Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 21, 2013
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1156 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
730
Mixed:
298
Negative:
128
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DevianzJun 24, 2013
This is not a horror film, not really a zombie film either. It's a plague film, and any gore porn fan will be disappointed to find that this is not a scary zombie film filled with guts and gore. What you will find is a very good story, aThis is not a horror film, not really a zombie film either. It's a plague film, and any gore porn fan will be disappointed to find that this is not a scary zombie film filled with guts and gore. What you will find is a very good story, a well paced and thrilling romp through the mind of a survivor. The story is solid, and has many harrow and life affirming moments for many of the characters. Brad Pitt does a very good job in this film, and seems less plasticky than he does in some of his other films for me. I really liked the gasps from my fellow audience members, and the fact that I was on the edge of my seat during certain parts. I appreciated the lack of gratuitous gore, as it would have distracted from what this movie is really about, which is the human condition and it's ability to adapt and survive. It certainly made me want to go home and throw together a doomsday backpack of my own. Expand
18 of 27 users found this helpful189
All this user's reviews
1
mndwanderJun 24, 2013
For those who DIDN'T read the book: Go ahead, watch it, give money to a genre that I enjoy.
For those who DID read the book: Go read the book again, you'll only be sitting in your own anger at the theater. WWZ The Movie is nothing like the
For those who DIDN'T read the book: Go ahead, watch it, give money to a genre that I enjoy.
For those who DID read the book: Go read the book again, you'll only be sitting in your own anger at the theater. WWZ The Movie is nothing like the book. The movie and the book have exactly 2 things in common: the title and the patient zero hypothesis.
Expand
19 of 30 users found this helpful1911
All this user's reviews
0
mjaniecJul 9, 2013
"World War Z" is a perfect example of how to turn a very good book into a total nonsense, spending in the process a few hundred million dollars.

The score of 1 is just for the reference to the book. Otherwise it should be ZERO. Or less.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingNov 29, 2013
World War Z aces as a thrilling action flick with good acting and great action sequences, however, it isn't scary for a horror-action fil and emotion lacks its necessary limelight.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
2
lordcsxSep 27, 2013
I sat down to watch this movie with no expectations whatsoever, but it was hard to ignore the fact that this is not a zombie movie at all, because, you know there are some indications in the title that led me to believe that this in factI sat down to watch this movie with no expectations whatsoever, but it was hard to ignore the fact that this is not a zombie movie at all, because, you know there are some indications in the title that led me to believe that this in fact will be a zombie movie, so I'll stick with that from now on.
I did not red the book, I merely saw this sorry excuse for a zombie apocalypse movie a genre that I love and cherish as it is. I grew up on George A. Romero's zombie movies, the ones with sluggish undead people craving for human "braaainz!". I realize of course that that type of monsters are too slow for our modern movie munching society but consider this, if the British were managed to make a fast paced zombie movie with great action scenes and compelling story from a marginally smaller budget (28 Days Later), then why could not the Americans achieve the same?
The protagonist the average male figure who is just looking out for his loved ones is common enough in these movies (and video games of the genre), but this movie failed to utilize him the way it meant to be. We got Brad Pitt loosened on a wild goose chase across continents and countries achieving virtually nothing, and without skills relying on sheer luck to survive and magically save the whole world at the end.
The story was not engaging and the climax came too late to stimulate my attention, although it would have been great for a family drama, but clearly not for a thriller/horror show.
My verdict is that this movie is a one time popcorn movie which did not deserve the £13 fee I had to spend on it.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
ThomasSmithsonJul 24, 2014
BRAD PITT COLLECTS ANOTHER PAYCHECK ....and audiences continue to get dumbed down into paying for lazy trash like wwz

don't expect to be horrified, expect to be bored and annoyed
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
theofficeJun 30, 2013
I want to start by saying that overall I enjoyed the movie and thought it was pretty decent. Having said that however I also feel there was just a ton of lost potential. First, there are some pacing problems. Several scenes are overdone (e.g.I want to start by saying that overall I enjoyed the movie and thought it was pretty decent. Having said that however I also feel there was just a ton of lost potential. First, there are some pacing problems. Several scenes are overdone (e.g. when they sneak past a zombie) and some are rushed (e.g. the ending). Secondly, the first half of the film was extremely good especially as things in the world were going to hell. But it seemed to fall apart a little when Pitt started just flying all over the world. Finally, I think the movie suffers from a lack of identity because it wasn't really a thriller or horror and it seemed to try to do a little of both to no real success. So yeah... just a lot of lost potential which was disappointing because I really looked forward to this movie. It was good but not great. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
7
PeriwinkleJun 23, 2013
When looked at as a movie based off of the source material, fans of the book may be thoroughly disappointed by how thoroughly it disassociates itself from it. However, having said that, director Marc Forster is able to bring chilling suspenseWhen looked at as a movie based off of the source material, fans of the book may be thoroughly disappointed by how thoroughly it disassociates itself from it. However, having said that, director Marc Forster is able to bring chilling suspense and swift thrills, coupled with gripping set pieces located in large cities, and tie it all together with impressive CGI and hard hitting action. Brad Pitt gives a terrific performance in the title role playing "Gerry Lane," a former UN operative tasked with locating the source of the infectious zombie outbreak. All in all, Forster's solid direction alongside Pitt's usual stellar acting is another decent blockbuster addition the to the zombie entertainment genre. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
1
Jerik02Jun 23, 2013
This movie is an excellent example of how hollywood ruins everything. The book was a New York Times Best Seller for a reason, but this movie is just awful. Even if one ignored how much the movie deviates from what made the book great, theThis movie is an excellent example of how hollywood ruins everything. The book was a New York Times Best Seller for a reason, but this movie is just awful. Even if one ignored how much the movie deviates from what made the book great, the movie alone is pretty bad. The zombies are a joke terrible computer graphics, and they transform way too quickly. There's a reason this movie isn't doing well and had to have the third act re-written and re-shot. Save yourself from disappointment and read the book instead. It'll be much more exciting, tense, rewarding and ultimately fulfilling. Expand
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
9
yeski_yesJun 29, 2013
This movie was one of the Brad Pitt's fine ones for now. Even though it was not really a parallel, complex and confusing movie yet the CGI and SFX was really a great job. One thing that really good about this movie is how they raise thisThis movie was one of the Brad Pitt's fine ones for now. Even though it was not really a parallel, complex and confusing movie yet the CGI and SFX was really a great job. One thing that really good about this movie is how they raise this "Geo-politic" issues that happened now. But, even though this zombie war in epic scale movie was great enough for zombies align movie, still no such thing as memorable things and the solution was really cleared in the first state. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
evildeathbloodyJun 28, 2013
World War Z is not a zombie film, it's an action-drama movie with zombie swarm against worldwide armies. I personally don't usually like horror movies because the plot is uninteresting and the characters act idiotically. If you are like me,World War Z is not a zombie film, it's an action-drama movie with zombie swarm against worldwide armies. I personally don't usually like horror movies because the plot is uninteresting and the characters act idiotically. If you are like me, you are going to like this movie because there is none of this. If you like gore, putrefy zombies and fear, there is none of this, but this movie have other qualities.

The plot: this time it's not some young collegians trying to escape the building in the middle of a party, it's a worldwide pandemic of zombies that collapse most of governments, had already destroy half of mankind and threaten the rest. So the UN investigator Gerry Lane and best dad of the world must travel around the world to find a way to stop the ``virus``, alongside some allies, the most interesting being Segen, the short-haired woman soldier. the first two acts are of the same qualities: good to great. Big scale battle against zombies, few politics undertone and...people get kill by zombies. The third act is different from the rest and the ending maybe feel anticlimactic, but it's understandable because they remade the entire third act after seeing how bad was the original.

The cast
Brad Pitt as Gery Lane: a fifty-year old man playing the protagonist in an sort-of zombie movie is refreshing. Even better, his character isn't dumb. How brilliant it is to see someone in an sort-of horror movie doing clever things. But even if he seem stoical and used to carnage, he lack of personality. But that's not so important.
Daniella Kertesz the israeli's woman as Segen, the israeli's soldier who go through hell with Gerry. She manage to get a place in the club of side character who get to be almost as attractive as the protagonist, even more for some. She doesn't have many lines of dialogue and come in screen at half of the movie, but her acting is...well, I came to care more about her than Gerry's family, or Gerry himself.
The family of Gerry: Who care about them?

Generalities: The new, swarming-running are way more dangerous than the classic one, so the character don't have to act stupidly to get kill. The CGI effects are great, and this is maybe the clever zombie movie I ever watch.

Best action part: big battle between armmies and lots, lots, lots of running zombies.
Best other stuff part: Character (and I mean Segen).
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
GreenmemberJun 24, 2013
What World War Z has going for it is a massive, global scale outbreak, a variety of infected, and some nice dialogue sprinkled throughout the film. What brings that down is that the story is basically focused on the zombies, they don'tWhat World War Z has going for it is a massive, global scale outbreak, a variety of infected, and some nice dialogue sprinkled throughout the film. What brings that down is that the story is basically focused on the zombies, they don't utilize a great actor, the story is frankly dumb sometimes, and there aren't any characters to delve into. I like Brad Pitt, but for being the lead and the most focused character, there simply isn't much to him or anyone else in the movie. With that in mind there are definitely some enjoyable scenes that are shot very well. I left the theater just not caring about anyone that I saw, there is no human connection to the film other than Gerry (Brad Pitt) and his family. The action is good, the scares are present, and overall the movie is focused on the zombies and finding a cure. At times it's a pretty generic story set up, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel and some scenes shine. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
MudgetSep 3, 2013
When Romero made Night of the Living Dead in 1968, he introduced a horror that was akin to the haunted house of a theme park. Zombies were a slow, marauding, creeping dread. When his movies were remade in the 90's and 00's, the dread of theWhen Romero made Night of the Living Dead in 1968, he introduced a horror that was akin to the haunted house of a theme park. Zombies were a slow, marauding, creeping dread. When his movies were remade in the 90's and 00's, the dread of the haunted house was replaced by the adrenaline rush of a roller coaster ride. Suddenly zombies were fast. Critical scholars might point to the exponentially quickening feeling of society and its developments and problems leading to the shift. On television people are bombarded by endless waves of information and propaganda, tickers scroll by in all corners saying this or that. We've become conditioned to need things to be moving fast, lots of moving and shiny parts, to be appealing on a large scale. I can't think of a movie in recent years that has done this part better than World War Z. Its special effects are almost flawless, we see zombies behaving as a hive species, using their bodies to create more efficient means of transportation, much like ants do. The technical achievement is stunning, as are the visions of a world thrown into explosive chaos. My eyes darted around the screen constantly, trying to process as much that was going on as possible. The sheer pace of the movie never allowed my adrenaline to completely drop. This was a roller coaster ride. I'm actually surprised it didn't garner an 'R' rating it's a very aggressive, shocking movie in parts and although it spares the gallons of blood seen in its counterparts, scenes of people being smashed under cars, having an arm cut off, yanking teeth out I guess I just find it humorous and telling that a movie with a few boobs would get an R, while this stayed at PG13. Anyway, that's an aside. It's a good movie, a total popcorn flick. Pitt is okay (I never really think Pitt is anything better than okay, for an example of why I think he'll never be a 'good' actor just see his reaction to his daughter at the beginning when she asks him what 'martial law' means). But he's eye candy and he does carry the movie with a certain soulful charm. Direction, great set pieces phenomenal, action almost unprecedented. Which brings me to story. Despite liking this movie quite a bit, it bears no real resemblance to Max Brook's infinitely superior book of the same title. An indie movie like 'The Bay' did a better job of segmenting contributing storylines into a coherent whole, and I would have loved to have seen a more literal interpretation of Brooks' book. I think they could have done wonders with it and truly made the zombie movie of zombie movies. Instead, they went a different route, opting against the slow dreadful creeping global menace, captured by individual stories of survival and, well, they went for the rollercoaster. They manage to have Pitt globetrotting, so they do capture the 'flavor' of different regions of the world, but in the movie it's really all one flavor, while the book had very different 'feeling' settings, accentuated by interesting cultural-specific nuances and behaviors. That's what made the concept work for me, and they didn't pull it over into the filmed version. Had they called this movie something else, I would have been more impressed, because the remaining links to the book are mere strands. Plus, I'll personally always be more frightened of the menacing dread of a lumbering zombie, to the adrenaline rush of a fast one. So this movie is a mixed bag. It's a good action flick, it'll keep you glued to your seat, and you'll feel you got your money's worth. It's a decent addition to the zombie genre turning zombies into swarm predators isn't new but it's never been done on this scale or with this much style. But as an interpretation of Brooks' book, it's pretty sad. I can't imagine the author is happy with where this went. The masses will love it, fans of the original will wonder what happened to their book. The absolutely blatant foreshadowing of sequels means Brooks' already-classic zombie yarn will likely continue to be raped for years to come. I will be in the front row, and moaning the whole time while I get my guilty jollies. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
DilaronAug 13, 2013
That's not horror- I get scared easily and that movie didn't frightened me at all. To be honest, some zombie models appear to be more funny than disgusting. However, it's good action movie. I'm not fan of Brad Pitt, yet I think he managed toThat's not horror- I get scared easily and that movie didn't frightened me at all. To be honest, some zombie models appear to be more funny than disgusting. However, it's good action movie. I'm not fan of Brad Pitt, yet I think he managed to make a convincing appearance as retired UN agent. Huge variety of locations (e.g. Korea, Izrael) make it a bit more interesting. It's not perfect or very good- but you won't regret watching it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
A_NorthernerJun 28, 2013
I am going to dedicate one paragraph and one paragraph only to the subject of the film being massively different and inferior to the book it is allegedly based upon. Max Brooks' novel is a collection of accounts of the worldwide war againstI am going to dedicate one paragraph and one paragraph only to the subject of the film being massively different and inferior to the book it is allegedly based upon. Max Brooks' novel is a collection of accounts of the worldwide war against zombies and covers social, religious and political repercussions stemming from the global war. Marc Forster's film is a zombie based action film led by Brad Pitt with occasional references to locations (Israel) or terminology (Zeke) from the source material. The term 'based on' has never been so loosely used. Being a massive fan of the book, I lowered my expectations for the film to match my disappointment after finding out that the screenplay was not staying truer to the spirit of the book. Anyway, that's out of the way now and this review will now attempt to assess the film on it's own merits.

The film wastes no time, racing out of the traps with only a few minutes used to introduce the Lane family, father Gerry (Pitt), mother Karin (Mireille Enos) and two daughters, before the zombie outbreak takes over Philadelphia. From this point it's all zombie tension and action, including some well shot action sequences in an eerily lit apartment complex, until Gerry gets his family out to the UN fleet off the coast of America. This domestic introduction to the outbreak gives way to a more global perspective as the UN look to investigate the source in order to develop a vaccine. I felt this worldwide globe-trotting series of locations and discussions of the differing strategies of different nations following the outbreak was much more consistent with the spirit of the book.

In my mind, introducing the zombies so early on in the film (we discover the world is overran within thirty minutes) underlines that Forster saw the film as more of a global thriller investigating the world's ability to cope with a zombie outbreak more similar to the likes of Contagion rather than a true zombie horror flick like Dawn of the Dead. I had no issue with this, and neither did I have any complaints (as I have seen consistently made) with either the lack of gore (only a 15 in the UK) or the speed of the zombies. Firstly with the gore, I personally don't see it as a prerequisite for a zombie film, if the director (or studio I imagine) choose to include it then so be it but I think there has been enough on The Walking Dead to see me through to the next season. Secondly with the zombies, there are some inconsistencies in their relative speed and intelligence and they did look very similar to the vampires from I Am Legend, but the fast nature of the herd is a change from the norm and does lead to some awesome looking scenes. Also, I don't think the film ever really confirmed that the infected were zombies or the undead, only that these were literal translations of terms used in other countries.

I found the film capable of a decent level of tension and suspense in places although I really did begin to get frustrated with the repeatedly clumsy nature of the cast as they banged into everything in their way and attracted the attention of zombies. Doesn't anyone look where they are going?

I thought that the rehashed ending (courtesy of rewriters Drew Goddard and Damon Lindelof) lost it's way in comparison with the more international nature of the film's first two acts and became more of a typical zombie film without being anything special, and this act was definitely the film's weakest part.

Considering the delays and re-writes, World War Z is a success, in that it made it to the big screen at all and I actually enjoyed large parts of it. However, it's inconsistent writing and ending, not to mention the huge divergence from the book will always be a source of frustration to many.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Gamed2longJul 15, 2013
For those of you who are looking for your "traditional zombie film" you will be disappointed. There are maybe 20 or so minutes of good old zombie movie at the start of the film. And they are much diminished by Brad Pitt having to drag hisFor those of you who are looking for your "traditional zombie film" you will be disappointed. There are maybe 20 or so minutes of good old zombie movie at the start of the film. And they are much diminished by Brad Pitt having to drag his wife and daughters around. The rest of the film is about trying to figure a mystery out as the world goes to hell. While people are being bitten by zombies left and right. (These zombies want to bite everybody but don't seem ever to feed) Was the answer complex? No. Were some scenes riding the edge of unbelievable. Definitely! But it adds up to a good logically assembled film.
Even the wife character, despite her being an annoying lead weight onscreen, helps serve to reel you back in. You look at anything too long you get desensitized to it. Interspersing his annoying wife on that ship helps make the scenes with Brad Pitt and people dying more powerful.

Is this movie going to win a major award? Probably not. But it is a good innovation on a franchise where it seems like everything has been done to death (has that zombie romantic comedy come out yet?)
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Enforcer122Sep 11, 2013
When you watch this film, don't expect the book. They've had to adapt it to the hollywood screen and I feel it's a fantastic adaption. The story is told at a good pace, with really solid acting throughout especially from Brad Pitt. It'sWhen you watch this film, don't expect the book. They've had to adapt it to the hollywood screen and I feel it's a fantastic adaption. The story is told at a good pace, with really solid acting throughout especially from Brad Pitt. It's mostly an action film, with occasional moments of gore and horror. But all in all, an entertaining film well worth a watch. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
wrightm1Jun 26, 2013
Brad Pitt Vs Zombies. It's not the disaster that everyone thought it would be, and I rather enjoyed it actually.

The best way to describe the film is uneven. This is probably partially down to the troubled production, so they may have done
Brad Pitt Vs Zombies. It's not the disaster that everyone thought it would be, and I rather enjoyed it actually.

The best way to describe the film is uneven. This is probably partially down to the troubled production, so they may have done a great job with the footage they had. The film definitely has scary moments, but I didn't feel the impending doom and fear growing, it was just a bit of fun. Simple.

World War Popcorn is a better title for the film.

The film is a little slow in places, but then picks up again straight away. The characters are fine, and Brad Pitt gives a good performance as usual. But there is nothing special about this, apart from the ant pile of zombies, which I still like. I do think there are fun and action-packed set pieces throughout, and then it almost seems to turn into an episode of The Walking Dead in the third act, as the scale suddenly minimizes. I really enjoyed the third act.

The editing is sometimes a little choppy, and the camera shakes around a little bit too much, but as a whole I thought it fit together well.

It is a fun popcorn flick, that I hope we see a sequel too, to dig a little deeper into the story- and the characters also.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
jetstarJul 11, 2013
I thought that this was overall, a good and decent movie. I was really entertained with all the shootouts and intense scenes with the zombies. Brad Pitt plays the main character and he does a really good job with his character. His characterI thought that this was overall, a good and decent movie. I was really entertained with all the shootouts and intense scenes with the zombies. Brad Pitt plays the main character and he does a really good job with his character. His character was the only character that was interesting, some of the characters didn't evolve or lacked development throughout the whole movie. Their were a lot of cool scenes from the movie, like where the zombies were climbing on the barricade, all this scenes were cool and big, but their was this intense where Brad Pitt and his companions were trying to sneak past zombies without tracking any attention, for me they could've showed us more of that scene throughout the whole movie. Sometimes the movie lacks an identity, sometimes it's action-packed and sometimes it's horror, but it's just a little gripe that didn't affect the movie experience. Some people didn't like the ending, because for them it was a bit rushed, for some reasons I agree on that statement but for me it was a decent ending World War Z is decent zombie movie and I am going to give it a 7/10. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Saggarwal20Sep 6, 2013
World War Z is a very good Action, Horror movie because it brings out all the horror and action you can get, in some parts it's very gory bust mostly action love this movie I think it's a little bit underrated.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JordanKingAug 25, 2013
A very good zombie movie. A little bit underrated. For me it's a very good movie with very beautiful soundtracks by Marco Beltrami. The most important is that it's not a scary movie but a very good adventure movie. Brad Pitt was amazing atA very good zombie movie. A little bit underrated. For me it's a very good movie with very beautiful soundtracks by Marco Beltrami. The most important is that it's not a scary movie but a very good adventure movie. Brad Pitt was amazing at his role. Watch this film and have fun!! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
raviopatraNov 25, 2013
Well, it turns out to be true, what people have been saying; that this movies takes zombie apocalypse more seriously than everyone else. The story is very much different from the book, though. In the end, it was very thrilling but not quiteWell, it turns out to be true, what people have been saying; that this movies takes zombie apocalypse more seriously than everyone else. The story is very much different from the book, though. In the end, it was very thrilling but not quite entertaining. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
World War Z aces as a thrilling action flick with good acting and great action sequences, however, it isn't scary for a horror-action fil and emotion lacks its necessary limelight.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MrFlanksterJun 23, 2013
This was a very entertaining movie. I feel that they could've made the movie about 20 minutes longer and added more to the "discovery and research." I hope the extra content in the DVD/BluRay release has the alternate endings and extra content.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
SkimanJun 24, 2013
Ok..I read the book. It's not like the book. Calm down. This was a GREAT movie. Trust me. You will like it. Great popcorn movie. It's not like walking dead. Calm down. I love the walking dead. I loved the book. And I LOVED THIS MOVIE. BradOk..I read the book. It's not like the book. Calm down. This was a GREAT movie. Trust me. You will like it. Great popcorn movie. It's not like walking dead. Calm down. I love the walking dead. I loved the book. And I LOVED THIS MOVIE. Brad Pitt does a good job. Lots of action. See it. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Jul 6, 2013
Smart, immensely entertaining and terrifying to the bone. World War Z is what summer blockbusters should be, limited but intense action with a good story. You probably won't see a better action film this year.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
7
Weis-muellerJun 22, 2013
Relentless pacing. High production values. A desperate situation. It works well. And it gives you more beyond that: a special idea, well stated by a character with an inappropo amused gleam in his eye--that reframes the movie in 30 seconds.Relentless pacing. High production values. A desperate situation. It works well. And it gives you more beyond that: a special idea, well stated by a character with an inappropo amused gleam in his eye--that reframes the movie in 30 seconds. And still more: irony. Very solid entertainment. I ran to the theatre men's room and back. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
jrrizzoJun 23, 2013
First off, I have not read the book, but I get what the general idea of it is. I went into this film with low expectations, with Brad Pitt being the main draw for me, but this film was fantastic! It more than exceeded my expectations andFirst off, I have not read the book, but I get what the general idea of it is. I went into this film with low expectations, with Brad Pitt being the main draw for me, but this film was fantastic! It more than exceeded my expectations and features an unusually smart script, a great performance by Brad Pitt, and surprisingly scary and intense sequences. But the biggest shocker of the film is that the PG-13 rating actually works! It forced the filmmakers to be more creative and focus on actual tension and horror, rather than a zombie in the dark chewing on a human arm. The characters in the movie actually call them "zombies" unlike every other zombie film where people say "walkers" or something along those lines. Overall, a really fun, scary, and smart film that constantly surprises you and, while it doesn't re-define the genre, it effectively freshens up the zombie film genre. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
7
jeremypJun 24, 2013
Well it tried! The holes were too big. How does a Zombie cross the Atlantic? It doesn't. End of story. I know, I know suspend disbelief. O.K. the real problem was that the story was sparse and the build up non existent and the ending lame. IsWell it tried! The holes were too big. How does a Zombie cross the Atlantic? It doesn't. End of story. I know, I know suspend disbelief. O.K. the real problem was that the story was sparse and the build up non existent and the ending lame. Is Pitt now taking over Harrison Ford roles? Plucky everyman fights wrong and wins! The CGI was O.K. and the gore was minimal and it was psychologically frightening, but the story was weak. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
jhepJul 11, 2013
BORING !!!

......NO SCRIPT......annoying characters out of aTommy Hilfiger ad.......and enough already with the hyper caffeinated zombies who can merge into "wooshes of energy" and CLIMB WALLS .......that hurt !.....come on guys- I`m not
BORING !!!

......NO SCRIPT......annoying characters out of aTommy Hilfiger ad.......and enough already with the hyper caffeinated zombies who can merge into "wooshes of energy" and CLIMB WALLS .......that hurt !.....come on guys- I`m not THAT stupid !.............I only wish that whoever wrote the half-baked script for this turkey had had a fraction of the energy and ability to focus as those zombies !.....and finally to all the people who gave this film 9s and 10s and found it A-M-A-Z-I-N-G I say "Please get A Life
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews