World War Z

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1079 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2013
    6
    When the first World War Z book was published it took young readers by storm and climbed to the top of the New York Times Best Sellers list. It was destine to become a movie, especially now, with the popularity of zombies, but ultimately, the highly anticipated film fails to deliver anything different. U.N. Employee, Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt), is out with his family when a recently discoveredWhen the first World War Z book was published it took young readers by storm and climbed to the top of the New York Times Best Sellers list. It was destine to become a movie, especially now, with the popularity of zombies, but ultimately, the highly anticipated film fails to deliver anything different. U.N. Employee, Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt), is out with his family when a recently discovered virus hits the United States and all hell breaks loose. The first 45 minutes of this film were literally like the pilot of The Walking Dead. No one knows what's going on, people are panicking, it was all very predictable. The film does go into a different direction after that, but how many different ways of doing a zombie film are there? Lane starts traveling the world seeking a cure for the disease, while at the same time trying to avoid being attacked. The unfortunate fact is that no matter how good the acting or the writing, there is very little you can actually do with a zombie film. The zombies and the circumstances behind the outbreak are always a little different, but ultimately it becomes about survival or the race to find a cure. Brad Pitt is terrific, and as I have been saying for year, it doesn't matter how good looking the guy is, he belongs in action films! This is the genre where he excels and even though World War Z was painfully predictable, Pitt makes it worth watching. He is the focus of the story and it takes a lot of quick thinking and tremendous stunts to keep him alive. For me that was the best part of the film. There was a lot of hype behind World War Z and it was a very intense film, but like I said, there is very little you can do with an end of the world/zombie film that hasn't been done over and over again. While some what entertaining, World War Z is ultimately just another copy cat. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    OK I am not going to be a geek and analyse the film or point fingers at the direction or anything like that or give away the plot. Basically, this film is better than man of steel in that it's more involving but doesn't have the mega FX. It's a pretty cool story, but not one you really want to think too hard about otherwise you will start thinking 'well why didn't he just....' Brad goesOK I am not going to be a geek and analyse the film or point fingers at the direction or anything like that or give away the plot. Basically, this film is better than man of steel in that it's more involving but doesn't have the mega FX. It's a pretty cool story, but not one you really want to think too hard about otherwise you will start thinking 'well why didn't he just....' Brad goes off on a mission to save the world and he does a good job, the zombies are both scary as hell but gore-free more or less and weirdly 'family friendly' as they both race around and shuffle and jerk in the time-honoured zombie style. The whole thing is a bit like a adventure video game come to life. Def one to see on the big screen. Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    6
    Since a PG13 rated zombie movie is not going to match the gore level of The Walking Dead, or your run-of-the-mill direct to video zombie "nasty", it had to up the ante by making the zombies move like some hive-minded insects, and expand the action to a global level. The most effective scenes, ironically, are the ones in enclosed spaces like the plane, the stairwell, the science lab..ItSince a PG13 rated zombie movie is not going to match the gore level of The Walking Dead, or your run-of-the-mill direct to video zombie "nasty", it had to up the ante by making the zombies move like some hive-minded insects, and expand the action to a global level. The most effective scenes, ironically, are the ones in enclosed spaces like the plane, the stairwell, the science lab..It does become a bit of..Pitt flies to foriegn location, something happens, Pitt jumps on next flight, repeat. One positive..a genre movie that comes in UNDER two hours?!! Amazing. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    6
    At one point, I honestly thought Hollywood had lost all hope. Then when I found out that this is based on a book, i was really shocked. After watching this, i was really surprised that it was better than I thought it was. But it barely says much. Most of the time it has its moments. It's an unoriginal story, but with some good elements. The ensemble may not be the best in a movie likeAt one point, I honestly thought Hollywood had lost all hope. Then when I found out that this is based on a book, i was really shocked. After watching this, i was really surprised that it was better than I thought it was. But it barely says much. Most of the time it has its moments. It's an unoriginal story, but with some good elements. The ensemble may not be the best in a movie like this, (I mean, lets face it, who expected Brad Pitt to star in a zombie movie) but it surprisingly works. The movie does slow down at times, but overall, with it's strange and unoriginal idea, it's still a decent movie. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    As far as thrills and suspense go, it delivers. But originality, not at all. Also the PG-13 rating does make it feel pretty nerf. Its a good summer flick but nothing more.
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    6
    Sure, it's not the freshest movie to come out this year (The zombie fad, like zombies themselves, never dies) but it's a fun movie to see and it will keep you entertained the whole way through.
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not the best zombie movie I've seen but definitely worth a watch if you got no other choice. Quite predictable and open ending... I wonder if there is going to be a second part... probably yes. Expand
  8. Sep 3, 2013
    6
    I am not actually sire if I liked or didn't like World War Z. Sure it has great special effects and it has great action scenes and yes it has action from the very first moments, but the vaccine of the virus is completely ridiculous and the the film is made in that way that it seems to be a true story. Couldn't stand that if you have a disease like cancer or something else the zombies won'tI am not actually sire if I liked or didn't like World War Z. Sure it has great special effects and it has great action scenes and yes it has action from the very first moments, but the vaccine of the virus is completely ridiculous and the the film is made in that way that it seems to be a true story. Couldn't stand that if you have a disease like cancer or something else the zombies won't kill you Zombies can understand if someone is sick.. ok.... Something that I really liked was the plane scene. That was a good one. In general watch the movie but don't expect something really good. That's what I have to say. If you like Walking Dead you will like the movie ,but there is no comparison between the two of them! Expand
  9. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    Your enjoyment of World War Z doesn't hinge solely on your enjoyment of the book which it claims to be based on, but owes it to anyone who has read the book to disclaim "loosely based". That being said, if you've read the book beforehand, the trailers alone should let you know that the film is going in wholly different direction that Max Brooks laid out in his novel.

    I am a huge fan of
    Your enjoyment of World War Z doesn't hinge solely on your enjoyment of the book which it claims to be based on, but owes it to anyone who has read the book to disclaim "loosely based". That being said, if you've read the book beforehand, the trailers alone should let you know that the film is going in wholly different direction that Max Brooks laid out in his novel.

    I am a huge fan of the zombie franchise, which George Romero essentially put a patent on and dozens of films have branched off from over the years. What "World War Z" does is attempt to mesh the behavioral patterns of the "28 Days Later" infected undead (I refuse to call them zombies, zombies are the slow, shuffling Romero staple) with the essential ideas behind Brooks' book. It does this admirably, but it's a direction that ultimately didn't need to be taken in order to make the film successful. In my mind, it felt like a lazy way of telling a story that builds itself up, cutting time off of the reel in favor of a more fast-paced, energized film experience.

    Being a huge fan of the book, I refused to shell out the $10 to see it in the theaters; as I said, the trailers told me clearly that the film was going to diverge far enough from the book for me to lower my expectations. As a rental, and for what it is, it's nowhere near terrible. Remove all comparisons to the book it takes minor inspirations from, and Brad Pitt does a solid job of weaving his way through a decently scripted and constructed horror film.

    This ended up being Pitt's highest grossing film to date, and a combination of factors play into that, not least of which being a rather stale list of opposing options in theaters at the time of its release. Still, it's an enjoyable film, however far it deviates from the source material, and however ridiculous some of us may think calling something that runs a zombie. Could have been better...and could have been a whole lot worse.
    Expand
  10. Jul 11, 2013
    6
    Overall, A decent movie, but there are two factors that really put me off. One, The relation with the book and the movie is like comparing Shakespeare to Modern day Drama. Two, Brad Pitt's mumbling, In many instances I hear Pitt quickly mumble dialogue that is almost impossible to understand. The fact that he was the only well known actor in the movie didn't help either. 6/10
  11. Jul 17, 2013
    5
    It was all right, though one too many dull moments. I don't get how this is what they decided to go with, when they had a really good plot in the book.
  12. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    This zombie-thing is pretty much overused by games movies media....
    i still enjoyed this movie even without blood :D It just tells a story and creates a matching atmosphere.
    But I would not watch again.
  13. Dec 10, 2013
    4
    While I am a fan of both Brad Pitt and zombies, I was pretty disappointed. It had action and the CGI was pretty good, but apart from that, everything else was just another interpretation of an overused theme: zombie survival/a zombie apocalypse. The movie felt rushed; but with all the trouble World War Z had during production I'm surprised it wasn't a complete disaster If you're a zombieWhile I am a fan of both Brad Pitt and zombies, I was pretty disappointed. It had action and the CGI was pretty good, but apart from that, everything else was just another interpretation of an overused theme: zombie survival/a zombie apocalypse. The movie felt rushed; but with all the trouble World War Z had during production I'm surprised it wasn't a complete disaster If you're a zombie gore fan than you'll be disappointed since the violence was toned down. (Though I appreciated the lack of bloody gore, since I'm honestly not a huge fan of it. However, you could get the Unrated version if you want to see blood and gore.) If you're also a fan of the book, please note: The movies nothing like the book. The only things the book and movie have in common are the title. Nothing else. It's like I Am Legend, just with more people and zombies. I did not like the script, and I think there should've been more depth to the story and characters. The movie was kinda anticlimactic. You should watch The Walking Dead instead.

    If you liked this review, read my other work by clicking on my name and mark this as helpful. I review movies, TV shows, and videogames.

