X-Men: Days of Future Past Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1829 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - toThe ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - to save our future. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 22, 2014
    91
    Once every couple of years, a movie comes along to remind us how satisfyingly complex the genre can be. Christopher Nolan’s reimagining of the “Batman” saga did that masterfully. On a slightly less ambitious scale, so does X-Men: Days of Future Past.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 22, 2014
    88
    To reboot the X-Men franchise, director Bryan Singer, who first gave these characters screen life fourteen years ago, has crafted a continuity-lover's nightmare.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 22, 2014
    83
    I couldn’t follow many of the ins and outs of the time-travel scenario, and I’m not altogether sure that the filmmakers could, either. It doesn’t really matter. It’s enough that the movie is fun. We shouldn’t also expect it to make sense.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    May 21, 2014
    75
    For better or worse, X-Men: Days Of Future Past is the first Marvel movie to truly embrace comics-style storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 22, 2014
    75
    “Days” is fast, smart, well-acted, and intermittently inspired, and if you don’t know or care who Beast or Blink or Storm are, you can safely skip it.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    70
    As usual, the characters — and the performers playing them — step unto the breach to provide just enough wit and feeling to make Days of Future Past something other than a waste of a reasonable person’s time.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 12, 2014
    40
    The film squanders both of its casts, reeling from one fumbled set-piece to the next. It seems to have been constructed in a stupor, and you watch in a daze of future past.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 321
  1. May 25, 2014
    10
    Terrific movie. One of the best superhero movies I've seen. The cast was excellent and the story was good. That acting was terrific and it hasTerrific movie. One of the best superhero movies I've seen. The cast was excellent and the story was good. That acting was terrific and it has one of my favorite scenes in a superhero movie. I know why they changed the story to suit Wolverines needs as the "main character" for the X-men movies but I would have liked to see them keep the old DoFP storyline intact. However, this movie did make up for the change in story pretty well and I give them credit for what they did. This is easily the best X-men movie they've made and probably the best superhero movie I've ever seen. Can't recommend it enough. Expand
  2. May 26, 2014
    10
    This is the best X-Men movie. Great history to reboot the franchise. Amazing Action Scenes, great history.... great characters. My favoriteThis is the best X-Men movie. Great history to reboot the franchise. Amazing Action Scenes, great history.... great characters. My favorite X-Men movie ever. Expand
  3. May 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded myThis is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded my expectations and I'm sure it will surprise you from the beginning to the end... and, I have a new favorite movie now... Expand
  4. May 28, 2014
    9
    An amazing move for fans of the series! Combines the X-Men we all love with a cool time traveling twist! I also loved all the little EasterAn amazing move for fans of the series! Combines the X-Men we all love with a cool time traveling twist! I also loved all the little Easter eggs they put into the movie for fans of the comics! A must see movie! Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    8
    It isn’t just the Xs and Os that make the film special; it’s also the film’s ambition, which cannot be understated. This film is beingIt isn’t just the Xs and Os that make the film special; it’s also the film’s ambition, which cannot be understated. This film is being released in a post-Avengers world, where culmination is king (see DC/WB’s recent Justice League-related moves as evidence), and the X-Men franchise comes into this picture as considerably fractured. The original “modern day” team – Wolverine, Professor X, Cyclops, Storm, etc. – petered out with the third entry, only Wolverine has had any success as a stand-alone spinoff, and the First Class “prequel” was immediately hailed as the best of the entire lot, leaving the original to be forgotten. Rather than reboot the whole shebang or focus on a specific First Class sequel, Singer instead doubles-down and incorporates old and new. Granted, he mitigates some risk by keeping the focus on only the best characters from the two worlds, but his faith in incorporating anyone from the old world other than Wolverine, and his willingness to cut bait on some of the lesser characters from the new world, speaks to his confidence as a filmmaker. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2015
    8
    As far as X Men movies go this is the best....so far. The storyline is exciting and it's fun to see all the different characters as theirAs far as X Men movies go this is the best....so far. The storyline is exciting and it's fun to see all the different characters as their younger and older selves. I give it a 9 out of 10! Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2014
    0
    terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terribleterrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible Expand

See all 321 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Every Jennifer Lawrence Movie, Ranked

    Every Jennifer Lawrence Movie, Ranked Image
    Published: March 24, 2016
    We rank Jennifer Lawrence's entire filmography from worst to best.
  2. Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: March 14, 2016
    We rank every recent Marvel film from worst to best by Metascore.
  3. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2015

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2015 Image
    Published: July 4, 2015
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including sci-fi thriller Ex Machina, a new version of X-Men: Days of Future Past, indie horror hit It Follows, and much more.