Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1037 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Marc Forster
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama, Thriller, Horror
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 116 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2013
    91
    World War Z presents an abundance of relatively plausible action, smart solutions and one useful piece of information: When the zombiepocalypse comes, the undead are flying coach.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 29, 2013
    80
    World War Z is the most gratifying action spectacle in years, and one reason for its success if the Pitt doesn't play a superhero. [1 July 2013, p.76]
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Exciting, truly harrowing and smartly directed apocalyptic thriller from Marc Forster ("Monster's Ball"). It's the scariest zombie movie in many years.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    67
    Director Marc Forster is very good at amping up the terror, but after a while, we reach zombie overload and we might as well be watching an infestation of Transformers.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 20, 2013
    63
    The stakes are high and the excitement's there and the results, as previously stated, are messy but fairly entertaining.
  6. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Jun 7, 2013
    60
    While some of World War Z is rotten, the whole stands as a punchy, if conventional action thriller.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 18, 2013
    20
    It is no summer thriller. It’s an anemic actioner that fosters excitement like dead limbs as it lumbers toward a conclusion.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 298
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I love this movie. Kinda like the Walking Dead on steroids. Great acting by Brad and the whole cast. I'm hoping they do a sequel because II love this movie. Kinda like the Walking Dead on steroids. Great acting by Brad and the whole cast. I'm hoping they do a sequel because I would like to see where the storyline goes. Seeing as this did not follow the book very closely they have many options where they could take it. I would like to see the characters expanded on a bit and then of course the solution, search for the cure or just the journey to how they got where they are. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Ok..I read the book. It's not like the book. Calm down. This was a GREAT movie. Trust me. You will like it. Great popcorn movie. It's not likeOk..I read the book. It's not like the book. Calm down. This was a GREAT movie. Trust me. You will like it. Great popcorn movie. It's not like walking dead. Calm down. I love the walking dead. I loved the book. And I LOVED THIS MOVIE. Brad Pitt does a good job. Lots of action. See it. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Not sure if the "Z" means the last World War or if it stands for zombie. Either way, there's a worldwide outbreak of undead and Brad Pitt isNot sure if the "Z" means the last World War or if it stands for zombie. Either way, there's a worldwide outbreak of undead and Brad Pitt is dispatched by the UN to solve the crisis. The plot is standard formula (there's even a kid with asthma) and dotted with leaps of logic. The frantic fervor of the zombies is the only cool special effect. Throughout his worldwide quest, the action never loses momentum and borders on gripping. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    Herewith, my first "anti Slant" review. I'm doing this because I'm tired of reading their sometimes-juvenile, sometimes-pretentious and oftenHerewith, my first "anti Slant" review. I'm doing this because I'm tired of reading their sometimes-juvenile, sometimes-pretentious and often wrong-headed movie reviews. (And, while I'm at it: who the heck is "Slant", anyway? And why does Metacritic even allow them to weigh in on films?)

    As for World War Z, it's a decent action movie... and a terrific summer one. For those of you who appreciated "Contagion", but like a bit more violence, then this is for you. Actually, that's somewhat tongue-in-cheek, because for a "zombie movie" there's not that much glorying in gore. We care about the characters and we care how the movie ends, which is more than one can say about much summer fare.
    Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    6
    A decent enough movie that seems to be the only good "fast-zombie" movie I have seen. But that is all that this is: A generic zombie movie,A decent enough movie that seems to be the only good "fast-zombie" movie I have seen. But that is all that this is: A generic zombie movie, but updated to be a bit more modern than traditional.

    The pacing is just far too fast, and I get the feeling this movie would have worked better as a TV series (oh wait it does, Walking Dead anyone.) While I get the rushed narrative is intentionally put there to emphasize the atmosphere of the movie and also make us feel as rushed as the characters. But I went into this wanting to watch a movie, not partake in it.

    Overall:
    World War Z is entertaining and can be very enjoyable if you want action and adrenaline in almost every scene. But, I prefer to see a movie with a bit more depth, and for me that is what this movie lacks. For me, I just say *meh* when I'm asked what I thought of it.

    Fun, but instantly forgettable.
    Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. World War Z is a realistic movie with impressive CGI. However, the story is very repetitive on how the main character(s) are the only ones that survive in every catastrophic event. For example, how come the two main characters survived and no one else? Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2013
    0
    "World War Z" is a perfect example of how to turn a very good book into a total nonsense, spending in the process a few hundred million"World War Z" is a perfect example of how to turn a very good book into a total nonsense, spending in the process a few hundred million dollars.

    The score of 1 is just for the reference to the book. Otherwise it should be ZERO. Or less.
    Expand

See all 298 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.