User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 931 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 931

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not bad, but a little dissapointing. Overall i enjoyed First Class, but it seemed like they only scratched the surface in terms of potential. I felt they could've done a bit more with it and included more thorough backstory and development for the main characters. Dialogue was also a little weak. Overall a fun movie for X-men fans and solid CGI. SPOILER! The best part of the movie was a short and hilarious cameo by an X-men legend. Everyone in the theatre laughed into the next scene. Loved it. Nice job by McAvoy and Fassbender as well. First Class deserves a rental. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    I'm a big fan of the X-men comics and a big Marvel fan in general. This movie was done really well with some awesome leads and some sub-par secondary characters.
  3. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    After Thor I wasn't too sure how Marvel could make a come back, but Gosh darn it, they made one hell of a come back! X-Men: First Class is the perfect comic book movie, I loved every frame of this film. Matthew Vaughn has created yet another instant classic for me! I didn't expect to be as blown away by Kevin Bacon's performance as I was and James McAvoy was absolutely amazing as Professor Xavier!
  4. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    Searching for a movie to see this weekend - then 'X' marks the spot because the recently lumbering X-MEN franchise finally moves again with speed and grace. It'll bob, jab and, ultimately, knock you out with its intelligent and witty writing, its engagingly compelling characters and its toned-down, destructive big budget action. It doesn't rely on spectacle - it's mainly aboutSearching for a movie to see this weekend - then 'X' marks the spot because the recently lumbering X-MEN franchise finally moves again with speed and grace. It'll bob, jab and, ultimately, knock you out with its intelligent and witty writing, its engagingly compelling characters and its toned-down, destructive big budget action. It doesn't rely on spectacle - it's mainly about characters, relationships and story - and that's what truly makes this early James Bondian-like, retro prequel a FIRST CLASS fifth installment. Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    A definite step in the right direction for this franchise. The X-Men trilogy had a good run and gave us a really interesting look at the X-Men world. Now, this new start to the franchise, is fresh and well written. With great characters and a promising future for the next few films.
  6. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    First Class, indeed. It might be my favorite X. The performances are wonderful, especially the sexy Michael Fassbender. It moves fast but stays focused, brilliant visuals, and exciting-coherent-action sequences and special effects. Great stuff!
  7. Mar 4, 2012
    0
    The only thing about this film that redeemed it was the brief scene with Hugh Jackman where he tells them to well he just does and they should have all listened.
  8. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    X-men - a unique franchise, and the fifth film series that further confirmation. Usually, the movie series before the age of the elderly, steaming, hits the samopovtory or creators are fundamentally changing the concept of the franchise. Tired out at the end of the third part of Mutants in a deadlock, the creators of making the only right decision - a spin-Offa. Prehistory of the mostX-men - a unique franchise, and the fifth film series that further confirmation. Usually, the movie series before the age of the elderly, steaming, hits the samopovtory or creators are fundamentally changing the concept of the franchise. Tired out at the end of the third part of Mutants in a deadlock, the creators of making the only right decision - a spin-Offa. Prehistory of the most charismatic and memorable characters trilogy. And if you need to move past the history of Wolverine looks doubtful (in the original trilogy rather detailed account of the formation of Logan and in isolation from the team, he has become less interesting character), the reasons for the confrontation of Professor Xavier and Magneto in the "first class" at least raises curiosity . In addition, a cursory glance at the synopsis of the paintings fueled interest in the movie, judge for yourself: 1. The choice of producers as a director Matthew Vaughn, at the time refused to take "final battle" because of uncertainty in the forces, newly appointed to the shooting new film in the series. And the reason is "Kick-Ass," with its innovative approach to superheroes and all komiksnoy topic. And here it is felt with a vengeance. Not a single superfluous scene, no unnecessary characters, action shot, so that the screen does not come off, even conversational scenes are kept in suspense, for that blockbuster with 160 million budget no mean achievement. 2. Jane Goldman script, Ashley Miller, Zack Stents ... plot and the characters nor the means do not go in contradiction with the previous series, and images created by the actors in previous films. The plot about finding Eric Lensherrom Nazi war criminals is beyond praise - in the scenes where Magneto faces the demons of the past concentration camp, with the hero fist shrink from the tension. The history of confrontation between society and the community of mutants who are torn between the Beast and Mystique revealed far more interesting than the third series of the franchise. 3. Cuban Missile Crisis era. The very idea of â Expand
  9. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    A solid 8 from me. The movie was very entertaining and some of the acting (McAvoy as Xavier and Fassbender as Magneto) was excellent. Some obvious weakness in plot and logic here and there, but overall pretty decent for a movie aimed at the masses and teenagers. This is not a movie I'd ever buy for my blu-ray collection, but it was a fun 2 hours, nonetheless. Oh yeah, all the actresses inA solid 8 from me. The movie was very entertaining and some of the acting (McAvoy as Xavier and Fassbender as Magneto) was excellent. Some obvious weakness in plot and logic here and there, but overall pretty decent for a movie aimed at the masses and teenagers. This is not a movie I'd ever buy for my blu-ray collection, but it was a fun 2 hours, nonetheless. Oh yeah, all the actresses in the movie were f'n hot. Expand
  10. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    This is by far the best X-Men movie. The acting was good and so was the effects. The story had some slow points and didn't make sense at some points, but all in all it was an enjoyable movie for the most part. My favorite thing about the movie was the soundtrack.
  11. Oct 7, 2011
    7
    Well, it is not a perfect movie but not bad after all. Very impressive effects, story and even the characters. We don't watch the boring struggle between the good and the bad but we can see the struggles in each character's mind themselves. This is the movies that the casts perform very well.
  12. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Great movie! The story was simple, amost "ready", but they made good use of it, very good timing on the scenes, nothing is boring or out of place. The casting was brilliant, the characters were very charismatic and interesting; James McAvoy completely surprised me, he was a very funny but still serious Professor X. Magneto was just awesome, it's hard to hate him at the end of the movie.Great movie! The story was simple, amost "ready", but they made good use of it, very good timing on the scenes, nothing is boring or out of place. The casting was brilliant, the characters were very charismatic and interesting; James McAvoy completely surprised me, he was a very funny but still serious Professor X. Magneto was just awesome, it's hard to hate him at the end of the movie. The attention to details just made it all worth it for the fans, I hope to see a sequel soon. Expand
  13. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Wow is all I have to say. They have so many x-men movies how can they still make a great movie. From start to finish I on the edge of my seat. They explain and showed so much with in the 2 hours it was almost insane. The writes hit it on the head. So much action, funny at points, and also it ties it all together for the x-men fans that just enjoy the movies. Fassbender and McAvoy nailedWow is all I have to say. They have so many x-men movies how can they still make a great movie. From start to finish I on the edge of my seat. They explain and showed so much with in the 2 hours it was almost insane. The writes hit it on the head. So much action, funny at points, and also it ties it all together for the x-men fans that just enjoy the movies. Fassbender and McAvoy nailed it. Overall the movie is a must see if you seen the other ones, that is why I gave it a 9, because it would be hard to understand without the knowledge of the other ones. I just hope they keep blowing my mind if they make another one. Expand
  14. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    I was expecting a very poor-quality movie when I went to see X-Men: First Class, and I was not only surprised but most impressed with the quality of the storyline, acting, and characterization of this film. Of all three of these things, this film accelerates beyond the other films, especially when it comes to the latter.

    Characterization comes off deeper and is probably more realistic
    I was expecting a very poor-quality movie when I went to see X-Men: First Class, and I was not only surprised but most impressed with the quality of the storyline, acting, and characterization of this film. Of all three of these things, this film accelerates beyond the other films, especially when it comes to the latter.

    Characterization comes off deeper and is probably more realistic than any of the other movies, especially with the character of Magneto (primarily going by his real name, "Eric," in the film), who I believe any audience will find to be a much more sympathetic than the inexplicable hate-filled bad-guy that he is portrayed as in previous films. In short then, I felt that that the characters on screen were actually people and I was actually able to identify with them (or to identify AGAINST them) and so could actually feel an emotional pull as Magneto pulled and ripped things apart with his powers.

    As for plot outside of character, you will not see much of a difference from other superhero/ comic book movies. The "X-Men" (which for the purposes of this movie is a liberal use of the term) must go out and save the world from single bad guy with SUPER-super powers and his group of goons with other still-intimidating but not quite so powerful powers. In this, it is not surprising, but rather playing to a stereotype and so could be said to be one of its only drawbacks. However, this drawback is ALMOST alleviated by his excellent historical context in the turbulent 1960s. (Prepare for sexy Russian accents.)

    As for the construction of the film, I found most people could not tell the difference between CGI most of the time and real footage (speaking to the talents of the art of this film) and the acting itself is better than could be normally expected from a caste that is generally unknown. As stated before, the actor that plays Magneto - though for the life of me I cannot now remember his name - may actually be a better Magneto than Ian McKellan. No higher honor I think I need to bestow.... Yet you may find the soon-to-be "Professor X" to be a little disappointing. In short, I would describe him as much more of a Frodo and much less of the Gandalf that he needs to be. To not dwell further into it, I would say only that the small parts do there job well and the large parts do not disappoint, but you will probably find yourself wanting more scenes of Magneto's character and less of the atypical "goody-goody-two-shoes."

    I give this film a 9, though it might be slightly over that number in my book. Primarily it is the general predictible plot that brings the score down, with a few uncomfortably corny or merely undeservedly sympathetic scenes close to the beginning of the film that seem just a little bit too easy on the "good" guys.

    I would therefore recommend you to see it in theatres if you are simply looking for a decent-quality sci-fi film to see. Fans should not be disappointed and newcomers should also not be turned away, but don't expect anything ground breaking going on.
    Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2014
    7
    Lead by excellent performances from James McAvoy and Micheal Fassbender, First Class, does a good job of crafting the origins of the X-Men seen in previous movies. Admittedly it doesn’t do anything particularly different to many of the other Marvel movies, and the plot arguably jumps around a little too much, but fans of the superhero genre won’t be disappointed by what they see here.
  16. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    This was a surprisingly great movie filled with action, tragedy, and even a bit of love. As far as superhero movies go, this one was amazing. If you are a person that has seen any of the previous X-Men movies, I strongly encourage you to see this movie because it answers a lot of questions and plot lines for the first 3 movies. Even though I saw the movie in a small, cold theatre, it was aThis was a surprisingly great movie filled with action, tragedy, and even a bit of love. As far as superhero movies go, this one was amazing. If you are a person that has seen any of the previous X-Men movies, I strongly encourage you to see this movie because it answers a lot of questions and plot lines for the first 3 movies. Even though I saw the movie in a small, cold theatre, it was a memorable experience. The acting was astounding and what really surprised me was how much Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy look like Ian McKellan and Patrick Stewart. If you haven't seen this movie or are debating whether you should see it, it is definitely worth it! Expand
  17. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    What a good film. I wasn't so sure about going back to the origin but this movie was executed very well. Matthew Vaughn, who directed Kick-Ass, directs this movie and personally i think it is his best film out of the four that he has made. I really hope he returns to helm the sequel
  18. Jul 5, 2011
    6
    Lots of great parts to this movie, but why was it so bloody long? Did they fire the editor? Too many characters and too many scenes about 'feeling normal'. Yes we get it . . .after 5 X-men movies, they don't feel normal. Cut 30 minutes off this movie and I think you would have something much better.
  19. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    best x xmen movie ever. must watch. this is the real origin of x men saga i guess. Competently executed yet utterly forgettable, X-Men: First Class benefits from an outstanding performance from Michael Fassbender. Thank God he was in the movie.
  20. Jun 4, 2011
    7
    There are moments of brilliance in X-Men: First Class, it has to be said. The re-creation of the first film's opening is a strong, and unexpected start. The scenes where the mutant team is being formed, and trained, are also extremely fun. Nicholas Hoult, playing a young beast, and Jennifer Lawrence, playing a young Mystique are surprising highlights, both bringing real emotion and empathyThere are moments of brilliance in X-Men: First Class, it has to be said. The re-creation of the first film's opening is a strong, and unexpected start. The scenes where the mutant team is being formed, and trained, are also extremely fun. Nicholas Hoult, playing a young beast, and Jennifer Lawrence, playing a young Mystique are surprising highlights, both bringing real emotion and empathy to their respective blue characters. Kevin Bacon has fun as the movie's main villain and James McAvoy is a convincing, and slightly more mischievous younger Professor X. Michael Fassbender also delivers a spellbinding performance, and really manages to get across why Magneto becomes the man he does - it's just such a shame that he occasionally slips back into his natural Irish dialect in several of the more dramatic moments. The characters are all likable, the story well-enough told. It's only a few clunkily delivered lines, and a quite frankly ridiculous finale (even by comic book standards) that verges on spoiling the movie. There is, however, enough to entertain, and more than enough fan-boy references to make First-Class a worthwhile watch, and in the closing minutes Vaughn undoubtedly sets up a promising sequel... Expand
  21. Jun 26, 2011
    5
    It isn't as good as I had expected it to be. It seems to take too long because there aren't that many action scenes. The fights aren't very interesting anyways,I mean whats so exciting about Magneto lifting a submarine or a girl with butterfly wings who spits fireballs(yawn).The dialogue sucks and Xavier is booooring! They shoud have put in more action and litte more comedy instead ofIt isn't as good as I had expected it to be. It seems to take too long because there aren't that many action scenes. The fights aren't very interesting anyways,I mean whats so exciting about Magneto lifting a submarine or a girl with butterfly wings who spits fireballs(yawn).The dialogue sucks and Xavier is booooring! They shoud have put in more action and litte more comedy instead of making it so darn serious. Expand
  22. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    When Charles Xaiver meets a shapes shifting girl named Raven Darkholme in his kitchen at age 12 they realize that genetic mutation may be happening and the world should embrace it. At the same time Erik Lensherr is being ruthlessly tortured in a Nazi concentration camp. As they grow older Charles goes off to explore the idea of genetic mutations while Erik vows to exact revenge on the manWhen Charles Xaiver meets a shapes shifting girl named Raven Darkholme in his kitchen at age 12 they realize that genetic mutation may be happening and the world should embrace it. At the same time Erik Lensherr is being ruthlessly tortured in a Nazi concentration camp. As they grow older Charles goes off to explore the idea of genetic mutations while Erik vows to exact revenge on the man who killed his mother. The year is now 1962, and the Russians and the Americans are on the brink of war, and Sebastian Shaw captures this as an opportunity to try and kill the human race and let the world be run by those who are deemed different by humanity. Xavier with the help of Lensherr and the CIA put together a team of â Expand
  23. Jul 17, 2011
    7
    For fans of the X-men series, or even fans of the marvel universe, this is a definite must see. The film is mostly follows the lives of Xavier, Mystique and Magneto. It explains a lot about how it all started and how the x-men "gang" got together, where they obtained the building for the school and how some of the future events in the other x-men films come about.
    I only have one downfall
    For fans of the X-men series, or even fans of the marvel universe, this is a definite must see. The film is mostly follows the lives of Xavier, Mystique and Magneto. It explains a lot about how it all started and how the x-men "gang" got together, where they obtained the building for the school and how some of the future events in the other x-men films come about.
    I only have one downfall however. Not enough is explained, there is still quite a big gap from First Class to X-men 1. There needs to be a sequel to First Class to piece other pieces of the puzzle together. SC
    Expand
  24. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    It was a lot better than I was expecting. Of course there will be details that are off compared to the other films and by comparison to the Marvel universe, but all in all, this was a pleasant surprise. Acting was solid and the action was good. I felt that the violence was toned down too much tho, probably assuming kids would watch it, but it's pg-13, there's a ratings system for a reasonIt was a lot better than I was expecting. Of course there will be details that are off compared to the other films and by comparison to the Marvel universe, but all in all, this was a pleasant surprise. Acting was solid and the action was good. I felt that the violence was toned down too much tho, probably assuming kids would watch it, but it's pg-13, there's a ratings system for a reason and they should have just went in to get away with as much as they could have. If your a fan of X-Men, definitely see this. (side note: I do not understand why some critics are calling this a rebooting of the franchise, or what have you.. its just another film in the x-men universe to show more of the plot.. that's it) Here's to hoping there's a Wolverine 2 soon. Expand
  25. Jun 5, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm really puzzled by all the high reviews. To me it looks like every new x-men release is worse than the last. They're more cheessy, inacurate and mediocre with each release; and worse of all, they contradict themselves (do they not watch their own pictures to give some coherence to the story for christ sake?). Xavier is shown on his two feet in wolverine origins, but it turns out he got crippled here?; xavier and mystique are like-siblings and they didn't even say hello to each other in the original films?; xavier and magneto are still shown as buddies when they went looking for the young jean grey, and in this film they already parted ways?; beast and mystique are 60+ f****ing years old in the last movies?. X-men selection is also weak, Havoc is only interesting one but handled poorly, beast and mystique are good but only as sidekicks, they're not good enough to support a central role; banshee is bad choice, pixie too (why did they call her "angel" in the movie anyway?), and who the hell is Darwin and why did they sacrificed him like many other african american sidekicks in movies? (that's just weak and stereotyped scripting, i'm sorry). CGI is adequate at best, shaw, magneto, azazel, diamond ema frost are among the best; kitten beast, banshee's scream, and havoc's ula-ula power among the worst. Some actors keep the movie floating, I liked Kevin Bacon, evil yet charming and speaks german well, Fassbender really surprised me, McAvoy is adequate (although he played a rather gay Xavier). Marvel, give the x-men saga a rest, focus on Avengers, and in a couple of years give x-men a reboot; by now I think it's unlikely you'll raise it again Expand
  26. Jun 7, 2011
    7
    Fun movie, good story, and good characters. James MacAvoy establishes himself as a very underrated actor in this film. Shows his versatility and his ability as an actor. Michael Fassbender shows why he's quickly flying through the ranks as one of the better actors in this bussiness. great direction and a good screenplay. One of the flaws of the movie was the special effects. Not that theyFun movie, good story, and good characters. James MacAvoy establishes himself as a very underrated actor in this film. Shows his versatility and his ability as an actor. Michael Fassbender shows why he's quickly flying through the ranks as one of the better actors in this bussiness. great direction and a good screenplay. One of the flaws of the movie was the special effects. Not that they weren't great or anything because they were, but sometimes they were a bit too much in my opinion. However this is a stylish reboot to the series, and just a good summer movie overall. Expand
  27. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    I really wasn't expecting much from this film at all. I enjoyed the first 3 xmen movies despite them either seeming to make the xmen look very weak, or messing with the comics universe so much that they killed main characters. Then of course along came the abortion that was the Wolverine movie.

    So when I saw this I was very pleasantly surprised. A tight story, some excellent writing,
    I really wasn't expecting much from this film at all. I enjoyed the first 3 xmen movies despite them either seeming to make the xmen look very weak, or messing with the comics universe so much that they killed main characters. Then of course along came the abortion that was the Wolverine movie.

    So when I saw this I was very pleasantly surprised. A tight story, some excellent writing, very fine acting, and apart from a very irritating and oddly out of place teenage xman character ( Banshee) this film truly rocked my world. A story about Erik and Xaviers friendship. And it doesn't end well.

    Terrific film, ignore those that slate it, they just seem to hate it for hates sake. When I read some of the negative reviews, they seem founded in bad mood or temper, straying from fact for the pursuit of an undeserved low score.

    This film was as impressive as Thor, maybe more so. As such, and so surprised was I at its excellence, I shall award it a mighty 10/10.
    Expand
  28. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Best X-Men film released to date. This movie was great. The acting was excellent. James McAvoy was a perfect Professor X with his witty humor and high intelligence and Michael Fassbender played Magneto very well with his sinister attitude. I saw nothing negative about this film, it deserves higher than a 65 by critics. I wasn't ever a huge X-Men fan reading the comics or anything but I didBest X-Men film released to date. This movie was great. The acting was excellent. James McAvoy was a perfect Professor X with his witty humor and high intelligence and Michael Fassbender played Magneto very well with his sinister attitude. I saw nothing negative about this film, it deserves higher than a 65 by critics. I wasn't ever a huge X-Men fan reading the comics or anything but I did enjoy the films very much, besides The Last Stand. This addition to the series is most definitely the best. The acting was good, the action was astonishing, the CGI, and the makeup was great. I loved how they built up the story of our two main mutants, Magneto and Professor X. It worked very well, learning how it all began. I especially loved the bald jokes with Professor X, that was very funny. This movie was more than I expected. It was just a great superhero film but an amazing film period. 10/10 in my opinion. Expand
  29. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    The best X-men film so far. It's much more "comic book" than Singer's and the last couple. Besides January Jones, everybody else played their roles nicely. The stand out's obviously being James Mcavoy and Michael Fassbender. Jennifer Lawrence is delightful and Kevin Bacon is Kevin Bacon.
    The story flows well and the 2+hrs fly by, leaving you wanting more. I haven't given it a full 10
    The best X-men film so far. It's much more "comic book" than Singer's and the last couple. Besides January Jones, everybody else played their roles nicely. The stand out's obviously being James Mcavoy and Michael Fassbender. Jennifer Lawrence is delightful and Kevin Bacon is Kevin Bacon.
    The story flows well and the 2+hrs fly by, leaving you wanting more. I haven't given it a full 10 because though it is a very good film, I must point out the Matthew Vaughn-ness has been toned down.
    Expand
  30. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I saw this on the day of its release because personally, I have loved the x-men films so far. Yes Origins made me cry a little inside and the fact they had done nothing about the huge sequel tease at the end of Last Stand annoyed me to no end, but I was fully willing to give another chance to x-men. Simply put, i love this movie, for many different reasons. Firstly, even though it was theI saw this on the day of its release because personally, I have loved the x-men films so far. Yes Origins made me cry a little inside and the fact they had done nothing about the huge sequel tease at the end of Last Stand annoyed me to no end, but I was fully willing to give another chance to x-men. Simply put, i love this movie, for many different reasons. Firstly, even though it was the first of the trilogy and characters were being introduced, they managed to make enough action and even comedy to keep you along for the ride. Secondly, James McAvoy plays a perfect Xavier and Micheal Fassbender plays an even more perfect Magneto. You got some other amazing actors like Kevin Bacon too, who you just love to hate. Thirdly, the effects were brilliant, particularly (in my opinion) Riptide's tornadoes and Mystique's transformations looking better than ever expected in this movie. Lastly, The relationship between Xavier and Magneto is so fantastically done with every line in this movie, not a single one feels wasted. From the time their recruiting mutants to their chess match before the big day you feel an amazing connection between the two of them, and the dramatic irony that you know they're enemies pained me through the entire movie. Now, I am not arguing that this movie is perfect in any way, they're are a few flaws that could be addressed by the next movie in this series that i hope will. Such as Banshee *shivers*, not to say the actor wasn't fine outside of action sequences, but within them he just seemed to fall flat and make me laugh at his faces more then take his plight seriously. There is also the fact that they're are many cheesy lines throughout the movie that feel out of sync with the maturity of the other parts (although this could be attributed to the fact that most of the characters are young adults/teenagers, who are naturally cheesy). Overall there are other good and bad things about this movie, but they would all ruin the viewing experience that i hope you will greatly enjoy as much as I did when you see this movie. So promise yourself this is your last review you'll read and go and watch it as soon as possible, old x-men fan or not. Expand
  31. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    After a series of disappointments from the last few attempts to move media from comic to film, I have lowered my expectations from Marvel movies. Maybe for that reason, First Class blew me away. The storyline correlates with the comics well enough to satisfy those of us familiar with the stories of our favorite childhood X-Men. The action was inventive and employed creative camera anglesAfter a series of disappointments from the last few attempts to move media from comic to film, I have lowered my expectations from Marvel movies. Maybe for that reason, First Class blew me away. The storyline correlates with the comics well enough to satisfy those of us familiar with the stories of our favorite childhood X-Men. The action was inventive and employed creative camera angles and innovative CGI. I particularly liked the subtle and completely obvious connections to the other movies. McAvoy and Fassbender set a new standard for how Prof. X and Magneto are to be portrayed. They humanized them in a way that their predecessors failed. I loved the cast, even Kevin Bacon. There is still room for improvement, but First Class is a refreshing step in the right direction. Expand
  32. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    I was very dubious of the hype surrounding this movie after being so disappointed by Wolverine. But I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised. The movie takes some real liberties with comic canon, but once you get past that, it turns out this is a great summer movie. There's definitely a tongue-in-cheek Lovecraftian feel about the film, complete with full on retro styling, but it reallyI was very dubious of the hype surrounding this movie after being so disappointed by Wolverine. But I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised. The movie takes some real liberties with comic canon, but once you get past that, it turns out this is a great summer movie. There's definitely a tongue-in-cheek Lovecraftian feel about the film, complete with full on retro styling, but it really works, and you get the impression that Vaughn and Singer had as much fun with the spy era details as the audience did. Despite some odd choices for the new "student" team, the characters are fun and fleshed out, and Charles' and Erik's relationship is developed and handled carefully and really well. There's a few downright comedic moments, some hilarious cameos, and a really strong script. So once you get past the idea of Kevin Bacon as a Nazi scientist (I think that was the only unintentionally comedic moment in our theater) it's really a great bang for your buck summer movie. Expand
  33. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    It is the best superhero movie in a long time. Some scenes were a little over the top cheesy, but it is still a must see of the summer. And even though it doesn't compare to the Dark Knight, It is the best X-men flick so far.
  34. Jun 6, 2011
    7
    This movie has its flaws, but they are far outweighed by its strengths. Pros: McAvoy and Fassbender rise to the challenge of making characters with unbelievable power both sympathetic and engaging - their relationship is cornerstone the cornerstone of the x-men universe that anything short of perfection would have caused this movie to fall flat. By maintaining and antagonistic andThis movie has its flaws, but they are far outweighed by its strengths. Pros: McAvoy and Fassbender rise to the challenge of making characters with unbelievable power both sympathetic and engaging - their relationship is cornerstone the cornerstone of the x-men universe that anything short of perfection would have caused this movie to fall flat. By maintaining and antagonistic and brotherly bond, they set the stage for multiple showdowns to come and deliver a believable climax that hinges on their differing values.

    Also, while mutant powers are generously on display, they never seem crammed in just for the sake of showing the audience something. Each power is used enough to satisfy our desire for a view something unexpected and outside of our current realm of understanding, while never being over done to the point that we wonder why the hell we're even watching.

    Bacon is terrific as Shaw, and the story-telling jiu-jitsu Vaughn pulls off by setting him up as a villain that could cause two such diametrically opposed characters as Magneto and Xavier (while also setting him up as a precursor to Magneto's role as the Arch-Villian) is amazing.

    Cons: January Jones. Her Emma Frost is one-dimensional, lacking any of the power-hungry priss and feminine power of the comics, she is reduced from a morally ambivalent power player to glittering eye candy. Her line delivery and physical presence are equally flat, and I hope they'll consider either writing her better, providing a little more direction, or just recasting someone who can make her as interesting as she should be.
    Expand
  35. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Separate from movies cumic Facebook during the past years not very cool out was amazing the story was very impressive, thank you for this film, I was a penalty you will see again in the future from this same director wonderful I hope so
  36. Jun 8, 2011
    8
    The movie was provided in the most interesting way the audience could ask for. Its overall presentation and graphics have scored well. The movie was well represented in a stylish way. Michael Vaughn has performed well and all others have played a very supporting hand in making the movie a great hit.
  37. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    The X-Men franchise should have started with this film and saved themselves the embarrassment of making X-Men Origins: Wolverine. This film had everything from an amazing cast and beautiful set to a rare form of comedy mixed with action that is lacks in more of these films. The film was a little long but still it is the best dose of superhero your going to get this summer!!!
  38. Jun 9, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OK, while this movie stays true to pretty much a lot of the comic storyline, it still brings a lot of variety and confusion to the table. The opening scene is almost exactly the same way the first "X-Men" live action movie was shot, showing that this will still be somewhat connected to the movies that had been previously made. A cameo by Hugh Jackman as wolverine also ensured the fact that yes these movies are a precursor to the series previously made. This in turn provided a movie that no matter what already had a plot that it needed to fulfill somewhat. While the ascending of Magneto and Prof X as friends was the main story of this movie, I felt it lacked in showing how mutants began gathering as a whole. Showing Mutants like Banshee and Angel, I felt like it didn't provide much in depth character analysis. While the action scenes and graphics stay true to being a well made super hero movie, it really only provides X-Men fans with the same thing they already knew about the universe, and not really giving us any in depth story to follow. However, this could be what "Batman Begins" was to "The Dark Knight" since it obviously set up the stage and the main characters for what sure would be a bloody battle to come. Opinion**- this movie however in no way beat "The Dark Knight" only because Nolan has so far been the only director to take characters strictly from how they were in the comics, and mold them into live actions movies. Expand
  39. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    This is a must-see. Brilliant introduction to the characters, stellar premise, cgi and acting make it the best X-men of the franchise out. Although the story doesn't fully follow the comics, this is a great, if not better representation of the original story. Marvel is going all out this year - Thor, First Class and next up is Captain America, so far all excellent films.
  40. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    With a strong script, stylish direction, and powerful performances from its well-rounded cast, X-Men: First Class is a welcome return to form for the franchise.
  41. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Awesome acting and engaging story. Best of the franchise, and one of the best super hero movies ever. Seriously don't understand the negative reviews on here.
  42. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    A great comic book adaptation , a really great way to revive the franchise.
    Masterpiece. Not to mention the Great acting , the meaning and specially the charisma that the characters had.
    Kevin bacon was great , Michael
    A great comic book adaptation , a really great way to revive the franchise.
    Masterpiece. Not to mention the Great acting , the meaning and specially the charisma that the characters had.
    Kevin bacon was great , Michael Fassbender was even better , a great cast choice!
    Expand
  43. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ... I'd rather not recommend it for amateurs ( real ones, i mean!). Given the number of gross errors directly related to the basics of the subject ( people who are born with paranormal powers and/or physiological abnormalities, and their difficulties to live into a society that rejects them). No fan of the original concept can be satisfied with this... Hu! Movie, let's say...
    Mystic, Darwin and Emma are morphing THEIR CLOTHES as well as their bodys!! Zero out of ten, Mr Singer: this is not Harry Potter!
    What Shaw wants to do to promote the mutant race...! That's so stupid, it speaks for itself!
    Hank is an aviation technician, a biochemeist and he can buil you a Cerebro in a few weeks... That's reed Richard with blue hairs!
    Magneto is full of hatred for humanity because Shaw killed his mommy ( opening scene easy and highly touted!): if it is not simplistic -even insulting!... But Lucas ( Georges!) already done the same to explain Anakin's choice of The Dark Side of The Force. Never silly enough for the masses.
    And what about the immediate disappearance of the ONLY representant of a certain minority in the whole cast? And the instant turnaround ( no more explanations than that!) of that certain character wich seems to have a more marginal life than the others?! If it is not a message as eavy as reactionary, i wonder what it means...
    Finally, note also the total absence of any form of esthetism: just compare the graphic effect of Havock's blasts of energy in the comic and that poor pathetic hulla-hoop performance here. the "queer" looks of the Beast ( he's wearing lipsticks!) and the cheap rendering of Angel's wings ( and flight!)... and i don't even mension Emma's grotesque wardrobe! Oops! Too late, i did!
    Using real facts ( and even archival documents!) to try to make the story more authentic falls into the water facing the pile of illogical facts that dot this blockbuster. Besides, rewriting history IS WRONG! You'll see they'll show the same lack of respect in the sequel and JFK will be their next victim.
    Bold reaction, yes, but i'm sure many fans will live their disappointement as hard as i do for X-Men First Class is a betrayal of everything the comic ever promoted. Please, do yourself a favor and read again the 70's/80's era.
    In addition, it is badly installed ( as skits!), poorly played ( Moïra, Magneto and Emma are terrible!) and without any kind of atmosphere. Nothing to save here but Banshee, flying like a madman in the air, and this beautiful picture of the Blackbird and the submarine, magically suspended between the sky and the sea... Still, it's a bit light for a subject that rich of possibilities.
    Expand
  44. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Not as good as I expected but not bad. I have my qualms as a geek for sure, but as a critic I found some things to be irritating. Mostly script and studio problems but the acting is usually the shining heart of the film.

    Check out my full youtube review and thumbs up the video.

    http://youtu.be/dcw4xMEK8eU
  45. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Great X-Men film to see the least. Many humorous and exciting parts to the movie. Pretty said to see Wolverine only have one line in the entire scene. Great movie to see with friends though! I give it an 8 because it had a decent plot and climax and is one of the best movies of 2011!
  46. Jun 15, 2011
    6
    The script was well written, Kevin Bacon was amazing, and Michael Fassbender will surely catch up to Hugh Jackman's prestige, but something was just awkward with the entire movie. Perhaps the director's desire to fit in as many interesting characters that he could into one scene. However it backfired and was just messy with uncomfortable acting. I enjoyed how Vaughn linked and explainedThe script was well written, Kevin Bacon was amazing, and Michael Fassbender will surely catch up to Hugh Jackman's prestige, but something was just awkward with the entire movie. Perhaps the director's desire to fit in as many interesting characters that he could into one scene. However it backfired and was just messy with uncomfortable acting. I enjoyed how Vaughn linked and explained the origins of the relationships we've seen in the previous X-Men, but it was awkward watching McAvoy play a wise, all knowing, sensitive yet play-boyish young Charles. Expand
  47. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Set a new standard of comic book movies to aspire too. I never ounce fell asleep during this movie. The plot and characters were superb. The action was solid as well as the acting. X-Men has come back! The music was epic as well. PERFECT!
  48. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Best one yet. First Class combines humour, action and drama in a brilliant way. Only downfall of this movie is that it ended. Must see, Sound is great, Acting is awesome, CGI was amazing. And Xavier kicks freaken ass! Yeye!
  49. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Wow. Fassbender and McAvoy did a great job of portraying the dynamics and the relationship of Erik Lehnsherr and Charles Xavier. Very enjoyable movie and a great piece of film, considering the time table the director had to work with.
  50. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This was a very decent back story in the CoD Black Ops time frame. It puts a very interesting spin on the whole Bay of Pigs story and gives interesting insight into the origins of the X-Men and how the whole human vs. mutant war started. Well worth seeing on the big screen.
  51. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Last month was Thor and this month is X-Men. Can 2011 be more epic?

    X-men: first class is awesome, epic and really well put together. The Character development is awesome, the script is really well thought out, and the delivery of the story isn't over whelming to people who are probably new to the series. Great acting by James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender and Kevin Bacon. I was even
    Last month was Thor and this month is X-Men. Can 2011 be more epic?

    X-men: first class is awesome, epic and really well put together. The Character development is awesome, the script is really well thought out, and the delivery of the story isn't over whelming to people who are probably new to the series.

    Great acting by James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender and Kevin Bacon. I was even shocked when I saw Kevin Bacon here. They all did a great job. You can really feel that they dug in deep when they played the character.

    Over-all X-Men is a great movie that MUST be watched by anyone. A great addition to the pile of great Comic book inspired movie. This is definitely in my top 10.
    Expand
  52. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very decent and entertaining movie. X-Men's Saga redeemed after the last two fiasco, led mostly by the great performances of McAvoy and Fassbender. Very recommendable. Expand
  53. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    A fantastic return to greatness for this franchise that I thought dead. With strong performances from the entire cast, fantastic special effects, and a great plot, First Class is by far the best X-Men film.
  54. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    This Is A Great Movie I Have Ever Seen But One Thing I Miss The Most is Wolverine But The Movie Kind Of Seems To Have Less Fighting Scenes
    But Its A Great Movie I Like It............................
    ..................................................................................................................................
  55. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    Much better than the past 2-3 X-Men movies this one familiarizes us with the origins of X-Men and the conflicts between the "good" and "bad" mutants. Set among the tensions of the Cold War, this movie definitely sets the stage for future heavy-hitting x-men movies. Although I would have preferred a couple of the mutuants be more "spectacular" and exciting (there is one who has fairy-typeMuch better than the past 2-3 X-Men movies this one familiarizes us with the origins of X-Men and the conflicts between the "good" and "bad" mutants. Set among the tensions of the Cold War, this movie definitely sets the stage for future heavy-hitting x-men movies. Although I would have preferred a couple of the mutuants be more "spectacular" and exciting (there is one who has fairy-type wings and shoots small balls of fire from her mouth) the cast and characters do a commendable job of making the movie enjoyable and not too corny.

    Definitely worth a watch and I am actually looking forward to sequels.
    Expand
  56. T-A
    Jun 18, 2011
    7
    Not just for hardcore comic fans, X-Men: First Class breaths life into this superhero movie franchise with a refreshing adaptation. Performances by James McAvoy (Charles Xavier) and Michael Fassbender (Eric Lehnsherr / Magneto) outshine the others, while Jennifer Lawrence provides an interesting take on Raven / Mystique. Comic purists might find liberties with the X-Men's historyNot just for hardcore comic fans, X-Men: First Class breaths life into this superhero movie franchise with a refreshing adaptation. Performances by James McAvoy (Charles Xavier) and Michael Fassbender (Eric Lehnsherr / Magneto) outshine the others, while Jennifer Lawrence provides an interesting take on Raven / Mystique. Comic purists might find liberties with the X-Men's history frustrating, but the changes make this film work. Overall, despite some lulls in action and underdeveloped characters and plot points, the movie is fun and entertaining, leaving viewers with a promising direction for the X-Men. Expand
  57. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. The chemistry between the characters was so believable. Erik and Charles' relationship was done perfectly. I couldn't be more pleased.
  58. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    this film was good but could have been better. the movie was a bit drawn out more than it should have been but by far the best X-men movie yet. this is why i gave the movie a 7. oh and one more thing the characters could have been more interesting but that could have just been the actors they picked to play the parts lol.
  59. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Expecting to be disappointed because of recent mediocre comic movies, X-Men: first class was a pleasant surprise. If you don't mind some a little bit of license taken with continuity, I think this is probably the best X-men Movie so far. The first one was good for the time, but quickly dated because of the mediocre acting. The second one was a solid movie, but still smelled of a movieExpecting to be disappointed because of recent mediocre comic movies, X-Men: first class was a pleasant surprise. If you don't mind some a little bit of license taken with continuity, I think this is probably the best X-men Movie so far. The first one was good for the time, but quickly dated because of the mediocre acting. The second one was a solid movie, but still smelled of a movie property. The third was a turdsandwich. This one is refreshing and has a solid story as well as some good acting (few moments to roll your eyes at). Despite the silly looking movie stills and trailers, this turned out to be a refreshing break from "meh" superhero movies like Iron Man 2, Thor, etc. Expand
  60. Jul 17, 2011
    7
    I went into this movie wondering why the Marvel film studio thought that another Xmen backstory movie was something that needed to be told, and while I still dont think this was a necessary movie, especially as there is so much more that could be done with the present day Xmen stories, what we have here is the best Xmen movie since the very first. McAvoy and Fassbender bring some solidI went into this movie wondering why the Marvel film studio thought that another Xmen backstory movie was something that needed to be told, and while I still dont think this was a necessary movie, especially as there is so much more that could be done with the present day Xmen stories, what we have here is the best Xmen movie since the very first. McAvoy and Fassbender bring some solid performances, most of the movies pacing is decent and the story interesting with something to care about. Some of the characters are forgettable but the drama of McAvoy and Fassbender bring it back. This movie succeeds in bringing some interest back to the Xmen franchise since the horrid 3rd film and the disappointing Wolverine. Im interested to know where Xmen will be going from here. Recommended for comic book movie fans. Expand
  61. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Loved it! The last couple Xmen movies were not very good, but this one redeemed the franchise!! I loved watching the back-history of a lot of my favorite characters!
  62. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    Best X-Men movie so far. I didn't like not seeing enough of Hugh Jackman in this movie. Is anyone else tired of X-men? Can we see something else now? James McAvoy was the best part of the movie. He is very entertaining. James McAvoy is one of the best new actors on the scene today.
  63. Jun 20, 2011
    6
    This one was so much better than the first 3 by that other hack of a director who absolutely ruined the franchise name with the 3rd one. While the stupid soldiers, captains, generals and other political leaders was way overdone and in no way realistic, the flavor and spirit of the X Men was there to some extent. Magneto and Prof X are much more appropriately aged, the mutant powers areThis one was so much better than the first 3 by that other hack of a director who absolutely ruined the franchise name with the 3rd one. While the stupid soldiers, captains, generals and other political leaders was way overdone and in no way realistic, the flavor and spirit of the X Men was there to some extent. Magneto and Prof X are much more appropriately aged, the mutant powers are fairly realistic (although there a couple of goofy instances such as with Beast and Angel Salvadore). The movie started out edgy but unfortunately didn't carry that ideal all of the way through. The first half is much better than the second half. I have a wait and see attitude with this one and expect a lot from the second one which I'm sure will come in a couple of years. It's no current Batman iteration but there may be hope... Expand
  64. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Like many people was hesitant about a new X-Men movie that was part prequel part reboot. I have a fondness toward the first three X-Men movies. And Unlike many people out there I really enjoyed X-MEN 3 and think it is a really underrated movie. Sure Brett Ratner's directing wasn't great but the story was good and so was the action. I also love how they weren't afraid to kill off the mainLike many people was hesitant about a new X-Men movie that was part prequel part reboot. I have a fondness toward the first three X-Men movies. And Unlike many people out there I really enjoyed X-MEN 3 and think it is a really underrated movie. Sure Brett Ratner's directing wasn't great but the story was good and so was the action. I also love how they weren't afraid to kill off the main characters. My biggest problem with the movie was the over abundance of characters the threw into the movie. I know it sounds like I'm giving a review for X-Men: The Last Stand but I wanted to make it clear I really like the previous films and wasn't sure about a reboot/prequel just like I'm nervous about the new Spiderman movie. Though after seeing this movie I view it more as a prequel.

    Now I was wrong X-MEN: First Class is a great movie and will probably be the best comic book movie of the summer. With the already underwhelming THOR. THE GREEN LANTERN which in all honesty doesn't look that good and CAPTAIN America which I really hope is good.

    One of the first things I need to talk about is the actors and many people may not recognize or remember. First Kevin Bacon who hasn't been in a lot of movies recently steals the movie as Sebastian Shaw as he brings such live and zeal to the character and I'm disappointed he won't be around for the enviable sequels. Then there's James McAvoy who hasn't done anything recognizable outside of Wanted. He plays Charles Xavior who I will always remember as Patrick Steward. He was the perfect Professor X. Still McAvoy did a good job as a you Xavior. Michael Fassbender as Magneto I had never heard of and again I had a fondness for the excellent actor Ian McKellen. I thought Michael did a excellent job as a young tortured Magneto and he even looks like a young Mckellen. Next I need to give a shout out to the movie great movie SUNSHINE and the actress Rose Byrne(Moira MacTaggert) who has been in many good movies and is a great actress. Then there are two supporting characters who I don't think had any lines but were great. The two are Riptide(Ã
    Expand
  65. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    X-Men First Class is the perfect blend of humor, action, and drama that satisfies the need for both a fun summer action flick and a thoughtful general film. Most importantly, it creates likeable but morally abound characters that dare you to not be invested in the story. Vaughn has succeeded in making an X-Men film that will rejuvenate interest in the franchise for the upcoming years.X-Men First Class is the perfect blend of humor, action, and drama that satisfies the need for both a fun summer action flick and a thoughtful general film. Most importantly, it creates likeable but morally abound characters that dare you to not be invested in the story. Vaughn has succeeded in making an X-Men film that will rejuvenate interest in the franchise for the upcoming years.

    full review at http://cinemafrenzy.wordpress.com/
    Expand
  66. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    This movie is essential for any x-men fan to watch, or even if ur new to it. It will explain so much, and in an awesome and action packed way. The best x-men movie yet
  67. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    Even though when I saw the trailers I did have my doubts about this film..... Trying not to let me "nerd" escape inside me. This movie was amazing! I cannot think of a stronger word than that to describe this film. All of the X-Men films have been great in some shape or form and have a stronger bond that any other superhero movies such as Spider-man, Batman, Superman- all of which areEven though when I saw the trailers I did have my doubts about this film..... Trying not to let me "nerd" escape inside me. This movie was amazing! I cannot think of a stronger word than that to describe this film. All of the X-Men films have been great in some shape or form and have a stronger bond that any other superhero movies such as Spider-man, Batman, Superman- all of which are constantly getting rebooted, but X-Men has managed strive through this and find other ways to keep an audience interested and the films alive. It was a lovely to be introduced to new characters that have never had the chance to be able to perform in films before. The movie has now tied the stories for Magneto and Professor X. And now leaves an open door to take away other characters from the X-Men films and let writers play with them for a while. Great film, amazing effects, enjoyed all of the actors and actresses (Nice to seem a bunch of people who can act), the dialogue and story was perfected.... More films like this please! Expand
  68. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Amazing Movie. Probably one of the best (If not the best) superhero movie of all time. The pros are the storyline, characters involved, except for the fake Emma Frost character, the plot using the Cold War, and the costumes. The cgi could of bee better though.
  69. Jun 29, 2011
    7
    X-Men: First Class is quite enjoyable in entertaining sense. Good action scenes.

    But not that surprising I would say, the movie basically tells what you already know, I suppose. Story involving Erik and Charles aka Magneto and Professor X respectively. Recommended? Yes if you are finding some entertainment, no if you are those who prefer 'genuine' movies :) And I still don't know why is
    X-Men: First Class is quite enjoyable in entertaining sense. Good action scenes.

    But not that surprising I would say, the movie basically tells what you already know, I suppose. Story involving Erik and Charles aka Magneto and Professor X respectively.

    Recommended? Yes if you are finding some entertainment, no if you are those who prefer 'genuine' movies :) And I still don't know why is it called as First Class.
    Expand
  70. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    One of the best superhero movies I've ever seen. The performances of the lead 2 especially shines, bright enough to keep you from noticing its flaws.
  71. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Another great and anticipating X-Men film! James and Michael did very well in the show. I loved the show very much and I also hope that I can watch the film again.
  72. Jul 31, 2011
    6
    Going into this I wasn't expecting much, after Ratner (X3) and Gavin Hood (Wolverine) criminally butchered and maimed the exceptional work Singer started in the first 2 X-men movies. I expected a hat-trick of disappointment. Though it didn't measure up to the first two films of the series (X-men and X2:Xmen united), X-men first class was still a good and well thought out movie. It lackedGoing into this I wasn't expecting much, after Ratner (X3) and Gavin Hood (Wolverine) criminally butchered and maimed the exceptional work Singer started in the first 2 X-men movies. I expected a hat-trick of disappointment. Though it didn't measure up to the first two films of the series (X-men and X2:Xmen united), X-men first class was still a good and well thought out movie. It lacked the cerebral qualities of the first two film but was still a smart flick, far smarter than the adrenaline-laden X3 and Wolverine. But that's enough comparisons... The brisk narrative and story telling in this film was effective, as it covered much ground, tackling a solid cold-war era plot, and took the time to re-introduce old characters and introduce new ones. Mcavoy and Fassbender excel as Xavier and Magneto (respectively), keeping in mind that they had big shoes to fill. Despite these high points, the inconsistencies in the X-men universe and the back story of our main characters, amongst other minor technicalities did bother me. And though entertaining, I doubt this is a movie I would still be talking about for weeks or even days to come... Its one of the better summer films in theatres now and earned it's good review scores and I won't hesitate to give it one myself Expand
  73. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Finally !!! a prequel that does not suck ! ... The movie gave a kickass depiction of the beginnings of the X men franchise . Kevin Bacon gave a sytlistic depiction of Sebastian Shaw . Jennifer Lawrence was able to portray our favourite blue shape-shifter in a new light and gave a emotional touch to the character compared to the earlier depictions . Anyone who has seen the Submarine liftFinally !!! a prequel that does not suck ! ... The movie gave a kickass depiction of the beginnings of the X men franchise . Kevin Bacon gave a sytlistic depiction of Sebastian Shaw . Jennifer Lawrence was able to portray our favourite blue shape-shifter in a new light and gave a emotional touch to the character compared to the earlier depictions . Anyone who has seen the Submarine lift scene would agree with me in saying that the graphics was exceptionally kickass . But the reason why i believe this movie rocked was because of McAvoy's and Fassbender's portrayal as close friends and the eventual breakdown into arch rivals. Director Matthew Vaughn has captured the true crux of the comic and was able to successfully paint it on screen. for this reason the movie deserves a full 10/10 .... Expand
  74. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    A movie that defies what a superhero movie usually is. The film is wonderfully dark, visually appealing and introduces a new set of characters all played to a nice and gritty hard rock soundtrack. The problem with the film is that some of the characters they use aren't essential to the story and just pass through, while the film awaits a few more new and wonderful characters to, I hate toA movie that defies what a superhero movie usually is. The film is wonderfully dark, visually appealing and introduces a new set of characters all played to a nice and gritty hard rock soundtrack. The problem with the film is that some of the characters they use aren't essential to the story and just pass through, while the film awaits a few more new and wonderful characters to, I hate to say it, waste Expand
  75. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    No it was not the X-Men movie we were looking for. At least see it once. Some things were cool. Beast looked super cheesey and fake. The Nazi thing was sort of cool. Also seeing how Professor X got paralised was a treat. It was just as good as "X-Men Origins: Wolverine". Well at least to me. Can you believe that this movie is the 5th X-Men movie? I heard there will be two more of theseNo it was not the X-Men movie we were looking for. At least see it once. Some things were cool. Beast looked super cheesey and fake. The Nazi thing was sort of cool. Also seeing how Professor X got paralised was a treat. It was just as good as "X-Men Origins: Wolverine". Well at least to me. Can you believe that this movie is the 5th X-Men movie? I heard there will be two more of these "First Class" movies. Did I really need to put those quotation marks on the "First Class"? But with all these flaws, I did really enjoy that ten second special appearence from Hugh Jackman as "Wolverine". There I did it again with the quotation marks. It makes me feel more official when I use quotation marks. And now you have just read my small review on "X-Men: First Class". I meant to put quotation marks there. I'm not stupid. Expand
  76. BeK
    Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Before this movie came out, I had very high expectations on how good it will be side by side to how good I wanted it to be. I wasn't disappointed. This movie is very impressive and in my opinion it's by far the best X-men until this day. Special effects were great, some minor movie mistakes, but compensated with great acting especially by James McAvoy, interpreting Charles Xavier, whichBefore this movie came out, I had very high expectations on how good it will be side by side to how good I wanted it to be. I wasn't disappointed. This movie is very impressive and in my opinion it's by far the best X-men until this day. Special effects were great, some minor movie mistakes, but compensated with great acting especially by James McAvoy, interpreting Charles Xavier, which simply captured the whole idea of what X-men is all about. Scenes coming together to make the viewers understand how their favorite characters began their journey, which is quite a remarkable idea, to begin with. Michael Fassbender is also a suitable Magneto, sort to say, a little stronger than i expected, but the idea is their demolished friendship and the war, on which the former movies are counting on. This is kind of the basic, the ground on which X-men evolves on. In general it's a great film, worth seeing, I would dare to say, even twice. In my opinion it's a solid 9 being a lot more balanced on every aspect, in comparison to the previous X-men movies. Anyway, the fact that some events are clarified really gives that boost to watch this movie more excited, which I consider an important factor in a great movie, especially a follow up. First class, a well chosen name, couldn't have picked it better. So I hope i managed to point out all important aspects. See the movie, love it, buy it, until you find another favorite X-men, in a couple of years. A lot of big movies this summer, but X-men: First Class definitely one of them. Expand
  77. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    They should of called this movie "McAvoy & Fassbender: The Movie," because every time the two are on screen, they own! They own so much, they make all the other actors seem useless. A period piece to start off the summer blockbuster, this movie delivered something I was not expecting. I was expecting a stupid, boring and awful movie; in fact I got just the opposite, a fun, emotional andThey should of called this movie "McAvoy & Fassbender: The Movie," because every time the two are on screen, they own! They own so much, they make all the other actors seem useless. A period piece to start off the summer blockbuster, this movie delivered something I was not expecting. I was expecting a stupid, boring and awful movie; in fact I got just the opposite, a fun, emotional and thrilling story that made me remember why I fell in love with the X-Men comics as a kid. For that, I recommend seeing a matinee but if your a X-Men fan like me, X-Men: First Class is a MUST SEE movie!! Expand
  78. Aug 2, 2011
    6
    This was an easy watch but not watchable for another round. It tells of the origins of all the historical X-men, but that's all. Although there is action and dispute it was not enough for me.
  79. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    This is a great romp. One big flaw at one point but otherwise a great movie. Worth even seeing on the big screen. Loved the story. Just thought it was great to go back and indulge in the history of X-Men. Nice work!
  80. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies this year !!!- Thats for sure!
    Amazing leading performance! terrific script which makes perfect sense! great chemistry among the charactors! Its just so much better than i expected. ususally the trailers give movies most of the credits, but for xmen-first class, i really reckon it is movie itself gives the most of the credits to us. definitely go and watch it! you
    One of the best movies this year !!!- Thats for sure!
    Amazing leading performance! terrific script which makes perfect sense! great chemistry among the charactors! Its just so much better than i expected. ususally the trailers give movies most of the credits, but for xmen-first class, i really reckon it is movie itself gives the most of the credits to us. definitely go and watch it! you wont regret it!
    Expand
  81. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    It has an interesting plot which is captivating if a little long, and the film succeeds in bringing great entertainment to the audience with strong acting performances and many satisfying moments which lead the audience to say "So that's how it all happened..."
  82. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    Enjoyable film for a fan of the franchise and the genre, plus a great insight into the beginning of the x-men, (always wondered how the prof ended up in a wheelchair!) despite if its really true to the comics or not. A must see, as McAvoy and Fassbender really pull off their characters well; a tribute to Patrick Stewart and Sir Ian McKellen respectively.
  83. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: More â Expand
  84. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    In an intense action-packed prequel, it brings to light many questions left unanswered. You'll see how Charles (Prof. X) and Eric (Magneto) became friends and discovered and trained their powers. You'll meet many characters, some new, some familiar and you will be amazed at how the war between friends came to be.
  85. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I walked out of the theater after seeing this film in a great mood and up until I finally drifted to sleep, I was thinking about this film and how awesome it was. I think the last time I was excited like this after seeing a movie was The Dark Knight. Is it better than that movieâ Expand
  86. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    I have been a fan of X-Men for many many years since I grew up with it! I'd most likely love this movie even if it wasn't good! But it is good! It's amazing!!! Great story, great cast, great effects! The story develops in a way that keeps yu interested and the characters are easy to connect with. Xavier and Magneto's relationship is played out brilliantly and really makes yu feel for themI have been a fan of X-Men for many many years since I grew up with it! I'd most likely love this movie even if it wasn't good! But it is good! It's amazing!!! Great story, great cast, great effects! The story develops in a way that keeps yu interested and the characters are easy to connect with. Xavier and Magneto's relationship is played out brilliantly and really makes yu feel for them when they eventually part ways... Watch this movie if yu haven't already coz its just GREAT! Expand
  87. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    It is a good movie, even when I don't like to much x-men series I should say I like it, like the almost of the new movies I noted that there is missing pieces of the plot but nothing considerable as other movies do... I could consider seeing it again
  88. Aug 7, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was very excited when I saw they were making a reboot of the x-men franchise. The movie started of very promising, with good action sequences. But after 30 minutes it started to go downhill. The story line was very weak, the acting was poor and the entire movie was actually no more than a selection of some scenes put together. Also the abilities were dull. There was one with big feet, another one is able to fly by yelling really loud and an ugly girl with stupid wings. This was the most disappointing movie experience I've had in quite a while. If you have too much money and 2 hours to waste, I suggest you go watch this movie, but I suggest you go to Super 8 instead. Expand
  89. Aug 12, 2011
    7
    Very helpful advice, don't think this movie is worse than Capt. America, it's not. I saw it after watching that silly crap and I was shocked. I love when actors learn language and they don't just use English with some stupid German or French accent when the plot takes place 60 years ago in Germany or Switzterland. This made a huge positive impact at the beginning and I was pleased. MajorVery helpful advice, don't think this movie is worse than Capt. America, it's not. I saw it after watching that silly crap and I was shocked. I love when actors learn language and they don't just use English with some stupid German or French accent when the plot takes place 60 years ago in Germany or Switzterland. This made a huge positive impact at the beginning and I was pleased. Major effects were amazing to see. Actors literally travelled around the world so they did not stay, as usual, just in USA which is annoying. The Magneto or Michael Fassbender has shown what a great actor he is. Lots of emotions in this movie, not just shallow actions and jokes. Although the Beast was a small disappointment how they made him. But still, I give a grade 7 for this great story. P.S: Don't bother Hugh Jackman when he's at the bar! Expand
  90. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    X-Men: First Class is such an accomplishment of superhero sci-fi allegorical work, that it lays the recent comic flicks to waste. It accomplishes everything that made the earlier X-Men movies promised but never delivered, and it is an incredibly entertaining summer movie, not because of its effects, nor its action scenes, nor its cheesy (in a good way) plot, but because watching McAvoy andX-Men: First Class is such an accomplishment of superhero sci-fi allegorical work, that it lays the recent comic flicks to waste. It accomplishes everything that made the earlier X-Men movies promised but never delivered, and it is an incredibly entertaining summer movie, not because of its effects, nor its action scenes, nor its cheesy (in a good way) plot, but because watching McAvoy and Fassbender fires up the screen. Expand
  91. Aug 17, 2011
    8
    A great prequel to the series. See it if you like X-Men, as the actors do a good job and it excels for a superhero movie. The action scenes will keep you on the edge of your seat. Some actors don't do as well as others and can be overshadowed, but overall the movie is awesome.
  92. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    Being able to develop its many characters without interfering with the course of the story, 'X-Men: First Class' is competently acted and possibly the best X-men film yet.
  93. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    As a huge X-men fan (comics,animation,movies) im gonna say it was really good . Pro. X and Magneto's past has been showed very well . it was a good script and the actors did amazing job . James was so good being pro X . To me Michael's acting as Magneto was the best thing in this movie. He made this role perfect for him . aslo Kevin did an amazing work too . also Rose , January , JenniferAs a huge X-men fan (comics,animation,movies) im gonna say it was really good . Pro. X and Magneto's past has been showed very well . it was a good script and the actors did amazing job . James was so good being pro X . To me Michael's acting as Magneto was the best thing in this movie. He made this role perfect for him . aslo Kevin did an amazing work too . also Rose , January , Jennifer . But sometimes in the film it felt like it was in 21th sanctuary nit in 1962 . Like the CSI buildings and Shaw's room . Overall its a perfect prequel and looking forward to see two more . P.S. : One of the top most awesome Part/Scene in movie was "Get The F*** Out " . it made me realize (again)How much i missed Huge Jack-man in this film ! Expand
  94. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Une bonne surprise que ce X-Men : le Commencement car il est ce que peu espéraient, c'est-à-dire le meilleur film actuel de la saga. Il est vrai que cet opus laisse légèrement de côté l'action, mais c'est pour mieux se préoccuper des personnages, qui sont approfondis comme rarement (je penseUne bonne surprise que ce X-Men : le Commencement car il est ce que peu espéraient, c'est-à-dire le meilleur film actuel de la saga. Il est vrai que cet opus laisse légèrement de côté l'action, mais c'est pour mieux se préoccuper des personnages, qui sont approfondis comme rarement (je pense notamment à Xavier, Magneto, Mystique et le Fauve), grâce un scénario très malin. Superbement interprété et mis en scène, musiques entraînantes, effets numériques de bonne qualité... Ajoutez à cela un caméo inattendu et jouissif de Logan/Wolverine, nous avons-là un film qui rattrape sans conteste les erreurs de X-Men : l'Affrontement Final et X-Men Origins : Wolverine, et qui peut se vanter d'être bien meilleur que X-Men 2. Là, nous avons un grand film Marvel, se plaçant aux côtés de Spider-Man et Iron Man! Expand
  95. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    This is by far the best film of the series! It's fast, well acted and scripted. Isn't exactly true to the comics but the last two films could be blamed for hurting this one. Now that Wolverine is no longer the center of attention, we get to see more of the rest of the mutants. The story line is very strong and goes back to what made the first two films classics, and what made the last twoThis is by far the best film of the series! It's fast, well acted and scripted. Isn't exactly true to the comics but the last two films could be blamed for hurting this one. Now that Wolverine is no longer the center of attention, we get to see more of the rest of the mutants. The story line is very strong and goes back to what made the first two films classics, and what made the last two disasters. The visual effects are jaw-dropping and the cast are astounding, especially Michael Fassbender as Magneto and James McAvoy as Prof. X. Jennifer Lawrence is also very good as Mystique and can't wait to see her as Katniss in The Hunger Games! It did get a bit cliched in spots but it's definitely a return to form for the X-Men films. Expand
  96. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    This movie was one of the best movies of the year! From Acting, to script, to action to intrigue this movie had it all. It was a complete prequel and reboot at the same time, but did not detract form the x-men stories in the comics. Great directing, great casting, great cinematography...wow it surpassed my expectations unlike some other first avenger nonsense. X-men first class isThis movie was one of the best movies of the year! From Acting, to script, to action to intrigue this movie had it all. It was a complete prequel and reboot at the same time, but did not detract form the x-men stories in the comics. Great directing, great casting, great cinematography...wow it surpassed my expectations unlike some other first avenger nonsense. X-men first class is exactly that, first class! Expand
  97. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    My Favourite X-Men Movie. This was definitely the best one, i though the story was very original, I mean bringing the origins of each mutant and that kind of stuff (the way that the characters become throw out the movies), i did like it a lot, and the casting was just perfect, James McAvoy. Michael Fassbander, Jennifer Lawrence and January Jones, amazing.
  98. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Michael fassbender is awesome enough said
  99. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Excellent, both as an x-men adaptation and film. The tone is very similar to the comics, the plot is never boring not drugging. McAvoy and Fassbender take your breath away, wonderful choices.
    It's a fun film, very balanced action, interesting plot (not anything groundbreaking) and there are some messages that should be heard.
    I suggest this movie to both comic book funs and random
    Excellent, both as an x-men adaptation and film. The tone is very similar to the comics, the plot is never boring not drugging. McAvoy and Fassbender take your breath away, wonderful choices.
    It's a fun film, very balanced action, interesting plot (not anything groundbreaking) and there are some messages that should be heard.
    I suggest this movie to both comic book funs and random movie-goers...i don't think either will be disappointed.
    Expand
  100. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    by far the best in the series, and the best comic book movie since The Dark Knight, McAvoy and Fassbender provides depp and charisma to his caracther. and the director Matthew Vaugh brigh suck style and emotion to the story.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jun 9, 2011
    67
    It's all vastly superior to Brett Ratner's scorched-earth "X-Men: The Last Stand," of course.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jun 3, 2011
    80
    It's not the artistry of X-Men: First Class that's particularly striking; though it's finely crafted, the film feels less the product of a visionary director than of the Marvel movies machine working at maximum efficiency.
  3. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Jun 3, 2011
    30
    A cameo from an old-school X-Man only serves to remind how stylish and witty the first installment was a decade ago. Lacking a single memorable joke or striking image, First Class is as perfunctory and passionless as would-be franchise resurrections get.