World War Z

World War Z Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2013
    91
    World War Z presents an abundance of relatively plausible action, smart solutions and one useful piece of information: When the zombiepocalypse comes, the undead are flying coach.
  2. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 29, 2013
    80
    World War Z is the most gratifying action spectacle in years, and one reason for its success if the Pitt doesn't play a superhero. [1 July 2013, p.76]
  3. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Exciting, truly harrowing and smartly directed apocalyptic thriller from Marc Forster ("Monster's Ball"). It's the scariest zombie movie in many years.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    67
    Director Marc Forster is very good at amping up the terror, but after a while, we reach zombie overload and we might as well be watching an infestation of Transformers.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 20, 2013
    63
    The stakes are high and the excitement's there and the results, as previously stated, are messy but fairly entertaining.
  6. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Jun 7, 2013
    60
    While some of World War Z is rotten, the whole stands as a punchy, if conventional action thriller.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 18, 2013
    20
    It is no summer thriller. It’s an anemic actioner that fosters excitement like dead limbs as it lumbers toward a conclusion.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 319
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I love this movie. Kinda like the Walking Dead on steroids. Great acting by Brad and the whole cast. I'm hoping they do a sequel because II love this movie. Kinda like the Walking Dead on steroids. Great acting by Brad and the whole cast. I'm hoping they do a sequel because I would like to see where the storyline goes. Seeing as this did not follow the book very closely they have many options where they could take it. I would like to see the characters expanded on a bit and then of course the solution, search for the cure or just the journey to how they got where they are. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    First off, I have not read the book, but I get what the general idea of it is. I went into this film with low expectations, with Brad PittFirst off, I have not read the book, but I get what the general idea of it is. I went into this film with low expectations, with Brad Pitt being the main draw for me, but this film was fantastic! It more than exceeded my expectations and features an unusually smart script, a great performance by Brad Pitt, and surprisingly scary and intense sequences. But the biggest shocker of the film is that the PG-13 rating actually works! It forced the filmmakers to be more creative and focus on actual tension and horror, rather than a zombie in the dark chewing on a human arm. The characters in the movie actually call them "zombies" unlike every other zombie film where people say "walkers" or something along those lines. Overall, a really fun, scary, and smart film that constantly surprises you and, while it doesn't re-define the genre, it effectively freshens up the zombie film genre. Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2013
    8
    World War Z is, despite dull moments and being uneven sometimes, it is thought provoking, intense and a powerful movie about the collapse ofWorld War Z is, despite dull moments and being uneven sometimes, it is thought provoking, intense and a powerful movie about the collapse of humanity. World War Z has a great action build up and a clever plot that will stay with you for some time. The acting is first rate and truthful with some dazzling visuals and practical effects. World War Z has good editing and a great directing. Watch it as soon as possible and often you get some good "end of the world" movie type. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    World War Z must have one of the shortest first acts in film history. The first act, usually the first half hour is generally where theWorld War Z must have one of the shortest first acts in film history. The first act, usually the first half hour is generally where the conflict is introduced. This film opens with Gerry Lee, Brad Pitt, a former UN investigator having breakfast with his family. Five minutes later, BAM, zombies. No time is wasted getting straight to the conflict. Begin second act.

    The story is not complicated: zombies take over the world and Brad Pitt is obliged to save the day. The assault of zombie movies over the past few years has been such an onslaught that by default the genre itself now gives me an automatic feeling of “I don’t care.” World War Z is very much another zombie film, but a damn exciting one. Even the script’s name for becoming a zombie, turning Zeke, is subtlety refreshingly

    “It’s not what you say but how you say it.” With cinematic excellence, Director Marc Forster breaths new live into this tired cliché. It’s all in the delivery, and WWZ is all delivery.

    As Gerry Lee (Pitt) travels the world trying to solve the mystery behind the infection causing people to turn “Zeke,” the scenes that unfold during his expedition are so exciting that story arc is incidental in comparison. A memorable scene is when a military commander becomes infected. He’s got about ten seconds: “I’m a goddamn Zeke…I got this one boys.” He puts a bullet in this own head

    The exotic set designs of the adventurous locales are the highlights of the film. First an adrenaline pumped escape from an infested Philadelphian housing project, then to a US navy ship at sea, then over to a US military base in Korea where a massive fire fight breaks out. Next Lee arrives in Israel where the citizens have protected themselves against the Zekes in a totally ingenious, but vulnerable walled up construction. The set design here is just incredible and when the situation goes awry, and things start blowing up, the visual effects are some of the best around, bar none.
    Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2014
    6
    The move was ok, but It could have been better. If you haven't read the book, Go ahead and watch it. If you have, you might be a littleThe move was ok, but It could have been better. If you haven't read the book, Go ahead and watch it. If you have, you might be a little disappointed, but overall, it is a good movie i would watch again Expand
  6. BKM
    Nov 8, 2013
    5
    As zombie flicks go, World War Z is a surprisingly muted affair. There's never a true sense of fear or mass hysteria and Brad Pitt seems toAs zombie flicks go, World War Z is a surprisingly muted affair. There's never a true sense of fear or mass hysteria and Brad Pitt seems to be on some sort of sedative throughout the film. The suspense finally starts to kick in during the final act, but even that isn't enough to make Marc Forster's popcorn flick more than an afterthought once the credits roll. Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2013
    0
    Absolutely nothing like the book. and I mean nothing. Did I mention it is an entirely different franchise? It's like they suckered in peopleAbsolutely nothing like the book. and I mean nothing. Did I mention it is an entirely different franchise? It's like they suckered in people by buying rights to the name. It is garbage what they did to the story. Skip this in theaters, go read the book instead. Expand

See all 319 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: March 29, 2013
    Watch new trailers for The Wolverine, World War Z, Before Midnight, White House Down, Riddick, and Kick-Ass 2, plus catch up on the latest movie news with our quick roundup of the week's developments.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: November 9, 2012
    Watch new trailers for Steven Soderbergh's next (and last?) feature "Side Effects," Schwarzenegger's return in "The Last Stand," plus "World War Z," "The Grandmasters," and more, and catch up on the week's movie news, including the latest "Star Wars" rumors.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: August 12, 2011
    This week, watch the first trailer for the upcoming Harold & Kumar holiday movie, and get new looks at "50/50," "Abduction," and "Anonymous." Plus, learn about upcoming projects like "World War Z" and Robert Redford's "The Company You Keep."