage of holocaust images showing massive pyres of burning humans. Be aware this is propaganda at its finest to date. Now America, symbolized by the lead character, and a silhouetted duck hunter can go to war against the oppressors of zombies. This sounds like a lot of mid wiping for an uneducated viewer. If you like Doomsday Prepers you'll love this film. "Be ready for anything." Expand
  55. Jul 4, 2013
    1
    his is not a horror film, not really a zombie film either. It's a plague film, and any gore porn fan will be disappointed to find that this is not a scary zombie film filled with guts and gore. What you will find is a very good story, a well paced and thrilling romp through the mind of a survivor. The story is solid, and has many harrow and life affirming moments for many of th
  56. Jul 6, 2013
    4
    My very first review. This is not a horror movie no blood no gore, it has tons of cheesey lines
    This is very disappointing for a zombie genre. Myself i have never read the book but what i have heard it's not the same as the book. You also get to barely know the characters there just some family. The story is very unintresing. Some effects can be good at times but that's all to it.
  57. Jul 16, 2013
    2
    This movie was probably one of the worst zombie/post-apocalyptic films I have ever seen, especially for a movie in this time period. It was cheesy, unoriginal, and on top of all it was a major waste of time and money.
  58. Jul 17, 2013
    1
    Terrible...... This is a Resident Evil wannabe on Steroids with very little plot and makes absolutely no sense. At least Resident Evil had suspense and a story line. This was predictable, ridiculous and at times, pretty funny. A solid C
  59. Jul 20, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After taking time and reflecting on this Film I still cant give this Movie any higher than a 4

    Not having read the book and just watching this Film on a whim the only takeaways I got from this movie were;

    Pandering to a larger movie audience by dropping the Rating from R to PG 13 kills the fact that this is a "zombie" film, 13 does not a better movie experience make.

    Having our Lord and Savior Brad Pitt go all across the globe to search for a cure is mind numbing, the perfect background for a character, the perfect training from picking up details such as timing infection time during a huge panic to being able to sever a hand and dress the wounds keeping infection at bay, and finally single-handedly saving the world from complete destruction.

    Lets not forget this is the perfect movie for him because lets face it there are no other characters here to get in the way of what is Brad Pitt's radiant aura. (lets not mention his forgettable kids one with asthma that plays a minor inconvenience role and the other with a bear that allows Brad to count time, Paco the Olympian outrunning his zombified parents, his complacent lamb of a wife, and colonel Mutumbo who's 32 million dollars are yours if you can cash his check in your bank account)

    Finally when you are in a zombacalypse and you just found the cure to save the world have a moment to yourself and grab a nice refreshing pepsi because we all need a little product placement in our lives.
    Expand
  60. Aug 2, 2013
    3
    Kind a thrilling and exciting but the thing that makes this movie so unrealistic are the zombies.The zombies merge together so they can reach the wall and one thing the zombies are aggressive because of the sounds.Lastly I thought Brad Pitt will go to Russia.
  61. Aug 19, 2013
    3
    This movie has the problem of poor planning. The action and the zombies are great, don't get me wrong there, but in terms of plot its clear to see the writers, director, and editors were all infected. The movie jumps from plot point to plot point without real cohesion or significance. As each point is presented we are left wanting more, we are left to assume that it will have greater significance in the end. But by the end every fertile plot is hollow and sour, every point made left undeveloped and thus left to waste our time.
    This lack of plot development, this lack of depth, carries over with the characters. Every character is a cardboard cutout, they say their line and they vanish with no attachment to the audience. Even the driving force, the family, is abandoned by the film makers not even a quarter of the way through the film. The same goes for every other character as well. Each one is introduced, spotlighted, and then tossed away without having any kind of impact.
    In short, the movie is a jumble of undeveloped ideas and weak characters. Zombies were scary.
    Expand
  62. Sep 8, 2013
    2
    Movies will almost always fall short of the books they are based on, this is no exception. I did not read the book since i am not a fan of the genre but i can clearly see why this falls short of its book counterpart. The story is unoriginal, story telling is like jumpcuts that fail to immerse the viewer into itself. I had the idea that film was made to milk the genre that bulls..t series called walking dead (first season was the only good part) and it is a great excuse for cgi and expensive action scenes.

    tl&dr: This film is made for stupid people that like pew pew, eye candy and badly portrayed cliche relationships with an unoriginal storyline.
    Expand
  63. Nov 6, 2013
    4
    While I am a fan of both Brad Pitt and zombies, I was pretty disappointed. It had action and the CGI was pretty good, but apart from that, everything else was just another interpretation of an overused theme: zombie survival/a zombie apocalypse. The movie had a lot of plot holes; felt rushed; and was somewhat predictable. If you're a zombie gore fan than you'll be disappointed since the violence was toned down. (Though I appreciated the lack of bloody gore, since I'm honestly not a huge fan of it.) If you're also a fan of the book, please note: The movies nothing like the book. The only things the book and movie have in common are the title. Nothing else. It's like I Am Legend, just with more people and zombies. I did not like the script, and I think there should've been more depth to the story and characters. The movie was kinda anticlimactic. You should watch The Walking Dead instead.

    If you liked this review, read my other work by clicking on my name and mark this as helpful. I review movies, TV shows, and videogames.
    Expand
  64. Dec 10, 2013
    4
    While I am a fan of both Brad Pitt and zombies, I was pretty disappointed. It had action and the CGI was pretty good, but apart from that, everything else was just another interpretation of an overused theme: zombie survival/a zombie apocalypse. The movie felt rushed; but with all the trouble World War Z had during production I'm surprised it wasn't a complete disaster If you're a zombie gore fan than you'll be disappointed since the violence was toned down. (Though I appreciated the lack of bloody gore, since I'm honestly not a huge fan of it. However, you could get the Unrated version if you want to see blood and gore.) If you're also a fan of the book, please note: The movies nothing like the book. The only things the book and movie have in common are the title. Nothing else. It's like I Am Legend, just with more people and zombies. I did not like the script, and I think there should've been more depth to the story and characters. The movie was kinda anticlimactic. You should watch The Walking Dead instead.

    If you liked this review, read my other work by clicking on my name and mark this as helpful. I review movies, TV shows, and videogames.

    (P.S, you may have seen this review by me under t
    Expand
  65. Jan 21, 2014
    4
    How best to describe this movie? Umm... Well have you ever sat through a 2-hour film and at the end just uttered the sound Blah? Well this is that movie. World War Z is full of uninspiring characters, a woeful script and a narrative without any meaningful content. Yes the ridiculous turbo charged zombies with cat like reflexes do capture your attention, if that’s what you think a zombie should look like. The truth however is this, World War Z doesn't spend enough time making you believe, evoking emotion between characters and developing the story in an intellectual manner. Each scene feels like its made out of toilet paper and then stuck to the next with super glue, you may think I'm being harsh but this is a movie with an enormous budget based on a fantastic book. Its certainly action over content my friends.

    On a positive note Brad Pitt does have some gravitas and the solution to conquering the Undead is pretty cool, but that said it's still a very disappointing outcome to what should have been a great movie.
    Expand
  66. Jul 24, 2014
    0
    BRAD PITT COLLECTS ANOTHER PAYCHECK ....and audiences continue to get dumbed down into paying for lazy trash like wwz

    don't expect to be horrified, expect to be bored and annoyed
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 29, 2013
    80
    World War Z is the most gratifying action spectacle in years, and one reason for its success if the Pitt doesn't play a superhero. [1 July 2013, p.76]
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    67
    Director Marc Forster is very good at amping up the terror, but after a while, we reach zombie overload and we might as well be watching an infestation of Transformers.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    Given how efficiently World War Z has delivered jolts and screams over the course of its sleek 116-minute running time, it’s easy to forgive this rushed and slightly muted finale.