Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1392 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - toThe ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - to save our future. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 22, 2014
    91
    Once every couple of years, a movie comes along to remind us how satisfyingly complex the genre can be. Christopher Nolan’s reimagining of the “Batman” saga did that masterfully. On a slightly less ambitious scale, so does X-Men: Days of Future Past.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 22, 2014
    88
    To reboot the X-Men franchise, director Bryan Singer, who first gave these characters screen life fourteen years ago, has crafted a continuity-lover's nightmare.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 22, 2014
    83
    I couldn’t follow many of the ins and outs of the time-travel scenario, and I’m not altogether sure that the filmmakers could, either. It doesn’t really matter. It’s enough that the movie is fun. We shouldn’t also expect it to make sense.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    May 21, 2014
    75
    For better or worse, X-Men: Days Of Future Past is the first Marvel movie to truly embrace comics-style storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 22, 2014
    75
    “Days” is fast, smart, well-acted, and intermittently inspired, and if you don’t know or care who Beast or Blink or Storm are, you can safely skip it.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    70
    As usual, the characters — and the performers playing them — step unto the breach to provide just enough wit and feeling to make Days of Future Past something other than a waste of a reasonable person’s time.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 12, 2014
    40
    The film squanders both of its casts, reeling from one fumbled set-piece to the next. It seems to have been constructed in a stupor, and you watch in a daze of future past.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 294
  1. May 28, 2014
    10
    simply put...the best most refreshing entry to the series. Fixes many plot holes from previous entries and puts the movie franchise in asimply put...the best most refreshing entry to the series. Fixes many plot holes from previous entries and puts the movie franchise in a better future. I think it's the movie of the half year...lets see where the other half takes us....if i were a betting man, I can place my money that this film will be the one beat. Expand
  2. May 25, 2014
    10
    Being the oldest superhero franchise,the xmen series had a few flaws in some of its previous films but Singer was able to bring back the X-menBeing the oldest superhero franchise,the xmen series had a few flaws in some of its previous films but Singer was able to bring back the X-men grove and earn redemption in the latest instalment of the series.Totally satisfying and immensely Awesome Expand
  3. May 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded myThis is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded my expectations and I'm sure it will surprise you from the beginning to the end... and, I have a new favorite movie now... Collapse
  4. May 28, 2014
    9
    Eventhough there's a bit poor and unsatisfactory on its visual effects, but with a fascinating concept. a success of combining part ofEventhough there's a bit poor and unsatisfactory on its visual effects, but with a fascinating concept. a success of combining part of previous X-Men's franchise and long list of star, X-Men : Days of Future Past easily becomes one of the best film in 2014 so far (but not the best). Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    8
    Probably one of the most high-concept superhero films of recent years, Days Of Future Past is an exhilarating ride from start to finish. TheProbably one of the most high-concept superhero films of recent years, Days Of Future Past is an exhilarating ride from start to finish. The innovative use of each mutant's powers make some of the action sequences utterly unique (the use of portals is particularly effective). There is a bit of an Inception feel to parts of the film flicking back between the past and the future. This is no criticism as far as I'm concerned. Even the 3D is pretty good, though not necessary.

    Given the sheer number of characters involved it is inevitable that some get a bit short-shrift: It is no understatement to say that Storm has about twenty words in the entire movie, Havoc gets about a minute, even Bolivar Trusk - ostensibly a main villain - does not have enormous screen time. However that serves even more to make sure you don't take your eyes of the film; this one requires far more engagement than, say, Godzilla. Again, not a criticism.

    The time travel element does raise a few contradictions - particularly for the ending. I won't spoil it as, despite its flaws, it is a brilliant end to a great film. One footnote: those waiting for the post-credit sequence will find it very confusing if not well-versed in the comics. It also really IS post credits, so you have to wait the best part of ten minutes for it.

    All in all, a good film that carries on from the excellent First Class and makes far better use of Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen than Last Stand did. Thoroughly recommend.
    Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    Bryan Singer sabe como hacer cine de buen entretenimiento, no se necesita de suecuencia de accion desenfrenada para contar una historiaBryan Singer sabe como hacer cine de buen entretenimiento, no se necesita de suecuencia de accion desenfrenada para contar una historia maravillosa pero que peca de alguno que otro agujero, las interpetraciones son soberbias, escenas bien rodadas como el escape del pentagono, sin duda mi favorita de la saga de los mutantes. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    BY FAR the worst xmen movie ever made the mistakes both logical and else where just all over the place it was just such a huge bummer and suchBY FAR the worst xmen movie ever made the mistakes both logical and else where just all over the place it was just such a huge bummer and such a terrible movie that i dont even know where to begin to criticize ...
    But above all the sentinels kicking mutant as* 'es like its nothing is what killed it for me i mean come on ... Anyone who has watched the xmen - tas and read the xmen comics would say the same thing about this terrible excuse of an xmen movie my overview opinion is that marvel should stop making movies and ruining childhoods because this thing totally ruined mine ...
    Expand

See all 294 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.