User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 577 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 577

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Best movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie has it all. Disney has a real winner on it's hands. I saw the movie 2 months before release and couldn't want to line up at a theater to pay my money to go see it again. This is a movie you will have to get on Blu-Ray and pause just to catch all the hidden "easter eggs' if you will. LIke "No Campers" written in graffiti on the walls or coins coming out of Sonic when he gets bumped into. The very opening scene blows you away when you go from 2D view of the Fix it Felix Jr. game into the 3D immersive world. Ralph is a great hero to root for and Vanellopee is lovable and cute with just the right amount of feisty-ness. Over a great cast, many laughs, and a great ride into the world of video games new and old. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    If you've read my other reviews, you are probably well aware that I love video games and movies. This movie takes my two favorite things, and throws them into one. Now the question is: does it work? The answer is an absolute YES!!! In fact, this movie is so good, that it is now one of my favorite movies of all time! It is funny, has memorable characters, great animation, and the most original setting in the history of cinema. I really have very little to complain about in this movie. Okay, so there might be one or two little things. For one, there are several video game characters that I wanted to see in this movie, but weren't there (seriously, Disney shows no love to Mario, Link, Samus or any other heroic Nintendo character). Yes they did mention Mario at one point, but that doesn't count. Also, I found the plot to be a little bit unoriginal, and predictable. A super villain who wants to be good? I'm pretty sure that's been done before. It also follows a pattern that I like to call the classic Disney film plot. In other words, if you have seen any other Disney movie, you can probably guess what this movie's plot is like. Despite this, the original setting makes you completely forget about the plot. This really is an excellent movie, and is totally worth watching if you love animation, movies, video games, an original setting, or just want a movie that has quite an adventurous feel behind it. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This movie was a fantastic depiction of the lives and coalescence of many nostalgic video games dating back as far as 1981 (Qix), and as recent as today (Sonic, Bowser, etc.). This makes the film recognizable to the rounded ages of four to forty, given times of development. Go see it.
  4. Nov 4, 2012
    5
    it's a huge missed opportunity. You start expecting Ralph to dive into a diversity of videogame genres (fighting, rhythm action, platform, adventures, etc) but instead he just passes through 3, his own, a halo like game, and a mario kart-esque game in wich the majority of the picture takes place. The whole thing ends up feeling boring and incomplete, when it could have been a blast instead. Worst thing is the producers actually played royalties to many videogame companies, you can see street fighter characters (capcom), mario characters (nintendo), Sonic (SEGA), in addition to pac-man, and Q-bert; but they never actually used their worlds, they just make cameos with a total screen time of a few minutes. If you're a videogame fan like myself prepare to be dissapointed Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    Terrific movie. There were plenty of laughs for both the adults and the children present, and gamers will be thrilled to see all of their favorite childhood mascots well represented. I should mention though, that you don't have to be a gamer to enjoy the movie. After all, its real strength isn't the laughs or wacky characters, it's the strong story, which oozes heart and class. It was far more emotionally involved than I was expecting, and received a loud applause at the theater I saw it at. Check it out. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    6
    While Wreck-It Ralph has surprises and jokes in every corner of the frame, its one minor flaw is its pacing. The first third of the film is manic. We
  7. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    If you ask me, this is great enough to be a pixar film. Its the most fun i've had with an animated film since "Toy Story 3". If you were one of many who were dissappointed by "Brave", then check this out. It has the charm and great characters of a Pixar movie, coupled with some great humor that seems to take inspiration from Dreamworks Animation. At first, the title character Ralph seems mean-spirited, but he later turns out to be a great hero. Older viewers will recognize the games shown and feel the nostalgia, and younger viewers will appreciate the colorful animation. But what older and younger viewers can agree on is that Wreck-it Ralph's storytelling and emotion is top notch. Expand
  8. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    Wreck it Ralph is a very touching film, because is about self-discovering and finding of the own purpose is life. It treats the story of Ralph the villain of a video game, who does not like his job, but he must do it because is what he has to do. The interesting thing is that we visualize to worlds, one in the arcade were lots of children go to play, and other one inside the video games were all the characters live; it is remarkable that they can go from one game to another using the Game Central Station. The plot starts when the protagonist leaves his game. In this point starts the searching of Ralph for his own purpose in life aka his destiny, that is why he not only will go through different games, but also through his soul, in order to find who he really is. Because of this Ralph quotes the villains oath: I am bad, and that is good. I will never be good, and that is not bad. I will always be me.
    In addition we notice that the concept of evil in the occidental mentality is broken, because it is no longer something bad, now it is a vital part of any situation; without evil, good means nothing.
    With awesome characters construction, great dialogues and non-disappointing animation, this is a movie for people who when they were children suffer bullying, were alone, have no friends or family; or that now are lost in life.
    Expand
  9. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I'm a 18 year old dude who only plays Call of Duty and Madden and I loved all the old arcade references in this movie. Despite a slow segment in the start, the film has a bunch of heart, laughs and a decent twist. Much like Shrek with fairy tales, this may be the start of a new franchise with classic characters and new worlds. Great for both kids and adults.
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Pass. I right this review for adults that like animated films, like myself. This movie had a great concept, and the world was well defined in the first 20 minutes. After that, all your beloved classic video game characters disappear from the movie. I thought the movie was going really well up until the point where Wreck-It Ralph reach the candy racer video game. This is when the movie turned terrible. I don't think I smiled or laughed once for the next hour. I will however give them credit for the last 15 minutes of the movie, which was the best part. This movie had great potential, but most of it ended up being the same quality as Ice Age. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2013
    5
    It's all right. It's tightly plotted, for sure. But I think it was really let down on the comedy side... I didn't really laugh at all, in fact. The script is functional but it just doesn't shine. And I can't help but feel that spending pretty much all of the film in a nondescript candy land was a waste of potential when there was a whole arcade to explore. The visuals and animation are generally rather lovely, though. Collapse
  12. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    At face value, it's an aesthetic sugar rush of humor and excitement through a video-game rendering of "Candy Land". For the adults among us it's a story of identity, and perhaps more importantly, it's a master-class interpretation of the age-old question, "what truly makes a hero?"

    You'll laugh, you'll cry -- and if you're like me, your heart will soar before the closing credits.
    Welcome to the Disney family, Ralph. Highly recommended. Expand
  13. map
    Nov 5, 2012
    0
    Anyone that gives it a 10 was pair to do so or have been heavily warped. This movie is presented in a nice way like chocolate coated crap.
    Movie should have a Content advisory for plenty of reasons. This movie is more targeted to adults than kids to attract the adults to take the kids. It
  14. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    One of the best Movies I have seen in a long times, especially coming from the Disney Animation studio. If you're a video game fan, prepare to at least see the movie twice, or get it on DVD as it is loaded with cameos and Easter eggs. While the story is Disney typical, it respects the video games and even makes fun of itself in the process yet never straying too far from its roots.

    I'm
    going to go see it again. Expand
  15. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Wreck-It Ralph is not Toy Story but the experience was the same. Video game references, colorful soundtrack and heartwarming story. Damn, it's one of the best animation this year.
  16. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Saw this movie a week after release with my girlfriend. Us both being gamers and suckers for anything that reminded us of our youth. we saw this movie expecting greatness, and what we got was better then that. If you love video games with a religious passion then this movie will make you cry tears of joy at every moment of it (ad we did). the animation, sound, voice actors and plot are all completely solid. i have no complaints about this movie and would gladly watch it again for double the price. Expand
  17. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    Wreck it Ralph was a huge surprise to me. Not only it has excellent graphics but it is really touching and moving. I don't really watch animation movies but this movie was a simply perfection. I saw Brave too which was good but not as good as wreck-it Ralph. I can't say something about the acting but all this atmosphere of the games and everything in that film made me feel like a little child again. It is one of the best animation movies that I have ever seen and I would recommend it to everyone regardless their age. Should have won that Oscar as it was much much better than Brave A must-watch Expand
  18. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    "Wreck It Ralph is a wonderfully delight, pure imaginative treat. That has set a new bar for Disney films everywhere including PIXAR. It has tons of heart and humor, Without a doubt the best animated film of the year. Maybe even quite possibly a classic." A+
  19. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    A charming, funny, and heart-warming animated movie that acts as a love letter to video games. Honestly it's impressive to see an animated movie this good come from Disney and it not have Pixar's name attached to it. The characters and story are charming, the animation is superb, and the voice acting is excellent. The movie may be about the title character, but it's Sarah Silverman's "Vanellope" that ends up stealing the show.

    Kids are going to love this for it's characters, humor, and all around kid friendliness. However adults will love it for the exact same reason, and for it's numerous video game references. Honestly this is an excellent movie for gamers of all ages. It provides an excellent look at the interactive form of entertainment so many of us love. There are also numerous references to popular video games hidden throughout the film, some more subtle than others. This film pleased both the gamer and the movie fan within me.

    "Wreck-It-Ralph" is a real treat, and just like the best Pixar movies both kids and adults will love every second of this film. A perfect movie for parents to watch with their kids. Heck it's good enough that parents don't even need their kids to watch this. This is a must watch for gamers alone just for the references hidden throughout. It's nice to see a film that portrays video games, not just as a worthless waste of time, but as a form of entertainment that is filled with characters and stories we can all love. Needless to say I highly recommend this movie.
    Expand
  20. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    i think disney should allocate more resources to making a quality film rather than paying ppl to write glowing reviews about this terribly unfunny and boring POS. i can't believe anyone would be that entertained by this movie to give it a 10 let alone an 8 or 9 unless they were being paid to promote this film under false pretenses. i saw 30 minutes of this movie and had to walk away. really bland, desperately trying to be funny, creatively bankrupt waste of time. if i had anything to do w/ this production, i'd insist on having my name removed from the credits or at least listed under a pseudonym.

    this movie is a train wreck and a far cry from pixar gems like wall-e, up!, monster's inc. etc... even decent disney films like entagled which had great characters and quality writing. anyone who *sincerely* believes this movie deserves anything above a 4 is only lying to themselves. absolutely abysmal. but having said that... i still encourage you to watch it if you have a chance just to get a better understanding of how marketing and hype have permeated everything we are exposed to in our daily lives from media to politics to consumerism.
    Expand
  21. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    I haven't savoured any animated movies for a while, and I wasn't sure if it was because I was growing up or if they were actually getting worse. Then came this movie, the best animated movie I've seen in a long time. Thanks to some nifty world-building, I fell in love with the video game universe and got nostalgic when watching the video game action scenes, especially those set in Sugar Rush. Sarah Silverman's vocal performance as Vanellope von Schweetz stands as one of the movie's greatest highlights, and the animation and 3D are enticing and colourful. The script and characters are just as smart as some of Pixar's greatest movies, and had they released Wreck-it-Ralph instead of Brave last year, I would've gone as far to say that they made a full recovery from Cars 2. They didn't unfortunately, but Wreck-it-Ralph still emerges as the Toy Story of a new generation and I'd love to see how it'll play out as a franchise. Expand
  22. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    Wreck-It-Ralph is hilarious, smart, heartwarming, and manages to bring you into a fantastic world. It features great voice acting and clever jokes for all ages. I give this film 96%.
  23. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    WOW!, Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most amazing movies that I have the oportunity to watch this year. The story can sounds simple, but the magic of the movie start when you watching the cameos of all the famous characters that we know. The animation is really incredible, is like watch much movies in one. The screenplay can be the weak point of the movie, but don't have much importance when you watch a funny show, and Wreck-It Ralph is one of the most funny "shows" of this year. Amazing movie. Expand
  24. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    anyone around the age of 10 to 30 years old will enjoy this movie. Even though it has it's childish jokes, there are some references to some retro games that are just AMAZING, I was laughing for so long and never actually thought anyone would do something like it.
    May not be a masterpiece, but it's a damn fine movie wort watching if you're a gamer
  25. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    The reason that I orignally wanted to see this movie, was because it was about video game characters in a games arcade and it featured many cameos from famous game icons. After seeing this film, I can say that it had all of that and more. Having 'Sonic the Hedgehog' appear more than three times in a movie already makes it awesome for me and there's plenty of fan service for everyone else too, ranging from 'Super Street Fighter' to 'Pacman'. There's just so much attention to detail, from the way some characters movements have an extremely low frame-rate like in some retro video-game, to a scene where Ralph pulls out of a sink a 'Super Mario' mushroom, an exlamation mark from 'Metal Gear Solid' and Zangief of 'Super Street-Fighter's unerwear. There are so many other scenes and aspects to the movie that have so much attention in the detail more so than any other movie that revolves around video games would, so I won't spoil it for you by saying any more about this (Besides, if I told you about every detail and reference to real video games in this movie, you'd be reading this for hours, anyway.) So they've definetely got the video-games side of this movie right, but what about the plot. Well, I know a bad guy who is looking to be good to be "wreck-ognized" isn't exactly the most original plot. While I haven't seen any movies that have actually used this plot before, I am sure it has been done and it also feels like the typical type of Disney plot. But to be honest, this did not disappoint me. You may think that this is because the video-game elements would distract you from the not-so-original plot, but I have to say, that isn't all. The reason the plot didn't bother me is because it was interpreted so well. Of course an animated movie revolving around video-games is quite a new thing, so this does not feel old. But the plot is just done so well at the same time. I cannot explain exactly how it does it, all I can really say is that you should definetely consider seeing it. If you play video games, don't even consider it. Just see it without question. And if you don't play video-games, the storyline is enough to make this movie worth seeing. I would give this a 9/10, but Metacritic only allow whole numbers, so I'll give it a 10. But to be honest, I have no problem giving it a 10. See it. Expand
  26. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    It has been a long time since Disney has produced something this great of a masterpiece; with an audience suited for anyone, beautiful animation, characters the audiences can relate to, emotional voice acting, a twist that actually surprised me and to top it all video game references that were actually relevant to the story. This film deserves all of the 'wreck-ognition' it has achieved.
  27. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    It's a movie by gamers for gamers, and easily the best video game movie ever made. Disney adds polish, flair, and wit throughout the entire movie. There will be numerous references that will ignite memories and the hearts of every gamer. Ralph and Vanelope are likable characters and their journey is a heartfelt one with much purpose. The visuals are fantastic, it really shows how far animation has come, as has gaming. Wreck-It Ralph touches on every genre of game, new and old, it's the perfect tribute and a hilarious movie, balancing out in every area. Expand
  28. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Cool and retro. Nice gags and has a great message. Not the best but very good. Why do they make so many wonderful animated movies these days but cannot get live action to get this good vibe to them. Wait for the end of the credits to see the Disney kill screen!
  29. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best animated films of 2012.
  30. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Disney kicks ass with their new cartoon Wreck-it Ralph.
    This animation film has a lot of emotional moments, good script, great animation and spectacular visual effects.
    If haven't seen this film yet - reading this review is your excuse. Go see this cartoon on the big screen - you won't regret it.
  31. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Wreck-It Ralph is a fun movie for all ages, and even more-so if you're a fan of video games. While it's not the best movie to use video games as a subject, it does well in incorporating references and nostalgic tidbits of games both new and old. My only complaint is the way the movie was advertised. Trailers, sneak-peeks and even cast interviews claim that Wreck-It Ralph is about a character who "jumps" between a number of different video games. Yes, it was there, but he only went to three: his own, a Halo-like shooter, and a Candy Land-esque racing game where the majority of the film takes place. This is quite upsetting, due to the fact that I, like many others, expected Ralph to "jump" to many different games. I don't think this movie was as good as it should of been. The first third of the film is surprisingly fun, refreshing and exciting. But it starts to slow down, and things seem to just stop. The video game references stop, the excitement isn't there, and good ole' Disney magic kicks in with a generic plot and the same generic problems we've seen over and over. To sum it all up, Wreck-It Ralph is 1/2 video game referencing fun, and 1/2 a Disney movie. If ANYONE else made Wreck-It Ralph, it could have been a blast. But, Disney's kid-oriented restrictions kept a lot of fun at bay. I'm disappointed that this wasn't what it could have been, but, it's still a good movie. Expand
  32. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Wreck-it Ralph is an awesome animated film. I did get a little sick from the spinning bright colors and Sarah Silverman's voice. Still, the movie is filled with great 8-bit references, yet, don't rely on simple inside jokes to give an entertaining story. And I have to admit--I don't often respect any animated film that isn't created by Pixar but Wreck-it Ralph pretty much left Brave sucking haggis.

    You won't enjoy this if you don't like movies without cuss words and/or nudity and you'll pretty much hate it if you're an avid opposer to your children playing video games. But if you are a gamer or at least interactive-curious--I say grab the closest kid and go enjoy this movie!
    Expand
  33. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    "I'm Gonna wreck it!" Once I saw the trailer for the first time I was hooked and knew I had to see it. I loved the very cool idea of video game characters in an arcade that had homes they went back to after their "work day" in the arcade game was over. It is jam packed with references to old school arcade games and being 40 I remember playing Q-bert and Pac-man etc. in the arcade. I like how it fused a character from a more modern game into the plot which was centered on an older 8-bit game. A large part of it takes place in a game called 'Sugar Rush' which was cute and funny but a little too cutsie for me. It seemed to be aimed more at kids than adults, which is a no-brainer but many movies like this have a ton of jokes for adults too and some of the retro game stuff was but it was just very cutsie. The script was good with decently fleshed out main characters and overall it was a good amount of laughs and entertainment. Expand
  34. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    The movie was great. I thought the storyline was well done and the references were spot on. It was funny, witty and something that I will definitely buy on Blu Ray.
  35. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Fantastic movie. Not only is the soundtrack incredible amazing for an movie (Especially the song AFTER the movie, from Owl City!) The characters are also lovable and interesting, the story is unique in the sense that it makes you think someone is a bad thing and they turn out to be good and it also has a plot twist in the end. And the references to other games like Pacman and Sonic are also amusing and cool. I really love this movie and I suggest every gamer (Even the ones who play Call of Duty, since - SPOILER - there is a Call of Duty reference in the movie..) should go watch it. Expand
  36. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    This movie was well done, compared to other video game movies that were very unsatisfying and unrelated to the games, technically, this isn't a video game movie, but an arcade movie. This movie had its funnies and didn't mess up. There is only one problem with this movie, because I'm a gamer, and that would be the limited video games showcased in the movie (around 3-5). I also dislike the main place where the movie takes place (Sugar Rush) it makes it seem like this movie was made for girls than guys. Overall, 8.4/10 Expand
  37. Dec 29, 2012
    3
    "Wreck-It Ralph" starts out completely promising, witty, and filled with a sense of smart blending of arcade and video game culture. However, as the film progresses, the story becomes weak and the characters are lackluster in any comedic wit or compassion. The film fails as a comprehensive plot and becomes a completely missed opportunity for the blending of such popular characters sharing the screen for one of the first times. Expand
  38. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    "Wreck-It Ralph" is an incredibly well thought out and well executed animation. The jarring political statement of the movie feeds the appetite of mature audiences. The overload of references to early 21st and late 20th century pop culture, however, alienates the younger audience. In addition, the concept of arcades is such an anomaly to younger generations that this film was, in fact, more of an homage to the Baby Boomer generation (and the political atmosphere that clouded that era).

    Nevertheless, Walt Disney Studios did an outstanding production by presenting a heart-warming and relevant animation. Besides..what child wouldn't like a film about video games and candies?
    Expand
  39. Feb 24, 2013
    0
    This movie is the biggest piece of commercial i've ever seen in an animated movie. the well known, and well loved gaming characters like, Bowser, Sonic, Eggman, packman, and so on. They are only in the movie for like 5mins, and over half of them don't even have a line. I bet it's just so they can put em on the poster and in commercials, so people go see it.

    Futher more, it was
    predictable as hell. well, maybe it's just me, but i feel tricked by Walt Disney, what a load of BS (sorry). i'm just glad i didn't pay to watch it.

    But i can see that it would be good for small children, who dosen't know thoes classic gaming personalities, so they don't feel tricked. And it definitly shouldn't get oscar nominated. But i guess if it wins a Oscar Statuette, then i'll know that the Oscars is Fixed. xD
    Expand
  40. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    In a year were movies like the avengers and the dark knight and the always present competition of Pixar, it would be crazy to consider an non-pixar animated film one of the best movies of the year. Well, it would have be crazy if not for Wreck it Ralph! It is easily the best animated film of the year and one of my all time favorites from Disney.
  41. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    I LOVED THIS MOVIE. IT WAS REALLY CUTE WHEN VENELOPE CROSSED THE FINISH LINE AND everything went Back To Normal!! Watch the trailer here, http://www.metacritic.com/movie/wreck-it-ralph/trailers
  42. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    I'll be honest, I went into Wreck It Ralph thinking it would be a cheesy kids movie with little plot, just 90 minutes of childish humor. I admit that I was way off. After seeing this movie four times, I can say that I still laugh and enjoy the film.

    Our main character is Ralph (John C. Reilly) who belongs in the arcade game Wreck It Ralph. Ralph's home is moved and replaced by a complex
    full of people knows as "NiceLanders." Ralph upset by this wrecks the building and it is fixed by Felix (Jack McBrayer.) That is the game that the arcade users play.

    On the games anniversary, Ralph is not invited and wrecks the building for real this time because all he wants is a medal and to be a good guy for once. He decides to leave his own game and try to win a medal in others. He meets Sergeant Calhoun (Jane Lynch) in one game (Heroes Duty) and takes accidently flies a space pod into a candy racing game, (Sugar Rush) where he meets a girl named Vanellope von Schweetz. (Sarah Silverman)

    We first meet Vanellope when she takes Ralph's medal. Throughout the movie we see her character evolve into a better person. Ralph starts to show emotion toward Vanellope which we can clearly see especially when Ralph teaches her how to drive a racecar. Vanellope usually gets picked on because she is called a glitch. She isn't allowed to race because if she crosses the finish line the entire game resets so she used Ralph's medal to enter the race. The movie takes a very unexpected turn and has a powerful ending.

    I loved Wreck It Ralph enough to see it multiple times with friends and independently and have had great reactions from friends who watched it. Disney/Pixar really got this movie right and I am hoping for a sequel in the future.
    Expand
  43. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    I love this movie! It's great for kids and adults.(I'm 17-years-old). The voice acting is phenomenal and the animation is terrific! There was never a point in the movie where i felt bored, it was pretty funny and it had a heart-touching story line!! I SERIOUSLY recommend for people of all ages to watch this movie.
  44. Feb 5, 2014
    3
    Classic video games character cameos and video games come to life in a hyper detailed CGI world. Sold. Unfortunately this movie falls flat overall. Too many characters, overly tricky plot twists and really is two plots smashed together. This movie really should have been called "Sugar Rush" because Ralph's overarching plot seems lost in the meat of the film's race and betrayal story.

    The ensemble video game cast of characters never really gels for me in the same way as the toys do in Toy Story or Finding Nemo. I'm still waiting for an awesome video game move. Like Tron this one falls short of the mark.
    Expand
  45. BKM
    Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Far more than just a loving homage to old school video games, Wreck-It Ralph is a joyous, funny, smart and touching story about being comfortable in your own skin. It's lesson may be older than the numerous video games that are referenced throughout, but it is a lesson that still resonates and is worth repeating.
  46. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    I wanted to love Wreck-It Ralph, and while I do liked it a lot, there's certain missed opportunities. The movie starts great, it seamlessly introduces the concept in a very easy and interesting format. I couldn't just but giggle with joy through the first part trying to find as many video-game cameos as I could. There's just something special about seeing characters you know and love on the big screen. The problem is that it eventually stops. The movie starts venturing into its own territory and it never looks back. For one, I am glad the movie doesn't just rely on cameos to win people over, but when there are so many possibilities and so many chances it is also hard to conceive that after 20 minutes or so of the movie; Ralph stays the rest of the film in only one video-game space, Sugar Rush. I expected, and I think everybody expected that Ralph would have taken the opportunity into wider conceptions. That out of the way, there's no deny that the movie has heart, and a lot of it. The chemistry between Ralph and Vanellope is unquestionable and makes for a very understandable and unique couple of characters. Its funny, its visually attractive, and has at it's heart a great story. Ralph makes up for the best animated movie of 2012. Expand
  47. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Who knew Sarah Silverman could be so cute? I thought Ralph was voiced by Seth Rogen at first but John Reilly does great. Jane Lynch delivers too in a subplot that got the younger viewers barfing. The conversation between Vanellope and Ralph about Hero's Duty got me spitting pop and popcorn. And it wouldn't be a Disney movie without a little tear-jerker of a message. The kids will love it.
  48. Oct 11, 2013
    7
    Wreck-It Ralph is a unique film for Disney because it does not feel like a Disney movie at all. Its atmosphere and characters are more reminiscent of that of an old school Pixar film (ex. Monsters Inc.). That being said it is not a great film. It can be tad cliché at times and the characters could have used a bit more development but for a Disney film it was pretty impressive. It is great to see Disney break away from their traditional formula and create something more original and inspired. As a result, Disney was able to create an enjoyable film, more original than Brave, that is definitely worth a watch. If you felt that Brave was good but unoriginal and want something more inspired than definitely check this film out. Wreck-It Ralph feels more like a Pixar film than a Disney film and if Disney keeps this sort of creativity up, I’m sure they’ll get back to their heyday soon enough. Expand
  49. Nov 9, 2012
    6
    This latest animation from Disney takes place in a world of video games. John C. Reilly voices the titlular character, who's frustrated with being the bad guy and escapes into other games to prove himself. The pacing never lags and the visuals are snappy and colorful. Supporting voices like Sarah Silverman, Jack McBrayer and Jane Lynch add personality. I never played video games, so some of the old game references were lost on me, but there weren't that many inside jokes for grown-ups. Kids should find this cute and sweet. BTW, there's a charming, but very grown up black and white animation that preceeds the feature. Expand
  50. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    I really enjoyed the look of the movie, and the 3D is good as well. The script, however was a little weak. I loved the originality of the story, but it simply wasn't funny enough. Even the kids in the theater weren't laughing all that much. I was also a little disappointed that Ralph didn't visit more games. The previews made it look like he was a rogue character that escaped from his game and went to others, but he only visited two other games and most of the movie took place in the Candy game. That's where the movie got a little too routine for me. Still, it was entertaining enough to give it a pass. Not one of Disney's best movies, and certainly not in the league of "Tangled". Expand
  51. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    When I saw the trailer for Wreck-It Ralph last year, it didn't excite me too much. Still, I thought I would give it a shot. I am long time gamer after-all. I didn't expect to watch a great nostalgic and heartfelt film. It is my favorite animated film since Toy Story 3.
  52. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    Wreck-It Ralph is another fantastic animation from Disney. If you are a fan of videogames, you cannot afford to miss this treasure trove of nods and references. Better still, the movie has real heart and soul. And some good laughs to boot.
  53. Feb 11, 2013
    5
    As a self proclaimed gamer I thought the film was only ok. I went into this film expecting it to be centred around Ralph and his interaction with various video game characters that I grew up with. I wanted the film to feature all these characters prominently but it doesn't. The film basically becomes a film about a racing tournament involving no actual video game characters I wanted to see. It would of been so much cooler if it was something along the lines of (Using this as an example) Bowser and Dr. Robotnik team up, capture Mario and Sonic, and these two villains try to take over all the games in the arcarde. Wreck it Ralps sees this oppurtunity to prove himself as a hero rather than the villain and tries to stop them, and save Mario and Sonic, with other villains being like henchmen or whatever. I was expecting a story something like this. I was very dissapointed Expand
  54. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    A movie about a game usually means disaster but for once not. A film where adults (espeically gaming adults) and kids will both get a lot from the nostalgia, knowing in jokes and cameos to the great visuals. Traditional Disney story about an outsider who wants to be accepted fits well into the "win the game" theme. From makers of both Toy Story and The Simpsons this is a movie where you won't want to hit "QUIT"! Expand
  55. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    As both a fan of animated movies and video games, this movie was a delight. I was impressed by the perfect level of cameos mixed with original content. The movie is filled with old arcade and 90s era video game references that will go over kids heads, however they will love the vivid characters, fun slapstick, and overly silly tone the film presents. Appealing for all ages it tells a fun and original story that I'm sure everyone will enjoy (even if you aren't a kid or obsessed with video games). Expand
  56. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    I thought it was enjoyable, animation quality is good, story is decent. Not something I would go out of my way to watch, but not something that I would avoid either. Basically, at the end of the movie I didn't think "Wow that was awesome" but I also didn't think "I want my money back"
  57. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Excellent film....it has a lot of excitement and diversity in the plot....but......it will never match the impact that has given us by the "Toy Story" series.....
  58. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Finally a film (excluding Argo) that actually lives up to the hype. Wreck-It Ralph is pure fun entertainment. It'll have you laughing out loud, and it'll even have you tear up a bit. You really get a great feel for the characters. Disney did a very solid job with this movie. Great story, great characters, good fun, what more can you ask for? Wreck-It Ralph is definitely worth your time and your money. Good nostalgiac fun for all. 9/10 Expand
  59. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    This is probably my new favorite Pixar film, ok so I work in the Game's industry so I was literally gushing at all the video game references (and there are lots) some in your face, some more subtle. But even as a family animated movie Wreck-It Ralph hits all the right notes, once again Pixar do what they do so well and craft brilliant characters, colourful exciting worlds and an entertaining story. In short Ralph is the bad guy in a classic arcade game called "Fix It Felix Jr", tired of being the bad guy he leaves the game and ventures into other games in an effort to become a hero. Saying anymore will spoil the plot and Pixar films are ones that are best gone into afresh. The pacing does falter a bit in them middle but the beginning and ending is pure goodness, by the end you'll want to play even the fictional games made for the movie. Expand
  60. Jun 10, 2013
    6
    A film based on video game characters coming to life? Video games are so popular it's amazing that nobody has made a film like this before. Everything starts off well, the graphics and animations are outstanding and there's a great mix of different styles from different eras (8-bit, 16-bit, etc, with appropriate animations the nicelander people are particularly well done). Everything is introduced well and the first half an hour is a brilliant exercise in spotting the video game cameos. For someone who's been interested in games for a while I loved the more obscure references such as the metal gear exclamation mark.

    However once we get to the sugar rush land things start to go a bit wrong. Vanellope starts off cute and the voice work by Sarah Silverman is very good, but unfortunately the character becomes quite irritating with all the breathless rushing around. We also have another story arc going on in the background with Felix and Calhoun but this is quite boring. What the film lacks is a strong comedy sidekick like the donkey in Shrek. I also feel that the film spends too long in Sugar Rush after a while you get bored of
    all the chocolate lakes and candy canes and wish they'd take the story to another game for a while. The story is also quite predictable and I was surprised to find myself getting quite bored long before the end. It's a shame because I felt they could have done so much more with the video game premise the entire section in sugar rush who have easily been set in Alice in Wonderland, for example, given the look of the environment and characters.

    Overall the film is a mixture of Toy Story and Monsters Inc but isn't as good as either.
    Expand
  61. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    Video game adaptations are always terrible, from Doom (only memorable for its 2 minute FPS sequence) to the god awful Max Payne (unlike Doom it has no redeeming features at all). This simple fact meant I wasn't looking forward to Wreck it Ralph at all. The film follows Wreck it Ralph (John C Reilly), the main villain in the game Fix it Felix Jr, a game where Ralph feels nothing but under appreciated. Because of this he decides to game jump and in search of more pixilated pastures. This brings hum to a game called Sugar Rush where he meets Penelope (Sarah Silverman), a young girl with problems that he decides to help due to their similarities. Meanwhile Felix searches for Ralph to get him to return to the game so it doesn't get unplugged for good. The film cleverly creates a world of games instead of concentrating on just one. This is how Wreck it Ralph manages to avoid the curse of the video game adaptation. It manages to be original while referencing old games in passing. The film acts as an homage, not just to retro games but the culture of gaming in general making for a very moving and culturally relevant film that will resonate with kids, adults and even the more hardcore gamers. It's story is well constructed as it establishes a world with endless franchise possibilities but it also creates a genuine conflict and risk for these characters making their journey throughout the film quite tense at times. The adventures they go on are dangerous and because of this they are thrilling. The film does drag in its opening 30 minutes but so did the first Toy Story, its a film creating a world from scratch and ultimately you have to give it the time to do so. The film however does lack a decent villain with its ending suffering in some ways because of it but as a problem it is only a subtle one. The film engages with the viewer through Ralph, who is a thoroughly empathetic lead and incredibly entertaining in both his clumsiness and his heart. The father daughter relationship between him and Penelope is the heart and soul of the picture and makes for an emotional finale even though there is no real tense climax. Ultimately its a film that works because of how clever it is and how good a lead character Ralph is. John C Reilly is a dynamic lead and gives Ralph an everyman kind of quality that makes it easy to like him. It's a Disney film with the heart and power of a Pixar movie and after 2010's Tangled it bodes well for Disney animations in general. Expand
  62. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    A really fun movie to watch, with a good story behind it. But, I wish they did 2 things differently. 1. Make the character animations stick to their 8 bit or 16 bit origins. 2. There was not enough reference to old and current video games.
  63. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    Great concept, pretty decent delivery.

    Everything is videogame related with the exception of when you visit the candy game... from that point all the focus is on candy and how the candy can be made into story segments... I felt like it was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and the videogame aspect disappeared. I fell asleep for about 10 minutes during the introduction to that universe,
    I was bored to death... then it went back into gaming comedy and I was hooked again. Great movie... really hope a sequel is made. Also... no Mario!? Expand
  64. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Adorable animation and lovable characters, this is both a combination of Toy Story and Who Framed Roger Rabbit in video game form Disney style. Maintains that Disney look of great animation, comedy and unsurprisingly underlying darkness alongside characters with interesting back stories where they are just begging to be loved, not to mention the film itself begging for repeat viewings because this is a film you can't see just once. It's neither patronising nor sickening, an intelligent combination of characters if not cameos with plenty of nostalgic video game references and humour which is a reason why plenty of adults should see this. It makes it feel like an instant classic and it's got an imaginative yet freaky twist in it that I've ever seen in an animation. The thing that got me was not only the heart-warming ending, but a sweet little romance between two very different characters which should be one of the sweetest romances in animation history. This film should belong up there with beautiful animations such as Toy Story. Expand
  65. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Hilarious, flawlessly made and great entertainment for all viewers. Wreck-it Ralph will please both gamers and film goers alike with its utterly beautiful and brilliant execution and will keep both the young and the old constantly entertained.
  66. May 16, 2013
    9
    Wreck-It Ralph is the best Disney movie since The Emperor's New Groove, which is a big deal for me to say, as The Emperor's New Groove is one of my favourite films of all time. Wreck-It Ralph is a gamer's dream film, all the nods to video games are fantastic and it really feels like a personal love letter to games and the arcade. The film is at times hilarious, heartfelt and exciting, all the ingredients for a truly memorable Disney film, while not quite all the jokes are funny, the vast majority of them had me laughing. Rich Moore has crafted the quintessential video game movie and has made it enjoyable to anyone, seriously, everyone in the family will like it (as long as they don't recoil at the sight of anything colourful). The best movie of 2013 so far, Wreck-It Ralph had me in stitches. Thank-you Rich Moore, 93/100. Expand
  67. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    One of the best movies I've seen. It obviously features all of those appearances from famous video game characters such as Sonic that you've probably heard about, but it features a great story that will get any kid or gamer interested. The characters are great, the voice acting fits perfectly, it has a great soundtrack & it had a huge plot-twist that is sure to surprise you. All in all, if you haven't seen it yet, go do it as soon as possible. Expand
  68. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    Oh oh Pixar...what's going on? While Brave is a bravura technical achievement, its conventional narrative made it felt pedestrian. Wreck-It Ralph ends up being the best animated film of the year. It's creative, fun and heart warming. And for a retro gamer like me, it's a great treat to see all the old game characters of arcade yore making their cameos. Great stuff!
  69. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    Fear not, there's enough pop culture references and nostalgic homages to go around, for Wreck-It Ralph is a true bow to a culture and time that only now seems to live on in the arcade.
    Ralph (John C. Reilly) is fed up of being the villain in the Fix-It Felix game, he has no friends, lives in a dump (literally) and longs of being accepted in the wide world of his video game counterparts.
    As he makes it his point to get a medal and be accepted, we are introduced to childhood heroes reborn, everyone from the Pac-Man universe to Street Fighter and even a little Metal Gear Solid reference.
    There is a whole protocol within each game machine that when the arcade closes, they are free to explore each machine, and the film references on countless occasions just how limited technology was in these games, pixels fill the movement of various characters, showing the comparison between then and now (look at that High Definition, your face; its amazing).
    The film attempts to of course paint the sort of Toy Story picture of what do toys do when nobody is around, they live their lives, all the villains of all the games meet up at Pac Mans machine, where Blinky holds a support group for the villains, and this is truly one of the funniest parts of the film.
    The story does see Ralph trying his best to get a medal, but unfortunately creates an event which could destroy his own gaming machine for good, as he stumbles into the candy world which unfortunately has the cutest and most loveable glitch in small girl Vanellope, who just wants to race her sweet kart (it is literally made up of sweets). But Ralph must be careful because as Sonic says, if you die in another game, you cannot regenerate, ever.
    In regards to visuals, Wreck-It Ralph manages to achieve both the 2-D and 3-D universe seamlessly, which brings past characters to life while also bearing the resemblance of how we remember them.
    The story has the perfect voice cast with Reilly joined by Sarah Silverman and Jane Lynch,
    Its the visual gags that really make this film funny, taking cues from Pixar, and this very well could be mistaken for a Pixar film, but Disney have managed to make kids and adults happy alike whether the characters are running through the high-def world of Hero's Duty or indeed the Pac-Man word, Wreck-It Ralph is a wonderfully funny and well written piece that will amuse everyone.
    Expand
  70. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    Oh it owns. It reeks of Disney -sap, but hey what animation doesn't nowadays. Fun game references galore. I can't see someone not liking this movie. Very enjoyable.
  71. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    If you have any interest in video games (especially Mario Kart, modern shooters, arcade games) this movie has several concepts and ideas that are imaginative and intelligent. The middle of the movie is standard kid friendly action-blockbuster, but the setup is unique, along with some intelligent crossover effects from video games into the realm of animation. I found the voice of the little girl a bit distracting because it sounds like a grown-up impersonating a child, but it's well done, so, non-issue really. Then there's the exclusion of many game genres. RPGs, platformers, point'n'click, strategy, puzzle etc... which would in different ways broaden the scope of the sometimes repetitive use of gokarts. Also, there's not much to take from the movie into the real world. It's in that way stuck between useful exposition of interactive media, and a useless entertainment flick. Very well made, very well thought out. But the direction it takes suffers the same premise as video games: often it's about entertainment and forgetting the bigger themes in life. In these times, we are hard pressed to face real issues and focus culture towards a discussion of those problems, ideas and technologies. For example, what if the movie inspired kids to code? I'm afraid they'll be more inclined to draw and play than to 'get' the importance of words and the ability to code useful tools. I liked that the king was able to 'code' his way out of a problem, but mostly it was about racing a gokart. Distraction or purely fun? Maybe both? Expand
  72. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    A 3D cinema-going for the weekend of this latest Disney animation (by the luckiest chance I found one in its mother tongue). Being mainly ignorant towards the video games territory, which surprisingly did
  73. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Wow, Wreck-it-Ralph is great (not that I'm surprised)! It's a nice, geeky and comedic movie which brings game characters old and new together. It has a charming story of how a bad guy wants to become a good guy; the story manages to be emotional and thrilling most likely it would appeal to all age audiences (except from maybe old people with their "Back in my day!" thing...). One thing that is done really well is that it lets you get to know the characters and what they're like; basically the characterization is done well (especially with Ralph and Venelope.). To conclude: this film is exciting and emotional and would appeal to most audiences with it's light-hearted humour and... annoying world wide liked music (witch: unfortunately... Do not like, but it does fit in with the film very well). So I give this film a... 90/100! Expand
  74. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    A nostalgia trip for all gamers out there, although unfortunately, most of the cameos are from games that were popular in the 80s or arcade games (so I guess the target is for 40+ year olds?) however, younger parents, especially ones with little daughters, might find more enjoyment in this film than others. Lots of video-gaming in-jokes and some important moral lessons makes this a great film. Not as funny as other animated childrens films and it's a pity that some of the video game character cameos weren't fleshed out more but still an awesome film. Expand
  75. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    I originally had this rated a 7; after watching it again a few times, it's really grown on me. The film works well, delivering comedy for both parents and children. A tad predictable, but what Disney move isn't? All in all, one of the better family films to come out in last few years.
  76. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Above all other entertainment mediums I am a gamer first and foremost so when I heard about Pixar making a Toy Story esque film about a videogame arcade I was a little worried, especially when I heard that real game characters such as Sonic Bowser would make an appearance...oh how wrong I was to worry.
    Wreck-It Ralph tells the story of Ralph, the bad guy in the arcade game Fix-It Felix.
    Ralph doesn't like being a bad guy because bad guys dont win medals or get celebrated so when he is shunned from the games 30th anniversary party Ralph decides to leave his game, join a different one and win a medal for being a good guy. However in his disappearance the game Fix-It Felix is continued to be played and is reported broken due to a missing Ralph. Felix realises how much of a role Ralph plays and must track him down and get him back in the game before they are unplugged forever.

    Wreck-It Ralph is incredibly well animated, has a brilliant voice cast and some great cameo's of real game characters and their voice actors. Gamers and non-gamers alike will enjoy it for its modern take on the 'Toy Story' tale and for its hilarious references, the most notable being the Konami Code.
    Wreck-It Ralph is this generations Toy Story and a film that should not be missed by anyone of any age.
    Expand
  77. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    This film is one of my best of the year. First, because of the retro references like Pac-Man, Super Mario Bros, Sonic and especially Fix-It Felix. Secondly, the film will appeal to children who love animated films, as well as old people are nostalgic for their old video games. And finally, the story is fun and active, there is not too cheesy love that Disney has accustomed us. This is one of the best if not the best Disney movie in the last five years, and perhaps even the last ten years. The characters are lovable and endearing, it attaches quickly to Ralph, Felix, Vanellope, Calhoun, etc.. Their stories are interesting because they are very different and original, allowing the writer to expand his ideas. Finally, this film and one of the best movies from 2012 to date, so I advice you, be with family or friends. Expand
  78. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    As an old gamer, I really liked the respect this movie payed to all forgotten games out there So, if you know what Qbert is, go see the movie without further delay As for me, I have to remember where my ZX Spectrum is
  79. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    i love this movie, it has a great range of funny emotional scenes. A great family movie starring Jane Lynch, and John C. Reilly.
  80. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    This is a clever, entertaining video-game based movie. It's also funny, touching, and I had a lot of fun with this film. What I would have liked to have seen more were characters based of from video games in reality. But other than that, this movie was just great.
  81. Jan 11, 2013
    7
    Creativity is key in Wreck-It Ralph; Disney
  82. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Best movie I saw in 2012. As a game villain Ralph is tired of being treated poorly, so on a bet he make an attempt at getting a coveted hero's medal. A story of trust and friendship, the video game landscape doesn't hurt the movie at all.
  83. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    I Loved This Movie! Possibly The Best Animated Movie Of 2012! Very Creative, Never A Dull Moment!
    Love The Video-Game Style!
  84. Aug 24, 2014
    9
    I didn't watch cartoons for a long time, but oh am I glad I got myself to watch this one. Mostly funny jokes, good soundtrack, LOTS of cameos and homages to different video game characters, and the absolutely adorable Vanellope all make up an extremely solid cartoon which you must not miss.
  85. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    How many fits have Disney animations have? Earlier this year Brave was released in theaters, which was a huge it, both critically and in box office. In past years, Disney animations also produced hits in all three Toy Story movies, my personal favorite The Incredibles, Wall.E and so much more to name. To date, Disney animations has not made a bad movie yet. Will Wreck-it Ralph be another Disney hit? On the other hand, will it be a rare flop for the great animation studio? Wreck-it Ralph has a talented cast. John C. Reilly as the lead, who has very good, Sarah Silverman was great as the little squeaky voiced girl, which lead to tones of good laughs, and then Jane Lynch who stole the whole show every time she had her wise cracking, Expand
  86. Feb 15, 2013
    5
    I'll start by saying I don't like CG movies. I can never really connect to them. As a game playing teenager, I was enticed by the nostalgia of seeing some of the games from my youth rendered large. All I can say is what a missed opportunity. I thought there was going to be much more game hopping, and more characters featured. There is the whole history of computer gaming to draw from, and yet hardly any of them are featured. I suspect that they had licensing issues. The script wasn't funny and there was nothing in this film for an adult viewer. The main feature little more than a merchandising opportunity with some crass product placement only just about redeems itself in the last five minutes. It failed to have the emotional weight of the second film in the toy story franchise, or that one with the fish that proves you can be affected by the digital image. There was more feeling in the opening 2D short than there was in this entire movie. Probably worth the entrance fee for that alone. Schweet. Expand
  87. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    Nicest video-game movie ever made. Just don't forget it's a kids movie.All nods to classic games are fantastic, still, the story stands on it's own. Get your kids to it!
  88. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    Wreck It-Ralph is one of the best animated movies I have seen, the movie is heartwarming. The story is about Ralph who is on a journey of self discovery. It's a beautiful movie with meaning and a strong message that really makes you think about the importance of being able to accept yourself, who you are and what you do.
  89. Feb 28, 2013
    6
    Wreck-it Ralph is classic Disney. Take away the video game background and it could be any standard Disney movie. But its the video game background that helps make it work. There's lovely in-jokes for older video game fans while still playing with arcade videogame convention in such an obvious way that any age-group can enjoy it. The film is also helped by great vocal talent. Everyone fits their role and help elevate the movie above the likes of rise of the guardians. However the film suffers on two fronts a bare bones plot device and a villain who only really gets revealed near the end. A bit more world building would have helped both. But still, this is a quality animated movie and great fun for video game nerds like myself. The end credits in particular are lovely. Just below a 7 here. If Metacritic allowed decimals, this would be a 6.5.

    Special mention for the Disney short at the start Paperman. It's absolutely beautiful and strikes a different tone to the usual Pixxar cute short. Mixing lovely black and white colouring with classic Disney-style aniumation, A movie in this style would be very interesting.
    Expand
  90. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    This movie was adorable,intelligent and Full of memorable characters.
    Takes me back to the earlier Disney movies where you could feel for the characters and there was some emotional depth to them, or maybe there wasn't and I was just 10, but in wreck it ralph there definitely was..
    I'm going to suggest this movie to everyone I know with kids..

    The idea of a videogame movie really
    appeals to me, Seeing all those arcade characters gave me a wonderful sense of nostalgia while watching this, wreck it ralph is one of those rare childrens movies that can easily be enjoyed by most light hearted adults and man-children Expand
  91. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    If you are a gamer, and a gamer from the older generation, this movie is for you. All the little tidbits from the Konami code to Zangief's underwear paired with the overall tender story make this movie hilarious and extremely entertaining. In no other film will you see Dr Robotnik, Bison, and Bowser sitting in a support group while Ken and Ryu hit up Tapper's after a long day of work. Innovative, interesting, and of course the movie discusses the general issues surrounding the video game industry in a poignant way. Highly recommended for children and adults alike. Expand
  92. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played lots of games at a younger age and not nearly so much now as I am crazy consumed with work and school but, having said all of that, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie! I just saw it last night (11/11) and it was even better than I had anticipated. Loved the reminiscing I got from seeing some of my favorite characters like Storm from Mortal Combat. But, the movie was also very much for adults since the language wasn't totally geared towards tweens which made it even more enjoyable and took away any feeling that I was too old to watch it. I think it's one of the best animated Disney movies (very comparable to Pixar) produced in a long time! Expand
  93. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Wreck-It Ralph is one of the best movies of 2012. There were moments when I went "Awwe", moments when I went "Woah!", moments when I cried, and moments when I was shocked. It was a fantastic movie that you will always remember!
  94. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    Um das animações mais divertida dos estúdios Dinsey, e com certeza uma das minha favoritas. História, cenários, efeitos sons são bem trabalhado e personagens divertidos.
  95. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Well, it wasn't terrible. Usual kid fare. My son liked it, I guess that qualifies it as a success for the studio. Of course, he eats his boogers and wets the bed, so congrats Hollywood, demographic achieved. On an up note, Jane Lynch is a nice touch.
  96. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    With deep characters, creative settings, and a surprisingly clever plot, Wreck-It Ralph is definitely one of the biggest (and best) surprises of the year! From start to finish, "Ralph" never ceases to deliver enough fun for the younger audience and even succeeds in appealing to the older generation with nostalgic references and a rich, satisfying story. Being "bad" has never felt so "good" until you watch this movie. Expand
  97. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Absolutely loved it. Laughed all the way through. Possibly the best animated film since The Incredibles. My ten year-old son thought it was the best he had seen in over a year. Very heartwarming as well.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 9, 2013
    40
    For me, it never came to life.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    A "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" for the joystick generation that, despite a mid-act dip into generic Disney territory, high-scores on laughs, invention and 8-bit affection.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Kelly
    Jan 21, 2013
    80
    A Disney flick that feels like on-form Pixar, blending knowing humour and sophistication with a large helping of heart. You'll want another go.