User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 614 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 614

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Fantastic movie. I feel like this movie had a lil' something for everybody. For the gamer there were flashbacks to great games of the past (as well as little hidden nuggets that only gamers could pick up on), It also had a well thought out plot with thoughtful moments that pulled at your heartstrings. It was also very funny; I found myself laughing out loud numerous times. And last butFantastic movie. I feel like this movie had a lil' something for everybody. For the gamer there were flashbacks to great games of the past (as well as little hidden nuggets that only gamers could pick up on), It also had a well thought out plot with thoughtful moments that pulled at your heartstrings. It was also very funny; I found myself laughing out loud numerous times. And last but not least, it even had a great twist that most viewers most likely did not see coming. All in all, Wreck-It-Ralph is a movie for people of all ages. Go see it today! Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    I thought it was enjoyable, animation quality is good, story is decent. Not something I would go out of my way to watch, but not something that I would avoid either. Basically, at the end of the movie I didn't think "Wow that was awesome" but I also didn't think "I want my money back"
  3. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Disney has a hit on it's hands. A strong story with lovable characters as well as a hilarious look into the world of video games makes the movie original and fun. Easily the best animated film of the year. A must see for any gamer out there.
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Spearheaded by pristine animation, an intricate story, and a talented vocal cast, Disney Animation's love letter to video games proves to be both affecting and amusing.
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Well, it wasn't terrible. Usual kid fare. My son liked it, I guess that qualifies it as a success for the studio. Of course, he eats his boogers and wets the bed, so congrats Hollywood, demographic achieved. On an up note, Jane Lynch is a nice touch.
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    How many fits have Disney animations have? Earlier this year Brave was released in theaters, which was a huge it, both critically and in box office. In past years, Disney animations also produced hits in all three Toy Story movies, my personal favorite The Incredibles, Wall.E and so much more to name. To date, Disney animations has not made a bad movie yet. Will Wreck-it Ralph be anotherHow many fits have Disney animations have? Earlier this year Brave was released in theaters, which was a huge it, both critically and in box office. In past years, Disney animations also produced hits in all three Toy Story movies, my personal favorite The Incredibles, Wall.E and so much more to name. To date, Disney animations has not made a bad movie yet. Will Wreck-it Ralph be another Disney hit? On the other hand, will it be a rare flop for the great animation studio? Wreck-it Ralph has a talented cast. John C. Reilly as the lead, who has very good, Sarah Silverman was great as the little squeaky voiced girl, which lead to tones of good laughs, and then Jane Lynch who stole the whole show every time she had her wise cracking, Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Wreck-It Ralph is not Toy Story but the experience was the same. Video game references, colorful soundtrack and heartwarming story. Damn, it's one of the best animation this year.
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    One of the best movies I've seen. It obviously features all of those appearances from famous video game characters such as Sonic that you've probably heard about, but it features a great story that will get any kid or gamer interested. The characters are great, the voice acting fits perfectly, it has a great soundtrack & it had a huge plot-twist that is sure to surprise you. All in all, ifOne of the best movies I've seen. It obviously features all of those appearances from famous video game characters such as Sonic that you've probably heard about, but it features a great story that will get any kid or gamer interested. The characters are great, the voice acting fits perfectly, it has a great soundtrack & it had a huge plot-twist that is sure to surprise you. All in all, if you haven't seen it yet, go do it as soon as possible. Expand
  9. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    A 3D cinema-going for the weekend of this latest Disney animation (by the luckiest chance I found one in its mother tongue). Being mainly ignorant towards the video games territory, which surprisingly did
  10. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Absolutely loved it. Laughed all the way through. Possibly the best animated film since The Incredibles. My ten year-old son thought it was the best he had seen in over a year. Very heartwarming as well.
