User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 587 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 587

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2013
    7
    Creativity is key in Wreck-It Ralph; Disney
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best animated films of 2012.
  3. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    This movie was an absolute blast. Charming animation, lovable characters and above all a story that's totally Disney. It doesn't rely on the gaming characters too much and the story and worlds were great. There were some clever jokes, great ideas and above all some plottwists that I didn't saw coming (Wait, the main antagonist is WHAAAAT?). The 3D is wonderfull too. There are some cliches, but still the best gaming movie of all time. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Fantastic movie. Not only is the soundtrack incredible amazing for an movie (Especially the song AFTER the movie, from Owl City!) The characters are also lovable and interesting, the story is unique in the sense that it makes you think someone is a bad thing and they turn out to be good and it also has a plot twist in the end. And the references to other games like Pacman and Sonic are also amusing and cool. I really love this movie and I suggest every gamer (Even the ones who play Call of Duty, since - SPOILER - there is a Call of Duty reference in the movie..) should go watch it. Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Hilarious, flawlessly made and great entertainment for all viewers. Wreck-it Ralph will please both gamers and film goers alike with its utterly beautiful and brilliant execution and will keep both the young and the old constantly entertained.
  6. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    This film was an instant classic. Though much the film's praise comes from its use of copyrighted characters, the original characters really stand out on their own. Ralph is an interesting antihero who actually has some disagreeable qualities that make him more interesting; the writers did a successful job at making a character like Vanellope actually *endearing* and not just obnoxious, as happens in many other movies with similar characters; and Sgt. Calhoun is unforgettable and reminiscent of Treasure Planet's Captain Amelia. For a kids' movie, the narrative was top-notch. There were no lazy narrative tricks or plot contrivances thrown in -- all of the plot twists and developments are hinted at earlier in the film and make sense in the established "world" of the film, and, as a corollary, everything mentioned earlier in the film has a satisfying payoff later on.

    I predicted while walking out of the theater that people would complain about a perceived underutilization of the characters and worlds that Disney got the rights to use. The saying "Give people an inch, and they'll ask for a mile" applies here. I can understand people's desire to see more copyrighted characters and worlds, but the film deserves praise for using those *at all* and doesn't deserve to be docked points for not using them as much as the reviewer wanted. People who expected this movie to be a modern-day "Cartoon All-Stars" were bound to be disappointed, as this movie was always meant to be a Disney film starring original characters flavored by familiar faces and locales. The few worlds that Ralph visits are well-developed and represent a broad array of video game archetypes: His own world (representing classic arcade platformers like the original Donkey Kong); "Hero's Duty" (drawing inspiration from "Halo," "Gears of War," "Mass Effect," and generic arcade FPS games); and "Sugar Rush," inspired by various Japanese kart-racing games. Introducing any more worlds would have made the film seem too rushed; as it is, I felt amazed that they were able to fit as much as they did within the film's runtime.

    In all, it's a great film for gamers of any age, especially those of us with fond memories of arcades and 8-bit games.
    Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    3
    "Wreck-It Ralph" starts out completely promising, witty, and filled with a sense of smart blending of arcade and video game culture. However, as the film progresses, the story becomes weak and the characters are lackluster in any comedic wit or compassion. The film fails as a comprehensive plot and becomes a completely missed opportunity for the blending of such popular characters sharing the screen for one of the first times. Expand
  8. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    This movie was okay, but I don't know why everyone loves it so much. The storyline was fine, but pretty predictable. It was good for one viewing, but I don't have any desire to watch it again.
  9. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    If there's one word to describe this, it's original. Funny, sassy and incredibly clever. Best Disney movie in a long time, if not ever. In the beginning the concept is hard to grasp, but along the way, the characters explain it rather enjoyably. Wreck-it Ralph is a symbol of what it is in the arcade: here for a long time to come, even as other films come and go.
  10. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Wreck-It Ralph is an original feel good movie sure to please audiences of any age.
  11. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Wreck-It Ralph is one of the best movies of 2012. There were moments when I went "Awwe", moments when I went "Woah!", moments when I cried, and moments when I was shocked. It was a fantastic movie that you will always remember!
  12. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Very good movie. The voice acting was great, and the animation/art style was quite impressive. There are only two minor annoyances - the change in pacing made the second half of the movie take a little bit of time to get used to (although you do eventually warm up to it), and I wasn't too fond of the bathroom humor.
  13. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    This movie was well done, compared to other video game movies that were very unsatisfying and unrelated to the games, technically, this isn't a video game movie, but an arcade movie. This movie had its funnies and didn't mess up. There is only one problem with this movie, because I'm a gamer, and that would be the limited video games showcased in the movie (around 3-5). I also dislike the main place where the movie takes place (Sugar Rush) it makes it seem like this movie was made for girls than guys. Overall, 8.4/10 Expand
  14. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    Oh it owns. It reeks of Disney -sap, but hey what animation doesn't nowadays. Fun game references galore. I can't see someone not liking this movie. Very enjoyable.
  15. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    Saw it in theaters, in 3D, loved it. Smart, funny, touching, different...W-I R was a great experience. I really like seeing Disney making great movies again.
  16. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Fantastic movie. I feel like this movie had a lil' something for everybody. For the gamer there were flashbacks to great games of the past (as well as little hidden nuggets that only gamers could pick up on), It also had a well thought out plot with thoughtful moments that pulled at your heartstrings. It was also very funny; I found myself laughing out loud numerous times. And last but not least, it even had a great twist that most viewers most likely did not see coming. All in all, Wreck-It-Ralph is a movie for people of all ages. Go see it today! Expand
  17. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    I thought it was enjoyable, animation quality is good, story is decent. Not something I would go out of my way to watch, but not something that I would avoid either. Basically, at the end of the movie I didn't think "Wow that was awesome" but I also didn't think "I want my money back"
  18. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Disney has a hit on it's hands. A strong story with lovable characters as well as a hilarious look into the world of video games makes the movie original and fun. Easily the best animated film of the year. A must see for any gamer out there.
  19. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Spearheaded by pristine animation, an intricate story, and a talented vocal cast, Disney Animation's love letter to video games proves to be both affecting and amusing.
  20. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Well, it wasn't terrible. Usual kid fare. My son liked it, I guess that qualifies it as a success for the studio. Of course, he eats his boogers and wets the bed, so congrats Hollywood, demographic achieved. On an up note, Jane Lynch is a nice touch.
  21. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    How many fits have Disney animations have? Earlier this year Brave was released in theaters, which was a huge it, both critically and in box office. In past years, Disney animations also produced hits in all three Toy Story movies, my personal favorite The Incredibles, Wall.E and so much more to name. To date, Disney animations has not made a bad movie yet. Will Wreck-it Ralph be another Disney hit? On the other hand, will it be a rare flop for the great animation studio? Wreck-it Ralph has a talented cast. John C. Reilly as the lead, who has very good, Sarah Silverman was great as the little squeaky voiced girl, which lead to tones of good laughs, and then Jane Lynch who stole the whole show every time she had her wise cracking, Expand
  22. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Wreck-It Ralph is not Toy Story but the experience was the same. Video game references, colorful soundtrack and heartwarming story. Damn, it's one of the best animation this year.
  23. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    One of the best movies I've seen. It obviously features all of those appearances from famous video game characters such as Sonic that you've probably heard about, but it features a great story that will get any kid or gamer interested. The characters are great, the voice acting fits perfectly, it has a great soundtrack & it had a huge plot-twist that is sure to surprise you. All in all, if you haven't seen it yet, go do it as soon as possible. Expand
  24. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    A 3D cinema-going for the weekend of this latest Disney animation (by the luckiest chance I found one in its mother tongue). Being mainly ignorant towards the video games territory, which surprisingly did
  25. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Absolutely loved it. Laughed all the way through. Possibly the best animated film since The Incredibles. My ten year-old son thought it was the best he had seen in over a year. Very heartwarming as well.
  26. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    With deep characters, creative settings, and a surprisingly clever plot, Wreck-It Ralph is definitely one of the biggest (and best) surprises of the year! From start to finish, "Ralph" never ceases to deliver enough fun for the younger audience and even succeeds in appealing to the older generation with nostalgic references and a rich, satisfying story. Being "bad" has never felt so "good" until you watch this movie. Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    Great concept, pretty decent delivery.

    Everything is videogame related with the exception of when you visit the candy game... from that point all the focus is on candy and how the candy can be made into story segments... I felt like it was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and the videogame aspect disappeared. I fell asleep for about 10 minutes during the introduction to that universe,
    I was bored to death... then it went back into gaming comedy and I was hooked again. Great movie... really hope a sequel is made. Also... no Mario!? Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Pass. I right this review for adults that like animated films, like myself. This movie had a great concept, and the world was well defined in the first 20 minutes. After that, all your beloved classic video game characters disappear from the movie. I thought the movie was going really well up until the point where Wreck-It Ralph reach the candy racer video game. This is when the movie turned terrible. I don't think I smiled or laughed once for the next hour. I will however give them credit for the last 15 minutes of the movie, which was the best part. This movie had great potential, but most of it ended up being the same quality as Ice Age. Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    I really enjoyed the look of the movie, and the 3D is good as well. The script, however was a little weak. I loved the originality of the story, but it simply wasn't funny enough. Even the kids in the theater weren't laughing all that much. I was also a little disappointed that Ralph didn't visit more games. The previews made it look like he was a rogue character that escaped from his game and went to others, but he only visited two other games and most of the movie took place in the Candy game. That's where the movie got a little too routine for me. Still, it was entertaining enough to give it a pass. Not one of Disney's best movies, and certainly not in the league of "Tangled". Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    The movie was great. I thought the storyline was well done and the references were spot on. It was funny, witty and something that I will definitely buy on Blu Ray.
  31. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played lots of games at a younger age and not nearly so much now as I am crazy consumed with work and school but, having said all of that, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie! I just saw it last night (11/11) and it was even better than I had anticipated. Loved the reminiscing I got from seeing some of my favorite characters like Storm from Mortal Combat. But, the movie was also very much for adults since the language wasn't totally geared towards tweens which made it even more enjoyable and took away any feeling that I was too old to watch it. I think it's one of the best animated Disney movies (very comparable to Pixar) produced in a long time! Expand
  32. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Saw this movie a week after release with my girlfriend. Us both being gamers and suckers for anything that reminded us of our youth. we saw this movie expecting greatness, and what we got was better then that. If you love video games with a religious passion then this movie will make you cry tears of joy at every moment of it (ad we did). the animation, sound, voice actors and plot are all completely solid. i have no complaints about this movie and would gladly watch it again for double the price. Expand
  33. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    This film is one of my best of the year. First, because of the retro references like Pac-Man, Super Mario Bros, Sonic and especially Fix-It Felix. Secondly, the film will appeal to children who love animated films, as well as old people are nostalgic for their old video games. And finally, the story is fun and active, there is not too cheesy love that Disney has accustomed us. This is one of the best if not the best Disney movie in the last five years, and perhaps even the last ten years. The characters are lovable and endearing, it attaches quickly to Ralph, Felix, Vanellope, Calhoun, etc.. Their stories are interesting because they are very different and original, allowing the writer to expand his ideas. Finally, this film and one of the best movies from 2012 to date, so I advice you, be with family or friends. Expand
  34. Nov 9, 2012
    6
    This latest animation from Disney takes place in a world of video games. John C. Reilly voices the titlular character, who's frustrated with being the bad guy and escapes into other games to prove himself. The pacing never lags and the visuals are snappy and colorful. Supporting voices like Sarah Silverman, Jack McBrayer and Jane Lynch add personality. I never played video games, so some of the old game references were lost on me, but there weren't that many inside jokes for grown-ups. Kids should find this cute and sweet. BTW, there's a charming, but very grown up black and white animation that preceeds the feature. Expand
  35. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Finally a film (excluding Argo) that actually lives up to the hype. Wreck-It Ralph is pure fun entertainment. It'll have you laughing out loud, and it'll even have you tear up a bit. You really get a great feel for the characters. Disney did a very solid job with this movie. Great story, great characters, good fun, what more can you ask for? Wreck-It Ralph is definitely worth your time and your money. Good nostalgiac fun for all. 9/10 Expand
  36. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    I Loved This Movie! Possibly The Best Animated Movie Of 2012! Very Creative, Never A Dull Moment!
    Love The Video-Game Style!
  37. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    As both a fan of animated movies and video games, this movie was a delight. I was impressed by the perfect level of cameos mixed with original content. The movie is filled with old arcade and 90s era video game references that will go over kids heads, however they will love the vivid characters, fun slapstick, and overly silly tone the film presents. Appealing for all ages it tells a fun and original story that I'm sure everyone will enjoy (even if you aren't a kid or obsessed with video games). Expand
  38. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    If you are a gamer, and a gamer from the older generation, this movie is for you. All the little tidbits from the Konami code to Zangief's underwear paired with the overall tender story make this movie hilarious and extremely entertaining. In no other film will you see Dr Robotnik, Bison, and Bowser sitting in a support group while Ken and Ryu hit up Tapper's after a long day of work. Innovative, interesting, and of course the movie discusses the general issues surrounding the video game industry in a poignant way. Highly recommended for children and adults alike. Expand
  39. map
    Nov 5, 2012
    0
    Anyone that gives it a 10 was pair to do so or have been heavily warped. This movie is presented in a nice way like chocolate coated crap.
    Movie should have a Content advisory for plenty of reasons. This movie is more targeted to adults than kids to attract the adults to take the kids. It
  40. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Who knew Sarah Silverman could be so cute? I thought Ralph was voiced by Seth Rogen at first but John Reilly does great. Jane Lynch delivers too in a subplot that got the younger viewers barfing. The conversation between Vanellope and Ralph about Hero's Duty got me spitting pop and popcorn. And it wouldn't be a Disney movie without a little tear-jerker of a message. The kids will love it.
  41. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Cool and retro. Nice gags and has a great message. Not the best but very good. Why do they make so many wonderful animated movies these days but cannot get live action to get this good vibe to them. Wait for the end of the credits to see the Disney kill screen!
  42. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    WOW!, Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most amazing movies that I have the oportunity to watch this year. The story can sounds simple, but the magic of the movie start when you watching the cameos of all the famous characters that we know. The animation is really incredible, is like watch much movies in one. The screenplay can be the weak point of the movie, but don't have much importance when you watch a funny show, and Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most funny "shows" of this year. Amazing movie. Expand
  43. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Wreck-It Ralph is a fun movie for all ages, and even more-so if you're a fan of video games. While it's not the best movie to use video games as a subject, it does well in incorporating references and nostalgic tidbits of games both new and old. My only complaint is the way the movie was advertised. Trailers, sneak-peeks and even cast interviews claim that Wreck-It Ralph is about a character who "jumps" between a number of different video games. Yes, it was there, but he only went to three: his own, a Halo-like shooter, and a Candy Land-esque racing game where the majority of the film takes place. This is quite upsetting, due to the fact that I, like many others, expected Ralph to "jump" to many different games. I don't think this movie was as good as it should of been. The first third of the film is surprisingly fun, refreshing and exciting. But it starts to slow down, and things seem to just stop. The video game references stop, the excitement isn't there, and good ole' Disney magic kicks in with a generic plot and the same generic problems we've seen over and over. To sum it all up, Wreck-It Ralph is 1/2 video game referencing fun, and 1/2 a Disney movie. If ANYONE else made Wreck-It Ralph, it could have been a blast. But, Disney's kid-oriented restrictions kept a lot of fun at bay. I'm disappointed that this wasn't what it could have been, but, it's still a good movie. Expand
  44. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    One of the best Movies I have seen in a long times, especially coming from the Disney Animation studio. If you're a video game fan, prepare to at least see the movie twice, or get it on DVD as it is loaded with cameos and Easter eggs. While the story is Disney typical, it respects the video games and even makes fun of itself in the process yet never straying too far from its roots.

    I'm
    going to go see it again. Expand
  45. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    If you ask me, this is great enough to be a pixar film. Its the most fun i've had with an animated film since "Toy Story 3". If you were one of many who were dissappointed by "Brave", then check this out. It has the charm and great characters of a Pixar movie, coupled with some great humor that seems to take inspiration from Dreamworks Animation. At first, the title character Ralph seems mean-spirited, but he later turns out to be a great hero. Older viewers will recognize the games shown and feel the nostalgia, and younger viewers will appreciate the colorful animation. But what older and younger viewers can agree on is that Wreck-it Ralph's storytelling and emotion is top notch. Expand
  46. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    It's a movie by gamers for gamers, and easily the best video game movie ever made. Disney adds polish, flair, and wit throughout the entire movie. There will be numerous references that will ignite memories and the hearts of every gamer. Ralph and Vanelope are likable characters and their journey is a heartfelt one with much purpose. The visuals are fantastic, it really shows how far animation has come, as has gaming. Wreck-It Ralph touches on every genre of game, new and old, it's the perfect tribute and a hilarious movie, balancing out in every area. Expand
  47. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Wreck-it Ralph is an awesome animated film. I did get a little sick from the spinning bright colors and Sarah Silverman's voice. Still, the movie is filled with great 8-bit references, yet, don't rely on simple inside jokes to give an entertaining story. And I have to admit--I don't often respect any animated film that isn't created by Pixar but Wreck-it Ralph pretty much left Brave sucking haggis.

    You won't enjoy this if you don't like movies without cuss words and/or nudity and you'll pretty much hate it if you're an avid opposer to your children playing video games. But if you are a gamer or at least interactive-curious--I say grab the closest kid and go enjoy this movie!
    Expand
  48. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Disney kicks ass with their new cartoon Wreck-it Ralph.
    This animation film has a lot of emotional moments, good script, great animation and spectacular visual effects.
    If haven't seen this film yet - reading this review is your excuse. Go see this cartoon on the big screen - you won't regret it.
  49. Nov 4, 2012
    5
    it's a huge missed opportunity. You start expecting Ralph to dive into a diversity of videogame genres (fighting, rhythm action, platform, adventures, etc) but instead he just passes through 3, his own, a halo like game, and a mario kart-esque game in wich the majority of the picture takes place. The whole thing ends up feeling boring and incomplete, when it could have been a blast instead. Worst thing is the producers actually played royalties to many videogame companies, you can see street fighter characters (capcom), mario characters (nintendo), Sonic (SEGA), in addition to pac-man, and Q-bert; but they never actually used their worlds, they just make cameos with a total screen time of a few minutes. If you're a videogame fan like myself prepare to be dissapointed Expand
  50. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    If you've read my other reviews, you are probably well aware that I love video games and movies. This movie takes my two favorite things, and throws them into one. Now the question is: does it work? The answer is an absolute YES!!! In fact, this movie is so good, that it is now one of my favorite movies of all time! It is funny, has memorable characters, great animation, and the most original setting in the history of cinema. I really have very little to complain about in this movie. Okay, so there might be one or two little things. For one, there are several video game characters that I wanted to see in this movie, but weren't there (seriously, Disney shows no love to Mario, Link, Samus or any other heroic Nintendo character). Yes they did mention Mario at one point, but that doesn't count. Also, I found the plot to be a little bit unoriginal, and predictable. A super villain who wants to be good? I'm pretty sure that's been done before. It also follows a pattern that I like to call the classic Disney film plot. In other words, if you have seen any other Disney movie, you can probably guess what this movie's plot is like. Despite this, the original setting makes you completely forget about the plot. This really is an excellent movie, and is totally worth watching if you love animation, movies, video games, an original setting, or just want a movie that has quite an adventurous feel behind it. Expand
  51. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    anyone around the age of 10 to 30 years old will enjoy this movie. Even though it has it's childish jokes, there are some references to some retro games that are just AMAZING, I was laughing for so long and never actually thought anyone would do something like it.
    May not be a masterpiece, but it's a damn fine movie wort watching if you're a gamer
  52. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    "I'm Gonna wreck it!" Once I saw the trailer for the first time I was hooked and knew I had to see it. I loved the very cool idea of video game characters in an arcade that had homes they went back to after their "work day" in the arcade game was over. It is jam packed with references to old school arcade games and being 40 I remember playing Q-bert and Pac-man etc. in the arcade. I like how it fused a character from a more modern game into the plot which was centered on an older 8-bit game. A large part of it takes place in a game called 'Sugar Rush' which was cute and funny but a little too cutsie for me. It seemed to be aimed more at kids than adults, which is a no-brainer but many movies like this have a ton of jokes for adults too and some of the retro game stuff was but it was just very cutsie. The script was good with decently fleshed out main characters and overall it was a good amount of laughs and entertainment. Expand
  53. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I'm a 18 year old dude who only plays Call of Duty and Madden and I loved all the old arcade references in this movie. Despite a slow segment in the start, the film has a bunch of heart, laughs and a decent twist. Much like Shrek with fairy tales, this may be the start of a new franchise with classic characters and new worlds. Great for both kids and adults.
  54. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    Terrific movie. There were plenty of laughs for both the adults and the children present, and gamers will be thrilled to see all of their favorite childhood mascots well represented. I should mention though, that you don't have to be a gamer to enjoy the movie. After all, its real strength isn't the laughs or wacky characters, it's the strong story, which oozes heart and class. It was far more emotionally involved than I was expecting, and received a loud applause at the theater I saw it at. Check it out. Expand
  55. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    At face value, it's an aesthetic sugar rush of humor and excitement through a video-game rendering of "Candy Land". For the adults among us it's a story of identity, and perhaps more importantly, it's a master-class interpretation of the age-old question, "what truly makes a hero?"

    You'll laugh, you'll cry -- and if you're like me, your heart will soar before the closing credits.
    Welcome to the Disney family, Ralph. Highly recommended. Expand
  56. Nov 2, 2012
    6
    While Wreck-It Ralph has surprises and jokes in every corner of the frame, its one minor flaw is its pacing. The first third of the film is manic. We
  57. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Best movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie has it all. Disney has a real winner on it's hands. I saw the movie 2 months before release and couldn't want to line up at a theater to pay my money to go see it again. This is a movie you will have to get on Blu-Ray and pause just to catch all the hidden "easter eggs' if you will. LIke "No Campers" written in graffiti on the walls or coins coming out of Sonic when he gets bumped into. The very opening scene blows you away when you go from 2D view of the Fix it Felix Jr. game into the 3D immersive world. Ralph is a great hero to root for and Vanellopee is lovable and cute with just the right amount of feisty-ness. Over a great cast, many laughs, and a great ride into the world of video games new and old. Expand
  58. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This movie was a fantastic depiction of the lives and coalescence of many nostalgic video games dating back as far as 1981 (Qix), and as recent as today (Sonic, Bowser, etc.). This makes the film recognizable to the rounded ages of four to forty, given times of development. Go see it.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 9, 2013
    40
    For me, it never came to life.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    A "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" for the joystick generation that, despite a mid-act dip into generic Disney territory, high-scores on laughs, invention and 8-bit affection.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Kelly
    Jan 21, 2013
    80
    A Disney flick that feels like on-form Pixar, blending knowing humour and sophistication with a large helping of heart. You'll want another go.