User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 950 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 950

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    A solid 8 from me. The movie was very entertaining and some of the acting (McAvoy as Xavier and Fassbender as Magneto) was excellent. Some obvious weakness in plot and logic here and there, but overall pretty decent for a movie aimed at the masses and teenagers. This is not a movie I'd ever buy for my blu-ray collection, but it was a fun 2 hours, nonetheless. Oh yeah, all the actresses inA solid 8 from me. The movie was very entertaining and some of the acting (McAvoy as Xavier and Fassbender as Magneto) was excellent. Some obvious weakness in plot and logic here and there, but overall pretty decent for a movie aimed at the masses and teenagers. This is not a movie I'd ever buy for my blu-ray collection, but it was a fun 2 hours, nonetheless. Oh yeah, all the actresses in the movie were f'n hot. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    A great comic book adaptation , a really great way to revive the franchise.
    Masterpiece. Not to mention the Great acting , the meaning and specially the charisma that the characters had.
    Kevin bacon was great , Michael
    A great comic book adaptation , a really great way to revive the franchise.
    Masterpiece. Not to mention the Great acting , the meaning and specially the charisma that the characters had.
    Kevin bacon was great , Michael Fassbender was even better , a great cast choice!
    Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2011
    5
    X-Men First Class isn't nearly as good as people have been making it out to be, but it's nowhere near awful.

    What's strange though is that it's almost 50/50. As if two decks of cards have been shuffled together, the movie gives equal parts competent acting (mostly from McAvoy and Fassbender, who quite honestly MAKE the movie), decent stories and character development / cheesy dialogue ,
    X-Men First Class isn't nearly as good as people have been making it out to be, but it's nowhere near awful.

    What's strange though is that it's almost 50/50. As if two decks of cards have been shuffled together, the movie gives equal parts competent acting (mostly from McAvoy and Fassbender, who quite honestly MAKE the movie), decent stories and character development / cheesy dialogue , nonsensical logic, and bad super hero movie cliches.

    The movie is almost certainly better than X-Men 3 and the Wolverine movie, and so any fan of the first two X-Men should give it a shot. Just don't expect TOO much. The movie just doesn't know how to be consistent.
    Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Best X-men movie. Great writing and dialogue. Amazing special effects and action.There's plenty of drama as well. Go see it! This is really the best x-men movie.
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Awesome acting and engaging story. Best of the franchise, and one of the best super hero movies ever. Seriously don't understand the negative reviews on here.
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    With a strong script, stylish direction, and powerful performances from its well-rounded cast, X-Men: First Class is a welcome return to form for the franchise.
  7. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    This is by far the best X-Men movie. The acting was good and so was the effects. The story had some slow points and didn't make sense at some points, but all in all it was an enjoyable movie for the most part. My favorite thing about the movie was the soundtrack.
  8. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    A delicious fantasy romp with emotional poignancy. McAvoy and Fassbender both do a wonderful job, and have loads of chemistry together, and the supporting cast ain't bad either. The special effects fit in pretty seamlessly, and there are several prequel in-jokes that will keep fans of the series chuckling. The Cuban Missile Crisis bit doesn't totally work, but it's sort of incidentalA delicious fantasy romp with emotional poignancy. McAvoy and Fassbender both do a wonderful job, and have loads of chemistry together, and the supporting cast ain't bad either. The special effects fit in pretty seamlessly, and there are several prequel in-jokes that will keep fans of the series chuckling. The Cuban Missile Crisis bit doesn't totally work, but it's sort of incidental anyway. The plot is mostly about the emergence of the X Men, their discovery of each other, the government's discovery of them, and the dangerous things that happen next. And I the parallels between Erik Lehnsherr's experiences with the Nazis and his fears about the present work very well. Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    A definite step in the right direction for this franchise. The X-Men trilogy had a good run and gave us a really interesting look at the X-Men world. Now, this new start to the franchise, is fresh and well written. With great characters and a promising future for the next few films.
  10. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    I really wasn't expecting much from this film at all. I enjoyed the first 3 xmen movies despite them either seeming to make the xmen look very weak, or messing with the comics universe so much that they killed main characters. Then of course along came the abortion that was the Wolverine movie.

    So when I saw this I was very pleasantly surprised. A tight story, some excellent writing,
    I really wasn't expecting much from this film at all. I enjoyed the first 3 xmen movies despite them either seeming to make the xmen look very weak, or messing with the comics universe so much that they killed main characters. Then of course along came the abortion that was the Wolverine movie.

    So when I saw this I was very pleasantly surprised. A tight story, some excellent writing, very fine acting, and apart from a very irritating and oddly out of place teenage xman character ( Banshee) this film truly rocked my world. A story about Erik and Xaviers friendship. And it doesn't end well.

    Terrific film, ignore those that slate it, they just seem to hate it for hates sake. When I read some of the negative reviews, they seem founded in bad mood or temper, straying from fact for the pursuit of an undeserved low score.

    This film was as impressive as Thor, maybe more so. As such, and so surprised was I at its excellence, I shall award it a mighty 10/10.
    Expand
  11. Jun 9, 2011
    6
    I think that created the script so you do not have a relationship with the other tapes of x-men, there were unexplained parts, parts of poor quality film, I liked the music, parts of the script out of order .. expected so much more
  12. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    After X-Men 3 and X-Men Origins: Wolverine, X-Men: First Class is a fantastic return to what made the series great. Matthew Vaughn direction is always competent and occasionally brilliant. He handles the many different characters and locations well during the first half, and in the second half he weaves it all together in an amazing action sequence that eclipses anything else found in theAfter X-Men 3 and X-Men Origins: Wolverine, X-Men: First Class is a fantastic return to what made the series great. Matthew Vaughn direction is always competent and occasionally brilliant. He handles the many different characters and locations well during the first half, and in the second half he weaves it all together in an amazing action sequence that eclipses anything else found in the other X-Men movies. The special effects are great for the most part, as is the acting. Of note are the two leads who carry the majority of the pathos of the film with them. The supporting cast is a little uneven which prevents me from giving the film a higher rating. Kevin Bacon though is great as the villain, being memorable but subtle and not overshadowing the X-Men, who should be and are the main focus of the movie. The ending perfectly sets the stage for the sequel, and I can't wait. I highly recommend the movie. Expand
  13. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    This is a must-see. Brilliant introduction to the characters, stellar premise, cgi and acting make it the best X-men of the franchise out. Although the story doesn't fully follow the comics, this is a great, if not better representation of the original story. Marvel is going all out this year - Thor, First Class and next up is Captain America, so far all excellent films.
  14. Jun 9, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OK, while this movie stays true to pretty much a lot of the comic storyline, it still brings a lot of variety and confusion to the table. The opening scene is almost exactly the same way the first "X-Men" live action movie was shot, showing that this will still be somewhat connected to the movies that had been previously made. A cameo by Hugh Jackman as wolverine also ensured the fact that yes these movies are a precursor to the series previously made. This in turn provided a movie that no matter what already had a plot that it needed to fulfill somewhat. While the ascending of Magneto and Prof X as friends was the main story of this movie, I felt it lacked in showing how mutants began gathering as a whole. Showing Mutants like Banshee and Angel, I felt like it didn't provide much in depth character analysis. While the action scenes and graphics stay true to being a well made super hero movie, it really only provides X-Men fans with the same thing they already knew about the universe, and not really giving us any in depth story to follow. However, this could be what "Batman Begins" was to "The Dark Knight" since it obviously set up the stage and the main characters for what sure would be a bloody battle to come. Opinion**- this movie however in no way beat "The Dark Knight" only because Nolan has so far been the only director to take characters strictly from how they were in the comics, and mold them into live actions movies. Expand
  15. Jun 9, 2011
    8
    I thought this film was great. I had a lot of fun, and the characters of magneto and professor X were entertaining to watch. Sure, fans of X-men may be disappointed about the creative liberties taken, but the result is a pretty solid movie.

    One of the things that didn't appeal to me was Beast. Man, beast just looks so freaking weird...
  16. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    The X-Men franchise should have started with this film and saved themselves the embarrassment of making X-Men Origins: Wolverine. This film had everything from an amazing cast and beautiful set to a rare form of comedy mixed with action that is lacks in more of these films. The film was a little long but still it is the best dose of superhero your going to get this summer!!!
  17. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    First Class, indeed. It might be my favorite X. The performances are wonderful, especially the sexy Michael Fassbender. It moves fast but stays focused, brilliant visuals, and exciting-coherent-action sequences and special effects. Great stuff!
  18. Jun 8, 2011
    7
    Decent, but could have been better. Most of the characters exist either to do something cool in a fight or have something cool done to them, and I was especially disappointed with the shallow characterization of Charles. He was essentially the protagonist but his motivations are murky at best. That said, it was certainly entertaining, and Magneto (as usual) enjoys the best role andDecent, but could have been better. Most of the characters exist either to do something cool in a fight or have something cool done to them, and I was especially disappointed with the shallow characterization of Charles. He was essentially the protagonist but his motivations are murky at best. That said, it was certainly entertaining, and Magneto (as usual) enjoys the best role and performance. In my opinion probably the second best X-Men movie after X-2. Expand
  19. Jun 8, 2011
    8
    The movie was provided in the most interesting way the audience could ask for. Its overall presentation and graphics have scored well. The movie was well represented in a stylish way. Michael Vaughn has performed well and all others have played a very supporting hand in making the movie a great hit.
  20. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    After Thor I wasn't too sure how Marvel could make a come back, but Gosh darn it, they made one hell of a come back! X-Men: First Class is the perfect comic book movie, I loved every frame of this film. Matthew Vaughn has created yet another instant classic for me! I didn't expect to be as blown away by Kevin Bacon's performance as I was and James McAvoy was absolutely amazing as Professor Xavier!
  21. Jun 7, 2011
    7
    Fun movie, good story, and good characters. James MacAvoy establishes himself as a very underrated actor in this film. Shows his versatility and his ability as an actor. Michael Fassbender shows why he's quickly flying through the ranks as one of the better actors in this bussiness. great direction and a good screenplay. One of the flaws of the movie was the special effects. Not that theyFun movie, good story, and good characters. James MacAvoy establishes himself as a very underrated actor in this film. Shows his versatility and his ability as an actor. Michael Fassbender shows why he's quickly flying through the ranks as one of the better actors in this bussiness. great direction and a good screenplay. One of the flaws of the movie was the special effects. Not that they weren't great or anything because they were, but sometimes they were a bit too much in my opinion. However this is a stylish reboot to the series, and just a good summer movie overall. Expand
  22. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Separate from movies cumic Facebook during the past years not very cool out was amazing the story was very impressive, thank you for this film, I was a penalty you will see again in the future from this same director wonderful I hope so
  23. Jun 7, 2011
    6
    This prequel details how the mutant coalition got started. After Professor X and Magneto discover each other, they set about recruiting young people with special powers (some of which are pretty inane). It starts out promisingly with compelling backstory and interesting characters, but soon barrels into predictability and noisy videogame combat. While some of the effects manage to dazzle,This prequel details how the mutant coalition got started. After Professor X and Magneto discover each other, they set about recruiting young people with special powers (some of which are pretty inane). It starts out promisingly with compelling backstory and interesting characters, but soon barrels into predictability and noisy videogame combat. While some of the effects manage to dazzle, others are just dumb. Overall, it's not bad, but not in any way outstanding. Expand
  24. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    This is my favourite of the X-Men movies. There's a story that you can actually get into, and the characters are cast and acted very well. There isn't much action which is the only reason I can't give it a 10. The effects look real and aren't forced, they're only used when the story calls for it. For anyone that enjoys these types of movies but didn't read all the comics this is a mustThis is my favourite of the X-Men movies. There's a story that you can actually get into, and the characters are cast and acted very well. There isn't much action which is the only reason I can't give it a 10. The effects look real and aren't forced, they're only used when the story calls for it. For anyone that enjoys these types of movies but didn't read all the comics this is a must see. The story of how some of the main X-Men characters got to be who they are really drew me in. Expand
  25. Jun 6, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not bad, but a little dissapointing. Overall i enjoyed First Class, but it seemed like they only scratched the surface in terms of potential. I felt they could've done a bit more with it and included more thorough backstory and development for the main characters. Dialogue was also a little weak. Overall a fun movie for X-men fans and solid CGI. SPOILER! The best part of the movie was a short and hilarious cameo by an X-men legend. Everyone in the theatre laughed into the next scene. Loved it. Nice job by McAvoy and Fassbender as well. First Class deserves a rental. Expand
  26. Jun 6, 2011
    0
    This was the worst movie of the series hands down. Can't anyone just read any of the millions of Xmen comics and get their history straight just once?? Instead of adapting the history of the Xmen to fit circumstances in the real world why not just Xmen vs anybody. Its been 4-5 films and we've yet to see the actual Xmen(Beast,cyclops,angel,jean grey, ice man) together!!! As usual theThis was the worst movie of the series hands down. Can't anyone just read any of the millions of Xmen comics and get their history straight just once?? Instead of adapting the history of the Xmen to fit circumstances in the real world why not just Xmen vs anybody. Its been 4-5 films and we've yet to see the actual Xmen(Beast,cyclops,angel,jean grey, ice man) together!!! As usual the directors try to cover 20 issues worth of storyline in two hours. Half of the characters in this 60's movie weren't even introduced to Marvel comics til the 80's, 90's and beyond. Charles Xavier was never just a few years older than the Xmen. The beast did not work for the CIA and create Cerebro and the X Plane. Where are Cyclops, Angel and jean grey? Xavier discovers mystique in his kitchen!!! The movie just got dumber and dumber with reject characters like Banshee, Havok doing the hula, Darwin, and the acid spitting Angel. The final scene was so cheesey that it was embarrassing to watch. Marvel needs to go back to the drawing board and do like DC did with the Dark Knight. Find some of the grittier Xmen stories and make a movie based on them. Expand
  27. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Awesome movie. Near perfect for an X-Men movie. It had a bit of humor, an amazing script, and great characters. I could def watch this again. Amazing. One of the best movies I've seen in a while.
  28. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    It was a lot better than I was expecting. Of course there will be details that are off compared to the other films and by comparison to the Marvel universe, but all in all, this was a pleasant surprise. Acting was solid and the action was good. I felt that the violence was toned down too much tho, probably assuming kids would watch it, but it's pg-13, there's a ratings system for a reasonIt was a lot better than I was expecting. Of course there will be details that are off compared to the other films and by comparison to the Marvel universe, but all in all, this was a pleasant surprise. Acting was solid and the action was good. I felt that the violence was toned down too much tho, probably assuming kids would watch it, but it's pg-13, there's a ratings system for a reason and they should have just went in to get away with as much as they could have. If your a fan of X-Men, definitely see this. (side note: I do not understand why some critics are calling this a rebooting of the franchise, or what have you.. its just another film in the x-men universe to show more of the plot.. that's it) Here's to hoping there's a Wolverine 2 soon. Expand
  29. Jun 6, 2011
    7
    This movie has its flaws, but they are far outweighed by its strengths. Pros: McAvoy and Fassbender rise to the challenge of making characters with unbelievable power both sympathetic and engaging - their relationship is cornerstone the cornerstone of the x-men universe that anything short of perfection would have caused this movie to fall flat. By maintaining and antagonistic andThis movie has its flaws, but they are far outweighed by its strengths. Pros: McAvoy and Fassbender rise to the challenge of making characters with unbelievable power both sympathetic and engaging - their relationship is cornerstone the cornerstone of the x-men universe that anything short of perfection would have caused this movie to fall flat. By maintaining and antagonistic and brotherly bond, they set the stage for multiple showdowns to come and deliver a believable climax that hinges on their differing values.

    Also, while mutant powers are generously on display, they never seem crammed in just for the sake of showing the audience something. Each power is used enough to satisfy our desire for a view something unexpected and outside of our current realm of understanding, while never being over done to the point that we wonder why the hell we're even watching.

    Bacon is terrific as Shaw, and the story-telling jiu-jitsu Vaughn pulls off by setting him up as a villain that could cause two such diametrically opposed characters as Magneto and Xavier (while also setting him up as a precursor to Magneto's role as the Arch-Villian) is amazing.

    Cons: January Jones. Her Emma Frost is one-dimensional, lacking any of the power-hungry priss and feminine power of the comics, she is reduced from a morally ambivalent power player to glittering eye candy. Her line delivery and physical presence are equally flat, and I hope they'll consider either writing her better, providing a little more direction, or just recasting someone who can make her as interesting as she should be.
    Expand
  30. Jun 6, 2011
    7
    For me, it was good but not as good as the first two. Hugh Jackman's sense of humor is missing in this installment. In fact, the 10 second cameo by Hugh Jackman in this film was my favorite part of the entire movie. Mostly drama and good to great special effects. Overall a solid effort, but not particularly memorable.
  31. Jun 6, 2011
    7
    Its slick. Very 1960's James Bond feel to the entire film. Set against the backdrop of the Cuban missile crisis and an escalating Cold War - we see the emergence of a privileged Charles Xavier, contrasted with a Holocaust-surviving Magneto. While the other mutants are recruited and their back-stories and characters are fleshed out - you could really care less. This is really all aboutIts slick. Very 1960's James Bond feel to the entire film. Set against the backdrop of the Cuban missile crisis and an escalating Cold War - we see the emergence of a privileged Charles Xavier, contrasted with a Holocaust-surviving Magneto. While the other mutants are recruited and their back-stories and characters are fleshed out - you could really care less. This is really all about Magneto seeking vengeance and Charles trying to pacify and humanise him. Think Obi-Wan and Darth Vader.
    Kevin Bacon excels in his part as the film's core villain. And there's even a Logan cameo for the fan-boys.
    All in all a 7/10.
    Expand
  32. Jun 5, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm really puzzled by all the high reviews. To me it looks like every new x-men release is worse than the last. They're more cheessy, inacurate and mediocre with each release; and worse of all, they contradict themselves (do they not watch their own pictures to give some coherence to the story for christ sake?). Xavier is shown on his two feet in wolverine origins, but it turns out he got crippled here?; xavier and mystique are like-siblings and they didn't even say hello to each other in the original films?; xavier and magneto are still shown as buddies when they went looking for the young jean grey, and in this film they already parted ways?; beast and mystique are 60+ f****ing years old in the last movies?. X-men selection is also weak, Havoc is only interesting one but handled poorly, beast and mystique are good but only as sidekicks, they're not good enough to support a central role; banshee is bad choice, pixie too (why did they call her "angel" in the movie anyway?), and who the hell is Darwin and why did they sacrificed him like many other african american sidekicks in movies? (that's just weak and stereotyped scripting, i'm sorry). CGI is adequate at best, shaw, magneto, azazel, diamond ema frost are among the best; kitten beast, banshee's scream, and havoc's ula-ula power among the worst. Some actors keep the movie floating, I liked Kevin Bacon, evil yet charming and speaks german well, Fassbender really surprised me, McAvoy is adequate (although he played a rather gay Xavier). Marvel, give the x-men saga a rest, focus on Avengers, and in a couple of years give x-men a reboot; by now I think it's unlikely you'll raise it again Expand
  33. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    finally a good x men movie. this movie was pretty decent. it was okay. it had more drama than acting. the guy who played magneto did a fantastic job. James mcavoy gave a good performance. good action movie. i enjoyed it.
  34. Jun 5, 2011
    3
    Movies like this make me hesitant to ever visit the theatre again. X-Men: First Class offers viewers a medley of poor acting, haphazardly created characters, and a weak plot line. Decent action sequences provide some consolidation for these facts, but the cliché nature of this film simply left a bad taste in my mouth. Only the most die-hard X-Men fans should risk spending anyMovies like this make me hesitant to ever visit the theatre again. X-Men: First Class offers viewers a medley of poor acting, haphazardly created characters, and a weak plot line. Decent action sequences provide some consolidation for these facts, but the cliché nature of this film simply left a bad taste in my mouth. Only the most die-hard X-Men fans should risk spending any money on First Class. Expand
  35. Jun 5, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First, wow! They had legions of females in panties and bras in a non R movie, how did they do that? I guess they know their teenage boy audience pretty well. Writing? What writing? The plot was oddly compressed into short flashes of empty action, often repetitive dialog and outright dull in spots. The movie was uninterested in showing important elements in the character's development, most of the powerful moments in each character's life were hinted at for a moment before the plot rolled on. 4 screen writers in the credits -- it shows. The worst? (spoiler) When the young Magneto is urged then tortured by witnessing his mother's death into releasing his powers. How could he not use them against his mother's killer and eliminate him like he killed the guards? Instead he reluctantly bonds, we assume, since its never shown, with his tormentor, or at least passively goes off with him. Sort of set the mood for the rest of the movie's narrative. Mystique shows up naked and blue (at 11, pushing the exposure boundaries again) expelled from her previous life, which goes unseen and undescribed. Later, when other mutants are recruited then trained hurriedly, it feels forced and unimaginative, like the writers knew they had to include this to make any sense of the later movie but weren't worried about making it either interesting, funny, or believable. The worst tech effects were in the submarine, which seems more like a Hugh Hefner playboy palace underwater where crew members are casually clicking at crew stations, like they're waiting for dinner, not interested in the massive mayhem they intend to unleash. The Atomic power plant was absurd, nuff said. Finally, I have to vote Kevin Bacon the nicest, heartless, cruel bad guy in the movies. He has no electricity as an evil genius and his sudden acquisition of a mutant power feels like they'd shot the first half of the movie, then had a writer's conference and decided he needed one as well. All in all, shoddy work, showing how little respect Hollywood has for its customers and their ability to discern a quick and dirty script from a decent, well thought out one. Who's giving these people all this money? I do however, hope they keep stuffing in more hot ladies in bra and panties in these teen angst/super hero movies -- perhaps teen aged girls soon, sweaty and chattering as they change out of their skimpy cheerleader outfits -- a trend I feel most puberty wracked males have hoped for since their voices cracked and the girls around them began scowling at their lame, pimply, smiling attempts to hook up. Expand
  36. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    A must view for fans of the genre. As with all things superhero, fans with even a passing knowledge of the marvel universe will notice certain incongruities with some of the character threads and time-lines.
    This is not the problem as it may first appear, as those who don't have this knowledge will enjoy the movie none the wiser, and those that do will be so used to the multi-verses and
    A must view for fans of the genre. As with all things superhero, fans with even a passing knowledge of the marvel universe will notice certain incongruities with some of the character threads and time-lines.
    This is not the problem as it may first appear, as those who don't have this knowledge will enjoy the movie none the wiser, and those that do will be so used to the multi-verses and parallel time-lines prevalent in so many comic book stories that the adjustment should not be too much to bear.
    Certainly the central premise of the movie - the meeting and friendship of Erik and Xavier - is handled very well. It may get a bit rushed and clunky towards the end, but there are some touching scenes, and laugh out loud moments. As noted in other reviews, the back story of the Cuban missile crisis gave it a real authentic feel.
    My only concern is the less than stellar opening weekend - I hope that as word spreads, people will realise it is a far better film than Wolverine and the hugely disappointing X-MEN 3.
    It not may scale the heights of my favourite super-hero movie so far - X-MEN 2 - but it isn't far away.
    Great cameo moment too!
    Expand
  37. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    I can say this movie left me pleasantly surprised.Lets face it the previous xmen films were not that good and the last stand was barely passable. This is by far the best xmen film to date and breaths life into the movie franchise. The one stand out thing that makes this film work is it is a much much more darker film than the previous films and gone to a great degree is the comic bookI can say this movie left me pleasantly surprised.Lets face it the previous xmen films were not that good and the last stand was barely passable. This is by far the best xmen film to date and breaths life into the movie franchise. The one stand out thing that makes this film work is it is a much much more darker film than the previous films and gone to a great degree is the comic book geekness and the clearly defined good vs evil that permeates all superhero movies. You leave the cinema with an understanding and symapathy for the the three protagonists of the film which are Professor X, Magneto and the humans. The actions sequences are good not outstanding but good, the story is a good one for a superhero film and a superhero movie with decent acting well i can honestly say this is the one. My only fear is people will be put off watching this movie due to previous movies and the superhero overload which is presently hitting the cinemas . I rated this a 9 for the genre which it is in and i hope with the same cast and direction a sequel will soon be forthcoming. Now pass me the popcorn because i got to think which one of the three sides i will be rooting for in the sequel. Expand
  38. Jun 5, 2011
    5
    Fassbender and McAvoy are good, Bacon and January Jones are not. The rest are just mediocre, probably due to the generally bad dialogue. Some of the action/cgi is good (Magneto, Azazel, Havoc, Shaw's absorption of energy), other is not (Cartoonish Beast, fake Emma Frost). The score is occasionally good (mostly during action sequences) but mostly intrusive, sentimental and manipulative.Fassbender and McAvoy are good, Bacon and January Jones are not. The rest are just mediocre, probably due to the generally bad dialogue. Some of the action/cgi is good (Magneto, Azazel, Havoc, Shaw's absorption of energy), other is not (Cartoonish Beast, fake Emma Frost). The score is occasionally good (mostly during action sequences) but mostly intrusive, sentimental and manipulative. The interesting moral/ethical/social questions -- which IMO are the most compelling part of the X-Men franchise -- are handled with unfortunate shallowness.


    Overall, while I am a fan of origin stories in general and this one in particular, the entire movie was so cheesy and superficial that it left me sort of annoyed. Itâ
    Expand
  39. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    I'm still unsure whether I like this or not, I was really hyped for it and it didn't meet my expectations. It was very hit and miss - some scenes were brilliant, yet some were rushed and clumsy.
  40. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    I had my doubts but it was the best movie of the franchise. To be honest, I never really found Prof X and Magneto to be interesting in the previous movies, But Matt Vaughn managed to make them very interesting and intriguing characters. The emotional core of First Class is surprisingly deep for an action flick, the friendships, the insecurities of being different and wanting to be acceptedI had my doubts but it was the best movie of the franchise. To be honest, I never really found Prof X and Magneto to be interesting in the previous movies, But Matt Vaughn managed to make them very interesting and intriguing characters. The emotional core of First Class is surprisingly deep for an action flick, the friendships, the insecurities of being different and wanting to be accepted into society is really a solid backbone of the movie. I just wished that more of the running time of the movie would be devoted to the friendship between Xavier and Eric, I wanted it to develop and be explored more than what was given to us. The stand-out performance is by Michael Fassbender, he made Eric into such a likable person that we root for and sympathize with. He's just so good, ever since Inglorious Basterds. I hope the rumors are true and that when Daniel Craig steps down, this is the man who's going to be the next James Bond. But take nothing away from James McAvoy, he was perfect for the role of the smooth-talking highly charismatic Xavier. These two guys really made the movie what it is and it's all credit to Matt Vaughn for perfect casting. Favorite scene: surprise cameo by a mutant who shall not be named with the funniest line in the movie. Expand
  41. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    My new favorite superhero movie, my previous favorite being a tie between Spider-man 2 and the first Iron Man. So much to love with this movie. And props to Kevin Bacon for playing an amazing villian. And the climax, or should I say climaxes, were astounding. So much action, so smart, and the emotional layers of it all. I'm shocked a screenplay that had so many writers turned out thisMy new favorite superhero movie, my previous favorite being a tie between Spider-man 2 and the first Iron Man. So much to love with this movie. And props to Kevin Bacon for playing an amazing villian. And the climax, or should I say climaxes, were astounding. So much action, so smart, and the emotional layers of it all. I'm shocked a screenplay that had so many writers turned out this good, but hats off to all involved. To the people who made Thor, take note. This is how you do a superhero movie. Expand
  42. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    A perfect summer action flick. The acting was great, the characters were fresh, young, interesting and had wonderful chemistry with each other, the action sequences were extremely well done, and on top of that we get a hilarious cameo from Hugh Jackman. A breath of fresh air for the X-Men franchise.
  43. Jun 4, 2011
    5
    Disappointing. The movie's main flaw is the lack of real action scenes. Of course you have plenty of scenes with mutants showing off their super powers, but there isn't ANY combat scenes! All you have are great special effects with powerful mutant powers but that's it. On the other hand, what kind of interesting confrontation can you develop with these abilities? Nothing seems to be theDisappointing. The movie's main flaw is the lack of real action scenes. Of course you have plenty of scenes with mutants showing off their super powers, but there isn't ANY combat scenes! All you have are great special effects with powerful mutant powers but that's it. On the other hand, what kind of interesting confrontation can you develop with these abilities? Nothing seems to be the answer. The other X-Men had a lot more punch, simply because mutants like Wolverine are more charismatic and can actually get into combat! (His appearance was nice by the way, though short). The rest of the movie was okay, but the story sometimes seemed to get lost. All in all, X-Men: First Class is not a bad movie, but isn't great either. I think it could have been much better, like its trailer was. Expand
  44. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    It is the best superhero movie in a long time. Some scenes were a little over the top cheesy, but it is still a must see of the summer. And even though it doesn't compare to the Dark Knight, It is the best X-men flick so far.
  45. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    What's not to love. Plenty of action, good acting, and lots of special effects. Very nice job for a reboot of the series. Plus, I just love origin stories, and this one does a very good of that, especially as I do not follow the comics. All in all, a heck of a flick.
  46. Jun 4, 2011
    7
    There are moments of brilliance in X-Men: First Class, it has to be said. The re-creation of the first film's opening is a strong, and unexpected start. The scenes where the mutant team is being formed, and trained, are also extremely fun. Nicholas Hoult, playing a young beast, and Jennifer Lawrence, playing a young Mystique are surprising highlights, both bringing real emotion and empathyThere are moments of brilliance in X-Men: First Class, it has to be said. The re-creation of the first film's opening is a strong, and unexpected start. The scenes where the mutant team is being formed, and trained, are also extremely fun. Nicholas Hoult, playing a young beast, and Jennifer Lawrence, playing a young Mystique are surprising highlights, both bringing real emotion and empathy to their respective blue characters. Kevin Bacon has fun as the movie's main villain and James McAvoy is a convincing, and slightly more mischievous younger Professor X. Michael Fassbender also delivers a spellbinding performance, and really manages to get across why Magneto becomes the man he does - it's just such a shame that he occasionally slips back into his natural Irish dialect in several of the more dramatic moments. The characters are all likable, the story well-enough told. It's only a few clunkily delivered lines, and a quite frankly ridiculous finale (even by comic book standards) that verges on spoiling the movie. There is, however, enough to entertain, and more than enough fan-boy references to make First-Class a worthwhile watch, and in the closing minutes Vaughn undoubtedly sets up a promising sequel... Expand
  47. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    I was very dubious of the hype surrounding this movie after being so disappointed by Wolverine. But I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised. The movie takes some real liberties with comic canon, but once you get past that, it turns out this is a great summer movie. There's definitely a tongue-in-cheek Lovecraftian feel about the film, complete with full on retro styling, but it reallyI was very dubious of the hype surrounding this movie after being so disappointed by Wolverine. But I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised. The movie takes some real liberties with comic canon, but once you get past that, it turns out this is a great summer movie. There's definitely a tongue-in-cheek Lovecraftian feel about the film, complete with full on retro styling, but it really works, and you get the impression that Vaughn and Singer had as much fun with the spy era details as the audience did. Despite some odd choices for the new "student" team, the characters are fun and fleshed out, and Charles' and Erik's relationship is developed and handled carefully and really well. There's a few downright comedic moments, some hilarious cameos, and a really strong script. So once you get past the idea of Kevin Bacon as a Nazi scientist (I think that was the only unintentionally comedic moment in our theater) it's really a great bang for your buck summer movie. Expand
  48. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This is probably the *best* of the X-Men movies. It has the best story line and more drama - you are not (just) watching for effects as characters show and use their mutant powers. Aside from learning about the origins of the characters, you'll have a better understanding of the relationship and differences between Prof X and Magneto - superbly acted by McAvoy and Fassbender. OverallThis is probably the *best* of the X-Men movies. It has the best story line and more drama - you are not (just) watching for effects as characters show and use their mutant powers. Aside from learning about the origins of the characters, you'll have a better understanding of the relationship and differences between Prof X and Magneto - superbly acted by McAvoy and Fassbender. Overall excellent film - drama, action, effects, acting - can't really ask for more. Expand
  49. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    First Class restores the X-Men film franchise to the lofty heights of the first two films in the series and actually succeeds in surpassing its' predecessors in terms of sophistication.

    Of particular note is Fassbender's brilliant turn as a young Magneto. Tortured, angry and very complex... this is the Magneto which has captivated comic readers for decades. Do not miss this movie. Great stuff.
  50. Jun 4, 2011
    4
    Really disappointed. Not b/c it was that bad, but b/c it had so much hype... "the next dark knight".... this was on par w/ the last x men wolverine origins film. There are a handful of sick scenes, but overall was kind of lame. Enjoyed Thor much more.
  51. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    The number one thing I liked about this movie was how it showed the character's origins, which is good for people who are not familiar with the comics (they are a little different from the comics, however). The special effects looked believable. I also loved how the current events of the time were tied in with the story. James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, and Kevin Bacon were brilliant, asThe number one thing I liked about this movie was how it showed the character's origins, which is good for people who are not familiar with the comics (they are a little different from the comics, however). The special effects looked believable. I also loved how the current events of the time were tied in with the story. James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, and Kevin Bacon were brilliant, as well as the rest of the cast. This movie was definitely worth my time and has earned a place on my shelf for when it comes out on DVD. Expand
  52. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    A combination of the Chris Claremont/John Byrne years, Children of the Atom and the Christopher Yost years of New X-Men, X-Men: First Class brings back Bryan Singer, this time as writer and producer, leaving the director work to "Kick-Ass" director, Matthew Vaughan. Combined with a perfect casting Magneto, Professor X, Mystique, Sebastian Shaw and a surprisingly good Emma Frost, this isA combination of the Chris Claremont/John Byrne years, Children of the Atom and the Christopher Yost years of New X-Men, X-Men: First Class brings back Bryan Singer, this time as writer and producer, leaving the director work to "Kick-Ass" director, Matthew Vaughan. Combined with a perfect casting Magneto, Professor X, Mystique, Sebastian Shaw and a surprisingly good Emma Frost, this is the best ensemble and story in the franchise so far. Even better than X2, which I never thought could be topped, especially after the franchise-ruining Brett Ratner debacle. Hardcore fans will love every minute. Expand
  53. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    The thing with this movie that sets is apart from the other X-Men movies is the fact that they tell the audience who and how each person become who they would eventually turn out to become. This is great for people who do not know comic books, because it allows the audience to see who a character from beginning to end. Batman Begins did this for the Batman franchise and it worked great forThe thing with this movie that sets is apart from the other X-Men movies is the fact that they tell the audience who and how each person become who they would eventually turn out to become. This is great for people who do not know comic books, because it allows the audience to see who a character from beginning to end. Batman Begins did this for the Batman franchise and it worked great for Nolan just like it worked great for Vaughn here. I just hope for the series, they keep the director with that same attitude and this may go down as the GREATEST COMIC BOOK franchise in movie history. 10 out of 10! Expand
  54. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Now this is what I'm talking about the best X-Men film ever! X-Men: First Class was amazing and one of the best superhero films on my top. This is where X-Men Origins: Wolverine shouldn't been and it's more better than the original trilogy, but I like X-Men Trilogy instead that stupid Wolverine prequel. The scenes were pretty amazing, the cast have better acting, the special effects looksNow this is what I'm talking about the best X-Men film ever! X-Men: First Class was amazing and one of the best superhero films on my top. This is where X-Men Origins: Wolverine shouldn't been and it's more better than the original trilogy, but I like X-Men Trilogy instead that stupid Wolverine prequel. The scenes were pretty amazing, the cast have better acting, the special effects looks neat (sometimes it wouldn't bring the older effects just like the original trilogy), the action is so cool and pretty awesome, and the story was very good where they explain that the X-Men started from. This is my best summer flick that I would watch this movie over again and I hope that this film is better than the rest that coming out is that not much to see like Thor or Captain America., but it's awesome! Expand
  55. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    Insanely entertaining, largely due to the chemistry and charisma of Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy. The story is fun, energetic and fast-paced. The 60s setting is a welcome change of pace for the superhero genre, and I won't be surprised if its costumes and art direction receive Oscar attention. It certainly would help to be familiar with the X-Men universe to fully appreciateInsanely entertaining, largely due to the chemistry and charisma of Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy. The story is fun, energetic and fast-paced. The 60s setting is a welcome change of pace for the superhero genre, and I won't be surprised if its costumes and art direction receive Oscar attention. It certainly would help to be familiar with the X-Men universe to fully appreciate everything, but this is pure summer fun. Expand
  56. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    After a series of disappointments from the last few attempts to move media from comic to film, I have lowered my expectations from Marvel movies. Maybe for that reason, First Class blew me away. The storyline correlates with the comics well enough to satisfy those of us familiar with the stories of our favorite childhood X-Men. The action was inventive and employed creative camera anglesAfter a series of disappointments from the last few attempts to move media from comic to film, I have lowered my expectations from Marvel movies. Maybe for that reason, First Class blew me away. The storyline correlates with the comics well enough to satisfy those of us familiar with the stories of our favorite childhood X-Men. The action was inventive and employed creative camera angles and innovative CGI. I particularly liked the subtle and completely obvious connections to the other movies. McAvoy and Fassbender set a new standard for how Prof. X and Magneto are to be portrayed. They humanized them in a way that their predecessors failed. I loved the cast, even Kevin Bacon. There is still room for improvement, but First Class is a refreshing step in the right direction. Expand
  57. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Did it deliver exactly what audiences have been wanting? I believe so. There will always be the naysayers who will pick apart movies. You can pick apart just about anything created by another human being. With that being said, this movie takes itself very seriously and gives the superhero spin a much needed edge by breathing realism into the lives of fictional characters in a fictionalDid it deliver exactly what audiences have been wanting? I believe so. There will always be the naysayers who will pick apart movies. You can pick apart just about anything created by another human being. With that being said, this movie takes itself very seriously and gives the superhero spin a much needed edge by breathing realism into the lives of fictional characters in a fictional story. There are no superhero's or super-villains in this story, just hero's and villains with exceptional powers. The script was well-done, at times the pacing dragged a tad, and there were a few discontinuity errors, but none of that should detract or disrupt the overall, overwhelming enjoyment one should take from this movie if that was what was wanted. If someone wants to hate this movie, it will be done. Just look at Karina Longworth's review, LOL. Expand
  58. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    It was very inconsistent for me, there were times during the movie where i felt like it was what I wanted it to be, but there were times where it dragged on a bit. I did notice that with the special effects, sometimes they were brilliant and other times they were very pedestrian. I will say that it's probably the best x-men flick yet.
  59. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    Searching for a movie to see this weekend - then 'X' marks the spot because the recently lumbering X-MEN franchise finally moves again with speed and grace. It'll bob, jab and, ultimately, knock you out with its intelligent and witty writing, its engagingly compelling characters and its toned-down, destructive big budget action. It doesn't rely on spectacle - it's mainly aboutSearching for a movie to see this weekend - then 'X' marks the spot because the recently lumbering X-MEN franchise finally moves again with speed and grace. It'll bob, jab and, ultimately, knock you out with its intelligent and witty writing, its engagingly compelling characters and its toned-down, destructive big budget action. It doesn't rely on spectacle - it's mainly about characters, relationships and story - and that's what truly makes this early James Bondian-like, retro prequel a FIRST CLASS fifth installment. Expand
  60. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    The best X-men film so far. It's much more "comic book" than Singer's and the last couple. Besides January Jones, everybody else played their roles nicely. The stand out's obviously being James Mcavoy and Michael Fassbender. Jennifer Lawrence is delightful and Kevin Bacon is Kevin Bacon.
    The story flows well and the 2+hrs fly by, leaving you wanting more. I haven't given it a full 10
    The best X-men film so far. It's much more "comic book" than Singer's and the last couple. Besides January Jones, everybody else played their roles nicely. The stand out's obviously being James Mcavoy and Michael Fassbender. Jennifer Lawrence is delightful and Kevin Bacon is Kevin Bacon.
    The story flows well and the 2+hrs fly by, leaving you wanting more. I haven't given it a full 10 because though it is a very good film, I must point out the Matthew Vaughn-ness has been toned down.
    Expand
  61. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    If like me you know your Xmen then you should like this movie. They may have changed certain things, but I like the new direction and the Cold-war timeline of this interpretation. The things which stand out for me and what has always stood out in Xmen history is the universal themes which everybody can connect with. The acting is great and McAvoy and Fassbender are standouts. Great actionIf like me you know your Xmen then you should like this movie. They may have changed certain things, but I like the new direction and the Cold-war timeline of this interpretation. The things which stand out for me and what has always stood out in Xmen history is the universal themes which everybody can connect with. The acting is great and McAvoy and Fassbender are standouts. Great action scenes and a good story so for fans (treated to some great cameos) or casual movie goer this is worth a watch. Expand
  62. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    Much of the movie is fun, exciting, and dramatic (the first half), but the second half just becomes- to borrow the word used by a couple pro critics - tedious. January Jones and Kevin Bacon actually bring a lot to the table, which was completely unexpected. (If only some idiot didn't shout "Kevin Bacon!" every time he opened a scene at my midnight show - followed by giggles). And JamesMuch of the movie is fun, exciting, and dramatic (the first half), but the second half just becomes- to borrow the word used by a couple pro critics - tedious. January Jones and Kevin Bacon actually bring a lot to the table, which was completely unexpected. (If only some idiot didn't shout "Kevin Bacon!" every time he opened a scene at my midnight show - followed by giggles). And James McAvoy is terrific. Based on his prior performances, I expected more from Michael Fassbender, though. He was so good in FishTank and Inglourious Basterds, but he feels a little wasted here. Setting it in the 60's is effective, but The Watchmen (another "period piece") just felt SO much more authentic and engaging to me - the story had more focus. The X-Men: FC story is just a little too scattered and untethered. There are some fun cameos, incidentally. And do not bother to sit through the end credits - there's nothing there. Bummer. Expand
  63. Jun 3, 2011
    7
    While it's story may be told ham-handedly, the characters are fun, the action is thrilling, and it's much better than the last two movies. I have gripes, but I'll get to them later. Saw it at midnight, so I'll finish this up tomorrow.
  64. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    It was pretty brilliant. Personally, performances are sublime but I'm a little disappointed with January Jones' take on Emma Frost. The climax got me on the edge of the seat though.
  65. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I saw this on the day of its release because personally, I have loved the x-men films so far. Yes Origins made me cry a little inside and the fact they had done nothing about the huge sequel tease at the end of Last Stand annoyed me to no end, but I was fully willing to give another chance to x-men. Simply put, i love this movie, for many different reasons. Firstly, even though it was theI saw this on the day of its release because personally, I have loved the x-men films so far. Yes Origins made me cry a little inside and the fact they had done nothing about the huge sequel tease at the end of Last Stand annoyed me to no end, but I was fully willing to give another chance to x-men. Simply put, i love this movie, for many different reasons. Firstly, even though it was the first of the trilogy and characters were being introduced, they managed to make enough action and even comedy to keep you along for the ride. Secondly, James McAvoy plays a perfect Xavier and Micheal Fassbender plays an even more perfect Magneto. You got some other amazing actors like Kevin Bacon too, who you just love to hate. Thirdly, the effects were brilliant, particularly (in my opinion) Riptide's tornadoes and Mystique's transformations looking better than ever expected in this movie. Lastly, The relationship between Xavier and Magneto is so fantastically done with every line in this movie, not a single one feels wasted. From the time their recruiting mutants to their chess match before the big day you feel an amazing connection between the two of them, and the dramatic irony that you know they're enemies pained me through the entire movie. Now, I am not arguing that this movie is perfect in any way, they're are a few flaws that could be addressed by the next movie in this series that i hope will. Such as Banshee *shivers*, not to say the actor wasn't fine outside of action sequences, but within them he just seemed to fall flat and make me laugh at his faces more then take his plight seriously. There is also the fact that they're are many cheesy lines throughout the movie that feel out of sync with the maturity of the other parts (although this could be attributed to the fact that most of the characters are young adults/teenagers, who are naturally cheesy). Overall there are other good and bad things about this movie, but they would all ruin the viewing experience that i hope you will greatly enjoy as much as I did when you see this movie. So promise yourself this is your last review you'll read and go and watch it as soon as possible, old x-men fan or not. Expand
  66. Jun 3, 2011
    0
    Some scenes seem to be missing here obviously. How can a movie have so much mention of Cuba and no Cuban characters. Were they afraid of the politics or what? The training scenes were way too long. Something else must have been left out for much other drawn out scenes. Just not credible. Don't even bother to see the movie, save your money, it's not worth it, nothing like the otherSome scenes seem to be missing here obviously. How can a movie have so much mention of Cuba and no Cuban characters. Were they afraid of the politics or what? The training scenes were way too long. Something else must have been left out for much other drawn out scenes. Just not credible. Don't even bother to see the movie, save your money, it's not worth it, nothing like the other X-Men movies, terrible editing job anyway. This movie is going nowhere. The bad PR will surely go viral from day one. Expand
  67. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    Saw it at the midnight premiere and was wholly excited for matthew vaughn's triumphant comeback to the series the once held the highest rank among superhero movies. And you know what? I was right to be excited because this film delivers on almost everything a fan could ask for.

