World War Z

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1081 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    What World War Z has going for it is a massive, global scale outbreak, a variety of infected, and some nice dialogue sprinkled throughout the film. What brings that down is that the story is basically focused on the zombies, they don't utilize a great actor, the story is frankly dumb sometimes, and there aren't any characters to delve into. I like Brad Pitt, but for being the lead and theWhat World War Z has going for it is a massive, global scale outbreak, a variety of infected, and some nice dialogue sprinkled throughout the film. What brings that down is that the story is basically focused on the zombies, they don't utilize a great actor, the story is frankly dumb sometimes, and there aren't any characters to delve into. I like Brad Pitt, but for being the lead and the most focused character, there simply isn't much to him or anyone else in the movie. With that in mind there are definitely some enjoyable scenes that are shot very well. I left the theater just not caring about anyone that I saw, there is no human connection to the film other than Gerry (Brad Pitt) and his family. The action is good, the scares are present, and overall the movie is focused on the zombies and finding a cure. At times it's a pretty generic story set up, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel and some scenes shine. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    Simple and typical may be what I may describe this movie. World War Z is good enough not to fall on the classification of lousy or awful. At least it does not drag; the movie is engaging and never ever slows down to cause the slightest bit of boredom. At best, it feels like what I imagine would be a perfectly well-made zombie video game adaptation. I'm sure that the movie has someSimple and typical may be what I may describe this movie. World War Z is good enough not to fall on the classification of lousy or awful. At least it does not drag; the movie is engaging and never ever slows down to cause the slightest bit of boredom. At best, it feels like what I imagine would be a perfectly well-made zombie video game adaptation. I'm sure that the movie has some intellectual or subliminal message hidden in and around the movie, or whatever message the writers want to convey. Whatever it may be, we could not really notice that since the pace of the film is fast and hyperactive. But at least it's never chaotic and messy. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    I went into this movie expecting to be disappointed, with no expectations or hope. And yes here I am disappointed. This movie is drivel at best. Giant plot holes, cheap scares undeveloped characters and any reason for a $25,000 explosion. It was non-sense. I'm mainly disappointed in the execution compared to the novel this movie is apparently attached to. Threw the entire book into theI went into this movie expecting to be disappointed, with no expectations or hope. And yes here I am disappointed. This movie is drivel at best. Giant plot holes, cheap scares undeveloped characters and any reason for a $25,000 explosion. It was non-sense. I'm mainly disappointed in the execution compared to the novel this movie is apparently attached to. Threw the entire book into the air. It's as though not a single person who worked on the film read even the synopsis of the book. I suppose if I could get past that, I may have been able to see some entertaining value here. However all I could think was that I was watching a hero out to save the world, teleporting through meaningless shallow dialog and action sequences to inevitably give us a safe generic movie that is not worth your time. I'm sorry. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    6
    Zombies attack on a huge scale but I'm afraid there are no huge scares. 5 minutes into the movie and the fastest zombies ever are bashing there way across a city but immediately the lack of gore and blood is very noticeable. The 12A/PG13 rating really hurts as there is no pay off to seeing zombies killed as you don't get to see it! However the big set piece with zombies climbing a 100 footZombies attack on a huge scale but I'm afraid there are no huge scares. 5 minutes into the movie and the fastest zombies ever are bashing there way across a city but immediately the lack of gore and blood is very noticeable. The 12A/PG13 rating really hurts as there is no pay off to seeing zombies killed as you don't get to see it! However the big set piece with zombies climbing a 100 foot wall in the middle of the movie is stunning and well done. I just hope the Bluray/DVD is uncut and we get to see some zombie heads get squashed properly. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    4
    So far removed from the original story by Max Brooks that it shouldn't even share the same name, so far from it in fact that i had to try and dissociate it from the book and appreciate it as the movie itself. Standing on its own this movie is a mediocre zombie film with some reasonable acting and effects, but with virtually no story and many stupid and massive plot holes. How could they ofSo far removed from the original story by Max Brooks that it shouldn't even share the same name, so far from it in fact that i had to try and dissociate it from the book and appreciate it as the movie itself. Standing on its own this movie is a mediocre zombie film with some reasonable acting and effects, but with virtually no story and many stupid and massive plot holes. How could they of possibly spent £130 million on this movie? its ridiculous.

    Overall im very disappointed by this film, being looking forwards to it for ages as im a big fan of the book. I would definitely suggest staying away from this film if you are fan of max brooks or just a zombie movie fan in general.
    Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is driven by a poorly defined, convoluted plot, mixed in with some semi cool action scenes and scenery. The zombies are cool for a while but become laughably goofy upon closer examination near the end of the film. I never read the books however I consider myself a zombie movie fanatic and this movie simply cannot be related with given the absolutely rediculous amount of luck brad pitt survives on(plane crash and aimless trek afterwards.... wtf.) Most of the characters that seem important are in the movie for 5 minutes tops, and the ones that are in no way important are there most of the movie. All said, don't go to this movie expecting a scary tale of a family surviving a zombie apocalypse, expect a weird, often humorous tale of a seemingly invincible man running around a zombie filled earth with no real defined goal. Expect a shallow plot and even shallower back stories, giving you no reason to care for any of the people in the story except for one handless girl who has no reason to even be in the film. Wait until it hits dollar theaters and prepare to laugh. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    several points off for not being the book by the same name. But still A good movie on its own.
    What other studios bid for the rights to the book should be allowed to make that movie.
    The Max Brooks book that restarted the Zombie Craze should be made.
  8. Dec 26, 2013
    6
    When the first World War Z book was published it took young readers by storm and climbed to the top of the New York Times Best Sellers list. It was destine to become a movie, especially now, with the popularity of zombies, but ultimately, the highly anticipated film fails to deliver anything different. U.N. Employee, Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt), is out with his family when a recently discoveredWhen the first World War Z book was published it took young readers by storm and climbed to the top of the New York Times Best Sellers list. It was destine to become a movie, especially now, with the popularity of zombies, but ultimately, the highly anticipated film fails to deliver anything different. U.N. Employee, Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt), is out with his family when a recently discovered virus hits the United States and all hell breaks loose. The first 45 minutes of this film were literally like the pilot of The Walking Dead. No one knows what's going on, people are panicking, it was all very predictable. The film does go into a different direction after that, but how many different ways of doing a zombie film are there? Lane starts traveling the world seeking a cure for the disease, while at the same time trying to avoid being attacked. The unfortunate fact is that no matter how good the acting or the writing, there is very little you can actually do with a zombie film. The zombies and the circumstances behind the outbreak are always a little different, but ultimately it becomes about survival or the race to find a cure. Brad Pitt is terrific, and as I have been saying for year, it doesn't matter how good looking the guy is, he belongs in action films! This is the genre where he excels and even though World War Z was painfully predictable, Pitt makes it worth watching. He is the focus of the story and it takes a lot of quick thinking and tremendous stunts to keep him alive. For me that was the best part of the film. There was a lot of hype behind World War Z and it was a very intense film, but like I said, there is very little you can do with an end of the world/zombie film that hasn't been done over and over again. While some what entertaining, World War Z is ultimately just another copy cat. Expand
  9. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    OK I am not going to be a geek and analyse the film or point fingers at the direction or anything like that or give away the plot. Basically, this film is better than man of steel in that it's more involving but doesn't have the mega FX. It's a pretty cool story, but not one you really want to think too hard about otherwise you will start thinking 'well why didn't he just....' Brad goesOK I am not going to be a geek and analyse the film or point fingers at the direction or anything like that or give away the plot. Basically, this film is better than man of steel in that it's more involving but doesn't have the mega FX. It's a pretty cool story, but not one you really want to think too hard about otherwise you will start thinking 'well why didn't he just....' Brad goes off on a mission to save the world and he does a good job, the zombies are both scary as hell but gore-free more or less and weirdly 'family friendly' as they both race around and shuffle and jerk in the time-honoured zombie style. The whole thing is a bit like a adventure video game come to life. Def one to see on the big screen. Expand
  10. Sep 18, 2013
    6
    Since a PG13 rated zombie movie is not going to match the gore level of The Walking Dead, or your run-of-the-mill direct to video zombie "nasty", it had to up the ante by making the zombies move like some hive-minded insects, and expand the action to a global level. The most effective scenes, ironically, are the ones in enclosed spaces like the plane, the stairwell, the science lab..ItSince a PG13 rated zombie movie is not going to match the gore level of The Walking Dead, or your run-of-the-mill direct to video zombie "nasty", it had to up the ante by making the zombies move like some hive-minded insects, and expand the action to a global level. The most effective scenes, ironically, are the ones in enclosed spaces like the plane, the stairwell, the science lab..It does become a bit of..Pitt flies to foriegn location, something happens, Pitt jumps on next flight, repeat. One positive..a genre movie that comes in UNDER two hours?!! Amazing. Expand
  11. Jun 26, 2013
    6
    At one point, I honestly thought Hollywood had lost all hope. Then when I found out that this is based on a book, i was really shocked. After watching this, i was really surprised that it was better than I thought it was. But it barely says much. Most of the time it has its moments. It's an unoriginal story, but with some good elements. The ensemble may not be the best in a movie likeAt one point, I honestly thought Hollywood had lost all hope. Then when I found out that this is based on a book, i was really shocked. After watching this, i was really surprised that it was better than I thought it was. But it barely says much. Most of the time it has its moments. It's an unoriginal story, but with some good elements. The ensemble may not be the best in a movie like this, (I mean, lets face it, who expected Brad Pitt to star in a zombie movie) but it surprisingly works. The movie does slow down at times, but overall, with it's strange and unoriginal idea, it's still a decent movie. Expand
  12. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    As far as thrills and suspense go, it delivers. But originality, not at all. Also the PG-13 rating does make it feel pretty nerf. Its a good summer flick but nothing more.
  13. Jul 1, 2013
    6
    Sure, it's not the freshest movie to come out this year (The zombie fad, like zombies themselves, never dies) but it's a fun movie to see and it will keep you entertained the whole way through.
  14. Jun 29, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not the best zombie movie I've seen but definitely worth a watch if you got no other choice. Quite predictable and open ending... I wonder if there is going to be a second part... probably yes. Expand
  15. Sep 3, 2013
    6
    I am not actually sire if I liked or didn't like World War Z. Sure it has great special effects and it has great action scenes and yes it has action from the very first moments, but the vaccine of the virus is completely ridiculous and the the film is made in that way that it seems to be a true story. Couldn't stand that if you have a disease like cancer or something else the zombies won'tI am not actually sire if I liked or didn't like World War Z. Sure it has great special effects and it has great action scenes and yes it has action from the very first moments, but the vaccine of the virus is completely ridiculous and the the film is made in that way that it seems to be a true story. Couldn't stand that if you have a disease like cancer or something else the zombies won't kill you Zombies can understand if someone is sick.. ok.... Something that I really liked was the plane scene. That was a good one. In general watch the movie but don't expect something really good. That's what I have to say. If you like Walking Dead you will like the movie ,but there is no comparison between the two of them! Expand
  16. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    Your enjoyment of World War Z doesn't hinge solely on your enjoyment of the book which it claims to be based on, but owes it to anyone who has read the book to disclaim "loosely based". That being said, if you've read the book beforehand, the trailers alone should let you know that the film is going in wholly different direction that Max Brooks laid out in his novel.

    I am a huge fan of
    Your enjoyment of World War Z doesn't hinge solely on your enjoyment of the book which it claims to be based on, but owes it to anyone who has read the book to disclaim "loosely based". That being said, if you've read the book beforehand, the trailers alone should let you know that the film is going in wholly different direction that Max Brooks laid out in his novel.

    I am a huge fan of the zombie franchise, which George Romero essentially put a patent on and dozens of films have branched off from over the years. What "World War Z" does is attempt to mesh the behavioral patterns of the "28 Days Later" infected undead (I refuse to call them zombies, zombies are the slow, shuffling Romero staple) with the essential ideas behind Brooks' book. It does this admirably, but it's a direction that ultimately didn't need to be taken in order to make the film successful. In my mind, it felt like a lazy way of telling a story that builds itself up, cutting time off of the reel in favor of a more fast-paced, energized film experience.

    Being a huge fan of the book, I refused to shell out the $10 to see it in the theaters; as I said, the trailers told me clearly that the film was going to diverge far enough from the book for me to lower my expectations. As a rental, and for what it is, it's nowhere near terrible. Remove all comparisons to the book it takes minor inspirations from, and Brad Pitt does a solid job of weaving his way through a decently scripted and constructed horror film.

    This ended up being Pitt's highest grossing film to date, and a combination of factors play into that, not least of which being a rather stale list of opposing options in theaters at the time of its release. Still, it's an enjoyable film, however far it deviates from the source material, and however ridiculous some of us may think calling something that runs a zombie. Could have been better...and could have been a whole lot worse.
    Expand
  17. Jul 11, 2013
    6
    Overall, A decent movie, but there are two factors that really put me off. One, The relation with the book and the movie is like comparing Shakespeare to Modern day Drama. Two, Brad Pitt's mumbling, In many instances I hear Pitt quickly mumble dialogue that is almost impossible to understand. The fact that he was the only well known actor in the movie didn't help either. 6/10
  18. Jul 17, 2013
    5
    It was all right, though one too many dull moments. I don't get how this is what they decided to go with, when they had a really good plot in the book.
  19. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    This zombie-thing is pretty much overused by games movies media....
    i still enjoyed this movie even without blood :D It just tells a story and creates a matching atmosphere.
    But I would not watch again.
  20. Dec 10, 2013
    4
    While I am a fan of both Brad Pitt and zombies, I was pretty disappointed. It had action and the CGI was pretty good, but apart from that, everything else was just another interpretation of an overused theme: zombie survival/a zombie apocalypse. The movie felt rushed; but with all the trouble World War Z had during production I'm surprised it wasn't a complete disaster If you're a zombieWhile I am a fan of both Brad Pitt and zombies, I was pretty disappointed. It had action and the CGI was pretty good, but apart from that, everything else was just another interpretation of an overused theme: zombie survival/a zombie apocalypse. The movie felt rushed; but with all the trouble World War Z had during production I'm surprised it wasn't a complete disaster If you're a zombie gore fan than you'll be disappointed since the violence was toned down. (Though I appreciated the lack of bloody gore, since I'm honestly not a huge fan of it. However, you could get the Unrated version if you want to see blood and gore.) If you're also a fan of the book, please note: The movies nothing like the book. The only things the book and movie have in common are the title. Nothing else. It's like I Am Legend, just with more people and zombies. I did not like the script, and I think there should've been more depth to the story and characters. The movie was kinda anticlimactic. You should watch The Walking Dead instead.

    If you liked this review, read my other work by clicking on my name and mark this as helpful. I review movies, TV shows, and videogames.

    (P.S, you may have seen this review by me under t
    Expand
  21. Jun 25, 2013
    4
    Very disappointing. I love zombie movies, I love action movies, and Brad Pitt doesn't usually let me down, so I was surprised at how bored I was during this movie. The script is pretty bad, and there are some really illogical parts that stood out to everyone in my group. Not illogical like "zombies don't exist" but illogical like "if they thought of this, why didn't they think of that."Very disappointing. I love zombie movies, I love action movies, and Brad Pitt doesn't usually let me down, so I was surprised at how bored I was during this movie. The script is pretty bad, and there are some really illogical parts that stood out to everyone in my group. Not illogical like "zombies don't exist" but illogical like "if they thought of this, why didn't they think of that." You will see what I mean, but I would wait for this to show up on cable to find out. Expand
  22. Jun 28, 2013
    4
    This movie is just a mess. It's not... awful. The effects are nice, and some of the action scenes are actually quite well directed. A scene set in Jerusalem where hordes of zombies form a human ladder stands out as particularly memorable. Brad Pitt does a decent, if not particularly memorable job as Jerry. All of the other characters whinge dramatically at the camera in hushed tones aboutThis movie is just a mess. It's not... awful. The effects are nice, and some of the action scenes are actually quite well directed. A scene set in Jerusalem where hordes of zombies form a human ladder stands out as particularly memorable. Brad Pitt does a decent, if not particularly memorable job as Jerry. All of the other characters whinge dramatically at the camera in hushed tones about the horrors they've witnessed in a manner that has become par for the course in zombie fiction, but the problems with this film lie not with the actors, the effects, or the direction. The good things about the film are bogged down by the fact that the plot is absolutely abysmal. Almost every single action that drives the "story" forward is predicated entirely on human stupidity. SPOILER ALERT: The crowning achievement actually comes rather early on when the man who is supposed to be the last, best hope for humanity; the most brilliant scientist on the planet, trips and accidentally shoots himself in the brain. That is absurd. END SPOILERS It's just a bad story poorly told, so much so that, for me, by the end of the movie, it felt as though it were interminable (even though it's only about 100 minutes long). That said, it does have some cool set-piece moments. If you can catch it on TV in a few months, you'll have paid the perfect price for it. Expand
  23. Jun 22, 2013
    5
    So there you have them: Will Smith, trying to save humanity and find a cure to revert the process and make all zombies human again, and Brad Pitt, choosing to burn them alive or dead, since they're zombies and contribute to our extinction.
    Brad, that's not cool, man, just not cool.
  24. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    World War Z falls into that category of "alright", those interesting, but not particularly memorable films. Having read both WWZ and The Zombie Survival Guide, I had rather high expectations of the movie, and while I will try to put those aside, please be aware that since this was directly based off of the book, I do believe that it should try to stay true to the name.

    Unfortunately,
    World War Z falls into that category of "alright", those interesting, but not particularly memorable films. Having read both WWZ and The Zombie Survival Guide, I had rather high expectations of the movie, and while I will try to put those aside, please be aware that since this was directly based off of the book, I do believe that it should try to stay true to the name.

    Unfortunately, this is the biggest downfall of the movie; it does not stay true to its roots. It is a very fascinating story, but its aspirations to try to be the book I think prevented this movie from doing more than it could have. On one hand, it tried to tell a captivating original story, and on the other, it tried to replicate the book. In the end, its a bit disjointed; it should have either stayed the personal story it was in the beginning, or the epic world traveling it was in the end. I personally think that it should have been one of those "based off of" movies, like Blade-Runner, as opposed to trying to copy the book directly, because this expectation means that it tried to please everyone; a jack of two trades, but a master of neither. Fans of the book will especially not like how physical the zombies are in this film rendition portrayed as the slow, but persistent cannibalistic tortoise of the Tortoise and hare fable in the book, in the movie, they are more superhuman, and this is honestly enough for me to say they should have gone their own direction, rather than taking the title (or stayed with the lore of Brooks' Zombies)

    Now, that out of the way, I can say the special effects were pretty nice. Brad Pitt, I believe did a pretty good job as the lead. While it did not capture the full cultural and political balance of the book, its pretty darn hard to do that in a 2 hour production, and I do have to say that given the problems they had in production, the story felt pretty good, given the limitations they had. That being said, it is not exceptional, but still fairly good, and definitely worth seeing.

    I give it a 6 out of 10, because it is a fairly well written and well presented story about the apocalypse that tried to bite off a bit more flesh than it could chew in some instances I also believe that it would have been better as an alternate rendition rather than a direct one, as this did disappoint me as a fan of the book. However, given the problems with production, and the polish of the film, I have to say that it turned out pretty well, given its limitations.
    Expand
  25. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    For all of the buzz about it delivering, it sure lacks delivery. The CGI zombie warfare destroying cities didn't do anything original, and the film became a globetrotting mission of hilariously-overdone stunts that even in Hollywood is a stretch. You've seen this before and you won't remember this 2 weeks after you've seen it. Worth a rental.
  26. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. first off I wish to say having see this film then going home and playing Left 4 Dead 2 made it more enjoyable. That game is awesome already.

    Yes this is not faithful to the source material. However I'm judging this as a film alone and not comparing it to the source material.

    Overall World War Z is an average movie. It doesn't deserve a 0 and definitely is not a 10 film either. The positive aspects are offset by the negative aspects. I left the cinema neither happy nor sad.

    Pros: good special effects, great scope of destruction, surprisingly good suspense.

    Cons: uninteresting characters, muse's repetitive use of one song to evoke emotion, plot holes, silly implausible ending.

    If you are really interested in seeing this film maybe you might enjoy it more than me. But don't expect too much
    Expand
  27. Jun 30, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'World War Z' is a fast-paced, exciting thriller, which blends the horror, action, and science-fiction genres generally well. Brad Pitt gives a decent performance as Gerry Lane, but the film fails to create a real connection between the viewer and Pitt's family. 'WWZ' ends up being an above average film, which provides a nice new look at an oft-visited idea. Expand
  28. Jun 24, 2013
    5
    The movie keeps my interest, however I do not find myself glad for seeing it. Nor do I find myself saying ti is a bad movie. The movie had some parts that were a little cheesy, it was not on the top of my list of zombie films. The movie felt like the focus was more on Brad Pitt being a hero rather than humans trying to stop zombies.
  29. Jun 22, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I never read the book but I was very disappointed by this film. The plot is just terrible. It lacks depth almost entirely. Go to South Korea, flight a few zombies and leave. Go to Israel, get overrun by zombies and leave. Survive a plane crash in England and happen upon a WHO facility and magically solve the mystery. Just ridiculous. You know a zombie movie is bad when people start laughing at the zombies in the theater. Comedy and the world ending don't mix too well. Felt like they could have done so much better but this just fell flat on its face... Expand
  30. Jun 21, 2013
    5
    I really wanted this to be awesome, I mean, who doesn't right? Brad Pitt at the helm of a big budget zombie flick amidst the increasing popularity of the post-apocalyptic phenomenon, what’s not to like? Truth is, the audience just like the countries of the world should have seen the inevitable. Unfortunately the film’s real virus was the poor script that it can’t shake, despite itsI really wanted this to be awesome, I mean, who doesn't right? Brad Pitt at the helm of a big budget zombie flick amidst the increasing popularity of the post-apocalyptic phenomenon, what’s not to like? Truth is, the audience just like the countries of the world should have seen the inevitable. Unfortunately the film’s real virus was the poor script that it can’t shake, despite its blockbuster CGI immune system. It saving grace, comes when you pair it against what where used to, gory, suspense but reasonably ‘low scale’, i.e. we never really get to see the initial panic. Movies like 28 days later transport us to the barren remains of the earth. World War Z doesn't stop at the before and after shots, we get everything in-between. That’s what I liked, and what saved it at times when it lagged behind expectation. This movie had the same feel as ‘The Day After Tomorrow’; essentially the audience gets sold a ‘one size fits all’ zombie movie, hoping for a ‘Goldilocks’ like effect. To its detriment, it lacked the pizazz it was well and truly capable of. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 29, 2013
    80
    World War Z is the most gratifying action spectacle in years, and one reason for its success if the Pitt doesn't play a superhero. [1 July 2013, p.76]
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    67
    Director Marc Forster is very good at amping up the terror, but after a while, we reach zombie overload and we might as well be watching an infestation of Transformers.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    Given how efficiently World War Z has delivered jolts and screams over the course of its sleek 116-minute running time, it’s easy to forgive this rushed and slightly muted finale.