  11. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    With deep characters, creative settings, and a surprisingly clever plot, Wreck-It Ralph is definitely one of the biggest (and best) surprises of the year! From start to finish, "Ralph" never ceases to deliver enough fun for the younger audience and even succeeds in appealing to the older generation with nostalgic references and a rich, satisfying story. Being "bad" has never felt so "good"With deep characters, creative settings, and a surprisingly clever plot, Wreck-It Ralph is definitely one of the biggest (and best) surprises of the year! From start to finish, "Ralph" never ceases to deliver enough fun for the younger audience and even succeeds in appealing to the older generation with nostalgic references and a rich, satisfying story. Being "bad" has never felt so "good" until you watch this movie. Expand
  12. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    Great concept, pretty decent delivery.

    Everything is videogame related with the exception of when you visit the candy game... from that point all the focus is on candy and how the candy can be made into story segments... I felt like it was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and the videogame aspect disappeared. I fell asleep for about 10 minutes during the introduction to that universe,
    Great concept, pretty decent delivery.

    Everything is videogame related with the exception of when you visit the candy game... from that point all the focus is on candy and how the candy can be made into story segments... I felt like it was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and the videogame aspect disappeared. I fell asleep for about 10 minutes during the introduction to that universe, I was bored to death... then it went back into gaming comedy and I was hooked again. Great movie... really hope a sequel is made. Also... no Mario!?
    Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Pass. I right this review for adults that like animated films, like myself. This movie had a great concept, and the world was well defined in the first 20 minutes. After that, all your beloved classic video game characters disappear from the movie. I thought the movie was going really well up until the point where Wreck-It Ralph reach the candy racer video game. This is when the moviePass. I right this review for adults that like animated films, like myself. This movie had a great concept, and the world was well defined in the first 20 minutes. After that, all your beloved classic video game characters disappear from the movie. I thought the movie was going really well up until the point where Wreck-It Ralph reach the candy racer video game. This is when the movie turned terrible. I don't think I smiled or laughed once for the next hour. I will however give them credit for the last 15 minutes of the movie, which was the best part. This movie had great potential, but most of it ended up being the same quality as Ice Age. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    I really enjoyed the look of the movie, and the 3D is good as well. The script, however was a little weak. I loved the originality of the story, but it simply wasn't funny enough. Even the kids in the theater weren't laughing all that much. I was also a little disappointed that Ralph didn't visit more games. The previews made it look like he was a rogue character that escaped from hisI really enjoyed the look of the movie, and the 3D is good as well. The script, however was a little weak. I loved the originality of the story, but it simply wasn't funny enough. Even the kids in the theater weren't laughing all that much. I was also a little disappointed that Ralph didn't visit more games. The previews made it look like he was a rogue character that escaped from his game and went to others, but he only visited two other games and most of the movie took place in the Candy game. That's where the movie got a little too routine for me. Still, it was entertaining enough to give it a pass. Not one of Disney's best movies, and certainly not in the league of "Tangled". Expand
  15. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    The movie was great. I thought the storyline was well done and the references were spot on. It was funny, witty and something that I will definitely buy on Blu Ray.
  16. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played lots of games at a younger age and not nearly so much now as I am crazy consumed with work and school but, having said all of that, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie! I just saw it last night (11/11) and it was even better than I had anticipated. Loved the reminiscing I got from seeing some of my favorite characters like Storm from Mortal Combat. But, the movie was also very much for adults since the language wasn't totally geared towards tweens which made it even more enjoyable and took away any feeling that I was too old to watch it. I think it's one of the best animated Disney movies (very comparable to Pixar) produced in a long time! Expand
  17. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Saw this movie a week after release with my girlfriend. Us both being gamers and suckers for anything that reminded us of our youth. we saw this movie expecting greatness, and what we got was better then that. If you love video games with a religious passion then this movie will make you cry tears of joy at every moment of it (ad we did). the animation, sound, voice actors and plot are allSaw this movie a week after release with my girlfriend. Us both being gamers and suckers for anything that reminded us of our youth. we saw this movie expecting greatness, and what we got was better then that. If you love video games with a religious passion then this movie will make you cry tears of joy at every moment of it (ad we did). the animation, sound, voice actors and plot are all completely solid. i have no complaints about this movie and would gladly watch it again for double the price. Expand
  18. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    This film is one of my best of the year. First, because of the retro references like Pac-Man, Super Mario Bros, Sonic and especially Fix-It Felix. Secondly, the film will appeal to children who love animated films, as well as old people are nostalgic for their old video games. And finally, the story is fun and active, there is not too cheesy love that Disney has accustomed us. This is oneThis film is one of my best of the year. First, because of the retro references like Pac-Man, Super Mario Bros, Sonic and especially Fix-It Felix. Secondly, the film will appeal to children who love animated films, as well as old people are nostalgic for their old video games. And finally, the story is fun and active, there is not too cheesy love that Disney has accustomed us. This is one of the best if not the best Disney movie in the last five years, and perhaps even the last ten years. The characters are lovable and endearing, it attaches quickly to Ralph, Felix, Vanellope, Calhoun, etc.. Their stories are interesting because they are very different and original, allowing the writer to expand his ideas. Finally, this film and one of the best movies from 2012 to date, so I advice you, be with family or friends. Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2012
    6
    This latest animation from Disney takes place in a world of video games. John C. Reilly voices the titlular character, who's frustrated with being the bad guy and escapes into other games to prove himself. The pacing never lags and the visuals are snappy and colorful. Supporting voices like Sarah Silverman, Jack McBrayer and Jane Lynch add personality. I never played video games, so someThis latest animation from Disney takes place in a world of video games. John C. Reilly voices the titlular character, who's frustrated with being the bad guy and escapes into other games to prove himself. The pacing never lags and the visuals are snappy and colorful. Supporting voices like Sarah Silverman, Jack McBrayer and Jane Lynch add personality. I never played video games, so some of the old game references were lost on me, but there weren't that many inside jokes for grown-ups. Kids should find this cute and sweet. BTW, there's a charming, but very grown up black and white animation that preceeds the feature. Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Finally a film (excluding Argo) that actually lives up to the hype. Wreck-It Ralph is pure fun entertainment. It'll have you laughing out loud, and it'll even have you tear up a bit. You really get a great feel for the characters. Disney did a very solid job with this movie. Great story, great characters, good fun, what more can you ask for? Wreck-It Ralph is definitely worth your time andFinally a film (excluding Argo) that actually lives up to the hype. Wreck-It Ralph is pure fun entertainment. It'll have you laughing out loud, and it'll even have you tear up a bit. You really get a great feel for the characters. Disney did a very solid job with this movie. Great story, great characters, good fun, what more can you ask for? Wreck-It Ralph is definitely worth your time and your money. Good nostalgiac fun for all. 9/10 Expand
  21. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    I Loved This Movie! Possibly The Best Animated Movie Of 2012! Very Creative, Never A Dull Moment!
    Love The Video-Game Style!
  22. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    As both a fan of animated movies and video games, this movie was a delight. I was impressed by the perfect level of cameos mixed with original content. The movie is filled with old arcade and 90s era video game references that will go over kids heads, however they will love the vivid characters, fun slapstick, and overly silly tone the film presents. Appealing for all ages it tells aAs both a fan of animated movies and video games, this movie was a delight. I was impressed by the perfect level of cameos mixed with original content. The movie is filled with old arcade and 90s era video game references that will go over kids heads, however they will love the vivid characters, fun slapstick, and overly silly tone the film presents. Appealing for all ages it tells a fun and original story that I'm sure everyone will enjoy (even if you aren't a kid or obsessed with video games). Expand
  23. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    If you are a gamer, and a gamer from the older generation, this movie is for you. All the little tidbits from the Konami code to Zangief's underwear paired with the overall tender story make this movie hilarious and extremely entertaining. In no other film will you see Dr Robotnik, Bison, and Bowser sitting in a support group while Ken and Ryu hit up Tapper's after a long day of work.If you are a gamer, and a gamer from the older generation, this movie is for you. All the little tidbits from the Konami code to Zangief's underwear paired with the overall tender story make this movie hilarious and extremely entertaining. In no other film will you see Dr Robotnik, Bison, and Bowser sitting in a support group while Ken and Ryu hit up Tapper's after a long day of work. Innovative, interesting, and of course the movie discusses the general issues surrounding the video game industry in a poignant way. Highly recommended for children and adults alike. Expand
  24. map
    Nov 5, 2012
    0
    Anyone that gives it a 10 was pair to do so or have been heavily warped. This movie is presented in a nice way like chocolate coated crap.
    Movie should have a Content advisory for plenty of reasons. This movie is more targeted to adults than kids to attract the adults to take the kids. It
  25. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Who knew Sarah Silverman could be so cute? I thought Ralph was voiced by Seth Rogen at first but John Reilly does great. Jane Lynch delivers too in a subplot that got the younger viewers barfing. The conversation between Vanellope and Ralph about Hero's Duty got me spitting pop and popcorn. And it wouldn't be a Disney movie without a little tear-jerker of a message. The kids will love it.
  26. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Cool and retro. Nice gags and has a great message. Not the best but very good. Why do they make so many wonderful animated movies these days but cannot get live action to get this good vibe to them. Wait for the end of the credits to see the Disney kill screen!
  27. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    WOW!, Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most amazing movies that I have the oportunity to watch this year. The story can sounds simple, but the magic of the movie start when you watching the cameos of all the famous characters that we know. The animation is really incredible, is like watch much movies in one. The screenplay can be the weak point of the movie, but don't have much importance whenWOW!, Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most amazing movies that I have the oportunity to watch this year. The story can sounds simple, but the magic of the movie start when you watching the cameos of all the famous characters that we know. The animation is really incredible, is like watch much movies in one. The screenplay can be the weak point of the movie, but don't have much importance when you watch a funny show, and Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most funny "shows" of this year. Amazing movie. Expand
  28. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Wreck-It Ralph is a fun movie for all ages, and even more-so if you're a fan of video games. While it's not the best movie to use video games as a subject, it does well in incorporating references and nostalgic tidbits of games both new and old. My only complaint is the way the movie was advertised. Trailers, sneak-peeks and even cast interviews claim that Wreck-It Ralph is about aWreck-It Ralph is a fun movie for all ages, and even more-so if you're a fan of video games. While it's not the best movie to use video games as a subject, it does well in incorporating references and nostalgic tidbits of games both new and old. My only complaint is the way the movie was advertised. Trailers, sneak-peeks and even cast interviews claim that Wreck-It Ralph is about a character who "jumps" between a number of different video games. Yes, it was there, but he only went to three: his own, a Halo-like shooter, and a Candy Land-esque racing game where the majority of the film takes place. This is quite upsetting, due to the fact that I, like many others, expected Ralph to "jump" to many different games. I don't think this movie was as good as it should of been. The first third of the film is surprisingly fun, refreshing and exciting. But it starts to slow down, and things seem to just stop. The video game references stop, the excitement isn't there, and good ole' Disney magic kicks in with a generic plot and the same generic problems we've seen over and over. To sum it all up, Wreck-It Ralph is 1/2 video game referencing fun, and 1/2 a Disney movie. If ANYONE else made Wreck-It Ralph, it could have been a blast. But, Disney's kid-oriented restrictions kept a lot of fun at bay. I'm disappointed that this wasn't what it could have been, but, it's still a good movie. Expand
  29. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    One of the best Movies I have seen in a long times, especially coming from the Disney Animation studio. If you're a video game fan, prepare to at least see the movie twice, or get it on DVD as it is loaded with cameos and Easter eggs. While the story is Disney typical, it respects the video games and even makes fun of itself in the process yet never straying too far from its roots.

    I'm
    One of the best Movies I have seen in a long times, especially coming from the Disney Animation studio. If you're a video game fan, prepare to at least see the movie twice, or get it on DVD as it is loaded with cameos and Easter eggs. While the story is Disney typical, it respects the video games and even makes fun of itself in the process yet never straying too far from its roots.

    I'm going to go see it again.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 9, 2013
    40
    For me, it never came to life.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    A "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" for the joystick generation that, despite a mid-act dip into generic Disney territory, high-scores on laughs, invention and 8-bit affection.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Kelly
    Jan 21, 2013
    80
    A Disney flick that feels like on-form Pixar, blending knowing humour and sophistication with a large helping of heart. You'll want another go.