Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 2, 2012
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 737 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
670
Mixed:
38
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
DukeJonJun 10, 2013
A film based on video game characters coming to life? Video games are so popular it's amazing that nobody has made a film like this before. Everything starts off well, the graphics and animations are outstanding and there's a great mix ofA film based on video game characters coming to life? Video games are so popular it's amazing that nobody has made a film like this before. Everything starts off well, the graphics and animations are outstanding and there's a great mix of different styles from different eras (8-bit, 16-bit, etc, with appropriate animations the nicelander people are particularly well done). Everything is introduced well and the first half an hour is a brilliant exercise in spotting the video game cameos. For someone who's been interested in games for a while I loved the more obscure references such as the metal gear exclamation mark.

However once we get to the sugar rush land things start to go a bit wrong. Vanellope starts off cute and the voice work by Sarah Silverman is very good, but unfortunately the character becomes quite irritating with all the breathless rushing around. We also have another story arc going on in the background with Felix and Calhoun but this is quite boring. What the film lacks is a strong comedy sidekick like the donkey in Shrek. I also feel that the film spends too long in Sugar Rush after a while you get bored of
all the chocolate lakes and candy canes and wish they'd take the story to another game for a while. The story is also quite predictable and I was surprised to find myself getting quite bored long before the end. It's a shame because I felt they could have done so much more with the video game premise the entire section in sugar rush who have easily been set in Alice in Wonderland, for example, given the look of the environment and characters.

Overall the film is a mixture of Toy Story and Monsters Inc but isn't as good as either.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
GlooneMar 6, 2013
It's all right. It's tightly plotted, for sure. But I think it was really let down on the comedy side... I didn't really laugh at all, in fact. The script is functional but it just doesn't shine. And I can't help but feel that spending prettyIt's all right. It's tightly plotted, for sure. But I think it was really let down on the comedy side... I didn't really laugh at all, in fact. The script is functional but it just doesn't shine. And I can't help but feel that spending pretty much all of the film in a nondescript candy land was a waste of potential when there was a whole arcade to explore. The visuals and animation are generally rather lovely, though. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
6
reddave2Feb 28, 2013
Wreck-it Ralph is classic Disney. Take away the video game background and it could be any standard Disney movie. But its the video game background that helps make it work. There's lovely in-jokes for older video game fans while still playingWreck-it Ralph is classic Disney. Take away the video game background and it could be any standard Disney movie. But its the video game background that helps make it work. There's lovely in-jokes for older video game fans while still playing with arcade videogame convention in such an obvious way that any age-group can enjoy it. The film is also helped by great vocal talent. Everyone fits their role and help elevate the movie above the likes of rise of the guardians. However the film suffers on two fronts a bare bones plot device and a villain who only really gets revealed near the end. A bit more world building would have helped both. But still, this is a quality animated movie and great fun for video game nerds like myself. The end credits in particular are lovely. Just below a 7 here. If Metacritic allowed decimals, this would be a 6.5.

Special mention for the Disney short at the start Paperman. It's absolutely beautiful and strikes a different tone to the usual Pixxar cute short. Mixing lovely black and white colouring with classic Disney-style aniumation, A movie in this style would be very interesting.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
neilmiltonFeb 15, 2013
I'll start by saying I don't like CG movies. I can never really connect to them. As a game playing teenager, I was enticed by the nostalgia of seeing some of the games from my youth rendered large. All I can say is what a missedI'll start by saying I don't like CG movies. I can never really connect to them. As a game playing teenager, I was enticed by the nostalgia of seeing some of the games from my youth rendered large. All I can say is what a missed opportunity. I thought there was going to be much more game hopping, and more characters featured. There is the whole history of computer gaming to draw from, and yet hardly any of them are featured. I suspect that they had licensing issues. The script wasn't funny and there was nothing in this film for an adult viewer. The main feature little more than a merchandising opportunity with some crass product placement only just about redeems itself in the last five minutes. It failed to have the emotional weight of the second film in the toy story franchise, or that one with the fish that proves you can be affected by the digital image. There was more feeling in the opening 2D short than there was in this entire movie. Probably worth the entrance fee for that alone. Schweet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SliggsFeb 11, 2013
As a self proclaimed gamer I thought the film was only ok. I went into this film expecting it to be centred around Ralph and his interaction with various video game characters that I grew up with. I wanted the film to feature all theseAs a self proclaimed gamer I thought the film was only ok. I went into this film expecting it to be centred around Ralph and his interaction with various video game characters that I grew up with. I wanted the film to feature all these characters prominently but it doesn't. The film basically becomes a film about a racing tournament involving no actual video game characters I wanted to see. It would of been so much cooler if it was something along the lines of (Using this as an example) Bowser and Dr. Robotnik team up, capture Mario and Sonic, and these two villains try to take over all the games in the arcarde. Wreck it Ralps sees this oppurtunity to prove himself as a hero rather than the villain and tries to stop them, and save Mario and Sonic, with other villains being like henchmen or whatever. I was expecting a story something like this. I was very dissapointed Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
lizofstadDec 27, 2012
This movie was okay, but I don't know why everyone loves it so much. The storyline was fine, but pretty predictable. It was good for one viewing, but I don't have any desire to watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OroiaelNov 27, 2012
Well, it wasn't terrible. Usual kid fare. My son liked it, I guess that qualifies it as a success for the studio. Of course, he eats his boogers and wets the bed, so congrats Hollywood, demographic achieved. On an up note, Jane Lynch is a nice touch.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
jlplattenNov 15, 2012
Pass. I right this review for adults that like animated films, like myself. This movie had a great concept, and the world was well defined in the first 20 minutes. After that, all your beloved classic video game characters disappear from thePass. I right this review for adults that like animated films, like myself. This movie had a great concept, and the world was well defined in the first 20 minutes. After that, all your beloved classic video game characters disappear from the movie. I thought the movie was going really well up until the point where Wreck-It Ralph reach the candy racer video game. This is when the movie turned terrible. I don't think I smiled or laughed once for the next hour. I will however give them credit for the last 15 minutes of the movie, which was the best part. This movie had great potential, but most of it ended up being the same quality as Ice Age. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
6
BikerjamesNov 13, 2012
I really enjoyed the look of the movie, and the 3D is good as well. The script, however was a little weak. I loved the originality of the story, but it simply wasn't funny enough. Even the kids in the theater weren't laughing all thatI really enjoyed the look of the movie, and the 3D is good as well. The script, however was a little weak. I loved the originality of the story, but it simply wasn't funny enough. Even the kids in the theater weren't laughing all that much. I was also a little disappointed that Ralph didn't visit more games. The previews made it look like he was a rogue character that escaped from his game and went to others, but he only visited two other games and most of the movie took place in the Candy game. That's where the movie got a little too routine for me. Still, it was entertaining enough to give it a pass. Not one of Disney's best movies, and certainly not in the league of "Tangled". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryNov 9, 2012
This latest animation from Disney takes place in a world of video games. John C. Reilly voices the titlular character, who's frustrated with being the bad guy and escapes into other games to prove himself. The pacing never lags and theThis latest animation from Disney takes place in a world of video games. John C. Reilly voices the titlular character, who's frustrated with being the bad guy and escapes into other games to prove himself. The pacing never lags and the visuals are snappy and colorful. Supporting voices like Sarah Silverman, Jack McBrayer and Jane Lynch add personality. I never played video games, so some of the old game references were lost on me, but there weren't that many inside jokes for grown-ups. Kids should find this cute and sweet. BTW, there's a charming, but very grown up black and white animation that preceeds the feature. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
melchaiosNov 4, 2012
it's a huge missed opportunity. You start expecting Ralph to dive into a diversity of videogame genres (fighting, rhythm action, platform, adventures, etc) but instead he just passes through 3, his own, a halo like game, and a marioit's a huge missed opportunity. You start expecting Ralph to dive into a diversity of videogame genres (fighting, rhythm action, platform, adventures, etc) but instead he just passes through 3, his own, a halo like game, and a mario kart-esque game in wich the majority of the picture takes place. The whole thing ends up feeling boring and incomplete, when it could have been a blast instead. Worst thing is the producers actually played royalties to many videogame companies, you can see street fighter characters (capcom), mario characters (nintendo), Sonic (SEGA), in addition to pac-man, and Q-bert; but they never actually used their worlds, they just make cameos with a total screen time of a few minutes. If you're a videogame fan like myself prepare to be dissapointed Expand
10 of 26 users found this helpful1016
All this user's reviews
6
scottysauceNov 2, 2012
While Wreck-It Ralph has surprises and jokes in every corner of the frame, its one minor flaw is its pacing. The first third of the film is manic. We
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews