Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 3, 2011
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1185 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
999
Mixed:
145
Negative:
41
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
spacebear1Dec 9, 2017
Matthew Vaughn's X-Men: First Class is an outstanding prequel/reboot of the X-Men series. All of the characters were great,especially Michael Fassbender's Erik Lensherr and James McAvoy's Charles Xavier. The villains, The Hellfire Club, wereMatthew Vaughn's X-Men: First Class is an outstanding prequel/reboot of the X-Men series. All of the characters were great,especially Michael Fassbender's Erik Lensherr and James McAvoy's Charles Xavier. The villains, The Hellfire Club, were pretty cool but had room for improvement. The action sequences were very well directed and in the end, this is a fantastic film. My rating would be an 8.9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SrPepeNov 13, 2017
No me esperaba que esta película sea la que más me haya gustado de toda la franquicia. La relación de Magneto y Charles es excelente, mis nuevos personajes favoritos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BroyaxSep 11, 2017
J'ai commencé par ce X-Men là parce que c'est écrit "le commencement" dessus et peut-être parce que je m'imaginais naïvement que ce serait moins naze que les autres (que je n'ai point vus)... lesquels sont peut-être moins nazes queJ'ai commencé par ce X-Men là parce que c'est écrit "le commencement" dessus et peut-être parce que je m'imaginais naïvement que ce serait moins naze que les autres (que je n'ai point vus)... lesquels sont peut-être moins nazes que celui-là... finalement ?

Tout n'est pas complètement naze cela dit... on a par exemple le "Magnéto" incarné par le bon Michael Fassbender qui donne à son personnage un peu plus d'épaisseur (ou un peu moins de superficialité) que les autres. La blonde n'a beau avoir pas de cul, c'est un autre personnage un peu moins tarte que les autres taches et enfin, Kevin Bacon a l'air de s'amuser comme un petit fou, ce qui nous le rend plus sympathique que le reste de ces bêtes de foire. Le reste, c'est donc le James McAvoine, terriblement mauvais, si mauvais que t'en as mal pour lui, c'est aussi la Jennifer L'eau-rance avec sa tronche de mongolienne qui passe mieux il est vrai en bleu de Bresse écaillé. On a encore d'autres abrutis aux "mutations" ridicules mais ça n'en vaut pas la peine (la coupe est -déjà- presque pleine...).

Pour ce "commencement", les scénaristes mal embouchés dopés de cocaïne nous ont démoulé un Cuba 1962 de derrière les **** la fameuse crise ici désamorcée par toute la joyeuse équipée de cette glorieuse bande de cons, et ça fait pitié.

La réalisation est tout juste correcte et les effets spéciaux sont perfectibles voire assez navrants par endroits... Le film pâtit en outre de ralentissements importants dans son déroulement, les lenteurs nous font en effet piquer du nez assez souvent.

Voilà donc un X-Men par lequel on ne devrait pas commencer !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HJRodrigoJun 20, 2017
This movie was better than all the other previous X-Men movies. However, it was not faithful to one of the key elements of the original comics. I would have liked the movie to include the mutants struggle for civil rights, which was notablyThis movie was better than all the other previous X-Men movies. However, it was not faithful to one of the key elements of the original comics. I would have liked the movie to include the mutants struggle for civil rights, which was notably absent. This adaptation chose to play it safe and put that people were unaware of the existence of mutants. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
daviddelnorte23Jun 18, 2017
Los "X-Men" nunca me han llamado la atención, en absoluto. Aun así, quería darle una oportunidad a la saga y ponerme a verla en serio, enterándome y a unas malas, disfrutando de los efectos y acción de un buen blockbuster. Después delLos "X-Men" nunca me han llamado la atención, en absoluto. Aun así, quería darle una oportunidad a la saga y ponerme a verla en serio, enterándome y a unas malas, disfrutando de los efectos y acción de un buen blockbuster. Después del visionado, me parece una buena película, bien construida con un guión que aprovecha muy bien a los personajes y que deja giros y sorpresas hasta el final del largometraje.

Me parece una película esencial para conocer el universo de los mutantes, ya que te explican bastante bien su origen y varios puntos muy interesantes. En mi opinión le falta algo de espectacularidad en la "batalla final".

En conclusión, es una película que no me gusta como las del "otro" universo Marvel, pero que para empezar con los "X-Men" no me ha disgustado para nada. Un notable, 7.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FuturedirectorMar 22, 2017
Despite its some unsatisfying moments, X-Men: First Class finishes being an efficiently informative prequel form a truly epic classic X-Men saga, that won't disappoint the audience at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
Karakterlerin eski hallerini ve nasıl bu hale geldiklerini anlatan film, aksiyon bakımından gayet yeterli ve verdiği duygularla birlikte izlemesi keyifli bir film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
russiangamerMar 5, 2017
Приквел лучше, чем все фильмы серии до него. Звёздный актёрский состав, потрясные эффекты, интересные диалоги и сюжет, даже юмора завезли, а так же очень понравилась музыка.
Отличное кино.
Приквел лучше, чем все фильмы серии до него. Звёздный актёрский состав, потрясные эффекты, интересные диалоги и сюжет, даже юмора завезли, а так же очень понравилась музыка.
Отличное кино.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersDec 12, 2016
"X-Men: First Class" had one job: all it had to do was bring the "X-Men" franchise back on its feet after the underwhelming reception to "X-Men: The Last Stand" and "X-Men Origins: Wolverine." Even with "Kick Ass" director Matthew Vaughn at"X-Men: First Class" had one job: all it had to do was bring the "X-Men" franchise back on its feet after the underwhelming reception to "X-Men: The Last Stand" and "X-Men Origins: Wolverine." Even with "Kick Ass" director Matthew Vaughn at the helm, reviving the franchise was certainly a massive undertaking, but luckily, "First Class" proves that the franchise is back. It's exciting, action-packed, pretty charming, pretty funny, well-written and very well-acted. "X-Men: First Class" has it all, and even if you aren't a gigantic fan of the "X-Men," this film is definitely worth watching, and if you haven't seen it yet, do yourself a favor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Castiel_AngelOct 15, 2016
This is even worse than X-Men: Apocalypse! This story line was unbelievably stupid and boring. I nearly fell asleep at least 3 different times watching this out of boredom. Why I suffered through the entire length of this movie I will neverThis is even worse than X-Men: Apocalypse! This story line was unbelievably stupid and boring. I nearly fell asleep at least 3 different times watching this out of boredom. Why I suffered through the entire length of this movie I will never understand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoJun 14, 2016
With an action-packed plot, outstanding performances and plenty of character-driven drama, X-Men: First Class successfully breathes new life into the X-Men franchise. The whole cast (especially Fassbender, McAvoy and Lawrence) were excellent,With an action-packed plot, outstanding performances and plenty of character-driven drama, X-Men: First Class successfully breathes new life into the X-Men franchise. The whole cast (especially Fassbender, McAvoy and Lawrence) were excellent, allowing us to really feel for their characters. The action scenes were also impressively done. Various characters such as Mystique are made into stronger characters as their backstories are revealed. The only problem I had was that I found the villains (not including Magneto) a bit weak. Other than that, this was a fun, hugely satisfying prequel and one of the best X-Men movies to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SeanVincentJun 4, 2016
This movie is the best of the franchise better than the sequel but still a great film,Days Of Future Past and a much better than the disappointing Apocalypse.X-Men First Class shines with it's characters especially Magneto which is the mostThis movie is the best of the franchise better than the sequel but still a great film,Days Of Future Past and a much better than the disappointing Apocalypse.X-Men First Class shines with it's characters especially Magneto which is the most interesting character of the film besides that the other mutants in the film are well interpret and well portrayed by the actors.The film The villain is compelling and played by a great actor Kevin Bacon,he brought charm of his characters and he is compelling as a villain,the other villains are also good.We have decent character developments here unlike Apocalypse,which I have emotional connection and give a damn or root for about the characters James McAvoy is just great as Charles Xavier,I'm just gonna leave it there.The performances here are just fantastic.

The plot might be stupid but at least it's simple to follow but not shallow,The film is deeper than your mom's va--- I mean it's deep on it's message,that mutants must be accepted ,but not too preachy. the actions are creative,It shows the variety of the mutant's powers that I think the original trilogy lacks,In my opinion.And also Bryan Singer stop with this black leather,the costumes Bryan singer's X-Men Movies are poor and and lack of color,This film didn't make the yellow suit goofy but it gives color to the X-Men franchise.

Overall the film is fun and not empty,it gives us compelling and enduring characters,good but forgettable villain and emotional connection and fun to the X-Men Franchise.That's why I love this film as a whole and I will say It's the best X-Men Movie next is DOFP then X2 of course x1 is next then both Apocalypse and Last Stand are in the same spot(Not including Deadpool nor that scrappy Origins) .Mathew Vaughn gave this film a new kind of direction and style while Bryan Singer's style is tiresome.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
ElectroNickMay 31, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "X-Men: First Class" was a nice step in the right direction to revive the X-Men franchise. This film serves as both a prequel and a reboot as we see how the X-men are first formed and the beginning of the rivalry between Magneto and Xavier. The set-up is new but familiar as the new actors perfectly capture the essence of these characters very well. Jennifer Lawrence in particular captures the loneliness of Mystique as she is portrayed in a more sympathetic light as opposed to being the generic assassin. Her relationship with Xavier and Magneto is compelling to watch as she is unsure what to think and the final choice to join Magneto is genuinely heart-wrenching. Xavier is given more depth as he is younger and more careless in this film due to his inexperience being the leader of the X-Men. Magneto is still the humanity hating villain as he was in the other films but this was the first time audiences are introduced to him having a conflict between his own ideals and ideals. In fact the film is at its strongest points when it focuses on Xavier and Magneto's relationship as they have a strong respect for one another which makes the break up all the more heart-breaking. I also respect the decision to have the titular "First Class" be comprised of more obscure mutants such as Banshee and Pixie. This gives fans of these characters a chance to finally see them on the big screen and average audience members some more variety with the mutants on screen and each of these mutants are memorable. However there are a few problems with this film that keeps it from being even better. For instance the new mutant Darwin had potential to be an interesting character with his ability to adapt to any environment but he is instantly killed off which was a waste. The new characters are memorable but there back story is swept under the rug which would make causal fans of the franchise confused in regards to who they are. Kevin Bacon tries to play as the slimy Sebastion Shaw but Bacon is just one of those actors who is known for playing the nice guy and his performance is pretty unconvincing. Despite these flaws this film is a nice renewal for the franchise and can introduce new comers to the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ATsushiMay 30, 2016
Emotionally strong, great characters embodied in promising new actors and a lot of good action scenes, the X-Men franchise returns reinvigorated for new stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thomas94Apr 30, 2016
One of my favorite X-Men together with DOFP and X2. The performances are very good and the chemistry especially from the trio James McAvoy, Jennifer Lawrence and Michael Fassbender is excellent. Matthew Vaughn knocks it out of the park.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
Better than expected as First Class downshifted into a prequel and brought a new vibe to the X-Men series instead of grinding it out with sequels. Comedic presence and polished CGI did the body good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sicranoApr 8, 2016
............................................................................................................................................2 NEGATIVE CRITICS for RETARDED CRITICS
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIApr 4, 2016
...........................................................................................................................A Masterpiece............................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZaynhewsonjavadApr 2, 2016
A Masterpiece.......................................................................

An X-Men Refresh of Franchise, Matthew Vaughn is a genius.................,,
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZinnyDonovanApr 2, 2016
A tonne of fun with emotional moments too. My favourite x-men movie to date. I found the philosophies about acceptance and identity incredibly interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
A beleaguered Marvel movie property gets the smart, stylish prequel it deserves.

After undergoing some unfortunate mutations in recent years, a beleaguered Marvel movie property gets the smart, stylish prequel it deserves in “X-Men: First
A beleaguered Marvel movie property gets the smart, stylish prequel it deserves.

After undergoing some unfortunate mutations in recent years, a beleaguered Marvel movie property gets the smart, stylish prequel it deserves in “X-Men: First Class.” Reclaiming much of the pop-operatic grandeur and insouciant wit so evident in the series’ first two installments, director/co-writer Matthew Vaughn imagines the rise of Professor X, Magneto and their earliest mutant disciples as a ’60s-set origin story, steeped in Cold War paranoia and served up with a delightful Rat Pack swagger. Strong word of mouth, franchise popularity and the public’s seemingly inexhaustible appetite for comicbook fare should keep “First Class” at a high B.O. altitude worldwide.

The series’ spluttering 2009 foray into how-it-all-began territory with “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” may have tempered audience anticipation for “First Class,” and Vaughn handily exceeds expectations with a picture that may rile Stan Lee purists but should prove entirely engaging for franchise newcomers as well as viewers familiar with the series’ mythology. Both constituencies, however, may be surprised by the degree to which Vaughn manages to invest this unabashedly commercial product with a unique stylistic identity.

Providing a major assist in this regard is Bryan Singer, who hasn’t been involved with the series since he so assuredly directed the first two installments, and who returns here as a producer and story writer (with Sheldon Turner). Singer’s touch is apparent in the film’s very first shot, which expands on the Auschwitz-set prologue of 2000’s “X-Men,” extending the fascination with Nazi iconography Singer evinced in “Valkyrie” and “Apt Pupil.”

When he learns that young camp refugee Erik Lensherr (Bill Milner) has the power to bend metal with his mind, Mengele-like Dr. Schmidt (Kevin Bacon) attempts to harness the boy’s abilities in horrifying fashion. The tragic outcome of this unpleasant, rather ill-advised episode instills in Erik a lifelong thirst for revenge and renders him incapable of summoning his gifts without channeling his rage.

In contrast to the bitter, brooding Erik (played as an adult by Michael Fassbender), dashing Oxford academic Charles Xavier (James McAvoy) envisions a utopian world order in which mutants are able to control their superhuman gifts and coexist with the rest of mankind. Possessing astonishing telepathic abilities and, for now, the full use of his legs, Charles is delightfully presented as a ladies man who turns scientific observations into pick-up lines, to the loving exasperation of his adoptive sister, Raven (Jennifer Lawrence), a shape-shifter who struggles to keep her natural blue-skinned appearance under wraps.

Suspecting malevolent outside interference in the escalating U.S.-Soviet conflict, plucky, pretty CIA agent Moira MacTaggert (Rose Byrne) recruits Charles despite the agency’s hostility toward these strange new beings called mutants. This uneasy alliance ushers in the story’s most dramatic development, in an emotionally surging scene that brings the future Professor X and Magneto together for the first time. Though the ideological differences between Charles’ optimistic empathy and Erik’s cynical superiority couldn’t be more pronounced, the men’s mutual respect leads to friendship, and they band together to build a stronghold of young mutants.

At this point, “First Class” almost comes to resemble a 1960s heist picture by way of a James Bond caper as Charles and Erik assemble their motley crew, hitting up strip clubs, pubs, prisons and other unlikely joints in sequences that thrum with period atmosphere. In setting the classic “X-Men” parable of intolerance and suspicion within a context overshadowed by nuclear paranoia and the Cuban Missile Crisis (which undergoes a major historical rewrite), Vaughn takes full advantage of the milieu’s expressive opportunities. Lenser John Mathieson reinforces the film’s retro orientation with canted camera angles and tracking shots that show off the richness of Chris Seagers’ production design, whether it’s a louche Las Vegas nightclub or a submarine commandeered by Bacon’s renascent villain, now calling himself Sebastian Shaw.

Having taken the superhero subgenre to smart-alecky extremes in “Kick-Ass,” Vaughn shows how much more he’s capable of when he plays this sort of material straight.

Still, it’s remarkable how many things “First Class” gets right, whether it’s the decision to have characters speak different languages as the film’s frequent globe-trotting dictates, or the casting of Fassbender and McAvoy, who bear no resemblance to their respective older counterparts (Ian McKellan and Patrick Stewart) but perfectly capture Charles and Erik’s symbolic might-vs.-right dynamic.

Despite a somewhat hefty 130-minute running time, “First Class” feels swift, sleek and remarkably coherent; an even longer, more fully fleshed-out version would not have been unwelcome.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeMar 17, 2016
Marvel (and Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation) is back to bring X-Men to the next level. It almost sorta worked. Just be glad you got a great X-Men installment unlike the Last Stand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Mar 4, 2016
I have always been a fan of X-Men since I was little, back when they are just cartoons. I love this film, I think that James is so perfect for his role as Professor X.

Watch this movie online
I have always been a fan of X-Men since I was little, back when they are just cartoons. I love this film, I think that James is so perfect for his role as Professor X.

