Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: What would you do if a millionaire offered you a chance to solve all your life’s problems? After the tragic death of her parents, Iris (Brittany Snow) is desperate to make ends meet while caring for her terminally ill younger brother. When a seemingly philanthropic aristocrat invites her toWhat would you do if a millionaire offered you a chance to solve all your life’s problems? After the tragic death of her parents, Iris (Brittany Snow) is desperate to make ends meet while caring for her terminally ill younger brother. When a seemingly philanthropic aristocrat invites her to an exclusive dinner party that offers the chance at untold riches, she arrives to find herself in a group of similarly desperate individuals and forced to play a sadistic game of Would You Rather, where only the winner will get out alive. As the game progress Iris must decide how far she will go to save her brother… and herself. [IFC Films] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Feb 6, 2013
    70
    You'll never play the titular parlor game again after watching Would You Rather, director David Guy Levy’s clever exercise in torture porn that manages to display as much restraint as genuine sickness.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Feb 6, 2013
    50
    Would You Rather verges on genuine intrigue at times, but it's ultimately just a slasher without the gore.
  3. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 6, 2013
    50
    It reminded me of everything from "Ten Little Indians" to a low-budget take on Neil Simon’s "Murder by Death" without the laughs. It’s diverting for people who love games, but not for the squeamish.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Feb 6, 2013
    25
    Would You Rather has one major asset in an appropriately gothic, larger-than-life performance by Jeffrey Combs, the great, chameleon-like character actor best known for playing a mad scientist in "Re-Animator."
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Macfarlane
    Feb 7, 2013
    25
    A shrill Indiewood torture porn that, despite promised shocks and revulsions, doesn't even have the conviction to hold its camera on the story's most appalling twists.
  6. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Feb 15, 2013
    20
    Results are simple-minded at best, contemptible at worst; most audiences would rather watch anything else.
  7. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Feb 7, 2013
    0
    Would you rather . . . watch this movie, or spend an hour and a half having your arm hairs plucked out with a rusty pair of tweezers? I’d have chosen the latter if it’d been on offer.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie! I loved the plot and the cast. I think Brittany Snow could've done better acting and the guy who played LucasI absolutely loved this movie! I loved the plot and the cast. I think Brittany Snow could've done better acting and the guy who played Lucas in the movie did a really good job on acting. His part towards the end where he was forced to slit his eye gave me goosebumps all over. It was so nerve wracking just watching him. And when he actually slit his eye I just had to look away. The whole game throughout this movie was **** up and I couldn't stand the fact that you legit had to do the choices when they were both harsh and terrifying. If it was me, and I had to choose, I would've just said no and would have rather had the servant guy shoot me than to continue playing that gruesome game. I was also surprised that Snow survived being held underwater for two minutes. I thought she was sure to die, but at the same time the main character really never dies. I wished that Lucas was the one to survive, it would've been a good twist. I didn't like the fact that Snow went through that whole death defying game for her brother just to go home and find out he's dead. He was dead right? I mean, it looked like he was, but he could've just passed out or something. Nevermind, he probably did die, it's just that Snow was screaming "What did you do?" and it got me thinking that he might've taken drugs or something and overdosed. But overall, I like the movie and had a good time watching it, no, to better phrase it, I had an exciting time that left me holding my pillow to cover my face. There ya go. Expand
  2. RRJ
    Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Very good movie. One of the best of this 'type'. You know the type, certain amount of characters are stuck in a room and they have to find aVery good movie. One of the best of this 'type'. You know the type, certain amount of characters are stuck in a room and they have to find a way out or solve how to get out. Similar films? Clue, Cube, Saw 2-7 etc. I found this film very enjoyable and the main 'villain' or well antagonize was hilarious. I'd say its worth a watch. It's not even full of a bunch of blood and gore either. Honestly, I think this movie deserves more love. I gave it a 9.

    Thanks for reading my review. Check it out if you're a fan of...

    1. Horror films.
    2. So called 'torture porn' eh, I'm not a fan of that term because its honestly seen as negative but this film is more than just people getting tortured. Hope that didn't turn you off from the film.
    3. Characters in a room films. Seriously, I don't know what to call these types of films. Remember the Twilight Zone episode Five Characters In Search of an Exit? I like stuff like that. A bunch of characters stuck in a room and they have to figure out how to get out of the room. Well in this movie they have to play a game. You like the SAW films? Hey you might like this. Or maybe you won't but I still say its worth checking out.
    Expand
  3. May 6, 2013
    7
    Low budget movie but with a very creative concept. You kinda knew what was gonna happen by the middle of it but this twist on saw (little bit)Low budget movie but with a very creative concept. You kinda knew what was gonna happen by the middle of it but this twist on saw (little bit) was fun to see. Its a good movie to watch from red box if one has some time Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2014
    6
    Forget the critic scores.This movie is mostly enjoyable to horror movie fans. Not to bash the critics, but don't they read the movieForget the critic scores.This movie is mostly enjoyable to horror movie fans. Not to bash the critics, but don't they read the movie description before watching? Wouldn't this line turn them off to the movie, or at least force these critics to put themselves in a horror aficionado's shoes while watching the flick?

    "she arrives to find herself ... forced to play a sadistic game of Would You Rather, where only the winner will get out alive."

    The movie has a great premise AND original story with fine acting to boot (rare in a B-movie). Budget limits are effectively managed so that you barely notice the low budget impact. In fact, because some of the more horrific scenes are not shown they are more cringe-worthy as your mind gets to fill in the details.

    But the standout is Jeffrey Combs of Reanimator/From Beyond fame that plays the host of the WORST DINNER PARTY GAME EVER! He balances his sociopathic morality with a genteel propriety that makes his character stand out of the very-disposable extras.

    The twist ending is predictable and you wish the more dastardly character deaths were more horrific, but overall it is a very entertaining horror flick. The excellent Roger Ebert, God rest his soul, would hate this movie, but I would never use his reviews for horror movies.
    Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What absolute dross. Just a painfully bad torture porn flick with little to no real plot. Utterly predictable also, it doesn't take an idiot to work out what will happen to the main character and her brother from five minutes in. Some may find enjoyment, but I imagine that they are those with time to kill and low expectations for movies. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    A movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat for something great to happen. That moment never comes. Predictably cheesy scenes andA movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat for something great to happen. That moment never comes. Predictably cheesy scenes and characters that serve no purpose. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers