Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 3, 2012
    100
    Wreck-It Ralph is smart, funny, sweet and sassy. And that's just Sarah Silverman's character... The movie is a treat for kids and the parents they drag to see it. Or maybe it'll be the other way around. Either way. It doesn't matter how you get to it. Just get there.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Oct 31, 2012
    40
    Sweet enough but in the end a bit of a corny-syrupy wipeout, this is middling family-night fare, but it never even comes close to the emotional or technical wizardry of Pixar's finest moments.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Nov 1, 2012
    50
    It's pure plastic product from plot line to the pro forma 3-D to the tidy moral lessons - ersatz family entertainment as disposable as it is diverting. It made me want to go read a book.
  4. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Oct 31, 2012
    90
    Consider it a force in the Best Animated Film Oscar race.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Oct 31, 2012
    75
    More than in most animated films, the art design and color palette of Wreck-It Ralph permit unlimited sets, costumes and rules, giving the movie tireless originality and different behavior in every different cyber word.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Nov 1, 2012
    63
    I found the first 30 minutes of Wreck-It Ralph a lot of fun, the second and third 30 minutes progressively more routine.
  7. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    A "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" for the joystick generation that, despite a mid-act dip into generic Disney territory, high-scores on laughs, invention and 8-bit affection.
  8. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Oct 31, 2012
    83
    There are more videogame cameos and winks than you can shake a Wiimote at - even the Konami Code, the gamer's paternoster, makes an appearance - but the real success of the film is its emotional core and the relationship between the two misfits.
  9. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Oct 29, 2012
    83
    Beneath the pixelated gags, the stakes are relatively familiar. However, much of the humor in Wreck-It Ralph riffs on the nostalgia associated with real games.
  10. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Nov 2, 2012
    90
    The movie's subversive sensibility and old-school/new-school feel are a total kick.
  11. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    Wreck-It-Ralph is a gorgeously rendered story that will play just as well to children as to their parents, albeit for different reasons. Playstation and Xbox junkies will be equally pleased.
  12. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 2, 2012
    60
    John C. Reilly provides the voice of Ralph, and he's every bit as good as you'd expect in the role. It's Sarah Silverman, however, as his unlikely sidekick, and rescue subject, whose considerable charm threatens to steal the show.
  13. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 4, 2012
    60
    Still, it does eventually become a bit tedious, and for all the breathless kineticism of the film's second act, you may find yourself twiddling your thumbs. It's a cool game, to be sure, but watching someone else play it gets old after a while.
  14. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Nov 1, 2012
    63
    Visually dazzling, intermittently funny.
  15. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Nov 1, 2012
    90
    Replace the toy box with the arcade machine, and Wreck-It Ralph is basically a repurposed "Toy Story" movie, suffused with the same mix of adventure and nostalgia and themes of friendship and the existential crises that come with age. A cynic might dismiss the film as reheated leftovers. But that cynic would be wrong, because those leftovers are delicious.
  16. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    Colorful, noisy, and pixel-deep.
  17. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    If you're a gamer, another level of humor opens up, as a variety of characters make surprise appearances throughout the film.
  18. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 31, 2012
    75
    There's something very old fashioned about the core ingredients of Wreck-It Ralph; these blend well with the "hip" elements. Still, I can't help but wonder whether this is all just one big product placement for something aimed at the home video market. It seems like a game designer's wet dream.
  19. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    Moore brings a video junkie's passion to the movie game, and it's hilariously infectious.
  20. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Oct 28, 2012
    38
    Nothing but broad, pandering indexes tailored to appeal to the arcade wistfulness the film never even bothers to convincingly evoke.
  21. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    A lot like video games and candy: light entertainment but fun while it lasts.
  22. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 31, 2012
    83
    The movie's first half is its funniest, as Moore sets up this alternate low-resolution universe.
  23. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Oct 31, 2012
    100
    It's a wildly exciting ride, the fastest-moving, most enthusiastically kinetic kids' action film since "The Incredibles."
  24. Reviewed by: Dave McGinn
    Nov 2, 2012
    75
    It's impossible not to feel a strong sense of nostalgic amusement, if not sheer delight, at the comings and goings of all these characters.
  25. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 9, 2013
    40
    For me, it never came to life.
  26. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Oct 26, 2012
    90
    With a mix of retro eye-candy for grown-ups and a thrilling, approachable storyline for the tykes, the film casts a wide and beguiling net.
  27. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Nov 1, 2012
    100
    Manages to be touching as well as silly, thrilling and just a bit exhausting. The secret to its success is a genuine enthusiasm for the creative potential of games, a willingness to take them seriously without descending into nerdy pomposity. I am delighted to surrender my cynicism, at least until I've used up today's supply of quarters.
  28. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Oct 27, 2012
    50
    Yes, the idea is unique. But they aren't quite ready to shake off what has worked for them for years -- namely making girls want to be special and popular, and boys strong and heroic.
  29. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Nov 1, 2012
    100
    The most inventive and entertaining family movie I've seen this year, packed with wickedly smart humor and joyful animation.
  30. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Oct 31, 2012
    80
    The metaphor is clever, injecting real-life risk and reward into these beautifully artificial vistas, scored to composer Henry Jackman's Nintendo-worthy beeps and bloops.
  31. Reviewed by: Stephen Kelly
    Jan 21, 2013
    80
    A Disney flick that feels like on-form Pixar, blending knowing humour and sophistication with a large helping of heart. You'll want another go.
  32. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 1, 2012
    88
    With Halloween bags still brimming, it's an ideal time for the inventive candy-colored fun and wicked humor that is Wreck-It Ralph.
  33. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Oct 26, 2012
    100
    With plenty to appeal to boys and girls, old and young, Walt Disney Animation Studios has a high-scoring hit on its hands in this brilliantly conceived, gorgeously executed toon, earning bonus points for backing nostalgia with genuine emotion.
  34. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Nov 1, 2012
    50
    As with its narrative, Wreck-It Ralph's themes don't develop by branching out in wild, unpredictable ways; instead, they simply become narrower and more monotonous.
  35. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Nov 1, 2012
    50
    It's a lovely pretext for dazzling visuals, yet the production is diminished by the clumsiness of an 8-bit script.
  36. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 1, 2012
    50
    Emphasizes action and eye-popping visuals over emotion.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 617 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 167
  1. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Best movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie hasBest movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie has it all. Disney has a real winner on it's hands. I saw the movie 2 months before release and couldn't want to line up at a theater to pay my money to go see it again. This is a movie you will have to get on Blu-Ray and pause just to catch all the hidden "easter eggs' if you will. LIke "No Campers" written in graffiti on the walls or coins coming out of Sonic when he gets bumped into. The very opening scene blows you away when you go from 2D view of the Fix it Felix Jr. game into the 3D immersive world. Ralph is a great hero to root for and Vanellopee is lovable and cute with just the right amount of feisty-ness. Over a great cast, many laughs, and a great ride into the world of video games new and old. Full Review »
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    If you've read my other reviews, you are probably well aware that I love video games and movies. This movie takes my two favorite things, andIf you've read my other reviews, you are probably well aware that I love video games and movies. This movie takes my two favorite things, and throws them into one. Now the question is: does it work? The answer is an absolute YES!!! In fact, this movie is so good, that it is now one of my favorite movies of all time! It is funny, has memorable characters, great animation, and the most original setting in the history of cinema. I really have very little to complain about in this movie. Okay, so there might be one or two little things. For one, there are several video game characters that I wanted to see in this movie, but weren't there (seriously, Disney shows no love to Mario, Link, Samus or any other heroic Nintendo character). Yes they did mention Mario at one point, but that doesn't count. Also, I found the plot to be a little bit unoriginal, and predictable. A super villain who wants to be good? I'm pretty sure that's been done before. It also follows a pattern that I like to call the classic Disney film plot. In other words, if you have seen any other Disney movie, you can probably guess what this movie's plot is like. Despite this, the original setting makes you completely forget about the plot. This really is an excellent movie, and is totally worth watching if you love animation, movies, video games, an original setting, or just want a movie that has quite an adventurous feel behind it. Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This movie was a fantastic depiction of the lives and coalescence of many nostalgic video games dating back as far as 1981 (Qix), and asThis movie was a fantastic depiction of the lives and coalescence of many nostalgic video games dating back as far as 1981 (Qix), and as recent as today (Sonic, Bowser, etc.). This makes the film recognizable to the rounded ages of four to forty, given times of development. Go see it. Full Review »