Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 616 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Ralph is tired of being overshadowed by Fix-It Felix, the "good guy" star of their game who always gets to save the day. But after decades doing the same thing and seeing all the glory go to Felix, Ralph decides he's tired of playing the role of a bad guy. He takes matters into his ownRalph is tired of being overshadowed by Fix-It Felix, the "good guy" star of their game who always gets to save the day. But after decades doing the same thing and seeing all the glory go to Felix, Ralph decides he's tired of playing the role of a bad guy. He takes matters into his own massive hands and sets off on a game-hopping journey across the arcade through every generation of video games to prove he's got what it takes to be a hero. On his quest, he meets the tough-as-nails Sergeant Calhoun from the first-person action game Hero’s Duty. But it’s the feisty misfit Vanellope von Schweetz from the candy-coated cart racing game, Sugar Rush, whose world is threatened when Ralph accidentally unleashes a deadly enemy that threatens the entire arcade. Will Ralph realize his dream and save the day before it’s too late? (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 3, 2012
    100
    Wreck-It Ralph is smart, funny, sweet and sassy. And that's just Sarah Silverman's character... The movie is a treat for kids and the parents they drag to see it. Or maybe it'll be the other way around. Either way. It doesn't matter how you get to it. Just get there.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Oct 26, 2012
    100
    With plenty to appeal to boys and girls, old and young, Walt Disney Animation Studios has a high-scoring hit on its hands in this brilliantly conceived, gorgeously executed toon, earning bonus points for backing nostalgia with genuine emotion.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Oct 26, 2012
    90
    With a mix of retro eye-candy for grown-ups and a thrilling, approachable storyline for the tykes, the film casts a wide and beguiling net.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 31, 2012
    75
    There's something very old fashioned about the core ingredients of Wreck-It Ralph; these blend well with the "hip" elements. Still, I can't help but wonder whether this is all just one big product placement for something aimed at the home video market. It seems like a game designer's wet dream.
  5. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    A lot like video games and candy: light entertainment but fun while it lasts.
  6. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 4, 2012
    60
    Still, it does eventually become a bit tedious, and for all the breathless kineticism of the film's second act, you may find yourself twiddling your thumbs. It's a cool game, to be sure, but watching someone else play it gets old after a while.
  7. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Oct 28, 2012
    38
    Nothing but broad, pandering indexes tailored to appeal to the arcade wistfulness the film never even bothers to convincingly evoke.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 167
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    I actually expected less, maybe 7/10. But THIS movie is one of the best animated movies of 2013 (in where I live) and of all time. It's soI actually expected less, maybe 7/10. But THIS movie is one of the best animated movies of 2013 (in where I live) and of all time. It's so good, I am wondering why people HATE IT?!? I tell you, it's no mixed bag, it's a Pick n Mix. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Hilarious, flawlessly made and great entertainment for all viewers. Wreck-it Ralph will please both gamers and film goers alike with itsHilarious, flawlessly made and great entertainment for all viewers. Wreck-it Ralph will please both gamers and film goers alike with its utterly beautiful and brilliant execution and will keep both the young and the old constantly entertained. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Best movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie hasBest movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie has it all. Disney has a real winner on it's hands. I saw the movie 2 months before release and couldn't want to line up at a theater to pay my money to go see it again. This is a movie you will have to get on Blu-Ray and pause just to catch all the hidden "easter eggs' if you will. LIke "No Campers" written in graffiti on the walls or coins coming out of Sonic when he gets bumped into. The very opening scene blows you away when you go from 2D view of the Fix it Felix Jr. game into the 3D immersive world. Ralph is a great hero to root for and Vanellopee is lovable and cute with just the right amount of feisty-ness. Over a great cast, many laughs, and a great ride into the world of video games new and old. Expand
  4. May 6, 2013
    9
    Awesome movie. I loved all the references and character cameos from the video games of years past. It was funny, clever and nostalgic. ItAwesome movie. I loved all the references and character cameos from the video games of years past. It was funny, clever and nostalgic. It would be a shame for anyone to miss out on this movie. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    After a stomping success in the States, this witty retro gaming homage is the first bow in the Disney Animation Studios’ arrow to be as ardentAfter a stomping success in the States, this witty retro gaming homage is the first bow in the Disney Animation Studios’ arrow to be as ardent and artistically ballsy as the work from those neighboring Pixar bigwigs.

    Read the full review here:
    http://theframeloop.com/2013/02/06/filmwreck/
    Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    A movie about a game usually means disaster but for once not. A film where adults (espeically gaming adults) and kids will both get a lot fromA movie about a game usually means disaster but for once not. A film where adults (espeically gaming adults) and kids will both get a lot from the nostalgia, knowing in jokes and cameos to the great visuals. Traditional Disney story about an outsider who wants to be accepted fits well into the "win the game" theme. From makers of both Toy Story and The Simpsons this is a movie where you won't want to hit "QUIT"! Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2013
    0
    This movie is the biggest piece of commercial i've ever seen in an animated movie. the well known, and well loved gaming characters like,This movie is the biggest piece of commercial i've ever seen in an animated movie. the well known, and well loved gaming characters like, Bowser, Sonic, Eggman, packman, and so on. They are only in the movie for like 5mins, and over half of them don't even have a line. I bet it's just so they can put em on the poster and in commercials, so people go see it.

    Futher more, it was predictable as hell. well, maybe it's just me, but i feel tricked by Walt Disney, what a load of BS (sorry). i'm just glad i didn't pay to watch it.

    But i can see that it would be good for small children, who dosen't know thoes classic gaming personalities, so they don't feel tricked. And it definitly shouldn't get oscar nominated. But i guess if it wins a Oscar Statuette, then i'll know that the Oscars is Fixed. xD
    Expand

See all 167 User Reviews

Trailers