    But before the good is the bad: if you are a fan of the comics and know the canon inside and out, (like I do)
    Saw it at the midnight premiere and was wholly excited for matthew vaughn's triumphant comeback to the series the once held the highest rank among superhero movies. And you know what? I was right to be excited because this film delivers on almost everything a fan could ask for.

    But before the good is the bad: if you are a fan of the comics and know the canon inside and out, (like I do) prepare to suspend your disbelief as the film takes the established origins and throws them out the window. Yes Xavier and Erik are the same but the hellfire club is altered quite a bit, there is a new first class and Moira McTaggert has changed quite a bit. These are just major things, but alot else has been altered to fit the film. This was the sole negative mark for me, and it wont be for many who see the film.

    On to the good, the acting is fantastic, the scenes are huge to the point of ridiculous, the action is plentiful and the theme is as strong as it was in X2. Of course James Mcavoy and Michael Fassbender play the leads and are outstanding at that, playing the comrades-turned-rivals Xavier and Magneto. Their relationship drives the film and is played out spectacularly on screen. We see the emergence of their friendship and the ideological differences that drive them apart. But the supporting cast are just as fantastic, Kevin Bacon plays a menacing Sebastian Shaw, January Jones is a frost queen as Emma Frost and Jennifer Lawrence as the moral centerpiece Mystique.

    The setting, 60's cold war drama lends well to the action at hand, people with superpowers beating the stuffing out of humans and one another. We are shown JFK speeches and Buicks the size of ships driving everywhere. The Cuban Missile crisis becomes the pivotal climax of the film as mutants battle it out while the US and USSR are preparing to the same on a larger scale. The final scene on Cuba is tremendous jumping off point for a continuation for this timeline. But the best scene to me (as a comic fan) was a 10 second scene in the second arc of the film involving Magneto, Xavier and one Wolverine that is total fan service and had me laughing harder than any joke to be found in the Hangover II. This is why I trust Marvel with their franchises, small shout-outs to fans of the series in several of their films.

    To sum it up, this is a movie well worth the time of anyone this blockbuster season, from the teenager looking for a superhero film, to the fan who was going to see it regardless and even to the average movie-goer who simply enjoys a good film. I whole-heartedly recommend it.
    Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jun 9, 2011
    67
    It's all vastly superior to Brett Ratner's scorched-earth "X-Men: The Last Stand," of course.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jun 3, 2011
    80
    It's not the artistry of X-Men: First Class that's particularly striking; though it's finely crafted, the film feels less the product of a visionary director than of the Marvel movies machine working at maximum efficiency.
  3. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Jun 3, 2011
    30
    A cameo from an old-school X-Man only serves to remind how stylish and witty the first installment was a decade ago. Lacking a single memorable joke or striking image, First Class is as perfunctory and passionless as would-be franchise resurrections get.