Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 993 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Marc Forster
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama, Thriller, Horror
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 116 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2013
    91
    World War Z presents an abundance of relatively plausible action, smart solutions and one useful piece of information: When the zombiepocalypse comes, the undead are flying coach.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 29, 2013
    80
    World War Z is the most gratifying action spectacle in years, and one reason for its success if the Pitt doesn't play a superhero. [1 July 2013, p.76]
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Exciting, truly harrowing and smartly directed apocalyptic thriller from Marc Forster ("Monster's Ball"). It's the scariest zombie movie in many years.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    67
    Director Marc Forster is very good at amping up the terror, but after a while, we reach zombie overload and we might as well be watching an infestation of Transformers.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 20, 2013
    63
    The stakes are high and the excitement's there and the results, as previously stated, are messy but fairly entertaining.
  6. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Jun 7, 2013
    60
    While some of World War Z is rotten, the whole stands as a punchy, if conventional action thriller.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 18, 2013
    20
    It is no summer thriller. It’s an anemic actioner that fosters excitement like dead limbs as it lumbers toward a conclusion.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 288
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I love this movie. Kinda like the Walking Dead on steroids. Great acting by Brad and the whole cast. I'm hoping they do a sequel because I would like to see where the storyline goes. Seeing as this did not follow the book very closely they have many options where they could take it. I would like to see the characters expanded on a bit and then of course the solution, search for the cure or just the journey to how they got where they are. Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Smart, immensely entertaining and terrifying to the bone. World War Z is what summer blockbusters should be, limited but intense action with a good story. You probably won't see a better action film this year. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Not sure if the "Z" means the last World War or if it stands for zombie. Either way, there's a worldwide outbreak of undead and Brad Pitt is dispatched by the UN to solve the crisis. The plot is standard formula (there's even a kid with asthma) and dotted with leaps of logic. The frantic fervor of the zombies is the only cool special effect. Throughout his worldwide quest, the action never loses momentum and borders on gripping. Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2013
    7
    Based on the book by Max Brooks, World War Z tells the story of a zombie outbreak and a fathers quest to keep his family safe. The film ultimately thrives thanks to director Marc Forster's grasp of tension and wonder and how to bring them both out simultaneously in his shots. The film follows Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt), a stay at home father who was a UN investigator before his kids were born. When an outbreak occurs, Gerry is sent to discover the source of the outbreak, patient zero, which sends him all over the world as he tries to find a way to save humanity and by extension, his family. World War Z really does feel like 2 films due to its highly publicized re-shoots. There are famous actors (Matthew Fox) reduced to bit parts thanks to story retooling, differences in dialogue from the trailers, World War Z just shifts about halfway through the film from political thriller to all out thriller. The overpowering politics of the first half effectively vanish in the new material in favour of a tense final set piece that is incredibly well made. That doesn't mean the first half is bad, in fact World War Z is smart, cleverly constructed and well filmed. The script however is cliche ridden in the first act of the film with the outbreak being unique but often times sullied by cheesy dialogue or unclear action set pieces (a particular scene on a apartment block staircase is really hard to watch). Pitt makes Gerry a likeable lead but at times it comes across as slightly unbelievable, his ability to escape situations even the strongest people couldn't. The film lacks the feel of an apocalyptic event at times as the film is restricted by its 12A rating but it doesn't take much away from the experience. To be honest, this is a zombie apocalypse I will happily watch again. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    Could have been worse. It wasn't anything like the book, but I sat through it and felt neutral about it. It was a bit of a let down in the fact that the trailers looked so much better than the film actually turned out to be, but I've definitely seen worse. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2013
    5
    RECENSIONE ITALIANA

    Allora.. ho aspettato un attimo prima di recensire World War Z perchè avevo bisogno di metabolizzarlo e "pensarlo"..


    Se avete letto il libro, il film tratto da circa 5 o 6 pagine di esso quindi non aspettatevi una trasposizione fedele ma piuttosto una reinterpretazione.

    Recensendolo come film di per sè non stato un granchè.. effetti speciali di alto livello in quelle 4 o 5 scene in cui davvero fanno effetto ma per il resto stato tutto troppo "americanizzato". Il protagonista (Gerry) sembra Rambo con un pizzico di Die Hard (ATTENZIONE SPOILER) taglia con un colpo la mano ad un soldato usando un coltello, lancia granate dentro aerei in volo, si inietta roba che non conosce e ne esce sempre vivo e illeso..

    Il punto del libro non era quello di mettere un super agente alla resident evil in cima alla scala evolutiva ma piuttosto, analizzare e far comprendere una società (o più società) che si adatta, si evolve, marcisce e si elimina da sola al di là della situazione Zombie.

    Leggendo il libro gli Zombie danno l interesse nel leggere oltre ma sono le piccole grandi frasi pronunciate dagli intervistati che sono davvero interessanti. Come ad esempio lo scempio dell industria farmaceutica e i suoi giri di miliardi intorno alla nostra salute etc.

    Il film di per sè carino ma prendetelo tranquillamente come fosse un Resident Evil un pò meno "tamarro". Secondo me stata sbagliata la scelta di "eroicizzare" ad ogni costo un protagonista oltre alla frasona finale che credo di aver sentito anche nel telefilm dei Power Rangers.

    Peccato perchè potevano davvero creare un film che mostrasse la REALE reazione umana di fronte a una situazione IRREALE e non per forza l ennesimo super figo che arriva sia fisicamente sia mentalmente oltre svariati miliardi di persone che vivono la stessa esperienza.. bhà.. un filmetto da pizza e birra niente di più..
    Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    0
    I'll start by saying as an adaptation it is a failure. That said not comparing this to the book and looking at it as it's own movie with nothing else, I have to say this movie is boring and on more than one occasion I was actively hoping Brad Pitt would die and we could follow some other more interesting character that is around him.

    The story follows a complete Mary Sue or Gary Stu who is incapable of failing at literally anything he does. Even in his failures he succeeds! He robs a pharmacy and find the exact looter who is not only willing to help him but then encourages him while complete chaos break out around him and did I mention he gets the exact last bit of medicine that he need? After being led on to believe it is all out the looter shows up to ask him what he is looking for and give it to him and wish him luck. Oh but it was just humanity helping each other out. It would be if it happened again or maybe if while he wasn't looking for it his wife wasn't about to get raped. He and his children survive a car crash, not just a fender bender but a full of T-bone collision while his asthmatic daughter isn't buckled up and the only problem she has is that she is hyperventilating but she is still capable of running since at that exact moment they are swarmed by "zombies". We are introduced to much more interesting characters all through the movie only to watch them die or just leave. Brad Pitt tells people he need to get back to his family, only to have a random no named soldier try to reprimand him by questioning why he thinks he is so special since they all have families that want to get back to and he never gives a reason why he is so important. In fact his character has no importance there is nothing that makes him so special. They say he was a reporter at one time and that he was good but he does nothing that no one else can't do. Everything about this movie is boring or bad. I'm a fan of the original book but I knew going into this it had nothing to do with it in anyway other than title and I still came out disappointed and upset that it cost me after matinee.
    Expand

See all 288 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.