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1eaaf7-X-Men-First-Class-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChikatiloZJan 22, 2016
Best X-men movie to date for me, Michael Fassbender is an amazing actor doing an amazing job at being Erik Lensherr/magneto, I was laughing so hard during his revenge trip in Argentina.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
gdiego135Jan 16, 2016
I've never been a huge X men fan, but this movie was great. It's an awesome origin story, and the casting for Professor X and Magneto were perfect, more so Magneto, Michael Fassbender was the perfect actor for Magneto. This movie does haveI've never been a huge X men fan, but this movie was great. It's an awesome origin story, and the casting for Professor X and Magneto were perfect, more so Magneto, Michael Fassbender was the perfect actor for Magneto. This movie does have it's flaws though. Like some of the new mutants are just dumb and make no sense, and the casting for them wasn't great either, like Havok, angel, and banshee, they're all just stupid annoying teenagers you see in every other movie. And also the way they made Beast look was very dumb, he's supposed to be the size of the Hulk, not a regular human. overall great movie with a few flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmMasterEdJan 6, 2016
Just when you wanted to lighten the memory load on your personal hard drive by deleting the X-Men franchise (yes, The Last Stand and Wolverine sucked that bad), along comes this primal blast of a prequel, a potent reminder of what jazzed usJust when you wanted to lighten the memory load on your personal hard drive by deleting the X-Men franchise (yes, The Last Stand and Wolverine sucked that bad), along comes this primal blast of a prequel, a potent reminder of what jazzed us about Bryan Singer's first two X-Men and the Marvel comics that spawned them. X-Men: First Class, the fifth in the series, is directed by fresh hand Matthew Vaughn, and as Kick-Ass proved, he's a live wire. In this cheerfully perverse origin tale of Magneto, Professor X and their mutant team, Vaughn delivers a fireworks display of action, smarts and fun, plus a touch of class from actors who can really act.

James McAvoy as telepathic Professor X and Michael Fassbender as the metal-bending Magneto are both dynamite. They take roles created, respectively, by Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen and give them an exuberant jolt of youth and flawed ambition. As Oxford brainiac Charles Xavier, McAvoy isn't bald, in a wheelchair or a stuffy utopian. He has one eye on a hot CIA agent (Rose Byrne) and the other on creating a society where young mutants can harness their powers and coexist with humans. This doesn't sit well with Fassbender's Erik Lehnsherr, a Holocaust survivor and the future Magneto, who'd like to see humans heel to mutants. That kind of thing can put a kink in a friendship. Luckily, the boys unite against the film's Dr. Evil, Sebastian Shaw (Kevin Bacon spewing hellfire). Set in 1962, at the height of the Cold War, the prequel dances to an irresistible James Bond vibe that Fassbender runs with in high style (Daniel Craig, watch your back). Did you know the X-Men played a key role in the Cuban Missile Crisis? You will now.

Trouble spots? Too many young mutants means that too few register. But Jennifer Lawrence, Katniss in the upcoming Hunger Games, defines bombshell as Raven, Xavier's adoptive sister, who shape-shifts into the blue-skinned Mystique or anyone else she fancies. Catch her in Magneto's bed – yowsa! Props to Nicholas Hoult for giving a deep-well gravity to the cerebral Hank McCoy even as he morphs into Beast. And January Jones spins her Betty Draper cool into diamond-hard ice shards as Emma Frost, Shaw's accomplice. So who cares about plot holes and a few tacky effects? Go, mutants! You just made this summer movie the badass place to be.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 2, 2015
X -Men : First Class talks about the origin of the most beloved mutant world , apart from the turtles was an amazing story. Where they were born , Professor X , Magneto , Mystique and Beast, for which survived , indeed Mc Avoy , Fassbender,X -Men : First Class talks about the origin of the most beloved mutant world , apart from the turtles was an amazing story. Where they were born , Professor X , Magneto , Mystique and Beast, for which survived , indeed Mc Avoy , Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence Hoult and to not waste their time . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Nov 19, 2015
A great fresh new start on the X-men franchise! This movie got fans excited for the X-men again and made them almost forget about the mess from X-men 3 and X-men Origins: The Wolverine. A great new and lovable cast of young actors andA great fresh new start on the X-men franchise! This movie got fans excited for the X-men again and made them almost forget about the mess from X-men 3 and X-men Origins: The Wolverine. A great new and lovable cast of young actors and actresses bring the X-men to life in a fun new re-imagining. The action is awesome, the comedy is good, the CGI and special effects are amazing, and X-men is back from the dumps! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
oDjentoSep 29, 2015
This has set up what could ultimately end up being the better end of the X men franchise in my opinion as I didn’t really enjoy too much of the previous films (X1 was alright and X2 was good).
The film is of sorts a revenge story and an
This has set up what could ultimately end up being the better end of the X men franchise in my opinion as I didn’t really enjoy too much of the previous films (X1 was alright and X2 was good).
The film is of sorts a revenge story and an origins story however, it only really focuses on Professor X and Magneto. The revenge story doesn’t really make complete sense though as Magneto had an easy opportunity to kill Kevin Bacons character at the start but he instead kills two random guards in his anger. Why? To give us a story I suppose.
McAvoy and Fassbender are brilliant in their characters to be honest and they really play off each other and play with their own characters very well, offering some great scenes between them. Fassbender shines most here though. The other characters are given hardly any development however and Mystique is far too whiny to really be that likeable in this film, also due to the fact she never really does anything. Basically it builds up Prof X and Magneto greatly but just dismisses all other characters. Mystique is just whiny and then ends up changing her views at the end of the film, Beast is a little **** and then becomes badass at the end, The lazer guy is a dick and then becomes nice to beast as soon as he becomes beast, Angel is a good character and then becomes sinisterly evil and happy to kill former friends out of nowhere and the strong guy just well, isn’t on screen for long: and to further my point on character development is that I can’t remember some of their names. Some action sequences are good and Fassbender and McAvoy are awesome but the film is just that little bit under par. I can see what it’s trying to set up and I look forward to Days Of Future Past now but as a whole, the film is not an achievement of any kind. Bacon’s character seems a little miscast also, with his accent going from a German officer to an all-out American.
X men fans will probably love this but I can’t really fully see it other than the two main characters.
4.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrilobiteGJul 21, 2015
I did not like superhero's before 2011. In fact, I didn't even give a **** about batman. This Movie got me to like Marvel and DC. This movie is INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!! THE FUN TO BE HAD IN THIS MOVIE IS SO UNBELIEVABLY LARGE I CAN'T BELIEVE IT.I did not like superhero's before 2011. In fact, I didn't even give a **** about batman. This Movie got me to like Marvel and DC. This movie is INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!! THE FUN TO BE HAD IN THIS MOVIE IS SO UNBELIEVABLY LARGE I CAN'T BELIEVE IT. The transformation of Magneto was so beautifully and tragically done (tying in with xavier bullet scene). The relationship between mystique and beast that was so tragically torn away makes you care for these mutants. It had heart, I wanted to read a diary entry on their thoughts and feelings I was so interested. Easily, the best part of this movie is the finding and training of the mutants because If, like me, you thought superhero's were all gifted people with smug and completely emotionless personalities, the fact that you could see their struggle opened my eyes to a whole panorama of different characters and I instantly became a Geek. This movie morphed me into a Geek, and for that I am great-full. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpiderPlayerMay 18, 2015
Great movie, the story is good and interesting, made a good movie without using the Wolverine, the special effects are good, only the Beast that was not very good, the film is interesting despite slightly distort the world of X-Men in cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrMovieBuffMar 17, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After the dismal and lack of entertaining factors that came from 'X-Men: The Last Stand' (2006) and don't even get me started on 'X-Men Origins: Wolverine' (2009), it's understandable to think why this movie would be such a disaster.

First of all, it is a prequel...many would think "What on earth? A prequel? Really? Is this all they have to offer after the last two crap-fests that came out?". Admit it, this could easily have been the next 'Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace' (1999) and put the "X-Men" franchise to a new low.

In other words, we all had low expectations, well most of us did. But after watching this movie, for some strange reason, I wanted to see it again, and so did a lot of people.

'X-Men: First Class' is directed by Matthew Vaughn who gave us 'Layer Cake' (2004) and 'Kick-Ass' (2010), he was apparently supposed to direct 'X-Men: The Last Stand' (2006), which would have been a good idea, but he couldn't for undisclosed reasons.

Here, Vaughn has crafted a stylish, thoughtful, sometimes funny and exhilarating action movie that stands out in the crowd. For the first time, the movie does not focus on Wolverine, and instead focuses on two very interesting and popular characters in the franchise; Professor X (played by James McAvoy) and Magneto (Michael Fassbender). Obviously, they were just known as Charles Xavier and Eric Lensherr.

We see Eric back in Poland, 1944 when he was a child, a repeat scene we all saw back in the original 'X-Men' (2000), but we never saw what really happened after Eric's parents were taken away from him and why he became Magneto, Vaughn fills in that piece of the puzzle. It seems that there is a man named Sebastian Shaw (Kevin Bacon) who is fascinated with young Eric's powers and ability to manipulate metal, so he asks him to move a coin or his mother gets shot. Sounds easy? Nope. After he shoots Eric's mother, through anger it seems that Eric can manipulate metal if he is feeling that emotion.

We also meet young Charles Xavier, who at night, meets a young blue girl named Raven who has the ability to shape-shift into any other human being. Xavier is amazed that there is another mutant who can do extraordinary things as he is able to read minds and control people's thoughts...quite intelligent for a little boy.

What does amaze me is the great chemistry that James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender have as the two main characters, just like what Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen had in the original trilogy. They seem genuine as friends and you believe every line they say.

What also amazes me is how much this movie links into history, so the Marvel comics universe DOES interact with our real world. We see archive footage of President John F. Kennedy announcing how there is going to be a nuclear war and a possible start to World War III.

The cast is outstanding as well, after praising the two leads above, Jennifer Lawrence is great as Mystique, Nicholas Hoult makes a good young Beast and many more actors do their best with a strong script.

However, having said it is a strong script, it is a little cliched here and there and it isn't exactly as dark as the first two "X-Men" movies, but the action is clean, the story is well thought out and this is a satisfying entry into the franchise. It may be far from being the greatest "X-Men" movie, but it's still great and better than what Brett Ratner had up his sleeve.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 16, 2015
After a great first movie, an even better sequel, a disappointing third film, and a completely unnecessary origin story, the X-Men's return is in full form with First Class, a successful reboot that also works just as well as an exceptional prequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonOct 27, 2014
Lead by excellent performances from James McAvoy and Micheal Fassbender, First Class, does a good job of crafting the origins of the X-Men seen in previous movies. Admittedly it doesn’t do anything particularly different to many of the otherLead by excellent performances from James McAvoy and Micheal Fassbender, First Class, does a good job of crafting the origins of the X-Men seen in previous movies. Admittedly it doesn’t do anything particularly different to many of the other Marvel movies, and the plot arguably jumps around a little too much, but fans of the superhero genre won’t be disappointed by what they see here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeOct 16, 2014
Incredible.
This film is almost greater than the original X-Men movies, so spectacular!
The first thing that totally made me love this movie is that there’s always something going on, it just kept going and going and I love it. Another
Incredible.
This film is almost greater than the original X-Men movies, so spectacular!

The first thing that totally made me love this movie is that there’s always something going on, it just kept going and going and I love it. Another thing is the video editing, it’s so unique and professional. There’s also many unique things that totally surprised me, which made the film superb! X-Men: First Class is a wonderful prequel film that totally is greater than the original, and there’s not many directors that have been successful with that in recent years. The story is awesome, it’s so deep and well thought-out. Aside from that is First Class a very entertaining film that got an awesome opening scene and ending. The soundtrack is another aspect of the film that truly is insanely great, Henry Jackman is from now on one of my favorite composers.

Even though it's an incredible film, it got some downsides like vague CGI and some less great actors, but it’s still one of my favorite movies of all time.

One of the best prequel films in history.

X-men: First Class get a 8.8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lordmoo_23Sep 23, 2014
This was a very pleasant surprise. After the infamous X3 and X-Men Origins, the X-Men franchise was slowly crumbling. One good movie could rejuvenate the franchise; instead we got a fantastic movie. The acting stood out, especially MichaelThis was a very pleasant surprise. After the infamous X3 and X-Men Origins, the X-Men franchise was slowly crumbling. One good movie could rejuvenate the franchise; instead we got a fantastic movie. The acting stood out, especially Michael Fassbender's performance as a young Magneto. I was immediately invested in the story and captivated by the progression of Magneto's character. I thought this was done very well. X-Men: First Class is not your typical summer blockbuster; it's got more layers to it. For one, the script is witty and effective. I found myself on the edge of my seat just waiting for the very well written dialogue. Another merit this film carries is the amazing soundtrack composed by Henry Jackman. It was evident that Hans Zimmer had his fingerprints all over it, for the music sounded similar to Inception, which is never a bad thing. Watching all my favorite X-Men characters when they were young was really cool, and just makes this film all the more special to me. I would rank this film among the greatest superhero/comic book movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 24, 2014
I was fully prepared to hate this movie, no denying that. I can't say I'm a die hard fan, but I used to read all the X-Men comics that were published in my home country, Finland, and although that isn't all that's been published in USA, I hadI was fully prepared to hate this movie, no denying that. I can't say I'm a die hard fan, but I used to read all the X-Men comics that were published in my home country, Finland, and although that isn't all that's been published in USA, I had a pretty solid idea about what was supposed to happen, and who would be in a movie like this.

Either my memory is getting rusty in all the right places, or mixing up people, background, ages and timelines didn't really do much damage to this movie - because it rocked!

A bit uneven in pace (having a very calm training-the-kids moment in the middle which kind of halts the action that's been happening so far). I did, however, fully appreciate the fact that they used the same clip in the beginning as they did in the first X-Men film back in 2000.

The cast was... well, it was either good or rather insignificant. The choice of James McAvoy as Charles Xavier was a little odd, but he grew on you. Michael Fassbender was pretty good as future Magneto. Kevin Bacon totally rocked as Sebastian Shaw, and under all that make-up, Jason Flemyng as Azazel was probably the most impressive one of them all to watch.

Charles and Eric took center stage, with Shaw, and everyone else shrank back, being less and less important. Sure, they did their part, but it seemed they just sort of... hung back and tried to create little issues of their own (which were many and meaningful, considering the overall themes, but that still wasn't enough to make them shine).

The action was good, the special effects were awesome, and the emotional depth was just right. Small details like names and faces *cough*Wolverine*cough* - and Magneto's helmet - were thrown around, which was awesome.

So, as much as I prepared to hate this film, I have to admit I shall be watching it again, and even hope they'll continue with this version of the X-Men universe, because they are off to a rather good start.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
boesballAug 16, 2014
This movie is not considered the greatest X-Men movie, but I think it is. It's really really good at combining the two genres. It's interesting how a mixture of Cold War historical fiction and comic book action can be so compelling. ItThis movie is not considered the greatest X-Men movie, but I think it is. It's really really good at combining the two genres. It's interesting how a mixture of Cold War historical fiction and comic book action can be so compelling. It gives incredible depth to Charles, Eric, and Raven (Mystique) and makes me like the earlier movies better. The effects were great, the villain was great, and for an origin story, the plot was great! I think it's better that the origin story came after the original trilogy because we already care a lot about Charles and Eric, and the Beast and Mystique haven't been explained a lot in the original trilogy. We want to know more about them, and this explains it to us. The addition of Emma Frost also adds to the story. I can't get enough of this movie, and it is deserving of a score of 8. It's very close to a 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cumoviesAug 15, 2014
Really good film good action good story and good acting a very good x men movie.

my ratting 7.9/10 8/10 for action/special effects 7.9 for story 7.8/10 for acting 7.9 for characters/character development
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JamesCannonJul 25, 2014
All the xmen have been poorly handled in my opinion. They have the worst casts, they bring in mutants that were completely irrelevant in the comic books. They seem like they are made by committees of people who don't really read the comics.All the xmen have been poorly handled in my opinion. They have the worst casts, they bring in mutants that were completely irrelevant in the comic books. They seem like they are made by committees of people who don't really read the comics. I hate every single one of them. This one was probably the one I hated the least though and is somewhat entertaining in places. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HISHEhebJul 8, 2014
סרט מאוד יפה, מספר ממש יפה את הסיפורים של אקסבייר ומגניטו. שחקנים מצוינים שעשו את זה אפילו יותר טוב מהקודמים. סרט האקס מן הכי טוב עד שיצא אקס-מן העתיד שהיהסרט מאוד יפה, מספר ממש יפה את הסיפורים של אקסבייר ומגניטו. שחקנים מצוינים שעשו את זה אפילו יותר טוב מהקודמים. סרט האקס מן הכי טוב עד שיצא אקס-מן העתיד שהיה
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
InlikeflynnJun 7, 2014
This is a very good super-hero movie...

The writing is good, the cast is talented, the action scenes are very well shoot, the directing is strong, etc... it's seems obvious that he knows the characters and the universe it shows that he
This is a very good super-hero movie...

The writing is good, the cast is talented, the action scenes are very well shoot, the directing is strong, etc... it's seems obvious that he knows the characters and the universe it shows that he knew exactly what to have his actors do and the actors knew what the characters needed to do. I can tell the director is knows very well the X-Men universe.

This movie has a lot of good elements about it, but I can't help but feel that the ending is abrupt, like they needed to end the movie intermediately and they just rushed the end. Maybe this is because I am not a big X-Men fan, but I still recommend this movie a lot, it's just a good super-hero movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
mhenderson8May 24, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I did not like this movie at all. I don't want to see a movie about the origins of the X-Men that only has 1 of the original 5 X-Men (Beast) in it. There was no Cyclops, no Jean, no Angel, no Iceman and no way this movie about the origins of the X-Men could be any good. This movie is highly overrated and it's funny how so many people say such good things about this movie but it was the second worst box office opening in the franchise. There is only one real X-Men in this movie (Beast), with a whole lot of C-List X -Men in this movie and a 30 second Wolverine cameo. If the movie was so good how come it performed so poorly during it's opening weekend. If you call yourself a true X-Men fan you might not want to see this movie, it is utterly horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidMay 23, 2014
Probably one of the best X-Men movies.Period. Matthew Vaughn made the characters a lot more compelling than the other movies in the franchise. Fine Performances by the cast
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialMar 8, 2014
The best in the series so far. It improves greatly on the previous film by giving us more character development and emotion between characters, and when you combine that with a better story this time round along with some intense actionThe best in the series so far. It improves greatly on the previous film by giving us more character development and emotion between characters, and when you combine that with a better story this time round along with some intense action sequences, you simply have a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KayakMar 4, 2014
Apart from the flat supporting characters and a few doses of overly cheesy dialogue, this film is at the top end of superhero movies. A script which makes you toss and turn sides throughout the film is commendable and some truly great actingApart from the flat supporting characters and a few doses of overly cheesy dialogue, this film is at the top end of superhero movies. A script which makes you toss and turn sides throughout the film is commendable and some truly great acting from McAvoy and Fassbender. Easily the best X-Men film and recommendable to all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MegacritcDec 22, 2013
X-Men: The First Class is far from being a perfect movie, or even a great one. This movie starts poorly with terrible acting (except the actors who portray adult Xavier and Magento), and a poor script that makes it feel like a teenage movieX-Men: The First Class is far from being a perfect movie, or even a great one. This movie starts poorly with terrible acting (except the actors who portray adult Xavier and Magento), and a poor script that makes it feel like a teenage movie for Nickalodean. The special effects are pretty bad too. Everything looks fake, especially Beast. Fortunately the movie does take a turn for the better about halfway into the movie when one of the characters (Darwin) gets killed, then the movie starts to become what it should have been from the start. Although they say it's not how you start but how you finish, this time; how you start does matter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jppl1999Dec 16, 2013
Surprising movie, I thought it would be worst. It gives a fresh start to the X-men zaga. The majority of the performances were great and created an interesting, but sometimes unclear movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
zied12Nov 20, 2013
I think the remake of the xmen is better than the original The cast is great ,the plot is thrilling and the visuals are astonishing It's a really good movie that I think everyone should watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksNov 13, 2013
A breath of fresh air to the X-Men series and the strengths in character development are great. My only problem with this film is the lack of a real punch as the end drags a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AssassinationNov 11, 2013
Classic & Dramatic Entertainer Will Always Lead To The Ranks Of First Class !!
**X-Men First Class**
* This movie is by far a Classic entertainer with Dramatic screenplay and visuals which dazzles you in excitement Brilliant Screen Play
Classic & Dramatic Entertainer Will Always Lead To The Ranks Of First Class !!
**X-Men First Class**

* This movie is by far a Classic entertainer with Dramatic screenplay and visuals which dazzles you in excitement Brilliant Screen Play & Characters performance are the most charming features. This movie stands for the name itself First Class This movie had a positive features in which the characters were well developed and their interaction during the screen play was excellent the director needs to get credit for this brilliant performance in both direction and screenplay This movie got some of the most talented actors and their performance was fantastic as they were very much suited for there roles in this film .The interaction between these actors are the most charming features to this film Forgot to mention about another positive thing in this film that is Music!the soundtracks and the back ground effects were fantastic it shines as one of the most brilliant features in this film The action sequence and visual effects are beautiful you cannot see any errors since its done perfectly Overall this movie is fantastic and worth your time its certainly not dull or boring its Exciting as well as Charming or you can simply say its a First Class
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
after a bad movie(origins wolverine)i thought the x-men franchise would decline,i wasn´t expecting anything good but this movie is absolutely great with a good restart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SuperheroMoviesSep 15, 2013
An exceptional prequel to the original X-Men films, First Class delivers with large amounts of vitality, a cast that pulls off their performance immaculately, and a script that handles its source material with a meticulous hand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
George-rootsAug 28, 2013
Now this is where the X-Men Franchise begins to redeems itself...

After "The Last Stand" and "Origins" had disappointed me, I was so happy as well as confused to hear about the beginning of A new X-Men trilogy, but then upon hearing it was
Now this is where the X-Men Franchise begins to redeems itself...

After "The Last Stand" and "Origins" had disappointed me, I was so happy as well as confused to hear about the beginning of A new X-Men trilogy, but then upon hearing it was going to be based on one of my favourite All-Time Mini-series "First Class", hype necessarily followed.

Also considering the abundance of Super-Hero movies coming out this year, X-Men was the only one I was really looking forward too.

I was not disappointed.

Though people seemed pissed off due to the fact that a majority of recognizable characters were missing from this film, i was really happy with that because this film features all these virtually unknown characters who are just brilliant and played by superb actors.

The only problem I had with it was that it did not follow the "First Class" comic storyline but 10 minutes in I DID NOT CARE because the 60's style they've gone for here is the equivilent of a James Bond movie, the friendship and differences between James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender as Xavier & Magneto is so engaging and tensious to watch, while Kevin Bacon was an astounding villian and January Jones just screamed "Fembot".

The Story worked well around all the characters and themes X-men were made for, fear of mutants (Which was originally a shot a communism) and an INGENIOUS idea of "Mutant Warfare" during the Cuban Missile Crisis.

Final Verdict: Though we still gotta get through "Green Lantern" and "Captain America" X-Men is literally (And i know this is cheesy) First Class. 8.5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ncstatemikeAug 24, 2013
[6.9] It definitely exceeds expectations, but it doesn't go above and beyond. Maybe above, but definitely not beyond. By X-Men standards, this is a great movie, but for me, it does what every other X-Men movie does: it tries to explain itself[6.9] It definitely exceeds expectations, but it doesn't go above and beyond. Maybe above, but definitely not beyond. By X-Men standards, this is a great movie, but for me, it does what every other X-Men movie does: it tries to explain itself too much (and at this point, X-Men doesn't need much explaining). It does this to a lesser extent, and the characters almost make up for it, but when I watch this movie I'm all too aware that the X-Men are trying to teach me about the X-Men. That's what the internet is for. Hell, that's what comic books are for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Danne_RageAug 1, 2013
Don't judge the book by it's cover.
Same with this movie.
Great one if you want to know how it all started or if you just want a good movie to your saturday snacks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Mr_MuumiJul 28, 2013
X-Men: First Class succeeds by having actual storyline aside neat special effects and flashy action scenes. The characters have more depth than average movie superheroes and there are successful tie-ins with actual historical events. ThisX-Men: First Class succeeds by having actual storyline aside neat special effects and flashy action scenes. The characters have more depth than average movie superheroes and there are successful tie-ins with actual historical events. This prequel is positive surprise that even non-fan of Marvel movies can enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DusksparkJul 23, 2013
Although the characters were interresting and the refferences were enjoyable, the story was weak and predictable, making the movie a stretched boring mess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiJun 12, 2013
Definitely better made than the previous films in the franchise. What bothered me, however, were the vast majority of previously unused mutants picked for the film. I think they should have stuck with the stories of the main characters. TheDefinitely better made than the previous films in the franchise. What bothered me, however, were the vast majority of previously unused mutants picked for the film. I think they should have stuck with the stories of the main characters. The CIA agent laying her burden on Xavier was very convenient, and there was no need for the romance angle. Mystique and Beast should have been explored more. In the absence of Wolverine, the more physical mutants seemed to be clearly lacking. But the downward spiral is really reversed by the focus on Magneto and Professor X, which was the strongest point about the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJun 10, 2013
X-men first class is the best x-men movie ever made. Deal with it. It has great action and story. The effects are impressive and it's the best one. Matthew Vughn did an excellent work after kick-ass
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 2, 2013
Personally my favorite X-Men movie mainly because unlike most of the other X-Men movies this film has strong character development especially with Xavier and Magneto.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ascoltami86May 27, 2013
I don't like almost all X-men movies. I don't like Wolverine, Victor Creed, Wade Wilson, their weapons, horrible.
I don't like big muscle characters like Hugh Jackman, Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson.
But X-men, 2000 was not bad. X-Men: First
I don't like almost all X-men movies. I don't like Wolverine, Victor Creed, Wade Wilson, their weapons, horrible.
I don't like big muscle characters like Hugh Jackman, Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson.
But X-men, 2000 was not bad.
X-Men: First Class is great. I love the character Erik Lehnsherr.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Azid_AlexDeSmalApr 8, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. X-Men: First Class is a reboot to the franchise. Yes, it is a reboot, but it is not a superhero movie to be trifled with. Strength of this movie is very much in evidence and true; it could be noticed by its ability to give you so much power. I want to say more- my favourite superhero movie of the year is robust, dark and vicious. Starring an acclaimed actor James McAvoy as Charles Xavier and alongside him is Michael Fassbender as Erik Lensherr and directed by Matthew Vaughn, a firm and handsome motion picture, let's have a ferocious battle alright!!?

I have this notion that could proudly tell the world that what makes X- Men FS a worthy motion picture is its terrific screenplay. In my opinion, the collaboration of the four writers (Ashley Edward Miller, Zack Stentz, Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn) is praise-worthy and they got the work done right! The dialogues or lines in the film are so insightful and meaningful and they strike upon my judgment. To add some sugar in the mentioned praise, the script never failed to make viewers smile with its charming and humorless lines.

James McAvoy is undeniably appealing in the movie. His presence indirectly brought me to the top level of uneasiness, asking me if that kind of charm could easily be matched. His performance is one of the best performances in the movie and he led the character brightly. Another genius illuminator of the movie is Michael Fassbender but there's extra gravity strength surrounded him which somewhat pull the movie down. To me, his character seemed like insignificant in the first half of the movie and this so obvious when he started working with Charles Xavier but let's cover that up with a bright blanket, the character Erik made a powerful and important appearance during the few final acts of the movie that turned the movie around. To wrap it up, Fassbender delivered an acting performance that is being filled with charisma. I traded my praise for Kevin Bacon's too. He is so relaxed and cunning-looking while driving the character which made Sebastian Shaw a successful smart villain. The performances by the supporting casts have a mixed taste. Two great examples would be Jennifer Lawrence's correct interpretation and Zoë Kravitz's boring delivery for the character.

The visual effects are neither jaw-dropping nor special, it is just acceptable and it never goes beyond that. Spectacular? Nope. I'm so reluctant to mention this, but pace of the film during the first half of the movie is incorrect-moves quite too quickly and left some of the characters undeveloped. The editing wouldn't want to be touched that much but the beauty of that filmmaking element is very much secured during the 'training' scene. That mentioned scene is just perfectly executed.

X-Men: First Class is not one of the best films of the year but, its excellent screenplay and sparkling performances gave a rise to the fact that this film is not one of the worst films of the year.

[3.5/5]

Facebook (http://facebook.com/alex.desmall) Twitter (@Alex_DeSmall) (http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/AlexDesmall)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Not too bad, but the costume design was much too modern for the early 1960's. The plot was in some scenes uninteresting, but makes up for it in the strong special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Mar 17, 2013
While there were definitely promising qualities and scenes, most of the movie was never engrossing to watch. This might sound like an oxymoron, but the best way to describe the film would to call it an interesting bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Mar 17, 2013
Even though X-Men: First Class was well executed, had a solid production, above average acting, and a decent story, I couldn't help to notice that I have never sat through a longer 2 hour film in my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobMar 9, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. On the whole I enjoyed this film. I will admit that the film drags a bit and is confusing to start off with and that the plot is rushed a bit for the sake of tying it into the other films; but I feel that we still got some good stuff. The redeeming factor of this film is the take on the characters specifically Xavier, Magneto, and Mistique. I enjoyed watching these characters and cared about some of them more so than the original X-Men. Even though this plot feels condencesed I still would like to see another movie with these characters, which it looks like we will be getting sort of with X-Men Days of Future Past, which will hopefully will be good. If you’re a fan of the X-Men movies check this one out because you may like it. Even if you are not a fan of the previous ones I am going to say watch it because it is different from the other ones. It provides an interesting take on characters we know and love and is enjoyable. Again what ruins it is the rushed ending but if you look past that you will enjoy the film. Is this a great film no but it is a good one, which is something that a lot of movies cannot be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
I never read a comic book and when I saw the first X-Men film, I was intrigued, but confused. Throughout the trilogy, I always thought I was missing a lot of the story and this is it. First Class is the missing link that will answer questionsI never read a comic book and when I saw the first X-Men film, I was intrigued, but confused. Throughout the trilogy, I always thought I was missing a lot of the story and this is it. First Class is the missing link that will answer questions for the fans of the movie, who don't follow the comics, and it is one blockbuster film that more than lives up to its hype. From the special effects to the make-up and finally to the actors this film is amazing. Movies like this never win awards, but you will be hard pressed to find better performances than those of James McAvoy, Kevin Bacon, Michael Fassbender. The whole cast was terrific, the story was fantastic, and the special effects were truly out of this world. This is a great film and I'm craving more. I can't wait to see what connections the next forty years bring between first class and the trilogy. When it's all said and done, I hope I can watch all these films and truly understand the whole story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
A_NorthernerFeb 22, 2013
First Class is one of the strongest, if not the most enjoyable, members of the X-men film franchise. It's plot is perhaps overly congested, dealing with a range of characters going through the self-doubt and insecurities of being 'different'First Class is one of the strongest, if not the most enjoyable, members of the X-men film franchise. It's plot is perhaps overly congested, dealing with a range of characters going through the self-doubt and insecurities of being 'different' on top of the relationship between Charles and Erik in addition to stopping Schmidt from causing the Cuban Missile Crisis from going from military stand-off to full blown war. As usual with X-Men, too many characters are included purely for bodies in the fight scenes. Step forward Angel, Banshee, Havok, Darwin, Azazel and Riptide. Avengers leads the way in accommodating a group of major superheroes without shoehorning wafer-thin characters for cannon fodder. Special mentions for January Jones, who gives the flattest, monotone performance I can remember as the Schmidt's female sidekick, Emma Frost and Kevin Bacon, for performing scenes in German and Russian! On to the positives......Michael Fassbender. It is not often you associate a superhero movie with powerhouse performances, but Fassbender's intense, brooding portrayal of Erik, hinting at the flaws that ultimately come to the surface as Magneto, is just that, and is a joy to watch. Only a few leagues below (and given Fassbender's performance this is still high praise) is James McAvoy's performance as Charles Xavier.

All things said and done, First Class is an enjoyable action film, benefiting from some excellent actors and the curiosity attached to seeing younger versions of familiar characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFFeb 9, 2013
This was a surprisingly excellent film, when you hear the term 'reboot' or 'prequel', there isnt much of a rapturous applause, but First Class felt like wondrous step in the right direction.
Starting off in 1944 we see the emergence of Erik
This was a surprisingly excellent film, when you hear the term 'reboot' or 'prequel', there isnt much of a rapturous applause, but First Class felt like wondrous step in the right direction.
Starting off in 1944 we see the emergence of Erik Lensherr later known as Magneto, who witnesses the death of his mother after Dr Klaus Schmidt/Sebastian Shaw (Kevin Bacon) is aware of Lensherr's mutant capabilities.
A long way away from Lensherr's woes in a concentration camp, we see a child Charles Xavier, later Professor X getting acquainted with a young Raven Darkholme, who you may no better as the blue shape-shifter Mistique.
Fast-forward to the Cuban Missile Crisis of 1962, we see Xavier (James McAvoy) far from how we know him, a womanising Oxford graduate who is smooth-talking and charming, tagging along behind him is Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence).
Meanwhile, Magneto (Michael Fassbender) is killing his way through those who tortured him in the past, running into his soon-to-be friend Xavier.
Thus sets off quite a retro yet whirlwind of entertainment with an ensemble cast including Nicholas Hoult, Rose Byrne, January Jones and uncredited yet brilliantly simple and hilarious cameo from a familiar mutant.
What was most interesting about First Class was its uniqueness from it trilogy counterpart, it didn't feel similar to them at all, and this was good, its creating its own path, and what an enjoyable path it was. Groundbreaking special effects, particularly a scene of Magneto lifting a submarine out of the water with his manipulation ability of metal.
Personally, it was the excellently scripted film that was of particular enjoyment, the large ensemble cast feels fresh, and the film isnt afraid to take risks, big egos, big music and large set pieces have set up what could be a very successful and enjoyable chapter in the large world of X-Men.
The performances of the two leads in McAvoy and Fassbender are fantastically unique, filling big shoes from Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellan, they superbly bring their own youth and charisma to the roles, while maintaining the strained relationship that these two mutant heavyweights share.
Absolutely brilliant and well-thought prequel to a successful franchise, let it continue.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ninja_dolphinFeb 7, 2013
Definitely the best X-men film with fantastic action and amazing characters. All the actors in this movie nail their parts and the script wasn't as cheesy as the previous films and the side-characters were more likable. And finally the cameoDefinitely the best X-men film with fantastic action and amazing characters. All the actors in this movie nail their parts and the script wasn't as cheesy as the previous films and the side-characters were more likable. And finally the cameo by Hugh Jackman as wolverine in this movie is amazing, It had me laughing for the rest of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tomtom4468Feb 6, 2013
Finally, an X-Men movie that is as good, if not better than, the first two. An amazing success after those other two pieces of crap of which I dare not speak their names! Overall, AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PulseEnderJan 29, 2013
X-Men: First Class is the first movie in the X-Men timeline. It is set during the Cold War and does a brilliant job of describing the issues of pride and prejudice. Plot: Eric (Micheal Fassbender) is a Jewish boy who watches his mother getX-Men: First Class is the first movie in the X-Men timeline. It is set during the Cold War and does a brilliant job of describing the issues of pride and prejudice. Plot: Eric (Micheal Fassbender) is a Jewish boy who watches his mother get abducted during the Holocaust. His anger leads him to use his mutation to control metal. After Shaw (Kevin Bacon) kills his mother, he vows to avenge her. At the same time, Charles (James Mcavoy) who has a mutation that allows him to manipulate the minds of others, meets Raven (Jenifer Lawerence) who has the ability to shape shift and is insecure about her looks. As Shaw and his group of mutants attempt to start WW3 so that nukes will mutate the world, Charles and Eric meet up and recruit other mutants who they train in an attempt to save the world from another world war. My opinion: A very well done masterpiece that shows the true origins of the X-Men. This movie address current problems such as the unbalance of warfare, and insecurities we feel and how we react to those who make us feel such. I reccommend this to anybody who wants to get interested in the X-Men, anyone who has seen the X-Men trilogy, and to those who are interested in conspiracy surrounding the Cold War. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Jan 4, 2013
As a stand alone film, completely ignoring canon, it's pretty decent. Anyone not knowing a thing about the series outside of the movies will likely highly enjoy it. But, as an avid fan of the comic book series, this movie just takes FAR tooAs a stand alone film, completely ignoring canon, it's pretty decent. Anyone not knowing a thing about the series outside of the movies will likely highly enjoy it. But, as an avid fan of the comic book series, this movie just takes FAR too many liberties and makes very little sense. Kevin Bacon did a good job with Sebastian Shaw's character and portrays him well, but just did not represent (visually) him that well (not to mention his horrific German. His pronunciation was extremely cringe worthy to anyone who speaks German.) McAvoy & Fassbender are fantastic in their roles and do an almost perfect job of showing Magneto & Xavier in their early days. Everyone else ....... can just be forgotten. I thought this movie is made purely for entertainment and it seems to me that very little thought went into its writing, at least in terms of being true to its source material. While I appreciate what they were trying to do, they should have rather sold it as a reboot rather than a prequel to the other movies. Overall: A huge disappointment to fans of the original comics, but very good for everyone else. (At least it was better than Last Stand.) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 29, 2012
A better plot and more entertaining than the Wolverine origins movie, thankfully way better than the piece of crap movie called X3. Finally, one of similar quality to X-Men: Origins and X2. It was interesting to see the origins of Xavier andA better plot and more entertaining than the Wolverine origins movie, thankfully way better than the piece of crap movie called X3. Finally, one of similar quality to X-Men: Origins and X2. It was interesting to see the origins of Xavier and Magneto (I've never read the comics personally so the story was new to me). It had action, great special effects, great character, decent acting and a decent plot, everything I expect from a superhero movie. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SeriosityDec 8, 2012
It is certainly flawed and all over the place, but McAvoy and Fassbender are superb. They are great, both together and individually as Xavier and Magneto, respectively.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersDec 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent, I loved it. I was expecting something more like Wolverine, but this was a fantastic movie. Not only a brilliant addition to the X-Men series, but it's the best of the series!

The reason I say that this is the best of the series is because it delivers in more areas than the previous films did...First Class is very deep. For once I felt for the characters, I actually cared about what happened to them and how they interacted with each other. Credit must go to the cast because their performances contributed to this, especially James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender. McAvoy gives a great performance as Professor X, and Fassbender is incredible as Magneto. (You will see Erik/Magneto in a whole new light). My favorite scene in the entire film is actually not an action scene, but the highly emotional diologue between McAvoy and Fassbender with moving the satelitte...also the end of the final action scene. Those two scenes alone add SO much to the film and trilogy. I can't explain it all, but this is truly a great addition to the series.

And...of course the action was awesome! The visuals were excellent and I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. I love action movie blockbusters and First Class delivered.

I cannot recommend this film enough! It's my favorite of the year so far. Action + Drama = X-Men First Class = Great Film!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FullMetalWeskerDec 4, 2012
This movie had a lot of potential, but unfortunately, it didn't quite realise it completely. While there are a few pros; McAvoy and Fassbender are great as Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr, and likewise their scenes are the highlight of theThis movie had a lot of potential, but unfortunately, it didn't quite realise it completely. While there are a few pros; McAvoy and Fassbender are great as Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr, and likewise their scenes are the highlight of the movie for me. Some of the other characters were also somewhat interesting, such as Beastman, and Mystique, and the special effects during the fight scenes are at the usual standard for X-men films. However, swirled in with all that are: a wafer-thin plot that serves as nothing more than a backdrop for the characters to move around in, a (possibly intended) campy feel throughout large parts of the film, and a few major characters who have nothing to them apart from unique powers (see: Majority of the villains). It's disappointing that so few of the characters were really even touched on, let alone fleshed out, as this seems more than anything a character-focused piece, and I hope that the planned sequel, Days of Future Past, focuses more on fleshing these super-powered characters out, and exploring the different sides to them, rather than leaving them as one-dimensional walking super powers. Another flaw I noticed was the scale. Using an event like the Cuban Missile Crisis might've sounded good on paper, but it caused the film to move through a bit too much too quickly, which may be the cause for the lack of character interaction and depth. It might've been better to use another event that's easier to work with, such as the Cold War in general, and the unease and paranoia that was prevalent throughout. Again hopefully the sequel does this, and allows more breathing space for the characters who aren't named Charles Xavier or Magneto (though even they didn't quite get as much as they could)
Overall though, it's a fairly decent action blockbuster, filled with a few nice action scenes and sprinkled with good character moments throughout and although it isn't quite as interesting as it could have been, it's still worthy of at least a rental to the general movie-goer.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NKOASNov 17, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the years between Batman films, Marvel truly gets a chance to shine, especially in the time building up towards their unprecedented, all-or-nothing extravaganza The Avengers. So it would come as a huge shock to many that, in a summer with not one but two Avengers-related films (Thor and Captain America), the most thrilling and refined comic book film of the year was the one no one was excited for. Well, folks, we all learned to never judge a film by its trailer once this smartly written, sharply filmed and sleekly acted origin story unfolded on the screen. This was Michael Fassbender Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
PalenoireOct 13, 2012
This film is so stupid. The dialogue is stupid, scenes are stupid, even Magneto. I see what they tried to do here, but the ways they use in this movie are just stupid and dumb. It could be a good movie if the script was stronger
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
EssenceOfSugarAug 21, 2012
This film was pretty good for what it achieved - the leads were amazing as their characters and the dialogue was interesting. The CGI was colourful, but didn't block out the story. I loved the chemistry between Erik and Charles before itThis film was pretty good for what it achieved - the leads were amazing as their characters and the dialogue was interesting. The CGI was colourful, but didn't block out the story. I loved the chemistry between Erik and Charles before it descended into chaos. I doubted the film because of its possible childish aspects considering the group of teenage mutants but it also looked dumbed down from the darker X-Men films. Despite this, it managed to produce a stable backstory, there was a cool injection of humour (one scene possibly being unintentional but not in a bad way) and a cameo from a probably lovable rogue makes the film even more special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
A perfectly competent action film, nothing more and nothing less. A litany of side characters muddle the plot while Michael Fassbender's performance (lauded by critics) seemed uneven, as his accent changed throughout the film. Moreover,A perfectly competent action film, nothing more and nothing less. A litany of side characters muddle the plot while Michael Fassbender's performance (lauded by critics) seemed uneven, as his accent changed throughout the film. Moreover, while I applaud the four screenwriters (never a good sign) for attempting to intertwine historical events within the plot, the overall dialogue writing remained clumsy and inept. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Tall_But_ShortAug 4, 2012
After two disappointing X-Men movies, this superhero franchise is finally back and better than ever! The only problem this movie has is that is "over-cheesy" at some points. Overall, though, it was a fantastic and fun ride and maybe the bestAfter two disappointing X-Men movies, this superhero franchise is finally back and better than ever! The only problem this movie has is that is "over-cheesy" at some points. Overall, though, it was a fantastic and fun ride and maybe the best X-Men movie to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Jul 21, 2012
This film was fantastic in places but lacked a unity in direction to be truly amazing. The franchise needed to improve upon X3 and Wolverine, which were clearly the two worst films of the series so far, and in this origin story, they found aThis film was fantastic in places but lacked a unity in direction to be truly amazing. The franchise needed to improve upon X3 and Wolverine, which were clearly the two worst films of the series so far, and in this origin story, they found a film to help them to rise from the ashes in a better way than Jean Grey did in the third film. Matthew Vaughn was clearly the correct choice as director and I look forward to watching his future endeavours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kirkteegardinJul 5, 2012
This is by far the best X-Men movie to date. In the movie you get to see how Magneto and Dr. X become friends. Magneto believes that he was the only one that was gifted. As for Dr. X he finds out early when he is a child. Mystic (the blueThis is by far the best X-Men movie to date. In the movie you get to see how Magneto and Dr. X become friends. Magneto believes that he was the only one that was gifted. As for Dr. X he finds out early when he is a child. Mystic (the blue chick) meets Dr. X when they are only kids. Magneto meets Kevin Bacon (the guy from Hollow Man) and is the main cause for Magneto for realizing his potential. Kevin Bacon has a bigger role in the movie but it may spoil it if I say what it is. It was cool to see Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) for a scene, although the theater's applaud was not needed. The effects in the movie are not too cheesy. The music, except for the trailer, are a bit boring. There seems to not be any epic music through out the movie. It would of liked it if they used the previous actors for Magneto and Dr. X but it would not have worked well with them looking old. The movie includes a few twists (the main one being when Magneto steels Kevin Bacon's helmet). The movie ends with Magneto and Dr. X on their separate paths. There will need to be a sequel to connect the ties of the first X-Men movie (the one that sucked that had Sabertooth in it) with this prequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dharmaJun 8, 2012
2011 is a year filled with surprises. Films that were supposed to be good are mediocre at best. Movies such as X Men First Class and Rise of the Apes, which are supposed to flop big time turned out to be the best blockbusters for the season.2011 is a year filled with surprises. Films that were supposed to be good are mediocre at best. Movies such as X Men First Class and Rise of the Apes, which are supposed to flop big time turned out to be the best blockbusters for the season. After the abysmal X Men Origins: Wolverine, I thought that the X-Men franchise was gone for good. With a strong and younger cast, a lot of energy, great set pieces and above all, a lot of heart and soul, X Men First Class became one of the best film of the year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
rnnbrwnJun 4, 2012
Fassbender and McAvoy are brilliant but it's a wee bit of a boring, clichéd story, with the young X-Men providing very little in the way of storyline. Good fun, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GCMANINDAHOODMay 26, 2012
It was a good movie, though not canon in accordance to its predecessors the "X-men trilogy and X-men Origins: Wolverine" its confusing without it keeping continuity already set by the previous films. Other than the confusion the film wasIt was a good movie, though not canon in accordance to its predecessors the "X-men trilogy and X-men Origins: Wolverine" its confusing without it keeping continuity already set by the previous films. Other than the confusion the film was pretty great, captivating plot and a eye popping experience filled with plenty of eye candy scenes and a epic performance by the cast. But on the other hand the film did seem it was just thrown together to make a plot for Prof X and Magneto, but I still think they should have had continuity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AutiTakahashiMay 25, 2012
Remember the X-Men movie right before this one? You know, the one about the origins of Wolverine? I don't/ My guess is that Hugh Jackman doesn't either. If he does, I can almost be sure that he's at least trying. "X-Men: First Class",Remember the X-Men movie right before this one? You know, the one about the origins of Wolverine? I don't/ My guess is that Hugh Jackman doesn't either. If he does, I can almost be sure that he's at least trying. "X-Men: First Class", directed by Matthew Vaughn, is a prequel that shows us how the presence of mutants became known to humans, and how they responded to each other's impressions. This can also be identified as a 130-minute apology to "Wolverine." The film's first minutes are located in a nasty Nazi prison camp. The mother of young Eric is separated from him. He gets angry, and the steel gate between him and his mother seem to respond. (It's moving by itself!) This odd occurrence is immediately noticed by Sebastian Shaw, who later succeeds in forcing the power out of Eric by killing his mother. Once again in anger, Eric causes all sorts of metals to hurl through the air. The wooden chairs sigh in relief. The sequence described above features the finest moments of "X-Men: First Class." It is there where we are introduced to the young man who will one day be famously recognzied as Magneto. Shortly, we recall familiar names such as Charles (Professor X) and Raven (Mystique), but not at first sight. There is a curious connection between the two. They seem to be really close to one another. So close, in fact, that we wonder about the lack of communication between them in the "previous" X-Men movies. Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/xmen-class/ Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RangerGxiMay 24, 2012
*Not a comic guy

