Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 3, 2011
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1142 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
963
Mixed:
138
Negative:
41
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DarkCriticJun 3, 2011
Now this is what I'm talking about the best X-Men film ever! X-Men: First Class was amazing and one of the best superhero films on my top. This is where X-Men Origins: Wolverine shouldn't been and it's more better than the original trilogy,Now this is what I'm talking about the best X-Men film ever! X-Men: First Class was amazing and one of the best superhero films on my top. This is where X-Men Origins: Wolverine shouldn't been and it's more better than the original trilogy, but I like X-Men Trilogy instead that stupid Wolverine prequel. The scenes were pretty amazing, the cast have better acting, the special effects looks neat (sometimes it wouldn't bring the older effects just like the original trilogy), the action is so cool and pretty awesome, and the story was very good where they explain that the X-Men started from. This is my best summer flick that I would watch this movie over again and I hope that this film is better than the rest that coming out is that not much to see like Thor or Captain America., but it's awesome! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
lifeJun 10, 2011
Best X-men movie. Great writing and dialogue. Amazing special effects and action.There's plenty of drama as well. Go see it! This is really the best x-men movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
movielover64Jun 4, 2011
What's not to love. Plenty of action, good acting, and lots of special effects. Very nice job for a reboot of the series. Plus, I just love origin stories, and this one does a very good of that, especially as I do not follow the comics.What's not to love. Plenty of action, good acting, and lots of special effects. Very nice job for a reboot of the series. Plus, I just love origin stories, and this one does a very good of that, especially as I do not follow the comics. All in all, a heck of a flick. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jjnoahjamesJun 6, 2011
Awesome movie. Near perfect for an X-Men movie. It had a bit of humor, an amazing script, and great characters. I could def watch this again. Amazing. One of the best movies I've seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
txrangersfan72Jun 3, 2011
A combination of the Chris Claremont/John Byrne years, Children of the Atom and the Christopher Yost years of New X-Men, X-Men: First Class brings back Bryan Singer, this time as writer and producer, leaving the director work to "Kick-Ass"A combination of the Chris Claremont/John Byrne years, Children of the Atom and the Christopher Yost years of New X-Men, X-Men: First Class brings back Bryan Singer, this time as writer and producer, leaving the director work to "Kick-Ass" director, Matthew Vaughan. Combined with a perfect casting Magneto, Professor X, Mystique, Sebastian Shaw and a surprisingly good Emma Frost, this is the best ensemble and story in the franchise so far. Even better than X2, which I never thought could be topped, especially after the franchise-ruining Brett Ratner debacle. Hardcore fans will love every minute. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
woodjjJun 3, 2011
Did it deliver exactly what audiences have been wanting? I believe so. There will always be the naysayers who will pick apart movies. You can pick apart just about anything created by another human being. With that being said, this movieDid it deliver exactly what audiences have been wanting? I believe so. There will always be the naysayers who will pick apart movies. You can pick apart just about anything created by another human being. With that being said, this movie takes itself very seriously and gives the superhero spin a much needed edge by breathing realism into the lives of fictional characters in a fictional story. There are no superhero's or super-villains in this story, just hero's and villains with exceptional powers. The script was well-done, at times the pacing dragged a tad, and there were a few discontinuity errors, but none of that should detract or disrupt the overall, overwhelming enjoyment one should take from this movie if that was what was wanted. If someone wants to hate this movie, it will be done. Just look at Karina Longworth's review, LOL. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Justinavery7074Oct 7, 2011
The characters are where the actual strong suit is, no pun intended. Without any intrigue or care for the characters, it becomes something along the lines of X-Men: The Last Stand or X-Men Origins: Wolverine. The acting is phenomenal; IThe characters are where the actual strong suit is, no pun intended. Without any intrigue or care for the characters, it becomes something along the lines of X-Men: The Last Stand or X-Men Origins: Wolverine. The acting is phenomenal; I have't seen a more realistic and awesome Magneto anywhere else. The scipt unfolds majestically and the acting is again, fanastic. And when it's wrapped with Matthew Vaughan's superb, is not brash sense of directing, it's damn near perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
directguyJun 4, 2011
My new favorite superhero movie, my previous favorite being a tie between Spider-man 2 and the first Iron Man. So much to love with this movie. And props to Kevin Bacon for playing an amazing villian. And the climax, or should I sayMy new favorite superhero movie, my previous favorite being a tie between Spider-man 2 and the first Iron Man. So much to love with this movie. And props to Kevin Bacon for playing an amazing villian. And the climax, or should I say climaxes, were astounding. So much action, so smart, and the emotional layers of it all. I'm shocked a screenplay that had so many writers turned out this good, but hats off to all involved. To the people who made Thor, take note. This is how you do a superhero movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RongxinJun 3, 2011
It was pretty brilliant. Personally, performances are sublime but I'm a little disappointed with January Jones' take on Emma Frost. The climax got me on the edge of the seat though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Libra85Jun 29, 2011
The X-Men franchise is not my favorite. The first movie was really boring but the second was much better. X3 was when i felt they got it right. Origins reminded me of the boredem from the first movie so I had a lot of skeptisism going to seeThe X-Men franchise is not my favorite. The first movie was really boring but the second was much better. X3 was when i felt they got it right. Origins reminded me of the boredem from the first movie so I had a lot of skeptisism going to see this one. After leaving the theatre, I was in awe. This is the best movie I have ever seen. That is saying a lot but this movie is perfect in every way. The story makes sense and simple enough to follow without dumbing it down. There are two things to focus on. One is the state of military tensions between the U.S and Russia. The other is the mutents appearing in a time where people had no idea of their exsistence. These two points are presented with the right balance so that one thing doesn't shadow the other. Of course the main characters here are the mutents and each one of them has a reason and need to be there. It's great to see the young mutents evolve and learn how to control thier gifts also learning more about themselves in the process. Then last is our two greats, Charles and Erik. These two were more than amazing and to see how these two went from strangers to friends then to enemies was just perfect strory telling. I don't know everything about the comics but what was presented to me, was phenomenal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShaneGreyFoxJul 25, 2011
This was by far my favorite xmen film and I have seen all of them. What I liked the most was the balance between the action and the focus on the lead characters. I never felt that the action was being overdone and that the characters weren'tThis was by far my favorite xmen film and I have seen all of them. What I liked the most was the balance between the action and the focus on the lead characters. I never felt that the action was being overdone and that the characters weren't being developed enough (which is what plagued the third film, the worst in my opinion). The film was fun to watch, it had some funny scenes and some great action sequences and I felt myself actually caring for the characters. This is a most welcomed reboot to the xmen series. SS 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
papajon555Aug 12, 2011
I honestly went to this movie just because its a Marvel film.But this movie was outstanding!!!The characters,story and everything else is just top-notch!Magneto and Professor X steal the show...they play there characters so well! If i had toI honestly went to this movie just because its a Marvel film.But this movie was outstanding!!!The characters,story and everything else is just top-notch!Magneto and Professor X steal the show...they play there characters so well! If i had to rate this movie on a Top 10 2011 Movie list,it would be at least top 3.Maybe even number 1! Overall this movie is a must see! I have only heard 1 other movie that might be as good or better then this movie,and that is Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZacharyMatsonJun 8, 2011
After Thor I wasn't too sure how Marvel could make a come back, but Gosh darn it, they made one hell of a come back! X-Men: First Class is the perfect comic book movie, I loved every frame of this film. Matthew Vaughn has created yet anotherAfter Thor I wasn't too sure how Marvel could make a come back, but Gosh darn it, they made one hell of a come back! X-Men: First Class is the perfect comic book movie, I loved every frame of this film. Matthew Vaughn has created yet another instant classic for me! I didn't expect to be as blown away by Kevin Bacon's performance as I was and James McAvoy was absolutely amazing as Professor Xavier! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pauloJun 16, 2011
This film is a masterpiece. Every scene is engaging, exciting . The film flows harmonically and the development of the characters is very consistent, keeping you focused in their problems, happiness and conflicts. The action scenes areThis film is a masterpiece. Every scene is engaging, exciting . The film flows harmonically and the development of the characters is very consistent, keeping you focused in their problems, happiness and conflicts. The action scenes are mind-blowing and the "Cold War Atmosphere" is perfectly revived. X-Men First Class deserves with no doubts an Oscar indication, we have a strong contender here. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kawaii-spideyJun 16, 2011
X-men - a unique franchise, and the fifth film series that further confirmation. Usually, the movie series before the age of the elderly, steaming, hits the samopovtory or creators are fundamentally changing the concept of the franchise.X-men - a unique franchise, and the fifth film series that further confirmation. Usually, the movie series before the age of the elderly, steaming, hits the samopovtory or creators are fundamentally changing the concept of the franchise. Tired out at the end of the third part of Mutants in a deadlock, the creators of making the only right decision - a spin-Offa. Prehistory of the most charismatic and memorable characters trilogy. And if you need to move past the history of Wolverine looks doubtful (in the original trilogy rather detailed account of the formation of Logan and in isolation from the team, he has become less interesting character), the reasons for the confrontation of Professor Xavier and Magneto in the "first class" at least raises curiosity . In addition, a cursory glance at the synopsis of the paintings fueled interest in the movie, judge for yourself: 1. The choice of producers as a director Matthew Vaughn, at the time refused to take "final battle" because of uncertainty in the forces, newly appointed to the shooting new film in the series. And the reason is "Kick-Ass," with its innovative approach to superheroes and all komiksnoy topic. And here it is felt with a vengeance. Not a single superfluous scene, no unnecessary characters, action shot, so that the screen does not come off, even conversational scenes are kept in suspense, for that blockbuster with 160 million budget no mean achievement. 2. Jane Goldman script, Ashley Miller, Zack Stents ... plot and the characters nor the means do not go in contradiction with the previous series, and images created by the actors in previous films. The plot about finding Eric Lensherrom Nazi war criminals is beyond praise - in the scenes where Magneto faces the demons of the past concentration camp, with the hero fist shrink from the tension. The history of confrontation between society and the community of mutants who are torn between the Beast and Mystique revealed far more interesting than the third series of the franchise. 3. Cuban Missile Crisis era. The very idea of â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BaguySep 7, 2011
Great movie! The story was simple, amost "ready", but they made good use of it, very good timing on the scenes, nothing is boring or out of place. The casting was brilliant, the characters were very charismatic and interesting; James McAvoyGreat movie! The story was simple, amost "ready", but they made good use of it, very good timing on the scenes, nothing is boring or out of place. The casting was brilliant, the characters were very charismatic and interesting; James McAvoy completely surprised me, he was a very funny but still serious Professor X. Magneto was just awesome, it's hard to hate him at the end of the movie. The attention to details just made it all worth it for the fans, I hope to see a sequel soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeinoJul 30, 2011
best x xmen movie ever. must watch. this is the real origin of x men saga i guess. Competently executed yet utterly forgettable, X-Men: First Class benefits from an outstanding performance from Michael Fassbender. Thank God he was in the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Just_A_GuyJun 4, 2011
This is probably the *best* of the X-Men movies. It has the best story line and more drama - you are not (just) watching for effects as characters show and use their mutant powers. Aside from learning about the origins of the characters,This is probably the *best* of the X-Men movies. It has the best story line and more drama - you are not (just) watching for effects as characters show and use their mutant powers. Aside from learning about the origins of the characters, you'll have a better understanding of the relationship and differences between Prof X and Magneto - superbly acted by McAvoy and Fassbender. Overall excellent film - drama, action, effects, acting - can't really ask for more. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
gimmedatsammichJun 4, 2011
A perfect summer action flick. The acting was great, the characters were fresh, young, interesting and had wonderful chemistry with each other, the action sequences were extremely well done, and on top of that we get a hilarious cameo fromA perfect summer action flick. The acting was great, the characters were fresh, young, interesting and had wonderful chemistry with each other, the action sequences were extremely well done, and on top of that we get a hilarious cameo from Hugh Jackman. A breath of fresh air for the X-Men franchise. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PapaLargeJun 5, 2011
I can say this movie left me pleasantly surprised.Lets face it the previous xmen films were not that good and the last stand was barely passable. This is by far the best xmen film to date and breaths life into the movie franchise. The oneI can say this movie left me pleasantly surprised.Lets face it the previous xmen films were not that good and the last stand was barely passable. This is by far the best xmen film to date and breaths life into the movie franchise. The one stand out thing that makes this film work is it is a much much more darker film than the previous films and gone to a great degree is the comic book geekness and the clearly defined good vs evil that permeates all superhero movies. You leave the cinema with an understanding and symapathy for the the three protagonists of the film which are Professor X, Magneto and the humans. The actions sequences are good not outstanding but good, the story is a good one for a superhero film and a superhero movie with decent acting well i can honestly say this is the one. My only fear is people will be put off watching this movie due to previous movies and the superhero overload which is presently hitting the cinemas . I rated this a 9 for the genre which it is in and i hope with the same cast and direction a sequel will soon be forthcoming. Now pass me the popcorn because i got to think which one of the three sides i will be rooting for in the sequel. Collapse
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
Fortysixter_UKJun 10, 2011
I really wasn't expecting much from this film at all. I enjoyed the first 3 xmen movies despite them either seeming to make the xmen look very weak, or messing with the comics universe so much that they killed main characters. Then of courseI really wasn't expecting much from this film at all. I enjoyed the first 3 xmen movies despite them either seeming to make the xmen look very weak, or messing with the comics universe so much that they killed main characters. Then of course along came the abortion that was the Wolverine movie.

So when I saw this I was very pleasantly surprised. A tight story, some excellent writing, very fine acting, and apart from a very irritating and oddly out of place teenage xman character ( Banshee) this film truly rocked my world. A story about Erik and Xaviers friendship. And it doesn't end well.

Terrific film, ignore those that slate it, they just seem to hate it for hates sake. When I read some of the negative reviews, they seem founded in bad mood or temper, straying from fact for the pursuit of an undeserved low score.

This film was as impressive as Thor, maybe more so. As such, and so surprised was I at its excellence, I shall award it a mighty 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Knicksfan7Jun 12, 2011
Best X-Men film released to date. This movie was great. The acting was excellent. James McAvoy was a perfect Professor X with his witty humor and high intelligence and Michael Fassbender played Magneto very well with his sinister attitude. IBest X-Men film released to date. This movie was great. The acting was excellent. James McAvoy was a perfect Professor X with his witty humor and high intelligence and Michael Fassbender played Magneto very well with his sinister attitude. I saw nothing negative about this film, it deserves higher than a 65 by critics. I wasn't ever a huge X-Men fan reading the comics or anything but I did enjoy the films very much, besides The Last Stand. This addition to the series is most definitely the best. The acting was good, the action was astonishing, the CGI, and the makeup was great. I loved how they built up the story of our two main mutants, Magneto and Professor X. It worked very well, learning how it all began. I especially loved the bald jokes with Professor X, that was very funny. This movie was more than I expected. It was just a great superhero film but an amazing film period. 10/10 in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Hooky586Jun 3, 2011
The thing with this movie that sets is apart from the other X-Men movies is the fact that they tell the audience who and how each person become who they would eventually turn out to become. This is great for people who do not know comicThe thing with this movie that sets is apart from the other X-Men movies is the fact that they tell the audience who and how each person become who they would eventually turn out to become. This is great for people who do not know comic books, because it allows the audience to see who a character from beginning to end. Batman Begins did this for the Batman franchise and it worked great for Nolan just like it worked great for Vaughn here. I just hope for the series, they keep the director with that same attitude and this may go down as the GREATEST COMIC BOOK franchise in movie history. 10 out of 10! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
rae6dJun 7, 2011
Separate from movies cumic Facebook during the past years not very cool out was amazing the story was very impressive, thank you for this film, I was a penalty you will see again in the future from this same director wonderful I hope so
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DANTEANDCLOUDJun 11, 2011
A great comic book adaptation , a really great way to revive the franchise.
Masterpiece.
A great comic book adaptation , a really great way to revive the franchise.
Masterpiece. Not to mention the Great acting , the meaning and specially the charisma that the characters had.
Kevin bacon was great , Michael Fassbender was even better , a great cast choice!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JimNukemJun 15, 2011
Set a new standard of comic book movies to aspire too. I never ounce fell asleep during this movie. The plot and characters were superb. The action was solid as well as the acting. X-Men has come back! The music was epic as well. PERFECT!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dogtenJun 15, 2011
This was a very decent back story in the CoD Black Ops time frame. It puts a very interesting spin on the whole Bay of Pigs story and gives interesting insight into the origins of the X-Men and how the whole human vs. mutant war started. WellThis was a very decent back story in the CoD Black Ops time frame. It puts a very interesting spin on the whole Bay of Pigs story and gives interesting insight into the origins of the X-Men and how the whole human vs. mutant war started. Well worth seeing on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 16, 2011
A fantastic return to greatness for this franchise that I thought dead. With strong performances from the entire cast, fantastic special effects, and a great plot, First Class is by far the best X-Men film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BlazingFire55Jun 17, 2011
This Is A Great Movie I Have Ever Seen But One Thing I Miss The Most is Wolverine But The Movie Kind Of Seems To Have Less Fighting Scenes
But Its A Great Movie I Like It............................
This Is A Great Movie I Have Ever Seen But One Thing I Miss The Most is Wolverine But The Movie Kind Of Seems To Have Less Fighting Scenes
But Its A Great Movie I Like It............................
..................................................................................................................................
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
seasmithJun 17, 2011
Absolutely fantastic. The chemistry between the characters was so believable. Erik and Charles' relationship was done perfectly. I couldn't be more pleased.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
batlantern_87Jun 19, 2011
FINALLY!!!! A summer movie that isn't a piece of trash! This is the first movie this year that lives up to its huge budget and hype. Its fantastic! Main reason being is Michael Fassbender as Magneto, his performance is explosive! Every sceneFINALLY!!!! A summer movie that isn't a piece of trash! This is the first movie this year that lives up to its huge budget and hype. Its fantastic! Main reason being is Michael Fassbender as Magneto, his performance is explosive! Every scene he's in is a show stopper, add Macavoy as Xavier and you have some great actors playing some great characters in a great movie. The movie starts out at and exciting pace and just gets faster and more fun from there. Its better then good it's extraordinary! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
itbcn8Jun 20, 2011
Loved it! The last couple Xmen movies were not very good, but this one redeemed the franchise!! I loved watching the back-history of a lot of my favorite characters!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattERJun 26, 2011
Amazing Movie. Probably one of the best (If not the best) superhero movie of all time. The pros are the storyline, characters involved, except for the fake Emma Frost character, the plot using the Cold War, and the costumes. The cgi could ofAmazing Movie. Probably one of the best (If not the best) superhero movie of all time. The pros are the storyline, characters involved, except for the fake Emma Frost character, the plot using the Cold War, and the costumes. The cgi could of bee better though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
X-Men: First Class is a brilliant film. The Film Kept Me Interested In Learning More And More Of How Professor X And Magneto Were Friends Before Enemies. Had A Good Plot To The Story And The Actors Did An Excellent Performance For TheirX-Men: First Class is a brilliant film. The Film Kept Me Interested In Learning More And More Of How Professor X And Magneto Were Friends Before Enemies. Had A Good Plot To The Story And The Actors Did An Excellent Performance For Their Characters. I would give this film a full price. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
thekylekurtzJun 29, 2011
One of the best superhero movies I've ever seen. The performances of the lead 2 especially shines, bright enough to keep you from noticing its flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Skyler2234Jul 1, 2011
Another great and anticipating X-Men film! James and Michael did very well in the show. I loved the show very much and I also hope that I can watch the film again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PrvshJul 2, 2011
Finally !!! a prequel that does not suck ! ... The movie gave a kickass depiction of the beginnings of the X men franchise . Kevin Bacon gave a sytlistic depiction of Sebastian Shaw . Jennifer Lawrence was able to portray our favourite blueFinally !!! a prequel that does not suck ! ... The movie gave a kickass depiction of the beginnings of the X men franchise . Kevin Bacon gave a sytlistic depiction of Sebastian Shaw . Jennifer Lawrence was able to portray our favourite blue shape-shifter in a new light and gave a emotional touch to the character compared to the earlier depictions . Anyone who has seen the Submarine lift scene would agree with me in saying that the graphics was exceptionally kickass . But the reason why i believe this movie rocked was because of McAvoy's and Fassbender's portrayal as close friends and the eventual breakdown into arch rivals. Director Matthew Vaughn has captured the true crux of the comic and was able to successfully paint it on screen. for this reason the movie deserves a full 10/10 .... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviejunkie123Jul 17, 2011
One of the best movies this year !!!- Thats for sure!
Amazing leading performance! terrific script which makes perfect sense! great chemistry among the charactors! Its just so much better than i expected. ususally the trailers give movies
One of the best movies this year !!!- Thats for sure!
Amazing leading performance! terrific script which makes perfect sense! great chemistry among the charactors! Its just so much better than i expected. ususally the trailers give movies most of the credits, but for xmen-first class, i really reckon it is movie itself gives the most of the credits to us. definitely go and watch it! you wont regret it!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
infinitiAug 3, 2011
I have been a fan of X-Men for many many years since I grew up with it! I'd most likely love this movie even if it wasn't good! But it is good! It's amazing!!! Great story, great cast, great effects! The story develops in a way that keeps yuI have been a fan of X-Men for many many years since I grew up with it! I'd most likely love this movie even if it wasn't good! But it is good! It's amazing!!! Great story, great cast, great effects! The story develops in a way that keeps yu interested and the characters are easy to connect with. Xavier and Magneto's relationship is played out brilliantly and really makes yu feel for them when they eventually part ways... Watch this movie if yu haven't already coz its just GREAT! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
psbrown1989Sep 29, 2011
really the best X-men movie to date and I'm glad that the franchise will keep rolling. Micheal Fassbender does an incredible job playing Magneto, to bad he will never have to glory of being Magneto and Gandalf lol. the rest of the cast isreally the best X-men movie to date and I'm glad that the franchise will keep rolling. Micheal Fassbender does an incredible job playing Magneto, to bad he will never have to glory of being Magneto and Gandalf lol. the rest of the cast is great as well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
quickpicksAug 28, 2011
This movie was one of the best movies of the year! From Acting, to script, to action to intrigue this movie had it all. It was a complete prequel and reboot at the same time, but did not detract form the x-men stories in the comics. GreatThis movie was one of the best movies of the year! From Acting, to script, to action to intrigue this movie had it all. It was a complete prequel and reboot at the same time, but did not detract form the x-men stories in the comics. Great directing, great casting, great cinematography...wow it surpassed my expectations unlike some other first avenger nonsense. X-men first class is exactly that, first class! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Geoffory2Mar 25, 2012
Michael fassbender is awesome enough said
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Nikos52Sep 16, 2011
Excellent, both as an x-men adaptation and film. The tone is very similar to the comics, the plot is never boring not drugging. McAvoy and Fassbender take your breath away, wonderful choices.
It's a fun film, very balanced action, interesting
Excellent, both as an x-men adaptation and film. The tone is very similar to the comics, the plot is never boring not drugging. McAvoy and Fassbender take your breath away, wonderful choices.
It's a fun film, very balanced action, interesting plot (not anything groundbreaking) and there are some messages that should be heard.
I suggest this movie to both comic book funs and random movie-goers...i don't think either will be disappointed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RyanPrattSep 12, 2011
Buy-it - The epic beginning of the mutant saga is just as diverse, stylish and powerful as the "superheroes" it's about. You'll leave wishing the Cold War had never ended. But it's the perfect summer blockbuster that will obviously have aBuy-it - The epic beginning of the mutant saga is just as diverse, stylish and powerful as the "superheroes" it's about. You'll leave wishing the Cold War had never ended. But it's the perfect summer blockbuster that will obviously have a sequel and will certainly make a handful of somewhat recognizable faces into Hollywood stars. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Raphael2Sep 15, 2011
by far the best in the series, and the best comic book movie since The Dark Knight, McAvoy and Fassbender provides depp and charisma to his caracther. and the director Matthew Vaugh brigh suck style and emotion to the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeastinvaderOct 7, 2011
Jaw.. droppingly... amazing. The action in this movie will keep you hooked, I remember wanting to make food but couldn't because of how fast the story plays out (which is a good thing). The history of most of the x-men characters are alsoJaw.. droppingly... amazing. The action in this movie will keep you hooked, I remember wanting to make food but couldn't because of how fast the story plays out (which is a good thing). The history of most of the x-men characters are also beautifully portrayed and the CGI effects amazing. The acting is also fresh and never seems scripted and the story is well presented during the Cold War which features Americas struggle with the U.S.S.R.
This is as close to a great Marvel movie you'll come.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
I never read a comic book and when I saw the first X-Men film, I was intrigued, but confused. Throughout the trilogy, I always thought I was missing a lot of the story and this is it. First Class is the missing link that will answer questionsI never read a comic book and when I saw the first X-Men film, I was intrigued, but confused. Throughout the trilogy, I always thought I was missing a lot of the story and this is it. First Class is the missing link that will answer questions for the fans of the movie, who don't follow the comics, and it is one blockbuster film that more than lives up to its hype. From the special effects to the make-up and finally to the actors this film is amazing. Movies like this never win awards, but you will be hard pressed to find better performances than those of James McAvoy, Kevin Bacon, Michael Fassbender. The whole cast was terrific, the story was fantastic, and the special effects were truly out of this world. This is a great film and I'm craving more. I can't wait to see what connections the next forty years bring between first class and the trilogy. When it's all said and done, I hope I can watch all these films and truly understand the whole story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wildermovreviewJan 28, 2012
I am a huge fan of action and comic book movies. The first X-Men films were great, I even liked the third one. I had very high expectations for this one. Fortunately I wasnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyFeb 25, 2012
I Love this reboot of X-Men, because have much incredible elements, for example, the characters have a great story, the effects wow, are awesome, the direction is incredible. Really First Class is amazing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 29, 2012
A better plot and more entertaining than the Wolverine origins movie, thankfully way better than the piece of crap movie called X3. Finally, one of similar quality to X-Men: Origins and X2. It was interesting to see the origins of Xavier andA better plot and more entertaining than the Wolverine origins movie, thankfully way better than the piece of crap movie called X3. Finally, one of similar quality to X-Men: Origins and X2. It was interesting to see the origins of Xavier and Magneto (I've never read the comics personally so the story was new to me). It had action, great special effects, great character, decent acting and a decent plot, everything I expect from a superhero movie. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tomtom4468Feb 6, 2013
Finally, an X-Men movie that is as good, if not better than, the first two. An amazing success after those other two pieces of crap of which I dare not speak their names! Overall, AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ascoltami86May 27, 2013
I don't like almost all X-men movies. I don't like Wolverine, Victor Creed, Wade Wilson, their weapons, horrible.
I don't like big muscle characters like Hugh Jackman, Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson.
But X-men, 2000 was not bad. X-Men: First
I don't like almost all X-men movies. I don't like Wolverine, Victor Creed, Wade Wilson, their weapons, horrible.
I don't like big muscle characters like Hugh Jackman, Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson.
But X-men, 2000 was not bad.
X-Men: First Class is great. I love the character Erik Lehnsherr.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersDec 12, 2016
"X-Men: First Class" had one job: all it had to do was bring the "X-Men" franchise back on its feet after the underwhelming reception to "X-Men: The Last Stand" and "X-Men Origins: Wolverine." Even with "Kick Ass" director Matthew Vaughn at"X-Men: First Class" had one job: all it had to do was bring the "X-Men" franchise back on its feet after the underwhelming reception to "X-Men: The Last Stand" and "X-Men Origins: Wolverine." Even with "Kick Ass" director Matthew Vaughn at the helm, reviving the franchise was certainly a massive undertaking, but luckily, "First Class" proves that the franchise is back. It's exciting, action-packed, pretty charming, pretty funny, well-written and very well-acted. "X-Men: First Class" has it all, and even if you aren't a gigantic fan of the "X-Men," this film is definitely worth watching, and if you haven't seen it yet, do yourself a favor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AssassinationNov 11, 2013
Classic & Dramatic Entertainer Will Always Lead To The Ranks Of First Class !!
**X-Men First Class**
* This movie is by far a Classic entertainer with Dramatic screenplay and visuals which dazzles you in excitement Brilliant Screen Play
Classic & Dramatic Entertainer Will Always Lead To The Ranks Of First Class !!
**X-Men First Class**

* This movie is by far a Classic entertainer with Dramatic screenplay and visuals which dazzles you in excitement Brilliant Screen Play & Characters performance are the most charming features. This movie stands for the name itself First Class This movie had a positive features in which the characters were well developed and their interaction during the screen play was excellent the director needs to get credit for this brilliant performance in both direction and screenplay This movie got some of the most talented actors and their performance was fantastic as they were very much suited for there roles in this film .The interaction between these actors are the most charming features to this film Forgot to mention about another positive thing in this film that is Music!the soundtracks and the back ground effects were fantastic it shines as one of the most brilliant features in this film The action sequence and visual effects are beautiful you cannot see any errors since its done perfectly Overall this movie is fantastic and worth your time its certainly not dull or boring its Exciting as well as Charming or you can simply say its a First Class
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChikatiloZJan 22, 2016
Best X-men movie to date for me, Michael Fassbender is an amazing actor doing an amazing job at being Erik Lensherr/magneto, I was laughing so hard during his revenge trip in Argentina.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Nov 19, 2015
A great fresh new start on the X-men franchise! This movie got fans excited for the X-men again and made them almost forget about the mess from X-men 3 and X-men Origins: The Wolverine. A great new and lovable cast of young actors andA great fresh new start on the X-men franchise! This movie got fans excited for the X-men again and made them almost forget about the mess from X-men 3 and X-men Origins: The Wolverine. A great new and lovable cast of young actors and actresses bring the X-men to life in a fun new re-imagining. The action is awesome, the comedy is good, the CGI and special effects are amazing, and X-men is back from the dumps! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIApr 4, 2016
...........................................................................................................................A Masterpiece............................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sicranoApr 8, 2016
............................................................................................................................................2 NEGATIVE CRITICS for RETARDED CRITICS
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZinnyDonovanApr 2, 2016
A tonne of fun with emotional moments too. My favourite x-men movie to date. I found the philosophies about acceptance and identity incredibly interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZaynhewsonjavadApr 2, 2016
A Masterpiece.......................................................................

