Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 2, 2012
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 750 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
682
Mixed:
40
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
AthanasiosTMar 30, 2013
As an old gamer, I really liked the respect this movie payed to all forgotten games out there So, if you know what Qbert is, go see the movie without further delay As for me, I have to remember where my ZX Spectrum is
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HonestOmi08Feb 25, 2013
i love this movie, it has a great range of funny emotional scenes. A great family movie starring Jane Lynch, and John C. Reilly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialMar 8, 2014
This is a clever, entertaining video-game based movie. It's also funny, touching, and I had a lot of fun with this film. What I would have liked to have seen more were characters based of from video games in reality. But other than that, thisThis is a clever, entertaining video-game based movie. It's also funny, touching, and I had a lot of fun with this film. What I would have liked to have seen more were characters based of from video games in reality. But other than that, this movie was just great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lahaine2012Jan 11, 2013
Creativity is key in Wreck-It Ralph; Disney
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kuehnauFeb 19, 2013
Best movie I saw in 2012. As a game villain Ralph is tired of being treated poorly, so on a bet he make an attempt at getting a coveted hero's medal. A story of trust and friendship, the video game landscape doesn't hurt the movie at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GagaForGhibliNov 7, 2012
I Loved This Movie! Possibly The Best Animated Movie Of 2012! Very Creative, Never A Dull Moment!
Love The Video-Game Style!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RealMuthaFAug 24, 2014
I didn't watch cartoons for a long time, but oh am I glad I got myself to watch this one. Mostly funny jokes, good soundtrack, LOTS of cameos and homages to different video game characters, and the absolutely adorable Vanellope all make up anI didn't watch cartoons for a long time, but oh am I glad I got myself to watch this one. Mostly funny jokes, good soundtrack, LOTS of cameos and homages to different video game characters, and the absolutely adorable Vanellope all make up an extremely solid cartoon which you must not miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tbrown15Nov 25, 2012
How many fits have Disney animations have? Earlier this year Brave was released in theaters, which was a huge it, both critically and in box office. In past years, Disney animations also produced hits in all three Toy Story movies, myHow many fits have Disney animations have? Earlier this year Brave was released in theaters, which was a huge it, both critically and in box office. In past years, Disney animations also produced hits in all three Toy Story movies, my personal favorite The Incredibles, Wall.E and so much more to name. To date, Disney animations has not made a bad movie yet. Will Wreck-it Ralph be another Disney hit? On the other hand, will it be a rare flop for the great animation studio? Wreck-it Ralph has a talented cast. John C. Reilly as the lead, who has very good, Sarah Silverman was great as the little squeaky voiced girl, which lead to tones of good laughs, and then Jane Lynch who stole the whole show every time she had her wise cracking, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
neilmiltonFeb 15, 2013
I'll start by saying I don't like CG movies. I can never really connect to them. As a game playing teenager, I was enticed by the nostalgia of seeing some of the games from my youth rendered large. All I can say is what a missedI'll start by saying I don't like CG movies. I can never really connect to them. As a game playing teenager, I was enticed by the nostalgia of seeing some of the games from my youth rendered large. All I can say is what a missed opportunity. I thought there was going to be much more game hopping, and more characters featured. There is the whole history of computer gaming to draw from, and yet hardly any of them are featured. I suspect that they had licensing issues. The script wasn't funny and there was nothing in this film for an adult viewer. The main feature little more than a merchandising opportunity with some crass product placement only just about redeems itself in the last five minutes. It failed to have the emotional weight of the second film in the toy story franchise, or that one with the fish that proves you can be affected by the digital image. There was more feeling in the opening 2D short than there was in this entire movie. Probably worth the entrance fee for that alone. Schweet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleSep 3, 2015
An incredibly inventive and fun animated film, Wreck-It Ralph is an incredibly cool and fun take on old arcade games and the world they could exist in. Featuring great voice performances from John C. Reilly, Sarah Silverman, and many others,An incredibly inventive and fun animated film, Wreck-It Ralph is an incredibly cool and fun take on old arcade games and the world they could exist in. Featuring great voice performances from John C. Reilly, Sarah Silverman, and many others, the film is brilliantly animated and never ceases to entertain from beginning to end. In addition, the world it imagines for all your favorite arcade characters is both vast and incredibly creative. The writing is also very well done and the characters are very well done, multi-dimensional characters. This lends into the story being very entertaining and as creative as the world it exists in. I did not expect to love this one as much as I did, but ultimately, Wreck-It Ralph is a brilliantly animated film that hits all the right notes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilsterNov 17, 2012
Absolutely loved it. Laughed all the way through. Possibly the best animated film since The Incredibles. My ten year-old son thought it was the best he had seen in over a year. Very heartwarming as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Apr 18, 2014
This was silly Epic! I was surprised to find myself loving everything about it. It`s great in every way. It`s funny and has a good message. The characters are easy to like and root for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Spearheaded by pristine animation, an intricate story, and a talented vocal cast, Disney Animation's love letter to video games proves to be both affecting and amusing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Big_MooseDec 2, 2012
Disney has a hit on it's hands. A strong story with lovable characters as well as a hilarious look into the world of video games makes the movie original and fun. Easily the best animated film of the year. A must see for any gamer out there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TarHeelHomieDec 4, 2012
Fantastic movie. I feel like this movie had a lil' something for everybody. For the gamer there were flashbacks to great games of the past (as well as little hidden nuggets that only gamers could pick up on), It also had a well thought outFantastic movie. I feel like this movie had a lil' something for everybody. For the gamer there were flashbacks to great games of the past (as well as little hidden nuggets that only gamers could pick up on), It also had a well thought out plot with thoughtful moments that pulled at your heartstrings. It was also very funny; I found myself laughing out loud numerous times. And last but not least, it even had a great twist that most viewers most likely did not see coming. All in all, Wreck-It-Ralph is a movie for people of all ages. Go see it today! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersDec 5, 2012
Saw it in theaters, in 3D, loved it. Smart, funny, touching, different...W-I R was a great experience. I really like seeing Disney making great movies again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DSilverDec 8, 2012
Very good movie. The voice acting was great, and the animation/art style was quite impressive. There are only two minor annoyances - the change in pacing made the second half of the movie take a little bit of time to get used to (although youVery good movie. The voice acting was great, and the animation/art style was quite impressive. There are only two minor annoyances - the change in pacing made the second half of the movie take a little bit of time to get used to (although you do eventually warm up to it), and I wasn't too fond of the bathroom humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
foxgroveFeb 10, 2013
Inspired writing elevates this ingenious and delightful toon high above many of the more recent anaemic offerings. The visuals and design aspect of the animation is truly innovative. Eye poppingly imaginative in its colour and beauty andInspired writing elevates this ingenious and delightful toon high above many of the more recent anaemic offerings. The visuals and design aspect of the animation is truly innovative. Eye poppingly imaginative in its colour and beauty and there are some great gags and one liners that will appeal to adults whilst the kids get caught up in the technical wizardry of the computer game worlds. John C Reilly provides a perfect fit for the voice of Ralph and Jane Lynch matches him all the way as the take no prisoners Sgt Calhoun. It is also refreshing to have a surprise villain hijack the picture at the end. In most animated films the villains are usually obviously presented or signposted well in advance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
b-radDec 20, 2012
Wreck-It Ralph is an original feel good movie sure to please audiences of any age.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
survivorfan989Apr 26, 2013
It's great to see Disney release another quality film that is of their Toy Story standards, and this was definitley one of them! It's such a creative concept that not only kids will love but big kids at heart that grew up with arcade games.It's great to see Disney release another quality film that is of their Toy Story standards, and this was definitley one of them! It's such a creative concept that not only kids will love but big kids at heart that grew up with arcade games. They certainly knew how to hit their target audience and with likable characters like Ralph, Felix & Vanellope and a surprise villain this film pretty much had everything to be the success that it was. Overall a must-see for Disney fans out there! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spektrumDec 25, 2012
If there's one word to describe this, it's original. Funny, sassy and incredibly clever. Best Disney movie in a long time, if not ever. In the beginning the concept is hard to grasp, but along the way, the characters explain it ratherIf there's one word to describe this, it's original. Funny, sassy and incredibly clever. Best Disney movie in a long time, if not ever. In the beginning the concept is hard to grasp, but along the way, the characters explain it rather enjoyably. Wreck-it Ralph is a symbol of what it is in the arcade: here for a long time to come, even as other films come and go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lizofstadDec 27, 2012
This movie was okay, but I don't know why everyone loves it so much. The storyline was fine, but pretty predictable. It was good for one viewing, but I don't have any desire to watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MathewMansonJan 23, 2013
Nostalgia is key in relation to the enjoyment of this film. If you do not care much for video games or despise them generally--then this is NOT the film for you. The film has a decent amount of content in relation to retro video games,Nostalgia is key in relation to the enjoyment of this film. If you do not care much for video games or despise them generally--then this is NOT the film for you. The film has a decent amount of content in relation to retro video games, meaning that parents will take notice of how this film could be geared with an adult audience. Thus making parents want to take their children to see it. There was only ever one problem I had with the Wreck-It Ralph, and it was that there doesn't happen to be all that much going on during the film. There are not as many video games outside of the retro introduction and once the introduction has been done--there ends up being a complete lack of anything retro. The film doesn't seem to keep consistent, though other than that...Wreck-It Ralph is a great film and is rather enjoyable if you have at least a minimal knowledge of video games. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Revolyutsiya191Jan 3, 2013
This film was an instant classic. Though much the film's praise comes from its use of copyrighted characters, the original characters really stand out on their own. Ralph is an interesting antihero who actually has some disagreeable qualitiesThis film was an instant classic. Though much the film's praise comes from its use of copyrighted characters, the original characters really stand out on their own. Ralph is an interesting antihero who actually has some disagreeable qualities that make him more interesting; the writers did a successful job at making a character like Vanellope actually *endearing* and not just obnoxious, as happens in many other movies with similar characters; and Sgt. Calhoun is unforgettable and reminiscent of Treasure Planet's Captain Amelia. For a kids' movie, the narrative was top-notch. There were no lazy narrative tricks or plot contrivances thrown in -- all of the plot twists and developments are hinted at earlier in the film and make sense in the established "world" of the film, and, as a corollary, everything mentioned earlier in the film has a satisfying payoff later on.

I predicted while walking out of the theater that people would complain about a perceived underutilization of the characters and worlds that Disney got the rights to use. The saying "Give people an inch, and they'll ask for a mile" applies here. I can understand people's desire to see more copyrighted characters and worlds, but the film deserves praise for using those *at all* and doesn't deserve to be docked points for not using them as much as the reviewer wanted. People who expected this movie to be a modern-day "Cartoon All-Stars" were bound to be disappointed, as this movie was always meant to be a Disney film starring original characters flavored by familiar faces and locales. The few worlds that Ralph visits are well-developed and represent a broad array of video game archetypes: His own world (representing classic arcade platformers like the original Donkey Kong); "Hero's Duty" (drawing inspiration from "Halo," "Gears of War," "Mass Effect," and generic arcade FPS games); and "Sugar Rush," inspired by various Japanese kart-racing games. Introducing any more worlds would have made the film seem too rushed; as it is, I felt amazed that they were able to fit as much as they did within the film's runtime.

In all, it's a great film for gamers of any age, especially those of us with fond memories of arcades and 8-bit games.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheGalaxiaMasteJan 5, 2013
This movie was an absolute blast. Charming animation, lovable characters and above all a story that's totally Disney. It doesn't rely on the gaming characters too much and the story and worlds were great. There were some clever jokes, greatThis movie was an absolute blast. Charming animation, lovable characters and above all a story that's totally Disney. It doesn't rely on the gaming characters too much and the story and worlds were great. There were some clever jokes, great ideas and above all some plottwists that I didn't saw coming (Wait, the main antagonist is WHAAAAT?). The 3D is wonderfull too. There are some cliches, but still the best gaming movie of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
metabulldogMay 10, 2013
This movie is one of the most clever, fun-filled, and original movies I have ever seen. There is rarely a dull moment, and it is family friendly but will be a hit for adults as well. This comedy is sure to make you laugh and connect with theThis movie is one of the most clever, fun-filled, and original movies I have ever seen. There is rarely a dull moment, and it is family friendly but will be a hit for adults as well. This comedy is sure to make you laugh and connect with the characters as you complete this awesome adventure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BreakingBradJan 24, 2013
Wreck-It Ralph is not only the best animated movie to come out this year, but it's a heartwarming adventure movie that really is for true video gamers. I love video games, and I have played all the classics like Super Mario, Pac-Man, SonicWreck-It Ralph is not only the best animated movie to come out this year, but it's a heartwarming adventure movie that really is for true video gamers. I love video games, and I have played all the classics like Super Mario, Pac-Man, Sonic the Hedgehog, and even newer games like Call of Duty or Halo, and they all add up to what makes this new film so fantastic. It takes the world of arcade games and shows us the view of the bad guy, who may not be so bad after all. The creators of the game really know what makes Disney Animation the best in the business, because just like a Pixar film, they are able to touch the core in the kid in us and able to give even an adult like me a great time. My only complaint about this film is that although they have many video game characters and worlds, we mostly spend time in a game called Sugar Rush. It's a candy world with a lot of characters that reminds me of Strawberry Shortcake or something, and I just felt like the movie could've explored a lot more games than a candy world. But this is not a big problem, because the movie itself is a great and wonderful time for all ages, and I think this is without a doubt the best video game movie ever made. I loved the story and animation, but the characters are what make Wreck-It Ralph so incredible. I honestly loved every character in the film, even Vanellope von Schweetz who I thought I was going to hate. This movie has a lot of heart and a lot of fun, and you need to see to see it right away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheFineBroFeb 23, 2013
Completely one of the greatest animated films of all time. It has many funny jokes, sad parts and such a colorful art direction and one of the greatest i have seen in years. Just amazing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
tomboskettFeb 24, 2013
A very good film that will entertain both the kids and adults. The many video game references are brilliant. It provides the usual vast number of emotions you would expect from a disney film. Although thoruoghly enjoyable and entertaining itA very good film that will entertain both the kids and adults. The many video game references are brilliant. It provides the usual vast number of emotions you would expect from a disney film. Although thoruoghly enjoyable and entertaining it does not quite rank up there with the greatest animated disney films. Still definitely worth a watch though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WeaselboystFeb 6, 2013
This was a pleasant surprise. Didn't expect much because I always found Disney-produced CGI films somewhere between 'okay' and 'good'. Wreck-It Ralph blew me away with its story and lively setting. It was heartwarming and fun, a combination IThis was a pleasant surprise. Didn't expect much because I always found Disney-produced CGI films somewhere between 'okay' and 'good'. Wreck-It Ralph blew me away with its story and lively setting. It was heartwarming and fun, a combination I look for in these types of movies. I want to see this again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
khviviDec 26, 2013
A surprisingly brilliant film, has plenty of both funny and sad parts, as per usual from Disney, and as a gamer the multitude of game references were nice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Nostalgic9tailsFeb 9, 2013
When I first saw a preview for this film, right away, I knew I wanted to see it. And I was not disappointed in the least. The acting with the characters was genuine because the VAs worked in the same room together as opposed to other animatedWhen I first saw a preview for this film, right away, I knew I wanted to see it. And I was not disappointed in the least. The acting with the characters was genuine because the VAs worked in the same room together as opposed to other animated films where each VA is in a different recording room. I enjoyed how the focus wasn't on mainstream video game characters and how they were only in the film for a maximum of 5-10 minutes. That keeps the attention on the main characters without forcing pop-culture references. The worlds were beautifully well done, even the Fix-It Felix world which was only a penthouse and garbage dump in front of a black backdrop. I wanted to know what would happen to each of the main characters, and each of them received a very fitting ending. The twist at the end was barely predictable (at least for myself and the people I went to go see it with) and, as it is Disney, I was left crying at the appropriate moments. Even the soundtrack was wonderful, I purchased it shortly after seeing the film. This is a rare movie for me in the case that I put in money and effort to see it multiple times. I will definitely be buying the DVD once it comes out and I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Disney, video games or just a good story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NicalapegusFeb 14, 2013
Few movies deliver emotional notes on all levels. Even fewer accomplish that while delivering a story based on video game characters living in an arcade game machine. Wreck-It Ralph does all this while appealing to non-gamers and gamersFew movies deliver emotional notes on all levels. Even fewer accomplish that while delivering a story based on video game characters living in an arcade game machine. Wreck-It Ralph does all this while appealing to non-gamers and gamers alike. It's a good movie. Go watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
18jcroneFeb 16, 2013
Are you big on video games? Have you ever watched a movie about video games? If you haven't this movie is for you, it has lots of video game cameos, great story, beautiful animation and just as much fun to watch as playing a video game!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
khutchDec 21, 2013
At first, just not convincing, but after half hour of movie, he turns, the characters take you, and come on, a happy ending once in a while is always good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
christhebeast42Jul 21, 2013
This movie is the current generations Toy Story. Is it as good as toy story? No, but this is the best animation of 2012. John C. Reilly is really good as ralph,(who didn't tear up when he was about to die) Sarah Silverman was pretty good,This movie is the current generations Toy Story. Is it as good as toy story? No, but this is the best animation of 2012. John C. Reilly is really good as ralph,(who didn't tear up when he was about to die) Sarah Silverman was pretty good, whoever voiced fix-it felix was good, same for king candy. The comedy is really good(most of it provided by king candy). There was a lot of obscure and easy to see references, and the credits had a lot of references too. Kids will love this movie and so will adults. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WarHero373Mar 7, 2013
Wreck it Ralph is a rather fresh and new style of movie. It has the feel of a pixar film, but in a few ways could even be better. I am looking forward to Wreck it Ralph 2 to see what they can come up with next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ExKingNov 28, 2013
Wreck it Ralph is easily one of the best animations i have ever seen, the idea behind it is so creative and so beautiful that keeps you in excitement and anticipation the entire time, it's a class A movie with all it's element, from theWreck it Ralph is easily one of the best animations i have ever seen, the idea behind it is so creative and so beautiful that keeps you in excitement and anticipation the entire time, it's a class A movie with all it's element, from the voices to the story to the picture. and this one deserved the Oscar for best animated film more than Brave by miles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJJan 13, 2016
Wreck it Ralph is animation every kid, adult, odl school gamer should watch! Nostalgic characters and adorable story! It's an absolute must watch for everyone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mapizarroDec 27, 2013
Manichean characters are some typical things in Disney features but in "Wreck-It Ralph" tries to call into question this. Neither good people are so good neither bad people are so bad. "Tangled" is good, "Wreck-It Ralph" is better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SolidWeaselMGSMar 23, 2013
I actually expected less, maybe 7/10. But THIS movie is one of the best animated movies of 2013 (in where I live) and of all time. It's so good, I am wondering why people HATE IT?!? I tell you, it's no mixed bag, it's a Pick n Mix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Apr 13, 2013
I love a tremendous movie from disney that wasn't a part of Pixar, yet like "Tangled" it captivates the heart just like most Pixar movies. The movie really struck me with it's amazing anamation, along with bringing in some beloved games ofI love a tremendous movie from disney that wasn't a part of Pixar, yet like "Tangled" it captivates the heart just like most Pixar movies. The movie really struck me with it's amazing anamation, along with bringing in some beloved games of our time like "Pac-Man", "Sonic" and even "Mario", (I'm talking about Bowser). But never the less, it took me by surprise. As far as storytelling, it's seems typical, but once you start to go for the ride, your having a blast. Plus, the characters are really interesting and captivate your heart with great voiceovers such as John C. Reily, Jack McBryer, Sarah Silverman and even Jane Lynch. And at the end, you will have had a heart warming experience. Overall, it's a wondorous non Pixar movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joeyriosApr 9, 2013
I've never seen such a big, bold, extremely original and intellectually smart film as "Wreck-It Ralph". Truly lovable to its highest peak, it will not leave you unsatisfied! It's the meca of how quality animated films should be made. TrustI've never seen such a big, bold, extremely original and intellectually smart film as "Wreck-It Ralph". Truly lovable to its highest peak, it will not leave you unsatisfied! It's the meca of how quality animated films should be made. Trust me, instead of looking for the next action-packed flick, detour for a minute and devour this movie to pieces, just to have all its meaning into you. The greatest animated Pixar movie I've ever seen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PStakhivMay 21, 2013
Best animated movie this year for me. Loved the characters(all of them), very well placed humor, nice 3d effects, and it's super original, therefore it deserved it's place among Oscar's nominee!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PimpinpakmanMay 6, 2013
Awesome movie. I loved all the references and character cameos from the video games of years past. It was funny, clever and nostalgic. It would be a shame for anyone to miss out on this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Skullgirlsfan13May 14, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's about time a movie based off a video game; or in this case video game based, and I'm very glad that I spent the last of my allowance to see in it in theaters. I think just about everyone can make the connection that this movie is based off the Donkey Kong games from the early years; at least gamers know probably, and I guess that they couldn't get the rights to the characters so they improvised. I'm not entirely sure though. First off, it's about time, that we have a movie that's about video games and doesn't suck. I said it already, but it's so exciting. Enough with the geekgasm, I should start talking about why I like this film. Some of things that stand out in this film are the visuals, they are a joy to look at and have a lot of imagination put into them. Varying from arcade classic theme, dark gritty, and childlike. The characters are good, the main character has reasonable reasons for doing what he's done, the supporting cast are fun. Some have the cute brat charm, while others have the army general type. Story is great too, talking about how it feels to be the bad guy; of course it's circumstantial, but it does get the point across and the main character shows very good development. This is one of my favorite Disney films, and it surprises me in how this wasn't a Pixar production. I guess there's this giant plot hole near the end, but I don't see it as a major problem. I believe this is one of the best Disney films out there, and is certainly a joy to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nippu33May 15, 2013
A great animation of the Disney studios. Ralph is a movie magically colorful and lively with a well done storyline, fantastic scenery and characters and charismatic and funny, making for a fun family film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
fogzaMay 27, 2013
Nice idea it straddled the line between appealing to adults and kids quite well until the second act of the movie, where it did slip just a little. I think it's quite interesting how the movie directly referenced popular video games (postNice idea it straddled the line between appealing to adults and kids quite well until the second act of the movie, where it did slip just a little. I think it's quite interesting how the movie directly referenced popular video games (post modern to the extreme) instead of designing thinly disguised similiar characters from known games it happens but it's still not very common. One day we won't always have to reference Greek mythology or other classic works for people to consider it an interesting comparison. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ItsRaininMenJun 20, 2013
Wreck-it Ralph has become one of my favorite movies of all time! The characters are pretty well developed for a kids movie, the animation is A+ quality, the soundtrack is great, it's very original, and has a great message. The only thing thatWreck-it Ralph has become one of my favorite movies of all time! The characters are pretty well developed for a kids movie, the animation is A+ quality, the soundtrack is great, it's very original, and has a great message. The only thing that bothered me was the occasional heavily corny joke, but, the rest of the movie was so amazing that it doesn't really matter that it had some corny jokes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
"Wreck-It Ralph" is film that dives into the world of video games (and for a video gaming lover like me, how could I not like this film). "Wreck-It Ralph's beginning is great, I would have given it a 9 or 10 due to the fact that it deals with"Wreck-It Ralph" is film that dives into the world of video games (and for a video gaming lover like me, how could I not like this film). "Wreck-It Ralph's beginning is great, I would have given it a 9 or 10 due to the fact that it deals with a fresh, original, and amazing world that is so interesting and fun to watch. However, once "Wreck-It Ralph" deals with its plot, it somewhat doesn't take advantage off its terrific universe. When "Wreck-It Ralph" spent a majority of the film in a game called "Sugar Rush", and I felt that it somewhat weakened the premise of the universe, as after a few minutes you can easily get over the "Sugar Rush" game. "Sugar Rush" was fun and somewhat creative, but the film spent to much time in it, and I felt that this movie could have gone as a chase through many games and expand to their film's universe, but no, it focused on "Sugar Rush". The story on Vanellope is sad (somewhat average), and Ralph's bad guy story gives emotions too, but it's climax is too kid friendly and I thought it could have dove into a much better and stronger conclusion involving the video game universe. Characters other than that are basically comic-relief, except for maybe the villain, but the villain isn't that well written and could have been stronger considering of the several menacing villains in the video game world. If comparing this to Brave, I thought they have the opposite strengths and weaknesses, and both having an "okay" plotline "Brave" has strong characters, but a so-so theme/premise; "Wreck-It Ralph" has so-so characters, an amazing theme/premise, but could have been built on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HansFlicksJul 5, 2013
The 8-bit era is close to the heart of many a gamer, evoking a deep nostalgia for days gone by. Wreck-It Ralph firmly latches on to this sentiment, providing the older members of the audience with just as much to enjoy as the kids.The 8-bit era is close to the heart of many a gamer, evoking a deep nostalgia for days gone by. Wreck-It Ralph firmly latches on to this sentiment, providing the older members of the audience with just as much to enjoy as the kids.

Disney's business practices aren't always seen in a positive light, but there can be no argument as to the consistency of the films they put out. They have a knack for producing stories that live long in the memory of both children and adults alike. This particular movie is no exception and, whilst the plot is far from original in terms of its themes and morals, it's done with such heart that it really doesn't matter. There are lazy genre flicks, but there are also good genre flicks, and this certainly falls into the latter category.

The world itself is realised with great attention to detail. The bright colours and finely detailed environments giving a real sense of how much work has gone into the production. The sights and sounds of the arcade are also integrated into the action with great effect, the mindful application they receive giving the impression that it's not just the audience that has been hit with a dose of nostalgia.

As per usual for Disney, the voice acting is top notch, with stars as diverse as Jane Lynch and Dennis Haysbert lending their expertise to bring the world to life. The characters are also very well conceived, each with their own cross to bear as they live out their lives as jobbing sprites in the local arcade. The art of tempering cuteness with a degree of sadness is where the film really excels, never coming close to the point of being off-putting through being sickly sweetness.

Rounding out the characters is a huge cast of extras taken from a variety of retro gaming sources. Everything from Street Fighter to Sonic, Mario to Q*bert is represented, and it never fails to raise a smile for those who look upon them with fondness. From a marketing perspective, it's a masterstroke. The kids get their serving of fun, but the appeal extends to a whole different generation, drawn in by the promise of a trip down memory lane.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Such a wonderful film i can not believe i did not see this in theaters. Everything from the dialog to the CGI was perfect. One of the best films of 2012 and the movie that iv'e had the most fun watching in 2013 so far. For me it's the bestSuch a wonderful film i can not believe i did not see this in theaters. Everything from the dialog to the CGI was perfect. One of the best films of 2012 and the movie that iv'e had the most fun watching in 2013 so far. For me it's the best video game related movie ever easily. all the characters all the little references had me laughing from start to finish.

(Ralph)John C. Reilly was perfect i don't think they could have picked anyone better for the voice acting. Vanellope(Sarah Silverman) was my favorite character for sure she was so cute and so funny and almost everything she said had me smiling. Felix(Jack McBrayer) was like his every day person well at least how he acts like how he acts in all his movies or t.v. shows a funny but still kinda shy guy still he is great. Calhoun(Jane Lynch) was great and funny but still brutal for her character got to love a woman that can kick some butt =P

Im so glad that i finally watched this movie i had bought it off Playstation network but the blu ray release is soon and i will be buying this on blu ray. Overall i give this movie a solid 8.5 and i will for sure be watching this movie a couple more time this year
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysApr 24, 2014
Wreck-it Ralph is one of the most original, sweet, and funny Disney movies to come out in years. Everything in the movie is colorful and dazzling, and it takes you back to the retro era of video gaming. It's message and heart are the bestWreck-it Ralph is one of the most original, sweet, and funny Disney movies to come out in years. Everything in the movie is colorful and dazzling, and it takes you back to the retro era of video gaming. It's message and heart are the best parts about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersDec 31, 2016
I'm sure you guys can tell from looking at my profile that I love me some video games. Gaming has been a hobby of mine since I was old enough to hold a controller, and I have no plans to stop gaming anytime soon. So, naturally, when I hearI'm sure you guys can tell from looking at my profile that I love me some video games. Gaming has been a hobby of mine since I was old enough to hold a controller, and I have no plans to stop gaming anytime soon. So, naturally, when I hear Disney is making a film about video games, the first thing out of my out is "YES PLEASE!" And thankfully, Disney delivered with "Wreck-it Ralph." The film is funny, beautifully animated, heartwarming, smart and well-written with fantastic characters and plenty of amazing video game references. If you are a gamer, you HAVE to watch this movie, as it essentially proves that you can make a film about video games and make it good. And even if you aren't a gamer, you should go check it out anyway! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tngo2400Oct 27, 2013
Wreck it Ralph Movie Review

Wreck it Ralph is one of the greatest animated movies that is thrilling, hilarious, creative, and full of emotions. Audiences can understand Ralph’s perspective of feeling like a “nobody.” The story line flows
Wreck it Ralph Movie Review

Wreck it Ralph is one of the greatest animated movies that is thrilling, hilarious, creative, and full of emotions. Audiences can understand Ralph’s perspective of feeling like a “nobody.” The story line flows very well and is great for children of all ages. The movie is about a game character who struggles to become a hero by obtaining a medal. Ralph strives to become a hero by surviving in another game called “Hero’s Duty.” Although he won the medal, he accidentally brings a “cy-bug” with him which can jeopardize the whole game system. Ralph and Vanellope have explored Candy Land adventures and met an enemy called “King Candy” which then gives a great twist to the story. In my perspective, Wreck it Ralph does not need any improvements since it effectively presents a successful story of Ralph finding his own true meaning of himself and is seen as a hero all along. I think the director of this movie did a wonderful job in creating each scene and making sure it flows smoothly until the very end. Overall, the movie is thrilling and did not fail to entertain the audience and myself.

Literary: The spoken language is completely English and each of the main characters changes through out the film by further exploring their inner personality. The main issue of the movie is that Ralph fails to become a hero since he is always the “bad guy.” Ralph's situation with the cy-bug caused more problems and have jeopardized the game system.. The story was very interesting to me since the plot was well developed and characters had very unique personalities.
Dramatic: The setting of this movie was very extraordinary. All the features in “Candy Land” were made out of candy and most of these candies were from Willy Wonka Company. The colorful backgrounds and scenery were very impressive and creative.
Cinematic: In several scenes of the movie, the music flowed very well with the action of the characters. I believe the music is appropriate and fits well with the scenarios. The music is fun, playful, and great for children.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
owlman1996Dec 9, 2013
This is one of the greatest animated movies that I have ever seen. I would say that it is amazing to a level par to Toy Story. Every character was portrayed well. The plot was exciting and not too predictable. My favorite part, however, wasThis is one of the greatest animated movies that I have ever seen. I would say that it is amazing to a level par to Toy Story. Every character was portrayed well. The plot was exciting and not too predictable. My favorite part, however, was that the characters weren't people. They had their own issues, and the making it relate-able to the human viewers was executed magnificently. The humor was rich and the story decently captivating. Amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ShadowRNov 13, 2013
Oh yeah. This movie is HILARIOUS! If you are a big fan of video games, then you will fall IN LOVE with this movie. I used to think this movie was stupid, then I watched it, and I changed my mind. It's anything but!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RasenDec 29, 2013
This movie is my most absolute number 1 favourite disney movie, its cleaver, funny and IT HAS GAME CHARACTERS IN IT! which is brilliant because this title has limitless potential for future sequals, its got something for everyone you couldThis movie is my most absolute number 1 favourite disney movie, its cleaver, funny and IT HAS GAME CHARACTERS IN IT! which is brilliant because this title has limitless potential for future sequals, its got something for everyone you could possibly want in a Disney film, I never used to be a huge fan but now I am! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TimeOfTheChimpsJan 23, 2014
An excellent tribute to games that have passed, Ralph features an outstanding voice cast, amazing visuals, and hilarious video game references that will make anyone smile.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmVirtueMar 12, 2014
Let me tell you: I am not a fan of Disney movies at all, but this one right here, is one that just can't be ignored. Wreck It Ralph is one of the most cleverly written and created films ever made by Disney, possibly even further than just Disney.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscMar 15, 2014
i love wreck it ralph its everything i seen in an animated film but not like this . there should be more violent but still loved it . but sugar rush is for gay girls and boys which i hated in this film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BurkzyOct 17, 2014
I'm a gamer, this movie, just.. oh wow, i'm just waiting for Wreck-it-Ralph 2, those nostalgic video game characters, that storyline, This is the best Disney movie.

Gamers, watch this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KayakMar 4, 2014
The concept and animation is just brilliant. Although the constant cameos and popular references, the occasional over-use of wordplay and a slight lack of emotional connection drag it down slightly, especially when compared to other recentThe concept and animation is just brilliant. Although the constant cameos and popular references, the occasional over-use of wordplay and a slight lack of emotional connection drag it down slightly, especially when compared to other recent Disney entries, it's still a great family film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DrewtheDude85Mar 29, 2014
The Greatest Video Game movie of all time! I loved it. I thought Disney did a masterful job on this movie! It has a lot of great references to different video games out there like Sonic the Hedgehog, Pac-Man, Tapper, Super Mario Bros and manyThe Greatest Video Game movie of all time! I loved it. I thought Disney did a masterful job on this movie! It has a lot of great references to different video games out there like Sonic the Hedgehog, Pac-Man, Tapper, Super Mario Bros and many others! Of course it's not just the references that make the movie brilliant, I also thought the story was fantastic, it had some good humor and a lot of "heart" to it. I do agree with a lot of people with the whole fact that this movie may have spent a little too much time in the Sugar Rush game; I would've liked it if they would've just explored other different games. Of course I understand that Disney couldn't just pull references out in every nook in cranny probably due to the copyrighting section of their budget. But I love what this films offers, I think that anyone could enjoy this game even if you are not a gamer. It so great to finally see a movie about video games that is actually good, because there are so many video game movies made out there that have been epic fails, but Wreck-It Ralph is a huge exception. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
InspectorJavertMay 10, 2014
Wreck It Ralph is one of the best movies that Disney's made so far in this century. For me, its somewhere between Frozen and Tangled. Wreck It Ralph is very creative, and will likely appeal to gamers more than anyone else. That's not to sayWreck It Ralph is one of the best movies that Disney's made so far in this century. For me, its somewhere between Frozen and Tangled. Wreck It Ralph is very creative, and will likely appeal to gamers more than anyone else. That's not to say that there isn't something here if you're not a gamer, in fact there's a hell of a lot here to enjoy. There's a lot of heart and fun in the movie, and it delivers a strong message for the kids. Although I enjoy Tangled as a whole more, I think Wreck It Ralph has far superior themes and messages. The relationship between Ralph and Vanellope is really touching and believable. Although the two characters are not related, Wreck It Ralph conveys a much stronger sibling bond than Frozen managed to achieve. Wreck It Ralph is great, and its definitely one of Disney's more underrated films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IMAX500May 22, 2014
I Love Video Games so much! This is one of them. some them I know. Hero's Duty? Good joke for that! HA! Love that Joke! Other jokes like when ralph goes into the chocolate river and does that darth Vader Breath. Nice!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SparklinDiamondApr 27, 2014
I have loved John C Reilly ever since I watched Chicago. Now this is the perfect voice role for him, you never have trouble believing that Ralph is exactly how he looks, which is odd. Wreck it Ralph is so unique, the people at Disney are justI have loved John C Reilly ever since I watched Chicago. Now this is the perfect voice role for him, you never have trouble believing that Ralph is exactly how he looks, which is odd. Wreck it Ralph is so unique, the people at Disney are just getting more and more creative. Wish I had their imaginative talent! This is amazing, I loved the way they could travel from game to game via wires, so creative! The characters are lovable and Vanellope is so cute! The fact the movie centres around 3 main game worlds shows how much they have thought about it. Wreck it ralph is kind of neutral ground, Heroes duty is aimed more at the male population and then of course Sugar Rush is aimed more at the female population. That is so clever as regardless if you agree with those stereotypes there will be one world you prefer, but this keeps everyone interested at some point of the movie. Thumbs up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
reellmJun 3, 2015
5/5★
One of those rare films that despite catering to a wide audience is genuinely entertaining to all, from classic arcade games nostalgists to little kids enjoying all the candy and colors on display. Ralph has so much going on in each
5/5★
One of those rare films that despite catering to a wide audience is genuinely entertaining to all, from classic arcade games nostalgists to little kids enjoying all the candy and colors on display. Ralph has so much going on in each frame that repeated viewings are never boring but a chance to discover previously missed gags.
The originality is a breath of fresh air, and the obvious effort and care that was put into creating the film is on full display but most surprising of all is the heart- it never feels forced. Too many other animated films try too hard and never quite capture that elusive...Pixarism is the word for the magic Pixar weaves into their films.
Verdict: Watch
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
timrichieOct 8, 2014
Boasted by a clever script, and remarkable performances by John C. Reilly and Sarah Silverman, this nostalgic animated excellence could not be any better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
diop333Oct 27, 2014
The colors, the video game references, the characters, the story, the music, the voice acting, the animation. This movie has all the ingredients to fall in love with and that cute little girl from Sugar Rush is sweeter than sugar itself. ThisThe colors, the video game references, the characters, the story, the music, the voice acting, the animation. This movie has all the ingredients to fall in love with and that cute little girl from Sugar Rush is sweeter than sugar itself. This is one of the greatest Disney animation I think and yeah it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tbone413Dec 5, 2014
Amazing movie, loved everything in Wreck-It Ralph. It's funny, has an excellent storyline and can be enjoyed by anyone big or small. I also like the way the use video games in the film, to also have a game feel in the movie. One of Disney'sAmazing movie, loved everything in Wreck-It Ralph. It's funny, has an excellent storyline and can be enjoyed by anyone big or small. I also like the way the use video games in the film, to also have a game feel in the movie. One of Disney's greatest movies of all time to me. It has everything you would ever want in a film. Well done, Disney. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LocoGuy107Jan 7, 2015
"One of the most original films in years" indeed! I loved every bit of creativity that Disney has placed into this wholly beautiful and charming film, especially with the puns involved (Nesquik sand, LOL)!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SwJohnsonJan 19, 2015
What a movie, I mean it's fantastic, so original. Who could come up with such a great idea. I love the charters, and the voice acting was great. This is well worth the watch, with the kids or course, works of cinematic genius are best whenWhat a movie, I mean it's fantastic, so original. Who could come up with such a great idea. I love the charters, and the voice acting was great. This is well worth the watch, with the kids or course, works of cinematic genius are best when they are family friendly. Here is a great example of such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BV-SwiftyApr 20, 2015
I friggin' love this movie! This has got to be my absolute favorite animated movie I have ever seen! The animation was fantastic, the characters were very well developed, and it's just plain hysterical! This movie has plenty of memorableI friggin' love this movie! This has got to be my absolute favorite animated movie I have ever seen! The animation was fantastic, the characters were very well developed, and it's just plain hysterical! This movie has plenty of memorable moments and so many video game references, it's mind numbing! This movie literally describes why we love gaming and I wouldn't have it any other way! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
I can easily say with clear confidence that Wreck-It Ralph is the greatest video game movie ever made. Brilliantly combining the surreal childhood nostalgia of "Who Framed Roger Rabbit?" with the emotionally deep storytelling of the ToryI can easily say with clear confidence that Wreck-It Ralph is the greatest video game movie ever made. Brilliantly combining the surreal childhood nostalgia of "Who Framed Roger Rabbit?" with the emotionally deep storytelling of the Tory Story trilogy, this is one of those rare animated movies that appeals just as much to kids as it does to adults. The characters are genuinely likable and consistently funny, the brightly colored visuals are fantastically detailed, and the ingenious references to classic video games like Pac-Man and Streeth Fighter are a ton of fun to point out. Not only is this one of the most creative and entertaining films I've seen in 2012, but it actually made me feel like a kid again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffMar 17, 2015
'Wreck-It Ralph' is one of those rare original movies from Walt Disney Animation Studios, in other words, it's not based on fairy-tales, it's not based on true stories or anything else for that matter. It's just an idea that came from a'Wreck-It Ralph' is one of those rare original movies from Walt Disney Animation Studios, in other words, it's not based on fairy-tales, it's not based on true stories or anything else for that matter. It's just an idea that came from a writer's head and sold it to whatever studio is willing to accept it.

The movie focuses on a typical bad guy from a popular "Fix-It Felix Jr." video game named Ralph (voiced by John C. Reilly) whose depression gets the better of him since the game is about to reach its 30th anniversary and he feels unpopular and unloved.

Whenever the arcade closes, the video game characters go on to their daily lives of going to bars, or just hanging out at another game program.

Can't blame him, when was the last time you played "Super Mario" and thought maybe you should give Bowser a break? Why would you? He keeps kidnapping the Princess.

Ralph decides that enough is enough and must earn everybody's respect the same way that the ever so popular Felix Jr. (Jack McBrayer) has earned everybody's respect. In order for Ralph to prove himself, he needs to win a medal and it is there that he will get what he desires.

He tries to do this by "game-hopping", in other words, one video game character entering a different video game, kind of like seeing Sonic the Hedgehog appear out of nowhere in the game "Luigi's Mansion". Ralph enters a game called "Hero's Duty", a homage to the ever so popular "Call of Duty". He meets a very ballsy female action hero called Sargent Calhoun (Jane Lynch), who is a very funny character as she takes no nonsense and has more guts than most men, including Ralph.

Ralph manages to receive the medal, but accidentally takes a ship and a harmful "Hero's Duty" bug into another game called "Sugar Rush" which combines the visual aspect of "Candy Crush" and the gameplay style of "Mario Kart". He meets a young girl named Vanellope Von Schweetz (Sarah Silverman) who takes his medal and uses it to enter the race that she cannot be a part of.

We also meet a mysterious leader named King Candy (Alan Tudyk), who does not want Vanellope to compete in the game and tries to stop Ralph from letting her do so.

The funniest parts in the movie include the surprising romance between Fix-It Felix Jr. and Sargent Calhoun, the way the writers pull that off with intentional cliches, but genuine chemistry is very well done.

'Wreck-It Ralph' is a highly entertaining and colorful movie and one of the best movies of 2012. It shares the same spirit as the "Toy Story" films, maybe that's because it is executive produced by John Lasseter who never falls short of great imagination, and considering that it's made by Walt Disney Animation Studios instead of Pixar Animation Studios (which had 'Brave' that felt more Disney), it's understandable to get the two confused.

Great cast, great humor, great animation and a great story. 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GentM2015Jun 10, 2015
My favorite animated movie of all time and one of the best movies in general ever.Disney does such an astonishing job here as they have done everywhere else.Ralph is such a likable character and his friendship with Vanellope is done in such aMy favorite animated movie of all time and one of the best movies in general ever.Disney does such an astonishing job here as they have done everywhere else.Ralph is such a likable character and his friendship with Vanellope is done in such a beautiful way.I love this film so much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
S3AN06Jun 17, 2015
This movie can only be described by one word: SPECTACULAR! Wreck-it Ralph is my number one favourite movie of all time and is definitely for those who are a big fan of video games like myself.

Though the story may sound a little **** it
This movie can only be described by one word: SPECTACULAR! Wreck-it Ralph is my number one favourite movie of all time and is definitely for those who are a big fan of video games like myself.

Though the story may sound a little **** it still amazed me with how Disney made a movie based on video games and included nearly every video game character noticeable; Each character has their own personality which makes up for the story:
Ralph wants to prove he can become a good guy despite playing the role of a bad guy in his game.
Felix is kind hearted and cares for those around him, even if they are villains in their respectful games.
Calhoun is programmed to have a tragic back story that scars her for life but overcomes the problem.
Vanellope being left out all because she's a glitch but in reality, that's a cover up; she's really trustful and can make good jokes for laughs.

Wreck-it Ralph is the only movie that I'd watch over and over again and will never grow tired of it; with many interesting characters and funny moments, Disney has made a masterpiece of a movie and for that, I rate this movie a 10 out of 10.

The movie truly deserves a sequel that features more game jumping, more game characters and more screen time for most of the characters like Candlehead and Mario (despite not appearing in the movie but has a reference).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
Wreck -it Ralph is an amazing movie where the classic arcade video games have their own life , but no more an affair of the villain is the protagonist, and so remains after Villain , but has a good villain heart of hero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoOct 2, 2015
Even if you're not into video games, you might like this movie. There are certain terms you'd need to understand but you don't need a vast knowledge of them. Just a little note, this is NOT a Pixar film, contrary to popular belief. ItEven if you're not into video games, you might like this movie. There are certain terms you'd need to understand but you don't need a vast knowledge of them. Just a little note, this is NOT a Pixar film, contrary to popular belief. It definitely feels like one but it's actually Disney. Nevertheless, it's an excellent movie. The characters are likeable, there are some good twists and the story is great. I had to wait till 2013 to see this because that's when it comes out in Ireland and it was well worth the wait. I'm very excited for the sequel! Recommended for all ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
diegonelliSep 13, 2015
It's a stupid story but I love it, I watched it like 20 times and I'm not bored of it. I love the world that they create inside videogames. Also, 666 ratings :0 hahaha.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeDec 28, 2015
A great movie about video games in the arcade. You can pretty much enjoy the eye-seeking game on many cameos of video game characters everywhere while watching the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mellow_Online2Feb 13, 2016
On IMDB I criticized Super Mario Bros. as a bad movie adaptation of the video games, so after I reviewed that I decided to write a review of a good movie about video games and I consider Wreck-It Ralph to be among the better ones.

The plot
On IMDB I criticized Super Mario Bros. as a bad movie adaptation of the video games, so after I reviewed that I decided to write a review of a good movie about video games and I consider Wreck-It Ralph to be among the better ones.

The plot follows a video game villain called Ralph who has served as the bad guy in his video game for 30 years, but he's sick of being a bad guy and decides to leave his game in order to become a hero in another. He ends up becoming a hero by getting a medal in a FPS, but when he's leaving he ends up losing it and is thrown into a racing game and in there he encounters a girl called Vanelope who has dreamed of competing in the race for ages and finally gets a chance to when she steals the medal from Ralph and uses it to enter the race. Ralph learns the only way to get his medal back is to help Vanelope win the race. However, back at Ralph's old game, due to Ralph not being in the game, when their game starts up, Ralph is not there so they are temporarily put out of order, so Ralph is also on a time limit to get back to his old game before it's shut down for good. Scenes seem well thought out and seem to know when they might seem to start to run stale and cut themselves off before it does, with the exception of a couple of scenes. Scenes are also well thought out however a couple of scenes near the beginning there were a few scenes that fealt unnecessary. For example near the beginning, Ralph is going through a metro, which is actually the wires running from the back of the arcade machines which all lead to a power source and can go to whatever game they want. The scene when they do this feels unnecessary because the whole 3 minute scene builds up to a joke which I only got a chuckle out of.

The cinematography in this film is very good. They have a mixture of sets that they experiment with and all of them add to the overall feels that we are in totally different environments as we jump from game to game.
When we're in sugar rush, we are in a bright colourful environment with bright personalities but when we're in the fps, we're in a setting that looks a bit like the Alien movies with dark setting and more serious personalities.

The films comedy is mostly good. Most of the jokes work however there were a couple of jokes that I predicted the outcome. One thing I'll admire about the joke department in Wreck-It Ralph is that it doesn't rely on running gags to fill in it's comedic element like most other comedies, instead it relies on mostly thought out humour and light hearted jokes to get itself through and I admire it for that.

The music is well composed but there are a couple of questionable music choices. For example when Vanelope is driving around they chose "shut up and drive." That might sound like a good music choice on paper but in my opinion, I don't think it works in it's execution. Apart from that the music is good.

The acting is also good, however none of the acting particularly stood out. The acting was good but I can't really think of any voice actors in particular that gave a noteworthy performance, except for Alan Tudyk as King Candy. He gives off a gr8 comedic voice for a villain that still fits in with the game he's from.

Overall I still really enjoyed Wreck-It Ralph despite the film having a few shortcomings. I would recommend it to nearly everybody I know. Go out and watch this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DavidTejadaNov 5, 2016
It might be Disney most ingenious and ambitious movie. With Wreck-it Ralph besides the very well animation it's showed the creativity of the producers to offer to audience. With honest emotion and team work, it earns the appreciation of everyone
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gameguardian21Jun 19, 2016
This is a video game movie done right, even though it doesn't really focus on video games that much. It has the animation, as well as the emotional feel of disney movies. The only real problem I have with this movie is that it didn't get thatThis is a video game movie done right, even though it doesn't really focus on video games that much. It has the animation, as well as the emotional feel of disney movies. The only real problem I have with this movie is that it didn't get that feel of it being a video game movie that much, but it's still there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheSpacecatFeb 28, 2016
I love this movie. It's not the best and It's defiantly not on the level of classics such as "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" but it does come close. It has lots of vibrant backgrounds, colorful characters, has a ton of heart, and it takes fullI love this movie. It's not the best and It's defiantly not on the level of classics such as "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" but it does come close. It has lots of vibrant backgrounds, colorful characters, has a ton of heart, and it takes full advantage of the world it takes place in. Would recommend any day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FuturedirectorMar 22, 2016
Wreck-it Ralph shows an awesome story-telling, excellent entertainment, pretty animation and unforgettable characters with an inventive premise to give another great Disney film that any kind of viewers will enjoy, despite the many plots andWreck-it Ralph shows an awesome story-telling, excellent entertainment, pretty animation and unforgettable characters with an inventive premise to give another great Disney film that any kind of viewers will enjoy, despite the many plots and the not-as-better-enough final. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mellow_Online4Mar 22, 2016
I criticised Super Mario Bros. on IMDB as a bad movie adaptation of the video games, so after I reviewed that I decided to write a review of a good movie about video games and I consider Wreck-It Ralph to be among the better ones.

The plot
I criticised Super Mario Bros. on IMDB as a bad movie adaptation of the video games, so after I reviewed that I decided to write a review of a good movie about video games and I consider Wreck-It Ralph to be among the better ones.

The plot follows a video game villain called Ralph who has served as the bad guy in his video game for 30 years, but he's sick of being a bad guy and decides to leave his game in order to become a hero in another. He ends up becoming a hero by getting a medal in a FPS, but when he's leaving he ends up losing it and is thrown into a racing game and in there he encounters a girl called Vanelope who has dreamed of competing in the race for ages and finally gets a chance to when she steals the medal from Ralph and uses it to enter the race. Ralph learns the only way to get his medal back is to help Vanelope win the race. However, back at Ralph's old game, due to Ralph not being in the game, when their game starts up, Ralph is not there so they are temporarily put out of order, so Ralph is also on a time limit to get back to his old game before it's shut down for good. Scenes seem well thought out and seem to know when they might seem to start to run stale and cut themselves off before it does, with the exception of a couple of scenes. Scenes are also well thought out however a couple of scenes near the beginning there were a few scenes that felt unnecessary. For example near the beginning, Ralph is going through a metro, which is actually the wires running from the back of the arcade machines which all lead to a power source and can go to whatever game they want. The scene when they do this feels unnecessary because the whole 3 minute scene builds up to a joke which I only got a chuckle out of.

The cinematography in this film is very good. They have a mixture of sets that they experiment with and all of them add to the overall feels that we are in totally different environments as we jump from game to game. When we're in sugar rush, we are in a bright colourful environment with bright personalities but when we're in the fps, we're in a setting that looks a bit like the Alien movies with dark setting and more serious personalities.

The films comedy is mostly good. Most of the jokes work however there were a couple of jokes that I predicted the outcome. One thing I'll admire about the joke department in Wreck-It Ralph is that it doesn't rely on running gags to fill in it's comedic element like most other comedies, instead it relies on mostly thought out humour and light hearted jokes to get itself through and I admire it for that.

The music is well composed but there are a couple of questionable music choices. For example when Vanelope is driving around they chose "shut up and drive." That might sound like a good music choice on paper but in my opinion, I don't think it works in it's execution. Apart from that the music is good.

The acting is also good, however none of the acting particularly stood out. The acting was good but I can't really think of any voice actors in particular that gave a noteworthy performance, except for Alan Tudyk as King Candy. He gives off a gr8 comedic voice for a villain that still fits in with the game he's from.

Overall I still really enjoyed Wreck-It Ralph despite the film having a few shortcomings. I would recommend it to nearly everybody I know. Go out and watch this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
superbatAug 24, 2016
One of the best animated movies ever made. It has great voice-acting, excellent performances, awesome characters, and it is packed with video game references. I like Pixar films when they break out of the old "mold,"
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SimpsonFansAug 4, 2016
WOW!, Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most amazing movies that I have the oportunity to watch this year. The story can sounds simple, but the magic of the movie start when you watching the cameos of all the famous characters that we know. TheWOW!, Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most amazing movies that I have the oportunity to watch this year. The story can sounds simple, but the magic of the movie start when you watching the cameos of all the famous characters that we know. The animation is really incredible, is like watch much movies in one. The screenplay can be the weak point of the movie, but don't have much importance when you watch a funny show, and Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most funny "shows" of this year. Amazing movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rgillesp15Sep 14, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Introduced to a generation just short of Pac-Man’s rise to fame, “Wreck It Ralph” (2012) is an animated film produced by Walt Disney Animation Studios that showcases the once-loved arcade classics in new light that shines with a luminance meant to be loved by the modern generation. Ralph, voiced by John C. Reily, is a muscular “freak” who has only one function; using brute force to make a high-rise apartment building look like a victim in Tarantino’s “Pulp Fiction” by assaulting its walls with a barrage of punches and kicks. Then follows the high-spirited Fix-It Felix Junior; a handyman voiced by “30 Rock’s” Jack McBrayer who wins the hearts of the Nicelanders through his overly exuberant repair jobs on the post-Ralph crippled structure. In accordance with his efforts, Felix is regularly invited to their high-class parties, while Ralph is condemned every night to the town junkyard—a critical character dynamic that sets the stage for the rest of the film’s events to unfold.

After decades of this existence, Ralph yearns to escape, and that's the excuse for the movie to break free from the confines of its game. Ralph journeys through power cables and a surge projector to a place named Grand Game Central, where iconic arcade characters can travel and socialize. Wanting to finally gain recognition and acceptance of the Nicelanders, Ralph ventures out to find proof that he too, can be a “good-guy”. This effectively sets the stage for conflict and misadventures that come to follow, ultimately allowing Ralph to find not only recognition and respect, but himself as well.

In comparison to other animated films of its time, the design principles and color palette of "Wreck-It Ralph" are unprecedented, dazzling, and nothing short of incredible, created by high-end animation software including Maya, Houdini, etc. From the cutesy sparkles in Sugar Rush, all the way to the frenetic steam and flying ash effects in Hero’s Duty; The visuals offer unlimited sets, costumes and rules, giving the movie tireless originality and unique life in every cyber world that the viewer is immersed in.

Originally making his mark through work on the popular TV show, The Simpsons, director Rich Moore incorporates a familiar concept deviating from “Toy Story’s” clandestine world, when the arcade shuts, the machines come to life — a concept loaded with its own set of rules such as never jumping between games. In this sense, Wreck-It Ralph is unique among the few videogame-themed movies that exist today — it actually displays a genuine love for its subject, jam-packed with a clever balance of timeless, 8-bit humor and mild jeopardy that viewers of all ages can deeply appreciate. While younger viewers will most likely be attracted to the stunning CG visuals and witty character of Vanellope von Schweetz, seasoned gamers are invited to spot Sonic the Hedgehog, Pac Man, among the countless other cameos that clutter Game Central Station. Even adults, who may feel less persuaded to see such a movie, are offered sanctuary with the unlikely blooming romance between Felix Jr. and Jane Lynch’s dominatrix Marine, Calhoun. “Wreck It Ralph” truly is a rare family film that speaks to two generations at once. Both will come out satisfied, some more than others.

One feat that this film accomplishes surprisingly well is the effective portrayal of a role reversal, in the sense that the protagonist (Ralph) in reality, is only a villain in his video game. Despite being programmed as a villain however, there are a majority of scenes, including in the beginning that can evoke sympathy for Ralph from audiences. Other scenes, especially during his time with Vanillope and their growing friendship, show him as the kind, caring, and selfless person he truly is. Through his friendship with Vanillope that he learns what it truly means to be a hero. To top things off, the movie recharges for a hectic final act, throwing viewers into a wild “Mario Kart-eqsue” goose chase. These principles provide rich and immersive, top-notch storytelling, assisted with the exceptional use of a wide variety of camera angles, visual effects, and character development. All of which are prevalent throughout the film, and worked harmoniously with the less glamorous ones, thus forming a well delivered, successful and cohesive film overall. I highly recommend this film for audiences both young and old; particularly those who hold an interest in arcade classics or lovers of Adam Sandler’s “Pixels” (2015).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
J2005Sep 15, 2016
Wreck-It Ralph combines witty nostalgia with classic Disney heart and sensibilities while still providing enough sass and energy to implant the film firmly into today.

The end result is a video game based modern day classic capable of
Wreck-It Ralph combines witty nostalgia with classic Disney heart and sensibilities while still providing enough sass and energy to implant the film firmly into today.

The end result is a video game based modern day classic capable of being enjoyed by gamers and non gamers of all ages.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Henry_b1Feb 12, 2017
An excellent family watch with entertainment for adults. The characters are great and the message is good. It's constantly entertaining and you can really relate to the characters and the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews