Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Bryan Singer
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Fantasy
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 131 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 22, 2014
    91
    Once every couple of years, a movie comes along to remind us how satisfyingly complex the genre can be. Christopher Nolan’s reimagining of the “Batman” saga did that masterfully. On a slightly less ambitious scale, so does X-Men: Days of Future Past.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 22, 2014
    88
    To reboot the X-Men franchise, director Bryan Singer, who first gave these characters screen life fourteen years ago, has crafted a continuity-lover's nightmare.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 22, 2014
    83
    I couldn’t follow many of the ins and outs of the time-travel scenario, and I’m not altogether sure that the filmmakers could, either. It doesn’t really matter. It’s enough that the movie is fun. We shouldn’t also expect it to make sense.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    May 21, 2014
    75
    For better or worse, X-Men: Days Of Future Past is the first Marvel movie to truly embrace comics-style storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 22, 2014
    75
    “Days” is fast, smart, well-acted, and intermittently inspired, and if you don’t know or care who Beast or Blink or Storm are, you can safely skip it.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    70
    As usual, the characters — and the performers playing them — step unto the breach to provide just enough wit and feeling to make Days of Future Past something other than a waste of a reasonable person’s time.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 12, 2014
    40
    The film squanders both of its casts, reeling from one fumbled set-piece to the next. It seems to have been constructed in a stupor, and you watch in a daze of future past.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 242
  1. May 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded my expectations and I'm sure it will surprise you from the beginning to the end... and, I have a new favorite movie now... Expand
  2. May 25, 2014
    10
    oooooo la wea buena ctmmmmmm la cago qe me moje con la wea nunca habia visto una wea tan buena pero tampoco tanto porqe la wea esqe me pica el pico xd Expand
  3. May 29, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best superhero movies ever made and is easily the best X-Men movie to date. It puts the X-Men franchise back on track. This year has been great so far with this and Winter Soldier being amazing.

    Remember the Dark Knight films being praised as the best superhero movies? Well they weren't since theres nothing "super" about them. Good movies but not superhero movies. These recent Marvel movies are written really well AND they do the comics justice unlike Nolans trilogy.

    This is a true superhero movie and one of the best, if not the best.
    Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    Great story line and developed nicely. Maybe a little dragging but still the best story line of any X-Men movie so far. And as all of my family and friends and family have stated QUICKSILVER is worth the price of admission! Go see it! Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    From the very beginning, “X-Men: Days of Future Past” had me hooked. It tells an endearing story of the struggles of survival for these mutants as they are picked off one by one by the monstrous and vicious Sentinels. The X-Men have to work together with their past selves, in order to secure their future. It is a fun and highly well told story that pays of not only in the action, but also emotionally.

    Bryan Singer is at his best as he directs a large cast of mutants through an emotionally endearing story that will leave viewers in awe of what is happening and what is to come for the franchise. I really appreciated a lot of the stylized directing, it really made the film that much more fun. The visuals are used impressively and the action sequences are directed incredibly well. I was literally at the edge of my seat every time the characters were in combat as I literally felt that they might lose their lives. The script is packed with great character moments and we get to learn a lot more about our favorite mutants. The time traveling is handled incredibly well and as long as you don’t try to break it down, it is satisfyingly well handled.

    The cast is great and they really own their characters. Fassbender and McAvoy are great replacements as Magneto and Professor Xavier, respectively. They provide great emotional performances as well give us some great character moments. Jennifer Lawrence has come a long way from her first performance as the blue shape shifting femme fetal, Mystique. She finally fits the role perfectly as she is sleek, sexy, and highly unpredictable. And as always, Hugh Jackman is just spot on as Wolverine.

    Overall, “X-Men: Days of Future Past” is a the quintessential summer blockbuster this year. It has everything from amazing action, thought provoking and emotionally satisfying story that delivers on all cylinders, and a great cast of talented actors. This not only is the best movie of the year so far, it is also the best X-Men movie yet and personally it’s in my top 3 favorite comic book movies of all time list. I give it a incredibly high 4.5/5.
    Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    8
    Coming from a longtime fan of the comics, this was a GOOD movie. It was probably the most anticipated of the X-Men movies I have seen lately. I was disappointed at how they deviated from the original story ark that the movie was based on, but I do understand that they are trying to connect the original X-Men movies with the newer X-Men: First Class team. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    BY FAR the worst xmen movie ever made the mistakes both logical and else where just all over the place it was just such a huge bummer and such a terrible movie that i dont even know where to begin to criticize ...
    But above all the sentinels kicking mutant as* 'es like its nothing is what killed it for me i mean come on ... Anyone who has watched the xmen - tas and read the xmen comics would say the same thing about this terrible excuse of an xmen movie my overview opinion is that marvel should stop making movies and ruining childhoods because this thing totally ruined mine ...
    Expand

See all 242 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.