An X-Men Refresh of Franchise, Matthew Vaughn is a genius.................,,
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thomas94Apr 30, 2016
One of my favorite X-Men together with DOFP and X2. The performances are very good and the chemistry especially from the trio James McAvoy, Jennifer Lawrence and Michael Fassbender is excellent. Matthew Vaughn knocks it out of the park.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WinstonoboogieJun 29, 2011
When was the last time that the fifth film in ANY series was, far and away, the best of the lot? And not only that, but a prequel? And not only that, but the SECOND prequel, the first one having been a major disappointment? Can you sayWhen was the last time that the fifth film in ANY series was, far and away, the best of the lot? And not only that, but a prequel? And not only that, but the SECOND prequel, the first one having been a major disappointment? Can you say never? James McAvoy is a fine Professor Xavier and Kevin Bacon a memorable villain, but what makes this one of the best superhero movies of all time is the riveting performance of Michael Fassbender (Inglorious Basterds, Jane Eyre) as Erik Lehnsherr, aka the young villain-to-be Magneto. Fassbender is so commanding and convincing that by the end of the movie you may well be wishing to join him and his fellow mutants in their quest to crush humanity. The special effects are inpressive, the action swift and exciting, the script surprisingly intelligent - but it's Fassbender that will linger in the memory and leave you dying for the next installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
canadianrugbyJun 6, 2011
This is my favourite of the X-Men movies. There's a story that you can actually get into, and the characters are cast and acted very well. There isn't much action which is the only reason I can't give it a 10. The effects look real andThis is my favourite of the X-Men movies. There's a story that you can actually get into, and the characters are cast and acted very well. There isn't much action which is the only reason I can't give it a 10. The effects look real and aren't forced, they're only used when the story calls for it. For anyone that enjoys these types of movies but didn't read all the comics this is a must see. The story of how some of the main X-Men characters got to be who they are really drew me in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TonyJun 3, 2011
Insanely entertaining, largely due to the chemistry and charisma of Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy. The story is fun, energetic and fast-paced. The 60s setting is a welcome change of pace for the superhero genre, and I won't be surprisedInsanely entertaining, largely due to the chemistry and charisma of Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy. The story is fun, energetic and fast-paced. The 60s setting is a welcome change of pace for the superhero genre, and I won't be surprised if its costumes and art direction receive Oscar attention. It certainly would help to be familiar with the X-Men universe to fully appreciate everything, but this is pure summer fun. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
This film was easily tied for the best Xmen film. First Class is a great prequel with a great cast, The acting is wonderful. The entire film is interesting from start to finish as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LesleyJFJun 10, 2011
A delicious fantasy romp with emotional poignancy. McAvoy and Fassbender both do a wonderful job, and have loads of chemistry together, and the supporting cast ain't bad either. The special effects fit in pretty seamlessly, and there areA delicious fantasy romp with emotional poignancy. McAvoy and Fassbender both do a wonderful job, and have loads of chemistry together, and the supporting cast ain't bad either. The special effects fit in pretty seamlessly, and there are several prequel in-jokes that will keep fans of the series chuckling. The Cuban Missile Crisis bit doesn't totally work, but it's sort of incidental anyway. The plot is mostly about the emergence of the X Men, their discovery of each other, the government's discovery of them, and the dangerous things that happen next. And I the parallels between Erik Lehnsherr's experiences with the Nazis and his fears about the present work very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
scrieciuJun 14, 2011
The epicness of this superhero movie is just to..... epic. Good acting, good script, good action, it's everything you want in a summer movie, and one of the best in 2011 so far. Also, there was this one scene with Wolverine that was prettyThe epicness of this superhero movie is just to..... epic. Good acting, good script, good action, it's everything you want in a summer movie, and one of the best in 2011 so far. Also, there was this one scene with Wolverine that was pretty hilarious. It was fun to watch the young Charles Xavier having a good time and cruising girls. The story was very intriguing and kept me entertained until the very end. I wasn't really sure what to expect from '' X-Men : First Class ''. It didn't disappointed me. The only thing that bothered me is the way Professor Xavier got paralyse. Other than that, it's a must see ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JoradJun 12, 2011
I think that this film succeeded in a number of areas. The story was engaging and well thought out. This had to be the only X-Men film where I really felt absorbed and immersed with the story. The great pacing throughout the majority ofI think that this film succeeded in a number of areas. The story was engaging and well thought out. This had to be the only X-Men film where I really felt absorbed and immersed with the story. The great pacing throughout the majority of the movie really helped as well. The characters felt fleshed out and particularly the friendship built between Charles and Erik was an engaging one. There was a good amount of action too, but not too much that it deteriorates aspects of the story. I think they really nailed the balance. Another thing that I thought was very well done was the acting itself. All of them were convincing, but I felt that James McAvoy (who played Xavier) stole the show for me. My only problem with the film is that they could've fleshed out the ending a bit more, considering how many pivotal moments it contained. But in the grand scale of things, this complaint is a small one and I would definitely recommend seeing this great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BubblegumImpJun 4, 2011
First Class restores the X-Men film franchise to the lofty heights of the first two films in the series and actually succeeds in surpassing its' predecessors in terms of sophistication.

Of particular note is Fassbender's brilliant turn as a
First Class restores the X-Men film franchise to the lofty heights of the first two films in the series and actually succeeds in surpassing its' predecessors in terms of sophistication.

Of particular note is Fassbender's brilliant turn as a young Magneto. Tortured, angry and very complex... this is the Magneto which has captivated comic readers for decades. Do not miss this movie. Great stuff.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
panoramastitchaJul 6, 2011
A very good entry in the X-Men film-universe! Most characters (especially the main ones, of course) were very well portrayed, great acting throughout. The only complaints I have were a few special effects that looked a bit cheap and very fewA very good entry in the X-Men film-universe! Most characters (especially the main ones, of course) were very well portrayed, great acting throughout. The only complaints I have were a few special effects that looked a bit cheap and very few places where it felt like some scenes were dropped to shorten the film. I really hope that this crew gets the chance to make another film with the same actors etc.!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
beardybuckJun 5, 2011
A must view for fans of the genre. As with all things superhero, fans with even a passing knowledge of the marvel universe will notice certain incongruities with some of the character threads and time-lines.
This is not the problem as it may
A must view for fans of the genre. As with all things superhero, fans with even a passing knowledge of the marvel universe will notice certain incongruities with some of the character threads and time-lines.
This is not the problem as it may first appear, as those who don't have this knowledge will enjoy the movie none the wiser, and those that do will be so used to the multi-verses and parallel time-lines prevalent in so many comic book stories that the adjustment should not be too much to bear.
Certainly the central premise of the movie - the meeting and friendship of Erik and Xavier - is handled very well. It may get a bit rushed and clunky towards the end, but there are some touching scenes, and laugh out loud moments. As noted in other reviews, the back story of the Cuban missile crisis gave it a real authentic feel.
My only concern is the less than stellar opening weekend - I hope that as word spreads, people will realise it is a far better film than Wolverine and the hugely disappointing X-MEN 3.
It not may scale the heights of my favourite super-hero movie so far - X-MEN 2 - but it isn't far away.
Great cameo moment too!
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
xanderveeJun 3, 2011
The number one thing I liked about this movie was how it showed the character's origins, which is good for people who are not familiar with the comics (they are a little different from the comics, however). The special effects lookedThe number one thing I liked about this movie was how it showed the character's origins, which is good for people who are not familiar with the comics (they are a little different from the comics, however). The special effects looked believable. I also loved how the current events of the time were tied in with the story. James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, and Kevin Bacon were brilliant, as well as the rest of the cast. This movie was definitely worth my time and has earned a place on my shelf for when it comes out on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MoviebuffreviewJun 19, 2011
X-Men First Class's opening is a bit underwhelming and awkwardly paced, but once you get past the first 15 minutes the film is clever, emotionally gripping, visually appealing, and incredibly well acted. The youthful cast sparks new life intoX-Men First Class's opening is a bit underwhelming and awkwardly paced, but once you get past the first 15 minutes the film is clever, emotionally gripping, visually appealing, and incredibly well acted. The youthful cast sparks new life into the franchise and going back to the beginning helps to reboot the franchise, without detaching from the original universe that the other movies took place in. This is a must see of the summer, and the best X-Men of them all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
asthobaskoroJul 26, 2011
Strong script, touching performance, good direction, cool music and intense action. X-Men: First Class is the perfect summer trip and one of great movies this year. Full review: http://bit.ly/qtDmH2
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ATsushiMay 30, 2016
Emotionally strong, great characters embodied in promising new actors and a lot of good action scenes, the X-Men franchise returns reinvigorated for new stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuyBrianJun 3, 2011
Searching for a movie to see this weekend - then 'X' marks the spot because the recently lumbering X-MEN franchise finally moves again with speed and grace. It'll bob, jab and, ultimately, knock you out with its intelligent and wittySearching for a movie to see this weekend - then 'X' marks the spot because the recently lumbering X-MEN franchise finally moves again with speed and grace. It'll bob, jab and, ultimately, knock you out with its intelligent and witty writing, its engagingly compelling characters and its toned-down, destructive big budget action. It doesn't rely on spectacle - it's mainly about characters, relationships and story - and that's what truly makes this early James Bondian-like, retro prequel a FIRST CLASS fifth installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BD4shrtJun 10, 2011
A definite step in the right direction for this franchise. The X-Men trilogy had a good run and gave us a really interesting look at the X-Men world. Now, this new start to the franchise, is fresh and well written. With great characters and aA definite step in the right direction for this franchise. The X-Men trilogy had a good run and gave us a really interesting look at the X-Men world. Now, this new start to the franchise, is fresh and well written. With great characters and a promising future for the next few films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
zembowerboyJun 8, 2011
First Class, indeed. It might be my favorite X. The performances are wonderful, especially the sexy Michael Fassbender. It moves fast but stays focused, brilliant visuals, and exciting-coherent-action sequences and special effects. Great stuff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DrMovieJun 23, 2011
Wow is all I have to say. They have so many x-men movies how can they still make a great movie. From start to finish I on the edge of my seat. They explain and showed so much with in the 2 hours it was almost insane. The writes hit it on theWow is all I have to say. They have so many x-men movies how can they still make a great movie. From start to finish I on the edge of my seat. They explain and showed so much with in the 2 hours it was almost insane. The writes hit it on the head. So much action, funny at points, and also it ties it all together for the x-men fans that just enjoy the movies. Fassbender and McAvoy nailed it. Overall the movie is a must see if you seen the other ones, that is why I gave it a 9, because it would be hard to understand without the knowledge of the other ones. I just hope they keep blowing my mind if they make another one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DudasDrakaanJun 19, 2011
I was expecting a very poor-quality movie when I went to see X-Men: First Class, and I was not only surprised but most impressed with the quality of the storyline, acting, and characterization of this film. Of all three of these things, thisI was expecting a very poor-quality movie when I went to see X-Men: First Class, and I was not only surprised but most impressed with the quality of the storyline, acting, and characterization of this film. Of all three of these things, this film accelerates beyond the other films, especially when it comes to the latter.

Characterization comes off deeper and is probably more realistic than any of the other movies, especially with the character of Magneto (primarily going by his real name, "Eric," in the film), who I believe any audience will find to be a much more sympathetic than the inexplicable hate-filled bad-guy that he is portrayed as in previous films. In short then, I felt that that the characters on screen were actually people and I was actually able to identify with them (or to identify AGAINST them) and so could actually feel an emotional pull as Magneto pulled and ripped things apart with his powers.

As for plot outside of character, you will not see much of a difference from other superhero/ comic book movies. The "X-Men" (which for the purposes of this movie is a liberal use of the term) must go out and save the world from single bad guy with SUPER-super powers and his group of goons with other still-intimidating but not quite so powerful powers. In this, it is not surprising, but rather playing to a stereotype and so could be said to be one of its only drawbacks. However, this drawback is ALMOST alleviated by his excellent historical context in the turbulent 1960s. (Prepare for sexy Russian accents.)

As for the construction of the film, I found most people could not tell the difference between CGI most of the time and real footage (speaking to the talents of the art of this film) and the acting itself is better than could be normally expected from a caste that is generally unknown. As stated before, the actor that plays Magneto - though for the life of me I cannot now remember his name - may actually be a better Magneto than Ian McKellan. No higher honor I think I need to bestow.... Yet you may find the soon-to-be "Professor X" to be a little disappointing. In short, I would describe him as much more of a Frodo and much less of the Gandalf that he needs to be. To not dwell further into it, I would say only that the small parts do there job well and the large parts do not disappoint, but you will probably find yourself wanting more scenes of Magneto's character and less of the atypical "goody-goody-two-shoes."

I give this film a 9, though it might be slightly over that number in my book. Primarily it is the general predictible plot that brings the score down, with a few uncomfortably corny or merely undeservedly sympathetic scenes close to the beginning of the film that seem just a little bit too easy on the "good" guys.

I would therefore recommend you to see it in theatres if you are simply looking for a decent-quality sci-fi film to see. Fans should not be disappointed and newcomers should also not be turned away, but don't expect anything ground breaking going on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MooziikMasterJun 26, 2011
This was a surprisingly great movie filled with action, tragedy, and even a bit of love. As far as superhero movies go, this one was amazing. If you are a person that has seen any of the previous X-Men movies, I strongly encourage you to seeThis was a surprisingly great movie filled with action, tragedy, and even a bit of love. As far as superhero movies go, this one was amazing. If you are a person that has seen any of the previous X-Men movies, I strongly encourage you to see this movie because it answers a lot of questions and plot lines for the first 3 movies. Even though I saw the movie in a small, cold theatre, it was a memorable experience. The acting was astounding and what really surprised me was how much Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy look like Ian McKellan and Patrick Stewart. If you haven't seen this movie or are debating whether you should see it, it is definitely worth it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shadowhawk749Jun 6, 2011
It was a lot better than I was expecting. Of course there will be details that are off compared to the other films and by comparison to the Marvel universe, but all in all, this was a pleasant surprise. Acting was solid and the action wasIt was a lot better than I was expecting. Of course there will be details that are off compared to the other films and by comparison to the Marvel universe, but all in all, this was a pleasant surprise. Acting was solid and the action was good. I felt that the violence was toned down too much tho, probably assuming kids would watch it, but it's pg-13, there's a ratings system for a reason and they should have just went in to get away with as much as they could have. If your a fan of X-Men, definitely see this. (side note: I do not understand why some critics are calling this a rebooting of the franchise, or what have you.. its just another film in the x-men universe to show more of the plot.. that's it) Here's to hoping there's a Wolverine 2 soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
skykappahJun 3, 2011
The best X-men film so far. It's much more "comic book" than Singer's and the last couple. Besides January Jones, everybody else played their roles nicely. The stand out's obviously being James Mcavoy and Michael Fassbender. JenniferThe best X-men film so far. It's much more "comic book" than Singer's and the last couple. Besides January Jones, everybody else played their roles nicely. The stand out's obviously being James Mcavoy and Michael Fassbender. Jennifer Lawrence is delightful and Kevin Bacon is Kevin Bacon.
The story flows well and the 2+hrs fly by, leaving you wanting more. I haven't given it a full 10 because though it is a very good film, I must point out the Matthew Vaughn-ness has been toned down.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Dabronc777Jun 3, 2011
Saw it at the midnight premiere and was wholly excited for matthew vaughn's triumphant comeback to the series the once held the highest rank among superhero movies. And you know what? I was right to be excited because this film delivers onSaw it at the midnight premiere and was wholly excited for matthew vaughn's triumphant comeback to the series the once held the highest rank among superhero movies. And you know what? I was right to be excited because this film delivers on almost everything a fan could ask for.

But before the good is the bad: if you are a fan of the comics and know the canon inside and out, (like I do) prepare to suspend your disbelief as the film takes the established origins and throws them out the window. Yes Xavier and Erik are the same but the hellfire club is altered quite a bit, there is a new first class and Moira McTaggert has changed quite a bit. These are just major things, but alot else has been altered to fit the film. This was the sole negative mark for me, and it wont be for many who see the film.

On to the good, the acting is fantastic, the scenes are huge to the point of ridiculous, the action is plentiful and the theme is as strong as it was in X2. Of course James Mcavoy and Michael Fassbender play the leads and are outstanding at that, playing the comrades-turned-rivals Xavier and Magneto. Their relationship drives the film and is played out spectacularly on screen. We see the emergence of their friendship and the ideological differences that drive them apart. But the supporting cast are just as fantastic, Kevin Bacon plays a menacing Sebastian Shaw, January Jones is a frost queen as Emma Frost and Jennifer Lawrence as the moral centerpiece Mystique.

The setting, 60's cold war drama lends well to the action at hand, people with superpowers beating the stuffing out of humans and one another. We are shown JFK speeches and Buicks the size of ships driving everywhere. The Cuban Missile crisis becomes the pivotal climax of the film as mutants battle it out while the US and USSR are preparing to the same on a larger scale. The final scene on Cuba is tremendous jumping off point for a continuation for this timeline. But the best scene to me (as a comic fan) was a 10 second scene in the second arc of the film involving Magneto, Xavier and one Wolverine that is total fan service and had me laughing harder than any joke to be found in the Hangover II. This is why I trust Marvel with their franchises, small shout-outs to fans of the series in several of their films.

To sum it up, this is a movie well worth the time of anyone this blockbuster season, from the teenager looking for a superhero film, to the fan who was going to see it regardless and even to the average movie-goer who simply enjoys a good film. I whole-heartedly recommend it.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
9
StevoIDHJun 3, 2011
I saw this on the day of its release because personally, I have loved the x-men films so far. Yes Origins made me cry a little inside and the fact they had done nothing about the huge sequel tease at the end of Last Stand annoyed me to noI saw this on the day of its release because personally, I have loved the x-men films so far. Yes Origins made me cry a little inside and the fact they had done nothing about the huge sequel tease at the end of Last Stand annoyed me to no end, but I was fully willing to give another chance to x-men. Simply put, i love this movie, for many different reasons. Firstly, even though it was the first of the trilogy and characters were being introduced, they managed to make enough action and even comedy to keep you along for the ride. Secondly, James McAvoy plays a perfect Xavier and Micheal Fassbender plays an even more perfect Magneto. You got some other amazing actors like Kevin Bacon too, who you just love to hate. Thirdly, the effects were brilliant, particularly (in my opinion) Riptide's tornadoes and Mystique's transformations looking better than ever expected in this movie. Lastly, The relationship between Xavier and Magneto is so fantastically done with every line in this movie, not a single one feels wasted. From the time their recruiting mutants to their chess match before the big day you feel an amazing connection between the two of them, and the dramatic irony that you know they're enemies pained me through the entire movie. Now, I am not arguing that this movie is perfect in any way, they're are a few flaws that could be addressed by the next movie in this series that i hope will. Such as Banshee *shivers*, not to say the actor wasn't fine outside of action sequences, but within them he just seemed to fall flat and make me laugh at his faces more then take his plight seriously. There is also the fact that they're are many cheesy lines throughout the movie that feel out of sync with the maturity of the other parts (although this could be attributed to the fact that most of the characters are young adults/teenagers, who are naturally cheesy). Overall there are other good and bad things about this movie, but they would all ruin the viewing experience that i hope you will greatly enjoy as much as I did when you see this movie. So promise yourself this is your last review you'll read and go and watch it as soon as possible, old x-men fan or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jasonallengossJun 3, 2011
After a series of disappointments from the last few attempts to move media from comic to film, I have lowered my expectations from Marvel movies. Maybe for that reason, First Class blew me away. The storyline correlates with the comics wellAfter a series of disappointments from the last few attempts to move media from comic to film, I have lowered my expectations from Marvel movies. Maybe for that reason, First Class blew me away. The storyline correlates with the comics well enough to satisfy those of us familiar with the stories of our favorite childhood X-Men. The action was inventive and employed creative camera angles and innovative CGI. I particularly liked the subtle and completely obvious connections to the other movies. McAvoy and Fassbender set a new standard for how Prof. X and Magneto are to be portrayed. They humanized them in a way that their predecessors failed. I loved the cast, even Kevin Bacon. There is still room for improvement, but First Class is a refreshing step in the right direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Princess_PeachJun 4, 2011
It is the best superhero movie in a long time. Some scenes were a little over the top cheesy, but it is still a must see of the summer. And even though it doesn't compare to the Dark Knight, It is the best X-men flick so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
filmtrashreviewJun 8, 2011
The X-Men franchise should have started with this film and saved themselves the embarrassment of making X-Men Origins: Wolverine. This film had everything from an amazing cast and beautiful set to a rare form of comedy mixed with action thatThe X-Men franchise should have started with this film and saved themselves the embarrassment of making X-Men Origins: Wolverine. This film had everything from an amazing cast and beautiful set to a rare form of comedy mixed with action that is lacks in more of these films. The film was a little long but still it is the best dose of superhero your going to get this summer!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NickGJun 9, 2011
This is a must-see. Brilliant introduction to the characters, stellar premise, cgi and acting make it the best X-men of the franchise out. Although the story doesn't fully follow the comics, this is a great, if not better representation ofThis is a must-see. Brilliant introduction to the characters, stellar premise, cgi and acting make it the best X-men of the franchise out. Although the story doesn't fully follow the comics, this is a great, if not better representation of the original story. Marvel is going all out this year - Thor, First Class and next up is Captain America, so far all excellent films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MontySaintCroixJun 10, 2011
Awesome acting and engaging story. Best of the franchise, and one of the best super hero movies ever. Seriously don't understand the negative reviews on here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avj37Jul 5, 2011
Last month was Thor and this month is X-Men. Can 2011 be more epic?

X-men: first class is awesome, epic and really well put together. The Character development is awesome, the script is really well thought out, and the delivery of the story
Last month was Thor and this month is X-Men. Can 2011 be more epic?

X-men: first class is awesome, epic and really well put together. The Character development is awesome, the script is really well thought out, and the delivery of the story isn't over whelming to people who are probably new to the series.

Great acting by James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender and Kevin Bacon. I was even shocked when I saw Kevin Bacon here. They all did a great job. You can really feel that they dug in deep when they played the character.

Over-all X-Men is a great movie that MUST be watched by anyone. A great addition to the pile of great Comic book inspired movie. This is definitely in my top 10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
queq1128Jun 19, 2011
Expecting to be disappointed because of recent mediocre comic movies, X-Men: first class was a pleasant surprise. If you don't mind some a little bit of license taken with continuity, I think this is probably the best X-men Movie so far.Expecting to be disappointed because of recent mediocre comic movies, X-Men: first class was a pleasant surprise. If you don't mind some a little bit of license taken with continuity, I think this is probably the best X-men Movie so far. The first one was good for the time, but quickly dated because of the mediocre acting. The second one was a solid movie, but still smelled of a movie property. The third was a turdsandwich. This one is refreshing and has a solid story as well as some good acting (few moments to roll your eyes at). Despite the silly looking movie stills and trailers, this turned out to be a refreshing break from "meh" superhero movies like Iron Man 2, Thor, etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HuntsmanJun 21, 2011
Like many people was hesitant about a new X-Men movie that was part prequel part reboot. I have a fondness toward the first three X-Men movies. And Unlike many people out there I really enjoyed X-MEN 3 and think it is a really underratedLike many people was hesitant about a new X-Men movie that was part prequel part reboot. I have a fondness toward the first three X-Men movies. And Unlike many people out there I really enjoyed X-MEN 3 and think it is a really underrated movie. Sure Brett Ratner's directing wasn't great but the story was good and so was the action. I also love how they weren't afraid to kill off the main characters. My biggest problem with the movie was the over abundance of characters the threw into the movie. I know it sounds like I'm giving a review for X-Men: The Last Stand but I wanted to make it clear I really like the previous films and wasn't sure about a reboot/prequel just like I'm nervous about the new Spiderman movie. Though after seeing this movie I view it more as a prequel.

Now I was wrong X-MEN: First Class is a great movie and will probably be the best comic book movie of the summer. With the already underwhelming THOR. THE GREEN LANTERN which in all honesty doesn't look that good and CAPTAIN America which I really hope is good.

One of the first things I need to talk about is the actors and many people may not recognize or remember. First Kevin Bacon who hasn't been in a lot of movies recently steals the movie as Sebastian Shaw as he brings such live and zeal to the character and I'm disappointed he won't be around for the enviable sequels. Then there's James McAvoy who hasn't done anything recognizable outside of Wanted. He plays Charles Xavior who I will always remember as Patrick Steward. He was the perfect Professor X. Still McAvoy did a good job as a you Xavior. Michael Fassbender as Magneto I had never heard of and again I had a fondness for the excellent actor Ian McKellen. I thought Michael did a excellent job as a young tortured Magneto and he even looks like a young Mckellen. Next I need to give a shout out to the movie great movie SUNSHINE and the actress Rose Byrne(Moira MacTaggert) who has been in many good movies and is a great actress. Then there are two supporting characters who I don't think had any lines but were great. The two are Riptide(Ã
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nyc995Jun 21, 2011
X-Men First Class is the perfect blend of humor, action, and drama that satisfies the need for both a fun summer action flick and a thoughtful general film. Most importantly, it creates likeable but morally abound characters that dare you toX-Men First Class is the perfect blend of humor, action, and drama that satisfies the need for both a fun summer action flick and a thoughtful general film. Most importantly, it creates likeable but morally abound characters that dare you to not be invested in the story. Vaughn has succeeded in making an X-Men film that will rejuvenate interest in the franchise for the upcoming years.

full review at http://cinemafrenzy.wordpress.com/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jakerthetakerJun 22, 2011
This movie is essential for any x-men fan to watch, or even if ur new to it. It will explain so much, and in an awesome and action packed way. The best x-men movie yet
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BeKJul 11, 2011
Before this movie came out, I had very high expectations on how good it will be side by side to how good I wanted it to be. I wasn't disappointed. This movie is very impressive and in my opinion it's by far the best X-men until this day.Before this movie came out, I had very high expectations on how good it will be side by side to how good I wanted it to be. I wasn't disappointed. This movie is very impressive and in my opinion it's by far the best X-men until this day. Special effects were great, some minor movie mistakes, but compensated with great acting especially by James McAvoy, interpreting Charles Xavier, which simply captured the whole idea of what X-men is all about. Scenes coming together to make the viewers understand how their favorite characters began their journey, which is quite a remarkable idea, to begin with. Michael Fassbender is also a suitable Magneto, sort to say, a little stronger than i expected, but the idea is their demolished friendship and the war, on which the former movies are counting on. This is kind of the basic, the ground on which X-men evolves on. In general it's a great film, worth seeing, I would dare to say, even twice. In my opinion it's a solid 9 being a lot more balanced on every aspect, in comparison to the previous X-men movies. Anyway, the fact that some events are clarified really gives that boost to watch this movie more excited, which I consider an important factor in a great movie, especially a follow up. First class, a well chosen name, couldn't have picked it better. So I hope i managed to point out all important aspects. See the movie, love it, buy it, until you find another favorite X-men, in a couple of years. A lot of big movies this summer, but X-men: First Class definitely one of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dbrown1986Jul 27, 2011
In an intense action-packed prequel, it brings to light many questions left unanswered. You'll see how Charles (Prof. X) and Eric (Magneto) became friends and discovered and trained their powers. You'll meet many characters, some new, someIn an intense action-packed prequel, it brings to light many questions left unanswered. You'll see how Charles (Prof. X) and Eric (Magneto) became friends and discovered and trained their powers. You'll meet many characters, some new, some familiar and you will be amazed at how the war between friends came to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I walked out of the theater after seeing this film in a great mood and up until I finally drifted to sleep, I was thinking about this film and how awesome it was. I think the last time I was excited like this after seeing a movie was The Dark Knight. Is it better than that movieâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jos95Oct 28, 2011
This is by far the best film of the series! It's fast, well acted and scripted. Isn't exactly true to the comics but the last two films could be blamed for hurting this one. Now that Wolverine is no longer the center of attention, we get toThis is by far the best film of the series! It's fast, well acted and scripted. Isn't exactly true to the comics but the last two films could be blamed for hurting this one. Now that Wolverine is no longer the center of attention, we get to see more of the rest of the mutants. The story line is very strong and goes back to what made the first two films classics, and what made the last two disasters. The visual effects are jaw-dropping and the cast are astounding, especially Michael Fassbender as Magneto and James McAvoy as Prof. X. Jennifer Lawrence is also very good as Mystique and can't wait to see her as Katniss in The Hunger Games! It did get a bit cliched in spots but it's definitely a return to form for the X-Men films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moviekretikOct 28, 2011
One thing that the avid comic fan must do when approaching this movie, however, is to divorce themselves utterly from almost all established four-color X-Men continuity. Oh, some bears up, but by and large this is a whole new origin story, aOne thing that the avid comic fan must do when approaching this movie, however, is to divorce themselves utterly from almost all established four-color X-Men continuity. Oh, some bears up, but by and large this is a whole new origin story, a reboot of epic proportions, and yet it is a retcon so cleverly done, and one that offers up a such a delicious melange of complex relationships and sensible motivation, that all of the many discrepancies inherent in having Mystique on the side of good or having Moira McTaggert a CIA agent simply do not matter. Superb! Rock-solid script, two amazing lead performances (the film is basically a bromance) This is one of the very rare prequel that doesn't sucks... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews