Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 591 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Ralph is tired of being overshadowed by Fix-It Felix, the "good guy" star of their game who always gets to save the day. But after decades doing the same thing and seeing all the glory go to Felix, Ralph decides he's tired of playing the role of a bad guy. He takes matters into his own massive hands and sets off on a game-hopping journey across the arcade through every generation of video games to prove he's got what it takes to be a hero. On his quest, he meets the tough-as-nails Sergeant Calhoun from the first-person action game Hero’s Duty. But it’s the feisty misfit Vanellope von Schweetz from the candy-coated cart racing game, Sugar Rush, whose world is threatened when Ralph accidentally unleashes a deadly enemy that threatens the entire arcade. Will Ralph realize his dream and save the day before it’s too late? (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 3, 2012
    100
    Wreck-It Ralph is smart, funny, sweet and sassy. And that's just Sarah Silverman's character... The movie is a treat for kids and the parents they drag to see it. Or maybe it'll be the other way around. Either way. It doesn't matter how you get to it. Just get there.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Oct 26, 2012
    100
    With plenty to appeal to boys and girls, old and young, Walt Disney Animation Studios has a high-scoring hit on its hands in this brilliantly conceived, gorgeously executed toon, earning bonus points for backing nostalgia with genuine emotion.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Oct 26, 2012
    90
    With a mix of retro eye-candy for grown-ups and a thrilling, approachable storyline for the tykes, the film casts a wide and beguiling net.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 31, 2012
    75
    There's something very old fashioned about the core ingredients of Wreck-It Ralph; these blend well with the "hip" elements. Still, I can't help but wonder whether this is all just one big product placement for something aimed at the home video market. It seems like a game designer's wet dream.
  5. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    A lot like video games and candy: light entertainment but fun while it lasts.
  6. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 4, 2012
    60
    Still, it does eventually become a bit tedious, and for all the breathless kineticism of the film's second act, you may find yourself twiddling your thumbs. It's a cool game, to be sure, but watching someone else play it gets old after a while.
  7. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Oct 28, 2012
    38
    Nothing but broad, pandering indexes tailored to appeal to the arcade wistfulness the film never even bothers to convincingly evoke.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 165
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    When I saw the trailer for Wreck-It Ralph last year, it didn't excite me too much. Still, I thought I would give it a shot. I am long time gamer after-all. I didn't expect to watch a great nostalgic and heartfelt film. It is my favorite animated film since Toy Story 3. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    this is the ultimate gamers movie. it pays the greatest respect to the games it's referencing and uses it's arcade setting in amazing ways

    i love the story and characters especially Ralph in which john c riley gives one of his best performances and Vanellope who is expertly played by sarah silverman

    seriously go and see this movie you won't regret it
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Best movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie has it all. Disney has a real winner on it's hands. I saw the movie 2 months before release and couldn't want to line up at a theater to pay my money to go see it again. This is a movie you will have to get on Blu-Ray and pause just to catch all the hidden "easter eggs' if you will. LIke "No Campers" written in graffiti on the walls or coins coming out of Sonic when he gets bumped into. The very opening scene blows you away when you go from 2D view of the Fix it Felix Jr. game into the 3D immersive world. Ralph is a great hero to root for and Vanellopee is lovable and cute with just the right amount of feisty-ness. Over a great cast, many laughs, and a great ride into the world of video games new and old. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    Wreck-it Ralph is the best animated film since Toy Story 3. All the characters in this film help to create a story that could become a very nice franchise. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    "I'm Gonna wreck it!" Once I saw the trailer for the first time I was hooked and knew I had to see it. I loved the very cool idea of video game characters in an arcade that had homes they went back to after their "work day" in the arcade game was over. It is jam packed with references to old school arcade games and being 40 I remember playing Q-bert and Pac-man etc. in the arcade. I like how it fused a character from a more modern game into the plot which was centered on an older 8-bit game. A large part of it takes place in a game called 'Sugar Rush' which was cute and funny but a little too cutsie for me. It seemed to be aimed more at kids than adults, which is a no-brainer but many movies like this have a ton of jokes for adults too and some of the retro game stuff was but it was just very cutsie. The script was good with decently fleshed out main characters and overall it was a good amount of laughs and entertainment. Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    After a stomping success in the States, this witty retro gaming homage is the first bow in the Disney Animation Studios’ arrow to be as ardent and artistically ballsy as the work from those neighboring Pixar bigwigs.

    Read the full review here:
    http://theframeloop.com/2013/02/06/filmwreck/
    Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2013
    0
    This movie is the biggest piece of commercial i've ever seen in an animated movie. the well known, and well loved gaming characters like, Bowser, Sonic, Eggman, packman, and so on. They are only in the movie for like 5mins, and over half of them don't even have a line. I bet it's just so they can put em on the poster and in commercials, so people go see it.

    Futher more, it was predictable as hell. well, maybe it's just me, but i feel tricked by Walt Disney, what a load of BS (sorry). i'm just glad i didn't pay to watch it.

    But i can see that it would be good for small children, who dosen't know thoes classic gaming personalities, so they don't feel tricked. And it definitly shouldn't get oscar nominated. But i guess if it wins a Oscar Statuette, then i'll know that the Oscars is Fixed. xD
    Expand

See all 165 User Reviews

Trailers