IFC Midnight | Release Date: February 8, 2013
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 48 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
11
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
hopefulcynicMar 22, 2016
When I saw the cast, the guy from My name is Earl, Ricky from Trailer park boys, and well... Sasha's Grey, I had very low expectations. I mean two hilarious actors and a porn star in a horror movie just didn't seem like it would work. AfterWhen I saw the cast, the guy from My name is Earl, Ricky from Trailer park boys, and well... Sasha's Grey, I had very low expectations. I mean two hilarious actors and a porn star in a horror movie just didn't seem like it would work. After watching the film, I was pleasantly surprised. There's nothing really that stands out and the whole thing plays out rather predictably, but I still enjoyed Would you Rather. It's not scary in the slightest, but is entertaining to watch unfold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Sep 26, 2015
A really good independent Horror film is worth it's weight in gold. Finding that diamond in the rough makes the hours of sitting through low budget garbage, well worth it. For me, Would You Rather is that diamond, as it is one of the mostA really good independent Horror film is worth it's weight in gold. Finding that diamond in the rough makes the hours of sitting through low budget garbage, well worth it. For me, Would You Rather is that diamond, as it is one of the most imaginative Horror films to come along in years. Shepard Lambrick (Jeffrey Combs) is an eccentric millionaire, who wants to help people that are down on their luck, except there's a catch. With a large sum of money at stake, Lambrick invites several down on their luck people to his mansion, where they must play a game in order to win, a deviously twisted game. Would you rather stab yourself or a complete stranger? Would you rather take a razor blade to your eyeball or cut off your own finger? These are some of the challenges involved in this game, which sees the winner go home rich and the losers in worse shape then when they started. Jeffrey Combs of Star Trek fame stars and was absolutely the perfect choice to play the sadistic millionaire. In all his roles he has this crazy twisted side, behind the mask of a very likeable guy. In this film he is paired with the beautiful Brittany Snow, who is there to help her sick brother. As it turns out, she is the logical one, who tries to match wits with Lambrick, making for some terrific dialogue. Would You Rather is creepy and graphic, just when you think you have it all figured out, the story takes a twist, and you're back into the satanic paradise. This film is everything I look for in Horror and will definitely be included in my 2015 Halloween Horrorfest, and it should absolutely be considered for yours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
scolon26j98Nov 19, 2014
I absolutely loved this movie! I loved the plot and the cast. I think Brittany Snow could've done better acting and the guy who played Lucas in the movie did a really good job on acting. His part towards the end where he was forced to slitI absolutely loved this movie! I loved the plot and the cast. I think Brittany Snow could've done better acting and the guy who played Lucas in the movie did a really good job on acting. His part towards the end where he was forced to slit his eye gave me goosebumps all over. It was so nerve wracking just watching him. And when he actually slit his eye I just had to look away. The whole game throughout this movie was **** up and I couldn't stand the fact that you legit had to do the choices when they were both harsh and terrifying. If it was me, and I had to choose, I would've just said no and would have rather had the servant guy shoot me than to continue playing that gruesome game. I was also surprised that Snow survived being held underwater for two minutes. I thought she was sure to die, but at the same time the main character really never dies. I wished that Lucas was the one to survive, it would've been a good twist. I didn't like the fact that Snow went through that whole death defying game for her brother just to go home and find out he's dead. He was dead right? I mean, it looked like he was, but he could've just passed out or something. Nevermind, he probably did die, it's just that Snow was screaming "What did you do?" and it got me thinking that he might've taken drugs or something and overdosed. But overall, I like the movie and had a good time watching it, no, to better phrase it, I had an exciting time that left me holding my pillow to cover my face. There ya go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RRJDec 31, 2013
Very good movie. One of the best of this 'type'. You know the type, certain amount of characters are stuck in a room and they have to find a way out or solve how to get out. Similar films? Clue, Cube, Saw 2-7 etc. I found this film veryVery good movie. One of the best of this 'type'. You know the type, certain amount of characters are stuck in a room and they have to find a way out or solve how to get out. Similar films? Clue, Cube, Saw 2-7 etc. I found this film very enjoyable and the main 'villain' or well antagonize was hilarious. I'd say its worth a watch. It's not even full of a bunch of blood and gore either. Honestly, I think this movie deserves more love. I gave it a 9.

Thanks for reading my review. Check it out if you're a fan of...

1. Horror films.
2. So called 'torture porn' eh, I'm not a fan of that term because its honestly seen as negative but this film is more than just people getting tortured. Hope that didn't turn you off from the film.
3. Characters in a room films. Seriously, I don't know what to call these types of films. Remember the Twilight Zone episode Five Characters In Search of an Exit? I like stuff like that. A bunch of characters stuck in a room and they have to figure out how to get out of the room. Well in this movie they have to play a game. You like the SAW films? Hey you might like this. Or maybe you won't but I still say its worth checking out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarkDetrelSep 20, 2013
Well, Would you Rather can not be one of the best movies of this year, but the movie has interesting ideas, the development is good and strong, the performances (in my opinion) are great, and the script maybe has some problems, but is good.Well, Would you Rather can not be one of the best movies of this year, but the movie has interesting ideas, the development is good and strong, the performances (in my opinion) are great, and the script maybe has some problems, but is good. Would you Rather is a good movie, not perfect, but is good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
indiemod1Aug 31, 2013
I really liked this film. The tension remains with you throughout the film, and the transformation of the main character was especially well done. 8/10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
KivaAug 23, 2013
This film is for some reason one of the best horror movies that I have seen. It gives what the audience wants violence,blood, suspense and a really good ending, which was a little predictable but was still really good. The story was trulyThis film is for some reason one of the best horror movies that I have seen. It gives what the audience wants violence,blood, suspense and a really good ending, which was a little predictable but was still really good. The story was truly original and the cast was better than I expected. The whole movie was more sadistic than Saw and it was really shocking and terrifying I even felt like I was playing that game. If you like the Saw movie you will love Would you rather. This film is one of the most disturbing ,yet entertaining and really good, movie and if you like horror movies this one is a must-watch Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
PimpinpakmanMay 6, 2013
Low budget movie but with a very creative concept. You kinda knew what was gonna happen by the middle of it but this twist on saw (little bit) was fun to see. Its a good movie to watch from red box if one has some time
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mickelwickMar 24, 2013
i've got to say, i've been hearing plenty of praise for this film, (in the horror circuit, of course), so, coupled with the surprisingly original premise, i was eager to see it... and... well... DAAAAAAAAYUM... this movie is superb. fori've got to say, i've been hearing plenty of praise for this film, (in the horror circuit, of course), so, coupled with the surprisingly original premise, i was eager to see it... and... well... DAAAAAAAAYUM... this movie is superb. for starters, the acting, especially from jeffrey combs, is great, combs is both unnerving and interesting in equal measure as your otherwise standard crazy millionaire, brittany snow is a good lead, a monumental step up from prom night, sasha grey is good as amy, and whoever played lucas, (his name sounds russian), did a great job.

and then, there's the fact that this film is SCARY, it is SUSPENSEFUL, there are very few jump scares, and they're mercifully not accompanied by an ear-piercing boost of volume, the suspense also has a good payoff as the things they end up doing are disturbing to watch, and right after it's over, the suspense comes rushing back, the violence is actually handled in a rather tasteful manner, it's not gratuitous, and yet the film manages to maintain it's shock value consistently.

the way the film looks is also highly commendable, it is shot very well, the mansion looks amazing, (danny boyle could take a few notes), apparently, david guy levy's first film was terrible, if so, this is an incredible change for the better from this director, the script is also very well-written, it's admirably paced, tasteful, the dialogue fluctuates sometimes, but otherwise, it's well-written and incredibly well-directed.

i seriously can't believe how underrated this film is, it's like ghost rider: spirit of vengeance all over again, if this is bad, and paranormal activity was good, then i will wear my lack of taste like a badge of honor.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
epicmorganguyMar 17, 2013
epic
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jackcarlin96Feb 10, 2013
'Would You Rather' is a smart and fresh new edition to the torture porn sub-genre although it doesn't quite fit the criteria of 'Saw' and 'The Collection' but that not necessarily a bad thing, considering Saw was only focused on the deaths'Would You Rather' is a smart and fresh new edition to the torture porn sub-genre although it doesn't quite fit the criteria of 'Saw' and 'The Collection' but that not necessarily a bad thing, considering Saw was only focused on the deaths and gore, whilst this film focuses a little more on character, bringing more depth to the film. There are elements of 2012 horror 'Truth or Dare (Die)' here, expect Would you Rather is miles ahead on inventiveness, character and overall story. All i can say is that this is one hidden gem that should not be missed Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews