Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 2, 2012
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 737 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
670
Mixed:
38
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
voodoogolferNov 2, 2012
Best movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie has it all. Disney has a real winner on it's hands. I saw the movie 2 months before release and couldn'tBest movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie has it all. Disney has a real winner on it's hands. I saw the movie 2 months before release and couldn't want to line up at a theater to pay my money to go see it again. This is a movie you will have to get on Blu-Ray and pause just to catch all the hidden "easter eggs' if you will. LIke "No Campers" written in graffiti on the walls or coins coming out of Sonic when he gets bumped into. The very opening scene blows you away when you go from 2D view of the Fix it Felix Jr. game into the 3D immersive world. Ralph is a great hero to root for and Vanellopee is lovable and cute with just the right amount of feisty-ness. Over a great cast, many laughs, and a great ride into the world of video games new and old. Expand
22 of 24 users found this helpful222
All this user's reviews
10
cub317Nov 3, 2012
If you've read my other reviews, you are probably well aware that I love video games and movies. This movie takes my two favorite things, and throws them into one. Now the question is: does it work? The answer is an absolute YES!!! InIf you've read my other reviews, you are probably well aware that I love video games and movies. This movie takes my two favorite things, and throws them into one. Now the question is: does it work? The answer is an absolute YES!!! In fact, this movie is so good, that it is now one of my favorite movies of all time! It is funny, has memorable characters, great animation, and the most original setting in the history of cinema. I really have very little to complain about in this movie. Okay, so there might be one or two little things. For one, there are several video game characters that I wanted to see in this movie, but weren't there (seriously, Disney shows no love to Mario, Link, Samus or any other heroic Nintendo character). Yes they did mention Mario at one point, but that doesn't count. Also, I found the plot to be a little bit unoriginal, and predictable. A super villain who wants to be good? I'm pretty sure that's been done before. It also follows a pattern that I like to call the classic Disney film plot. In other words, if you have seen any other Disney movie, you can probably guess what this movie's plot is like. Despite this, the original setting makes you completely forget about the plot. This really is an excellent movie, and is totally worth watching if you love animation, movies, video games, an original setting, or just want a movie that has quite an adventurous feel behind it. Expand
14 of 14 users found this helpful140
All this user's reviews
10
Fury283Nov 4, 2012
One of the best Movies I have seen in a long times, especially coming from the Disney Animation studio. If you're a video game fan, prepare to at least see the movie twice, or get it on DVD as it is loaded with cameos and Easter eggs. WhileOne of the best Movies I have seen in a long times, especially coming from the Disney Animation studio. If you're a video game fan, prepare to at least see the movie twice, or get it on DVD as it is loaded with cameos and Easter eggs. While the story is Disney typical, it respects the video games and even makes fun of itself in the process yet never straying too far from its roots.

I'm going to go see it again.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
asthobaskoroNov 23, 2012
Wreck-It Ralph is not Toy Story but the experience was the same. Video game references, colorful soundtrack and heartwarming story. Damn, it's one of the best animation this year.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
analogkid280Nov 4, 2012
Cool and retro. Nice gags and has a great message. Not the best but very good. Why do they make so many wonderful animated movies these days but cannot get live action to get this good vibe to them. Wait for the end of the credits to see theCool and retro. Nice gags and has a great message. Not the best but very good. Why do they make so many wonderful animated movies these days but cannot get live action to get this good vibe to them. Wait for the end of the credits to see the Disney kill screen! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MultiverseJumpeNov 9, 2012
Saw this movie a week after release with my girlfriend. Us both being gamers and suckers for anything that reminded us of our youth. we saw this movie expecting greatness, and what we got was better then that. If you love video games with aSaw this movie a week after release with my girlfriend. Us both being gamers and suckers for anything that reminded us of our youth. we saw this movie expecting greatness, and what we got was better then that. If you love video games with a religious passion then this movie will make you cry tears of joy at every moment of it (ad we did). the animation, sound, voice actors and plot are all completely solid. i have no complaints about this movie and would gladly watch it again for double the price. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
KivaAug 7, 2013
Wreck it Ralph was a huge surprise to me. Not only it has excellent graphics but it is really touching and moving. I don't really watch animation movies but this movie was a simply perfection. I saw Brave too which was good but not as good asWreck it Ralph was a huge surprise to me. Not only it has excellent graphics but it is really touching and moving. I don't really watch animation movies but this movie was a simply perfection. I saw Brave too which was good but not as good as wreck-it Ralph. I can't say something about the acting but all this atmosphere of the games and everything in that film made me feel like a little child again. It is one of the best animation movies that I have ever seen and I would recommend it to everyone regardless their age. Should have won that Oscar as it was much much better than Brave A must-watch Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
NerdConsultantOct 26, 2014
this is the ultimate gamers movie. it pays the greatest respect to the games it's referencing and uses it's arcade setting in amazing ways

i love the story and characters especially Ralph in which john c riley gives one of his best
this is the ultimate gamers movie. it pays the greatest respect to the games it's referencing and uses it's arcade setting in amazing ways

i love the story and characters especially Ralph in which john c riley gives one of his best performances and Vanellope who is expertly played by sarah silverman

seriously go and see this movie you won't regret it
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"Wreck It Ralph is a wonderfully delight, pure imaginative treat. That has set a new bar for Disney films everywhere including PIXAR. It has tons of heart and humor, Without a doubt the best animated film of the year. Maybe even quite"Wreck It Ralph is a wonderfully delight, pure imaginative treat. That has set a new bar for Disney films everywhere including PIXAR. It has tons of heart and humor, Without a doubt the best animated film of the year. Maybe even quite possibly a classic." A+ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SacrificeFeb 12, 2013
When I saw the trailer for Wreck-It Ralph last year, it didn't excite me too much. Still, I thought I would give it a shot. I am long time gamer after-all. I didn't expect to watch a great nostalgic and heartfelt film. It is my favoriteWhen I saw the trailer for Wreck-It Ralph last year, it didn't excite me too much. Still, I thought I would give it a shot. I am long time gamer after-all. I didn't expect to watch a great nostalgic and heartfelt film. It is my favorite animated film since Toy Story 3. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jos95Jan 25, 2013
I haven't savoured any animated movies for a while, and I wasn't sure if it was because I was growing up or if they were actually getting worse. Then came this movie, the best animated movie I've seen in a long time. Thanks to some niftyI haven't savoured any animated movies for a while, and I wasn't sure if it was because I was growing up or if they were actually getting worse. Then came this movie, the best animated movie I've seen in a long time. Thanks to some nifty world-building, I fell in love with the video game universe and got nostalgic when watching the video game action scenes, especially those set in Sugar Rush. Sarah Silverman's vocal performance as Vanellope von Schweetz stands as one of the movie's greatest highlights, and the animation and 3D are enticing and colourful. The script and characters are just as smart as some of Pixar's greatest movies, and had they released Wreck-it-Ralph instead of Brave last year, I would've gone as far to say that they made a full recovery from Cars 2. They didn't unfortunately, but Wreck-it-Ralph still emerges as the Toy Story of a new generation and I'd love to see how it'll play out as a franchise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonBonaseraJan 4, 2013
Hilarious, flawlessly made and great entertainment for all viewers. Wreck-it Ralph will please both gamers and film goers alike with its utterly beautiful and brilliant execution and will keep both the young and the old constantly entertained.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaFeb 13, 2013
Oh oh Pixar...what's going on? While Brave is a bravura technical achievement, its conventional narrative made it felt pedestrian. Wreck-It Ralph ends up being the best animated film of the year. It's creative, fun and heart warming. AndOh oh Pixar...what's going on? While Brave is a bravura technical achievement, its conventional narrative made it felt pedestrian. Wreck-It Ralph ends up being the best animated film of the year. It's creative, fun and heart warming. And for a retro gamer like me, it's a great treat to see all the old game characters of arcade yore making their cameos. Great stuff! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4Feb 3, 2013
Wreck-It-Ralph is hilarious, smart, heartwarming, and manages to bring you into a fantastic world. It features great voice acting and clever jokes for all ages. I give this film 96%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyNov 4, 2012
WOW!, Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most amazing movies that I have the oportunity to watch this year. The story can sounds simple, but the magic of the movie start when you watching the cameos of all the famous characters that we know. TheWOW!, Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most amazing movies that I have the oportunity to watch this year. The story can sounds simple, but the magic of the movie start when you watching the cameos of all the famous characters that we know. The animation is really incredible, is like watch much movies in one. The screenplay can be the weak point of the movie, but don't have much importance when you watch a funny show, and Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most funny "shows" of this year. Amazing movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
OnAnarchyApr 21, 2013
I originally had this rated a 7; after watching it again a few times, it's really grown on me. The film works well, delivering comedy for both parents and children. A tad predictable, but what Disney move isn't? All in all, one of theI originally had this rated a 7; after watching it again a few times, it's really grown on me. The film works well, delivering comedy for both parents and children. A tad predictable, but what Disney move isn't? All in all, one of the better family films to come out in last few years. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AwesomeReviewerNov 4, 2012
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gordofreditoNov 3, 2012
anyone around the age of 10 to 30 years old will enjoy this movie. Even though it has it's childish jokes, there are some references to some retro games that are just AMAZING, I was laughing for so long and never actually thought anyone wouldanyone around the age of 10 to 30 years old will enjoy this movie. Even though it has it's childish jokes, there are some references to some retro games that are just AMAZING, I was laughing for so long and never actually thought anyone would do something like it.
May not be a masterpiece, but it's a damn fine movie wort watching if you're a gamer
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DafsterJan 23, 2013
The reason that I orignally wanted to see this movie, was because it was about video game characters in a games arcade and it featured many cameos from famous game icons. After seeing this film, I can say that it had all of that and more.The reason that I orignally wanted to see this movie, was because it was about video game characters in a games arcade and it featured many cameos from famous game icons. After seeing this film, I can say that it had all of that and more. Having 'Sonic the Hedgehog' appear more than three times in a movie already makes it awesome for me and there's plenty of fan service for everyone else too, ranging from 'Super Street Fighter' to 'Pacman'. There's just so much attention to detail, from the way some characters movements have an extremely low frame-rate like in some retro video-game, to a scene where Ralph pulls out of a sink a 'Super Mario' mushroom, an exlamation mark from 'Metal Gear Solid' and Zangief of 'Super Street-Fighter's unerwear. There are so many other scenes and aspects to the movie that have so much attention in the detail more so than any other movie that revolves around video games would, so I won't spoil it for you by saying any more about this (Besides, if I told you about every detail and reference to real video games in this movie, you'd be reading this for hours, anyway.) So they've definetely got the video-games side of this movie right, but what about the plot. Well, I know a bad guy who is looking to be good to be "wreck-ognized" isn't exactly the most original plot. While I haven't seen any movies that have actually used this plot before, I am sure it has been done and it also feels like the typical type of Disney plot. But to be honest, this did not disappoint me. You may think that this is because the video-game elements would distract you from the not-so-original plot, but I have to say, that isn't all. The reason the plot didn't bother me is because it was interpreted so well. Of course an animated movie revolving around video-games is quite a new thing, so this does not feel old. But the plot is just done so well at the same time. I cannot explain exactly how it does it, all I can really say is that you should definetely consider seeing it. If you play video games, don't even consider it. Just see it without question. And if you don't play video-games, the storyline is enough to make this movie worth seeing. I would give this a 9/10, but Metacritic only allow whole numbers, so I'll give it a 10. But to be honest, I have no problem giving it a 10. See it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
VonSeuxMar 24, 2013
Nicest video-game movie ever made. Just don't forget it's a kids movie.All nods to classic games are fantastic, still, the story stands on it's own. Get your kids to it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Chris_DKFeb 5, 2013
Wreck It-Ralph is one of the best animated movies I have seen, the movie is heartwarming. The story is about Ralph who is on a journey of self discovery. It's a beautiful movie with meaning and a strong message that really makes you thinkWreck It-Ralph is one of the best animated movies I have seen, the movie is heartwarming. The story is about Ralph who is on a journey of self discovery. It's a beautiful movie with meaning and a strong message that really makes you think about the importance of being able to accept yourself, who you are and what you do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
InspectorJApr 19, 2013
It has been a long time since Disney has produced something this great of a masterpiece; with an audience suited for anyone, beautiful animation, characters the audiences can relate to, emotional voice acting, a twist that actually surprisedIt has been a long time since Disney has produced something this great of a masterpiece; with an audience suited for anyone, beautiful animation, characters the audiences can relate to, emotional voice acting, a twist that actually surprised me and to top it all video game references that were actually relevant to the story. This film deserves all of the 'wreck-ognition' it has achieved. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GreenmemberNov 4, 2012
It's a movie by gamers for gamers, and easily the best video game movie ever made. Disney adds polish, flair, and wit throughout the entire movie. There will be numerous references that will ignite memories and the hearts of every gamer.It's a movie by gamers for gamers, and easily the best video game movie ever made. Disney adds polish, flair, and wit throughout the entire movie. There will be numerous references that will ignite memories and the hearts of every gamer. Ralph and Vanelope are likable characters and their journey is a heartfelt one with much purpose. The visuals are fantastic, it really shows how far animation has come, as has gaming. Wreck-It Ralph touches on every genre of game, new and old, it's the perfect tribute and a hilarious movie, balancing out in every area. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MrRPGApr 13, 2013
This movie was adorable,intelligent and Full of memorable characters.
Takes me back to the earlier Disney movies where you could feel for the characters and there was some emotional depth to them, or maybe there wasn't and I was just 10, but
This movie was adorable,intelligent and Full of memorable characters.
Takes me back to the earlier Disney movies where you could feel for the characters and there was some emotional depth to them, or maybe there wasn't and I was just 10, but in wreck it ralph there definitely was..
I'm going to suggest this movie to everyone I know with kids..

The idea of a videogame movie really appeals to me, Seeing all those arcade characters gave me a wonderful sense of nostalgia while watching this, wreck it ralph is one of those rare childrens movies that can easily be enjoyed by most light hearted adults and man-children
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DrChocolateNov 6, 2012
If you are a gamer, and a gamer from the older generation, this movie is for you. All the little tidbits from the Konami code to Zangief's underwear paired with the overall tender story make this movie hilarious and extremely entertaining. InIf you are a gamer, and a gamer from the older generation, this movie is for you. All the little tidbits from the Konami code to Zangief's underwear paired with the overall tender story make this movie hilarious and extremely entertaining. In no other film will you see Dr Robotnik, Bison, and Bowser sitting in a support group while Ken and Ryu hit up Tapper's after a long day of work. Innovative, interesting, and of course the movie discusses the general issues surrounding the video game industry in a poignant way. Highly recommended for children and adults alike. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
coreyg007Nov 12, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played lots of games at a younger age and not nearly so much now as I am crazy consumed with work and school but, having said all of that, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie! I just saw it last night (11/11) and it was even better than I had anticipated. Loved the reminiscing I got from seeing some of my favorite characters like Storm from Mortal Combat. But, the movie was also very much for adults since the language wasn't totally geared towards tweens which made it even more enjoyable and took away any feeling that I was too old to watch it. I think it's one of the best animated Disney movies (very comparable to Pixar) produced in a long time! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RikiegeJan 6, 2013
One of the best animated films of 2012.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PalenoireNov 4, 2012
Disney kicks ass with their new cartoon Wreck-it Ralph.
This animation film has a lot of emotional moments, good script, great animation and spectacular visual effects.
If haven't seen this film yet - reading this review is your excuse. Go
Disney kicks ass with their new cartoon Wreck-it Ralph.
This animation film has a lot of emotional moments, good script, great animation and spectacular visual effects.
If haven't seen this film yet - reading this review is your excuse. Go see this cartoon on the big screen - you won't regret it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ActorDude99Dec 8, 2012
Wreck-It Ralph is one of the best movies of 2012. There were moments when I went "Awwe", moments when I went "Woah!", moments when I cried, and moments when I was shocked. It was a fantastic movie that you will always remember!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieJerkNov 4, 2012
Wreck-it Ralph is an awesome animated film. I did get a little sick from the spinning bright colors and Sarah Silverman's voice. Still, the movie is filled with great 8-bit references, yet, don't rely on simple inside jokes to give anWreck-it Ralph is an awesome animated film. I did get a little sick from the spinning bright colors and Sarah Silverman's voice. Still, the movie is filled with great 8-bit references, yet, don't rely on simple inside jokes to give an entertaining story. And I have to admit--I don't often respect any animated film that isn't created by Pixar but Wreck-it Ralph pretty much left Brave sucking haggis.

You won't enjoy this if you don't like movies without cuss words and/or nudity and you'll pretty much hate it if you're an avid opposer to your children playing video games. But if you are a gamer or at least interactive-curious--I say grab the closest kid and go enjoy this movie!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews