User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 544 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 95 out of 544
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ByungSuk
    Jan 3, 2007
    5
    I liked it at first but then I realized they totally destroyed the X-Men Lore. [***SPOILER***] I'm so sad that Professor X died. When I saw him explode in the theater, I was like "WHAT!! They can't do that" but then I realized that I was still in the movie theater.
  2. Aug 27, 2011
    5
    This movie killed the whole series!! The script was really poor, the characters were stone-cold, the dialogue was just awful and they killed off too many of the good characters! It had some good action and visual effects, but overall it was overproduced and lacked the heart and soul of the first two films. Big disappointment.
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    5
    The movie is overall visually stunning, but "X Men: The Last Stand", unlike "X Men" or "X2", is ultimately a frantic war movie that contains extremely sparse character depth/development and simple, lethargic action that fails to appeal.
  4. JonC.
    Aug 6, 2006
    0
    Terrible. I'm glad I waited this long, but I still wish I hadn't seen it. Idiots! They totally messed up the series. There is so much wrong with this movie, I would hardly know where to begin. It doesn't make sense on its own, much less in context with its two excellent predecessors. It is ridiculous at best and jarring at worst.
  5. My
    Aug 8, 2006
    1
    Nobody did anything right with this movie. The writer's had no clue or interest or both in regards to making anyone other than Halle or Wolverine matter. They were too dumb to commit to the sense that this was the end of anything, so they brought back Professor, Magneto's powers, and didn't show Scott die. Jean had no business with Magneto, she was just there so that we Nobody did anything right with this movie. The writer's had no clue or interest or both in regards to making anyone other than Halle or Wolverine matter. They were too dumb to commit to the sense that this was the end of anything, so they brought back Professor, Magneto's powers, and didn't show Scott die. Jean had no business with Magneto, she was just there so that we knew where she was until the writers needed a climax, which is where she dies. A mess that hopes the audience is so distracted by these (meaningless) deaths, that we won't see the how contrived the bad excuse for emotional value is. And all those mutants fighting on that planet and only 5 of them seem to actually have powers other than super-jumping? Spit in the face of your audience why don't you. Expand
  6. MikeR.
    May 29, 2006
    3
    In a category with T3, Johnny Pneumonic, the Matrix 2, and Stars Wars Episode One. If you liked those movies, by all means, feel free to check out X-3. (all six of you).
  7. SteveO.
    May 30, 2006
    0
    I never comment about bad movies. I usually just let them be. I could not stand to not warn people about X-Men: The Final Stand. It was horrible. It had no character development for any new characters. Absolutely made NO SENSE at all. I hope Ratner's "last stand" is Rush Hour 3!
  8. Taryn
    May 30, 2006
    1
    The best analogy I can use to describe X-Men United is like eating at Benihana. You meet your chef, he makes you delicious fried rice, asks you about your day, tells you jokes, takes your order, and begins to prepare the raw ingredients into something you can taste as it cooks. He portions everything, cuts it up, slides it into your bowl as you hold your chopsticks ready... ...And pulls The best analogy I can use to describe X-Men United is like eating at Benihana. You meet your chef, he makes you delicious fried rice, asks you about your day, tells you jokes, takes your order, and begins to prepare the raw ingredients into something you can taste as it cooks. He portions everything, cuts it up, slides it into your bowl as you hold your chopsticks ready... ...And pulls his pants down, takes a massive leaky dump all over your food, calls you a white honky, and walks off. Expand
  9. PatrickB.
    Jun 1, 2006
    2
    Worst of the series. Should have been called "the Hugh Jackman and Halle Berry film" Very disappointing, convoluted plot.
  10. LynnL.
    Jun 1, 2006
    2
    This x-men movie is like some kind of overly-commercialised crap movie filmed in cheesy mtv-style and has practically no intellectual depth other than the old sing-song story of discrimination of being a mutant or whatever. A lot of silly and completely unnecessary action-thriller moments and much more inrellectual depth could have been put into the issues of choice and change in the This x-men movie is like some kind of overly-commercialised crap movie filmed in cheesy mtv-style and has practically no intellectual depth other than the old sing-song story of discrimination of being a mutant or whatever. A lot of silly and completely unnecessary action-thriller moments and much more inrellectual depth could have been put into the issues of choice and change in the story plot. It's nothing compared to the previous 2 x-men movies. Expand
  11. JoshuaE.
    Jul 1, 2006
    2
    This was actually considerably worse than I thought it would be. Poorly executed at every turn, X Men 3 was obviously placed in the wrong hands. Not even the terrible , but frenetic, action scenes could inject any life into the limp story and characters. There was no drama, no humor, and especially no brains. Brett Ratner is the Joel Schumacker of the X Men franchise.
  12. BuckShot
    Oct 7, 2006
    0
    One of the sure tests of how much I like a movie is how anxious I am to see it again. If I never watch this sorry excuse for a movie again it will be too soon. I could watch X-Men or X-Men 2 anytime and enjoy it every time, but watching X3 again would be like pulling weeds. In fact, I'd rather pull weeds. Bret Ratner achieved one thing I've never heard of before; he managed to One of the sure tests of how much I like a movie is how anxious I am to see it again. If I never watch this sorry excuse for a movie again it will be too soon. I could watch X-Men or X-Men 2 anytime and enjoy it every time, but watching X3 again would be like pulling weeds. In fact, I'd rather pull weeds. Bret Ratner achieved one thing I've never heard of before; he managed to destroy 4 movies in the process of making one movie. He took everything good about the first two X-Men movies and ruined them, then he made this abomination, then he made me not care about any sequel. You could write a book about all the things wrong with this movie. [***SPOILERS***] But the worst thing of all is the logic (?) of the final battle. If Magneto has the power to pick up and move the Golden Gate Bridge (a VERY big bridge), which is power more on the scale of Superman than the Magneto of the first two films, why would he need any help from anyone in trying to kill one little boy? He could easily destroy the whole island of Alcatraz by his own lonesome self! The people who rated this movie higher than a 3 have obviously never seen a good movie or are on drugs. Or are lying for whatever mysterious motive. Worthless garbage. Expand
  13. JeanGrey
    Oct 9, 2006
    4
    I was really expecting more than this. Way too much Storm and Wolvie in this one. [***SPOILERS***] If this is the X series swan song I am truly disappointed. The Juggernaut is a mutant? Since when? I can't imagine Woverine holding a movie on his own. Everyone likes to see the different mutants and I just can't see a movie featuring only him succeeding. But then again, add Storm I was really expecting more than this. Way too much Storm and Wolvie in this one. [***SPOILERS***] If this is the X series swan song I am truly disappointed. The Juggernaut is a mutant? Since when? I can't imagine Woverine holding a movie on his own. Everyone likes to see the different mutants and I just can't see a movie featuring only him succeeding. But then again, add Storm and you basically have X-Men 3. Try harder next time guys....if there is a next time. Expand
  14. JudS.
    May 26, 2006
    3
    I'm very sad the trilogy had to end like this. Brett Ratner just took a dump on his predecessor's legacy. It's like he took every X-men comic book not used in the first two movies and jammed it all into a 100-minute action movie gumbo from hell. Filled with cheesy one-liners not seen in the first film, lousy character development and hastily-assembled plot twists, this film I'm very sad the trilogy had to end like this. Brett Ratner just took a dump on his predecessor's legacy. It's like he took every X-men comic book not used in the first two movies and jammed it all into a 100-minute action movie gumbo from hell. Filled with cheesy one-liners not seen in the first film, lousy character development and hastily-assembled plot twists, this film is crap, crap, crappy crap. Expand
  15. IvanC.
    May 26, 2006
    5
    Flat, cheap, dumb movie, which lacks all that good ideas of previous and is an insult for those, who prefer to be entertained well. Looks like trash-movie, actually. Where did all the money go? And this after such brilliant X2. Well, i suppose, most of the 7-s the movie gets here would be from 'under 16'-viewers.
  16. JarrodG.
    May 26, 2006
    1
    If you actually know the comics and your not your average movie-goer dullard, your going to hate this movie. The movie is very rushed and it pisses me off that they take no respect in finishing a franchise that Singer worked so hard to get it were it was in the last film.
  17. SteveG.
    May 27, 2006
    4
    If you think Beverly Hills Cop 2 was an american classic. You will love this move.
  18. WAKOJAKO
    May 28, 2006
    3
    The minute (spoiler omitted) gets offed early in the movie, I knew this was going in the wrong direction. I really, Really, REALLY hate Brian Singer for leaving what should have been a thrilling capstone to this previously very smart series in the hands of such lesser talent. I wish I had not seen this film, for in my imagination would have lived a much better version of what this thirdThe minute (spoiler omitted) gets offed early in the movie, I knew this was going in the wrong direction. I really, Really, REALLY hate Brian Singer for leaving what should have been a thrilling capstone to this previously very smart series in the hands of such lesser talent. I wish I had not seen this film, for in my imagination would have lived a much better version of what this third film might have been, than what Ratner & Co. deliver. Pity. Expand
  19. NeilV.
    May 31, 2006
    4
    This movie was pretty poor. Horrible script and plot, poor execution, a terrible way to abuse the finest superhero team in history. A huge disappointment following X2.
  20. JohnnyA.
    May 31, 2006
    3
    While there are many suspects to this crime, Brian Singer is the prime one for not going the distance. I mean two thirds the way of making the first good super hero trilogy, and ironically going to do Superman, the super series that first screwed up on it's third installment. I have many problems with X3 but I'll some them up in Juggernaut. If CG Hulk can be done, CG Juggernaut While there are many suspects to this crime, Brian Singer is the prime one for not going the distance. I mean two thirds the way of making the first good super hero trilogy, and ironically going to do Superman, the super series that first screwed up on it's third installment. I have many problems with X3 but I'll some them up in Juggernaut. If CG Hulk can be done, CG Juggernaut is the only way to go. If you are not going to do something right, don't do it. Especially if you want me to pay $6 and moments of my life on it. I bought the first two movies on DVD, I won't be buying the third. Expand
  21. RIsinSon
    May 30, 2006
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] A very good start to a really lackluster ending. Being a comic book fan some of the character powers were potrayed wrong. For instance Juggernaut is not a mutant for one. When he entered the room with Leech he should have ran through the wall without a problem. He got is powers for a mystical crystal. The story line was so broken up and characters not really showing their[***SPOILERS***] A very good start to a really lackluster ending. Being a comic book fan some of the character powers were potrayed wrong. For instance Juggernaut is not a mutant for one. When he entered the room with Leech he should have ran through the wall without a problem. He got is powers for a mystical crystal. The story line was so broken up and characters not really showing their powers too much except the main characters. Killing off that many characters didn't leave much for another installment, accept when Magneto showed his powers were returning at the end of the movie. The only way I see there being another movie if they introduce Bishop going through time and all of the characters that died can be restored. So far I think Spider-Man is the best Marvel installment and if there is another X-Men movie I hope they get it right the next time around. Expand
  22. jeremyW.
    May 30, 2006
    3
    3 Points! 1 for the flashback recruitment of Jean, 1 for Magneto moving the bridge, and 1 for including Beast. Otherwise, a complete waste of 1:45!!! Ratner direction never draws you in, leaving you to feel like you are simply watching not experiencing a movie. Also, the writiers absolutely butchered 1 of the greatest X-men stroy arcs of all time. Where is Claremont when you need him? We 3 Points! 1 for the flashback recruitment of Jean, 1 for Magneto moving the bridge, and 1 for including Beast. Otherwise, a complete waste of 1:45!!! Ratner direction never draws you in, leaving you to feel like you are simply watching not experiencing a movie. Also, the writiers absolutely butchered 1 of the greatest X-men stroy arcs of all time. Where is Claremont when you need him? We are now supposed to believe that Jean was always always the most powerful mutant in the world and only Prof. X held her back. Give me a break! Let's toss aside the fact that Prof. X can kill everyone on the planet with a thought (X-men 2, anyone?). Also, Juggernaut is brough in as a mutant??? He's never been a mutie, his powers are magical. To add insult to injury, they ignore the story of Prof. X and he are brothers and they use a guy in a rubber suit rather than a body builder or CG making him ridiculous to look at. I know I must sound like a rambling "fan boy", but if you don't follow the comics or even the set-up of the 1st 2 movies, how can you call this "X-men 3"? [***SPOILER***]: Now that they have killed off or neutralized everyone from the original cast with the exceptions of Wolverine and Storm, I think they have successfully set the stage for the Wolverine movie that they always wanted. Now, at tleast they won't get my hopes up that Cyclops (my all-time favorite X-man) will do ANYTHING. Expand
  23. MusicaliD.
    Jun 12, 2006
    2
    This movie is an insult, put together poorly, written poorly and acted poorly. Why not make a movie that is entirely made of stuff getting blown up? Apparently that's the formula. The cinematography was pathetic. Nowhere near as good as the previous two. I thought this could have been a great movie, but it looks like no one involved was even trying. Who needs to try when you can be This movie is an insult, put together poorly, written poorly and acted poorly. Why not make a movie that is entirely made of stuff getting blown up? Apparently that's the formula. The cinematography was pathetic. Nowhere near as good as the previous two. I thought this could have been a great movie, but it looks like no one involved was even trying. Who needs to try when you can be lazy and careless and still make hundreds of millions. A sad commentary on the movie-going public. Could have been so, so much better. An embarrasment. Where is the heart? Expand
  24. BonbonA.
    Jun 17, 2006
    6
    The opening was just great, but the whole movie itself is a failure. They wanna make new n fresh impressions by killing a lot of characters n more dark atmosphere, but the result was a disapointment as the story was just bad. I think they have problems because there's a lot of characters featured in the plot n it seems that the role of each characters were not organized correctly (I The opening was just great, but the whole movie itself is a failure. They wanna make new n fresh impressions by killing a lot of characters n more dark atmosphere, but the result was a disapointment as the story was just bad. I think they have problems because there's a lot of characters featured in the plot n it seems that the role of each characters were not organized correctly (I think some of them actually needed more role 2 play). The 1st n the 2nd were great, but this 1 need more improvement, n the worst thing is that this movie ends the story as the final part of a trilogy. Expand
  25. MelB.
    Jun 2, 2006
    7
    I saw this movie twice. The first time, I did NOT like it whatsoever. I was shocked and kind of upset. HOWEVER...going to see it a second time, knowing what was going to happen, I have to admit it is definitely entertaining. Its not the best movie in the world, but its by NO means the worst. Wolverine rocks, the Beast was awesome, but I was disappointed that Mystique wasn't in it I saw this movie twice. The first time, I did NOT like it whatsoever. I was shocked and kind of upset. HOWEVER...going to see it a second time, knowing what was going to happen, I have to admit it is definitely entertaining. Its not the best movie in the world, but its by NO means the worst. Wolverine rocks, the Beast was awesome, but I was disappointed that Mystique wasn't in it more. Also Rouge too...Stay after the credits for the last scene at the end. It gives you hope! Expand
  26. AlisterL.
    Jun 2, 2006
    5
    Well, they had me for the first two acts, and then it all fell apart. Even after some wincing at some really uninspired lines: 'If Magneto wants a war, we'll give him one!' (feh) I was actually having a great time and then... WHAT was that crap with the bridge? Why? So they could walk home if they were tired? Nope, just a nonsensical plot device to add some overblown Well, they had me for the first two acts, and then it all fell apart. Even after some wincing at some really uninspired lines: 'If Magneto wants a war, we'll give him one!' (feh) I was actually having a great time and then... WHAT was that crap with the bridge? Why? So they could walk home if they were tired? Nope, just a nonsensical plot device to add some overblown spectacle and allow for the timely arrival of more troops when the finale called for it. And the final battle was naff too. "Okay X Men, we're here! Everybody make an entrance- one at a time now! Okay, now stand in a line while we dolly past with the camera". Rubbish. Please Marvel, don't do another one. Expand
  27. FabioP.
    Jun 2, 2006
    3
    This is definitely one of the worst movies i've seen in recent times. The script sucks ass, characters are flat, dramatic moments are acted and directed so badly that they make you laugh. Then, the action sequences are just ridiculous, and the dialogues were so banal...i swear i heard many of the movie's lines in at least a hundred movies before. This movie is just stupid.
  28. TonyF.
    Jun 2, 2006
    4
    Really disapointing, halle Berry has way too much screen time, the chacters that have been developed in the past two movies are passed aside in this bizzare adaptation of two separate x-men plots gon crazy. Alot of oneliners is the majority of the script, if you are a true fan go see it, if not wait for it to play on tv, in like three years.
  29. JoeG.
    Jun 5, 2006
    4
    The first two weren't bad, but this one is pretty dumb. It felt like a pastiche of bad movie clichés, not to mention glaring plot holes. It's easy to see why a "Wolverine" spin-off is in the works and not an X-Men 4: almost every character is wasted. The redhead, Jean Grey, is given a great build-up, but after the first half is over, she basically stands in the background The first two weren't bad, but this one is pretty dumb. It felt like a pastiche of bad movie clichés, not to mention glaring plot holes. It's easy to see why a "Wolverine" spin-off is in the works and not an X-Men 4: almost every character is wasted. The redhead, Jean Grey, is given a great build-up, but after the first half is over, she basically stands in the background and keeps her mouth shut until the big, hokey climax. Yeah, I know it's "only" entertainment, but C'MON, I'm not asking for a masterpiece here, just something that isn't dumb, bloated, and hackneyed. (You want entertainment, save your $10 and go spend 2 hours at an arcade or an amusement park, it'll be much more fun and much more engaging.) There are some saving graces: the cast is pretty good and even the dumb parts can be unintentionally hilarious. Not great entertainment, but you can do much worse this summer. ("Da Vinci Code" anybody?) Expand
  30. scarecrow
    Jun 7, 2006
    5
    Im very dissapionted by this movie!. Changing the director that made the two previous masterpieces ( Bryan Singer ) was catastrophic. The new director created just another science fiction movie with nothing unique about it. It is fun and watchable but it should have been better than the previous movies as its probably the last. It seem that Bryan Singer was the soul leader of the X-men Im very dissapionted by this movie!. Changing the director that made the two previous masterpieces ( Bryan Singer ) was catastrophic. The new director created just another science fiction movie with nothing unique about it. It is fun and watchable but it should have been better than the previous movies as its probably the last. It seem that Bryan Singer was the soul leader of the X-men franchine and his absence is obvious and dissapionting. Marvel should have agreed with the director! Expand
  31. jasM
    Sep 8, 2006
    1
    the movie wasn't as impressive as the first, the storyline was hopeless, it made no sense, and the young actors need to go back to acting school.
  32. Cyclops1987
    Feb 4, 2007
    1
    Belive me I can write at least two best selling books about how much this movie sucks. As a true X-men lover I was devestated after watching this movie and went into coma for a week. Such a pathetic story it seems Ratner was completely unware of X-men comics, cartoons and previous movies. [***SPOILER***] I am one of biggest fan of Cyclops and the fate he met in the movie was toally Belive me I can write at least two best selling books about how much this movie sucks. As a true X-men lover I was devestated after watching this movie and went into coma for a week. Such a pathetic story it seems Ratner was completely unware of X-men comics, cartoons and previous movies. [***SPOILER***] I am one of biggest fan of Cyclops and the fate he met in the movie was toally disgusting. It would have been better ending if Pheonix had killed Cyclops in the end and Jean angered by watching her lover die took control of her power and Pheonix just like professor was saying when he was dying. Summing it all up it was not X-men 3 it was Wolverine 3. Expand
  33. ScottC.
    Mar 5, 2007
    0
    This is a horrible movie. It is souless, for one, and the only way a person would enjoy it at all is if they were a mindless comic book fan - making it already a different type of movie from the previous X-mens, which had heart and characters who were real people. When you have major characters being killed off one by one, and as an audience member (and avid comic book fan, to boot) you This is a horrible movie. It is souless, for one, and the only way a person would enjoy it at all is if they were a mindless comic book fan - making it already a different type of movie from the previous X-mens, which had heart and characters who were real people. When you have major characters being killed off one by one, and as an audience member (and avid comic book fan, to boot) you could literally care less, I think that's a sign someone screwed up. This is to the X-men franchise what Batman & Robin was to the Batman franchise, in terms of jumping the shark. The only difference is superficial - the latter drove it into the ground by being campy, but Ratner drives this into the ground by being pretentiously "serious". I hated this. Don't see it. Expand
  34. JackS.
    Oct 3, 2006
    4
    Wow. I didn't think a franchise could sink so low, but this last installment surely has changed my mind. None of the gritty tension, lost personality, psyche-navel-gazing from the first (and best, by far) film comes into this Hollywood-pumped eye-candy that passes as a movie. Alas, bored middle managers with MBAs continually wield way too much power in the creative fields, and like Wow. I didn't think a franchise could sink so low, but this last installment surely has changed my mind. None of the gritty tension, lost personality, psyche-navel-gazing from the first (and best, by far) film comes into this Hollywood-pumped eye-candy that passes as a movie. Alas, bored middle managers with MBAs continually wield way too much power in the creative fields, and like the crazed mutants and militant humans in the X-Men, must be squashed. Expand
  35. Mike
    May 26, 2006
    3
    This movie was really bad. The effects were cool but for some reason it all felt ridiculous. The plot didn't make much sense either. A lot of holes. The death of some major characters were unnecessary and disheartening. Finally, some of the lines were so lame that I cringed.
  36. ChrisD.
    May 26, 2006
    1
    What a godawful movie - stunning how much the loss of Bryan Singer means to the series, and how much more I'm suddenly looking forward to Superman Returns. Cheesy fX, bad acting, a script so bad I laughed out loud at parts that clearly weren't meant to be funny... awful. Plus, the scene of Angel bursting through a window, shirtless with gelled hair, soaring over San Francisco, What a godawful movie - stunning how much the loss of Bryan Singer means to the series, and how much more I'm suddenly looking forward to Superman Returns. Cheesy fX, bad acting, a script so bad I laughed out loud at parts that clearly weren't meant to be funny... awful. Plus, the scene of Angel bursting through a window, shirtless with gelled hair, soaring over San Francisco, out-gays anything in Brokeback Mountain... Expand
  37. josh
    May 26, 2006
    2
    It was like leafing through one of the best comic book story lines ever and only catching a handful of the frames, and even those are blurry. Rattner made a mockery of this, what had been to this point, great series, and single handedly trashed all of the great development and continuity Singer had created. There were too many characters, with minute development, and too little story, It was like leafing through one of the best comic book story lines ever and only catching a handful of the frames, and even those are blurry. Rattner made a mockery of this, what had been to this point, great series, and single handedly trashed all of the great development and continuity Singer had created. There were too many characters, with minute development, and too little story, jumping from sequence to sequence with reckless abandon. Thank god Vinnie Jones, as the Juggernaut, spawned a few laughs. Expand
  38. LawrenceM.
    May 26, 2006
    6
    Rater kills off character instead of showing character development. [***SPOILERS***] Two main players "die" only to come back at the end of the film. Too much corny action and not enough dialogue. X3 was a proverbial kick in the nuts to comic fans.
  39. DavidC.
    May 26, 2006
    2
    X3 is too absurd even for the X-Men universe. I have no problems with people having mutant powers, but having those powers doesn't mean they lack common sense. No one would ever be as grossly inefficient and ridiculous as this film portrays. Also, if you know anything about technology you'll laugh at how bad it is. A typical blow-em-up, shallow, waste-of-money miss by Hollywood.
  40. NavarroM.
    May 26, 2006
    5
    It doesn't work. Popcorn entertaiment with not heart. Sad end for a great franchise.
  41. AlanO.
    May 27, 2006
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] Has some high points sure but not enough to make me feel this was as good as the previous 2. I
  42. EricD.
    May 27, 2006
    3
    Its an action movie period. It doesn't follow the ending of the 2nd movie. Remeber the Firebird in the water, the reassuring words of Xavier and message of hope at the epilogue? Well forget it all ... Worse it completly fails to present the loving, self sacrificing Jean Grey "Phoenix" that was present in the comic book. I dont mind artistic creativity. But it has to be true to the Its an action movie period. It doesn't follow the ending of the 2nd movie. Remeber the Firebird in the water, the reassuring words of Xavier and message of hope at the epilogue? Well forget it all ... Worse it completly fails to present the loving, self sacrificing Jean Grey "Phoenix" that was present in the comic book. I dont mind artistic creativity. But it has to be true to the spirit of the books. Expand
  43. RickyP.
    May 27, 2006
    5
    It kills me that I have to give this movie a 5. I have been waiting a long time for this, as have many others, and it just didn't deliver. Ratner can't direct is one of the big problems - the introduction of Angel is awful, to give one example. Also, the irreverence shown to the comics, which at times does work to create some shocking moments, is too much - it will be shocking, It kills me that I have to give this movie a 5. I have been waiting a long time for this, as have many others, and it just didn't deliver. Ratner can't direct is one of the big problems - the introduction of Angel is awful, to give one example. Also, the irreverence shown to the comics, which at times does work to create some shocking moments, is too much - it will be shocking, but in the wrong ways if you ask me (and it deprives the climax of two very important characters that should have been there). However, Ian Mckellan was great as Magneto, and I thought the closing sequence was very strong. Just too many mistakes, too much bad writing. Not the worst, it's entertaining, but a big letdown, especially for fans of the books. Expand
  44. SuzanneH.
    May 27, 2006
    5
    "the scene of Angel bursting through a window, shirtless with gelled hair, soaring over San Francisco, out-gays anything in Brokeback Mountain..." Chris D., that is the funniest thing I have ever read.
  45. PonR.
    May 27, 2006
    6
    I admit, right after seeing it I really felt blown away. But after a while, I started to feel let down. I think the overall issue was that very few of our beloved characters actually made it to the point where they were supposed to take that "last stand". That's kind of like a slap in the face. Instead of the renewed hope that the last film hinted at, we got utter obliteration. And I admit, right after seeing it I really felt blown away. But after a while, I started to feel let down. I think the overall issue was that very few of our beloved characters actually made it to the point where they were supposed to take that "last stand". That's kind of like a slap in the face. Instead of the renewed hope that the last film hinted at, we got utter obliteration. And it mostly came down to a bunch of minor characters facing off against other previously minor characters. There isn't even enough substance for a sequel after this. Oh Singer, you really killed us by not doing this one. Expand
  46. KalvinL.
    May 28, 2006
    3
    This movie totally lacked the emotion of the first two. The story line was clunky and disjointed. At no point during the film did I care what happened to the characters, who seemed to have all changed for this film. Particularily Wolverine has become a sissy who cares about everyones feelings and when he does let loose and kill people it feels wrong. They can keep my money. I want my time back.
  47. OrsonO.
    May 28, 2006
    3
    One step for mankind - one giant leap backward for mutants! Director Ratner just turned the most intelligent comic book film series into a generic action picture. Toss in a ressurected Jean Gray doing a Carrie impersonation, and that's what you get at the end. The trouble is there was and remains so much thought provoking potential in X-Men. The scriptwriiter's toss all that One step for mankind - one giant leap backward for mutants! Director Ratner just turned the most intelligent comic book film series into a generic action picture. Toss in a ressurected Jean Gray doing a Carrie impersonation, and that's what you get at the end. The trouble is there was and remains so much thought provoking potential in X-Men. The scriptwriiter's toss all that right out the window for brand-X instead. I cringed sitting through the last 45 minutes. I would have left except for being crammed into an Imax theater with its long rows of poor souls to crawl over. Even the film score was a waste of sacharine, rehashed, trash. Where did all those mega-bucks go, recycling Vancouver and BC Coast Range locales? - they think we haven't seen them all over TV ad nauseum before? Now, I will go and vomit and try and forget the "characters" that I saw abused on screen. Expand
  48. DanB.
    May 28, 2006
    5
    I think the symbol of why this is only mediocre and not what it ought to have been is the fight between Iceman and Pyro. It's like, have I not seen this a thousand times before? I mean Harry Potter had the exact same scene. Star Wars had the exact same scene. Every time anyone who can shoot anything out their hands meets up with another person who can do that, they fight like this. I think the symbol of why this is only mediocre and not what it ought to have been is the fight between Iceman and Pyro. It's like, have I not seen this a thousand times before? I mean Harry Potter had the exact same scene. Star Wars had the exact same scene. Every time anyone who can shoot anything out their hands meets up with another person who can do that, they fight like this. So of course this new director just does it too? C'mon. That was lame. And why the heck does Magneto lift the Golden Gate Bridge!? Surely there was a simpler way for him to get his peeps onto the island (while also not making it easy for human reinforcments to come)?? I mean, it didn't look like he had so many people with him... could't he have commandeered a boat!? Anyway. It wasn't horrible, but it was pretty mediocre and that's probably worse than being horrible. I wish Singer had stayed on to this -- this story had potential I can't imagine any Superman movie having. Expand
  49. MikeP.
    May 28, 2006
    1
    Are people insane?! Get over this spite for X-Men fans and understand that anyone who ever saw the first two movies (which you obviously should) or any good movie would realize how poorly made this film was! I can't count on my fingers the number of fatal choices that were made. I didn't feel any emotional attachment to anyone in here, and that's a real problem. You want to Are people insane?! Get over this spite for X-Men fans and understand that anyone who ever saw the first two movies (which you obviously should) or any good movie would realize how poorly made this film was! I can't count on my fingers the number of fatal choices that were made. I didn't feel any emotional attachment to anyone in here, and that's a real problem. You want to make a good action movie? Leave this franchise that was successfully sparked by Singer alone and make your own! Expand
  50. AndrewC.
    May 29, 2006
    0
    Quick capsule review: Piece of sh.., walk away!
  51. ScottG.
    May 30, 2006
    6
    WHY -in the name of all that is holy- would Singer leave X-Men unfinished to direct Superman??? Well Mr. Singer, your decision to leave *your* X-Men in the hands of this goon might possibly be the 4th sign of the apocolypse! You -Singer- did such a good job with character depth and emotion in the first two movies. Now that you made me such a huge fan of the X-Men...I obviously had to go WHY -in the name of all that is holy- would Singer leave X-Men unfinished to direct Superman??? Well Mr. Singer, your decision to leave *your* X-Men in the hands of this goon might possibly be the 4th sign of the apocolypse! You -Singer- did such a good job with character depth and emotion in the first two movies. Now that you made me such a huge fan of the X-Men...I obviously had to go and watch the 3rd movie; regardless of who directed it. And, well, let us just say that Ratner turned X-Men III into an over-glorified Jean-Claude Van Damne movie with mutants running rampant in his sted. To Singer: plz plz PLZZZZZZZZ re-make this movie....for the love of God, make this pain go away!!! Now, I'm not much of a comic reader, so I don't know if all the sub-main mutants were actual comic villains or not, BUT** there must've been a better mutant out there than "Porcupine Man"....give me a break! "I'm Porcupine Man, come close and I might just be able to hurt you with my deadly quills" ROFL!!! And now for the break down: I can only justify giving this movie such a high score for these reasons~~Ian McKellen is the bomb and makes Magneto come to life even in this poorly written movie. And, all of the returning cast are as solid in their roles as possible. The special effects were quite good. Also for the small amount of depth given to us in the beginning of the movie. Final note of interest: Why was Rogue cut out of the movie? (Unbelievable). Expand
  52. Steve
    Jun 11, 2006
    2
    Bad. Just really bad. And surprisingly boring.
  53. JoshB.
    Jun 12, 2006
    6
    To sum up, the original storyline is simply messed with too much to create a concoction of the strongest characters becoming the weakest and meaningless characters (storm) taking on an uneccesarily heightened role. Plot twists intended to shock confuse the audience and by the end I left feeling let down by the butchering of the comics.
  54. JimG.
    Jun 12, 2006
    4
    This is the kind of movie that I don't need to expect too much from---as long as the put the characters I love in a good story and pull it all together with competent effects, music, and so on, what do I care? I have to complain. [***SPOILERS***] This wasn't what it could have been. Lame Item #1 - covering plot failures with a mutant who's power is to detect what other This is the kind of movie that I don't need to expect too much from---as long as the put the characters I love in a good story and pull it all together with competent effects, music, and so on, what do I care? I have to complain. [***SPOILERS***] This wasn't what it could have been. Lame Item #1 - covering plot failures with a mutant who's power is to detect what other mutants powers are-- huh? Lame Item #2 - if you want to stop Jean Grey, why u gotta kill 'er Wolfie? Bring the magic boy forward and let his presence neutralizer her, stick her with one of the needles, what u thinkin'? Anyway, lots of sloppiness that didn't need to be there. But you have to see it anyway. Expand
  55. JustinN.
    Jun 12, 2006
    3
    It really is so hard to put a finger on what irked me about this movie, but I'll try. First of all, the screenplay was quite bland, with very little interesting dialogue and a complete lack of character development. Some may say: "But it's just a comic book movie! What do you expect, a masterpiece?" Well, after Spiderman 2 and Batman Begins, yeah, I expect a little more than It really is so hard to put a finger on what irked me about this movie, but I'll try. First of all, the screenplay was quite bland, with very little interesting dialogue and a complete lack of character development. Some may say: "But it's just a comic book movie! What do you expect, a masterpiece?" Well, after Spiderman 2 and Batman Begins, yeah, I expect a little more than super heroes jumping around attacking each other. [***SPOILERS***] They could've gone deeper and explored Jean Grey's madness, but instead just sort of glossed over everything. The dialogue was a lot less entertaining as well, with very few laughs. My next point: the action was pretty bland as well. There were far fewer "F--- YEAH!" moments and just a lot of Jean Grey disintegrating stuff with her mind. Compared to Wolverine's fight against Uriko in the second movie, X3 really was a let down. Lastly, and this is somewhat minor but needs to be said, the movie seemed to lack continuity with the other installments. With Nightcrawler gone and the Beast coming out of nowhere (as well as certain mutants just dying), the movie felt separate from X2. Strangely, the Phoenix took on a different look from the last movie as well. This could also be because of the new director I suppose. All in all, a fairly crappy movie. Expand
  56. YoungS.
    Jun 15, 2006
    5
    It started off well. With the flashback to Gene Gray. Then it just got worse until the crappy ending. The acting sucked and I blame the director. All the internet geeks were pissed about Ratner as the director, but I thought he would do alright. I was so very wrong. This movie could have been so much better with another director.
  57. RayK.
    Jun 25, 2006
    2
    A formulaic, uninspired, by-the-numbers action movie. Plot and pacing is awful, no character development, and audience is given little reason to care about anything that transpires throughout the course of the movie. Sadly, it's not even fun to make fun of. I very nearly walked out halfway through, but decided not to out of courtesy for my companions.
  58. Eldon
    Jun 4, 2006
    4
    I'm not happy to be giving this movie a 4! But what a disappointment. After seeing this movie I watched my DVD of the second movie... night and day. The quality. Yes, the second has it's issues, but The Last Stand... it was painful at times. If only Brian Singer hadn't left Dodge.
  59. RogerK.
    Jun 4, 2006
    0
    After two films that succeeded as movies, if less so as X-Men movies, comes a pale desperate stab at summer box-office, lacking all integrity. Strip mining the comic books, not only for plot points but even for shots and composition, XM:TLS does so with no regard for meaning or content. Lines are apportioned based on each star's box-office receipts (most egregiously with Halle After two films that succeeded as movies, if less so as X-Men movies, comes a pale desperate stab at summer box-office, lacking all integrity. Strip mining the comic books, not only for plot points but even for shots and composition, XM:TLS does so with no regard for meaning or content. Lines are apportioned based on each star's box-office receipts (most egregiously with Halle Berry's Storm, lots of dialogue, zero characterization), resulting in over-exposure for Wolverine, whose character is thus watered down to a fairly mild leading man, with none of the danger hinted at in earlier installments. The misuse of James Marsden's Cyclops (a vital, central character in the original story) will live in comic-to-movie infamy. Expand
  60. JosephB.
    Jun 6, 2006
    4
    Disappointing, many peeps who seen it also say it was a waste of there money and if they could get the money back they would. by the way Where is Gambit?? Huh? is he too much to ask for? another, Juggernaut is waaay tooo small. Is he Mini Me or something? Come on its call CG, remember the Hulk that worked and it would have worked here too. Hugh Jackman is the best person for Wolverine. I Disappointing, many peeps who seen it also say it was a waste of there money and if they could get the money back they would. by the way Where is Gambit?? Huh? is he too much to ask for? another, Juggernaut is waaay tooo small. Is he Mini Me or something? Come on its call CG, remember the Hulk that worked and it would have worked here too. Hugh Jackman is the best person for Wolverine. I think people here got lazy as heck and could have done some more work instead of rushing the series to three movies! Expand
  61. EfeB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    3
    Haha...i was reading sarah g.'s post where she says "x-men movies are the greatest films ever made"!...and i thought what kind of an utterly un-educated and un-immaginative mind can create a sentence like that...the answer to my confusion came with her second briliant sentence "hugh jackman is so hot!!!". no wonder. thats EXACTLY what is wrong with this movie. this movie is for allHaha...i was reading sarah g.'s post where she says "x-men movies are the greatest films ever made"!...and i thought what kind of an utterly un-educated and un-immaginative mind can create a sentence like that...the answer to my confusion came with her second briliant sentence "hugh jackman is so hot!!!". no wonder. thats EXACTLY what is wrong with this movie. this movie is for all the sarah g.'s out there, not for the intelligent movie goers, not for the fans of x-men, but for highschool idiots who think muscle men and exploding cars are cool. why in the hell would you replace a successful director who made good fist and second films, with this idiot who seems like have shot the film with his ass and edited it with his teeth. and dont get me started on casting that frazier guy as a blue furred man beast thing....that was a genius idea....NOT. Expand
  62. Andy
    Feb 13, 2007
    4
    The mystery and intrigue from the first two films is replaced with a dumbed-down storyline and mawkish jokes. The politics and character development are sent to the background while the over-produced special effects are brought to the foreground. Basically, everything good Singer brought to the first two films is what Ratner leaves out in the third.
  63. NaturalH
    May 17, 2007
    0
    It sucked balls at the end it had a whole bunch of mutants that didnt even use there powers they should of fucked wolverine and them up and they didnt even have all the x-men and how the fuck is professor x gonna fucking die DAT SHIT SUCK 4 DA DAYS
  64. JakobK
    Apr 29, 2009
    6
    Nice special effects, but they killed scott :( that was really a breakdown for me. The "cyclops" is awsome. i dont know what happens in the comics to scott, do he die there too?
  65. ZixM.
    Nov 11, 2006
    4
    Like the Jean - Pheonix conflict it presents, this movies is so uncontrolled and raw that in the end it just asks to be killed. What happened to the atmosphere, the drama, and overall, the characterization? On its own merits, this movie cannot stand alone, and is merely hitching a ride on its predecessors.
  66. SHADOW
    Oct 17, 2006
    5
    The reason I rated this movie not so high was plain and simple and that is because it does not follow the story line of the comic book. That is why many people feel that the third movie was rushed and it is awkward at times although I liked the eye candy but compared to the first 2 movies this one has gone of track.
  67. MichaelA
    Oct 24, 2006
    6
    A dissapointment compared to the first 2 movies. [***SPOILERS***] Since when did they work on a cure? Too much of the wolf and storm. Plus there were many times when there was no action! Finally, why did they get rid of some of the best characters? Mirage and Cyclops! (I might not be getting the names right) I still liked the twists in the movie and the action they still had.
  68. LaurenU.
    May 25, 2006
    3
    This movie was so nonsensical, it was insulting. Why was this movie even made? Nobody involved in it seems to know.
  69. [Anonymous]
    May 25, 2006
    3
    If you like x-men at all don't bother with x3. If your looking for a consistant plotline or consistant characters, watch the first two. The new director basically uses x3 as a sounding board for social/political views spewed into an action packed (quite possibly the only decent part of the movie) piece of garbage. His introduction of new characters only serves one purpose, to see If you like x-men at all don't bother with x3. If your looking for a consistant plotline or consistant characters, watch the first two. The new director basically uses x3 as a sounding board for social/political views spewed into an action packed (quite possibly the only decent part of the movie) piece of garbage. His introduction of new characters only serves one purpose, to see what cool new powers we can look at, and that's it. I wish someone had warned me about this, the dissapointment in not worth 9.75. Expand
  70. JeffW.
    May 25, 2006
    3
    Wow, I'm depressed... This is the worst of the three and I don't know how Ratner messed it up this bad. Admittingly there are some huge, surprising moments, but the last 45 minutes of the film is utter garbage. Ben Foster as Angel is the most wasted character in history. [***SPOILERS***] There is a war at the end where hordes of bad mutants take on Beast and Wolverine, but none Wow, I'm depressed... This is the worst of the three and I don't know how Ratner messed it up this bad. Admittingly there are some huge, surprising moments, but the last 45 minutes of the film is utter garbage. Ben Foster as Angel is the most wasted character in history. [***SPOILERS***] There is a war at the end where hordes of bad mutants take on Beast and Wolverine, but none of the mutants have powers except one guy who can grow back limbs. So Wolverine and Beast just plow through them like nothing. So much potential completely wasted. I am utterly depressed... Hopely a few years from now someone goes back and makes a sequel that completely ignores X3 just like Superman Returns is ignoring the horrible Superman 3 and 4... Expand
  71. Nick
    May 26, 2006
    5
    Good visuals. Good effects. Shockingly bad story.
  72. LeeF.
    May 26, 2006
    3
    What a boring, soulless, crass mess -- I loved the first two so am crushingly disappointed by this version. Don't waste your money - get it from the library in six months.
  73. ReelWorld
    May 26, 2006
    4
    Brett Ratner should hand in his DGA card for this mess. Too many characters, no development at all for most of them, and a story line that jumped around so much I bet even the cast was wondering WTF? Killing off main characters is not the way to enliven a franchise and I think Ratner just did for X-Men what Clooney did for the Batman films. Sad, Sad, Sad. If only Bryan Singer had stayed Brett Ratner should hand in his DGA card for this mess. Too many characters, no development at all for most of them, and a story line that jumped around so much I bet even the cast was wondering WTF? Killing off main characters is not the way to enliven a franchise and I think Ratner just did for X-Men what Clooney did for the Batman films. Sad, Sad, Sad. If only Bryan Singer had stayed on as director for this project it might not have ended up the utter mess it was. Having been a fan of the comic for many years as a kid and being a fan of the first two films I am soaked in disappointment over this complete travesty. The film was overly violent, and I would suggest parents thinking of taking little Jimmy to see it should seriously think twice. Collapse
  74. ArthurM.
    May 26, 2006
    2
    A terrible bit of screen writing. too much information thrown into one story. new characters like, jugganaut, beast, kitty, and angel have little if any character development. certain classic x-men storylines are patched together with little logic included. the direction and acting are satisfactory but even the great work of patrick stewart and sir ian mckellen cannot save this horridA terrible bit of screen writing. too much information thrown into one story. new characters like, jugganaut, beast, kitty, and angel have little if any character development. certain classic x-men storylines are patched together with little logic included. the direction and acting are satisfactory but even the great work of patrick stewart and sir ian mckellen cannot save this horrid piece of writing. i hope this will be an example to film studios that they shouldnt put successful movie franchises with immense potential in the hands of third rate writers, whose shining glory is penning xxx: state of the union, inspector gadget, and electra. Expand
  75. GaborA.
    May 26, 2006
    3
    [***SPOILER***] There were a few moments when they used certain mutants creativly, but most of the action was absurd. The fundamental flaw, however, was the plot. I recall that the plot of the first installment revolved around Magneto trying to forcefully turn all the humans into mutants. All of a sudden humans have a cure for the mutants and are letting mutants take it willingly and this[***SPOILER***] There were a few moments when they used certain mutants creativly, but most of the action was absurd. The fundamental flaw, however, was the plot. I recall that the plot of the first installment revolved around Magneto trying to forcefully turn all the humans into mutants. All of a sudden humans have a cure for the mutants and are letting mutants take it willingly and this is of course is an outrage that demands ridiculous fighting sequences. Expand
  76. Devon
    May 27, 2006
    3
    With all the good plots in the x- men universe they could have com up with something much better than this.
  77. JacksonB
    May 27, 2006
    5
    The eye-candy is sweet, the action sequences snap like bubble wrap, and it's even shocking to see superheroes die. . . but the dialogue is fucking horrendous, the x-men aren't fleshed out, their characters aren't developed in any way, the plot is flimsy and what's worse, only the bad guys have any motivation for acting.
  78. JudyT.
    May 27, 2006
    4
    Just wasn't very good. Not enough story. Bad dialogue. Fights too long and stupid. A whole bunch of ridiculous death scenes.
  79. CurtisW.
    May 27, 2006
    2
    I almost peed my pants trying to hold it during X-Men 2 and left excited about the next installment. During the Last Stand was constantly checking my watch and didn't mind taking a restroom break during the film's climax.
  80. K.H.
    May 27, 2006
    1
    Absolutely horrible.
  81. StuartS.
    May 28, 2006
    0
    This was the single worst film I have seen all year. I enjoyed the first two very much, X3 turns into a strange and possibly unintentional argument for sterilization and places the supposed heroes in a highly dubious moral position. Beyond all this, the film lacks any sense of structure and has the X-Men playing defense the entire time, culminating in their second string replacement for This was the single worst film I have seen all year. I enjoyed the first two very much, X3 turns into a strange and possibly unintentional argument for sterilization and places the supposed heroes in a highly dubious moral position. Beyond all this, the film lacks any sense of structure and has the X-Men playing defense the entire time, culminating in their second string replacement for the hapless military. Well beyond moronic, some of this material would be better suited to those cheesy and satirical movie within a movie clips in better films. Expand
  82. AlexK.
    May 29, 2006
    0
    This film is a travesty -- not just for X-Men fans, but movie fans in general. It's slow-moving and talky, but at the same time the plot is boring and convoluted. There's practically no action aside from the Phoenix scenes until the very end. Dialogue is embarrassing. So many characters are thrown about that none of them come forward as driving forces of the story. This movie This film is a travesty -- not just for X-Men fans, but movie fans in general. It's slow-moving and talky, but at the same time the plot is boring and convoluted. There's practically no action aside from the Phoenix scenes until the very end. Dialogue is embarrassing. So many characters are thrown about that none of them come forward as driving forces of the story. This movie mutilates the X-Men canon, as well as the work done in the previous two films (particularly the excellent X2). I don't understand why reviewers are so unwilling to blame a large portion of this mess on Ratner, but that's all right, Penn and Kinberg deserve a lot of criticism as well. Bottom line, the movie is terrible and pointless. Bobby and Kitty go iceskating? Really guys? Expand
  83. BernardN.
    May 31, 2006
    0
    I understand that Brett Ratner was under a lot of pressure to get this film done at a certain time and that Bryan Singer is a punk for leaving the franchise at the last second for an inferior superhero in superman, but nevertheless such drastic changes to a beloved franchise should never be done in haste and those in charge of this movie should realize that they broke the hearts of many I understand that Brett Ratner was under a lot of pressure to get this film done at a certain time and that Bryan Singer is a punk for leaving the franchise at the last second for an inferior superhero in superman, but nevertheless such drastic changes to a beloved franchise should never be done in haste and those in charge of this movie should realize that they broke the hearts of many fans worldwide by producing a bad film that portrayed major events of the X-Men series in such a terrible manner. Rushed film, campy one-liners, bad special effects, and a total demoralation of all the glory the first two films created for the best comic book characters of all time. Expand
  84. Vincent
    Jun 23, 2006
    1
    terrible. dissapointing. worst of the trilogy.
  85. EddieE
    Jun 16, 2008
    0
    Bret Ratner ruined the series. He has no idea what the xmen are all about he just wanted some special effects. There was such a good foundation built by singer in the first two films.
  86. Aug 3, 2014
    4
    A very disappointing film to end the trilogy. Most of the characters you loved in the first two films are gonna in the first thirty minutes of the film. The new characters such as Angel, Kitty Pryde, and Juggernaut are so forgettable that you won't remember them the next 10 minutes after you finish the film. The story isn't that interesting. There's a silly love triangle between Rogue,A very disappointing film to end the trilogy. Most of the characters you loved in the first two films are gonna in the first thirty minutes of the film. The new characters such as Angel, Kitty Pryde, and Juggernaut are so forgettable that you won't remember them the next 10 minutes after you finish the film. The story isn't that interesting. There's a silly love triangle between Rogue, Kitty, and Iceman that will make you yawn. The action isn't even that much fun. Overall, Brett Ratner's conclusion fails to satisfy it's fans. Expand
  87. Sep 21, 2011
    5
    The movie is overall visually stunning, but "X Men: The Last Stand", unlike "X Men" or "X2", is ultimately a frantic war movie that contains extremely sparse character depth/development and simple, lethargic action that fails to appeal.
  88. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Isn't so much of a Last Stand as a last attempt to make this X-Men thing work. It doesn't, once again, and Singer's absence only worsens the matter.
  89. StephanieN.
    May 27, 2006
    2
    It was horrible.
  90. JamesH.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    It was the perfext way to end a series. I still hope for X4 though.
  91. JonathanH.
    May 26, 2006
    3
    Very Good special effects, very bad story. I was extreemly disappointed that they made a movie based on a very popular comic series, but followed none of the mythology based on the comic series.
  92. GaryE.
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    I bought into the anti-Ratner bit. I wanted to be let down, but found myself entertained through its entirety. Even through the cheese I found myself winching less than I thought. This is popcorn more than substance but the inner child in me said "Cool!"
  93. TonyB.
    Jun 27, 2006
    3
    How can you take a well known comic book series and screw it up in one movie? That's what I saw in this installment. Where do I begin? You bring in Juggernaut and don't explore the half-brother relationship with Dr. Xavier? You change the Phoenix saga into a split personality plotline? Storm finally can fly (somewhat) but Rogue still seems to be grounded (I guess it'll be How can you take a well known comic book series and screw it up in one movie? That's what I saw in this installment. Where do I begin? You bring in Juggernaut and don't explore the half-brother relationship with Dr. Xavier? You change the Phoenix saga into a split personality plotline? Storm finally can fly (somewhat) but Rogue still seems to be grounded (I guess it'll be difficult to introduce those origins into the film just for the sake of continuity). Add Hank McCoy in a very weak character role and mutants actually getting cured (that was never the goal of the medicine in the 1st place), and you have a film that Stan Lee should have felt ashamed making a cameo appearance in. Expand
  94. Conundrum
    May 30, 2006
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. If you like comics based action movies, this film is for you. If you like to analyse things to death, then skip it. It seems that the bitter criticisms fall into two groups: The official critics who pan it for not being Shakespeare; and the hard-core X-Men fans who pan it for not precisely copying every detail of the original comics. If you go in realizing I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. If you like comics based action movies, this film is for you. If you like to analyse things to death, then skip it. It seems that the bitter criticisms fall into two groups: The official critics who pan it for not being Shakespeare; and the hard-core X-Men fans who pan it for not precisely copying every detail of the original comics. If you go in realizing that it's not going to be high-brow commentary, and also that it's not the original comics, you'll probably like it. Besides, Halle Berry is really hot. Expand
  95. JaredC.
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Brett "the rat" ratner couldn't of done any better. I mean come on this is the dude who did rush hour 2!For me, it falls in between the first and the second. It was a great movie!
  96. Josak
    Jun 1, 2006
    6
    My complaints are pretty much the same as everyone elses; bad script, bad dialogue, poorly executed plot and the movie was just too short. It really didn't feel anything like the previous two movies. The characters were totally stale, no depth whatsoever. Pretty disapointing, considering how much potential the movie had. In any case, it's worth seeing for a few, cool action sequences.
  97. jrd
    May 28, 2006
    10
    This movie is awesome. There really isn't anything more to say about it. What more did you want? 2 hours of boring talking (da vinci code) or more character backstory? Yes, the movie skimps on backstory but that is because there were already 2 movies before it. And yes, it jumps around and has a ton of characters, but so does any xmen story. Essentially, this movie is a lot of fun This movie is awesome. There really isn't anything more to say about it. What more did you want? 2 hours of boring talking (da vinci code) or more character backstory? Yes, the movie skimps on backstory but that is because there were already 2 movies before it. And yes, it jumps around and has a ton of characters, but so does any xmen story. Essentially, this movie is a lot of fun and just as good as X2. The haters obviously were expecting something completely different...which makes me wonder what they possibly could have been thinking when going to see an x-men movie in the first place. Expand
  98. GutierrezL.
    May 30, 2006
    9
    Muy buena.
  99. ScottA.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Best movie I have seen in last few years. Love the storyline and the surprises. Great action sequences too!
  100. TheShizzle
    Jun 2, 2006
    5
    Let me preface this by saying, I grew up reading X-Men comics and am now 30. Needless, to say, my wife and I both enjoy a good comic book movie ... if it's actually a good MOVIE. The previous two X-Men movies were deserving of good reviews, this one is not. The movie is chock full of cheesy cliche's and poor special effects under a very poorly written script. It's almost Let me preface this by saying, I grew up reading X-Men comics and am now 30. Needless, to say, my wife and I both enjoy a good comic book movie ... if it's actually a good MOVIE. The previous two X-Men movies were deserving of good reviews, this one is not. The movie is chock full of cheesy cliche's and poor special effects under a very poorly written script. It's almost like the director wanted to fill up the movie with all of these really cool important action-packed super intense scenes, but had so little time to actually develop them (as in the past movies) that the attention to detail was absent - which in essence, made the final product look like a giant mish-mash of effects-heavy action movies. Huge letdown. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Though the picture is not without its wow-inducing, SFX-driven moments, that potent X-factor is considerably diminished in Singer's absence.
  2. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    70
    It's a fast and enjoyable B-movie, though, and Hugh Jackman’s Wolverine brings some good stormy drama to the proceedings.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    60
    Singer's absence is felt but not fatal. By adding too much new blood Ratner loses some of the original DNA, but with its nifty set-pieces and a few nasty surprises, X3's still a worthy enough sequel to ensure it’s no Last Stand.