    (P.S, you may have seen this review by me under t
    Expand
  14. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    What World War Z has going for it is a massive, global scale outbreak, a variety of infected, and some nice dialogue sprinkled throughout the film. What brings that down is that the story is basically focused on the zombies, they don't utilize a great actor, the story is frankly dumb sometimes, and there aren't any characters to delve into. I like Brad Pitt, but for being the lead and theWhat World War Z has going for it is a massive, global scale outbreak, a variety of infected, and some nice dialogue sprinkled throughout the film. What brings that down is that the story is basically focused on the zombies, they don't utilize a great actor, the story is frankly dumb sometimes, and there aren't any characters to delve into. I like Brad Pitt, but for being the lead and the most focused character, there simply isn't much to him or anyone else in the movie. With that in mind there are definitely some enjoyable scenes that are shot very well. I left the theater just not caring about anyone that I saw, there is no human connection to the film other than Gerry (Brad Pitt) and his family. The action is good, the scares are present, and overall the movie is focused on the zombies and finding a cure. At times it's a pretty generic story set up, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel and some scenes shine. Expand
  15. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    Simple and typical may be what I may describe this movie. World War Z is good enough not to fall on the classification of lousy or awful. At least it does not drag; the movie is engaging and never ever slows down to cause the slightest bit of boredom. At best, it feels like what I imagine would be a perfectly well-made zombie video game adaptation. I'm sure that the movie has someSimple and typical may be what I may describe this movie. World War Z is good enough not to fall on the classification of lousy or awful. At least it does not drag; the movie is engaging and never ever slows down to cause the slightest bit of boredom. At best, it feels like what I imagine would be a perfectly well-made zombie video game adaptation. I'm sure that the movie has some intellectual or subliminal message hidden in and around the movie, or whatever message the writers want to convey. Whatever it may be, we could not really notice that since the pace of the film is fast and hyperactive. But at least it's never chaotic and messy. Expand
  16. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    several points off for not being the book by the same name. But still A good movie on its own.
    What other studios bid for the rights to the book should be allowed to make that movie.
    The Max Brooks book that restarted the Zombie Craze should be made.
  17. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    I went into this movie expecting to be disappointed, with no expectations or hope. And yes here I am disappointed. This movie is drivel at best. Giant plot holes, cheap scares undeveloped characters and any reason for a $25,000 explosion. It was non-sense. I'm mainly disappointed in the execution compared to the novel this movie is apparently attached to. Threw the entire book into theI went into this movie expecting to be disappointed, with no expectations or hope. And yes here I am disappointed. This movie is drivel at best. Giant plot holes, cheap scares undeveloped characters and any reason for a $25,000 explosion. It was non-sense. I'm mainly disappointed in the execution compared to the novel this movie is apparently attached to. Threw the entire book into the air. It's as though not a single person who worked on the film read even the synopsis of the book. I suppose if I could get past that, I may have been able to see some entertaining value here. However all I could think was that I was watching a hero out to save the world, teleporting through meaningless shallow dialog and action sequences to inevitably give us a safe generic movie that is not worth your time. I'm sorry. Expand
  18. Jun 21, 2013
    6
    Zombies attack on a huge scale but I'm afraid there are no huge scares. 5 minutes into the movie and the fastest zombies ever are bashing there way across a city but immediately the lack of gore and blood is very noticeable. The 12A/PG13 rating really hurts as there is no pay off to seeing zombies killed as you don't get to see it! However the big set piece with zombies climbing a 100 footZombies attack on a huge scale but I'm afraid there are no huge scares. 5 minutes into the movie and the fastest zombies ever are bashing there way across a city but immediately the lack of gore and blood is very noticeable. The 12A/PG13 rating really hurts as there is no pay off to seeing zombies killed as you don't get to see it! However the big set piece with zombies climbing a 100 foot wall in the middle of the movie is stunning and well done. I just hope the Bluray/DVD is uncut and we get to see some zombie heads get squashed properly. Expand
  19. Jun 21, 2013
    4
    So far removed from the original story by Max Brooks that it shouldn't even share the same name, so far from it in fact that i had to try and dissociate it from the book and appreciate it as the movie itself. Standing on its own this movie is a mediocre zombie film with some reasonable acting and effects, but with virtually no story and many stupid and massive plot holes. How could they ofSo far removed from the original story by Max Brooks that it shouldn't even share the same name, so far from it in fact that i had to try and dissociate it from the book and appreciate it as the movie itself. Standing on its own this movie is a mediocre zombie film with some reasonable acting and effects, but with virtually no story and many stupid and massive plot holes. How could they of possibly spent £130 million on this movie? its ridiculous.

    Overall im very disappointed by this film, being looking forwards to it for ages as im a big fan of the book. I would definitely suggest staying away from this film if you are fan of max brooks or just a zombie movie fan in general.
    Expand
  20. Jun 21, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is driven by a poorly defined, convoluted plot, mixed in with some semi cool action scenes and scenery. The zombies are cool for a while but become laughably goofy upon closer examination near the end of the film. I never read the books however I consider myself a zombie movie fanatic and this movie simply cannot be related with given the absolutely rediculous amount of luck brad pitt survives on(plane crash and aimless trek afterwards.... wtf.) Most of the characters that seem important are in the movie for 5 minutes tops, and the ones that are in no way important are there most of the movie. All said, don't go to this movie expecting a scary tale of a family surviving a zombie apocalypse, expect a weird, often humorous tale of a seemingly invincible man running around a zombie filled earth with no real defined goal. Expect a shallow plot and even shallower back stories, giving you no reason to care for any of the people in the story except for one handless girl who has no reason to even be in the film. Wait until it hits dollar theaters and prepare to laugh. Expand
  21. Jun 25, 2013
    4
    Very disappointing. I love zombie movies, I love action movies, and Brad Pitt doesn't usually let me down, so I was surprised at how bored I was during this movie. The script is pretty bad, and there are some really illogical parts that stood out to everyone in my group. Not illogical like "zombies don't exist" but illogical like "if they thought of this, why didn't they think of that."Very disappointing. I love zombie movies, I love action movies, and Brad Pitt doesn't usually let me down, so I was surprised at how bored I was during this movie. The script is pretty bad, and there are some really illogical parts that stood out to everyone in my group. Not illogical like "zombies don't exist" but illogical like "if they thought of this, why didn't they think of that." You will see what I mean, but I would wait for this to show up on cable to find out. Expand
  22. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    World War Z falls into that category of "alright", those interesting, but not particularly memorable films. Having read both WWZ and The Zombie Survival Guide, I had rather high expectations of the movie, and while I will try to put those aside, please be aware that since this was directly based off of the book, I do believe that it should try to stay true to the name.

    Unfortunately,
    World War Z falls into that category of "alright", those interesting, but not particularly memorable films. Having read both WWZ and The Zombie Survival Guide, I had rather high expectations of the movie, and while I will try to put those aside, please be aware that since this was directly based off of the book, I do believe that it should try to stay true to the name.

    Unfortunately, this is the biggest downfall of the movie; it does not stay true to its roots. It is a very fascinating story, but its aspirations to try to be the book I think prevented this movie from doing more than it could have. On one hand, it tried to tell a captivating original story, and on the other, it tried to replicate the book. In the end, its a bit disjointed; it should have either stayed the personal story it was in the beginning, or the epic world traveling it was in the end. I personally think that it should have been one of those "based off of" movies, like Blade-Runner, as opposed to trying to copy the book directly, because this expectation means that it tried to please everyone; a jack of two trades, but a master of neither. Fans of the book will especially not like how physical the zombies are in this film rendition portrayed as the slow, but persistent cannibalistic tortoise of the Tortoise and hare fable in the book, in the movie, they are more superhuman, and this is honestly enough for me to say they should have gone their own direction, rather than taking the title (or stayed with the lore of Brooks' Zombies)

    Now, that out of the way, I can say the special effects were pretty nice. Brad Pitt, I believe did a pretty good job as the lead. While it did not capture the full cultural and political balance of the book, its pretty darn hard to do that in a 2 hour production, and I do have to say that given the problems they had in production, the story felt pretty good, given the limitations they had. That being said, it is not exceptional, but still fairly good, and definitely worth seeing.

    I give it a 6 out of 10, because it is a fairly well written and well presented story about the apocalypse that tried to bite off a bit more flesh than it could chew in some instances I also believe that it would have been better as an alternate rendition rather than a direct one, as this did disappoint me as a fan of the book. However, given the problems with production, and the polish of the film, I have to say that it turned out pretty well, given its limitations.
    Expand
  23. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. first off I wish to say having see this film then going home and playing Left 4 Dead 2 made it more enjoyable. That game is awesome already.

    Yes this is not faithful to the source material. However I'm judging this as a film alone and not comparing it to the source material.

    Overall World War Z is an average movie. It doesn't deserve a 0 and definitely is not a 10 film either. The positive aspects are offset by the negative aspects. I left the cinema neither happy nor sad.

    Pros: good special effects, great scope of destruction, surprisingly good suspense.

    Cons: uninteresting characters, muse's repetitive use of one song to evoke emotion, plot holes, silly implausible ending.

    If you are really interested in seeing this film maybe you might enjoy it more than me. But don't expect too much
    Expand
  24. Jun 30, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'World War Z' is a fast-paced, exciting thriller, which blends the horror, action, and science-fiction genres generally well. Brad Pitt gives a decent performance as Gerry Lane, but the film fails to create a real connection between the viewer and Pitt's family. 'WWZ' ends up being an above average film, which provides a nice new look at an oft-visited idea. Expand
  25. Jun 28, 2013
    4
    This movie is just a mess. It's not... awful. The effects are nice, and some of the action scenes are actually quite well directed. A scene set in Jerusalem where hordes of zombies form a human ladder stands out as particularly memorable. Brad Pitt does a decent, if not particularly memorable job as Jerry. All of the other characters whinge dramatically at the camera in hushed tones aboutThis movie is just a mess. It's not... awful. The effects are nice, and some of the action scenes are actually quite well directed. A scene set in Jerusalem where hordes of zombies form a human ladder stands out as particularly memorable. Brad Pitt does a decent, if not particularly memorable job as Jerry. All of the other characters whinge dramatically at the camera in hushed tones about the horrors they've witnessed in a manner that has become par for the course in zombie fiction, but the problems with this film lie not with the actors, the effects, or the direction. The good things about the film are bogged down by the fact that the plot is absolutely abysmal. Almost every single action that drives the "story" forward is predicated entirely on human stupidity. SPOILER ALERT: The crowning achievement actually comes rather early on when the man who is supposed to be the last, best hope for humanity; the most brilliant scientist on the planet, trips and accidentally shoots himself in the brain. That is absurd. END SPOILERS It's just a bad story poorly told, so much so that, for me, by the end of the movie, it felt as though it were interminable (even though it's only about 100 minutes long). That said, it does have some cool set-piece moments. If you can catch it on TV in a few months, you'll have paid the perfect price for it. Expand
  26. Jun 22, 2013
    5
    So there you have them: Will Smith, trying to save humanity and find a cure to revert the process and make all zombies human again, and Brad Pitt, choosing to burn them alive or dead, since they're zombies and contribute to our extinction.
    Brad, that's not cool, man, just not cool.
  27. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    For all of the buzz about it delivering, it sure lacks delivery. The CGI zombie warfare destroying cities didn't do anything original, and the film became a globetrotting mission of hilariously-overdone stunts that even in Hollywood is a stretch. You've seen this before and you won't remember this 2 weeks after you've seen it. Worth a rental.
  28. Jun 24, 2013
    5
    The movie keeps my interest, however I do not find myself glad for seeing it. Nor do I find myself saying ti is a bad movie. The movie had some parts that were a little cheesy, it was not on the top of my list of zombie films. The movie felt like the focus was more on Brad Pitt being a hero rather than humans trying to stop zombies.
  29. Jun 22, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I never read the book but I was very disappointed by this film. The plot is just terrible. It lacks depth almost entirely. Go to South Korea, flight a few zombies and leave. Go to Israel, get overrun by zombies and leave. Survive a plane crash in England and happen upon a WHO facility and magically solve the mystery. Just ridiculous. You know a zombie movie is bad when people start laughing at the zombies in the theater. Comedy and the world ending don't mix too well. Felt like they could have done so much better but this just fell flat on its face... Expand
  30. Jun 21, 2013
    5
    I really wanted this to be awesome, I mean, who doesn't right? Brad Pitt at the helm of a big budget zombie flick amidst the increasing popularity of the post-apocalyptic phenomenon, what’s not to like? Truth is, the audience just like the countries of the world should have seen the inevitable. Unfortunately the film’s real virus was the poor script that it can’t shake, despite itsI really wanted this to be awesome, I mean, who doesn't right? Brad Pitt at the helm of a big budget zombie flick amidst the increasing popularity of the post-apocalyptic phenomenon, what’s not to like? Truth is, the audience just like the countries of the world should have seen the inevitable. Unfortunately the film’s real virus was the poor script that it can’t shake, despite its blockbuster CGI immune system. It saving grace, comes when you pair it against what where used to, gory, suspense but reasonably ‘low scale’, i.e. we never really get to see the initial panic. Movies like 28 days later transport us to the barren remains of the earth. World War Z doesn't stop at the before and after shots, we get everything in-between. That’s what I liked, and what saved it at times when it lagged behind expectation. This movie had the same feel as ‘The Day After Tomorrow’; essentially the audience gets sold a ‘one size fits all’ zombie movie, hoping for a ‘Goldilocks’ like effect. To its detriment, it lacked the pizazz it was well and truly capable of. Expand
  31. BKM
    Nov 8, 2013
    5
    As zombie flicks go, World War Z is a surprisingly muted affair. There's never a true sense of fear or mass hysteria and Brad Pitt seems to be on some sort of sedative throughout the film. The suspense finally starts to kick in during the final act, but even that isn't enough to make Marc Forster's popcorn flick more than an afterthought once the credits roll.
  32. Jun 29, 2013
    6
    World War Z is a new zombie film based on the event novel by Max Brooks. The movie is seems to be okay with audiences and critics gave a positive review. I have mix feelings about the new movie because the film is been delayed after they have huge problems to make a big zombie film for redoing the script, take time with the story, and making a realistic event just like the novel. The newWorld War Z is a new zombie film based on the event novel by Max Brooks. The movie is seems to be okay with audiences and critics gave a positive review. I have mix feelings about the new movie because the film is been delayed after they have huge problems to make a big zombie film for redoing the script, take time with the story, and making a realistic event just like the novel. The new story takes place in the United States where UN investigator, Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt) and his family are having a good time in a road, unfortunately the crisis of mad zombies taking over the world and of course the entire nation was corrupted by fast zombie diseases. Lane and his family escape from the apocalyptic world, until the crew wants Lane to find someone who has a cure to make the zombies go down or save the entire people in each country. The zombies are fast and blood eating monsters and they capture the people in the fast CG effect including one scene where zombies are climbing the top of the hill like a large ant hill. The scenes are pretty scary to look at and zombies scare away from the screen. The characters are alright, but not closely to the book, but they stay focus on the protagonist to fight over zombies. World War Z is an okay film, but the film is pretty lacking like how the zombies climb on the wall, how does the zombie affect the entire world, or does the book explains about real events of tragedy or survivors. The film is rated PG-13, but it goes down of making this movie pretty decent and we can't sure if the movie is safe for teens and we might quite to make this movie for an adults like putting into the R rated. World War Z is fine and little entertaining, but nothing special. Thumb Down. Expand
  33. Jun 30, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Might as well been called "I am legend meets 28 days later". Brainless action flick that employs jump scares to startle the audience. Has a barely existent plot and logic, and barely has anything to do with either the novelization of World War Z or The Zombie Survival Guide. Is functionally inept when it comes to camera work (shaky cam all over the place), to the point where you can't tell what the hell is going on. Utilizes stock footage in the beginning and then CGI where there doesn't need to be CGI. Did you really have to use CGI actors in the goddamn Harrier scenes? Things happen because the script demands they happen, the dialogue is goofy and sometimes hard to understand, characterization is non-existent, and the way the zombies work in this movie is frankly stupid. No tactics are used by the military to combat the zombies (something that was prevalent in the novelization) and people act functionally retarded in survival situations. The logic behind the infection is parasitic in nature, despite the nature of the infection being viral. No hive intelligence can be born out of a viral infection, no matter how hard the writers to try to convince us or how hard they crap all over the source material. Apparently, all it takes is a serious infection via a deadly but treatable disease to become "invisible" to the zombies... because they don't want to infect hosts who are seriously sick. Yes really. First off, they say a virus wouldn't kill a zombie. Okay... so why would a zombie care if the victim is infected with H1N1? Why would it care? Flesh is flesh. There supposed to be ZOMBIES, NOT rabid humans. 28 days later already did something similar to that guys.

    If you want brainless action and can bear with the constant shaky cam and inability to tell what the hell is going on as a result, then go see this movie. If you don't mind that most of the budget was likely spent on Brad Pitt and the CGI, and want to see a poorly executed film, go see this movie. If you want a competently made movie, give this stinker a pass. 4/10: what the hell was Max Brooks thinking when he okayed this?
    Expand
  34. Jul 8, 2013
    4
    There were so many eye rolling moments that the movie became ridiculous. In the theater I was in people were laughing at the teeth chattering zombies. This was not a scary film at all, but how can you possibly be scared when the camera is moving so erratically that you can't see anything that is happening? The trendy "constantly moving camera" that is so in favor with directors theseThere were so many eye rolling moments that the movie became ridiculous. In the theater I was in people were laughing at the teeth chattering zombies. This was not a scary film at all, but how can you possibly be scared when the camera is moving so erratically that you can't see anything that is happening? The trendy "constantly moving camera" that is so in favor with directors these days must end! I shouldn't have to take a motion sick pill to watch a movie, and it is simply a trick that Hollywood uses so they don't have to properly choreograph scenes. The Brad Pitt character is obviously a super genius. He figures out how to stop the zombies with only one or two VERY minor clues. This is not the worst film I've seen this year, but I was sorry I wasted my money on it. Expand
  35. Jul 16, 2013
    6
    Having been de-sensitised after watching "The Walking Dead" series I guess I wasn't so shocked to see more zombies but it was still pretty nail biting stuff. Where the movie falls down in a big way is just the silliness of the plot, and the acting was not up to scratch either.
  36. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    The biggest problem I came across with this movie is the lack of action. Every single scene is shown in the trailer... and this leaves you with a lot of filler. Crucial plot points are given away in the trailer, too.

    Also, there is an over-abundance of "boo" scenes... which belong in a cheap horror film. Walking down a hallway, real quiet.... then "BOO" AHHHHHH. However, the story
    The biggest problem I came across with this movie is the lack of action. Every single scene is shown in the trailer... and this leaves you with a lot of filler. Crucial plot points are given away in the trailer, too.

    Also, there is an over-abundance of "boo" scenes... which belong in a cheap horror film. Walking down a hallway, real quiet.... then "BOO" AHHHHHH.

    However, the story itself is pretty good. The ending is lac,king, but it moves along quite nicely.
    Expand
  37. Jul 6, 2013
    4
    Ok so this was mildly entertaining.
    The first act was by far the best section of the movie...very tense, fast paced action and great presentation.
    From this point on the movie went downhill on a grand scale. I mean, the Israel sequence was bordering on insanity...what the hell was going on there? It seemed as soon as Pitt showed up all hell broke loose wherever he went. Better for him to
    Ok so this was mildly entertaining.
    The first act was by far the best section of the movie...very tense, fast paced action and great presentation.
    From this point on the movie went downhill on a grand scale. I mean, the Israel sequence was bordering on insanity...what the hell was going on there? It seemed as soon as Pitt showed up all hell broke loose wherever he went. Better for him to have just stayed at home.
    The 3rd act just drove home how poor this film was and perhaps how great it could have been.
    The lab sequence relegated this in to Hollywood tosh with the generic hero saves the day nonsense. Tired formula...
    If the film had followed the book more closely (Yonkers could have been epic) and not have been a vehicle for brad pitt to once again show us how he cant act, we would have ended up with a film that wasn't just a bunch of chase sequences mashed together with a ridiculous plot line.
    Expand
  38. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    Disappointing, frustrating, when you expect the movie to begin, it ends in a boring and predictable way. Doesn't worth the money of the ticket. Don't waste your time, and money, watching this bad written mess.
  39. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    I honestly think if the director would've separated the movie on 2 or 3 different parts it would've been so much better. On the other hand what you get is 2 hours of complete non sense and rush. If Mark Forster tried to show the illustration of horror and chaos in the begging then he did on 8/10, however the rest of the story was represented so poorly and with no logical conclusion. EndingI honestly think if the director would've separated the movie on 2 or 3 different parts it would've been so much better. On the other hand what you get is 2 hours of complete non sense and rush. If Mark Forster tried to show the illustration of horror and chaos in the begging then he did on 8/10, however the rest of the story was represented so poorly and with no logical conclusion. Ending also didn't give the answers.
    ..I would've given it 7 or 8 out of 10 if the main role would character would be played by somewhere else BUT Brad Pitt. No offence to Brad, but his overacting just pissed me off. I did like a bit of humor on back ground...but apart from that....the movie was meh...I wouldn't recommend to waste our money on this movie, but if you REALLY want to watch movie about zombies on a background
    then go ahead.
    Expand
  40. Jun 26, 2013
    5
    Lte me start with my big problem no blood no cursing no gore and this movie needed it it felt like they censored and im watching it in Malaysia. And generic story as expected. i like the zombies movement and graphics do not watch it in 3D took away from experience they ahd almost nothing not a even one great 3D shoot.
  41. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    Are you looking for a thrilling zombie film with a masterfully crafted plot and interesting characters? Well, keep looking. The experience you get from this film is on par with that of the latest resident evil movies. The spoon-fed story is predictable and full of lame excuses for light-'em-up zombie action sequences, which are only mildly entertaining. A more suitable title for this filmAre you looking for a thrilling zombie film with a masterfully crafted plot and interesting characters? Well, keep looking. The experience you get from this film is on par with that of the latest resident evil movies. The spoon-fed story is predictable and full of lame excuses for light-'em-up zombie action sequences, which are only mildly entertaining. A more suitable title for this film could have been "Generic Zombie Movie Blockbuster #3462." Expand
  42. Jul 4, 2013
    6
    This movie was not surprising, and neither too creative nor groundbreaking. You shouldn't be shocked by this movie, but you’re the zombie lover then you should leave content. Brad Pitt was not brilliant with the role he was given but his attempt was decent. World War Z strays away from the novel it once became and left as a just another movie.
  43. Jun 26, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. World War Z is a slow-paced typical zombie apocalypse story. Gerry Lane, his wife, and their two children are looking forward to a normal day of family fun when everything goes wrong. It all starts with simple chaos, then the occasional explosion. When they step out of the car to see what is happening, they discover something beyond this world. Zombies. The Lanes run to seek refuge, and receive a call from Gerry's old partner in the UN. Hours later, they wait atop a building for the helicopter that has been dispatched to come and rescue them, and barely make it out alive. While at the UN headquarters, Gerry learns that most countries have gone dark, and most of the world's population has been zombified. Can Gerry and his fellow UN workers find a cure to this "disease", or is it already too late? SPOILER WARNING. Well, it is too late. Once you have been bitten, unless you amputate the body part you become a zombie. But what Gerry does discover is that zombies do not attack those who are already sick. The movie comes to a close with an announcement on the radio saying that special injections are being delivered to every part of the country that will prevent being bitten. SPOILER WARNING END.

    It was very slow paced and trite. Trite. It seemed inexplicably obvious at times. There'd be a long pause with no music or talking and be followed by, of course, a zombie attack. I liked how short the character development was at the beginning, it gave us time to really grow with the character and fear alongside them. I could really relate to the kids, Constance and Rachel, the most since they are the closest to my age. There were a couple of other parts that got a bit long with the buildup of suspense, but it was otherwise action-packed the whole time. I don't recommend you seeing World War Z; I felt as if it was a waste of my time, as good as it was. 53%.
    Expand
  44. Jul 2, 2013
    5
    Eh.... Don't understand why they advertise David Morse, he is just a cameo. Brad Pitt is the only star in this movie and it shows. He even seems to be smirking at some of the inaccuracies from time to time. It was enjoyable but not good or quality.
  45. Jul 5, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. World War Z does something that no other movie I've ever seen has managed to do it completely embodies the concept of an "alright" film. In terms of quality, there are no real ups or downs, no real thrills or low points it's just alright, and it's going to stay in my memory purely on the basis that it is phenomenally middle-of-the-road.

    Brad Pitt saving the world is not something new to films, and it's not exactly something to get excited about either, but going into the film I had high expectations for a lot of zombie action. The film is hit hard by the PG-13 rating, as there's basically no gore whatsoever, but the hordes of zombies were pretty impressive at times. The main problems with the film lie in looking back at it and realising just what Brad Pitt's character has managed to go through and survive, with basically no goal in mind for most of the movie. He flies all over the world, survives a plane crash, then aimlessly wanders through Wales for a bit, with very little narrative direction.

    The concept of the zombies was handled interestingly at least, with the idea of the zombie plague avoiding unhealthy hosts to strengthen itself being its one weakness. It's just a shame that there wasn't any proper zombie gore, or at least some frights and jumps at some points World War Z is, and will forever be, an absolutely alright film the epitome of 5/10s.
    Expand
  46. Jul 6, 2013
    4
    My very first review. This is not a horror movie no blood no gore, it has tons of cheesey lines
    This is very disappointing for a zombie genre. Myself i have never read the book but what i have heard it's not the same as the book. You also get to barely know the characters there just some family. The story is very unintresing. Some effects can be good at times but that's all to it.
  47. Nov 6, 2013
    4
    While I am a fan of both Brad Pitt and zombies, I was pretty disappointed. It had action and the CGI was pretty good, but apart from that, everything else was just another interpretation of an overused theme: zombie survival/a zombie apocalypse. The movie had a lot of plot holes; felt rushed; and was somewhat predictable. If you're a zombie gore fan than you'll be disappointed since theWhile I am a fan of both Brad Pitt and zombies, I was pretty disappointed. It had action and the CGI was pretty good, but apart from that, everything else was just another interpretation of an overused theme: zombie survival/a zombie apocalypse. The movie had a lot of plot holes; felt rushed; and was somewhat predictable. If you're a zombie gore fan than you'll be disappointed since the violence was toned down. (Though I appreciated the lack of bloody gore, since I'm honestly not a huge fan of it.) If you're also a fan of the book, please note: The movies nothing like the book. The only things the book and movie have in common are the title. Nothing else. It's like I Am Legend, just with more people and zombies. I did not like the script, and I think there should've been more depth to the story and characters. The movie was kinda anticlimactic. You should watch The Walking Dead instead.

    If you liked this review, read my other work by clicking on my name and mark this as helpful. I review movies, TV shows, and videogames.
    Expand
  48. Sep 7, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. World War Z, good title right? Well, after seeing it, I have to say that that was one of the best parts. I walked into World War Z hoping for big things. The movie Starred Brad Pitt, Mereille Enos, Matthew Fox, and many other big actors which made me pumped for the film.

    When the film starts, Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt) is watching TV at breakfast hearing about Taiwan treating an outbreak of rabies and we as an audience are not supposed to think too much about this but given the name, it was blatantly obvious that this had to do with the zombie outbreak. Gerry used to work for the United Nations as a troubleshooter who flies into conflicts but later quit. We see him driving his wife Karin (Mereille Enos) to work and his kids to school stuck in regular city traffic, when a cop on a motorcycle clips the cars side view mirror off. More cops are telling them to stay in their cars when the cop gets run over by a big truck that is plowing cars over and Brad follows the truck to get out of traffic.

    The movie displays zombies, hurling themselves through windows and at cars trying to infect others. When a train is counting down with time to board, we learn that it only takes twelve seconds for a human to turn into a zombie. The family hijacks an RV and gets out of the area. They get to an apartment building and stay with a family until a helicopter from Gerry's previous job comes to pick them up.

    They are taken to a shelter and are only allowed to stay if Brad can go to Jerusalem to observe the situation. Events then occur such as Gerry in a plane crash and waking up in a medical facility. Without revealing the ending, I can say that I was not surprised at all and actually got friends upset with me because I would predict correctly everything that would happen in the movie out loud, before it did.

    Being thirteen, the movie had a basic concept and was not very surprising at all. Brad did not act at his full potential and I think that impacted the movies quality dramatically. Would I go expecting an enjoying movie? No. I would see this film only if you were dying to see a movie and this is what happened to be playing. I think that World War Z had a lot of potential, but lacked in the long run.
    Expand
  49. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    I can only retread what most reviews have already said fans of the book will be disappointed, fans of zombie movies will be disappointed. That's not to say this movie is absolutely terrible, it just refuses to enjoy all the things that would make it an amazing zombie movie. They were too scared to even show the lopping off of a hand; any fans of the Walking Dead TV show are going toI can only retread what most reviews have already said fans of the book will be disappointed, fans of zombie movies will be disappointed. That's not to say this movie is absolutely terrible, it just refuses to enjoy all the things that would make it an amazing zombie movie. They were too scared to even show the lopping off of a hand; any fans of the Walking Dead TV show are going to find this movie incredibly pedestrian in comparison. There is no social commentary here. It never bothers to explore how dangerous other people can be when the world falls apart. In fact it hardly even establishes that the infected are, in fact, undead. It is mentioned in passing only, but you won't see anybody walking around with missing limbs or jaws. They don't look dead to me, they just look kind of unwell.

    So basically when it comes to the zombie aspect it is completely JOYLESS. If you have watched the trailer you have seen most of the impressive scenes (which sadly, have very noticeable CG in them!). What we're left with here is a film that is surpassed by other zombie films and other plague films in most ways. You will probably leave the theatre hungry to watch one of your old favorites. It's not a movie about horror, or terror. Only suspense. I think that my expectations of a zombie movie are just very different from what they tried to do here.
    Expand
  50. May 17, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know where to start ... This movie is a trainwreck. I'll just summarize what bothered me about it:

    Storyline: Absolute nonsense: Tries to be an action movie but fails to provide us with a proper action hero.
    Does not at all go deeper into the backstory yet asks us that we believe everything on the screen.

    Acting: Atrocious: Cliche family, annoying Hollywood kids. Brad Pitt plays a rather conflicted character (not intentionally) and most of the supporting characters are killed off without you ever getting to know 'm just so Brad Pitt can be the UN-equivalent of a ninja.

    SFX: Zombies are dull, there is almost no blood in this movie. That would be fine if the zombies and scenes were actually "scary" but they're not, they behave like angry football fans.

    From surviving the plane crash to surviving an amputation to watching Israel being overrun by zombies because Arabs sing off-key, this movie just takes the cake. Should have been made a comedy.
    Expand
  51. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    This movie has a lot of entertainment appeal--Brad Pitt is always impressively handsome, having grown out the crew cut that he wore for years when he was married to Jennifer Aniston. Now he's gone to the other extreme, where his blonde locks hang down to his shoulders, and he is even a model for Chanel No. 5. From the buzz cut that detracted from his looks to the long locks that make himThis movie has a lot of entertainment appeal--Brad Pitt is always impressively handsome, having grown out the crew cut that he wore for years when he was married to Jennifer Aniston. Now he's gone to the other extreme, where his blonde locks hang down to his shoulders, and he is even a model for Chanel No. 5. From the buzz cut that detracted from his looks to the long locks that make him look like a romantic Lancelot, Pitt has found a middle-aged role for himself as husband (practically) to Angelina Jolie and father of their six children.

    This new persona shines through in World War Z, a movie that holds your interest in spite of the formulaic presentation. There is a contagion that is spreading quickly, and at first it appears to be a typical superbug, but this one is different. It is in fact a zombie contagion, and anyone who gets bitten is quickly infected and turns into a zombie within twelve seconds. This is a fairly typical fear-based disaster movie, but Pitt's character Gerry Lane is so strong, protective, and good-looking that fans will be mesmerized just because they love Brad Pitt.

    The suspense is masterful, even though the gorier aspects of the genre have been thankfully toned down. The zombies are ugly and scary, but they never mutilate or devour, although they act as though they are about to. They are simply very bad-tempered, they destroy property, and they bite people. With the virus spreading like wildfire, there is a real chance that the entire human race is doomed to this fate. There is no sex in this film, for Gerry is deeply in love with his wife Karin, played by Mireille Enos, who looks like a red-headed Jolie, and who has to separate from Gerry early in the film. (They only share scenes at the beginning and very end of the film.) As in real life, Pitt's character is a devoted husband and father. No one can seduce him, not even when he becomes attached to a female soldier named Segen, who serves in the Israeli Defense Forces (IDF) and who for some strange reason is sporting a shaven head. (Female IDF soldiers, unlike their male counterparts, are not required to cut their hair for military service, so this unusual attribute seems to announce up front that Segen is not a love interest.) The movie gets extra points for avoiding foul language. I counted only two instances of “Godd*mn,” and then only when Gerry was facing almost insurmountable obstacles, and one instance of the English equivalent of the French expletive, merde. The f-bomb is never dropped. For Hollywood, this alone is an almost impossible feat. Bravo.

    Pitt's Gerry may be a family man, but he's no namby-pamby. A former U.N. Operative, he is about to save the world single-handedly, using his wits and his formidable powers of observation. Gerry is a hero, and a faithful one at that, for the affection he develops for Segen is such that he should have had an affair with her, even with her buzz cut, but he doesn't. To make that even clearer, at one point he has to chop off her bitten hand to save her from the virus. If they were going to have an affair, that pretty much finished it off.

    There is a lot of talk about how the ending was changed. The original synopsis is on the Internet, and far from having a different ending, the original screenplay was pretty much thrown out. This version is a completely different film starting from the escape from Jerusalem. In this version, after escaping from Jerusalem, Gerry and Segen survive an unsurvivable plane crash, and then they conveniently find themselves walking distance from the W.H.O. lab that they need to visit to find a cure for the virus. The cure is based on a clever theory devised by Gerry after he has made shrewd observations about zombie behavior. The ending is somewhat reminiscent of the vampire film, Daybreakers, starring Ethan Hawke, a film where the quest to save humanity from being completely converted to vampirism was less formulaic and more inventive than what we have here in World War Z.
    Expand
  52. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    Es una lastima como gran fan de los zombies le tenia esperanza a esta pelicula, pero la verdad les recomiendo no ir a verla, algo le falto y esta aburrida..pretty boring..
  53. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    Pitt and Enos are very satisfying leads, The acting overall is rather solid and I have no complaints. While the film may look impressive, It's really just...nothing. The plot is ok but I'd have liked to see more depth to it, A little more story you know instead of just the straight forward story that it is. The biggest problem with World War Z is that it tries so hard not to be anotherPitt and Enos are very satisfying leads, The acting overall is rather solid and I have no complaints. While the film may look impressive, It's really just...nothing. The plot is ok but I'd have liked to see more depth to it, A little more story you know instead of just the straight forward story that it is. The biggest problem with World War Z is that it tries so hard not to be another zombie movie but it ends up being just that. There is nothing that really separates it from any other zombie film I have seen and that was the real killer in my opinion. Expand
  54. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    Another zombie movie is more than I can handle, but World War Z manages to bring a darker tone and intensity than the usual funny gore fest. However, there is too much boring dialogue and the characters are humorless and uninteresting.
  55. Mar 8, 2014
    6
    It has its moments, but they're not enough. The script falls short in places, and it needs more emotion. The film does offer us effective suspense and tension in several scenes, and it will be a good film for zombie fans.
  56. Sep 22, 2013
    6
    Not really a fan of the genre so my rating is not so high. However if you like this sort of thing, you'd probably like this movie. Good action but missing the blood and gore which seems to define the genre. Although, beware the plot is slow to develop and painfully obvious to endure at times. This is not Pitt's strongest performance either in my opinion.
  57. Sep 18, 2013
    6
    Watchable zombie blockbuster with decent special effects, some effectively tense moments, and a solid central performance from Brad Pitt. However, it's a letdown with a strange mixture of apocalyptic/zombie material, an episodic storyline in constant motion (sometimes just to keep moving), and an emotionally blank script tagged with a PG-13 rating for the masses. The movie frequentlyWatchable zombie blockbuster with decent special effects, some effectively tense moments, and a solid central performance from Brad Pitt. However, it's a letdown with a strange mixture of apocalyptic/zombie material, an episodic storyline in constant motion (sometimes just to keep moving), and an emotionally blank script tagged with a PG-13 rating for the masses. The movie frequently substitutes impressive CGI shots of zombie swarms for storytelling. The rushed ending feels cheap, and fans of Brooks' source material are going to wonder what happened. Too often it feels like empty chaos in an over elaborate disaster movie. Expand
  58. Jul 16, 2013
    6
    It's not bad for a zombie movie that has, reportedly, had a troubled production. Marc Forster directs with confidence and energy managing a large cast and the CGI to good effect. Ariel shots of crippled or panic stricken cities are impressively delineated and the mayhem is excitingly edited to within an inch of it's celluloid life, deploying the odd shock tactic to jumpy effect. The filmIt's not bad for a zombie movie that has, reportedly, had a troubled production. Marc Forster directs with confidence and energy managing a large cast and the CGI to good effect. Ariel shots of crippled or panic stricken cities are impressively delineated and the mayhem is excitingly edited to within an inch of it's celluloid life, deploying the odd shock tactic to jumpy effect. The film has holes and implausibilities in abundance, but it is never less than entertaining. Two set pieces stand out. One aboard a plane and another, at the film's climax, in a lab. Both are riveting. Sound Design is excellent and the music unnervingly adds tension to the proceedings. In summation it is a lot better than anticipated. Expand
  59. Nov 26, 2013
    6
    A decent enough movie that seems to be the only good "fast-zombie" movie I have seen. But that is all that this is: A generic zombie movie, but updated to be a bit more modern than traditional.

    The pacing is just far too fast, and I get the feeling this movie would have worked better as a TV series (oh wait it does, Walking Dead anyone.) While I get the rushed narrative is intentionally
    A decent enough movie that seems to be the only good "fast-zombie" movie I have seen. But that is all that this is: A generic zombie movie, but updated to be a bit more modern than traditional.

    The pacing is just far too fast, and I get the feeling this movie would have worked better as a TV series (oh wait it does, Walking Dead anyone.) While I get the rushed narrative is intentionally put there to emphasize the atmosphere of the movie and also make us feel as rushed as the characters. But I went into this wanting to watch a movie, not partake in it.

    Overall:
    World War Z is entertaining and can be very enjoyable if you want action and adrenaline in almost every scene. But, I prefer to see a movie with a bit more depth, and for me that is what this movie lacks. For me, I just say *meh* when I'm asked what I thought of it.

    Fun, but instantly forgettable.
    Expand
  60. Jan 3, 2014
    6
    Brad Pitt and his long, luscious locks star as the main character Gerry Lane in this supposedly political thriller. Director Marc Forster unsuccessfully tries to emulate the mix of exciting and political effects which others (George A Romero, Danny Boyle) have done so well. The action scenes are clear and don't overuse shaky cam, even though there is a lot of it. While the acting is quiteBrad Pitt and his long, luscious locks star as the main character Gerry Lane in this supposedly political thriller. Director Marc Forster unsuccessfully tries to emulate the mix of exciting and political effects which others (George A Romero, Danny Boyle) have done so well. The action scenes are clear and don't overuse shaky cam, even though there is a lot of it. While the acting is quite good and benefits from Tyler Durden himself Brad Pitt (and the new Doctor Who Peter Capaldi), the story is eerily familiar cough cough 28 Days Later cough cough and the resolution is just ****
    When the most exciting thing about a movie is Brad Pitt's new haircut, you have to accept that it's failed at being enjoyable. World War Z is nothing special, pretty much everything about it is just satisfactory.
    Expand
  61. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing like the book which was excellent.
    It should have focused more on the terror of the individual in a typical housing estate, rather than onboard a totally safe Aircraft Carrier. The film's action seemed to be over 48 hours from infection to solution, as for the plane crash in Wales don't get me started. When are film makers going to have a central character that has human weaknesses and flaws Brad Pitt is superhuman in the film, surviving a farcical plane crash and a 10 inch piece of shrapnel through his vital organs.
    Expand
  62. Dec 28, 2014
    4
    blatant cash in using a known zombie novel and brad f*cking pitt! theater was full of phaggots and women wearing mini skirts! the movie is basically BP going to different places watching people getting carved up because of stupidity. No smarts or intelligence to this movie as it relies on BP's star power and charisma over mindless hordes of women and phaggots who will watch this movie.
  63. Jul 20, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was one of the movies I was really excited for, I was looking forward to seeing a zombie movie of this scale be on screen for the first time. When I finally got a ticket and found my seat, I was a little disappointed. I couldn't think of anything this movie could do wrong, but it's amazing how amazingly unremarkable this is. World war Z fails to leave any lasting expressions; at least with the other action movies I saw (Man of steel and Pacific Rim) they had something that made me remember it, but here I can't remember anything spectacular other than the effect of the zombies. Speaking of which, the idea of zombies doing some of the acts they do in this film is pretty cool to look at, but that can be said about a lot of zombie movies. This does however have a good lead, Brad Pitt is pretty good in the position of a man with a family going into these hordes of zombies to find a solution. What he finds is actually the only thing that I remember that's interesting; conceptually, that by being infected already with a disease can prevent the zombies from seeing you. That said, it in my opinion ruins any ideas for a sequel; which is the most infuriating part in this film, because there's nothing to worry about. I haven't talked much about the novel of the same name because I did not read it, and I really should because my friends highly advise it. I best wrap this up, overall this is just a fun zombie thrill ride; I really wanted some more political talk and more substance, but is just so dependent on it's lead who doesn't carry the whole film when I don't care about anything else. Expand
  64. Jul 22, 2013
    5
    RECENSIONE ITALIANA

    Allora.. ho aspettato un attimo prima di recensire World War Z perchè avevo bisogno di metabolizzarlo e "pensarlo".. Se avete letto il libro, il film tratto da circa 5 o 6 pagine di esso quindi non aspettatevi una trasposizione fedele ma piuttosto una reinterpretazione. Recensendolo come film di per sè non stato un granchè.. effetti speciali di alto livello
    RECENSIONE ITALIANA

    Allora.. ho aspettato un attimo prima di recensire World War Z perchè avevo bisogno di metabolizzarlo e "pensarlo"..

    Se avete letto il libro, il film tratto da circa 5 o 6 pagine di esso quindi non aspettatevi una trasposizione fedele ma piuttosto una reinterpretazione.

    Recensendolo come film di per sè non stato un granchè.. effetti speciali di alto livello in quelle 4 o 5 scene in cui davvero fanno effetto ma per il resto stato tutto troppo "americanizzato". Il protagonista (Gerry) sembra Rambo con un pizzico di Die Hard (ATTENZIONE SPOILER) taglia con un colpo la mano ad un soldato usando un coltello, lancia granate dentro aerei in volo, si inietta roba che non conosce e ne esce sempre vivo e illeso..

    Il punto del libro non era quello di mettere un super agente alla resident evil in cima alla scala evolutiva ma piuttosto, analizzare e far comprendere una società (o più società) che si adatta, si evolve, marcisce e si elimina da sola al di là della situazione Zombie.

    Leggendo il libro gli Zombie danno l interesse nel leggere oltre ma sono le piccole grandi frasi pronunciate dagli intervistati che sono davvero interessanti. Come ad esempio lo scempio dell industria farmaceutica e i suoi giri di miliardi intorno alla nostra salute etc.

    Il film di per sè carino ma prendetelo tranquillamente come fosse un Resident Evil un pò meno "tamarro". Secondo me stata sbagliata la scelta di "eroicizzare" ad ogni costo un protagonista oltre alla frasona finale che credo di aver sentito anche nel telefilm dei Power Rangers.

    Peccato perchè potevano davvero creare un film che mostrasse la REALE reazione umana di fronte a una situazione IRREALE e non per forza l ennesimo super figo che arriva sia fisicamente sia mentalmente oltre svariati miliardi di persone che vivono la stessa esperienza.. bhà.. un filmetto da pizza e birra niente di più..
    Expand
  65. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    Run-of-the-mill post apocalyptic zombie plague movie which drags the viewer along from point a to point b with a little pinch of action in between. The only good point is the vfx which uses particle effects to animate a horde of zombies. World war zzzzzzzz
  66. Oct 9, 2013
    6
    World War Z is not a movie that you should take too seriously. Being a fun movie, there is nonetheless some good acting and excellent visuals to be found.
  67. Jul 4, 2013
    6
    It had a mediocre plot, but when the zombies show up is my favorite part overall decent movie but don't need to rush to the theater to watch it just watch a better zombie movie instead ha
  68. Jul 4, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, World War Z, first and foremost, is not really a zombie film. Its a horde/plague movie. It contains no real one on one action between zombies and humans. Simply massive hordes of zombies, that cant really be fought. The film was predictable, but the story itself was different than other zombie stories. The way they get infected, they attack, spread, and fight is much different than any other story I've read or watched. The one great thing about this movie, is the fresh style it brings to zombie films. It strays away from the normal, small hordes, occasional big hordes type world. Because the story was predictable, i didn't care too much what happened in the end, which obviously will bring the Angel Beats score down. The story didn't leave you feeling empty, as Angel Beats did, so very well. Even though billions of people died, all across the globe, the ending didn't make me feel empty inside. Again, as Angel Beats did. It would have been so much better, if they made a larger impact on you. I felt they didn't push the epidemic, mass death side of the story too much. As they only focused on the cure, even though the scene in Jerusalem put the world into perspective, the Angel Beats rating, was still not very high. If you are thinking of watching this film, just know, it wont leave you as satisfied as Angel Beats. So overall, only 6 Angel Beats, out of 10. A sad score, for such a hyped film. Expand
  69. Jul 9, 2013
    6
    Storyline was not strong, lazy writing doesn't compensate for action adventure compositions. We need writers to be original,patience and open minded to the craft of composing an action adventure composition. We as film composer need to help the writers to be less predicable to lead actors.
  70. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    A structural mess with a disappointing end, this gore free Zombie "epic" suffers from the same kind of commercials direction that Marc Forster inflicted upon "Quantum of Solace". The film also contains an extended love letter to Israel that many have found offensive. This all said, it was better than expected. The opening forty minutes is ok, but it becomes an example of ever decreasingA structural mess with a disappointing end, this gore free Zombie "epic" suffers from the same kind of commercials direction that Marc Forster inflicted upon "Quantum of Solace". The film also contains an extended love letter to Israel that many have found offensive. This all said, it was better than expected. The opening forty minutes is ok, but it becomes an example of ever decreasing returns as the film goes on. Too much budget and not enough focus. The actress playing Pitt's wife should be ashamed that she accepted such a feeble and demeaning role. A sequel is highly unlikely. Expand
  71. Jul 20, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After taking time and reflecting on this Film I still cant give this Movie any higher than a 4

    Not having read the book and just watching this Film on a whim the only takeaways I got from this movie were;

    Pandering to a larger movie audience by dropping the Rating from R to PG 13 kills the fact that this is a "zombie" film, 13 does not a better movie experience make.

    Having our Lord and Savior Brad Pitt go all across the globe to search for a cure is mind numbing, the perfect background for a character, the perfect training from picking up details such as timing infection time during a huge panic to being able to sever a hand and dress the wounds keeping infection at bay, and finally single-handedly saving the world from complete destruction.

    Lets not forget this is the perfect movie for him because lets face it there are no other characters here to get in the way of what is Brad Pitt's radiant aura. (lets not mention his forgettable kids one with asthma that plays a minor inconvenience role and the other with a bear that allows Brad to count time, Paco the Olympian outrunning his zombified parents, his complacent lamb of a wife, and colonel Mutumbo who's 32 million dollars are yours if you can cash his check in your bank account)

    Finally when you are in a zombacalypse and you just found the cure to save the world have a moment to yourself and grab a nice refreshing pepsi because we all need a little product placement in our lives.
    Expand
  72. LTR
    Sep 24, 2013
    5
    This is a decent zombie movie.It might be me but I thought this was more of a comedy than it is serious.The story is okay,the characters are not that good and the action is decent.
  73. May 25, 2014
    6
    World War Z is a entertaining movie but the fact that is shares the same name as the best-seller book is an insult. This film has nothing to do with the book and it should have never been called World War Z to begin with. I was expecting so much from this movie since it was going to be a Blockbuster zombie film staring Brad Pitt so what was not to like. With all the production problemsWorld War Z is a entertaining movie but the fact that is shares the same name as the best-seller book is an insult. This film has nothing to do with the book and it should have never been called World War Z to begin with. I was expecting so much from this movie since it was going to be a Blockbuster zombie film staring Brad Pitt so what was not to like. With all the production problems this film had id have to say i was actually pretty surprised by how much it didnt suck. Sure i would have loved a different director i just dont think Marc Forster can do action movies i think we all remember how bad Quantum of Solace was. Another thing is the fact that its a PG-13 movie makes it a hard sell there was barely any gore in the movie and thats what zombie movies thrive on even the uncut version they released was weak. Watching the trailer though i thought the CGI was going to be crap esspecially the Israel part but i was wrong and it ended up looking pretty decent. The editing was a mess and it felt like we would go to one place kill some zombies then go to another place and do the same thing it was pointlesss. The ending was crap though i see that they opened it up for a sequel but id rather hope this film doesnt get one.

    Overall i give it a 6.5
    Expand
  74. Oct 4, 2013
    5
    Not a fan of zombie movies but I asked if Mr. Pitt had the main character look, but I was disappointed, no more than an average movie, even better and more exciting I've seen in this genre.
  75. Sep 17, 2013
    6
    While it is true that World War Z is based upon a book, it's not helpful to look at it that way. Very few movies, at least that I can think of, do books justice. So, watch this movie with the idea that it's going to be NOTHING like the books.

    Now that we have that squared away, this movie is enjoyable for what it is. It's not outstanding, but nor is it utter filth. It's very much just a
    While it is true that World War Z is based upon a book, it's not helpful to look at it that way. Very few movies, at least that I can think of, do books justice. So, watch this movie with the idea that it's going to be NOTHING like the books.

    Now that we have that squared away, this movie is enjoyable for what it is. It's not outstanding, but nor is it utter filth. It's very much just a really basic action-horror. The Visual FX were fairly well done, and the behavior of the Zombies are fantastic, especially with the way they attack. Jumping head first, putting their weapon (Their teeth) first.

    It's a decent movie for what it is. Comparing it to the book will get you nowhere.

    PS: Matthew Fox from Lost is in here as an unnamed Paratrooper. What happened to his career?
    Expand
  76. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Well. It's a good movie, but, the thing that like 90% of the Earth's population gets infected in 1-2 days, it's not that well think ed, and to be honest, this movie is more known because it has Brad Pitt in it.
  77. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    Could have been worse. It wasn't anything like the book, but I sat through it and felt neutral about it. It was a bit of a let down in the fact that the trailers looked so much better than the film actually turned out to be, but I've definitely seen worse.
  78. Oct 2, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. World War Z is a realistic movie with impressive CGI. However, the story is very repetitive on how the main character(s) are the only ones that survive in every catastrophic event. For example, how come the two main characters survived and no one else? Expand
  79. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    Well I do enjoy zombie films, this one sticks out saying; "Over Here, watch me!" The first and second segments of the film where great although when the survivors begin to Infect themselves with Sexual diseases, cancer and other nasties. I was left in the Cinema with my jaw on the floor because of how ridiculous that Idea was, Die faster then the Infection. Nice, why not throw yourselfWell I do enjoy zombie films, this one sticks out saying; "Over Here, watch me!" The first and second segments of the film where great although when the survivors begin to Infect themselves with Sexual diseases, cancer and other nasties. I was left in the Cinema with my jaw on the floor because of how ridiculous that Idea was, Die faster then the Infection. Nice, why not throw yourself into the horde of the infected. Expand
  80. Nov 22, 2013
    5
    A tad cheesy, and the storyline is completely lacking backstory. Over all it's a good movie but a onetime watcher for sure. It jumped into the insanity of the zombie hoard onslaught without explaining anything about the main characters except that he used to be important. I just didn't really connect with the main character and the ending really seemed corny and obvious.
  81. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    Jumping straight into the action is both a blessing and a curse. Most of it seems recycled, but is sure to please fans of the zombie genre. The lab scene was by far the best part.
  82. Mar 5, 2015
    4
    I was interested in seeing what this film could be, but it didn’t deliver. It’s an action movie with pretty lame action sequences for most of the time. Brad Pitt is alright in his role but pretty basic, and also his family seem pretty obsolete and irrelevant after he leaves them to fight the zombies. They’re just there for him to come back to something. The story is pretty unbelievableI was interested in seeing what this film could be, but it didn’t deliver. It’s an action movie with pretty lame action sequences for most of the time. Brad Pitt is alright in his role but pretty basic, and also his family seem pretty obsolete and irrelevant after he leaves them to fight the zombies. They’re just there for him to come back to something. The story is pretty unbelievable that somehow he’s the only one that figures it out by noticing it in the middle of a zombie attack. Some sequences are downright stupid as well and utterly unbelievable. The film does have its moments though, or me being the moment he has to navigate the science facility full of zombies and his roof top scene where he is worried about the zombie blood going onto his face. In conclusion, the film is a relatively entertaining zombie film but it really doesn’t fully excel in trying to do what it wants to. A perfect example of a straight average film. Expand
  83. Jan 21, 2014
    4
    How best to describe this movie? Umm... Well have you ever sat through a 2-hour film and at the end just uttered the sound Blah? Well this is that movie. World War Z is full of uninspiring characters, a woeful script and a narrative without any meaningful content. Yes the ridiculous turbo charged zombies with cat like reflexes do capture your attention, if that’s what you think a zombieHow best to describe this movie? Umm... Well have you ever sat through a 2-hour film and at the end just uttered the sound Blah? Well this is that movie. World War Z is full of uninspiring characters, a woeful script and a narrative without any meaningful content. Yes the ridiculous turbo charged zombies with cat like reflexes do capture your attention, if that’s what you think a zombie should look like. The truth however is this, World War Z doesn't spend enough time making you believe, evoking emotion between characters and developing the story in an intellectual manner. Each scene feels like its made out of toilet paper and then stuck to the next with super glue, you may think I'm being harsh but this is a movie with an enormous budget based on a fantastic book. Its certainly action over content my friends.

    On a positive note Brad Pitt does have some gravitas and the solution to conquering the Undead is pretty cool, but that said it's still a very disappointing outcome to what should have been a great movie.
    Expand
  84. Jan 21, 2014
    6
    The move was ok, but It could have been better. If you haven't read the book, Go ahead and watch it. If you have, you might be a little disappointed, but overall, it is a good movie i would watch again
  85. Feb 16, 2014
    5
    It did not live up to what we all were hoping for. It has a few interesting scenes here and there but if you go in and watch it expecting a grand and epic zombie film, you're going to be disappointed. There's not a whole lot of "zombie" elements to the movie as it's not very gory at all. And that's fine, there are movies like that but this one didn't do it right. If you enjoy zombie films,It did not live up to what we all were hoping for. It has a few interesting scenes here and there but if you go in and watch it expecting a grand and epic zombie film, you're going to be disappointed. There's not a whole lot of "zombie" elements to the movie as it's not very gory at all. And that's fine, there are movies like that but this one didn't do it right. If you enjoy zombie films, it's not for you. If you want something to watch and you have nothing to do, go for it. Expand
  86. Mar 25, 2014
    6
    World war z follows he story of a UN employee (brad Pitt) on his mission to halt a zombie pandemic. The film starts off great and gets abit dull in the middle but towards the end it picks up. It is tense from start to finish the only thing I would heavily criticise is the fact they barely go into detail as to how the outbreak started, they could of added a whole new layer to the story butWorld war z follows he story of a UN employee (brad Pitt) on his mission to halt a zombie pandemic. The film starts off great and gets abit dull in the middle but towards the end it picks up. It is tense from start to finish the only thing I would heavily criticise is the fact they barely go into detail as to how the outbreak started, they could of added a whole new layer to the story but instead they just used the main character as the focal point without adding anyone else into the fray. The film has got some bad press but generally I'd say its worth watching as it's not your usual zombie movie, it's actually believable and the zombies actually seem intelligent rather than walking around aimlessly. The acting as a whole is pretty bad imo, the only actors that really deserve credit are the kids, as brad Pitt barely says anything and all his wife does is look into the camera looking **** scared. I would of gave the movie a much higher rating if they would of just built on the plot, which I have heared the book does very well. Expand
  87. Jun 17, 2014
    6
    Prior to watching this: I have not read the comics.
    Review: Disjointed film with isolated incidents. Same old zombies stuff. The film was only saved by its last act. Not worth watching.
    3/5
  88. Jul 14, 2014
    6
    This movie was not surprising, and neither too creative nor groundbreaking. You shouldn't be shocked by this movie, but you’re the zombie lover then you should leave content. Brad Pitt was not brilliant with the role he was given but his attempt was decent. World War Z strays away from the novel it once became and left as a just another movie.
  89. Dec 22, 2014
    5
    World War seems like it is nothing more than a get rich quick scheme. I found most of the film fairly uninteresting. The ending was one of the few moments in the movie that kept my attention. Although zombie movies are about the most recycled films on the planet some people just can't get tired of seeing them. World War Z doesn't really establish anything creative, its just the same oldWorld War seems like it is nothing more than a get rich quick scheme. I found most of the film fairly uninteresting. The ending was one of the few moments in the movie that kept my attention. Although zombie movies are about the most recycled films on the planet some people just can't get tired of seeing them. World War Z doesn't really establish anything creative, its just the same old zombies that we've had in movies for the past 40 years, all the same characteristics and weaknesses. George A. Romero established all this before with all his films. Save yourself some time and watch Dawn of the Dead or Night of the Living Dead instead of World War Z. Brad Pitt is a highlight however, its hard not to root for him and he was well cast as Gerry Lane. Expand
  90. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    "World War Z" 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

    The Good: When the infected start attacking as a mass of humanity, it is very well done and creepy. While it diverges from the book quite a bit, I like the direction. A well written idea and a solid performance from Brad Pitt. The Bad: When the infected aren't attacking en mass, they aren't scary or creepy at all. In fact, they are
    "World War Z" 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

    The Good: When the infected start attacking as a mass of humanity, it is very well done and creepy. While it diverges from the book quite a bit, I like the direction. A well written idea and a solid performance from Brad Pitt.

    The Bad: When the infected aren't attacking en mass, they aren't scary or creepy at all. In fact, they are silly and humorous, causing most of the crowd to burst out in laughter when they appeared on the screen ... which isn't what they were shooting for. While I enjoyed the final scenes in the end, I disliked some of the events that led up to it. I can suspend belief to an extent, but I can only watch the lead actor survive so many impossible situations and have so many things go his way.
    Expand
  91. Dec 22, 2014
    6
    Zombies Are everywhere from video games to Movies to Costumes,But Now Get ready for another Zombie Movie But This Time it's got Brad Pitt **** World War Z is just another Zombie bringing zombie movie cliches and you might expect this is horror movie nope its just a movie that Brad Pitt Goes to different kinds of Places and runs away from zombies or killing them! and remember its a PG-13 Movie!!
  92. Feb 5, 2015
    4
    Watched this not too long ago (maybe 3 months ago) thinking THIS IS GOING TO BE ATROCIOUS LOL. Well, I was sort've right, but it wasen't ALL bad..

    The acting in the movie is not the bad thing in this movie, it's just the lazy boring plot. The movie starts off with HARDLY any breathing time, all you know is that there is a loving family, and their going out for a drive. The zombies come,
    Watched this not too long ago (maybe 3 months ago) thinking THIS IS GOING TO BE ATROCIOUS LOL. Well, I was sort've right, but it wasen't ALL bad..

    The acting in the movie is not the bad thing in this movie, it's just the lazy boring plot. The movie starts off with HARDLY any breathing time, all you know is that there is a loving family, and their going out for a drive. The zombies come, and from here on there it just keeps going.... =.=

    You basically follow Brad Pitt the whole movie as he travels around the world, searching for a cure, and reuniting with his personality drained family. I can't just go on and on how the story goes, I'll just mention some scenes.

    A guy slips and on accident, shoots himself in the face

    A bunch of zombies pile up on each other and make it past giant wall protecting a city

    Brad Pitt survives a plain crash, and although wounded, walks it off and survives

    These scenes are just silly, and don't make sense, and the zombies piling up on each other is borderline cartoony. I don't know why I hate the guy shooting himself on accident so much, it just seemed lazy, and I laughed my ass off when i saw it. Surviving a plane crash? No comment.

    It ends off with Brad Pitt finding a cure, and reuniting with his family. Humanity finds a way to fight back against the zombie plague, as they start bombing zombies with jets. This ending didn't really bother me, it left off with a happy note. Overall, this is just a boring movie, although some scenes will give you a good laugh
    Expand
  93. Apr 6, 2015
    5
    a okay zombie is you have nothing to do. I do not like every much but hey I can see some people like this movie. it not really bad to say but there where a few thing is was like that was stupid.
  94. Apr 24, 2015
    5
    orld War Z contains some impressive set pieces - sequences that, taken on their own, are either tense or visually arresting. As a whole, however, it's a letdown with a strange mixture of epic apocalyptic material and generic zombie stuff. The episodic storyline is scattershot, moving from location to location (sometimes without seeming rhyme or reason) just to keep the action mobile andorld War Z contains some impressive set pieces - sequences that, taken on their own, are either tense or visually arresting. As a whole, however, it's a letdown with a strange mixture of epic apocalyptic material and generic zombie stuff. The episodic storyline is scattershot, moving from location to location (sometimes without seeming rhyme or reason) just to keep the action mobile and the setting from becoming static. The special effects are certainly impressive but some of World War Z's biggest scenes (all of which are in the TV commercials and trailers) don't have the best payoffs. The screenplay feels like the culmination of all sorts of things being thrown against a wall to see what sticks. As it turns out, there's not enough.

    At its best, World War Z is capable of generating suspenseful stretches. Two sequences in particular - the military guys preparing to re-fuel the plane in South Korea and the mission into the zombie-infested wing of the WHO building - recall scenes from Aliens. The airplane segment is also high on the excitement scale. Unfortunately, these are exceptions. Much of World War Z comes across as generic zombie/apocalypse material that replicates beats from previous films. Maybe it's not possible to make a unique or surprising zombie movie considering how overexposed the category has become but I was expecting something a little more intelligent than a re-hash of other productions.

    World War Z violates two of my rules. The first is never to neuter R-rated material so the final release gets a PG-13, and that's exactly what happens here. Based on content, this should have been an "R," but the needs of the studio outweigh the needs of the adult viewer, so odd shot angles have been incorporated (including an overabundance of shaky hand-held shots that obscure not only gore but pretty much everything else) and most of the hacking, slashing, and biting occurs just off-screen. Then there's the 3-D precept: use this tool only when it positively impacts the viewing experience - something routinely ignored by would-be blockbusters, and this is no exception. The 3-D serves no purpose here and should have been jettisoned. World War Z isn't 3-D neutral; it's 3-D negative.

    As Gerry, Brad Pitt does a solid job providing an "everyman" hero who, despite his military background, isn't some kind of superman disguised as a mere mortal. Gerry knows how to use a gun but isn't a sharpshooter. He can hold his own in a fight but won't be sending Zod crashing through three-dozen skyscrapers. His powers of deduction are a little Sherlockian - he figures out important things with minimal information, but I'll forgive World War Z for that. It's easy to root for Gerry although it would have been easier if the secondary story with his family received more than perfunctory development. Along the way, he acquires a sidekick (Daniella Kertesz) but she's as forgettable as everyone else not played by Brad Pitt.

    World War Z still leaves me looking for the first Great Blockbuster of 2013. It's passable big budget entertainment and works as a diversion but the movie frequently substitutes impressive CGI shots of zombie swarms for storytelling. The rushed ending also leaves a bad taste. And fans of Brooks' source material are going to wonder what happened. Zombie lovers will probably enjoy this but it doesn't offer much meat to anyone else. Add director Marc Forster to the list of directors who have missed the mark in developing something riveting to shake up this year's roster.
    Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 29, 2013
    80
    World War Z is the most gratifying action spectacle in years, and one reason for its success if the Pitt doesn't play a superhero. [1 July 2013, p.76]
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    67
    Director Marc Forster is very good at amping up the terror, but after a while, we reach zombie overload and we might as well be watching an infestation of Transformers.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    Given how efficiently World War Z has delivered jolts and screams over the course of its sleek 116-minute running time, it’s easy to forgive this rushed and slightly muted finale.