Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 958 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Marc Forster
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama, Thriller, Horror
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 116 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2013
    91
    World War Z presents an abundance of relatively plausible action, smart solutions and one useful piece of information: When the zombiepocalypse comes, the undead are flying coach.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 29, 2013
    80
    World War Z is the most gratifying action spectacle in years, and one reason for its success if the Pitt doesn't play a superhero. [1 July 2013, p.76]
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Exciting, truly harrowing and smartly directed apocalyptic thriller from Marc Forster ("Monster's Ball"). It's the scariest zombie movie in many years.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    67
    Director Marc Forster is very good at amping up the terror, but after a while, we reach zombie overload and we might as well be watching an infestation of Transformers.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 20, 2013
    63
    The stakes are high and the excitement's there and the results, as previously stated, are messy but fairly entertaining.
  6. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Jun 7, 2013
    60
    While some of World War Z is rotten, the whole stands as a punchy, if conventional action thriller.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 18, 2013
    20
    It is no summer thriller. It’s an anemic actioner that fosters excitement like dead limbs as it lumbers toward a conclusion.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 282
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I love this movie. Kinda like the Walking Dead on steroids. Great acting by Brad and the whole cast. I'm hoping they do a sequel because I would like to see where the storyline goes. Seeing as this did not follow the book very closely they have many options where they could take it. I would like to see the characters expanded on a bit and then of course the solution, search for the cure or just the journey to how they got where they are. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    I was simply blown away with how amazing this film really was. It's safe to say it's up there as one of the best zombie films, but its also one of the more unique zombie movies that has been made as they put a real twist on the genre. Brad Pitt leads the way in a cast of no other real stand-outs as family man Gerry trying to get his loved ones to safety along with working out what started an outbreak. It had minor flaws but they were overshadowed by effective scenery & impressive CGI. Top stuff! Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Not sure if the "Z" means the last World War or if it stands for zombie. Either way, there's a worldwide outbreak of undead and Brad Pitt is dispatched by the UN to solve the crisis. The plot is standard formula (there's even a kid with asthma) and dotted with leaps of logic. The frantic fervor of the zombies is the only cool special effect. Throughout his worldwide quest, the action never loses momentum and borders on gripping. Collapse
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    7
    Accion que no deja que los que suelen dormir en los cines no duerman, es una película con sentido de lo que solian ser los zombies en las diferentes peliculas se encuentran y se matan, una buena pelicula y deja algo que pensar al fin de todo Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    Your enjoyment of World War Z doesn't hinge solely on your enjoyment of the book which it claims to be based on, but owes it to anyone who has read the book to disclaim "loosely based". That being said, if you've read the book beforehand, the trailers alone should let you know that the film is going in wholly different direction that Max Brooks laid out in his novel.

    I am a huge fan of the zombie franchise, which George Romero essentially put a patent on and dozens of films have branched off from over the years. What "World War Z" does is attempt to mesh the behavioral patterns of the "28 Days Later" infected undead (I refuse to call them zombies, zombies are the slow, shuffling Romero staple) with the essential ideas behind Brooks' book. It does this admirably, but it's a direction that ultimately didn't need to be taken in order to make the film successful. In my mind, it felt like a lazy way of telling a story that builds itself up, cutting time off of the reel in favor of a more fast-paced, energized film experience.

    Being a huge fan of the book, I refused to shell out the $10 to see it in the theaters; as I said, the trailers told me clearly that the film was going to diverge far enough from the book for me to lower my expectations. As a rental, and for what it is, it's nowhere near terrible. Remove all comparisons to the book it takes minor inspirations from, and Brad Pitt does a solid job of weaving his way through a decently scripted and constructed horror film.

    This ended up being Pitt's highest grossing film to date, and a combination of factors play into that, not least of which being a rather stale list of opposing options in theaters at the time of its release. Still, it's an enjoyable film, however far it deviates from the source material, and however ridiculous some of us may think calling something that runs a zombie. Could have been better...and could have been a whole lot worse.
    Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2013
    5
    RECENSIONE ITALIANA

    Allora.. ho aspettato un attimo prima di recensire World War Z perchè avevo bisogno di metabolizzarlo e "pensarlo"..


    Se avete letto il libro, il film tratto da circa 5 o 6 pagine di esso quindi non aspettatevi una trasposizione fedele ma piuttosto una reinterpretazione.

    Recensendolo come film di per sè non stato un granchè.. effetti speciali di alto livello in quelle 4 o 5 scene in cui davvero fanno effetto ma per il resto stato tutto troppo "americanizzato". Il protagonista (Gerry) sembra Rambo con un pizzico di Die Hard (ATTENZIONE SPOILER) taglia con un colpo la mano ad un soldato usando un coltello, lancia granate dentro aerei in volo, si inietta roba che non conosce e ne esce sempre vivo e illeso..

    Il punto del libro non era quello di mettere un super agente alla resident evil in cima alla scala evolutiva ma piuttosto, analizzare e far comprendere una società (o più società) che si adatta, si evolve, marcisce e si elimina da sola al di là della situazione Zombie.

    Leggendo il libro gli Zombie danno l interesse nel leggere oltre ma sono le piccole grandi frasi pronunciate dagli intervistati che sono davvero interessanti. Come ad esempio lo scempio dell industria farmaceutica e i suoi giri di miliardi intorno alla nostra salute etc.

    Il film di per sè carino ma prendetelo tranquillamente come fosse un Resident Evil un pò meno "tamarro". Secondo me stata sbagliata la scelta di "eroicizzare" ad ogni costo un protagonista oltre alla frasona finale che credo di aver sentito anche nel telefilm dei Power Rangers.

    Peccato perchè potevano davvero creare un film che mostrasse la REALE reazione umana di fronte a una situazione IRREALE e non per forza l ennesimo super figo che arriva sia fisicamente sia mentalmente oltre svariati miliardi di persone che vivono la stessa esperienza.. bhà.. un filmetto da pizza e birra niente di più..
    Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    0
    I'll start by saying as an adaptation it is a failure. That said not comparing this to the book and looking at it as it's own movie with nothing else, I have to say this movie is boring and on more than one occasion I was actively hoping Brad Pitt would die and we could follow some other more interesting character that is around him.

    The story follows a complete Mary Sue or Gary Stu who is incapable of failing at literally anything he does. Even in his failures he succeeds! He robs a pharmacy and find the exact looter who is not only willing to help him but then encourages him while complete chaos break out around him and did I mention he gets the exact last bit of medicine that he need? After being led on to believe it is all out the looter shows up to ask him what he is looking for and give it to him and wish him luck. Oh but it was just humanity helping each other out. It would be if it happened again or maybe if while he wasn't looking for it his wife wasn't about to get raped. He and his children survive a car crash, not just a fender bender but a full of T-bone collision while his asthmatic daughter isn't buckled up and the only problem she has is that she is hyperventilating but she is still capable of running since at that exact moment they are swarmed by "zombies". We are introduced to much more interesting characters all through the movie only to watch them die or just leave. Brad Pitt tells people he need to get back to his family, only to have a random no named soldier try to reprimand him by questioning why he thinks he is so special since they all have families that want to get back to and he never gives a reason why he is so important. In fact his character has no importance there is nothing that makes him so special. They say he was a reporter at one time and that he was good but he does nothing that no one else can't do. Everything about this movie is boring or bad. I'm a fan of the original book but I knew going into this it had nothing to do with it in anyway other than title and I still came out disappointed and upset that it cost me after matinee.
    Expand

See all 282 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.