This movie was excellent. I enjoyed the focus on character development and the various themes throughout the movie such as accepting yourself. The characters each had their own unique personalities, each with their own flaws
*Not a comic guy

This movie was excellent. I enjoyed the focus on character development and the various themes throughout the movie such as accepting yourself. The characters each had their own unique personalities, each with their own flaws and qualities. This alongside their interactions all makes them great characters makes them easy to sympathize with. The movie can be classed as an action movie but the action was not the main attraction in my view. It was characters and their relationships with eachother and society that define this movie and make it a quality movie experience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nutterjrMay 22, 2012
Even though it was well executed, solid production, good acting, and a decent story, I must be coming off the genre and strating to be tired of films based on comics or prequels to good films. Saying that, I am anxious to see the new BatmanEven though it was well executed, solid production, good acting, and a decent story, I must be coming off the genre and strating to be tired of films based on comics or prequels to good films. Saying that, I am anxious to see the new Batman (film based on comic) and the Prometheus (prequel to Alien). In that case it must be the film that just didn't win me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuApr 27, 2012
Mathew Vaughn does a fantastic job with X Men: First Class by infusing it with the same irresistible energy as his previous outing Kick Ass. The script also packs a descent punch and there are a ton of memorable quotes and scenes to sink yourMathew Vaughn does a fantastic job with X Men: First Class by infusing it with the same irresistible energy as his previous outing Kick Ass. The script also packs a descent punch and there are a ton of memorable quotes and scenes to sink your teeth into. A real revelation here is Michael Fassbender, who plays Magnito with a brutal elegance. It makes me want to see a lot more of Magnito in the future. Overall, First Class is an excellent movie that is easily on par with the classic X2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrFilmReviewerApr 10, 2012
Just saw X-Men First Class and wrote this. Hopefully you can read it. http://mrfilmreviewer.blogspot.com/2012/04/x-men-first-class.html Hopefully, you'll like it as well. It was very well made and it's my favorite of the franchise (as of now)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JadagarMar 29, 2012
Surprisingly bearable, X-Men: First Class is a fun superhero movie with a smidgen of depth I wasn't expecting. For those of us who aren't paying too much attention to the fact that it's not true to comics whatsoever, it -is- marginally trueSurprisingly bearable, X-Men: First Class is a fun superhero movie with a smidgen of depth I wasn't expecting. For those of us who aren't paying too much attention to the fact that it's not true to comics whatsoever, it -is- marginally true to the previous X-Men movies made over the years. That said, there's plenty of dorky, cliched dialogue and the often-seen moral dilemma between justice and revenge. Yes, it's been done a hundred, thousand times before. However, given the setting, the range of characters, and the length of the film, it comes together in a way that isn't quite as nauseating as some other superhero movies that have come out recently that shall remain nameless. If you're a fan of the genre and like movies, give it a whirl. If you're a fan of the comic books... well... chock this one up to "Hollywood dreck" and try to be happy with something else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloMar 26, 2012
X men first class is a blast. For sure best xmen yet. Great visuals. It looks so great. Acting and score is good. James M. and micheal Fass. does a very good job. Story is great as it progresses. I would give it a 9.25, but overall I guess aX men first class is a blast. For sure best xmen yet. Great visuals. It looks so great. Acting and score is good. James M. and micheal Fass. does a very good job. Story is great as it progresses. I would give it a 9.25, but overall I guess a 9 out of 10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
When I finally did manage to see it a few day ago, I was blown away. The movie is a compelling story about society and trying to fit in. It is a story many of us can relate too. We change or hide ourselves to fit into the world or better yet,When I finally did manage to see it a few day ago, I was blown away. The movie is a compelling story about society and trying to fit in. It is a story many of us can relate too. We change or hide ourselves to fit into the world or better yet, the worldâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Geoffory2Mar 25, 2012
Michael fassbender is awesome enough said
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NJWolfgangMar 4, 2012
The only thing about this film that redeemed it was the brief scene with Hugh Jackman where he tells them to well he just does and they should have all listened.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyFeb 25, 2012
I Love this reboot of X-Men, because have much incredible elements, for example, the characters have a great story, the effects wow, are awesome, the direction is incredible. Really First Class is amazing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
wildermovreviewJan 28, 2012
I am a huge fan of action and comic book movies. The first X-Men films were great, I even liked the third one. I had very high expectations for this one. Fortunately I wasnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews