Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 3, 2011
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1185 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
999
Mixed:
145
Negative:
41
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DarkCriticJun 3, 2011
Now this is what I'm talking about the best X-Men film ever! X-Men: First Class was amazing and one of the best superhero films on my top. This is where X-Men Origins: Wolverine shouldn't been and it's more better than the original trilogy,Now this is what I'm talking about the best X-Men film ever! X-Men: First Class was amazing and one of the best superhero films on my top. This is where X-Men Origins: Wolverine shouldn't been and it's more better than the original trilogy, but I like X-Men Trilogy instead that stupid Wolverine prequel. The scenes were pretty amazing, the cast have better acting, the special effects looks neat (sometimes it wouldn't bring the older effects just like the original trilogy), the action is so cool and pretty awesome, and the story was very good where they explain that the X-Men started from. This is my best summer flick that I would watch this movie over again and I hope that this film is better than the rest that coming out is that not much to see like Thor or Captain America., but it's awesome! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
lifeJun 10, 2011
Best X-men movie. Great writing and dialogue. Amazing special effects and action.There's plenty of drama as well. Go see it! This is really the best x-men movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
movielover64Jun 4, 2011
What's not to love. Plenty of action, good acting, and lots of special effects. Very nice job for a reboot of the series. Plus, I just love origin stories, and this one does a very good of that, especially as I do not follow the comics.What's not to love. Plenty of action, good acting, and lots of special effects. Very nice job for a reboot of the series. Plus, I just love origin stories, and this one does a very good of that, especially as I do not follow the comics. All in all, a heck of a flick. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jjnoahjamesJun 6, 2011
Awesome movie. Near perfect for an X-Men movie. It had a bit of humor, an amazing script, and great characters. I could def watch this again. Amazing. One of the best movies I've seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
txrangersfan72Jun 3, 2011
A combination of the Chris Claremont/John Byrne years, Children of the Atom and the Christopher Yost years of New X-Men, X-Men: First Class brings back Bryan Singer, this time as writer and producer, leaving the director work to "Kick-Ass"A combination of the Chris Claremont/John Byrne years, Children of the Atom and the Christopher Yost years of New X-Men, X-Men: First Class brings back Bryan Singer, this time as writer and producer, leaving the director work to "Kick-Ass" director, Matthew Vaughan. Combined with a perfect casting Magneto, Professor X, Mystique, Sebastian Shaw and a surprisingly good Emma Frost, this is the best ensemble and story in the franchise so far. Even better than X2, which I never thought could be topped, especially after the franchise-ruining Brett Ratner debacle. Hardcore fans will love every minute. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
woodjjJun 3, 2011
Did it deliver exactly what audiences have been wanting? I believe so. There will always be the naysayers who will pick apart movies. You can pick apart just about anything created by another human being. With that being said, this movieDid it deliver exactly what audiences have been wanting? I believe so. There will always be the naysayers who will pick apart movies. You can pick apart just about anything created by another human being. With that being said, this movie takes itself very seriously and gives the superhero spin a much needed edge by breathing realism into the lives of fictional characters in a fictional story. There are no superhero's or super-villains in this story, just hero's and villains with exceptional powers. The script was well-done, at times the pacing dragged a tad, and there were a few discontinuity errors, but none of that should detract or disrupt the overall, overwhelming enjoyment one should take from this movie if that was what was wanted. If someone wants to hate this movie, it will be done. Just look at Karina Longworth's review, LOL. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Justinavery7074Oct 7, 2011
The characters are where the actual strong suit is, no pun intended. Without any intrigue or care for the characters, it becomes something along the lines of X-Men: The Last Stand or X-Men Origins: Wolverine. The acting is phenomenal; IThe characters are where the actual strong suit is, no pun intended. Without any intrigue or care for the characters, it becomes something along the lines of X-Men: The Last Stand or X-Men Origins: Wolverine. The acting is phenomenal; I have't seen a more realistic and awesome Magneto anywhere else. The scipt unfolds majestically and the acting is again, fanastic. And when it's wrapped with Matthew Vaughan's superb, is not brash sense of directing, it's damn near perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
directguyJun 4, 2011
My new favorite superhero movie, my previous favorite being a tie between Spider-man 2 and the first Iron Man. So much to love with this movie. And props to Kevin Bacon for playing an amazing villian. And the climax, or should I sayMy new favorite superhero movie, my previous favorite being a tie between Spider-man 2 and the first Iron Man. So much to love with this movie. And props to Kevin Bacon for playing an amazing villian. And the climax, or should I say climaxes, were astounding. So much action, so smart, and the emotional layers of it all. I'm shocked a screenplay that had so many writers turned out this good, but hats off to all involved. To the people who made Thor, take note. This is how you do a superhero movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RongxinJun 3, 2011
It was pretty brilliant. Personally, performances are sublime but I'm a little disappointed with January Jones' take on Emma Frost. The climax got me on the edge of the seat though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Libra85Jun 29, 2011
The X-Men franchise is not my favorite. The first movie was really boring but the second was much better. X3 was when i felt they got it right. Origins reminded me of the boredem from the first movie so I had a lot of skeptisism going to seeThe X-Men franchise is not my favorite. The first movie was really boring but the second was much better. X3 was when i felt they got it right. Origins reminded me of the boredem from the first movie so I had a lot of skeptisism going to see this one. After leaving the theatre, I was in awe. This is the best movie I have ever seen. That is saying a lot but this movie is perfect in every way. The story makes sense and simple enough to follow without dumbing it down. There are two things to focus on. One is the state of military tensions between the U.S and Russia. The other is the mutents appearing in a time where people had no idea of their exsistence. These two points are presented with the right balance so that one thing doesn't shadow the other. Of course the main characters here are the mutents and each one of them has a reason and need to be there. It's great to see the young mutents evolve and learn how to control thier gifts also learning more about themselves in the process. Then last is our two greats, Charles and Erik. These two were more than amazing and to see how these two went from strangers to friends then to enemies was just perfect strory telling. I don't know everything about the comics but what was presented to me, was phenomenal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShaneGreyFoxJul 25, 2011
This was by far my favorite xmen film and I have seen all of them. What I liked the most was the balance between the action and the focus on the lead characters. I never felt that the action was being overdone and that the characters weren'tThis was by far my favorite xmen film and I have seen all of them. What I liked the most was the balance between the action and the focus on the lead characters. I never felt that the action was being overdone and that the characters weren't being developed enough (which is what plagued the third film, the worst in my opinion). The film was fun to watch, it had some funny scenes and some great action sequences and I felt myself actually caring for the characters. This is a most welcomed reboot to the xmen series. SS 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
papajon555Aug 12, 2011
I honestly went to this movie just because its a Marvel film.But this movie was outstanding!!!The characters,story and everything else is just top-notch!Magneto and Professor X steal the show...they play there characters so well! If i had toI honestly went to this movie just because its a Marvel film.But this movie was outstanding!!!The characters,story and everything else is just top-notch!Magneto and Professor X steal the show...they play there characters so well! If i had to rate this movie on a Top 10 2011 Movie list,it would be at least top 3.Maybe even number 1! Overall this movie is a must see! I have only heard 1 other movie that might be as good or better then this movie,and that is Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZacharyMatsonJun 8, 2011
After Thor I wasn't too sure how Marvel could make a come back, but Gosh darn it, they made one hell of a come back! X-Men: First Class is the perfect comic book movie, I loved every frame of this film. Matthew Vaughn has created yet anotherAfter Thor I wasn't too sure how Marvel could make a come back, but Gosh darn it, they made one hell of a come back! X-Men: First Class is the perfect comic book movie, I loved every frame of this film. Matthew Vaughn has created yet another instant classic for me! I didn't expect to be as blown away by Kevin Bacon's performance as I was and James McAvoy was absolutely amazing as Professor Xavier! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pauloJun 16, 2011
This film is a masterpiece. Every scene is engaging, exciting . The film flows harmonically and the development of the characters is very consistent, keeping you focused in their problems, happiness and conflicts. The action scenes areThis film is a masterpiece. Every scene is engaging, exciting . The film flows harmonically and the development of the characters is very consistent, keeping you focused in their problems, happiness and conflicts. The action scenes are mind-blowing and the "Cold War Atmosphere" is perfectly revived. X-Men First Class deserves with no doubts an Oscar indication, we have a strong contender here. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kawaii-spideyJun 16, 2011
X-men - a unique franchise, and the fifth film series that further confirmation. Usually, the movie series before the age of the elderly, steaming, hits the samopovtory or creators are fundamentally changing the concept of the franchise.X-men - a unique franchise, and the fifth film series that further confirmation. Usually, the movie series before the age of the elderly, steaming, hits the samopovtory or creators are fundamentally changing the concept of the franchise. Tired out at the end of the third part of Mutants in a deadlock, the creators of making the only right decision - a spin-Offa. Prehistory of the most charismatic and memorable characters trilogy. And if you need to move past the history of Wolverine looks doubtful (in the original trilogy rather detailed account of the formation of Logan and in isolation from the team, he has become less interesting character), the reasons for the confrontation of Professor Xavier and Magneto in the "first class" at least raises curiosity . In addition, a cursory glance at the synopsis of the paintings fueled interest in the movie, judge for yourself: 1. The choice of producers as a director Matthew Vaughn, at the time refused to take "final battle" because of uncertainty in the forces, newly appointed to the shooting new film in the series. And the reason is "Kick-Ass," with its innovative approach to superheroes and all komiksnoy topic. And here it is felt with a vengeance. Not a single superfluous scene, no unnecessary characters, action shot, so that the screen does not come off, even conversational scenes are kept in suspense, for that blockbuster with 160 million budget no mean achievement. 2. Jane Goldman script, Ashley Miller, Zack Stents ... plot and the characters nor the means do not go in contradiction with the previous series, and images created by the actors in previous films. The plot about finding Eric Lensherrom Nazi war criminals is beyond praise - in the scenes where Magneto faces the demons of the past concentration camp, with the hero fist shrink from the tension. The history of confrontation between society and the community of mutants who are torn between the Beast and Mystique revealed far more interesting than the third series of the franchise. 3. Cuban Missile Crisis era. The very idea of â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BaguySep 7, 2011
Great movie! The story was simple, amost "ready", but they made good use of it, very good timing on the scenes, nothing is boring or out of place. The casting was brilliant, the characters were very charismatic and interesting; James McAvoyGreat movie! The story was simple, amost "ready", but they made good use of it, very good timing on the scenes, nothing is boring or out of place. The casting was brilliant, the characters were very charismatic and interesting; James McAvoy completely surprised me, he was a very funny but still serious Professor X. Magneto was just awesome, it's hard to hate him at the end of the movie. The attention to details just made it all worth it for the fans, I hope to see a sequel soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeinoJul 30, 2011
best x xmen movie ever. must watch. this is the real origin of x men saga i guess. Competently executed yet utterly forgettable, X-Men: First Class benefits from an outstanding performance from Michael Fassbender. Thank God he was in the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Just_A_GuyJun 4, 2011
This is probably the *best* of the X-Men movies. It has the best story line and more drama - you are not (just) watching for effects as characters show and use their mutant powers. Aside from learning about the origins of the characters,This is probably the *best* of the X-Men movies. It has the best story line and more drama - you are not (just) watching for effects as characters show and use their mutant powers. Aside from learning about the origins of the characters, you'll have a better understanding of the relationship and differences between Prof X and Magneto - superbly acted by McAvoy and Fassbender. Overall excellent film - drama, action, effects, acting - can't really ask for more. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
gimmedatsammichJun 4, 2011
A perfect summer action flick. The acting was great, the characters were fresh, young, interesting and had wonderful chemistry with each other, the action sequences were extremely well done, and on top of that we get a hilarious cameo fromA perfect summer action flick. The acting was great, the characters were fresh, young, interesting and had wonderful chemistry with each other, the action sequences were extremely well done, and on top of that we get a hilarious cameo from Hugh Jackman. A breath of fresh air for the X-Men franchise. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PapaLargeJun 5, 2011
I can say this movie left me pleasantly surprised.Lets face it the previous xmen films were not that good and the last stand was barely passable. This is by far the best xmen film to date and breaths life into the movie franchise. The oneI can say this movie left me pleasantly surprised.Lets face it the previous xmen films were not that good and the last stand was barely passable. This is by far the best xmen film to date and breaths life into the movie franchise. The one stand out thing that makes this film work is it is a much much more darker film than the previous films and gone to a great degree is the comic book geekness and the clearly defined good vs evil that permeates all superhero movies. You leave the cinema with an understanding and symapathy for the the three protagonists of the film which are Professor X, Magneto and the humans. The actions sequences are good not outstanding but good, the story is a good one for a superhero film and a superhero movie with decent acting well i can honestly say this is the one. My only fear is people will be put off watching this movie due to previous movies and the superhero overload which is presently hitting the cinemas . I rated this a 9 for the genre which it is in and i hope with the same cast and direction a sequel will soon be forthcoming. Now pass me the popcorn because i got to think which one of the three sides i will be rooting for in the sequel. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
Fortysixter_UKJun 10, 2011
I really wasn't expecting much from this film at all. I enjoyed the first 3 xmen movies despite them either seeming to make the xmen look very weak, or messing with the comics universe so much that they killed main characters. Then of courseI really wasn't expecting much from this film at all. I enjoyed the first 3 xmen movies despite them either seeming to make the xmen look very weak, or messing with the comics universe so much that they killed main characters. Then of course along came the abortion that was the Wolverine movie.

So when I saw this I was very pleasantly surprised. A tight story, some excellent writing, very fine acting, and apart from a very irritating and oddly out of place teenage xman character ( Banshee) this film truly rocked my world. A story about Erik and Xaviers friendship. And it doesn't end well.

Terrific film, ignore those that slate it, they just seem to hate it for hates sake. When I read some of the negative reviews, they seem founded in bad mood or temper, straying from fact for the pursuit of an undeserved low score.

This film was as impressive as Thor, maybe more so. As such, and so surprised was I at its excellence, I shall award it a mighty 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Knicksfan7Jun 12, 2011
Best X-Men film released to date. This movie was great. The acting was excellent. James McAvoy was a perfect Professor X with his witty humor and high intelligence and Michael Fassbender played Magneto very well with his sinister attitude. IBest X-Men film released to date. This movie was great. The acting was excellent. James McAvoy was a perfect Professor X with his witty humor and high intelligence and Michael Fassbender played Magneto very well with his sinister attitude. I saw nothing negative about this film, it deserves higher than a 65 by critics. I wasn't ever a huge X-Men fan reading the comics or anything but I did enjoy the films very much, besides The Last Stand. This addition to the series is most definitely the best. The acting was good, the action was astonishing, the CGI, and the makeup was great. I loved how they built up the story of our two main mutants, Magneto and Professor X. It worked very well, learning how it all began. I especially loved the bald jokes with Professor X, that was very funny. This movie was more than I expected. It was just a great superhero film but an amazing film period. 10/10 in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Hooky586Jun 3, 2011
The thing with this movie that sets is apart from the other X-Men movies is the fact that they tell the audience who and how each person become who they would eventually turn out to become. This is great for people who do not know comicThe thing with this movie that sets is apart from the other X-Men movies is the fact that they tell the audience who and how each person become who they would eventually turn out to become. This is great for people who do not know comic books, because it allows the audience to see who a character from beginning to end. Batman Begins did this for the Batman franchise and it worked great for Nolan just like it worked great for Vaughn here. I just hope for the series, they keep the director with that same attitude and this may go down as the GREATEST COMIC BOOK franchise in movie history. 10 out of 10! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
rae6dJun 7, 2011
Separate from movies cumic Facebook during the past years not very cool out was amazing the story was very impressive, thank you for this film, I was a penalty you will see again in the future from this same director wonderful I hope so
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DANTEANDCLOUDJun 11, 2011
A great comic book adaptation , a really great way to revive the franchise.
Masterpiece.
A great comic book adaptation , a really great way to revive the franchise.
Masterpiece. Not to mention the Great acting , the meaning and specially the charisma that the characters had.
Kevin bacon was great , Michael Fassbender was even better , a great cast choice!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JimNukemJun 15, 2011
Set a new standard of comic book movies to aspire too. I never ounce fell asleep during this movie. The plot and characters were superb. The action was solid as well as the acting. X-Men has come back! The music was epic as well. PERFECT!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dogtenJun 15, 2011
This was a very decent back story in the CoD Black Ops time frame. It puts a very interesting spin on the whole Bay of Pigs story and gives interesting insight into the origins of the X-Men and how the whole human vs. mutant war started. WellThis was a very decent back story in the CoD Black Ops time frame. It puts a very interesting spin on the whole Bay of Pigs story and gives interesting insight into the origins of the X-Men and how the whole human vs. mutant war started. Well worth seeing on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 16, 2011
A fantastic return to greatness for this franchise that I thought dead. With strong performances from the entire cast, fantastic special effects, and a great plot, First Class is by far the best X-Men film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BlazingFire55Jun 17, 2011
This Is A Great Movie I Have Ever Seen But One Thing I Miss The Most is Wolverine But The Movie Kind Of Seems To Have Less Fighting Scenes
But Its A Great Movie I Like It............................
This Is A Great Movie I Have Ever Seen But One Thing I Miss The Most is Wolverine But The Movie Kind Of Seems To Have Less Fighting Scenes
But Its A Great Movie I Like It............................
..................................................................................................................................
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
seasmithJun 17, 2011
Absolutely fantastic. The chemistry between the characters was so believable. Erik and Charles' relationship was done perfectly. I couldn't be more pleased.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews